Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

101 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
24
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 97 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
Loved it!
3/25/2013

Customer review by SDotta

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by SDotta
by SDotta

I read online reviews prior to purchasing this dryer and I noticed a lot of the reviewers had common issues with this dryer. Still I purchased it anyway and tried it for the first time yesterday. Here's MY opinion in regards to the common concerns: - "ITS TOO HOT" or "TOO MUCH HEAT ON MY NECK": I started out using the hottest setting on this dryer and I loved the heat. As another review stated, maybe I just have a high tolerance for heat??? Personally, I've been under some hotter dryers in the salon - this was a walk in the park. I kept a towel on the back of my neck from when I was roller setting my hair so I didn't notice any heat there either. Maybe the vents on their bonnet was positioned in a way to blow heat directly on their neck??? Someone mentioned turning the bonnet around to have the hose facing upwards, it wasn't necessary for me but that's a great idea if you experience discomfort. - "THE BONNET SLIPS OFF": I used this on my 4 year old as well (after I used myself as a Guinea pig) no issues with slipping off of our heads. - "NOT ENOUGH TEMPERATURE SETTINGS": 1st and foremost it says 2 heat settings on the box, if that's not enough - don't buy it. Also, when you include the other settings I feel that really it has more than two settings. On the left side there is a switch for hot/cold and on the right side hi/low (which changes how fast it blows or the force of air flow). So you can use Hi-hot, Low-hot, Hi-cool, Low-cool...good enough for me! - "ITS TOO LOUD": I read this from other sites. This is how I look at it..... ... ... it's a blow dryer a little noise is expected. I assumed they meant unusually loud, but it sounded like any other dryer to me. It didn't disturb anyone in my household (I did my hair 12am) and I was still watching tv - of course, I turned it up the volume a little, but then again I never had a dryer that was silent either. I used the dryer with jumbo rollers (1 3/4"). I was expecting my usual 1 1/2 of drying time, but my hair was dry in an hour which is record breaking for my hair. My ears did not get hot and I tried tucking them in for a while and leaving them out for a while to see which way felt better. I loved the heat, it was cozy to me. I will say that the hose gets very hot, the way I had the dryer positioned next to me the hose was touching my bare arm, but I pulled my sleeve down and all was well. I think case is very stylish and I don't even like purple like that. It doesn't feel cheap or like it will fall apart. I'm a neat freak so I love the compartments inside the case so that everything is neatly tucked away when i'm done. It took me a while to decide if I would purchase a hard or soft bonnet dryer - I'm glad I bought this one because I can use this thing anywhere. So far, no complaints :)

Was this review helpful? (190) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SDotta
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great product; serves its purpose
9/30/2013

Customer review by Diaviansangel

3.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Diaviansangel
by Diaviansangel

I was looking for a portable dryer or steamer that I could use to deep condition my hair. Once I found this product, it appeared to be exactly what I was looking for. For the price, I think this item was worth it. In reading the previous reviews, I do not agree with most of them. For example, the heat setting was definitely hot enough and that was on the Low setting. I have no complaints at all on the temperature of the dryer. Also, the noise level was very tolerable, as Im not sure what else would be expected from a fan-operated machine. The only issue that I had was the hose attachment. Before use, I was able to plug the hose into the bonnet with no problem. After about 3 minutes of use, the hose kept detaching from the bonnet. I thought heat caused expansion but it seemed that the heat actually caused the attachment to shrink because the hose no longer fits in the bonnet. I actually had to use tape to secure it in place, but surely that didnt take away from what the dryer actually does and that is WORKS!

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diaviansangel
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy with purchase
1/15/2013

Customer review by Curlicue

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Curlicue
by Curlicue

Have used this dryer only a couple of times but really like it. I have not had any problems with the heat level because I use it on "Low" temp and "Hi" blower setting. Drys my hair quickly and does not dry it out. Very happy with this replacement for my 30+ year old former hair dryer!

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Curlicue
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good!
1/13/2014

Customer review by Redoma

4.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Redoma
by Redoma

I am under the hairdryer as I am writing this review. Of course, to make my time go by faster, I began reading the reviews for this product here on Walmart. Here is mine. Heat in the neck? I am not wearing mine with the hose on my neck but upward towards the front of my head. So, having the heat bother my neck is not an issue. In case that were to happen, I would simply wear a towel like I do at the salon. Time drying? I normally last an hour on any dryer. So, I will do the same on this, at least for the first time. Noise? Its a whole lot better than my last. My last one sounded like an airplane taking off and remained that way the whole time through. Portability? I love it!!! I just might take it on my next travel. I travel often. ' The only place I won't take it to is to NYC. Because they do my hair for half the cost that I pay here in Florida. So why not have them do it. Heat? So far the heat is quite potent and sufficient. I like that! Comfort? Totally! Hood? Holds well in place. At least with the rollers. I have not tried it for just hair treatments but I am sure that I will find a way around that in the event that the bonnet does not hold in place. Hose? Popped in place and never came off. Color? Nice electric purple. Very pretty and lady like. If it would have come in turquoise, I would have been beyond excited. Price? $40 at the store. I wish it could have been less but I made my peace with it. Still think that it is a good buy. $40 that is one trip to the salon. So, I am not complaining. Handsfree? yes!! I would have to hold my old one that was falling apart on me. So this is like butter. Well, I am done with the review. But still drying my hair. I will come back and add comments about the results afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redoma
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
it's a relevation!
5/6/2013

Customer review by Dryerbuyer

5.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Dryerbuyer
by Dryerbuyer

I'm pretty normal, you know.....hates being under a hair dryer, but want the results. So I was kinda happy about getting this. Prior to buying, the reviews have been wonderful. The only quirks were adjusting the bonnet and the dryer getting hot on your neck. That is all true. The dryer is effortless when you have a roller set because the bonnet is big enough to cover everything. But when you are just drying your hair, the bonnet is a little hard to adjust down to size. Plus this thing gets super hot. It can completely dry my flat twist out after a wash in just a hour. And it's sooooo comfortable. It comes in such a small case that I can even pack it for a flight!!! I love it and whatever quirks it may have are so worth dealing with for these amazing results.

Was this review helpful? (49) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dryerbuyer
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best dryer
12/20/2012

Customer review by nithak

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by nithak
by nithak

I must say that I was a little standish about buy this dryer because I was using Corel for the pass couple of years. I thought that maybe it would only get worst if I went to another brand but I'm glad I took the chance on it. It dries my hair in half the time and fits with my big rollers. The only thing I don't like is that it's to loud.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nithak
Clinton, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Good for first use!
2/15/2013

Customer review by DMJB

4.0 stars 2/15/2013 by DMJB
by DMJB

I purchased this a week ago and used it today. After reading the reviews I was a little skeptical but I enjoyed using it. I know that past reviews said that it gets hot in the back by neck but what I did was turn the hose around and had the hot air coming on my hair from the side instead of the back. Worked great dried my hair and I love it. I would recommend this to a friend

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DMJB
Cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
11/27/2012

Customer review by LLLLuvmy4

3.0 stars 11/27/2012 by LLLLuvmy4
by LLLLuvmy4

It gets the job done but like others have said it does get hot on the lower back part of your next, so rather than hot to cold it should have a temperature dial instead. The other downside is that if you dont tie the bonnet "around" your head it will slip off...I dont think this will do well for my 4 1/2 year old and she is the one that I really purchased this for so I could deep condition her hair... I wonder if Laila Ali sat under her "OWN" product?? I think if she had she would have done something different here and there....just my opinion... Other than that...it does the job and works well...Hope I was able to assist you...Happy Holidays ;-)

Was this review helpful? (36) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LLLLuvmy4
Lancaster, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ITS PERFECT !
3/13/2014

Customer review by SOCIETYIVY

5.0 stars 3/13/2014 by SOCIETYIVY
by SOCIETYIVY

ITS VISUALY NICE UPDATED PURPLE AND BLACK IN COLOR,ITS GOT A FLAT BOTTOM THAT ALLOWS IT TO STAND WHEN NOT INUSE THE FLAT BOTTOM HELPS WHEN TRAVELING BECAUSE IT FITS FLESH IN SIDE THE OF YOUR LUGGAGE. IT HAS TWO SETTINGS HOT AND COOL, HOWEVER I DISCOVERED IF YOU PUSH COOL FIRST IT WILL BE COOL BUT IF YOU PUSH COOL AFTER ITS BEEN ON HOT, IT SEEMS TO SWITCH TO A MEDIUM HEAT ( NICE ). THE FAN SETTINGS ARE HI AND LOW .THE FLOW OF HEAT IS EVEN AND SUBSTANTIAL AND INFLATES THE BONNETT FULLY. THE BONNETT IS OBLONG SHAPED BUT IT WORKS WITH PRETTY LARGE ROLLERS. THE CONNECTION FROM THE DRYER TO THE BONNETT IS NOT COMPATABLE WITH THE OLD FASHIONED DRYERS(I TRIED IT WITH AN OLD BONNETT) THE HOSE IS LONG ENOUGH TO SIT IN BED AND DRY YOUR HAIR OR SIT AT A TABLE... ON THE BACK IT HAS TWO INDENTIONS TO MOUNT ON THE WALL FOR STORAGE . I LOVE IT

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SOCIETYIVY
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great dryer
5/1/2013

Customer review by trinigyurl

4.0 stars 5/1/2013 by trinigyurl
by trinigyurl

Easy to use. I like the carry case, which is suitable for travel and it dries the hair fast and well. My hair is medium length and thick but my hair dries in 30 minutes. I used it a lot recently when I had to be at the pool everyday for 3 days and had to shampoo out the chlorine from my hair those 3 days but my hair never dried out but instead it always came out soft and shiny. Excellent dryer. Some people mentioned that the hose gets super hot and it does but I avoid it touching me by wearing a towel around my neck when drying my hair.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trinigyurl
Richmond, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/13/2013

Customer review by CamIIismyname

3.0 stars 1/13/2013 by CamIIismyname
by CamIIismyname

Fine product but with one drawback, it only has two temperature settings. Cold and Hot, no medium.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CamIIismyname
Colonial Heights,Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
11/11/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was so excited to purchase the Laila Ali Soft Bonnet Hair Dryer. After reading the great reviews on Youtube, I had to have one! This dryer comes in a cute, compact case. The heat has a steady flow and didn't take a lot of time to dry my hair. I like the fact that it wasn't too loud and I was able to watch tv while drying my hair. I would definitely recommend this product especially for women with natural hair. Thanks Laila for bringing a new look to a retro product (my mom use to have one way back in the day!)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
10/30/2013

Customer review by myjhan

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by myjhan
by myjhan

I bought this bonnet dryer so I could do at home deep condition and hot oil treatments. I was happy to find it also works great to dry my hair after setting into a style. My hair was dry in about 20-30 minutes after setting in bantu knots (I'm natural). The ONLY draw back about this dryer, which is actually a PRETTY WEIGHTY ONE, is that when the speed is set to high the bonnet will lift off your head. I tried securing it with the drawstring, but that only started burning my scalp at the nape of my neck, I think if the drawstring is too tight it pushes the hot air directly onto your scalp in a more concentrated way. When on low speed I don't have this problem, but higher speed usually equals less time so I'm just going to play around with it for the best positioning. Also, a towel is needed to drape around your shoulders.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myjhan
East Orange, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE LAILA ALI BONNET-- Excellent Dryer!
7/6/2014

Customer review by SINCERLY

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by SINCERLY
by SINCERLY

I like the enclosed aspect of the bonnet type hairdryer, this enables me to do other things and move around while my hair is drying. This one works fine. I dried my hair on medium (I like the varying settings). It was hot enough without having to change the setting during drying time, and dried my hair in less time than by a hood/salon type (on high setting which is very hot, yet takes an hour to dry). The bonnet is very soft but appears durable. The connection for the hose on the bonnet seams a little insecure, however it did not come apart while in use. Whichever side you decide to swing the hose, place a towel under it as it gets hot after a while. Stores easily and is compact. I love the purple case. It is beautiful and well made.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SINCERLY
Palm Bay, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Gets the job done
9/24/2013

Customer review by Nicole002

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by Nicole002
by Nicole002

I my hair is natural, very curly and very course. Strengths - Deep Conditioning – this product helps with my deep conditioning process. I sit under the dryer with my hair covered with a deep conditioner and a plastic cap. And it helps my hair absorb the oils and helps it become more manageable. My hair looks super healthy now. - Portability – I love that it is small and easy to store. I was really happy to see how small it was. - Easy to use – I didn’t have to read the instructions to figure out how to use the dryer. That was a big plus. It is pretty self explanatory. - Looks Pretty – unless you don’t like the color purple, I think this hair dryer is really pretty. - Quality – I have only used this item twice so I can’t speak too much on the quality. But from what I have seen, it looks like will last a while if you take good care of it. I only use mine once a week. Even if it broke down in 6 months I would buy another one because I really like it. - Price – I personally think the price is awesome for what you get. I think I paid about $34. Weakness - Loose bonnet - The bonnet can be a loose of the head, I guess some people that may be a good thing and for others that may be a bad thing. I think I have a big head so the fact that the bonnet was loose on my head even after tightening the strings was a little weird. I don’t know how this can be fixed but I think it is something they need to look into improving the fit. Summary, I still love the hair dryer and I would recommend it to friends and family. It dries your hair without making your hair feel crunchy dry like some hair dryers.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nicole002
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good soft bonnet dryer, great for big rollers.
6/26/2013

Customer review by Artist4252832

3.0 stars 6/26/2013 by Artist4252832
by Artist4252832

Pretty good dryer. I like the large bonnet with the tie. Stays on and covers my entire head with all my big rollers. Seems to dry pretty evenly. Has four temperature settings (heat-hi, heat-low, cool- high, cool-low). The heat-hi does get pretty hot, so I don't keep it on that setting the entire time. Nice case to keep the dryer and hood in. Storage is always an issue for me, so I like that this one stays neat in a pretty case. I usually sit on the couch when I'm drying my hair, so the only issue I have is that the top of the case sometimes falls and tries to close, but I guess this would be alleviated if it were sitting on a hard surface. So all in all, it's a pretty nice dryer so far. I'm curious to see how the hose is going to hold up. The last dryer I had was the golden n hot ionic bonnet dryer. That was my favorite dryer by far and I had it for years but I can't seem to find it anywhere. The hood attached to a square motor and the motor had a strap that went around your neck. So could walk around with it and I didn't have any square case or anything that needed to rest on a hard surface, or any surface for that matter. The Laila Ali is a pretty nice replacement. I would recommend it. We'll see if it lasts as long as my last dryer, which I had for over 4 years.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Artist4252832
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great in-home beauty aid!
2/28/2013

Customer review by Livingmylifelikeitsgolden

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by Livingmylifelikeitsgolden
by Livingmylifelikeitsgolden

I was so excited when this arrived for me today! I'm using my new bonnet dryer as we speak and I've been under it for approx 45 mins and about 90% dry. That's pretty darn good considering I have a long curly braids, set on 5/8" rods, for my natural AFRO I've been transitioning into for over 9 months now. The heat does get hot but I took the advice of one review and turned the hose more towards the side of my head instead of the back. I also like everyone else love the color and just expect to get lots of use outta this thing! Go ahead try it -- Walmart has the cheapest price!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Livingmylifelikeitsgolden
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not a good hair dryer :-(
8/26/2013

Customer review by ducky7777777

1.0 stars 8/26/2013 by ducky7777777
by ducky7777777

I was hoping this would be a good soft bonnet dryer, but it would NOT stay on my head no matter how tight I pulled the string. :-| Also, it barely dried my hair after 30 minutes of use...Unfortunately, I would not recommend this dryer to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ducky7777777
denver, co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for anyone who struggles drying their hair
5/30/2013

Customer review by SacramentoLady

5.0 stars 5/30/2013 by SacramentoLady
by SacramentoLady

This is my first bonnet dryer and I love it. I have Multiple Sclerosis and some days I am unable to hold a regular blow dryer the time it takes to style my hair. I easily roll my shorter hair on Velcro rollers (no struggling with clips) and the dryer does the rest. The bonnet fits over curlers easily. Contrary to other comments it actually has 4 levels of temperature (cool low, cool high, hot low and hot high). I searched on ebay and amazon for a bonnet dryer and then Wal-Mart online and this was easily the most affordable and delivery was prompt and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SacramentoLady
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best i've ever owned
1/16/2014

Customer review by spoiledbratz

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by spoiledbratz
by spoiledbratz

This is a very nice hair dryer it so small, it works really well. I gave this dryer to my teen daughter as a Christmas gift, she is very happy with it. It does the job, and does it well. I just hope it will last for some time, because I have purchased six month hair driers in the past, this seem too good to be short lived. Perfect size bonnet is a little small with head full of roller, but other than that it’s great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spoiledbratz
batonrouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews