Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 63 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews
I like Windows 7
11/30/2012

Customer review by azcopa1

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by azcopa1
by azcopa1

This machine has revived my confidence in HP. It uses the AMD APU with 2.7 GHz, 4 GB Ram, so I'm quite pleased. A lot of bang for the buck!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
azcopa1
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/20/2012

Customer review by BaKoda0309

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by BaKoda0309
by BaKoda0309
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

windows 8 is a bit different than 7 and takes some getting used to, but the laptop is light, the graphics are good, and it seems to be a good value for the money. I have had it for approx 1 month and have not had any complaints. The only thing that I have found that I have not liked is that windows live dvd maker is not loaded, free, or compatible, which leaves you with no program to burn dvds that you create through live movie maker. Otherwise, no problems. It is used everyday as the work computer for myself in my classroom.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaKoda0309
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great laptop according to my 16 year old son
2/3/2013

Customer review by Jillda

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Jillda
by Jillda
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this laptop for my sons 16th birthday and he loves it. His main purpose was gaming and he is very happy with it. He was a little worried about Windows 8 as he had heard that it was confusing, but he figured it out.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jillda
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/17/2012

Customer review by Sheila190

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Sheila190
by Sheila190
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think it's a great computer for the money! The Windows8 is not fun. I far prefer the older Windows versions, but that's not the fault of the computer. The computer itself works like a charm, I love it!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheila190
Poughkeepsie, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great laptop
2/23/2013

Customer review by olshopper1

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by olshopper1
by olshopper1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a little worried when I read the reviews about Windows 8 because I hate to read directions and I'm not that tech savvy. I like products that are self explanatory and easy to use. I was pleasantly surprised about how easy it was to use this computer. Yes it is different then Windows 7 but it didn't take long to figure out how to navigate around and use it. The screen size and picture are excellent. I've been addicted to this laptop since I got it and am very happy I decided to give it a chance. I haven't mastered the touch screen part and don't really get the difference between the desktop and internet because you can be online with either one at the same time and be on different sites but like I said I didn't read the directions. This laptop allows me to do everything I want so I think it is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olshopper1
Upper Marlboro, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/28/2013

Customer review by 1ChrissyandDaniel

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by 1ChrissyandDaniel
by 1ChrissyandDaniel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Laptop took a little getting used to. The Keyboard is a little different and the Touchpad is fairly large and sensitive so if you drag your thumbs across it some interesting things will happen on the screen. And of course, Windows 8. This system is fast and has been great so far. The shipping from Walmart was way ahead of the expected time which was a pleasant surprise. We got this system as a package deal with Printer, Backpack and Memory Stick. Haven't even used the other items.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1ChrissyandDaniel
Nevada City, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It is what I needed in some respect.
9/24/2012

Customer review by mesew

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by mesew
by mesew

Am having a hard time with the virtual xp !! Didn't realize it wouldn't be the full version of xp !! Also was so concerned about being able to use xp for my sewing that only uses xp I neglected to say I wanted a full size keyboard!! I saved 2500.00 by ordering this type of laptop & once I get the hang of working out all the kinks I'm sure all will be fine !!! Who ever takes an order should mention the key board though!!! I really dislike these tiny keys!!! Other than that I really like useing it as it is much faster than my 15 yr old compaq which I dearly loved!! I do like all the added features compared to what I had with my old one!!Still have a ways to go to get it all down !! You do realize us (older folks ) are a really loyal bunch when it comes to a purchase of a product that has been helpful ?? The live chat is GREAT !!! Thank for all the help !! Sincerley mesew

mesew
OKLA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
12/21/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/21/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To slow more like a single core.Support is terrible .Own a HP but will never buy one again . I called HP support as I had a problem & wanted to talk to an American . They said couldn't connect me to one.Called Palo Alto they said they could fix my problem but would cost $99.This is a short version of my experience.

Was this review helpful? (8) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good laptop
4/13/2013

Customer review by sanwar

3.0 stars 4/13/2013 by sanwar
by sanwar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's a good laptop if you like Windows 8. I purchased this laptop thinking I could uninstall Windows 8 and install Windows 7 since it is hard to find a new laptop with Windows 7 anymore. I was able to install Windows 7 but it wouldn't load network drivers from HP's website. Even though HP advertized that this lattop will run Windows 7, it didn't help. I called HP support but they were no help. I took it back to Walmart and got my full refund back. I then found new laptop from HP website that comes with Windows 7 as well as have capabilities to run Windows 8. Still waiting for shipment.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sanwar
Mulberry, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good features, but very poor quality.
8/21/2012

Customer review by Kevin44

1.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Kevin44
by Kevin44

Good features for the $$, but had to RMA twice. First performed well, but it had a defect in the screen. (The display had a "dim" 2-to-3 inch diameter semi-circle in the lower left hand corner of the display.) RMA'd for a replacement. Second arrived with no "dim" spots, but had other issues. While performing setup and registering, the display went all wacky (with 8-bit pixelated horizontal lines throughout) and the laptop froze. After resetting, got through the registration process the second time, but when it went back to the desktop the laptop abruptly lost all power. Upon hitting the power button, the power LED came on and I could hear the CPU fan... but that's it! It would not boot. I RMA'd that one too and requested a refund this time.

Kevin44
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
features don't work and neither does keyboard
7/30/2012

Customer review by damone

2.0 stars 7/30/2012 by damone
by damone

I bought this as it was marketed and didn't do any upgrades. The features it has seemed pretty cool once I got the computer, especially with the trackpad but the scrolling is tempermental and the other features rarely if ever work. The keyboard itself types fine after a web page has loaded and been up for a while but if you start to type before the computer is ready it'll skip letters and occasionally adds its own (for a while every time I hit "u" and "o" would pop up and it'll randomly repeat and capitalize letters. I got this for basic computer use. MS Word, a little photoshop (which I haven't even tried yet), and basic college stuff. So far all I've used it for is a little browsing and Facebook and I'm already planning on returning it.

damone
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Bought Another One
11/25/2012

Customer review by tomjw217

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by tomjw217
by tomjw217

I normally buy fully optioned dv7 laptops, but I bought one of these g6t laptops solely to run the PlayOn Media server, which it does very well. It stays on 24/7 to provide streaming media from assorted hard drives and a file server to the ROKU and XBox 360 boxes scattered throughout the house. When the laptop arrived I was pretty amazed by the quality and features it had. It was a simple task to set it up. It's been in use for a little over a month and performs flawlessly. I was so impressed I bought a second, identical laptop for my daughter -- her first new laptop. It arrived a day or so ago and she's putting it to work. If you need an inexpensive, nicely-sized. laptop with all the basic features you could want. this is the one!

tomjw217
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Computer , Good Value!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Waveknight34

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Waveknight34
by Waveknight34

First off, let me say that I have purchased two HP computers. A desktop that works great! Very good quality and this laptop that I just got today. My first impressions were very good and everything works great. Everything that was needed came and it got here quickly and ahead of schedule. All the keyboard keys work great and the trackpad is working great. Everything runs smoothly. The only thing that they didn't give me was the backup disks for Office / Windows. I believe if you need them then you can call, but that might be a hassle. Overall, great computer, very powerful, parts are very cheap/good value for what you're buying. Webcam has good quality, same as mic.

Waveknight34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Bad for the Price
9/4/2012

Customer review by MrDayz

4.0 stars 9/4/2012 by MrDayz
by MrDayz

I purchased this computer for school recently. This computer was bought because of the price. I own two other laptops that are significantly larger (screen size) and costs more money. It becomes a hassle trying to find book bags large enough to carry around 17 & 18 inch laptops. I wanted the convenience of having a average size laptop that I could carry to class in a regular book bag. I was not expecting the computer to be as fast as it is to only have an i3 processor. The computer boots up fairly quick and runs cooler than the Pavilion dv7 that I own. Not bad for the price although I overpaid since I bought it from my university book store.

MrDayz
Natchitoches Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good
10/11/2012

Customer review by Johnny1929

4.0 stars 10/11/2012 by Johnny1929
by Johnny1929

First laptop. Easy to use. Keyboard had a broken key within two weeks of ownership. Finding information to contact an actual person was a pain. Service call took way too long to get to root cause of why I called. Third option was to send me a keyboard with instructions to install, with the first and second options being "cost" options... with a new computer in warranty the first and second options seem out of line. New keyboard was installed in matter of minutes and computer seems to working fine. Replacement keyboard was sent overnight, so kudos for that since I was expecting a week based on the customer service conversation.

Johnny1929
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
It wasokay..
10/23/2012

Customer review by Temp56

3.0 stars 10/23/2012 by Temp56
by Temp56

I sat on the HP website for hours until I decided which computer I could purchase. I needed the computer for school , so no extra gamming or anything, but I needed a fast processor for video editing. The computer is slow. i dont understand why. It just takes a while to do basc task or to load programs. The keys are small but , that really doesnt bother me. I do love how light weight it is. The speakers are great as well. Delivery time was not bad either. Love the Billmelater set up..it made purchasing a computer much easier. I do not think i would buy another HP , this is my 3rd one , and none of them last me very long.

Temp56
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Perfect Deal!
2/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The camera is really good for video chatting and the speed is amazing. I've had this laptop for a month now and I've had no problems with it at all. I've only had mild problems with Windows 8, but Windows 8 isn't all that bad either. This computer runs smoothly and I've never seen a laptop run Minecraft or League of Legends smoother than this does. It's a beauty on the inside and out and it's sound is pretty good quality as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Jefferson City, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A disappointment!
9/15/2012

Customer review by birdlover

2.0 stars 9/15/2012 by birdlover
by birdlover

I previously had another HP notebook which was great, so I was expecting this one to be, if not as good as that one because it is of a lower price/feature range, almost as good as that one. But right of the bat, it started giving me problems. The mouse is a lousy piece of equipment (if you can even call it that) which sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. And when it does it is nearly impossible to control. As for the features, they're nothing out of this world. My other notebook was a whole lot better than this one. Now I wish I hadn't decided to get a new one instead of fixing the other one.

birdlover
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fast with limited features
8/18/2012

Customer review by RogerX

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by RogerX
by RogerX

This computer works great. Set up was fast and easy. Only Norton anti virus keeps popping up. "Are you sure you don't want it?" Sure? Last Chance? It won't go away. Other than that no problems. This was replacing a HP Pavillion tx2000. This is so much faster and better processor and video card (both Intel not AMD) that it is much better. The old Pavillion did have touch screen,swivel screen, S video out, Quick Play and more gimmicks. It also cost twice as much. But this new HP rocks! It is fast and the display is much brighter and clearer.

RogerX
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic bang for the buck, until HDD failure
9/7/2012

Customer review by Kaoss

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by Kaoss
by Kaoss

I absolutely love this laptop. Not only does it look great, it's not too heavy for a 15.6" laptop. 3rd gen i5 is speedy, and graphics card performance with the 7670M is unbelievable. The screen quality has really improved compared to the old g62s, and everything just feels very sturdy and lightning quick. Everything was great until the hard drive failed. HP is in the process of sending me a new hard drive, so it's a little disappointing on that note. I still love this laptop though, I intend on keeping it for awhile. Great for class.

Kaoss
Vancouver, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1-20 of 63 reviews