Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
236
4 stars
94
3 stars
23
2 stars
23
1 stars
13
1-20 of 386 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 386 total reviews
1-20 of 386 reviews
Me & The HP
11/30/2012

Customer review by Thoughtfulbuy3r

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Thoughtfulbuy3r
by Thoughtfulbuy3r

My family is a Dell family but after pricing a few computers by Dell and matching them to what I could get with an HP, I though might as well try. I have to say that I am not sorry that I made the change. It is lighter then my first two Dell laptops, but I think that may have something to do with the advancements in engineering we have made in the past several years. I like the additional features that already come installed on it like Sticky notes, video recording and editing software, and a built microphone. I wish there was a way that I would be able to make my own app icons for the main page used by Windows 8, but I think I have not had it long enough to figure it out; so I am not completely worried. For people whom are used to using the traditional Windows layout, the Windows 8 starter screen can frustrate you, but just click on the Desktop icon an you will see that desktop layout you are used to. The Fingerprint reader is nice and I would have to say a great addition. You are able to store your passwords via your fingerprint so when your are in public, you just use your finger to sign in and do not have to worry about typing in my information. You are also able to zoom in and out of webpages by using your fingers on the touch keypad, exactly in the same manner you would do so on a touchscreen phone. One thing anyone will need to get used to is the size of some of the keys, I am used to larger keys for my arrows but since the numbers located on the right side of the keyboard also double as keys, all I have to do is make sure the Number Lock is not on and use those. A benefit is that it came with a link so that you are able to view videos online on how to do some basic things on your computer,( run a program search, find out product code and description, etc.), so if you are buying this for a family member whom is not that computer savvy; you can both view them together or they can have a point of reference if they have any questions. Overall I think that I am going to really enjoy this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thoughtfulbuy3r
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect balance of speed, power & features!
2/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Definitely a great portable laptop for any need. Use for Business and play. The i7 processor has kept up with all that I have asked it to do. And I'm tough on a computer when it comes to having several apps open at one time. Never had any problem at all with lag or slow-downs. The bio-sensor(fingerprint reader) takes some getting used to but after slowing down the swipe I was making, it makes logging in to all of your favorite websites and apps easy. Once you log in one time to a site you never have to type username and password for that site again. Very useful! The Envy dv6 7267 has some useful software included such as the photo editor, video editor, the Beats Audio is great. Sound coming from the laptop is clear and crisp. Don't expect A high dollar Bose system sound but for a computer it really makes a big difference to have the Beats Audio included. Plenty of hot keys and very customizable graphics and touchpad. If you can operate a smart phone touchscreen the dv6 touchpad works the same way. Pinch to zoom, single, double, triple and quadruple finger swipe capable. You can customize what each touch does also. The Windows index score of this package is a 5.8 and the only thing that keeps it being near a 7.0 is the 5400rpm hard drive that I have in this one. Easily upgraded if needed! Overall this is by far the best laptop I have ever purchased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Townsend Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/28/2013

Customer review by jbjhhkjhkjkj

1.0 stars 2/28/2013 by jbjhhkjhkjkj
by jbjhhkjhkjkj

the laptop was used not new; I bought it in a couple weeks ago (Feb 5th) and the hard-drive had activity dating back to Aug of 2012... what's further it that it had been hijacked by someone in Tiawan! Needless to say I took it back and got a refund

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jbjhhkjhkjkj
30103
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good Laptop
10/18/2012

Customer review by adrumm

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by adrumm
by adrumm

Overall i was very happy with it, however the speakers were not as good as i thought they would be, the mouse tracekr is a little unsensitive, the clickers are a bit jammy, but overall it is really good.

adrumm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic
8/10/2012

Customer review by Maxine2

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Maxine2
by Maxine2

This is the fastest laptop and so comfortable it feels like my right hand. I built it online in order to obtain a faster better laptop. The result is wonderful. My laptop was shipped to me custom made in a week's time. Well worth the wait. Perfect. So much above the laptops on display at stores. So far no issues, fast, adjustable, light weight, cool, thin, clearest display. I am thrilled.

Maxine2
Plano, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
awesome
7/25/2012

Customer review by gamersfan

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by gamersfan
by gamersfan

Laptop works great. Can do anything i throw at it. Can play most games in mid to high settings with an A10 processor and 7730m graphics card. Build quality is good but battery life is mediocre. I get about 4 hours while on internet, 2 hours while playing games. Expect about 2 more hours of battery life when not connected to wifi. Overall god laptop for everyday use, gaming, video editing and animation.

gamersfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
an overall good experience
7/27/2012

Customer review by HalR

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by HalR
by HalR

I have only had my new HP for 10 days. So far the transition from my old HP PC has been excellent. My new PC was delivered quickly and as ordered. The HP tech support has been excellent. I am very pleased with my purchase. I am happy to be an HP user.

HalR
Northbrook Ill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Its a great computer for my needs
8/18/2012

Customer review by cjvines

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by cjvines
by cjvines

I use my computer for web surfing, emailing, creating documents, and pictures. I love the light up keyboard, HP Simple Pass ( saves paswords to websites and you sign in using your fingerprint ! how cool its that) and picture quality is good. Sound is so much better than my last computer. Since I'm not into gaming I couldn't give any input on its performance. But if your looking for a computer for doing similiar tasks as I do, I think I'll be happy.

cjvines
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fast and great battery life
6/29/2012

Customer review by Jon777

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by Jon777
by Jon777

I like the thinner design, keyboard has good feel and it is significantly lighter than my last laptop. The new AMD processor is more than fast enough for all I do (web, games, email, photo editing, watching hd movies) and with the Descrete level graphics, it has the power to play games with very good performance. Battery life is amazing - no problem going out for the day without your charger. Overall this is a quite an upgrade from my old computer.

Jon777
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Exceeds My Expectations
7/31/2012

Customer review by Hyperion43

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Hyperion43
by Hyperion43

To start off the visual design is pretty sexy. The mouse pad has an easy to use off switch so that you are not accidentally clicking on things while typing. I can run more things on this laptop than I would have expected without a significant drop in productivity. The graphics card preforms better than every website said it should. The display is absolutely beautiful. The keys are extremely similar to the keys on a mac which is fantastic. The sound is not amazing but is better than average for a stock laptop sounds system. I game on this thing every day and have not had to turn down the graphics from the maximum. I could not be happier with a product and will be purchasing all of my laptops from HP from now on.

Hyperion43
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Plays Skyrim on Ultra
7/14/2012

Customer review by deelodi

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by deelodi
by deelodi

I upgraded from the base configuration and got the 1920x1080 screen and the amd radeon 7730m. I can play skyrim smoothly in full hd on the highest settings without problem. When I am browsing the web and am not plugged in, the extended battery (9cell) lasts like 7-8 hours.

deelodi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice notebook, great price, lots of features
7/29/2012

Customer review by doojinsi

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by doojinsi
by doojinsi

My new HP Pavilion dv6z was available with free upgrades to both the RAM and hard drive sizes. I ordered it with a nine cell battery also, since I don't like to plug in every few hours. The machine is fast, the battery lasts several hours and the display is outstanding. I should have ordered the optional backlit keyboard, since I develop software, sometimes in low light situations. Keep this in mind when you order yours, the backlit keyboard costs only a little more. The case is solid, the keys provide nice tactile feedback. Overall, this is the best notebook I've ever owned.

doojinsi
Boynton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Overall a great product
7/28/2012

Customer review by smc1982

5.0 stars 7/28/2012 by smc1982
by smc1982

This has great features and performance

smc1982
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent choice
7/14/2012

Customer review by aregan88

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by aregan88
by aregan88

I bought a different computer and then took it back because of poor performance. This one worked perfectly out of the box. It has lots of features like the full keypad with numbers that I wanted. It's fast and easy to use.

aregan88
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
It does not disappoint
9/17/2012

Customer review by TheAnalyst77

5.0 stars 9/17/2012 by TheAnalyst77
by TheAnalyst77

I would be willing to pay more if I had to based on the available features and the quality of the build. Unless you're doing some serious hardcore gaming. This laptop is for you. Why arent you clicking the Buy Now button yet?

TheAnalyst77
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just what I expect from an HP product, excellent!
9/24/2012

Customer review by ReevesR

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by ReevesR
by ReevesR

Ordering was easy, options were clear and easy to understand, and delivery was tracked and came in on time.

ReevesR
Westport, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great all-around machine
10/9/2012

Customer review by MapGuru

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by MapGuru
by MapGuru

Out of the box set-up was fast and easy. Browsing the internet is a breeze, downloads are fast, and Watching media is great with Beats audio and HD screen. I opted for an upgrade to the i3 processor and Nvidia GeForce graphics for a little extra power with gaming. I'm not a hardcore gamer but the Nvidia Geforce graphics were a must for me and other brands did not allow me to mix and match the way HP does. Expecting it to be bulky, I had originally intended to keep the laptop at home but in reality it's really light and easy to carry. Battery life is great and performance is not hindered at all when running on battery. You'll also never know its working hard because its so quiet. All the essential hook-ups are there including HDMI. To top it off, the design looks sharp and is well constructed. By far a great value and great for a variety of applications.

MapGuru
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product has great features
9/25/2012

Customer review by Julie76

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Julie76
by Julie76

Very good product, very good speed

Julie76
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Value and Performance
10/10/2012

Customer review by 9WarrenMike

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by 9WarrenMike
by 9WarrenMike

I think this laptop balances excellent performance with agressive pricing. I performed an in depth search looking for the best value in gaming, display, and CPU performance. I think with the AMD A-10 CPU, deicated graphics chip, and 1920 x 1080 display you can't go wrong.

9WarrenMike
Warren, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My first HP experience, and it has been awesome.
9/16/2012

Customer review by BlueFlamesOfJustice

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by BlueFlamesOfJustice
by BlueFlamesOfJustice

The dv6z Pavilion is without a doubt the best laptop I've ever owned. I don't go through that many, but this is my first time shopping with their brand, and the first time I have ever gotten to actually customize a laptop to the specs I wanted. I went the AMD A10 Quad Core and HD 7730M 2GB graphics card. This machine mutlitasks and works at speeds I didn't think I could get at the price I got it at. I love the backlit keyboard, and it plays most of the games I want to play like Fallout 3 on high settings without even trying. It's powerful and fast. My only little nitpicks would be with the numlock key, and the color choices. The numlock key has no LED indicator that it's on like the caps lock key, and doesn't have a software or system indicator that displays that info on screen either. In essence, I have no idea if the numlock is on until I start to use the numpad and see if it types numbers or scrolls along the on-screen text. In the future, I hope this one design flaw is fixed. Also, I wish I could have selected a blue colored finish, not that the black isn't nice, but I would have liked to get a nice shade of blue as an extra level of customization. I did enjoy the discount software MS Home and Office package for buying it with the computer, it saved me money from buying through a retailer. I also paid a little more for extra bells and whistles, but considering the performance, the 8GB of RAM memory, the 750 GB 7200 RPM ultra quiet HDD, and the 9 cell lithium battery were worth it. I'm glad I bought this, and if I EVER need a new piece of equipment, HP is where I'll go.

BlueFlamesOfJustice
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 386 total reviews
1-20 of 386 reviews