Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
171
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
2/2/2013

Customer review by John86rroe

5.0 stars by John86rroe

I build computers, graphic designer, web page designer, video editor, and a college student. This computer will handle anything I throw at it. I've ran 3 programs at once without any problems... Mind you they were a powerful video editor software, photoshop, and a sound editor. All at one without no problems... I also had my music playing, plus the Internet with many tabs open.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
John86rroe
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product Overall
10/30/2012

Customer review by TheBigBadBaldOne

5.0 stars by TheBigBadBaldOne

Everything works great and the speed online is amazing and faster than my windows 7 computer, but as of yet, I cannot get the fingerprint reader to work on any websites.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheBigBadBaldOne
Justice, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by sparks08

4.0 stars by sparks08

A really good computer easy to use and great for entertainment purposes. Not a fan of Windows 8 though, I think it would be even better if it had Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sparks08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware this model hp 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl
2/3/2013

Customer review by JoeSchmoe1957

1.0 stars by JoeSchmoe1957

I purchased 3 of these - 2 from Sam's Club and then this one from Walmart. Each computer had a motherboard problem - the power indictator showed 'plugged in, not charging'. Working with tech services, we tried a number of fixes, including hard resets, total drainage of the battery, and reinstallation of the operating system, including all original software. Any and all of these procedures provided a temporary fix lasting anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks. But the problem always returned. Luckily for me, each time it occurred, it occurred within the return policy and I was able to get my money back. First time, I thought it was a fluke. Second time, I thought maybe a bad production run. Third time, something inherent in the motherboard. I know this because the 'plugged in, not charging' indicator occurred without the battery in and without the ac adapter hooked up. If you google HP and 'plugged in, not charging', you will see a plethora of users having the same issue - an issue that HP has not fixed. And think about this - HP is getting out of the computer business within a few months. This was announced in August of 2011 (something else you can find by googling). How interested are they in solving inherent issues with technology that they will not be improving upon? Users in the HP forum expressed maddening frustration at their inability to get answers after the return or warranty period had elapsed. On the positive side, both Sam's Club and Walmart services were terrific. Great places to buy a computer but I would steer you away from HP.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JoeSchmoe1957
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/30/2012

Customer review by CarrieMomof3

3.0 stars by CarrieMomof3

Windows 8 is very difficult to operate. If you can avoid it, do not buy a computer with Windows 8. Also I don't really like the keyboard. The keys feel different than what I am used to and it makes it hard to type correctly. I think they are just not tall enough. I did find it cool that this computer came with a separate keypad.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CarrieMomof3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a nice machine
1/25/2013

Customer review by ashlar

5.0 stars by ashlar

Its a nice machine. It is not touch screen so you should not expect that. The only thing I was not happy with was it took Walmart 3-4 days longer to ship it then what it said it would on the shipping webpage.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ashlar
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not to happy with it
11/7/2012

Customer review by Simpsonfamily6

2.0 stars by Simpsonfamily6

I needed a laptop for school but also wanted something that could hold my music and watch movies.Windows 8 is difficult to navigate and find any files. Would be better if it was a touch screen but a far a using it for school its extremely frustrating. While the 17" screen is great for watching a movie, you must never be far from a power source, Battery life is less than the length of a movie. Because of its large size the board is very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Simpsonfamily6
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned within a week kept freezing up!
5/26/2013

Customer review by PAshopper123

1.0 stars by PAshopper123

I bought this laptop as a gift for my daughter. Thankfully I did not show it to her before I checked out. It completely frooze up within 5 or ten minutes of starting up and would have to be turned off with the power button. I tried several different mouses and tried it with and without the wireless, still no luck. I only tried using it on 3 separate days and each time the same issue. I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with HP and we couldn't even get it to work long enough to download the latest updates from HP. They kept telling me "we will resolve this". Well a brand new laptop should not behave this way so I returned it. When I was at the store returning it another man came in returning his HP. He said he had the exact same problem. No more HPs for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PAshopper123
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Two Strikes and It's Out
6/17/2013

Customer review by RetiredTchr

1.0 stars by RetiredTchr

I upgraded a very old Dell Vostro, thinking the Envy's fast processor and spacious video and hard drive space would handle high-end games. The problem: after a few minutes on even the least-demanding applications, such as Solitaire, the screen minimizse to the Desktop, forcing the user to re-click the application icon in the tray to proceed. This occurs randomly but normally within the first fifteen minutes. After that, the screen may switch to the Desktop every few minutes, sometimes three or four times a minute. I was running Sims3, so I tried less demaninding applications but had the same result: the screen would switch to the Desktop often and unpredictably. I thought I had a defective Envy, so I returned it and bought another one. Same problem. It seems this model has a systemic defect, or at least the two out of two Envys that I bought both had the identical defect. What are the odds? I'm returning this second machine for a refund, and I'll then be shopping from a local merchant who can tell me how well his machine handles heat. I wouldn't recommend this Envy to anyone for even the simplest applications.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RetiredTchr
Malone, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/24/2013

Customer review by braufrau

4.0 stars by braufrau

FedEx left this product at my front door without ringing my doorbell

Was this review helpful? (0) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
braufrau
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product and fast delivery
10/18/2012

Customer review by Mike52

5.0 stars by Mike52

Ordered this HP laptop and it arrived within a couple of days! Very pleased with it so far as it has lots of "bells and whistles."

Mike52
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Laptop deal!
10/18/2012

Customer review by LocalV

5.0 stars by LocalV

I have been a computer user for 25 years, and I must say that this is the best laptop for the price anywhere. This laptop runs flawlessly and super fast. Everyone who says its a slow boot time has no patients. My boot time the longest is only 45 sec. Screen is awesome, GPU is so nice. I can play all the latest games with no issues, full graphics and audio with no problems.Beats audio is a plus for the best sound Ive heard from a laptop. I highly recommend this product from HP..

LocalV
Valencia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Machine, poor documentation
10/16/2012

Customer review by Chatt

5.0 stars by Chatt

One complaint about the product. Written documentation consisted only od a one page startu p sheet. The computers, lights, ports and other featurres were shown but could only be read with a magnifying glass. There should be an on-line manual. If there is don't know where it is.

Chatt
Oro Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is excellent
9/12/2012

Customer review by Lena18

5.0 stars by Lena18

This laptop is excellent if you are wondering about purchasing you shoul. I also have a macbook and a dell netbook and it it's better than the macbook and I love apple products. You should purchase this product don't second guess.

Lena18
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love everything about it.
8/12/2012

Customer review by tilop

5.0 stars by tilop

Great product. I'm always happy with HP.

tilop
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
This product is wonderful
7/20/2012

Customer review by reyvirtud

5.0 stars by reyvirtud

TThanks for offering me a product with such technical quality

reyvirtud
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Value, Great All Around Performance
6/23/2012

Customer review by Adrenaline

5.0 stars by Adrenaline

Just received my DV7-7010US on Thursday night. Immediately I replaced the 750gb drive with a SanDisk Extreme 240GB SSD and the 6GB of ram with 2x8 Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 sticks. After that I installed the Windows 8 Release Preview and was amazed at the speed this laptop provided for multi-tasking, streaming video, playing a game and having several Remote Desktop sessions. The build quality is above average. I like the stronger plastic, it is much better than my previous Dell Inspiron M5010 (Fall 2010 model). Getting to the memory and hard drive was as simple as removing one screw off the bottom, and then 4 for the hard drive. Again much better than my Inspiron which took taking apart nearly the entire laptop to get to the hard drive. Last night I tried out Diablo III, Starcraft II and Rage. All played at 1600x900 (the native resolution) , on medium graphics settings. None of these games would have even played at 1280x1024 on my old Dell and that had a discrete Radeon 4650 in it. The only negatives I see with this laptop is that there was no option for a blu-ray drive, backlit keyboard, 1920x1080 screen and no discrete Radeon option. I hope this can be addressed down the road or better yet allow existing owners to upgrade. But then again I do gaming, video work and programming so my needs are pretty vast. Overall, you won't be disappointed with this laptop.

Adrenaline
Laurel, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great machine
8/13/2012

Customer review by Jayne4

5.0 stars by Jayne4

She loves the fast updated laptop the lighted keyboard makes the difference we already have 3 HP's hope she continues buying them after collage

Jayne4
Walnut Ridge AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love this laptop
7/27/2012

Customer review by JoyceW

5.0 stars by JoyceW

I love the nice big, bright desktop. I especially like that I can lock the "mousepad", keeps me from bumping it when I am typing and I prefer to use a regular mouse. It's fast and the battery charges faster than my old computer. I opted for the 9 cell battery for longer life.

JoyceW
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
excellent
8/10/2012

Customer review by harleyman959798

5.0 stars by harleyman959798

great price, great features,

harleyman959798
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 265 total reviews