Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 35 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Excellent value soundbar
6/9/2013

Customer review by moothane

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by moothane
by moothane

This is an excellent value for a soundbar with a subwoofer! The sound quality isn't as high end as some of the other models i've heard but for being less than $100, you certainly get a HUGE improvement over the stock speaker sound that comes with your TV. I connected it through my TV's optical out without any need to mess around with the settings at all ( I have a Vizio). It was also connected through the Music iLink connection (which is just a regular 3.5mm connection) and it played flawlessly. I also have it on RCA in through a bluetooth receiver, which turned my sound bar into a bluetooth compatible soundbar! I love this fact because both the receiver and the sound bar together cost less than $100 and most dedicated bluetooth sound bars start upwards of $200!! The bass can be a little boomy but its easy enough to adjust through the remote which allows you to control bass and treble and master volume. Its easy to connect, simple, and works great. Be sure to check out this deal, its fantastic for the price and sounds just as good as those twice its price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moothane
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Isn't the Dolby Digital model
6/21/2013

Customer review by TechConsumer

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by TechConsumer
by TechConsumer

There are two very similar models of this sound bar. the CSS2123/F7 and CSS2123/F7B (the B is the only difference. This claims to be the "B" model on this website but I received the model without the B. The B model is the one that can receive Dolby Digital signal. The other model can't and so this won't work with my TV since my TV doesn't allow you to turn the Dolby Digital signal off. I knew all of this info before I purchased it which is why I purposely chose this model with the "B". I am returning it ASAP to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechConsumer
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/8/2013

Customer review by Brad0814

3.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Brad0814
by Brad0814
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's ok but didn't come with everything needed to connect it to my television other than that though it surprised me that such a small bar makes such a big sound

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brad0814
Brandon ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great sound
6/7/2013

Customer review by MrWheels

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by MrWheels
by MrWheels
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it takes a little getting used to the remote, but the sound is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrWheels
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
for the 30 mins it was working it sounded great!
1/17/2013

Customer review by lakehouse

2.0 stars 1/17/2013 by lakehouse
by lakehouse

found this at a good price for a bedroom soundbar-but maybe you get what you pay for--finally got the correct cords and the sound was wonderful and dialog was easier to understand! but after about half hr. we tried to mute it for a phone call and remote wouldn't work! put in new battery (after a run to hardware store) and still didn't work-used FAQ's for possible solution and check for infrared signal-none. called support-after much discussion re our address (we only have a POBOX since we don't get delivery in our small town) they will send us a new one--in 10-15 days. so guess we don't know how this works and won't for another 2 wks. unplugged unit to get vol. down and now can't turn back on without remote--which doesn't work, no controls on unit-only on remote?!?

lakehouse
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good enough sound for TV for a medium sized room
6/30/2013

Customer review by mnmus

3.0 stars 6/30/2013 by mnmus
by mnmus

Good value overall. Better sound than from our 46" LED LCD TV. OK for casual music listening. Dialog is clearer. Nice bass. Cleaning up the sound profile took a while. Rated it down a star fot the irritation of having to run down a button cell battery before I could turn the thing on, because, unlike EVERY SINGLE OTHER remote bundled in an electronic purchase in the past five years or more, THIS had no battery for the remote, and NATURALLY it was a format not as common as the ordinary AA or AAA batteries in many remotes. Aggravation: unnecessary, ESPECIALLY since the remote is the ONLY means of turning the device on. Not cool. Still, once I dug up a battery for the remote and got the balance dialed in, it's adequate for the medium-sized (13'X20') room it's in and does correct the problem of the wimpy TV speakers' poor reproduction of dialog in TV and movies. NOTE: all our sound reproduction in this room is now funneled through this soundbar via the digital audio connection from the TV, since all other video and audio (streaming video, mp3s, CDs and DVDs) are relayed through the TV via HDMI from the connected media center PC. As I said, music reproduction is OK for casual listening, and since I have better means of reproduction for "serious" music listening, that's just fine b y me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mnmus
SW Missouri Ozarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
the product (refurbished) did NOT work.
8/25/2013

