Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

23 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

23 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-15 of 15 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great camera overall!
10/31/2012

Customer review by Brown9

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by Brown9
by Brown9

Wow! What a great camera. Beautiful picture quality, great zoom, really good in low- light, and the image stabilization does what it's meant for. And I gotta say, it's pretty light weight! Only thing I was somewhat disappointed in was that it does not take still photos, but that isn't a problem for me. The zoom microphone works great. Has a manual lens cover. It also has a time lapse recording feature, which I really like. Setting the video resolution in the menu is a bit weird since it goes by stuff like "SSW" and "XP" and not "full HD", or "VGA" like that. It comes defaultly set to XP, which I found out was the 1080p setting when I put it on my computer, so I would just leave it there. But, all in all I love this thing. The price might just be the best part, though. If you're looking for a great camcorder for a ridiculous price (ridiculously good that is), BUY IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brown9
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great For Live Bands!
12/24/2012

Customer review by Mttu

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by Mttu
by Mttu

This camera DOES NOT have Wi/Fi or still picture capabilities, as advertised. The image stabilization is very forgiving and works tremendously! It works well in very low light (like dim and irratically lit bar band stages) on the automatic setting (I.A. Intelligent Auto). I turn face recognition setting OFF. The videos frequently appear a little better lit than watching live in person! The audio is also very good, recording bands in full ranges of sound, even near very loud speakers (many other cameras record loud distorted rumbles in these situations). With a good sounding band, it produces virtually professional sounding recordings! Zoom usually works well in these situations (zooming in on the drummer's face), though care needs to be taken when using zoom in dim, irratic light: it sometimes freaks out- not knowing what to focus on. Moving especially evenly when zooming, and not zooming too excessively in darker areas seems to work in these situations. Comes with plug in charger, no charging through USB port. Produces High Definiton quality video! Battery lasts about 1 hour on the High Definition Setting, a bit less than some other similar cameras, though the camera feels very light. Seems a trade off of some features for good quality in more important functions, for a low price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mttu
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
NOT AS DESCRIBED
11/24/2012

Customer review by Krash4IT

3.0 stars 11/24/2012 by Krash4IT
by Krash4IT

Item was listed in black friday ad and website as having wifi functionality. it does NOT have wifi built in. the model that does have that option is http://www.walmart.com/ip/JVC-GZ-EX210BUS/20627919 . I didn't find any info listed in online searches except the model number and price for black friday ad. I did finally get the user guide from jvc website and it did not list anything about how to setup the wifi...because it doesn't have it. Oh well I guess it is good I didn't open it yet so I can get the full refund. Didn't test it otherwise so can't say if it is better or worse that average. It just doesn't have WIFI...you have been warned.

Was this review helpful? (17) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Krash4IT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what I was looking for!
11/27/2012

Customer review by Thecameraman333

2.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Thecameraman333
by Thecameraman333

This camera records great video, and the zoom is awesome. That's it. There is no Wi-Fi, no still images, no real special effects you can add to the videos. The zoom knob is pretty stiff, and rather slow. I've had mine almost a month now, and the lens cover has already started showing signs of wear (not closing all the way, etc). I was very pleased with the video quality, but very disappointed that it did not have all the features listed here. If I had been smart and not gone with the cheapest thing on here, I would (and should) have gotten the Samsung HMX- F80. Only buy if you have another small camera to take around.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thecameraman333
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Website said has wifi & touchscreen,it has neither
12/16/2012

Customer review by 44224422joe

1.0 stars 12/16/2012 by 44224422joe
by 44224422joe

Walmart website stated in item description it has wifi and a touchscreen. So I returned a different camera I got on Black Friday for a great price and ordered this one. After I got item and looked it ove I discovered it has neither function and shortly after I got an email stating item description was wrong and mistakes happen and Walmart isn't liable for mistakes made on website. Other than that the camera is ok but deffinantly not a super great product for the price. Spend a little more on different camera and get a whole lot more for your money. I returned mine back to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
44224422joe
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ergonomic Disaster
1/9/2013

Customer review by Sarcasticynic

2.0 stars 1/9/2013 by Sarcasticynic
by Sarcasticynic

Given the heritage of JVC products, my expectations were relatively high. Though I'm sure the unit is mechanically and electronically sound, I found the ergonomics to be disastrous. From other reviews I understood that the unit was small and not for those with larger hands. I felt I was safe because my hands are small. However, this unit was small even for my hands - perhaps a good candidate for children. Here are the ergonomic weaknesses I found: 1. No matter how I positioned the strap, I could not seem to get a comfortable and useful grip on the device. 2. With the battery projecting from the back of the unit, it was nearly impossible for my thumb to reach the record button. I imagine it would even be worse with the extended-life (and depth) of the larger batteries. I suppose one could use the index finger of the right hand. 3. The Play, Up/Left, Down/Right, OK/Info, and Menu buttons run down the inside rear of the camcorder and are impossible to press with one's thumb. I found I have to use my index finger (or fingernail) from my other hand to press these tiny buttons. Though it would probably be too much to expect for the cost of this unit, it could have benefited from a pushbutton wheel with center OK as is popular with many digital cameras. Backlighting would also be helpful to identify the buttons, so don't expect to press any controls at Becky's recital without a flashlight. 4. The index finger is supposed to rest on the Wide/Tele lever. But just behind the lever is a rarely used button toggling between Auto and Manual modes. I don't know why this option couldn't have been selectable from a menu. I found I needed to use my middle finger to adjust the W/T lever so as not to accidentally switch to manual mode. 5. Speaking of menus, some functions are several levels deep. For example, one has to press buttons no less than five times to get to the focus function in manual mode (from auto mode.) And then the rough focus, (pressing and holding the tiny up/down buttons, and not using the lever as one would expect,) swept too large a range, and the fine focus performed by single presses of the buttons took an eternity to reach total manual focus. It helped to zoom in to the subject area for manual focus, and then zoom back for composition. There was also a nuisance I should have taken heed from another user. This would have been a deal breaker if I knew what I know now. The resultant files this camcorder produces is not in a typical video format such as AVI, WMV, MOV, FLV, MPG, MPEG, or MP4. Instead, it formats video as MTS files (mpeg transport stream, supporting HD video reproduction.) This is fine if you want to watch videos directly from the camcorder or while connected to a TV or other video device. Trouble is, if you want to download the files and watch them on your computer, you have to locate and download an MTS viewer to watch them. Worse, if you want to convert the files to another format for editing and other purposes, you have to locate and download a converter. The converters I’ve found take about ten minutes to convert a four minute file. It doesn’t take a math genius to calculate the conversion time for a half hour video. About the only redeeming quality I found on this camcorder is its amazing 40x optical zoom. All said, if one can get around the ergonomic nightmares, this could be a good value as an entry level camcorder for the kids, grandkids, or adults with VERY small hands.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sarcasticynic
Wake Forest, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/26/2012

Customer review by heathermc9

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by heathermc9
by heathermc9

Great little video camera. The only bad issue about it is the battery life. You really need two batteries with it in order to use it for any amount of time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heathermc9
avondale,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/1/2013

Customer review by Sheilaaa

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by Sheilaaa
by Sheilaaa

I am really happy with this video camera. I had a little more expensive JVC video camera that was stolen from me so I downgraded and bought this camera. I actually like this one better as it's easier to use and I think the indoor picture quality is a littler better on this one.. so wishing I never lost my other one but at least this one is easier to use and definitely just as good of quality.. ...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sheilaaa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great camcorder for a beginner
12/18/2012

Customer review by hitman24

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by hitman24
by hitman24

its a very good camcorder but its a little small if you have big hands

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hitman24
tampa fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For my son
12/30/2012

Customer review by luvwalmart222

4.0 stars 12/30/2012 by luvwalmart222
by luvwalmart222

I got this to for my son hes 16 , to get some Vids of his BMX Riding ..Its a great Vid camera but battery doesnt last that long he says ... so not sure what we will do / a mom

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvwalmart222
Ft Worth Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Problem with Walmart.com not JVC
12/1/2012

Customer review by Plito

1.0 stars 12/1/2012 by Plito
by Plito

I bought based on Walmart.com product description, when I go the camcorder there was no touchpanel or WiFi on it. I give Walmart.com a 0-star, and the JVC camcorder 1-star

Was this review helpful? (7) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Plito
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good camera for the price
12/29/2012

Customer review by shophappy60

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by shophappy60
by shophappy60

Like how light weight and compact it is.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shophappy60
Tooele Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/2/2013

Customer review by Macjon

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Macjon
by Macjon

Easy to use and shoots great movies! Hooks up to tv easily and views great. We will be enjoying this camcorder for a long time to come.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Macjon
Leesburg, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/16/2012

Customer review by upset765

1.0 stars 12/16/2012 by upset765
by upset765

camera was o.k. but walmart stated online when ordering options this camcorder did not have. Walmart should review the options before putting them online. Had to return to local store for refund.This cost me time and money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
upset765
N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Memory maker
3/17/2013

Customer review by Kheta

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Kheta
by Kheta

I was in the market for a smaller camcorder version that I could carry around with me and film daily events on the spur of the moment. I looked at quite a few "mini" camcorders and finally settled on the JVC Everio GZ-HM35USD model. And I am so glad that I did. It's compact, easy to handle and simple to operate. That 40x optical zoom is a bonus! Talk about closeups! It ROCKS big time! I also purchased a mini tripod that has come in handy when I want to shoot a scene and use the stability of a hard surface. I would highly recommend this camcorder to anone in the market for a camcorder that has big capabilities but is on a smaller budget.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kheta
Lakeland, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.