Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

271 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
171
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
16
1-20 of 265 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews
2/2/2013

Customer review by John86rroe

5.0 stars 2/2/2013 by John86rroe
by John86rroe

I build computers, graphic designer, web page designer, video editor, and a college student. This computer will handle anything I throw at it. I've ran 3 programs at once without any problems... Mind you they were a powerful video editor software, photoshop, and a sound editor. All at one without no problems... I also had my music playing, plus the Internet with many tabs open.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John86rroe
Kokomo, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product Overall
10/30/2012

Customer review by TheBigBadBaldOne

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by TheBigBadBaldOne
by TheBigBadBaldOne

Everything works great and the speed online is amazing and faster than my windows 7 computer, but as of yet, I cannot get the fingerprint reader to work on any websites.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBigBadBaldOne
Justice, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/3/2013

Customer review by sparks08

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by sparks08
by sparks08

A really good computer easy to use and great for entertainment purposes. Not a fan of Windows 8 though, I think it would be even better if it had Windows 7.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparks08
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beware this model hp 17.3" Envy dv7-7227cl
2/3/2013

Customer review by JoeSchmoe1957

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by JoeSchmoe1957
by JoeSchmoe1957

I purchased 3 of these - 2 from Sam's Club and then this one from Walmart. Each computer had a motherboard problem - the power indictator showed 'plugged in, not charging'. Working with tech services, we tried a number of fixes, including hard resets, total drainage of the battery, and reinstallation of the operating system, including all original software. Any and all of these procedures provided a temporary fix lasting anywhere from a few hours to a few weeks. But the problem always returned. Luckily for me, each time it occurred, it occurred within the return policy and I was able to get my money back. First time, I thought it was a fluke. Second time, I thought maybe a bad production run. Third time, something inherent in the motherboard. I know this because the 'plugged in, not charging' indicator occurred without the battery in and without the ac adapter hooked up. If you google HP and 'plugged in, not charging', you will see a plethora of users having the same issue - an issue that HP has not fixed. And think about this - HP is getting out of the computer business within a few months. This was announced in August of 2011 (something else you can find by googling). How interested are they in solving inherent issues with technology that they will not be improving upon? Users in the HP forum expressed maddening frustration at their inability to get answers after the return or warranty period had elapsed. On the positive side, both Sam's Club and Walmart services were terrific. Great places to buy a computer but I would steer you away from HP.

Was this review helpful? (14) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeSchmoe1957
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/30/2012

Customer review by CarrieMomof3

3.0 stars 11/30/2012 by CarrieMomof3
by CarrieMomof3

Windows 8 is very difficult to operate. If you can avoid it, do not buy a computer with Windows 8. Also I don't really like the keyboard. The keys feel different than what I am used to and it makes it hard to type correctly. I think they are just not tall enough. I did find it cool that this computer came with a separate keypad.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarrieMomof3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a nice machine
1/25/2013

Customer review by ashlar

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by ashlar
by ashlar

Its a nice machine. It is not touch screen so you should not expect that. The only thing I was not happy with was it took Walmart 3-4 days longer to ship it then what it said it would on the shipping webpage.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashlar
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not to happy with it
11/7/2012

Customer review by Simpsonfamily6

2.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Simpsonfamily6
by Simpsonfamily6

I needed a laptop for school but also wanted something that could hold my music and watch movies.Windows 8 is difficult to navigate and find any files. Would be better if it was a touch screen but a far a using it for school its extremely frustrating. While the 17" screen is great for watching a movie, you must never be far from a power source, Battery life is less than the length of a movie. Because of its large size the board is very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simpsonfamily6
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returned within a week kept freezing up!
5/26/2013

Customer review by PAshopper123

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by PAshopper123
by PAshopper123

I bought this laptop as a gift for my daughter. Thankfully I did not show it to her before I checked out. It completely frooze up within 5 or ten minutes of starting up and would have to be turned off with the power button. I tried several different mouses and tried it with and without the wireless, still no luck. I only tried using it on 3 separate days and each time the same issue. I spent almost 2 hours on the phone with HP and we couldn't even get it to work long enough to download the latest updates from HP. They kept telling me "we will resolve this". Well a brand new laptop should not behave this way so I returned it. When I was at the store returning it another man came in returning his HP. He said he had the exact same problem. No more HPs for me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PAshopper123
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Two Strikes and It's Out
6/17/2013

Customer review by RetiredTchr

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by RetiredTchr
by RetiredTchr

I upgraded a very old Dell Vostro, thinking the Envy's fast processor and spacious video and hard drive space would handle high-end games. The problem: after a few minutes on even the least-demanding applications, such as Solitaire, the screen minimizse to the Desktop, forcing the user to re-click the application icon in the tray to proceed. This occurs randomly but normally within the first fifteen minutes. After that, the screen may switch to the Desktop every few minutes, sometimes three or four times a minute. I was running Sims3, so I tried less demaninding applications but had the same result: the screen would switch to the Desktop often and unpredictably. I thought I had a defective Envy, so I returned it and bought another one. Same problem. It seems this model has a systemic defect, or at least the two out of two Envys that I bought both had the identical defect. What are the odds? I'm returning this second machine for a refund, and I'll then be shopping from a local merchant who can tell me how well his machine handles heat. I wouldn't recommend this Envy to anyone for even the simplest applications.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredTchr
Malone, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/24/2013

Customer review by braufrau

4.0 stars 1/24/2013 by braufrau
by braufrau

FedEx left this product at my front door without ringing my doorbell

Was this review helpful? (0) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
braufrau
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product and fast delivery
10/18/2012

Customer review by Mike52

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by Mike52
by Mike52

Ordered this HP laptop and it arrived within a couple of days! Very pleased with it so far as it has lots of "bells and whistles."

Mike52
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Laptop deal!
10/18/2012

Customer review by LocalV

5.0 stars 10/18/2012 by LocalV
by LocalV

I have been a computer user for 25 years, and I must say that this is the best laptop for the price anywhere. This laptop runs flawlessly and super fast. Everyone who says its a slow boot time has no patients. My boot time the longest is only 45 sec. Screen is awesome, GPU is so nice. I can play all the latest games with no issues, full graphics and audio with no problems.Beats audio is a plus for the best sound Ive heard from a laptop. I highly recommend this product from HP..

LocalV
Valencia, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very please with this product
8/22/2012

Customer review by Wendy03

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by Wendy03
by Wendy03

Just as advertised. The only thing I have noticed, and also saw on another review, is a slight bowing of the keyboard. However, it is only slight and does not appear to affect performance at all. Overall, I am completely satisfied with the purchase.

Wendy03
Fountain Hills, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Product at a Great Price
9/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have only had my laptop for a few days now but it has definitely met my expectations. Very fast and responsive. I went with the 3rd Gen i5 and it is just as fast as my quad core on my desktop (although that is a few years old now). I love the big screen. I opted to go for the 1080p matte and am very satisfied. It is plenty bright on full settings which I never run. Maybe one of the biggest surprises was the speakers. They are so LOUD even at half volume. One of the biggest frustrations for me in past laptops is that you just can't hear them. This is not the case with this laptop. I am beginning to love it. Hopefully I don't have any problems in the future but as of now I am a satisfied customer. If I had any critiques they would be that it is a fingerprint magnet but what electronic isn't. And also it is a little big but I did opt to go for the 17 inch screen which I guess I expected it to be big. With that said I still feel like it is very compact for being a 17 incher. It is relatively thin and easy to hold. I do love the big screen. P.S. I also should have mentioned that the laptop arrived even before the ship date. I was very happy with that.

An anonymous customer
Fleetwood Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great deal on a great laptop!
9/21/2012

Customer review by Darwinne

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Darwinne
by Darwinne

I am very impressed with the dv7t-select edition laptop i bought. The graphics and performance are outstanding, customer service was very good, setup was easy, and the price for the features bundled in was excellent!

Darwinne
Woodstock, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic laptop.
9/26/2012

Customer review by Deana

5.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Deana
by Deana

I ordered this laptop (17") to use as a desktop because it has superior features for the price. It arrived exactly as I ordered it on the day promised. Out of the box it was plug in and begin working. I have fallen more in love with it every day. It makes my life very smooth and operates perfect to my expectations. I would definitely recommend or buy another if needed.

Deana
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Easy Setup, Great Performance
7/24/2012

Customer review by TappanZeePC

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by TappanZeePC
by TappanZeePC

Laptop has great performance, especially at this price. No issues during setup. Client is very happy with weight, speed, esthetics, and features. Would definitely recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a decent entertainment laptop.

TappanZeePC
Tarrytown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Everything I am looking for in a laptop
10/9/2012

Customer review by Sweet123

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Sweet123
by Sweet123

The dv7t-7000 does a lot of things right. The screen is beautiful and displays video and text perfectly. The keyboard looks and feels just right. The somewhat higher-end components that I chose for this laptop all meet or exceed my expectations. The laptop's heat management seems to work excellent; I have put it through some intense sessions and have never felt it get scorching hot. Overall, the hardware is on par with other high-end laptops with a lower price-point. That being said, there are also a few things I wish were different. First, a common complaint with modern laptops: there is way too much software that comes pre-installed with this laptop. In retrospect, it would have been far faster and easier for me to have simply formatted the hard drive clean and reinstalled Windows right from the start, rather than have to pick through what was already installed and remove what I didn't need. Second, from a pure aesthetic standpoint: I really dislike the stickers than come attached near the fingerprint scanner. "HP experience", "NVIDIA", etc. These stickers are attached with a glue that makes them very difficult to remove, and they all left gunk on the laptop after taking them off. Finally, the metal bezel just below the trackpad seemed to be machined a little sloppy; it feels sharp, as if though if I ran my finger along it hard enough it might cut my finger. This is somewhat minor since in the normal course of using the laptop, my finger doesn't touch the bezel. I only noticed it by chance one day when taking my hand away from the trackpad. Overall, I rate this laptop highly. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice all-purpose laptop that doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg.

Sweet123
Eden Prairie, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great desktop replacement
10/9/2012

Customer review by Tropicalpixels

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Tropicalpixels
by Tropicalpixels

Purchased this 17" laptop primarily as a desktop replacement , yet still have portability as an option. Looked at several competitors, but HP was a clear winner in light of the flexibility to custom configure the device. This was critical, as I use programs requiring significant system resources, such as Photoshop Extended (3D rendering), and display screen color accuracy. Being able to have a 7200 rpm HDD, fast memory, HD non glare display, discrete video card, and back-lit keyboard, made this purchase a clear winner, and at a competitive price point. Coupled with a TrackBall type mouse and a pen tablet,enables a very ergonomic workflow. Have used HP Pavilions for 10 years, without a hiccup. Just re-installed the XP OS on my 1st Pavilion, and re-cycled it to my 9 y.o. grandson.

Tropicalpixels
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
none
10/11/2012

Customer review by gbart

5.0 stars 10/11/2012 by gbart
by gbart

it's a great computer

gbart
Elko, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 265 total reviews
1-20 of 265 reviews