Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 265 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
2/2/2013

Customer review by John86rroe

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by John86rroe
by John86rroe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I build computers, graphic designer, web page designer, video editor, and a college student. This computer will handle anything I throw at it. I've ran 3 programs at once without any problems... Mind you they were a powerful video editor software, photoshop, and a sound editor. All at one without no problems... I also had my music playing, plus the Internet with many tabs open.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
John86rroe
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product Overall
10/30/2012

Customer review by TheBigBadBaldOne

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by TheBigBadBaldOne
by TheBigBadBaldOne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Everything works great and the speed online is amazing and faster than my windows 7 computer, but as of yet, I cannot get the fingerprint reader to work on any websites.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigBadBaldOne
Justice, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent computer! Everything I wanted & more!
8/18/2012

Customer review by dan94

4.0 stars 8/18/2012 by dan94
by dan94

This computer is amazing! I ordered it for school and got an nvidia 630m +2GB graphics, intel core i5, backlit keyboard, a blu-ray player, 9 cell battery, 8 gigs of memory and 750 gigs of ram. I already love this computer! The beats audio speakers completely beat my expectations (the sub woofer is actually pretty good which surprised me). My only complaint is that I really couldn't get used to the touch pad so I went out and bought a Microsoft Explorer mouse = (which also works great). I would totally recommend thus laptop to anyone who is looking for a laptop with everything they want built into it. You may have to spend a couple extra bucks to get everything you want, but it's worth it! Be advised though, the screen is HUGE!!! the screen itself is about 17.3 inches diagonally and about 19 inches including the border around the screen. Granted, the extra large screen is awesome, but it does make it a little hard finding trustworthy accessories for the laptop (such as a cooling pad, carrying case and a couple other things.

dan94
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great hardware, horrible bloatware
7/22/2012

Customer review by terry6248

4.0 stars 7/22/2012 by terry6248
by terry6248

I wasn't going to buy another hp computer because of bloatware issues on previous hp products. After talking with an hp rep a costco I decided to give hp another try. He told me that a windows 7 premier experience meant that I would get a clean install. My bad. Pros: great hardware, fast,good display, good keyboard, tech support really tried to help with my issues (not on a script)! Cons: Massive bloatware , all designed for sales or product promotion. FOUR tool bars on internet homepage. Fingerprint reader has link to over 20 stores. Worst of all, uninstalling some these programs corrupted the registry to the point where I was unable to load other software that I bought this computer to run. In order to fix the registry I was forced to restore the computer to it's original condition and keep all the distracting system slowing junk. Bottom line: I will not be buying another hp computer and I will be advising others to run away, far, far away.

terry6248
portland, oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Computer is buggy
7/31/2012

Customer review by Rich901

2.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Rich901
by Rich901

I have been buying HP/Compaq Laptops since 1999. I expected this one to be the best, I was very disappointed. It has a lot of bugs. The wifi card is junk. It will not connect when waking from sleep. Customer Service was useless in trying to resolve the problem, concluding "that's just the way it works" what the heck it works like junk? Also the cursor jumps all over the screen while typing, disabling the touchpad and install third party software to try and stop it does not help. Doing a Google search I discovered this is a common problem with the DV7t with no fix from HP or Microsoft even though it is a well documented problem. My old DV9005 (with the overheating graphics chip) running XP never had these problems. Last for some reason the HP Industrial Design guys thought it would be great to put the Hard Drive LED on the side where you can't see it. Why who knows? Kind of useless if you can't see it, why bother at all?

Rich901
Groton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1/3/2013

Customer review by sparks08

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by sparks08
by sparks08
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A really good computer easy to use and great for entertainment purposes. Not a fan of Windows 8 though, I think it would be even better if it had Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sparks08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A little overwhelmed
6/25/2012

Customer review by nycomputerlon

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by nycomputerlon
by nycomputerlon

