Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 697 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

697 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

697 reviews | 3 out of 5

55%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
206
4 stars
135
3 stars
52
2 stars
65
1 stars
239
1-20 of 601 total reviews
55%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 601 total reviews
1-20 of 601 reviews
Not a bad product if you know what you are doing.
12/2/2012

Customer review by Trixxi

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Trixxi
by Trixxi

I purchased this because 2 years ago we bought an iXL and my daughter grew out of that too fast. Before I received my Ematic FunTab, I read all the reviews and was nervous to get mine because there were so many bad reviews. Since receiving my FunTab I realized all those bad reviews might be from people who don't know what they are doing (well that is what I am assuming at least). I can see where people were saying that it did not work the moment they turned it on and wouldn't connect to any apps (I tried to go directly to the apps too and they did not work). Well if you read the directions, first thing you need to do is connect to the internet. Either this wasn't done or they had really really bad internet connection (I read somewhere that 3G does not work on these tablets but I haven't tried it for myself yet) I connected to my WiFi which was a simple task. In order to get to the apps in kid mode you have to be connected to the internet for set up (once you have set up the tablet you can turn off the WiFi and the games will still work in kids mode). Another complaint I read was about the touch screen. Yes it is not as great as the iPads touch screen but it does work, you just don't have as big as a sensor range. You have to be pretty point on the where you are pressing. At first that was frustrating but once I figured that out I was just more careful it worked great. I did have it freeze up on me once but that was my fault because I was pressing the wrong buttons, and I myself got frustrated so I just restarted it. I'll stop there and just say I am KEEPING my Ematic Fun Tab for my daughter for Christmas and my parents liked it so much they are buying one for their other granddaughter who lives 1200 miles away (they liked the messaging feature, yes we tested it out and sent videos back and forth from the computer to the tablet in kid mode and it works) I think others didn't give it a chance or they expected more from an $89 tablet. Take this into consideration, you are getting what you paid for (and if something happens to it you aren't out $500).

Was this review helpful? (382) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trixxi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great once you install Amazon or Google app store.
12/2/2012

Customer review by EliteCGI

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by EliteCGI
by EliteCGI

This is a great little device and I have played around with it for a couple hours setting it up for my child on christmas. The app store that comes on it has been discontinued but the website shows you how to install an updated one. I just skipped that and installed the amazon app store and google play and they work great. All the games that I have set up work great on this little tablet and I have not had any issues. WiFi worked instantly for me and I had no issues. If you are at all tech savy or are familier with android ignore the negative reviews. If you are not computer literate or don't want to spend a little bit of time figuring out how to customize this toy then look elsewere. It is so much better then the Leap Pad or Innotab and a lot cheaper since you don't have to buy stupid cartridges for an inflated price.

Was this review helpful? (154) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EliteCGI
Central, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy with this tablet!! Excellent Product!!
12/1/2012

Customer review by christie02

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by christie02
by christie02

I know my 9 year old daughter will love this when she opens it Christmas morning! Couldn't be happier! Great price...great quality! It's a win win...don't pay more for a kid's tablet when this has everything. I saw that some people were complaining about the app store giving them trouble on the tablet...but I believe the created a new one & the good thing is there is already over 40 apps included with the tablet (there are more than enough to keep your child busy)...Angry Birds & Fruit Ninja are the best! I would recommend this to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (151) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
christie02
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great little Tablet for the price!
11/29/2012

Customer review by NurseTasha

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by NurseTasha
by NurseTasha

Received this in the mail yesterday and set it up for my 4.5 yr/old daughter for Xmas. I have to say that setting up the wi-fi was a bit confusing at first! you can't just slide the wifi tab into the "on" position, you have to open settings and check a box to enable it (and it says something weird like disable or something, which threw me off for 10 min but once i checked the box it scanned for my wifi and connected fine) Once i was logged into our wifi everything went super smooth. The tablet itself is not heavy or junky light weight, the screen and resolution are AMAZING for the price! I went through each installed app (there are approx 30-40 i guess) including angry birds and they played easily! the touch screen responds just as fast as my Samsung Galaxy S3 cell phone! The Kid Mode is great and locks her into a kid friendly environment. It also comes with a $10 emusic card- i haven't used it yet though- to download some music. It is loaded with about 10 kid friendly songs that are appropriate for younger school age kids and preschoolers! I Haven't played enough on it to get google play and netflix downloaded, but i have seen reviews online saying you CAN do it, it just takes some backdoor way. There are plenty of preinstalled kids songs, videos and the games. The only two downfalls is if you want all the zoodles book you have to pay to upgrade the acct for 1mo, 6mo or 12mo, but even without the extra books on it there is plenty to keep her busy! And that the App mall that comes with it doesn't have anything in it, or work. However, if you are happy with what's loaded, it is a great deal for a little one to have their own tablet computer instead of using mom & dad's! I think this would be appropriate for up to age 10 and since you can switch it over to "parent mode" and use as a regular tablet for surfing the next, email etc it would even grow with a child into preteen/teen age. I plan on getting two more for my 7 and 8yr old boys once they are available. I think the price is great for a kid, and it's responsive enough to be fun and educational.

Was this review helpful? (53) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NurseTasha
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not the best choice in kids' tablets
11/30/2012

Customer review by myislandfamily

2.0 stars 11/30/2012 by myislandfamily
by myislandfamily

I've been looking at the Nabi 2 tablet as a Christmas gift and then saw this Fun Tab on black Friday for half the price. Aside from the built in memory capacity, the specs looked quite similar (same operating system, same basic kid-friendly functionality). I took a chance and ordered the Fun Tab. When it came in the mail I did the basic set up, but so far I'm not impressed. In the half an hour I played with it, the touch screen was often unresponsive, the wi-fi wouldn't stay connected, the app store wouldn't load, and the overall graphic quality just seemed poor. I can only imagine how often the kids would be coming to me frustrated because something on it wouldn't work. I've since bought and set up the Nabi 2, and there is a world of difference in the quality. I'll be returning the Fun Tab and going with Nabi 2 for each of my boys.

Was this review helpful? (88) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myislandfamily
Northeast FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Ok tablet if you do not wish to add apps
11/28/2012

Customer review by OnlineShopper1126

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by OnlineShopper1126
by OnlineShopper1126

Purchased this tablet for my son as a Christmas present. Upon receipt I wanted to set up the tablet so that when he opened it he could start to play immediately. Well for starters there was no Google App Store. There were 3 other app stores installed but none of them worked. They kept loading and shutting down. I purchased this to avoid having to share my cell phone. I wanted him to have access to the games he has installed on my phone and promoting learning. This was a flop! I'll definitely b returning.

Was this review helpful? (153) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnlineShopper1126
East Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HELPFUL TIPS DOWN BELOW!! GREAT VALUE!!
12/5/2012

Customer review by PILLAR3

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by PILLAR3
by PILLAR3

I gave it 5 stars and had to return 1 of 3 I bought but aside from one not fully turning on and a few minor glitches...GREAT PRODUCT. I have played with them for about 20 HOURS and can help answer many ???'s. Start at app market... researched alot before deciding, knew there was no google play contacted customer service got a list.. Amazon's app did not want to work :'( have been using papktop.com works great good selection....all Angry Bird Games internet browser used instead of an app. The kids mode is top notch the browser has preloaded sites that take you to flash games and they WORK. All games that I played were full no ads ZOODLE is great they update and add new games. If you go premium you get alot of books. Do not forget it comes with alot of books just childhood classics are premium you only get one of those and and you can record a personal reading#video# Camera is decent for kids and it still has protective plastic on!!!! Netflix is taking a little work trying to find best version on that, I loaded app does not register me touching I have to goto search box and play one that way. READ THIS TO AVOID FRUSTRATION DO NOT CLICK ON RED X TO LEAVE KIDS MODE LINK SEEMS BROKE CLICK ON GO TO PARENTS DASHBOARD. WOULD GLADLY TRY TO ANSWER ANY ????'S KIDS ARE ASLEEP GOING TO DO MORE TESTING. HAVE TRIED OUT VIDEO AND MUSIC DOWNLOADING HAVE TIPS FOR THAT IF NEEDED :-) Got 2year replacement plan incase of accidents WalMart's return policy is great called they SHIPPED A NEW ONE AND I HAVE 60 DAYS TO RETURN DEFECTIVE ONE JUST HAVE TO PRINT OUT THE RETURN LABEL.

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PILLAR3
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product not sure why so many bad reviews
12/6/2012

Customer review by Ajadino

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Ajadino
by Ajadino

We bought two for our 7 year old and 4 year old. I can't wait for Christmas so they can play with them. My husband and I both set them up with no problem. I agree with one of the reviews that stated if you have basic computer skills then you should be able to set the tablet up with no problem. Please don't let the reviews turn you off, most people just don't know what they are doing. My husband and I both sat in played with it for awhile. It comes with music downloads, lots of games and activity for the kids it even comes with a free $10 music download. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ajadino
Arlington, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sadly disappointed.
11/29/2012

Customer review by ZackAndZoeysMumma

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by ZackAndZoeysMumma
by ZackAndZoeysMumma

I bought two of these for my kids and I'm really disappointed in how glitchy these tablets are. First off, the touch screen doesn't always work. I went to Settings > WiFi. I accidentally hit "Ethernet," so I tried to hit "WiFi" to connect to our's and it took about 10 taps, then I turned the tablet horizontally and it eventually worked. Second, the Ematic App Shop does not work at all. Every time I click on it, a message pops up stating, "Unfortunately, Ematic App Shop has stopped." Third, I was creating an account with "Zoodles" and I couldn't enter in my son's birth date. No matter how many times I tapped on it, I was unsuccessful. I was going to give it more time, but the major glitch with the touch screen is enough to drive anyone crazy. I will be returning both tablets.

Was this review helpful? (32) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ZackAndZoeysMumma
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good for my 2 year old
11/29/2012

Customer review by His2008Bride

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by His2008Bride
by His2008Bride

It came with the same kid lock I had on my android phone. It comes with a lot of games and videos on that app. There were other apps installed, but they are too mature for my 2 year old. However, she loves the apps it came with on kid lock. When you download apps you can add them to the list of allowed apps in kid lock. Kid lock is installed. The FREE version. There is a paid version also. You can't acess all the features of kid lock in the free version. The App Store DOES NOT WORK. Very frusterating, but I chosen to use alternative app websites. It came with a lot of games, my daughter wanted other games too. At the end of the day, I would recommend it to others. I would just warn them to be prepared to use a different App Store.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
His2008Bride
Lawton, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cute but does not work
11/29/2012

Customer review by mwhitman

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by mwhitman
by mwhitman

ok well first i have to say shipping was very fast i ordered two of these planning on them being christmas gifts well when i got them i charged them up and decided i would set it all up so when my girls opened them they would be ready to go well first thing wrong is that it does not like to stay connected to the internet it kept loosing connection. the touch screen isn't very good you have to touch things several times before it responds and sometimes doesn't respond at all. third none of the app stores work i tried amazon app and could not get anything to download on the tablet and the app store it came with not the ematic one but the other one socio mall doesn't work either i created my account and when trying to sign it it was just load forever then would give me a message saying my internet connection timed out. Needless to say i returned them today and ordered something else. my girls are aged 4 and 5 and they would not even like these. the apps that it came with worked well minus that sometimes the touch screen did not work .

