Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 165 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

165 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
53
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 stars
23
1-20 of 131 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
Great DVD Player
12/7/2012

Customer review by SDPumpkin

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by SDPumpkin
by SDPumpkin

This is a great DVD player but the problem is mounting it to the headrest! The straps they give you to mount it with go over the speakers and you have to remove the straps everytime to change the DVD. Here is a tip on how I fixed our to mount properly. If you go to Wal-mart in their fabric/sewing department they have velcro straps that are stretchy and 27" long (the package has a picture of these straps being used on a sleeping bag), take the player itself out of the mounting that came with the players and put this velcro strap along the back of the DVD player (feed it thru were the velcro strap went to connect it to the mounting board that came with them) and then wrap the velcro strip around the headrest and close the strap. Because these players are so light weight these work well. You can hear the sound better and you can change the DVD with no problem. These straps come two to a pack for $6.00, so a quick 6.00 fix and the players are more user friendly now.

Was this review helpful? (223) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SDPumpkin
Watertown, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good value
8/6/2013

Customer review by Utahdad2

4.0 stars 8/6/2013 by Utahdad2
by Utahdad2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Pros USB and SD ports eliminate the need for DVDs (20+ movies on a 32GB flash drive was plenty) One 12 Volt outlet powers both monitors in the car Easy to use menu wasn't a problem for even fairly young kids to navigate on their own Large screens with nice picture and good sound Fastens securely to headrest mount (straps covering the speakers is odd but it does not seem to interfere with the sound.) Cons Only plays movies (from thumb drive) that are AVI format and thumb drives must be formatted as FAT32 (32GB drives or smaller unless you want to deal with partitions) Primary monitor does not have a brightness control. I thought that was weird but it was only a minor problem at times. I'm glad I bought it. It worked flawlessly on a long trip with the kids. I should probably note that I haven't tried using the actual DVD player. I only used the USB port with a thumb drive and that worked great.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Utahdad2
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent dual dvd player
12/4/2013

Customer review by JTT2

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by JTT2
by JTT2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched brands and sizes thoroughly before choosing this set. I was considering a cheaper, older model with far fewer features, but felt it worth the extra 20 dollars to get this one. I am so glad I did! I am very happy with its performance and the ease of installing it. My children can watch the same dvd from their own screen, sound is good, and picture quality is great (brightness is adjustable). Other perks are the option to watch movies and pictures from an usb drive or sd card. Bonuses that I didn't expect in the box were: a remote, a cord for connecting the player to a hotel tv to watch on a larger screen, a carrying case, and two pairs of bud earphones. It also has a wall plug and stands built into the backs to prop them up when watching outside the car. It remembers where in movie you were when you shut off your car and resumes instantly when you crank your car again. It is nice to not have to turn it off or on again for a gas stop. I haven't tested that feature with anything other than a dvd at present. This is a stress free device and makes a long road trip peaceful and fun!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTT2
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Everything you need to know.
12/4/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The size is really nice compared to the 7'' screens. I am a little disappointed with picture quality, just because I've gotten spoiled with high def. The screens give a nice dvd quality picture, but nothing more, even if using the sd or usb inputs. Which is awesome that it has that! Also just to let you know, the 1st screen has the built in dvd player and the sd and usb inputs. the 2nd screen just has a 3.5mm input jack, & comes with an adapter to rca (red, white, and yellow) cables. Both screens have their own volume control, brightness adjuster, and headphone inputs. This also comes with a nice little carrying case for everything, and there's a car plug and home wall plug. also the screens each have a little piece that folds out of the back to use as a stand on a table or something. You can hook up other things to the 2nd screen (xbox, wii, etc) using the rca cables. It's pretty user friendly. 1 other complaint would be simply that when using the sd to play movies, it doesn't continue where you left off when it's powered off and back on. Overall I'd give it an 8 out of 10. Just losing 2 stars because it's not high def and doesn't continue where you left off.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chauncey, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great DVD players to entertain kids in the car!
12/1/2012

Customer review by CadenBrycesMommy

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by CadenBrycesMommy
by CadenBrycesMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely LOVE these DVD players! I previously owned a pair that can't compare to these! The colors are bright and vibrant. The sound up on loudest level is plenty loud. So I don't even use the highest sound level. Then not only do you get the DVD players, you get a remote, 2 sets of ear buds , and a carrying bag! Great bundle and unbelievable price for what all you get. I would definately buy these again in the future. I know my son would second that! :)

Was this review helpful? (58) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CadenBrycesMommy
Rockmart, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great large dvd screen..
11/29/2012

Customer review by Islgrl

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Islgrl
by Islgrl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My grandkids are very happy with the size of the screen, they watched their movies without a peep. Thank You! I love that the headrest straps are made to use on any type of headrest, great craftsmanship.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Islgrl
Huntington Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for long trips
12/2/2012

Customer review by JoeInPhx

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by JoeInPhx
by JoeInPhx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The units work great, but the way they strap to the seat is ridiculous--a definite case of over-engineering. They could so easily have simply made a simple sleeve to hold these unit, but they instead used a series of velcro straps that require an adult to carefully remove the velcro strap to get the unit and change the DVD. Silly. However, the units themselves worked great and the kids loved them. We used this set for a pair of two-year-olds, so we gave up on the headsets and just used the speakers in the units, and the worked great.

Was this review helpful? (29) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeInPhx
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was a bit more than expected
4/13/2013

Customer review by Tamzara

4.0 stars 4/13/2013 by Tamzara
by Tamzara
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 9inch screen is worth the additional expense and the picture quality is great. I am glad we upgraded from 7 inch. I do however prefer the Phillips brand ability to pick up where the dvd left off unlike Sylvania that starts over every time the car starts. There maybe a way to change this but I haven't figured it out yet. This is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tamzara
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price!
12/20/2012

Customer review by WaltonISP

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by WaltonISP
by WaltonISP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The screen is really big, good definition given the fact that is DVD and we've been used to blu-ray, and the strapping system is much better now that you strap from the loops in the back; changing a DVD is quick and easy without having to remove any straps at all. Controls are located towards the center so the driver can easily reach. Also, the remote helps a lot. The only issue is that the straps hold the TV to the shape of the head rest, so in my case the head rest leans forward, so I had to put something in the back of the holder to keep the TV tilted for my kids to view at adequate height.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WaltonISP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just one problem, but a big one
12/14/2012

Customer review by NHKelli

3.0 stars 12/14/2012 by NHKelli
by NHKelli
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just one problem with this, but for me it was a big one. The dvd starts from the beginning whenever the power to it is lost. So if you turn the car off, or if it gets unplugged, it does NOT start from where it was. So after about the 30th time I heard the beginning of "Elmo's Potty Time" AGAIN, I had to take it back. Use caution if this is a deal breaker for you, as many other similar units do not resume from the stopping place, either. Good Points: Volume was better than others, Headrest attachment was best I've seen, color was great, cords were long enough Bad Points: The remote is usable for a person in back as it needs to be directed toward the front of the unit, but it would be nice if the driver (parent) could use the remote, especially with children too young to use the remote. Remote does not control volume.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NHKelli
NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than I expected
2/27/2013

Customer review by 1CoolSuperMom

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by 1CoolSuperMom
by 1CoolSuperMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

After reading several reviews of this product and the Phillips 9'' portable dvd players, I decided to go with this one because it was a little cheaper in price. After I installed them in the car, I noticed that the volume would cut in and out and so would the picture on one of the dvd players. After this happening a couple times and me thinking I made a mistake, I looked at the wires and moved the players around ( the main dvd player goes on the drivers side). I realized that I hadnt pushed the cords all the way in the players. The cords will click once and make you think its all the way in but it will click again and then its all the way in. Every since I did that, it has fixed the problem. I have had no issue out of these players. The sound is great, on the highest setting. The picture is great. I am actually very surprised and pleased. There is a couple things that I would have done differently. The dvd does not start up were it left off when the car is turned off then back on. I have tried a couple different things to see if I was doing something wrong. They simply start over, from the very beginning. BUT because these wonderful inventions give me a peaceful car ride, Im willing to over look that small issue. The other thing is the straps on the mounts. The mounting system could have been better if given some more thought but with the use of my own sticky back velcro, the dvd players arent going anywhere. Also, I might add that we have a newer kia and the headrests are rather small width wise but taller. These mounts were obviously designed for a rectangular shaped headrest. But again, by crisscrossing the straps and using my velcro, they work just fine. I have a 2 yr old and a 17 month old and they arent complaining either. Great purchase, I definitely would recommend these players.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1CoolSuperMom
Southern Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
1/3/2014

Customer review by Sunstar1

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by Sunstar1
by Sunstar1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this product for our 8 year old son as a Christmas present, and we are thrilled with it. Our SUV didn't come with a built-in DVD player, and we thought of adding one. But, I began to research the portable models so that we could move the player from one car to another. I read the reviews on the Walmart website, and other than a few negative comments, everyone seemed to like this product. I can understand why. The 9 inch screen is larger than most, the colors are bright and vivid, the sound quality is good, and it even comes with a remote. My son loves it, and he will watch movies even on short drives. But, it really perfect when going on long drives, such as vacations. My only minor complaint is the wires, that connect the screens together when they are mounted on the headrests, can get in the way when passing something to the back seat. But, it is a great product, and well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sunstar1
Meridian, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
One DVD Player, 2 screens
12/10/2012

Customer review by dowster23

4.0 stars 12/10/2012 by dowster23
by dowster23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is just one DVD player but has two screens. I originally thought it had 2 dvd players. The screens are nice and big. It works perfectly fine. great value for the price. The sound volume is fine for my sedan. If I had a big loud, long SUV the volume might be a little low.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dowster23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for two screens
5/3/2013

Customer review by Hiker30

4.0 stars 5/3/2013 by Hiker30
by Hiker30
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We purchased this dual screen set up for our two kids (3yo girl and 1yo boy) and we're very satisfied with the value for what we paid. The dual screens are not HD or anything but clear enough to satisfy my girl who likes to watch Finding Nemo. The colors are good and the sound at full volume is adequate even on the highway. Because one carseat faces forward and the other faces back, the connecting cord between the two units is a little awkward but not enough to bother either my wife and I or the kids. The connecting cord was long enough to "route" it in a way that keeps it from being too close to little grasping hands. We have a Mazda CX-9 SUV and the headrests are angled in such a way that we had to put some "stuffing" behind the screens to get them to mount at a good viewing angle for the kids. One thing about the viewing angle (and the reason I gave it 4 stars)--side to side is ok, but the up-down angle is very narrow. If the screen is tilted too far up, you can't really see the picture at all. This wasn't an issue with our set up but could be for others.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hiker30
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kids Love it, makes for a great car ride.
12/20/2012

Customer review by loveittopieces

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by loveittopieces
by loveittopieces
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for long car rides with my grandson who's 18 months, he loves it. its easy to put on the holders and hang them on the head rests, the screen is big and bright no problems with the volume. the only draw back is all the cords, i just need to clean them up a bit with zip ties or something. great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveittopieces
Roswell
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/5/2012

Customer review by Sweetpop

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by Sweetpop
by Sweetpop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is great! Especially when you have to kids, one that's 3yrs & thinks she's 21 & the other that's 6 yrs & think he's her dad..it keeps them @ there age level & I or their dad don't hve to hear them fight or argue everytime we go to town. It makes us one happy family & two kids that can be kids! It great to have in everything you drive..

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetpop
Paragould, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DO NOT BUY
5/6/2013

Customer review by KYTNMomof3

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by KYTNMomof3
by KYTNMomof3

I purchased this item 9 months ago and the 2nd screen just quit working. No picture now, just sound. I called the company and they said they would fix it for 49.95 or send me a working refurbished one and I'd have to pay shipping both to Canada and back. I told them I could buy a new one for that price and they said that was all they could do. I would have expected this item to last longer than 9 months.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KYTNMomof3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/7/2013

Customer review by MomDay

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by MomDay
by MomDay
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We travel with our 10 children in a 15 passenger van. My husband made a box to hold the dvds and attached a vertical board to mount the players on. The dvd player has been GREAT! We added an external speaker to make it loud enough to be heard in the back. We would recommend this product to our family and friends.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomDay
Hartselle, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only lasted 3 months... Horrible purchase!
2/16/2013

Customer review by Brookeofknoxville

1.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Brookeofknoxville
by Brookeofknoxville

We bought the product at the after Thanksgiving Day sale. We thought we were making such a great purchase. Today, the DVD player does not work. It killed over just this afternoon with no picture and a really bad burnt plastic smell.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brookeofknoxville
Knoxville, tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
STOPPED WORKING AND THE ADAPTER CORD BROKE
3/21/2013

Customer review by NORHTMEWOODS

1.0 stars 3/21/2013 by NORHTMEWOODS
by NORHTMEWOODS

ONLY USED A FEW TIMES AND ONE OF THE SCREENS WOULDN'T WORK ALSO THE HEAD TO THE ADAPTER POPPED OFF, VERY THIN WIRE. CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP, IT IS NOT MADE TO LAST. I WOULD NOT BUY.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NORHTMEWOODS
NORTHWOODS OF ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews