Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 64 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews
Perfect for "Just the Two of Us"
9/23/2014

Customer review by Dinee15

5.0 stars 9/23/2014 by Dinee15
by Dinee15
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received this bike from my husband for my 53rd birthday. What a blast to ride around on. As he tells me, I'll never get lost! Nice color combo on the bike (we have the red and black combo). My husband is 6'1", I'm 5'5", and we easily fit on the bike. Friends of ours bought the same bike in Lake Tahoe over the summer, so now we can double date! Took my husband 45 minutes to put together. Comes mostly assembled in box. Had to put on handle bars, seats and front tire (rear tire was already installed). Needed some minor adjustments to the chain (very tight upon delivery); otherwise, easy, breezy. I like that it come with a kick stand too, don't have to lay on the ground or hope it doesn't fall resting on a tree or something. We also purchased the option three year warranty. Why not, it's fully covered for that time and it only cost $1/per month. Should anything be defective or break - no sweat. Now, all I need is a bell on the back handle bars (oh, my husband will love that - not). :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dinee15
Woodland Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/3/2012

Customer review by sdliveent

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by sdliveent
by sdliveent
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bike was a gift and she loves it so now we can ride at all the Cycle Armory Discover San Diego's Mission Bay bike rides together .... Bike On

Was this review helpful? (2) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sdliveent
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
economical fun! good bike
8/13/2014

Customer review by bajaxj

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by bajaxj
by bajaxj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good value for the price. I was not ready to spend 1000's on a "brand" tandem, specially to "learn" to ride like that. My wife and I have individual bicycles, road & mountain, and we were wondering about tandem biking. well, I was expecting trouble, not with the bike, but with the synchronization between Her and I. If you are thinking in getting a tandem bike, research and read people's comments on the web. I did that and it make the riding experience very pleasant & fun! About the bike, well, not so easy to put together, the instructions are generic but it was not complicate. I do maintenance on all our bikes (we have 9 in our family of 5 people) so what is another bike to put together? nothing. People talk about flats, well, well & well; All happy after assembly, tires full of air (50PSI---recommended is 40-65psi) and just, by it self, the rear tire pop! the inner rim had sharp ends where the spokes are, cleaned, put some duct tape on each and then the jaket, and re-assemble. 8 trips to far & happy!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bajaxj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fun!!
6/29/2014

Customer review by HugeFun

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by HugeFun
by HugeFun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was a little concerned about transporting this, but I remove the back row and one seat from the middle row of my Pontiac Montana van and the box fit with a couple inches to spare. Assembly was fairly straight forward and we were up and riding in no time. We were also little concerned as we heard that riding a tandem bike could be difficult, but we had no problems other then the wife starts laughing so hard that she forgets to peddle. She is now learning where to put her feet such that she quits being the stoker (person on the back) and becomes a slacker, so I'll be adding a mirror to keep her in check. We are a 'larger' couple so the seats could be more comfortable but given the low price of the bike we have lots of budget left over to get better seats. This bike has proven to be great fun and I would recommend it to anyone, especially for the outstanding price. Time to go for another ride.....

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HugeFun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal, great quality and super fun to ride
11/3/2013

Customer review by kdkdiekdk

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by kdkdiekdk
by kdkdiekdk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted to get a bike where I could put my blind father on the back and this was the perfect bike. I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent" in the "Ease of Setup" rating because I have been raised with bikes and taking them apart and reassembling them and I thought that if someone were not raised with this, that they may not be able to put this together and may need to take it to a bike shop to finish the assembly. Even if that were the case, it would not cost much to do so, and the price of the bike and the quality is great. The seats are Super comfortable, and the tires are good for any road conditions. It is stable and fun to ride. The bike comes in a box and you need to: * put on the pedals - all four since there are two cranks * attach the two water bottle racks * put on the reflectors (optional) * put on the metal guard over the back gears * pump up the tires * attach the front tire to the bike * put in the front and rear handle bars - tightening them each properly) The front handle bar must be tightened properly as this also controls the front tire staying in line with the handlebars. * adjust the front brakes- I also adjusted the placement of the brake pads so that they hit directly onto the side of the rim. * put on the seats - put in the seat posts and tighten Then test it out and go for a ride. I added a back bike rack and attached a horn on the front handle bars - not included.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kdkdiekdk
Santa Cruz, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tandem cruiser
8/24/2015

Customer review by JohnT

4.0 stars 8/24/2015 by JohnT
by JohnT

This tandem bicycle is an amazing value. It has quality components including a Shimano drive train including derailleurs and shifters. The brakes, wheels, and other parts (right down to the kickstand) are quite good. And it is a blast to ride! All cruiser-bike tandems will be on the heavy side, but the bike's weight is really quite reasonable. The low top tube at the stoker (rear) position allows kids as young as 6 or 7 to ride along. Even when my son is not really pedaling, I have no trouble getting the bike up to speed. The bike's gearing is basically that of a mountain bike (3 x 7) and the range of gears helps on inclines. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the bike's welds, paint, decals -- fit and finish. We receive friendly waves everywhere we go on this bike and have had great fun riding it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful bike for serious exercise and fun
7/14/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

At ages 68 & 70, my wife and I wanted more exercise than we were getting from our morning walk. We haven't done any bike riding in decades. It may not be a serious road bike, but we were up to 20 mile rides on the hills around Fredericksburg, Texas by our 7th ride. Our most common topic of conversation now is "When are we going on our next ride?" The store where we bought it did the assembly, and we have had no problems. We also have a trailer we tow behind the bike for shorter rides with our two dogs. The trailer was intended for kids, but the dogs love it! It's amazing how many friendly waves we get from serious bikers and passing motorists when they see two old people ride by on a bicycle built for two!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lakeway, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fun for 2 riders&only 1 if no passengers available
11/2/2013

Customer review by Grandmaridesagain

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Grandmaridesagain
by Grandmaridesagain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We love the bike...it is lightweight and a breeze to ride whether there are two riders or if you just want to ride when no one else is available. Great fun....beautiful bike!! Wal-Mart assembled it so it was ready to go that night!! Takes a little practice for new riders to learn to synchronize the pedals as with all tandems and then you are on your way to tour your surroundings on the nearby bike paths.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandmaridesagain
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tandem for the Price
4/19/2014

Customer review by Kjsmiley

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Kjsmiley
by Kjsmiley
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Ordered it for home delivery. Arrived a day before expected. It was mostly assembled so it only took me about an hour to complete the assembly. There was no shipping damage. We've taken several rides on it with no issues. The 21 speeds provide a very wide range of pedaling torque which makes it very easy to take hills and fast on the flat lands. The brakes work fine, seats are comfortable, easy to ride and it's fun!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kjsmiley
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Bike for the price, fun to ride.
12/31/2013

Customer review by Raven3Feathers

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Raven3Feathers
by Raven3Feathers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this Bike for my Wife and I, She is blind and this is the only option to ride for her. Overall I'm pleased with the bike, It's a good value for the price (some Tandems go for $2500), seems sturdy enough for local Road and paved trails. It was easily assembled. If you are "Husky" riders inflate the tires to 65 lbs or it will feel "wobbly" and if haven't ridden tandem it will take a little practice, the long wheelbase takes some getting used to, ride it a few times solo to get accustomed to it, all that being said it's fun to ride with a little practice. The only negative thing I can say is, you will probably want to replace the seats, my butt got sore long before my legs got tired. I bought 2 big comfortable Schwinn seats for it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raven3Feathers
Venice FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike, but check everything!
8/11/2015

Customer review by Corto

4.0 stars 8/11/2015 by Corto
by Corto

Went together easily. For $279 just could not beat it, only competition were 30+ year old tandems on Craigslist that were rusted to heck. However we had one experience that almost made this a much lower rating. On the first real ride we had (a few miles) on the way back, the pedals just stopped turning and the rear cassette was just impossible to turn. Had to call someone to pick us up. Upon inspection, turns out the rear wheel was not tightened enough on the frame and shifted enough so the smallest gear was hitting the frame and getting caught on it. Had to take the wheel off, retighten the cassette and put the wheel back on. It is otherwise an amazing value for the money and rides smoothly. I am 6'3" and my wife is 5'8". I could probably use a little more extension for my legs but not a big deal at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Corto
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A couple now in earshot of each other again.
9/23/2015

Customer review by SayRay

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by SayRay
by SayRay

We are in our late 50's and have plenty of paved bike paths in our area. We both are over 6 feet tall. And we have 2 higher end bikes that we use. My concerns about a good fit are now gone. This is a great bike for the money. The other reviewers are right. Although my wife wants a softer seat - easy to fix. So why the tandem? Well its like we are back on our motorcycle - yet even quieter. We can talk along the way now without yelling. And the synchronization and starting and stopping was easy for us. (again, the motorcycle experience helped). Get one. Ride on. Enjoy the fresh air and exercise. And get closer to your better half in the process.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SayRay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price
5/11/2014

Customer review by jimzoli

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by jimzoli
by jimzoli
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First off. I race bikes and own a Tarmac SWorks, The Northwoods Tandem is not a high end bike. It doesn't even cost as much as one wheel on a high quality bike. So to get a whole bike at $250.00 or so is quite amazing. I expected to have all sorts of problems but am quite happy with my purchase. I ride it with my daughter and I am easing her into the sport slowly. She loves to go riding with me. If you ride a high end bike now ($5000.00 plus) you will not like the seats (Too fat and heavy), the tires and wheels (too fat and heavy), or the frame (too fat and heavy) but would you rather spend the $5000.00? This bike is great for short rides with new riders who just want to peddle around and have a good time.

Was this review helpful? (24) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jimzoli
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
4/4/2013

Customer review by DaBandit

4.0 stars 4/4/2013 by DaBandit
by DaBandit
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The bike is nice, good quality, sturdy and loads of fun! There are a few features that would really take this bike to the next level, but for the price, it was an excellent buy! I generally ride a $3000 road bike. There is a huge difference in the bikes, but this bike allows me to ride with my girlfriend. We take leisure rides with the children and more aggressive rides together.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaBandit
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredible value!
4/23/2014

Customer review by Gatordan1

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Gatordan1
by Gatordan1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

exceeded my expectations.assembled quickly..although front brake a bit triky if u r not schooled a bit in bike mechanics.Great family fun which enables quality time together.no phones no gadgets..jyst the headwind and great endorpgin induced conversation.buy a bell metal basket for the front and get milk eggs etc while you are out.Quality and engineering which i would expect in a more exoensive bike.fill the tires to at least 50 Psi for best ride.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gatordan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
An economical tandem bike
6/11/2015

Customer review by David

5.0 stars 6/11/2015 by David
by David

After looking at local bike shops and seeing tandem bikes in the $1000.00 range, I was a little put off as we are not performance riders. Took a chance on the tandem bike and with the $70.00 shipping charge it still came in under $400.00. So far (about 20 miles) on the bike it has shown good construction. The shifting is great and the bike was relatively easy to assemble with the directions given. I'm not a bike enthusiast, but the brakes were easy to adjust, and everything else went together as expected. The finish seems good. It's a great recreation bike for an older couple (68 years), and my grandchildren love riding behind grandpa. The only criticism is the bike seats are uncomfortable, but that seem to be typical for economy bikes. Hopefully with new seats we will get a lot of usage for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
David
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for great price
8/4/2014

Customer review by Themotivator

5.0 stars 8/4/2014 by Themotivator
by Themotivator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought the bike for our 13 year old twins after renting a tandem at the shore. They enjoy riding the bike more than their single bikes. The bike is easy to ride, handles and shifts well. The quality of the bike is excellent especially considering the low price. I was expecting to pay a lot more for a tandem. The one issue I had was the need for different sizes of Allen wrenches required to put it together. I don't think it would be difficult to make a bike that would require one tool for assembly. Overall great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Themotivator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
7/1/2013

Customer review by Wendi09

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Wendi09
by Wendi09
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great bike the store built it for free for us. The bike over all is so much fun and easy to ride.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wendi09
Pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice tandem
9/11/2015

Customer review by Jimmer

5.0 stars 9/11/2015 by Jimmer
by Jimmer

reat bike.worked in bicycle shops all my life and you can't do better then this tandem for the price,very very nice bike was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box and started assembly. Should cost way more for this bike highly recommend this bike.happy riding

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimmer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fun leisurely activity
4/29/2014

Customer review by LovesOutdoorFun

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by LovesOutdoorFun
by LovesOutdoorFun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I loved riding this with my husband. It's nice to be together on the bike ride. We enjoyed peoples laughs and smiles as we rose by

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovesOutdoorFun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1-20 of 64 reviews