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mwhitman
temple, georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
So happy these came out right before Christmas!
12/1/2012

Customer review by ToddlerAndTwinBabyMomma

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by ToddlerAndTwinBabyMomma
by ToddlerAndTwinBabyMomma

Just got these tablets in the mail for my girls ages 3 and 5. I set one up and played with it for a while and I am thrilled, they will LOVE these! It is already loaded with tons of content so I won't need to deal with downloading new apps for a while, but, when its time, I am sure it wont be a problem. Was originally going to buy the mini tablet for my litle girls little hands but it is out of stock. I was worried that these would be too big for them to hold and manipulate but I think it will be fine. They might just have to set them down on a hard surface or their lap to use it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ToddlerAndTwinBabyMomma
Everett, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great for kids with tech savvy parents
12/1/2012

Customer review by Rjdeal

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Rjdeal
by Rjdeal

Bought this for my kids for Christmas and have been working with it for a week. It is true that none of the installed app stores work properly but I discovered that the amazon app store doesn't work because of an update on Amazon's part. The old version works fine. Visit http://amazonappstore.en.softonic.com/android from the tablet and download. DO NOT UPDATE to the new version (decline the requests to update). I have been able to download whatever I want through the amazon app store thus far. Also, you could directly download .apk files. Just do a Google search on downloadable apk files from the tablet. Great little tablet if you're willing to work with it a bit and do a little research. And for the price, I am very satisfed! I am 100% sure my kids will LOVE these! I can't wait to see their faces when they open them!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rjdeal
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do some modification, and it is very decent
12/1/2012

Customer review by 4intow

4.0 stars 12/1/2012 by 4intow
by 4intow

I purchased 2 of these, one for a 8 yo girl and another for my very tech savy 6yo son. Though the little guy might be slightly unhappy bc of the lack of google play, there is enough to keep him happy for quite awhile. In the meantime, for an occasional add of one or two favorites THERE IS A FIX : ) Go onto the browser from the parents desktop and look up the app you want in an .apk format (i.e. littlest pet shop .apk) you might need to look around for awhile to find the proper file. I downloaded 2 that looked like they had the right file extention, then didn't. They are easy to erase, or go around with more software, but I'm not great at this stuff, so IDK how. Anyway, games are big and I hope to add a SD card soon and expand that way. If it doesn't work, it won't be too bad to add a few at a time and erase as interests change. Kid mode limits a lot of things, but did let me add the new apps I put onto the dashboard to the kid mode wo needing to give them full access to the dashboard in order to play, which was a nice plus for me. It is slower than my $600 phone, yes, but not annoyingly so. It does work best with either your fingernail or a stylus, or in my case one of my kids paintbrushs :) With that, I found the touch more responsive, though it will lag if you are trying to download and navigagte at the same time. I like all the web sites that come up in the kid safe browser. There are many I haven't heard of. For the price, and the age group...well it beats the original nintendo I grew up with :) I would say try it play with it before you give it and if nothing else, Walmart is good about returns.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4intow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Great product!!
11/30/2012

Customer review by Mom3615

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Mom3615
by Mom3615

I absolutely love this little tablet. Its cute and kid friendly. I received it today and opened it to play with it and make sure it was the perfect gift for my little one and I was well pleased. The set up was super easy. The only thing they got me was navigating from screen to screen. I had to remember to turn off the child lock. The games and apps are super cute and the wifi runs super fast. Great alternative to a more expensive and less kid friendly tablet. Love the camera and the parent dashboard. Oh and the graphics are amazing!! I cannot wait for my little one to open this on Christmas morning!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom3615
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Didn't Work
11/29/2012

Customer review by Gripgirl

1.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Gripgirl
by Gripgirl

I got the tablet very quick, only a couple days after ordering it. According to the instructions it said it needed to charge for 6 hours before starting. So I did, after 6 hours I hit the power button and there was some flickering of light on the screen and then it went black. So I let it charge for a few more hours. I tried to turn it on again and had the same result. So needless to say this product was returned. It seems like a great concept, but missed the mark terribly.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gripgirl
Eau Claire, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
VERY DISAPPOINTED GRANDDAUGHTER
6/21/2013

Customer review by Freeholdgrandmother

1.0 stars 6/21/2013 by Freeholdgrandmother
by Freeholdgrandmother

I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY COMPUTER SMART 6 YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER. ORDERED IT SEVERAL WEEKS BEFORE HER BIRTHDAY SO I COULD INSURE DELIVERY BY HER BIRTHDAY AND GET IT SETUP AND READY FOR HER USE. SHE LOVED IT AND READILY LEARNED TO USE IT. AFTER A WEEK THE ON BUTTON GOT STUCK DOWN AND WE COULDN'T GET IT TO WORK. IT WAS PAST THE 30 DAY RETURN TO WALMART TIME SO WE HAD TO RETURN TO THE COMPANY. HAD TO RETURN USING THE USPS AT A COST OF $14.40 AND HAD TO WAIT 2 WEEKS FOR A REPLACEMENT WHICH IS A DIFFERENT COLOR AND IT IS MARKED RECONDITIONED AND LOOKS OBVIOUSLY USED. I CHARGED THE REPLACEMENT FOR 6 HOURS AND TRIED TO SET IT UP AS I HAD THE ORIGINAL. THE ZOODLE SITE WON'T CONNECT AND I AM READY TO THROW IT AWAY AND BUY AN IPAD! I HAVE WASTED $120 AND COUNTLESS HOURS ON TRYING TO GET IT TO WORK, RETURNING IT TO THE POST OFFICE AND TRYING UNSUCCESSFULLY TO SET UP THIS USED REPLACEMENT. IF I CAN GET IT TO WORK, I HOPE IT WILL WORK MORE THAN A WEEK. I HAVE ONE VERY DISAPPOINTED GRANDDAUGHTER!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freeholdgrandmother
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7 year old dream
11/29/2012

Customer review by PatrickZ

4.0 stars 11/29/2012 by PatrickZ
by PatrickZ

This is my 7 year old dream. She like it when she gets things that are meant for adults. She already has her own camera. no she has her own Tablet. I have a Tablet as well from emtatic and a ereader. Her favorite things to do are Playing the games and watching videos on disney sites. I like the sturdy case and the price was just right. The touch screen is super easy to use and the android 4.0 is fast i even use it just to see what it can do.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PatrickZ
Jamestown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/1/2012

Customer review by warrior1988

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by warrior1988
by warrior1988

Got this tablet didnt have google play so I had to install google play on it. Over all very smooth and fast great picture and video quality.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
warrior1988
Crawfordsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not an approved Android device
12/1/2012

Customer review by 3000jfree

1.0 stars 12/1/2012 by 3000jfree
by 3000jfree

Well just like everyone else here we bought this for our child (son) as a Christmas gift so he wouldn't break my wife's iPad. The tablet itself is physically great, nice screen and shape but that's it, the OS is terrible. Now I am an avid android fan and when I saw that this came preloaded with Jellybean I was surprised, but this thing runs like my wife's old HTC Hero (laggy). The market for this thing does not work at all, the alternate market they suggest does not work at all either. You can not load the Play Store (Android Market) on this tablet because it is Not an approved Android device, that's right they slapped the OS in there but this device has not been approved by Google therefore restricting you from using the app market successfully. The company that makes this terrible product recommends using the Amazon App store which just proves that know they made a worthless product. Oh and you cant use that market either..... Using the preloaded games is ok, but watching any of the videos on this thing is a pain. Its choppy and very laggy. I am returning this thing to the store today and will not recommend this product to anyone, even if didn't like them. Just spend the extra money and get something that is worthwhile, there is a reason this tablet is so cheap and I like others have found out the hard way. Those 4 and 5 star reviews are fake in my honest opinion, this thing does not work out the box and even with trouble shooting and diagnosing the problem still no success. Visit this companies website and read all the horror stories for yourself. http://www.ematic.us/

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3000jfree
McDonough, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 601 total reviews
1-20 of 601 reviews