This is my second HP - a replacement for one I got about 6 years ago that lived its life to the fullest. The performance is obviously good for this one - it rates the same as the Macbook in Consumer reports for the speed, stability, performance, etc. but I'm feeling a little overwhelmed with the aesthetics: the display on this lovely 17inch screen is either HUGE or really tiny and there doesn't seem to be an in between. I can't figure out how to minimize my programs to get to my desktop quickly. I have to decommission several automatically installed items that I won't use, etc. etc. There is just a lot more customization to this one than the last one and so I haven't even transferred over to using this yet from my old one. It could be some change apprehension I have but I wish they would allow you to opt in or out of programs before the laptop is delivered. Just be prepared for this if you do purchase it!

nycomputerlon
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Overall A Great Laptop
12/7/2012

Customer review by UNKLMIK

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by UNKLMIK
by UNKLMIK

Overall, this is a great laptop. Used primarily with Microsoft Office, internet and as a Media Center; low light and bright sun light conditions. Ordered with 8 GB ram, non-glare screen, backlit keyboard, bluray, 9 cell battery and bluetooth. Has an open slot for second hard drive that can be added later if necessary. Build quality is excellent. Streams audio and video wirelessly (recorded and live TV mostly) with hardly any breakup/pixelation. Battery life is fairly good for an entertainment laptop, although it is primarily used on the charger. Touch pad is almost too sensitive-has no native sensitivity adjustment that I can find. The 1tb hard drive (5400RPM) is a little slow but I knew that going in. Lack of an instruction manual prompted a call to customer service with a question about the keyboard; answered immediately. I give it 4 out of 5 stars only because of the instruction & touchpad issues.

UNKLMIK
Lexington,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Instant Startup!
5/30/2012

Customer review by Brenda37

5.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Brenda37
by Brenda37

Although I have only been using my Laptop for two days, I am already loving it. It has a great new sleek design (looks expensive), love my anti-glare display, and the startup time is almost instant when I turn it on. Yep, that's right... I'm able to start using it within 90 seconds or so after I turn it on. The only thing I don't like is all the preloaded nonsense software. Here are my customized specs: • Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64-bit • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3720QM Processor (2.6 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache) • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA] • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm) • 750GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection • 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache • Microsoft(R) Office Home and Student 2010 • Kaspersky Anti-Virus Software (bought seperately & installed by me) • 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery • 17.3-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080) • Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner • HP TrueVision HD Webcam • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R) • Standard Keyboard

Brenda37
Ocean Springs, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Beware this model hp 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl
2/3/2013

Customer review by JoeSchmoe1957

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by JoeSchmoe1957
by JoeSchmoe1957
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased 3 of these - 2 from Sam's Club and then this one from Walmart. Each computer had a motherboard problem - the power indictator showed 'plugged in, not charging'. Working with tech services, we tried a number of fixes, including hard resets, total drainage of the battery, and reinstallation of the operating system, including all original software. Any and all of these procedures provided a temporary fix lasting anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks. But the problem always returned. Luckily for me, each time it occurred, it occurred within the return policy and I was able to get my money back. First time, I thought it was a fluke. Second time, I thought maybe a bad production run. Third time, something inherent in the motherboard. I know this because the 'plugged in, not charging' indicator occurred without the battery in and without the ac adapter hooked up. If you google HP and 'plugged in, not charging', you will see a plethora of users having the same issue - an issue that HP has not fixed. And think about this - HP is getting out of the computer business within a few months. This was announced in August of 2011 (something else you can find by googling). How interested are they in solving inherent issues with technology that they will not be improving upon? Users in the HP forum expressed maddening frustration at their inability to get answers after the return or warranty period had elapsed. On the positive side, both Sam's Club and Walmart services were terrific. Great places to buy a computer but I would steer you away from HP.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeSchmoe1957
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful and Fast
7/6/2012

Customer review by AlexDGr8r

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by AlexDGr8r
by AlexDGr8r

I chose this laptop because I was wanting laptop that was both powerful enough for video editing and games. The fingerprint reader is really handy (pun intended). This laptop is capable of handling pretty much anything you throw at it. The only problem I found was that the Function keys (F1-F12) were set to be used automatically for their hardware functions (brightness, volume, wireless, etc). If you wanted to use them for the key itself, you had to hold FN and then press the key. I fixed this by setting active keys to false in the BIOS settings so it wasn't much of a problem at all. Beats audio is great but the software sometimes is a little buggy. Battery life is fair as well. I get about 6 hours of just simple activities like word processing and browsing the internet. Then about 1 to 2 hours while gaming or doing some high power activity. Overall, a great laptop for whatever you need.

AlexDGr8r
Waynesboro, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Misguided changes
12/12/2012

Customer review by Practical

3.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Practical
by Practical

This computer is OK. I bought it to replace my previous HP dv7, which is dying after only 2 years--not an acceptable product life. I hope this one lives longer. The good --Good price, lots of memory. The bad Needless reduction of efficiency of use. Example: Many users (including me) prefer single left click to open documents, etc. But if you set it up this way, you can no longer use f2 as a shortcut key to rename files or folders. Why? Because HP decided that f2 should be dedicated to screen brightness. All HP had to do was set fn+f2 as brightness control, and the f2 key could still be used as a "rename" shortcut. This may seem like a minor issue to some users, but I bought this computer for photography (large screen) and on some days I have to rename hundreds of files. Either I have to go back and reset L click to double click (inefficient) or I have to rename files the long way (right click, scroll down, choose "rename"). Either way, HP's failure to consider the end user has created needless waste of time and energy. It's all about efficient workflow. I hope that I don't find other flaws.

Practical
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
WOW!
8/28/2012

Customer review by WDBJ

5.0 stars 8/28/2012 by WDBJ
by WDBJ

Delivery: One week earlier than promised. Processor Speed: Unbelievable! HD Screen: Perfect, love the matte finish to reduce glare points. Keyboard: Love this one compared to the Dell I previously owned. One worry I had when purchasing a system with so much power was heat and fan noise. It appears HP has taken great strides in alleviating these concerns. Very little heat felt and fan noise is almost non-existent. Almost all of my use in on my lap, with no cooling pad, etc. I have not had it long enough to judge how it will be with a full-length BD playing or newer games. I love the mSSD hard drive acceleration cache option. From power off to logon to windows screeen is about a minute. The backlit keyboard is cool, but I've not really found it a feature I use a lot. Features for the price is hard to beat! Oh yeah, Beats Audio...bleh...not impressed nor disappointed.

WDBJ
Ridgefield, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
11/30/2012

Customer review by CarrieMomof3

3.0 stars 11/30/2012 by CarrieMomof3
by CarrieMomof3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Windows 8 is very difficult to operate. If you can avoid it, do not buy a computer with Windows 8. Also I don't really like the keyboard. The keys feel different than what I am used to and it makes it hard to type correctly. I think they are just not tall enough. I did find it cool that this computer came with a separate keypad.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarrieMomof3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Laptop I have owned so Far:
10/15/2012

Customer review by AMXayne

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by AMXayne
by AMXayne

I have owned 5 HP laptops and believe me when I say I have tried other products and none of them compare to this laptop. I love the graphics they are clear and easy to see. I love the fact I can now play games on my Laptop and not fear it over heating. I like the fingerprint scan because it is set up as being so unique that only I can log in. I also made sure that the product had an extended life battery which helps a lot. I can have it unplugged for several hours, if I am not playing a game, and not have to worry about the battery dying on me. I purchases this laptop not just because of its price or the cool custom things I could put in it but because it suited all the needs I had. I will be moving to Japan soon and I needed a laptop that could do all the things my HP desktop could do such as using games or skype. I needed the land line connection be strong but also be able to connect to a nearby WI-FI so i need the power of a Desktop to fit into a laptop and that is what I got. I plan to keep this laptop for many years but hope that I will not have to replace it for a while. HP computers rock and I love my NEW LAPTOP.

AMXayne
Idaho Falls ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I AM TOTALLY IN LOVE WITH THIS LAPTOP!!
9/11/2012

Customer review by KMCCHARGUE

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by KMCCHARGUE
by KMCCHARGUE

I just upgraded from a very old (2006) hp dv5000, which was great at the time, but I'm back in school and I needed something new, faster with lots more space and memory. This laptop exceeds everything I imagined. I have been researching laptops for months and I finally decided on this one. I bought it elsewhere, so I wasn't able to customize it, but the only thing that it was missing that I wanted was the backlit keyboard and after using it for a week, I'm fine without it. I got the 1TB hardrive and I'm so happy with that. The screen and color are amazing! I'm a big music and movie buff, so Beats Audio is off the chain!!! I love the 10-key numeric paid on the right side and the keyboard itself is very comfortable to use. The entire laptop is very sturdy, very well put together and there's nothing flimsy about it. When I buy electronics, I buy the best, especially if I'm going to spend a large amount of money. I can't say enough good things about it...I just love it !!!!! I've been an HP customer for years (love the HP printers too!) and I will continue to be one for years to come!! Thanks HP for making a fabulous laptop!

KMCCHARGUE
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good Laptop w Some Awkward Features
5/10/2012

Customer review by CRompot

3.0 stars 5/10/2012 by CRompot
by CRompot

This laptop has good components and performs well, but suffers from some bad design choices. The USB ports and the AC adapter plugin are located on the sides (some near the front), which is extremely awkward when the adapter and a mouse are connected. Their cords get in the way, and I have resorted to plugging my mouse in on the left side and running its cord all the way around the laptop to keep the cord out of the way. The AC adapter seems heavier than necessary. Its cord is very long, which is both an asset and liability (it gets in the way as well). Since the display is widescreen, its height is 1/2" less than a standard (non-widescreen) 17" monitor. HP installs some bloatware, which takes a bit of time to remove. The audio quality is good, and the keyboard is comfortable and efficient to use. The webcam and fingerprint reader are nice features.

CRompot
Iowa City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Returned within a week kept freezing up!
5/26/2013

Customer review by PAshopper123

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by PAshopper123
by PAshopper123

I bought this laptop as a gift for my daughter. Thankfully I did not show it to her before I checked out. It completely frooze up within 5 or ten minutes of starting up and would have to be turned off with the power button. I tried several different mouses and tried it with and without the wireless, still no luck. I only tried using it on 3 separate days and each time the same issue. I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with HP and we couldn't even get it to work long enough to download the latest updates from HP. They kept telling me "we will resolve this". Well a brand new laptop should not behave this way so I returned it. When I was at the store returning it another man came in returning his HP. He said he had the exact same problem. No more HPs for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAshopper123
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Two Strikes and It's Out
6/17/2013

Customer review by RetiredTchr

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by RetiredTchr
by RetiredTchr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I upgraded a very old Dell Vostro, thinking the Envy's fast processor and spacious video and hard drive space would handle high-end games. The problem: after a few minutes on even the least-demanding applications, such as Solitaire, the screen minimizse to the Desktop, forcing the user to re-click the application icon in the tray to proceed. This occurs randomly but normally within the first fifteen minutes. After that, the screen may switch to the Desktop every few minutes, sometimes three or four times a minute. I was running Sims3, so I tried less demaninding applications but had the same result: the screen would switch to the Desktop often and unpredictably. I thought I had a defective Envy, so I returned it and bought another one. Same problem. It seems this model has a systemic defect, or at least the two out of two Envys that I bought both had the identical defect. What are the odds? I'm returning this second machine for a refund, and I'll then be shopping from a local merchant who can tell me how well his machine handles heat. I wouldn't recommend this Envy to anyone for even the simplest applications.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredTchr
Malone, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply breathtaking.
7/11/2012

Customer review by MGates

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by MGates
by MGates

I've had this laptop for 2 days now and am absolutely amazed at how fast this thing loads pages and media! This laptop has so many upgradeable specs and features, you just can't beat it for the price. I love the 1080p anti-glare screen, it is a must-have! There is talk of this laptop coming with lots of bloatware. However, this comp is fast enough for the average user with little to no lag in loading times. It has a very user-friendly interface and is a joy to use. Typing on the keyboard is marvelous. The Beats Audio speakers sound good and can be turned up pretty loud. I was impressed. The Fingerprint Scanner is also another feature that is just amazing and quick to access your personal files. Options I'd suggest: 1920x1080 Anti-Glare Screen Backlit Keyboard Dual Hard Drive (if you need it) Simply put, buy it, you won't regret it!

MGates
Azusa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews