Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 41 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Good Entry Level Computer
12/22/2012

Customer review by Ferrari248F1

4.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Ferrari248F1
by Ferrari248F1

As said above its a good entry level computer and just that. Personally I wouldn't have spent the $500+ (after taxes#, seeing as in terms of performance this is slightly faster than a 2006 Intel Core 2 Duo E4700 desktop processor. Now don't get me wrong I have nothing against AMD I have 2 computers with AMD's in them #including this one). A couple of things I didn't like about it at first was that the fans were always on, this is easily remedied by going in to the UEFI BIOS and setting the "Fan Always On" feature to Disabled. The second thing that bothered me was the adaptive brightness of the display it was too intrusive in my opinion, to turn that off you have to right click on the desktop and then click AMD vision engine control center and go to "Power">"Power Play"> and uncheck "Enable Vari-Bright". All in all its a decent computer but like I said wouldn't have paid for it...its a good thing my dad won this at his job in a raffle.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferrari248F1
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GREAT LAPTOP!!!
9/21/2012

Customer review by Kimberley

5.0 stars 9/21/2012 by Kimberley
by Kimberley

I just got my new laptop and it is great!!! I had a hard time deciding what computer to get because I just wanted to get if for school. I had only had a desktop, but I wanted to be able to bring my computer with to school to be able to work on my homework in between classes and not to always have to run to the computer lab, so this semester I started looking for a computer and this one caught my eye and then I had a family member look for me because I have never ordered my own computer before and we both agreed on this computer. It was a reasonable price and when I got it in the mail it was a little bit bigger of a computer then I thought, but when I started to use it I learned that I love it!!! It is big enough so I don't have to squint at the computer. I would definitely recommend this computer to others. It is a great computer for a reasonable price and it has been a great investment for school!! Another bonus was that it came almost a week earlier then it was suppose to, so that was very exciting!

Kimberley
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Above average
11/30/2012

Customer review by DevaLaDevia

4.0 stars 11/30/2012 by DevaLaDevia
by DevaLaDevia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had issues with it at first and Microsoft informed me that it had 80,000+ "gunks" as they called it on the laptop. It was an hour old and he had the nerve to ask me if I had surfed websites. I told him that I only had it for an hour. He told me that for a small fee they would remove the "gunks" and make sure that I didn't get anymore of those. Needless to say I nipped that in the bud. I will say that Windows 8 is NOT compatible with Google, it takes some working with it to figure out where everything is, and you can only use Internet Explorer if you want to get anything downloaded. So other than Microsoft trying some scam run on me, the laptop is pretty good. It doesn't like SIMS on Facebook, but the HD quality when watching a movie is out of this world great along with its surround sound system! I'm a writer and it does what I need it to do. I would definitely recommend the laptop. Microsoft... different story. You can see from the Mountain Dew bottle that it's pretty big. Keep in mind I do use a laptop stand so it's not "that" tall but it's not small either. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DevaLaDevia
Silver Spring, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/3/2012

Customer review by albaruka

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by albaruka
by albaruka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For the price you cannot beat this system. I was actually surprised that it was available at this price. So far i'm just enjoying this system. I upgraded to 8 gig of RAM. Just fantastic. Tony

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
albaruka
Valrico, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/12/2012

Customer review by oldone

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by oldone
by oldone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is a great Computer for a great price. Windows 8 will take little time to get used to, but its a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldone
Muskogee,Ok.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/6/2012

Customer review by deadenise

5.0 stars 11/6/2012 by deadenise
by deadenise
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My computer isawesome ..I can't put it down ...Thanks HP YOU ROCK!

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deadenise
Gary, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great after setup
9/15/2012

Customer review by JessicaM

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by JessicaM
by JessicaM

Having tried other companies computers, when it comes down to it, I've always used HP, Compaq, and Windows computers since they are dependable. My last PC's hard drive crashed (my fault), which is why I bought this laptop. Initially, by initially I mean the first couple of days, I was getting impatient and started regretting the purchase. But I had to keep reminding myself that with every new Windows computer, you have to download all the updates and it takes time. So after installing service packs and updates, the computer was ready to use. And its amazing. I've had it for almost a month, which I know is a little short of time, and it's really fantastic. My most favorite part about the computer is the loading and saving time. It is so fast. Editing programs open in seconds and videos that used to take 25 minutes to save now literally takes 2. Overall, I am greatly happy with this purchase and I still haven't been disappointed with a HP product. Being and student, website designer, and having a hobby of video editing, I need computers I can trust, which is why I only buy HP.

JessicaM
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Simply Amazing!
11/28/2012

Customer review by Pheebs

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Pheebs
by Pheebs

I got this laptop to play World of Warcraft on, do my school work on and to do my actual work on. It does all of that plus so much more! The AMD in it is awesome, for gaming purposes, I can sit in Stormwind on Fair to High settings and still get approximately 30 frames per second. Out in World it gets upwards of 80 fps. Did the Sha in Kun Lai summit - dropped it down a little and was still averaging 20 FPS. The speakers on this beast are amazing. I didn't realize that when I got this thing, that the speakers were going to be that good, or the volume actually worth a dang. It came with Windows 8 which at the time, was a little of a draw back, but now I am used to it, and I love it on this machine. The track pad is dual touch so it makes a touch pad OS seem acceptable. The only complaint, and I think this is more on my end as I have left it plugged in all the time, the battery life isn't that great. Which again isn't a problem, as I am constantly plugged in. So all in all, if you are looking for a gaming laptop, that isn't expensive, right here! If you are looking for an Entertainment laptop at all right here!

Pheebs
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
nice computer
11/16/2012

Customer review by soonerman1

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by soonerman1
by soonerman1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned several hp computers in the past. We ordered it on line when we received it and set it up everthing was fine . But after two days it CRASHED!!!!!!!!!! and I took it back to walmart . We then went to another store a best buy and found the same computer for a cheeper price

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soonerman1
Baytown tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!!
2/26/2013

Customer review by jolecole89

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by jolecole89
by jolecole89

I went to Wal-Mart to buy another HP laptop but they were sold out at the store and only had two of these left. I'm so happy that I got this instead. The bigger screen is great!! And I love the graphics when I'm playing a game. I believe that HP is wonderful company and make great products. I will only used their printers. And Windows 8 is very awesome as well. Takes a minute to get use to it, but it's makes it easy to use more than program at a time which I love. Will so recommend this to a friend who is into gaming.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jolecole89
Grants NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/30/2012

Customer review by papote46

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by papote46
by papote46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So far I have no complains besides having to deal with Windows 8 and a missing software- Is like learning a new language and the instructor doesn't speak your language. Still looking for Microsoft Office Starter 2010: If is here I can't find it. I will repost here once I know for sure. ;-) But so far I can say this laptop is a very good product at a very good price. Took my old computer, formatted it and gave to my daughter- She is very happy. ;-) Reg Jose

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
papote46
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
g7z-2100
8/27/2012

Customer review by Learymale

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by Learymale
by Learymale

I was extremely skeptical about buying a g7z-2100 but it turned out to be one of the best computer purchases I've made in years. Great performance, and the A-10 4600m is an amazing APU, set it up with a 7670m for dual graphics and you can run just about any game out there on med/high settings. I had no intention of using this machine for games, I had only wanted something that I could do homework/email on. I did upgrade the memory to 16GB vs. the standard 4GB that it comes with. Overkill? yes, but that's me... I wouldn't plan on taking this machine all over the place. It's pretty big, Standard desktop replacement size.

Learymale
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
This product is encredible.
8/24/2012

Customer review by Jcruz567

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Jcruz567
by Jcruz567

This is one of the best laptops i have bought. The screen is huge (17.3 for a laptop is awesome) and the resolution is great too. I got the upgraded graphics card and games no longer lag, which was awesome because i am getting about 100 fps on high settings. The keyboard is very easy to type with, but i dont really like the small lettering for fn keys. The sound is great, and the battery life is great. I wish it had less pre-installed applications, but they can be easily removed. I recommend this laptop for anyone, who wants a great laptop, with a huge screen size, and works great for everything. Thanks a lot hp!

Jcruz567
Manhattan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Light for 17" laptop. Works great.
9/22/2012

Customer review by Stan50

4.0 stars 9/22/2012 by Stan50
by Stan50

Difficult to remove some of hte plastic protective pieces. Still have a piece stuck down by spacebar. Wish I had ordered the lighted keyboard. Still trying to get use to the "two-finger" scroll on the pad. Preferred the previous pad with scroll function on the right side of the pad. Would like more USB connections. Previous HP laptop had four instead of just three. Very light for 17" laptop. Easy to transport. Still looking for good sleeve or pouch for travel. No reasonable ones found at HP store. Overall, very pleased so far.

Stan50
Milford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1/27/2013

Customer review by olster2x

3.0 stars 1/27/2013 by olster2x
by olster2x
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have not had it long enough for good review. So far, seems to be pretty slow, it is as slow as my old desktop. also, I am still trying to get used to windows 8, and may delete it. old man.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
olster2x
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dollar for Dollar It Is The Best Of Breed
11/28/2012

Customer review by jcasch00

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by jcasch00
by jcasch00
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There is nothing more the average user will really need, bar none. Great Product! Great Machine! Great Price! Great Preformance! And Windows 8 is a bonus!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcasch00
Norwalk, Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall a great computer.
9/5/2012

Customer review by MattF312

4.0 stars 9/5/2012 by MattF312
by MattF312

I bought this computer mainly to replace my old Dell computer for school purposes. I got the 1gb radeon 7670m to game on the road or at school. This computer is great for me, it's fast and boots in little time. However, it is a bit on the bulky side, so if you're one of those people who need the actual text book to haul to class, this probably isn't the best choice. But, if you have all your books in the e-Version, this is a great buy!

MattF312
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
HP Paviilon g7-2010nr laptop
7/10/2012

Customer review by Broncobill

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Broncobill
by Broncobill

I have owned this laptop for about 2 weeks and I am very impressed with it's performance. The boot time of the laptop is exceptionally fast. It does take some time to get used to using it considering it is running the OS of Windows 7; It is a more of a learning curve compared to Windows XP. I have had some trial and errors with being able to make certain programs work with the laptop but all in all I was able to "tweek" and get them running. With the touchpad, the feature that impresses me is the fact you can turn the touchpad on and off and are able to use a seperate mouse. I also like the fact that it has the two different speeds of USB (2.0 & 3.0) along with an HDMI port so you can hook it up to a high definition monitor such as a television. The laptop also works very very well wirelessly (I have it hooked up to my "network") and does not drop the wireless signal like my previous laptop. I am also able to print to my network printer with the laptop......It is so cool that I can place an order on the laptop and send the receipt information to the printer. One thing I don't like is the fact it comes pre-loaded with things such as Norton Internet Security (trial-version). The Norton program keeps popping up wanting you to register it and ultimately use it.....I would rather pick my own internet security software for the laptop. It comes with a 640 Gig hard drive, DVD read/write drive, etc. I cannot tell you about battery life since I mostly keep it plugged in but I do cycle the battery every now and again. It is truly a very decent laptop and would highly recommend it.

Broncobill
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Pretty good laptop!
2/23/2013

Customer review by RachealH85

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by RachealH85
by RachealH85

This laptop arrived in excellent condition. It is a great laptop. Runs very smoothly and play games well. I got this laptop for playing the Sims 3. It takes forever to load the game, but the gameplay seemed fine. It played DCUO and Oblivion fine. Great laptop for a great price. It is not bluetooth compatible, but has a built in mic and cam. The cam works great and is completely adjustable for dark rooms. Windows 8 isn't that bad once you get used to it, but I would recommend classic shell. In summary, this is a great laptop.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RachealH85
Beaumont, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The product is great but...
12/6/2012

Customer review by wawynn54

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by wawynn54
by wawynn54

The computer itself is great BUT the Microsoft Windows 8 (which is preloaded) has a bug that causes a configuration update problem. It sticks at 13% and that is a problem with a brand new computer. The customer shouldn't be bothered with this problem on a brand new computer. Fix that problem with Microsoft and it's a great computer.

wawynn54
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews