Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 390 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

390 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

390 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
161
4 stars
120
3 stars
25
2 stars
33
1 stars
51
1-20 of 285 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 285 total reviews
1-20 of 285 reviews
3/27/2013

Customer review by tjtn

2.0 stars 3/27/2013 by tjtn
by tjtn

I bought this dvd player because the price was right and we were looking to replace our old dvd player we had that was broken. This dvd player was easy to install however the set up for the dvd holder is odd since the straps go in front of the speakers. You can also just use the strap and go through the back to hold it into place. There is NO menu button or at least I couldn't find one which makes things a little tricky when you have to fast forward or wait through all the previews before you press play. My biggest problem with this dvd player was that it worked without the vehicle being on (which is great) however everytime you would start the car the dvd player would turn off and back on and start from the beginning, so we would have to watch the previews and everything all over again. Not a fun thing when you have a fussy toddler and baby who were half way through a movie and it restarts. I returned these dvd players after a week of having them and went back to my Phillips one that I know I like.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tjtn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
No memory playback and no remote!
7/23/2013

Customer review by skiz777

2.0 stars 7/23/2013 by skiz777
by skiz777
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Sylvania 7" dual DVD player because it was priced lower than all other dual DVD players and it had relatively good reviews. I purchased it to replace a dual RCA 7" DVD player that stopped workin after about 2 years. With the RCA model as a comparison, I quickly determined this Sylvania model isn't going to cut it for two reasons. One, there is No memory playback and two, there is no Remote. If you're using this in the car, memory playback is crucial and even more so when there's no remote control. If the kids are watching a movie and we have to run into a store, this DVD player starts back over at the title menu when you get back in the car and it starts back up. And with no remote, my kid would have to lean forward out of his seatbelt and hold the fast forward or skip button to try to get it back to where they left off. I returned this unit. It's worth the extra $30 bucks to have the playback feature. Ps - I also purchased the Philips 9" dual screen model sold by Walmart which claims to have memory playback, but the memory playback didn't work. I returned that one also.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skiz777
MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a great DVD player,even though it's a Sylvania
11/28/2012

Customer review by camogirl83

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by camogirl83
by camogirl83

I bought this for my daughter on black Friday,and was very excited to get a brand name dual DVD player for the $50 price.After setting it up in my car, I realized the quality was terrible.To begin with,the mounting velcro straps cover the speakers on both screens and in order to change the DVD/CD you have to undo those straps each time.The volume quality,unless hooked up through your stereo,is very low.After only having ours for five days,it already will not play DVD's.The CD's will play,but when I put any DVD in, it says "No Disc".We are returning ours today.My suggestion to anyone thinking about buying this product is, "Go ahead and spend a little extra money on another brand name DVD player,because this one is not worth the $50 that it cost".

Was this review helpful? (48) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
camogirl83
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Just junk
11/29/2012

Customer review by WestTexasRanchMom

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by WestTexasRanchMom
by WestTexasRanchMom

We purchased this DVD player online as a Christmas gift for our two children. Let me start by saying the packing job done by Walmart was HORRIBLE. The Sylvania box was packed inside a much larger shipping box with one miserable scrap of brown paper, about a foot and a half long, for packing material. There was nothing to secure the box inside or protect the DVD player from mishandling. I decided to test the player as soon as it got here, and it's a good thing I did too. Right out of the box this thing has problems. The left speaker on the DVD player is defective and makes a loud static-like sound that drowns out the sound of the DVD, and the sound on the second screen fades in and out and the screen itself will turn off if the AV cord moves even just slightly. We will be returning this DVD player. Do not waste your time or money with this one!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WestTexasRanchMom
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Mounting is horrible
11/25/2012

Customer review by FabulousSpicyPunch

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by FabulousSpicyPunch
by FabulousSpicyPunch

The Velcro mounting straps for these Tvs are awful. The straps cover the speakers and must be undone every time you want to change the DVD. We are returning ours and getting one that is more user friendly. I'm not quite sure what the designers were thinking.

Was this review helpful? (142) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FabulousSpicyPunch
Sumter,sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
11/27/2012

Customer review by Momxyz

2.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Momxyz
by Momxyz

The second screen went out within a few months. I think there may have been a short in the wiring connecting it to the primary screen, but it stopped working. Then recently, the car adapter piece broke. Additionally the volume on the screens does not get very loud. It's difficult to hear on the interstate, and nearly impossible if it's raining.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momxyz
Burgaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good product for the price
10/17/2013

Customer review by Hexadecimal

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Hexadecimal
by Hexadecimal

Let's be fair and honest, We have the choice, whether take the car to the shop and spend literally thousands of dollars to get 1 or 2 or more headrest dvd player/screens or tap into cheap and see if it lasts. I was surprised with Sylvania 7 inch dual screens. They work well with any DVD movies I have. They do not skip or produced any visual artifacts according to my kiddo and her grandparents. 1 complaint was the screen was a too dim during sunny daylight but my kiddo's grandma was wearing sunglasses. The sound is not extreme meaning it is not loud at all unless I plugged the audio to my car via 3.5 mini jack iPhone/iPad or my kiddo and her two grandparents had headsets on (1screen had a mini jack splitter "bought separately!") The downside: -Beware that cords are thin, there are no other way to put it. All Cords are thin and stepping on any of these for any reasons may quickly induce faulty cord and result with incapability to play movies correctly. Even the cigar lighter cord is extremely thin and I assume is very fragile, so beware! - If you have a leather headrests then I strongly suggest to purchase headrest 7 inch dvd player/screen slip so you do not use the straps. My headrest are leathers, they are not broken or badly scratched or anything but after keeping dvd players on headrest for 5 days then I noticed strap marks that will take time to reduce or disappear. By marks I do not mean stains or that sort but print of straps on the leather because it was tightened to hold the dvd player/screens' weight. Overall I am very pleased with the purchase, we were gone for 5 days on the road and it certainly kept my wife's sanity and made everyone happy in the car. Cheer :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hexadecimal
Forest Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome!!
11/27/2012

Customer review by zanegirl

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by zanegirl
by zanegirl

Bought one these on the black Friday sale and regretted getting only one for that price!!! Went online today, the Monday after, and found it for the same price! Now my daughter has one for her car and so do I. One thing that almost made me take it back....the movie only played on the main monitor but not the second, reason: you have to make sure the cords that connect to both are connected to the right monitors..even though they are in the right ports..it does matter...could have missed out! Picture, sound is great plus you can hook them to your speakers, I'm not that savvy though.

Was this review helpful? (67) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zanegirl
savannah, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not bad
12/30/2012

Customer review by glitterymama

3.0 stars 12/30/2012 by glitterymama
by glitterymama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have read the reviews on this dvd before it. I noticed alot of people saying how the straps went over the speakers then I saw one that said you have to read the directions..Well I did..and the straps DO go over the speakers..and you can only play one dvd..when you shut the car off the dvd restarts all over when you turn your car back on...I wish this came with a remote because it's a pain in the butt having to fast forward through the previews to get to the main screen of the dvd..I use this for my 1 year old so I have to stand outside the car until I get to the main menu kind of a pain when it's raining or cold outside..the straps aren't that big of a deal to me right now. because she is 1, but once she gets older and wants to hear the dvd in the car I'm sure I will have to have the radio down low so she can hear it. But when it's in the house it's perfectly fine..The sound of the car running and outside noises effects the sound on the dvd player in the car.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glitterymama
Bentleyville, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, I would buy again.
10/31/2013

Customer review by RoadTripMom

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by RoadTripMom
by RoadTripMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this portable DVD player for my kids to entertain them on road trips. It was to replace a different brand dual screen portable dvd player that quit working. I like this one better because it has the function buttons on the player instead of needing a remote. I don't care for a remote because they get lost or the battery dies. All the buttons work as they should. I would've given it 5 stars except the volume is low even on its highest setting. The kids can hear it alright in the back as long as they pay close attention and I don't have the radio too high in the front.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoadTripMom
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy the Philips
12/19/2012

Customer review by Mom2Joss

2.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Mom2Joss
by Mom2Joss

Mounting is okay, the players fell a LOT. The DVD player would skip and take a lot of time loading the disc. It, also, does not pick up on the movie where you left off when you got out of the car. The remote control is useless. My niece kicked it once and it broke. Fortunately, I bought the replacement plan and we upgraded to the Philips. Works like a dream.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2Joss
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy.
1/5/2013

Customer review by Justacraftymomof3

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by Justacraftymomof3
by Justacraftymomof3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our third set of dual DVD players. My children pull the cords kick the TVs. They really get abused. When I saw this online I expected a basic model for the low price I was going to pay but didn't care because i know their fate. But when I went to install them they were the same quality as the models I spent twice as much on. They are easy to use and work great and are a great value.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justacraftymomof3
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
2/1/2013

Customer review by Moncana

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Moncana
by Moncana
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very happy with our purchase. You simply cannot beat the price! This is great to keep the kids busy during long trips. We were able to easily set it up in our Nissan Armada and have not had any issues with it. We've been on a couple of trips already and it's been a lifesaver! We even set one screen in the second row and one in the third row. There is a way to set it up behind the headrest without covering the speakers. The volume quality is good, not very loud, but accurate. The size of the screen is perfect for our kids. Very happy with this product. I recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moncana
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price!!!
12/3/2012

Customer review by timbergrl31

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by timbergrl31
by timbergrl31

I was skeptical about purchasing these but for 50 dollars I decided I'd try them. They were easy to put on good quality picture, and serves to entertain my boys. The only negative thing I would say is everytime you turn it off you have to start the movie all over again which is a real pain in the butt because you have to go through all the previews, but otherwise great product great price!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timbergrl31
Brookfield Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT BUY !!
3/28/2013

Customer review by larry123456

1.0 stars 3/28/2013 by larry123456
by larry123456

I bought these for my kids thinking it was a great deal and would keep them busy in the car, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, the warranty on them is NO GOOD at all, I put them in my car first of January and the end of march they stop working, I called thinking the 1 year warranty in them would help me and it did not, they wanted me to send a $45 check with my Dvd player to fix it which they did not know what was wrong with it. TRUST ME DO NOT BUY!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
larry123456
Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for kids!
12/14/2012

Customer review by MissRoyalty64

4.0 stars 12/14/2012 by MissRoyalty64
by MissRoyalty64

I really was on the fence when buying this, but after purchasing this I am actually really happy with it. My only problem I had was no remote but my kids movies have "Fast Play" so I really dont need the remote. Alot of people were talking bad about the mounting but if you read the directions It mounts fine and I crisscrossed my straps over the headrest and it stays great! I have 2 toddlers that mess with them each and ever time they get in the car holds up great! And my 4 year old changes the movies by her self.... I would really recommend this to friends and family and the price was great and it seems I got it in no time. One more thing the speakers are super loud so you wouldn't even need to plug it into the cars auxiliary.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissRoyalty64
Northern Cali
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ONLY PLAYS CERTAIN DVDS, VERY LOW VOLUME
6/19/2013

Customer review by sc00byd0obyd

2.0 stars 6/19/2013 by sc00byd0obyd
by sc00byd0obyd

I bought this for my son and mounted it on 06/15/13. We turned the volume all the way up on it and you can barely hear it. The picture is good if it will play your DVD. My son had the Sponge Bob movie and it played fine but he also had a Spongebob disc with 9 individual cartoons and it would not play this DVD. The DVD it wouldn't play plays fine on your computers and home DVD player and is like new. We returned it because we wanted him to be able to watch all his DVD's and to actually be able to hear them. We purchased the Phillips that also has the games and game controls with it for about $100 from Walmart.com. Still awaiting their arrival. Will do a review on those when they get here. I do agree that I don't like the mounting on these because it didn't fit my Kia Soul's headrest very well but I may run into this with all of them? Not sure since this was my first set of car DVD players. The front strap on mine was broken when I got it, so not sure how durable the straps will be. Also, the front strap does cover the speakers as you will read in other reviews.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sc00byd0obyd
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
horrible
11/28/2012

Customer review by NicPic04

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by NicPic04
by NicPic04

This is horribe. The mounting case, what a joke, so cheap. This is suppose to be portable but it doesnt hold a charge...it needs to be pluuged to an outlet or car port to use. smh

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NicPic04
somerset, nj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great value for this price level
7/30/2013

Customer review by Evolvdnto1

4.0 stars 7/30/2013 by Evolvdnto1
by Evolvdnto1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We just used these for our two children as we did a road trip between IL and PA. They worked great to help them keep calm and enjoy the lengthy car ride. The sound was good for the most part, but I did notice that I went up and down with the DVD selection or transitioning from the previews to the main attraction. I am not sure if that is coded within the DVD or not though. The one thing that I did notice is that the vertical straps to secure the screens runs right over the speakers. They should have thought that one through a little more. Regardless, this is the best way to go over most of the options out there at 7" Dual DVD Screens. It would be awesome if it had a remote with it, but we managed to get around it. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a cost efficient traveling DVD player option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Evolvdnto1
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
clear image, low volume, good for the price
12/7/2012

Customer review by rcdo

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by rcdo
by rcdo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice screen image. Has low volume. When you turn off in the middle of a movie and you turn dvd back on it will start from the beginning. You have to keep dvd plugged in at all time, does not have rechargeable battery. Other than that it works pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rcdo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 285 total reviews
1-20 of 285 reviews