Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

389 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
236
4 stars
94
3 stars
23
2 stars
23
1 stars
13
1-20 of 386 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 386 total reviews
1-20 of 386 reviews
Me & The HP
11/30/2012

Customer review by Thoughtfulbuy3r

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Thoughtfulbuy3r
by Thoughtfulbuy3r
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My family is a Dell family but after pricing a few computers by Dell and matching them to what I could get with an HP, I though might as well try. I have to say that I am not sorry that I made the change. It is lighter then my first two Dell laptops, but I think that may have something to do with the advancements in engineering we have made in the past several years. I like the additional features that already come installed on it like Sticky notes, video recording and editing software, and a built microphone. I wish there was a way that I would be able to make my own app icons for the main page used by Windows 8, but I think I have not had it long enough to figure it out; so I am not completely worried. For people whom are used to using the traditional Windows layout, the Windows 8 starter screen can frustrate you, but just click on the Desktop icon an you will see that desktop layout you are used to. The Fingerprint reader is nice and I would have to say a great addition. You are able to store your passwords via your fingerprint so when your are in public, you just use your finger to sign in and do not have to worry about typing in my information. You are also able to zoom in and out of webpages by using your fingers on the touch keypad, exactly in the same manner you would do so on a touchscreen phone. One thing anyone will need to get used to is the size of some of the keys, I am used to larger keys for my arrows but since the numbers located on the right side of the keyboard also double as keys, all I have to do is make sure the Number Lock is not on and use those. A benefit is that it came with a link so that you are able to view videos online on how to do some basic things on your computer,( run a program search, find out product code and description, etc.), so if you are buying this for a family member whom is not that computer savvy; you can both view them together or they can have a point of reference if they have any questions. Overall I think that I am going to really enjoy this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thoughtfulbuy3r
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect balance of speed, power & features!
2/13/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Definitely a great portable laptop for any need. Use for Business and play. The i7 processor has kept up with all that I have asked it to do. And I'm tough on a computer when it comes to having several apps open at one time. Never had any problem at all with lag or slow-downs. The bio-sensor(fingerprint reader) takes some getting used to but after slowing down the swipe I was making, it makes logging in to all of your favorite websites and apps easy. Once you log in one time to a site you never have to type username and password for that site again. Very useful! The Envy dv6 7267 has some useful software included such as the photo editor, video editor, the Beats Audio is great. Sound coming from the laptop is clear and crisp. Don't expect A high dollar Bose system sound but for a computer it really makes a big difference to have the Beats Audio included. Plenty of hot keys and very customizable graphics and touchpad. If you can operate a smart phone touchscreen the dv6 touchpad works the same way. Pinch to zoom, single, double, triple and quadruple finger swipe capable. You can customize what each touch does also. The Windows index score of this package is a 5.8 and the only thing that keeps it being near a 7.0 is the 5400rpm hard drive that I have in this one. Easily upgraded if needed! Overall this is by far the best laptop I have ever purchased.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Townsend Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exeptional Value Laptop
8/10/2013

Customer review by Hulk71

4.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Hulk71
by Hulk71

I have now had ths laptop for 9 months and I can give a fair assessment. The Pros are excellent styling, fast processor, fair battery life, light weight, super fast start-up time, great audio, and good screen resolution. I only have on negative thing to say about the laptop and that is the keys on the keyboard sticks. It can be very aggravating if typing a paper. After 8 months the keys still stick. I've learned to deal with it, but I personally wouldn't have bought this laptop if I knew the keyboard had this problem. I don't know if it's the problem is with my particular unit or all models.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hulk71
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tempermental Touchpad, Bad HP Ownership of Problem
9/18/2013

Customer review by FrontierAccountant

1.0 stars 9/18/2013 by FrontierAccountant
by FrontierAccountant

This laptop looks great on paper. It looks great in person. However, the cursor frequently jumps to a completely difference place when typing. The net result is that the end of a paragraph may end up in the middle of a paragraph. HP took my laptop back three times and could not fix the problem. Then, they refused to give a full refund. This computer was NOT acceptable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrontierAccountant
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/28/2013

Customer review by jbjhhkjhkjkj

1.0 stars 2/28/2013 by jbjhhkjhkjkj
by jbjhhkjhkjkj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the laptop was used not new; I bought it in a couple weeks ago (Feb 5th) and the hard-drive had activity dating back to Aug of 2012... what's further it that it had been hijacked by someone in Tiawan! Needless to say I took it back and got a refund

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jbjhhkjhkjkj
30103
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A few small changes could make this one good
6/23/2012

Customer review by cbOSU

3.0 stars 6/23/2012 by cbOSU
by cbOSU

My previous laptop was an HP Pavilion dv2500, so I'm a supporter of HP. Unfortunately, my new DV6 does not seem as solidly constructed. I really wanted an illuminated keyboard, but the few units available with that feature made me disappointed from the start. The touchpad on my new dv6z is too big and my palm is constantly hitting it, causing problems typing. I know the touchpad can be turned off, but turning it on and off during regular use is absurd. Also, the scrolling functionality worked better with the side-scroller on the dv2500. The two-finger scrolling shortcut on the new dv6 does not seem to always work. On the positive side, I love the fingerprint reader and how you can use it to log into secure websites without typing in a password! The screen is bright, standard battery gives you good usage and the overall light weight of the notebook makes this dv6z an overall good value. Fix the size of the trackpad on future models and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this notebook.

cbOSU
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Dead on Arrival
6/10/2012

Customer review by Ping

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Ping
by Ping

I originally ordered the prior model laptop with the I7, and Radeon GPU; and I ended up having to return it once the GPU chip starting malfunctioning. I woul get blue screens 3 out of 5 times using the laptop. The build quality was great as were the specs, but you do not expect to have problems with a new unit. The HP customer was great they offered to send me one of the new Dv6t-7000 with the Ivy Bridge, and I was really surprised at their efforts to take care of my situation. The new replacement got here on Monday, and was dead on arrival. It showed the dreaded no readable disk or hard drive error. I was a bit surprised as well with the build quality as the prior version, seemed to be a bit better thought out an put together. The Blue-Ray drive doo in particular was loose, and just seemed to not seat properly. At this point, I have returned the laptop, and am waiting on a full refund from HP. I have to give them kudo for great CSR's but the product itself was a bit underwhelming.

Ping
Would recommend to a friend? No
WIFI only works with Ubuntu Linux
8/2/2012

Customer review by NeverAgain9999

2.0 stars 8/2/2012 by NeverAgain9999
by NeverAgain9999

Bought 2 custom DV6z-7000-CTO laptops. WIFIs had 50' range, then quit when Windows first updated. HP diagnostic program, windows network troubleshooter & OpenSuse Linux all reported WIFI hardware switches were off. Ubuntu Linux used WIFI OK. After 16 days, another Win7 update fixed WIFI in 1 of 2 computers. Other computer sent back to HP without working WIFI. WIFI key still only controls Blutooth, can't enable WIFI except in Ubuntu Linux. AMD A-10 processor is quick. 1980 X 1020 flat finish screen is fine, does all videos fine. Regular DVDs up-convert & look better than original whether using OpenSuse or Win7. Insyde BIOS has few options. Update BIOS from HP web is older version & install software does not show update will install older BIOS, just downgrades without recourse. 2" long power plug is opposite fan vents, so computer needs 4" more table width than computer width. Power plug should be @ fan outlet. Battery life is fine, computer runs cooler than previous laptops we had.

NeverAgain9999
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great computer!!
9/15/2012

Customer review by Bmi80

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Bmi80
by Bmi80

This is a great computer! I went with the 2nd gen core i5, 8GB memory, NVIDIA 630M graphics card and 750GB 7200rpm hard drive. Am very happy with this purchase! The keyboard is solid. It does not have that cheap flex feeling that some other laptops do. I added the backlit keyboard option which makes it so much easier to type in dark environments. The speakers get pretty loud! However, I wouldn't say they are all they're cracked up to be and perhaps I haven't found it yet, but it would be nice if there were an equalizer so I could adjust the tone settings more precisely. But, overall...a nice sound for a computer. I love the fingerprint function! It works great and makes it so easy to access my accounts, email, etc without having to remember 800 passwords all the time! The computer as a whole has a very solid feel to it and it has plenty of ports including a memory card reader which is a plus! I've used a handful of other brands/models of laptops and I must say that this one seems far superior. Great buy!

Bmi80
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pretty Good
8/2/2012

Customer review by shoemoos

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by shoemoos
by shoemoos

I've always had Dell computers, which run great but I wanted to try something different. I looked into many computers and decided to try for an HP. I received my computer a few days ago and so far I'm not disappointed. It runs great and does what I need it for. I'm not dissing Dell but I do enjoy this computer more so, then again my Dell is about 6 or 7 years old. I do like how it handles gaming better, and with the "full" keyboard it makes that alot easier. My only problems with it were: -The autorun would not work even with going into controls but I was able to fix that with some research online and the great help from the people from HP - The body it self looks cheaply made. I wish it was made with something that seemed a little sturdier, in fact the top part chipped slightly. Compared to my Dell, my Dell is defiantly a tank. - The right mouse button is lower than the left button which worries me that either the left is to loose, or the right is going to get stuck

shoemoos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love my new laptop
9/5/2012

Customer review by Mia047

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Mia047
by Mia047

In 1994 I bought my first computer from HP and have never strayed until 3 months ago...tried another brand......big mistake. I called HP, applogized then spent close to two hours with a delightful customer rep. The HP Pavillion dv6t 7000 was the result. It arrived on time, and hooked up to my wifi modem instantly. I had a lighted key board added and did not bother with a software bundle. In my opinion the fewer pre-installed programs the better. They tend to cause confusion during the set up process. They also are available for download from the internet. I feel that HP delivers the entire package. This includes excellent products, a reasonable return policy and superb technical support. Pricing is quite competitive. Bottom line, in this electronic era HP extends itself with many personal touches which I find to be exceedingly reassuring. There is nothing more frustrating to me then arguing for several seconds/ minutes with an automated recording while thinking there is a person on the other end. Thank you HP :))

Mia047
New York/Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fantastic computer
7/31/2012

Customer review by Onite44

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Onite44
by Onite44

As a student, I've used both computers at home and at school for my entire life, but this is the best I've ever had the pleasure to use. Its super fast: like lightning. On every other machine I've used, from desktops to laptops to tablets, there's always been some slow feature. Not on this machine. Everything is smooth, quick, and responsive. The Beats audio sounds fantastic, whether just playing music, a movie, or a game. Plugging in headphones is a treat as well, and when I plugged in my speakers I had great sound quality as well. As an added bonus, my computer arrived a week ahead of schedule. I am a student, and it handles everything from multitasking to graphically intense games. The build quality feels solid and the design is great too. Get the back-lit keyboard. I love the quality and look to it. Each key is lit up beautifully and is very handy in low light situations. I highly recommend this computer to anyone who is looking for a quality machine.

Onite44
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Performance for Great Price!
9/16/2012

Customer review by Duncan

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Duncan
by Duncan

Very easy to custom design my own laptop, and shipping was very quick from hp. Performance is amazing, everything (programs, games) are so fast. Games run smoother than an xbox or ps3. I would recommend getting the 9 cell battery along with it, especially if you can get it for 50% off when buying it with the laptop. It lasts for 9+ hours on the power saving setting, and lasts for 5-6 hours on full performance settings. Quad core i7 processor whips through any program, even high power consuming programs, with ease. I got the 12 GB of ram, and i never even go above 1/4 Memory usage (even when running multiple adobe programs, web browser with many tabs, media player, and windows explorer). This computer is overall amazing and I'm glad I bought it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a very high performance laptop. Everyone is jealous of this thing(especially because I have a better laptop in every way, and I got it for less $). THANKS HP!!

Duncan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful, but...
7/16/2012

Customer review by nranks

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by nranks
by nranks

I configured mine to have i7-3612QM, 1TB HDD, 9-cell. It is truly a powerful laptop. The 9-cell is definitely worth it because it increases the battery life almost 5 times. There are a few things that I did not like. First was that the audio drivers automatically do volume normalization which means it constantly tries to change the volume levels to avoid peaks or dips in volume but this feature is annoying because it is so noticeable and also it cannot be turned off which basically means I cannot enjoy listening to audio on this laptop. Other than that, the laptop is very well designed. It has a very nice and sleek design. It is pretty thin and very light weight making it great for portability. It's screen is outline with a border which protects the screen when it is closed shut and avoids the problem which other laptops have when you close the screen and the rubber padings along the side of the screen leave a mark around the keyboard area. This was a very nice design idea they included. Also the HP logo lights up!

nranks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Pavilion dv6 - a great midrange laptop
8/10/2012

Customer review by JaySee57

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by JaySee57
by JaySee57

My new Pavilion dv6 has enough features to make it a pleasure to use and comes at a reasonable price because it is not overloaded. The CPU boots fast. The display is large enough for me to use on my desktop yet the laptop is nice and light when I need to carry it. The battery life is quite good. All in all I am a satisfied customer. There is always room for improvement. The most critical thing I have to say about the package that I received is that the charger is a behemoth, both in terms of size and weight. It is a shame that such a nice, light laptop comes with a charger that is like a boat anchor. I'd trade a slower charge rate for a smaller and lighter charger. The fingerprint scanner seems like a cool way to go if you forget your pins but I found it a bit creepy to think about the consequences of a hacker swiping data about my fingerprints. Besides, in order for it to work, one needs to create a file of pins anyway, which is hackable too.

JaySee57
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Portable Super-Computer
9/25/2012

Customer review by PlasmaNugget

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by PlasmaNugget
by PlasmaNugget

I just recieved my laptop yesterday, shipped 4 days early and shipping only took 3 days; so kudos to hp for building it quickly and fedex for moving it around the freakin world in less than 72 hours. Now to the fun stuff: I ordered mine with the core i7 3720qm, a very fast mobile i7. It is very quick and a very good decision I think. The nvidia 2gb graphics card is probably a little overkill for what I'm doing but the price difference wasn't that great, so I have it if I want to do some crazy stuff. 12gb of ram (8 is fine, but the more the merrier), and my greatest favorite is the 1080p display. The screen is just beautiful. I will never use a 720p screen in a laptop display again. My laptop in particular boots in about 10 seconds. HP does put a good bit of useless add-ons but they are quite easy to pick out and uninstall. Overall, one of the best purchases I have ever made and if your considering a new laptop you can't go wrong with the dv6qe. Triple Apple's performance for less than half the cost. Easy decision in my opinion.

PlasmaNugget
New Orleans, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really bad laptop
5/27/2012

Customer review by designguy

1.0 stars 5/27/2012 by designguy
by designguy

Very disappointed with this laptop. I got a cheaper version for my mom and worked really nice when I installed programs for her, so decided to get something more expensive, with more ram, etc. The finger scan is the only thing that's cool about this laptop. The boot up process is long, comes loaded with lots of unnecessary software, the Beats audio system sounds horrible. I had to spend days on the system and software settings making everything simpler, sounding and looking better, and I'm still not satisfied. My major disappointment is the track pad. I had a tech-rep helping me out via remote connect (VNC) which is nice, but for some reason my track pad drivers were not installed on my new laptop....wait what??...yes you heard it, HP sends out laptops with uninstalled drivers so you can waste half your day troubleshooting it. This laptop is for people that maybe never owned a laptop before, but anyone else will be disappointed with it.

designguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
does everything i need it to do. great size
7/16/2012

Customer review by SAhollywood

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by SAhollywood
by SAhollywood

this is a great computer for any one looking to buy a new pc. i love the size, its a bit hard to travel with. however it doesnt feel like a laptop (ie tiny keyboard and hunched over to read the screen) it is very comfortable to use like a desktop would be. i did many upgrades and the i5 processor is a must. also amping up the capacity and hard drive were a necessity. for gamers this computer is great, although its hard to game on the go bcuz high graphic games drain the battery after about 15 minutes. also the oversized battery is a must to keep the computer running long enough. i was worried it would be to bulky but it works very well and also sort of tips the keyboard to a more comfortable angle for typing. the only thing that could make this computer any better is a backlit keyboard, if it is dark out you must have a light on or typing and reading the keyboard is impossible. anyways i love and would definetly recommend this computer!!!

SAhollywood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love my first laptop
8/11/2012

Customer review by blake1079

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by blake1079
by blake1079

I've always had desktops but have wanted to get a laptop for awhile but never had any particular reason to. I started shopping over a month ago and quickly found this one with all the features I wanted, plus the free Blu-ray upgrade. I did go ahead and add on extra memory, chose the better HD screen and the backlit keyboard and have loved it for almost a month! There are lots of reviews about the amount of extraneous programs on the computer, but all i noticed were mostly internet shortcuts that were easliy deleted to clean up the desktop. Was easliy able to connect on initial setup to my home network and have not had any troubles yet. Also tried the Blu-ray recently and didn't notice any wobble problems that others have described. So far computer does not get too hot when on my lap in use for extended periods of time. Only minor complaint is that the battery life isn't as long as i would wish - only about 5 hours, which is still good, just not great. Highly recommend; this was my first laptop purchase and I have no regrets so far.

blake1079
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Laptop
6/13/2012

Customer review by EZPo

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by EZPo
by EZPo

This has been a great laptop thus far minus two issues. The first issue was that I ordered both the standard 6-cell and also ordered an additional 9-cell battery. The laptop did not ship with the 9-cell. I called customer service and was redirected a few times and finally was told that the issue had to be submitted to a case manager. This person called me the very next day and overnighted the 9-cell battery to me. The battery was at my door the next day. I was pleasantly suprised by their customer service. Two thumbs up. The only reason I am not giving this 5-stars is because they forgot the battery in the first place when it was right on the shipping ticket. The second issue is the left mouse button on the touchpad has quit functioning twice now. I have not had this happen to me yet, but I was able to get it functioning for her again both times by turning the touchpad off and on again. Otherwise the performance and value of the laptop are exceptional and I am very satisfied. The fingerprint scanner is my favorite unexpected feature.

EZPo
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 386 total reviews
1-20 of 386 reviews