Customer review by DMan331

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by DMan331
by DMan331
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

im sure it would have been a good product. but the refurbished product did not work and had to be returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DMan331
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not compatible with a brand new Philips 55" TV
5/30/2012

Customer review by Doogie

2.0 stars 5/30/2012 by Doogie
by Doogie

I wanted a Philips soundbar to complement my new Philips 55PFL3907/F7 TV. I purchased both units at a warehouse club. This unit requires a PCM input and my new TV only outputs Dolby Digital S/PDIT, which product support informs me is incompatible. Instructions and specifications are poorly written and lack key details. It comes without any cables except the A/C plug. But it has awesome sound when I connect a music player through the MusicLink or connect a DVD player to the AUX Input. Who would have thought two new 2012 Philips products wouldn't work together. Not me. I used to work for Philips. Since I can't return it to where I purchased it, for me, this was a waste of money.

Doogie
Lakeland, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Waste of Money
2/11/2013

Customer review by HIGHBROW

1.0 stars 2/11/2013 by HIGHBROW
by HIGHBROW

After much back and fourth decided to go with this soundbar ( having borrowed my parents soundbar for over a month ). Found it at local costco and was surprised at the price of it, after a little back and fourth I figured how bad could it be. Well how bad could it be has been answered, it is horrible, no way to control subwoofer volume, the remote works when it wants and the volume aspect of the remote does not work at all, Going back to today before hooking it up I should have been signaled by the three of them in the open box section, needless to say you do get what you pay. I will be returning this and sadly spending more money but I am sure getting much better quality

HIGHBROW
Athens, GA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Let down
12/27/2012

Customer review by moonman

2.0 stars 12/27/2012 by moonman
by moonman

Got this as a gift and opened it right up. Easy to hook up and set up. We made it through half a movie with awesome sound, and then it started getting a squeak (almost like it was blown). Perhaps I had been gifted a used/returned unit. I will take it back and exchange to see if this problem continues. Remote is tiny and you can not see where your volume levels are, there is not display. The only time you know your levels is when you are at the min/max and the lights flash all at once. When it worked it sounded great in our little room with our 27" TV.

moonman
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great Product & Sound for the $$
9/23/2013

Customer review by Electrofryed

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Electrofryed
by Electrofryed

I bought this unit new so can't comment on the condition or quality of a refurbished unit. It has an optical out and the sound through this connection is superb for my LG 42" Flatscreen TV located in the bedroom. Dialog is crisp and clear and the woofer bass is adequate. It is very slim so it doesn't interfere with the remote receiver on the TV. Indicator lights on this unit are on top and out of visual sight from the front but that hasn't bothered me. I adjust the sound based on my tastes and not on visual controls. However, my primary gripe was the remote control and the lack of programming the soundbar via a third party remote. I have cable and have since found many of the cable companies use similar if not identical remotes sourced through Universal Electronics. Reference their remote codes online for your specific remote model (if you have cable). I did find a recommended code for this soundbar model. The code only controls the volume up/down but that was my ultimate goal. It does not turn the sound bar on/off but I'm assuming the soundbar will go into standby mode (better than nothing) when the TV is turned off. Note: If you try this route enter the code then instead of hitting power on/off try volume up/down instead. If it works you've obtained minimum control of at least the volume from the third party remote.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Electrofryed
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything Sounds So Much Better
4/16/2013

Customer review by Rambler26

4.0 stars 4/16/2013 by Rambler26
by Rambler26

They say that good audio enhances picture, and this sound bar has definitely elevated my home theater. We are hearing things that we never heard before. It has made movie watching at home fantastic. Plus, the sound doesn't have to be turned up as loud to hear things clearly. So glad I bought this. My only complaint is the stereo cable connectivity. This sound bar is paired with a Philips TV. If the sound bar had HDMI connectivity, then I could control both TV and sound bar with one remote. Small complaint.

Rambler26
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good product. Excellent price.
5/17/2012

Customer review by Sean321

4.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Sean321
by Sean321

I have been on the hunt for a sound bar for a while. I wasn't really interested in spending $300 - $1,000 for one. I tried the Costco Visio one and it was not good at all. Then I came across this Phillips one. I have been presently surprised by Philips audio products in the past so I thought I would give it a shot. Quite a nice product with only a minimal draw backs. Setting up is a breeze with only the sub to attach, plug the device in, and insert the optical cable (not inc.). Once up and running I tested the sound. Music is very nice. It doesn't replace my high end system in the basement, but I didn't expect it to either. My room is fairly big and it also openly attaches to another room, so there is quite a bit of space to fill, and this unit does it nicely. One draw back of this unit is that it doesn't have a dialogue enhancement. Don't get me wrong, it does a good job of dialogue anyway. It would just be nice to have this one additional feature just to bump up the vocals at low volume. It has separate base and treble settings which is hard to find in soundbars. The one real design flaw with this unit is that it doesn't have a forward facing LED to indicate when it's receiving the command for volume increase/decrease. It is a bit annoying but workable. My preference would be for the unit to have a forward facing LED (volume level) number indicator just because my different systems (PS3, Apple TV, Cable) push out different base volume levels. Other than that ... really good value for the money.

Sean321
Calgary, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works Great!
3/20/2013

Customer review by Snowdog993

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Snowdog993
by Snowdog993

I went to WalMart and needed a sound bar for my TV, and purchased a different product. I hooked it up, and it buzzed and buzzed. I was convinced that it was defective and there has to be something a lot better than what I purchased. I saw this product and decided to give it a try. I LOVE it! It works beautifully with the TV and was simple to install. I highly recommend this product to anyone needing a sound bar for their listening pleasure.

Snowdog993
Henderson, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really love this sound bar
4/15/2012

Customer review by BabyDoll

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by BabyDoll
by BabyDoll

I wanted to get rid of myold surround sound speakers. I saw this on display at our local WalMart. The sound was fantastic. When I got this home, the assembly and connection was easy. Have my TV, Blue Ray, XBox 360, and Wii hooked to it. Did not mount on wall. I am very pleased with the quality. But, then again I am an avid fan of Philips products (excellent quality, value, and support).

BabyDoll
Tennessee, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Unbelievable! Fill a small to medium room with sound!
8/26/2012

Customer review by sjf517

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by sjf517
by sjf517

After going thru a number of different soundbars I was pleasantly surprised that the most inexpensive one sound great. And unlike many other soundbars this little unit runs thru an optical. An added plus was that I was able to get a Logitech Harmony 600 universal remote to control the unit along with my other components. Btw,no other remote seems to work.

sjf517
Jensen Beavch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great sound and price
10/13/2012

Customer review by Edpappenheim

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Edpappenheim
by Edpappenheim

Just bought this sounds bar at Walmart, and very happy with it. It has great sound and was a good price. I live in apartment and was looking for a sound bar that has a surround sound effect and didn't want to spend a lot. This sound bar is perfect, props to you Philips, and thank you!!!!

Edpappenheim
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great little sound system
9/3/2013

Customer review by ikilledfire007

4.0 stars 9/3/2013 by ikilledfire007
by ikilledfire007

This little bar works great for my bed room, nothing too fancy though. Enough hook ups in the back to hook up all my little things into it, the remote is sometimes a pain, you really have to point it right at it for it to work properly, but overall, good investment.

ikilledfire007
Slidell, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Not good for what I wanted
2/13/2014

Customer review by Herbsu43

2.0 stars 2/13/2014 by Herbsu43
by Herbsu43

Bought because my tv speakers are on back off the unit and spoken words sound muffled. This was not much better. No owners manual or quick start up were in the box and the website is not easy to get what I wanted. I still do not have either one.

Herbsu43
Miami Shores, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Impressed
8/12/2013

Customer review by Jesucio

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Jesucio
by Jesucio

As always Philips Audio does not fail to impress. New products always outperforming older ones, I think that this system sounds way better than my former 1,000 watts Philips Home Theater system. Keep up the great sound quality that defines you.

Jesucio
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews