Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
4
1-20 of 35 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Isn't the Dolby Digital model
6/21/2013

Customer review by TechConsumer

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by TechConsumer
by TechConsumer

There are two very similar models of this sound bar. the CSS2123/F7 and CSS2123/F7B (the B is the only difference. This claims to be the "B" model on this website but I received the model without the B. The B model is the one that can receive Dolby Digital signal. The other model can't and so this won't work with my TV since my TV doesn't allow you to turn the Dolby Digital signal off. I knew all of this info before I purchased it which is why I purposely chose this model with the "B". I am returning it ASAP to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechConsumer
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/8/2013

Customer review by Brad0814

3.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Brad0814
by Brad0814

It's ok but didn't come with everything needed to connect it to my television other than that though it surprised me that such a small bar makes such a big sound

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brad0814
Brandon ms
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value soundbar
6/9/2013

Customer review by moothane

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by moothane
by moothane

This is an excellent value for a soundbar with a subwoofer! The sound quality isn't as high end as some of the other models i've heard but for being less than $100, you certainly get a HUGE improvement over the stock speaker sound that comes with your TV. I connected it through my TV's optical out without any need to mess around with the settings at all ( I have a Vizio). It was also connected through the Music iLink connection (which is just a regular 3.5mm connection) and it played flawlessly. I also have it on RCA in through a bluetooth receiver, which turned my sound bar into a bluetooth compatible soundbar! I love this fact because both the receiver and the sound bar together cost less than $100 and most dedicated bluetooth sound bars start upwards of $200!! The bass can be a little boomy but its easy enough to adjust through the remote which allows you to control bass and treble and master volume. Its easy to connect, simple, and works great. Be sure to check out this deal, its fantastic for the price and sounds just as good as those twice its price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moothane
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sound
6/7/2013

Customer review by MrWheels

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by MrWheels
by MrWheels

it takes a little getting used to the remote, but the sound is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrWheels
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the product (refurbished) did NOT work.
8/25/2013

Customer review by DMan331

1.0 stars 8/25/2013 by DMan331
by DMan331

im sure it would have been a good product. but the refurbished product did not work and had to be returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMan331
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good enough sound for TV for a medium sized room
6/30/2013

Customer review by mnmus

3.0 stars 6/30/2013 by mnmus
by mnmus

Good value overall. Better sound than from our 46" LED LCD TV. OK for casual music listening. Dialog is clearer. Nice bass. Cleaning up the sound profile took a while. Rated it down a star fot the irritation of having to run down a button cell battery before I could turn the thing on, because, unlike EVERY SINGLE OTHER remote bundled in an electronic purchase in the past five years or more, THIS had no battery for the remote, and NATURALLY it was a format not as common as the ordinary AA or AAA batteries in many remotes. Aggravation: unnecessary, ESPECIALLY since the remote is the ONLY means of turning the device on. Not cool. Still, once I dug up a battery for the remote and got the balance dialed in, it's adequate for the medium-sized (13'X20') room it's in and does correct the problem of the wimpy TV speakers' poor reproduction of dialog in TV and movies. NOTE: all our sound reproduction in this room is now funneled through this soundbar via the digital audio connection from the TV, since all other video and audio (streaming video, mp3s, CDs and DVDs) are relayed through the TV via HDMI from the connected media center PC. As I said, music reproduction is OK for casual listening, and since I have better means of reproduction for "serious" music listening, that's just fine b y me.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mnmus
SW Missouri Ozarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2012

Customer review by CATVsystemtech

3.0 stars 12/9/2012 by CATVsystemtech
by CATVsystemtech

Purchased as a gift and rated average as it has not been hooked up yet. (Christmas gift)

Was this review helpful? (1) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CATVsystemtech
Lower Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Surround Sound
9/8/2013

Customer review by mikesr100

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by mikesr100
by mikesr100

Just exactly what I expected. 2 minutes to set up and the sound is better than I expected especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikesr100
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A must Have!
8/10/2013

Customer review by Umpire15

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Umpire15
by Umpire15

I purchased the refurbished Vizio 60" flat screen. Excellent TV except for the speakers. This product was a perfect addition. Great sound quality. I am in TV/Sound heaven!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Umpire15
Carteret, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Drdlite

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Drdlite
by Drdlite

I was quite pleased with the way the dialogue Was enhanced. Nice option for the size area I have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drdlite
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressed
8/12/2013

Customer review by Jesucio

5.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Jesucio
by Jesucio

As always Philips Audio does not fail to impress. New products always outperforming older ones, I think that this system sounds way better than my former 1,000 watts Philips Home Theater system. Keep up the great sound quality that defines you.

Jesucio
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent sound at a low price.
9/6/2012

Customer review by Mountie

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Mountie
by Mountie

Excellent sound for a very low price. Surprised at the quality of sound for a small size. Easy to set up. Remote is very small, hard to read but easy to use.

Mountie
Central New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works great with my Philips TV
12/8/2012

Customer review by Jack56

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Jack56
by Jack56

Easy to set up and looks great. Sounds real good for for what I paid. I then turned on my Philips TVs surround sound and with both of them combined sounds as good as any surround system I had ever heard.

Jack56
Harrisonville, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Sound, Great Value
6/17/2012

Customer review by DocR

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by DocR
by DocR

This is a very good sounding soundbar for the money! Works well in small to mid-sizedroom.

DocR
Saginaw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good bang for the buck
5/3/2013

Customer review by CaptainC

5.0 stars 5/3/2013 by CaptainC
by CaptainC

The only drawback is with the remote. You have no way of knowing what the volume level is. Nothing appears on the TV screen.

CaptainC
Ashland, OH 44805, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Unbelievable! Fill a small to medium room with sound!
8/26/2012

Customer review by sjf517

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by sjf517
by sjf517

After going thru a number of different soundbars I was pleasantly surprised that the most inexpensive one sound great. And unlike many other soundbars this little unit runs thru an optical. An added plus was that I was able to get a Logitech Harmony 600 universal remote to control the unit along with my other components. Btw,no other remote seems to work.

sjf517
Jensen Beavch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Works Great!
3/20/2013

Customer review by Snowdog993

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Snowdog993
by Snowdog993

I went to WalMart and needed a sound bar for my TV, and purchased a different product. I hooked it up, and it buzzed and buzzed. I was convinced that it was defective and there has to be something a lot better than what I purchased. I saw this product and decided to give it a try. I LOVE it! It works beautifully with the TV and was simple to install. I highly recommend this product to anyone needing a sound bar for their listening pleasure.

Snowdog993
Henderson, NV, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Really love this sound bar
4/15/2012

Customer review by BabyDoll

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by BabyDoll
by BabyDoll

I wanted to get rid of myold surround sound speakers. I saw this on display at our local WalMart. The sound was fantastic. When I got this home, the assembly and connection was easy. Have my TV, Blue Ray, XBox 360, and Wii hooked to it. Did not mount on wall. I am very pleased with the quality. But, then again I am an avid fan of Philips products (excellent quality, value, and support).

BabyDoll
Tennessee, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great sound and price
10/13/2012

Customer review by Edpappenheim

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Edpappenheim
by Edpappenheim

Just bought this sounds bar at Walmart, and very happy with it. It has great sound and was a good price. I live in apartment and was looking for a sound bar that has a surround sound effect and didn't want to spend a lot. This sound bar is perfect, props to you Philips, and thank you!!!!

Edpappenheim
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Product & Sound for the $$
9/23/2013

Customer review by Electrofryed

4.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Electrofryed
by Electrofryed

I bought this unit new so can't comment on the condition or quality of a refurbished unit. It has an optical out and the sound through this connection is superb for my LG 42" Flatscreen TV located in the bedroom. Dialog is crisp and clear and the woofer bass is adequate. It is very slim so it doesn't interfere with the remote receiver on the TV. Indicator lights on this unit are on top and out of visual sight from the front but that hasn't bothered me. I adjust the sound based on my tastes and not on visual controls. However, my primary gripe was the remote control and the lack of programming the soundbar via a third party remote. I have cable and have since found many of the cable companies use similar if not identical remotes sourced through Universal Electronics. Reference their remote codes online for your specific remote model (if you have cable). I did find a recommended code for this soundbar model. The code only controls the volume up/down but that was my ultimate goal. It does not turn the sound bar on/off but I'm assuming the soundbar will go into standby mode (better than nothing) when the TV is turned off. Note: If you try this route enter the code then instead of hitting power on/off try volume up/down instead. If it works you've obtained minimum control of at least the volume from the third party remote.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Electrofryed
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews