Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 249 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

249 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

249 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
130
4 stars
82
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
19
1-20 of 164 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews
12/18/2012

Customer review by RootIDTech

1.0 stars 12/18/2012 by RootIDTech
by RootIDTech
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought and setup the HP 2000-2b59WM with high hopes. However, I had a poor experience from the start. Windows 8 crashed right out of the box and I had to set it up 3 times. When I finally got it up and running Microsoft tries to make you create a live mail account to get access to all the notebook's features. I don't want a Microsoft email. Also, I dislike the new interface. The main cause of disappointment was the operating system - Windows 8 and not the HP computer. That was, until I decided to scrap Windows 8, and install a Linux OS. Then I became disappointed in the notebook. I tried to install a Linux distro and found there were no drivers available for this unit. I then tried to install Windows XP and found HP had developed it so XP won't run on it. I reloaded Windows 8 and I have it up for sale. Experience was disappointing. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I hope HP will realize it needs to development more than just Microsoft drivers especially when Windows 8 is such a let down.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RootIDTech
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Low price Windows 8 Laptop
11/26/2012

Customer review by polpetta

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by polpetta
by polpetta
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Worked fine out of the box. Mixed feelings about Windows 8, especially the "charms" bar which is annoying since it appears too easily. Also, this is not a touch screen computer. All the functions work with the traditional mouse pad. Touch screen is only available on "select" models. No where is that made clear when purchasing. This negates much of the benefit of Windows 8. However, there is also Windows 7 functionality and desktop, but you still have to use the Windows 8 Start screen to access many applications. Some problems with Windows IE 10. Some items on pages don't load and get frequent "IE is not responding" messages. But I think this may be a problem with IE in general? I tried the Microsoft solutions center with no luck. No problems using Google Chrome. There are some nice apps that come with the computer...e.g. iHeart Radio, Skydrive, maps, etc. Start up and shut down speeds are great. The HD webcam works well. The low light feature makes using Skype in poor lighting easier. Good battery life and quick recharge.

Was this review helpful? (71) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
polpetta
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Computer would be fine with different O/S
10/31/2013

Customer review by UtopiaWalmarter

2.0 stars 10/31/2013 by UtopiaWalmarter
by UtopiaWalmarter

Arrived yesterday and I immediately went to work setting this unit up, because it was needed immediately. It went through the HP setup and loaded Windows 8 after identifying the wifi connection. Problems began as soon as I began using Windows 8. It said there was no internet connection, even though the connection light was lit. I reconnected through windows, no problem, and then I began setting up my accounts on that computer. There were "normal" difficulties associated with learning the new o/s, so I decided to go ahead and upgrade to windows 8.1 which was free. First of all it told me again and again through the windows store app that there was no internet connection, even though I had 4 bars of signal. I went through google to find the Microsoft source for the upgrade, but then was told that this computer did not have adequate resources to use 8. 1. I repacked the unit and returned it to the nearest Walmart in exchange for a Windows 7 version.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UtopiaWalmarter
Utopia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Everyday Laptop
12/4/2012

Customer review by CaptainRiceMan

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by CaptainRiceMan
by CaptainRiceMan

I purchased this laptop at my local Walmart's " Black Friday Sale " and it has worked great so far. I've had it about 2 weeks now and have read all the online reviews and it seems many people have been having problems with their's. I like that it is light and easy to carry, I take it everywhere. It's fast on the internet, Downloads media and updates quickly, Runs games smoothly and doesn't lag, And I have never had a problem with the keys or keyboard. Also the webcam works great, clear and adjusts to lighting well. Batter lasts 2-4 hours, Connects to Wifi without a problem, Laptop starts up within 30 secs. and shutdown is also very quick. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but a great buy especially for the price. Overall great laptop!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CaptainRiceMan
Hemet, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Value for money
9/6/2013

Customer review by GKReviews

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by GKReviews
by GKReviews

Purchased this laptop for my father to use for Facebook, basic internet and Skype. I am a computer tech support person, after careful research across several websites and product reviews against $280-$350 range laptops, this was the best. I weighed more on processor, RAM, screen size and keyboard, since these are the things that you like in the long run, not color, not decals, not fancy buttons. My likes and wish-it-was-there list.... Likes.... 1. Touchpad - it has this grainy feel when you touch it, I really like that. 2. Processor - B960 certainly was the best that I could come across in this price range. 3. RAM - 4GB is decent for internet and basic computing needs today. Anything less is certainly is no-no. 4. Product design HP - At par with another HP Envy i5/8GB RAM that I own. This is what you can get best when you are talking about $300 range laptop with B960 & 4 GB RAM with 15". 5. Optical Drive! - Yes, there is nothing special about it, just that its hard to find if you are looking for a good processor & RAM in $300 range laptop. Wish-it-was-there.... 1. Numeric pad in the keyboard, that is something I personally would like. 2. Backlit Keyboard option (I am being greedy, HP Envy spoiled me!) Verdict - Its a great value for money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GKReviews
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect laptop for a college student!
12/3/2012

Customer review by miiiiiiittttttcccchhhhhh

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by miiiiiiittttttcccchhhhhh
by miiiiiiittttttcccchhhhhh

I am in my second year of college and needed a new laptop, but was not able to spend a ton of money. I chose this over one from best buy and I am very impressed and satisfied with this purchase. I'll begin with what I like about this HP laptop. First, it runs flawlessly and has good battery life. I have not had any problems with it. Second, it looks and feel great! As a student, I do not want to be carrying around a big bulky laptop or one that looks terrible. This is a lightweight, slim-looking, and stylish laptop. (The one in the picture looks black, but the primary color is blue). Third, it does everything I want out of a laptop. I mainly use it for college work and research, but also use it for social networking, skype, and music. It's a really good buy for the "cheap" price. If I could change one thing about this laptop, it would be the fact it does not have a lighted keyboard. This make things difficult in a darker room or classroom. However, it is not a deal breaker. Finally, I'll touch on Windows 8. Personally, I like it. Sure, it is very different looking from previous operating systems. It also take a little patience to learn how it works, but both of these things are not killers. As I mentioned, I am a college student and I think it works perfectly for me. Everyone dislikes Windows 8 and I could understand that if I needed to re-learn the operating system for my job. Overall, it's different but I think people overreact about how "bad" Windows 8 is. This laptop is awesome for it's price and does everything I want it to. I don't think you'll find a better laptop for this price. I would definitely recommend this purchase for fellow college students or for a first laptop.

Was this review helpful? (144) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
miiiiiiittttttcccchhhhhh
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't Complain Too Much for the Price But...
12/12/2012

Customer review by ladysonoma

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by ladysonoma
by ladysonoma

the Windows 8 features, which is a microsoft thing not HP, has me a little annoyed. It forces you create an account with Microsoft, it forces to put names and passwords - which is good but I want the option of not doing it, if I don't want to, especially as this is a laptop for the house; it should be my choice to take the risk or not. Like Google, Microsoft is forcing people to register their names - everybody. Yes, the menus are little confusing but we're getting the hang of it. It functions really, though for 4 gbs, it doesn't seem much faster then my 2gb dell. The layout is very nice, and the screen is great, the dvd writer is great - and the web cam takes fantastic photos and videos. I can't say enough about the computer, as it's wonderful package... but Microsoft I'm really annoyed with. Honestly, if they get anymore invasive, I'll switch to Linux.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladysonoma
Over the Rainbow, OZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fast computer but Windows 8 takes practice!
11/15/2012

Customer review by Alison7

4.0 stars 11/15/2012 by Alison7
by Alison7
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great computer. The battery lasts long and recharges quickly. Never gets too hot. Vent system is great. The only thing that I don't really like is having to get used to a new program-Windows 8. It's a totally different program and I'm still trying to figure things out with it. Otherwise, it's a definite upgrade from my previous HP laptop, which overheated all the time, short battery life.

Was this review helpful? (151) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alison7
White Plains, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good.
11/25/2012

Customer review by kimberly5068

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by kimberly5068
by kimberly5068

I bought this Laptop about a month ago so It's hard to say how it will hold up in the long term but so far I haven't had any issues. I've had it randomly restart on me one time and that's the extent of my issues so far. At first I was kind of unsure about whether or not I like the windows 8 but after getting used to it, It's not so bad. I think however windows 8 would be better on touch screen devices since that's what it seems to be based on.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kimberly5068
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great laptop
11/7/2012

Customer review by katann1

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by katann1
by katann1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

lightweight, great screen size and keyboard, Windows 8 has a bit of a learning curve, but overall....nice laptop for the $$$$.

Was this review helpful? (82) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katann1
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my great new laptop
11/1/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this HP, and windows 8 is pretty cool. This laptop has everything you need, Intel processor, 500GB hard drive, HDwebcam and microphone. Very light and slim, good price, no complaints.

Was this review helpful? (216) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Clarksville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Keeper
11/28/2012

Customer review by camarodude

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by camarodude
by camarodude
Top 1000 contributor

I'm writing this review from this laptop.Had it for about 6 hrs now,easy setup,moves fast.The windows 8 take a second look on where to find things,but all in all I think its a nice over haul.I like this laptop,its a keeper.And if your wondering how to shut it down its when you close it.

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camarodude
Osceola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
nice computer
11/25/2012

Customer review by ShoppingProfessor

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by ShoppingProfessor
by ShoppingProfessor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice computer. Brought it for my husband. He had some trouble with asjusting to windows 8 but once he started to play with it he loves it. Would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShoppingProfessor
Broadalbin, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not for non-techs
1/13/2013

Customer review by krazydavet

4.0 stars 1/13/2013 by krazydavet
by krazydavet

Really like the new HP. Windows 8 takes a lot of getting use to. Take time to read HELP, TIPS, Etc. I am still learning, but rem...I am 68 years old. LOL

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krazydavet
E of KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome so far
4/26/2013

Customer review by Dizzylark

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Dizzylark
by Dizzylark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This laptop was a great value, and so far it is working fantastic! It is a definite upgrade from my previous laptop, which was 5+ years old. I saw many negative reviews about Windows 8 so I was a bit worried about the usability of the this laptop. However, I actually really like Windows 8! It's has a little bit of a learning curve, but I am really enjoying many of the cool features; they more than make up for any inconvenience of learning to use a new operating system.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dizzylark
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of memory!
4/11/2013

Customer review by WKRU

5.0 stars 4/11/2013 by WKRU
by WKRU
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had an Acer w/only 1GB memory and it was constantly freezing and sometimes scream like a banshee and I would have to F5 or do a force shut down!! Then I saw this HP on Walmart.com and it yelled at me to buy it. I'm am so glad I listened!! Though I have to say I'm not a fan of Windows 8 (because I'm still learning about it) and I'm disappointed that it doesn't have a word processing program; the 4GB memory solved all the internet problems I was having. All said and done I love my HP better than the Dell and the Acer I had prior. Good buy, worth the money and I'm going to buy another one for a birthday gift.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WKRU
Mt. Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Windows 8
11/13/2012

Customer review by Bearonetwothree

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Bearonetwothree
by Bearonetwothree
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To be fair the computer is great. The problem is windows 8. We have had the machine for 2 weeks now and have called MSN three times. To log on to the internet MSN had to change device managers etc. They still do not know how to open drop downs. The latest is music will not play or create new folders. Also if you try to contact msn an error message comes up on the machine. You have to call them for any help. So in short, Walmart was great, HP computer is great, msn sent a program to market that is pathetic.

Was this review helpful? (125) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearonetwothree
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Confusing for beginner
1/11/2013

Customer review by SouthBoston

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by SouthBoston
by SouthBoston

Windows 8 was very difficult to use, made 8-10 phone calls to Microsoft and hp supports, both were blaming each other for the problems I was having, it took four (4) days before figuring it out myself. It was very stressful. Almost took PC back, until I went on line and learned myself how to use windows 8 and its new features. Now I love the newer version and it is flowing well, but the frustration I was minutes from returning it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthBoston
cleveland, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loved the computer but it was broken
12/20/2012

Customer review by bettyboop999999

3.0 stars 12/20/2012 by bettyboop999999
by bettyboop999999
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The computer was sent to me with a broken slide battery ejector. The slide that releases the battery was stuck towards the outside of the computer which made it so the battery would easily fall out when lifted off of a surface and would never truly lock into place. I loved the computer. I returned her in person at the walmart in Alamosa and they weren't selling the same model at that location and instead of waiting for shipping I got a cheaper version of the same computer with less memory. Its a good computer, slower of course. HP said this happens one in a million, the guy I talked to on the phone had worked for hp for 15 years and I was the 4th customer with this computer issue. Hardly happens, I got unlucky. It was covered under the free 1 year warranty wth hp to send it in and fix it but I was under the 15day no questions asked return policy wth walmart so I went wth that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bettyboop999999
Alamosa, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Priced right for what you get!
12/18/2012

Customer review by Number1Hazard

1.0 stars 12/18/2012 by Number1Hazard
by Number1Hazard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After I received my order (HP Laptop), I went through the setup process. Everything went fine. Once it was setup I began to look around on it and see what all was on it. Now I have spent over 25 years repairing PC's so naturally when I say I began to look around on it I mean I looked for any problems. What I found when I went to MSCONFIG to check and see what was in the start up, It showed that it was running in selective startup mode. After several attempts at correcting this problem, I found that it is the HP Utility program that is causing this. I called HP support line to see what they had to say about it. Not sure what all they said because I couldn't understand the person I was talking to. Her english was none existant. I did make out one of their excuses and that was "All Windows 8 Run in Selective Startup". After hearing that I asked to speak to her supervisor, I was told that they were not available at that time and that they would call me back. As of today I haven't heard from anyone at HP. Now over the years I have bought many HP products and have always been satisfied with them and I am happy with this laptop as I did what needed to be done to fix it and I like the laptop for the price. It works fine in selective startup mode and most people will never know the difference. but if HP doesn't correct the problems with their tech support it will be my last.

Was this review helpful? (26) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Number1Hazard
Forsyth, MT.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 164 total reviews
1-20 of 164 reviews