Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 57 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
Great Deal, great quality and super fun to ride
11/3/2013

Customer review by kdkdiekdk

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by kdkdiekdk
by kdkdiekdk

I wanted to get a bike where I could put my blind father on the back and this was the perfect bike. I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent" in the "Ease of Setup" rating because I have been raised with bikes and taking them apart and reassembling them and I thought that if someone were not raised with this, that they may not be able to put this together and may need to take it to a bike shop to finish the assembly. Even if that were the case, it would not cost much to do so, and the price of the bike and the quality is great. The seats are Super comfortable, and the tires are good for any road conditions. It is stable and fun to ride. The bike comes in a box and you need to: * put on the pedals - all four since there are two cranks * attach the two water bottle racks * put on the reflectors (optional) * put on the metal guard over the back gears * pump up the tires * attach the front tire to the bike * put in the front and rear handle bars - tightening them each properly) The front handle bar must be tightened properly as this also controls the front tire staying in line with the handlebars. * adjust the front brakes- I also adjusted the placement of the brake pads so that they hit directly onto the side of the rim. * put on the seats - put in the seat posts and tighten Then test it out and go for a ride. I added a back bike rack and attached a horn on the front handle bars - not included.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdkdiekdk
Santa Cruz, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun for 2 riders&only 1 if no passengers available
11/2/2013

Customer review by Grandmaridesagain

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Grandmaridesagain
by Grandmaridesagain

We love the bike...it is lightweight and a breeze to ride whether there are two riders or if you just want to ride when no one else is available. Great fun....beautiful bike!! Wal-Mart assembled it so it was ready to go that night!! Takes a little practice for new riders to learn to synchronize the pedals as with all tandems and then you are on your way to tour your surroundings on the nearby bike paths.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandmaridesagain
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
4/4/2013

Customer review by DaBandit

4.0 stars 4/4/2013 by DaBandit
by DaBandit

The bike is nice, good quality, sturdy and loads of fun! There are a few features that would really take this bike to the next level, but for the price, it was an excellent buy! I generally ride a $3000 road bike. There is a huge difference in the bikes, but this bike allows me to ride with my girlfriend. We take leisure rides with the children and more aggressive rides together.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaBandit
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
5/11/2014

Customer review by jimzoli

5.0 stars 5/11/2014 by jimzoli
by jimzoli

First off. I race bikes and own a Tarmac SWorks, The Northwoods Tandem is not a high end bike. It doesn't even cost as much as one wheel on a high quality bike. So to get a whole bike at $250.00 or so is quite amazing. I expected to have all sorts of problems but am quite happy with my purchase. I ride it with my daughter and I am easing her into the sport slowly. She loves to go riding with me. If you ride a high end bike now ($5000.00 plus) you will not like the seats (Too fat and heavy), the tires and wheels (too fat and heavy), or the frame (too fat and heavy) but would you rather spend the $5000.00? This bike is great for short rides with new riders who just want to peddle around and have a good time.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jimzoli
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful bike for serious exercise and fun
7/14/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/14/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

At ages 68 & 70, my wife and I wanted more exercise than we were getting from our morning walk. We haven't done any bike riding in decades. It may not be a serious road bike, but we were up to 20 mile rides on the hills around Fredericksburg, Texas by our 7th ride. Our most common topic of conversation now is "When are we going on our next ride?" The store where we bought it did the assembly, and we have had no problems. We also have a trailer we tow behind the bike for shorter rides with our two dogs. The trailer was intended for kids, but the dogs love it! It's amazing how many friendly waves we get from serious bikers and passing motorists when they see two old people ride by on a bicycle built for two!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lakeway, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike for the price, fun to ride.
12/31/2013

Customer review by Raven3Feathers

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Raven3Feathers
by Raven3Feathers

I bought this Bike for my Wife and I, She is blind and this is the only option to ride for her. Overall I'm pleased with the bike, It's a good value for the price (some Tandems go for $2500), seems sturdy enough for local Road and paved trails. It was easily assembled. If you are "Husky" riders inflate the tires to 65 lbs or it will feel "wobbly" and if haven't ridden tandem it will take a little practice, the long wheelbase takes some getting used to, ride it a few times solo to get accustomed to it, all that being said it's fun to ride with a little practice. The only negative thing I can say is, you will probably want to replace the seats, my butt got sore long before my legs got tired. I bought 2 big comfortable Schwinn seats for it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raven3Feathers
Venice FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Tandem for the Price
4/19/2014

Customer review by Kjsmiley

4.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Kjsmiley
by Kjsmiley

Ordered it for home delivery. Arrived a day before expected. It was mostly assembled so it only took me about an hour to complete the assembly. There was no shipping damage. We've taken several rides on it with no issues. The 21 speeds provide a very wide range of pedaling torque which makes it very easy to take hills and fast on the flat lands. The brakes work fine, seats are comfortable, easy to ride and it's fun!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kjsmiley
Northern Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
7/1/2013

Customer review by Wendi09

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by Wendi09
by Wendi09

Great bike the store built it for free for us. The bike over all is so much fun and easy to ride.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wendi09
Pittsburgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Fun!!
6/29/2014

Customer review by HugeFun

5.0 stars 6/29/2014 by HugeFun
by HugeFun

I was a little concerned about transporting this, but I remove the back row and one seat from the middle row of my Pontiac Montana van and the box fit with a couple inches to spare. Assembly was fairly straight forward and we were up and riding in no time. We were also little concerned as we heard that riding a tandem bike could be difficult, but we had no problems other then the wife starts laughing so hard that she forgets to peddle. She is now learning where to put her feet such that she quits being the stoker (person on the back) and becomes a slacker, so I'll be adding a mirror to keep her in check. We are a 'larger' couple so the seats could be more comfortable but given the low price of the bike we have lots of budget left over to get better seats. This bike has proven to be great fun and I would recommend it to anyone, especially for the outstanding price. Time to go for another ride.....

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HugeFun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Incredible value!
4/23/2014

Customer review by Gatordan1

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by Gatordan1
by Gatordan1

exceeded my expectations.assembled quickly..although front brake a bit triky if u r not schooled a bit in bike mechanics.Great family fun which enables quality time together.no phones no gadgets..jyst the headwind and great endorpgin induced conversation.buy a bell metal basket for the front and get milk eggs etc while you are out.Quality and engineering which i would expect in a more exoensive bike.fill the tires to at least 50 Psi for best ride.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatordan1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great to enjoy with your partner
6/20/2013

Customer review by 2knee

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by 2knee
by 2knee

Chinese to English instructions were not for this bicycle, but we worked it out. You need to have Allen keys to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2knee
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
8/30/2013

Customer review by NewTandemBiker

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by NewTandemBiker
by NewTandemBiker

This is my first tandem bicycle. It came in a long box, partially assembled. It took me about an hour to assemble the bike. It was not hard at all considering this is my first time to assemble a bike. The most tricky part was the front brake. The riding was great, The riding is a bit different from riding a normal single bike. But the transition was easy. It took me a few minutes to get used to it to ride in a normal safe speed. The turning is a bit different, as well as the paddling. We love the bike! It is a nice and fun bike.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewTandemBiker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun leisurely activity
4/29/2014

Customer review by LovesOutdoorFun

5.0 stars 4/29/2014 by LovesOutdoorFun
by LovesOutdoorFun

I loved riding this with my husband. It's nice to be together on the bike ride. We enjoyed peoples laughs and smiles as we rose by

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesOutdoorFun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So-So bike and poor Kent Bikes customer service
3/17/2014

Customer review by teachdj

2.0 stars 3/17/2014 by teachdj
by teachdj

Well, this bike did arrive promptly from Walmart. After that the comedy or errors began. 1. The assembly instructions included were for a completely different bike...not even a tandem. 2. There were missing parts (missing retaining washers for the front tire and a missing washer for the rear handlebar clamp. 3. The front brake adjustment was off. 4. The bike is heavy....just know that...it is a steel frame but heavy. 5. The front reflector cracked off easily. 6. After the first ride, the front tire tube deflated. 7. Emails to Kent Bike customer service netted me a phone number to a rep who I could never get on the phone or return my calls. I filled out their form, gave them my model number, and uploaded my Waltmart receipt/invoice. They did send out a new reflector (wrong style), two retaining washers (didn't fit - for wrong bike), a new head washer, and a new tube (wrong size and style with long stem for diff bike). 8. Using this bike, the default gear setting caused poor and stiff shifting. Not good at all. 9. With two people peddling hard and using gears, this bike is exhausting when climbing any sort of hill. Don't expect to put mom or grandma on the back and cruise around where there are any hills. You wont have fun. 10. After my first week, my new tube on the front wheel flattened AGAIN. Don't know why. Rim or tire issue? Unknown. We have several other regular one-seater bikes, have ridden them all over for years, and have never had a flat. This bike? Two flat front tubes in a week. While tandems are fun, you get what you pay for (a cheap and heavy tandem with poor customer service). If you want to have a good experience, don't buy this bike and spend a little more for something nicer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teachdj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great bike for the price!!!
6/8/2014

Customer review by plumber1209

5.0 stars 6/8/2014 by plumber1209
by plumber1209

Purchased this bike so my girlfriend and I could ride together. my kids love to ride on it with me also. my 6 year old rides on the back seat and puts his feet up on the bar. I'm hoping it will help him feel the balance point of bike riding so it would help him learn how to ride his bike faster. this is really a nice bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
plumber1209
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for "Just the Two of Us"
9/23/2014

Customer review by Dinee15

5.0 stars 9/23/2014 by Dinee15
by Dinee15

I received this bike from my husband for my 53rd birthday. What a blast to ride around on. As he tells me, I'll never get lost! Nice color combo on the bike (we have the red and black combo). My husband is 6'1", I'm 5'5", and we easily fit on the bike. Friends of ours bought the same bike in Lake Tahoe over the summer, so now we can double date! Took my husband 45 minutes to put together. Comes mostly assembled in box. Had to put on handle bars, seats and front tire (rear tire was already installed). Needed some minor adjustments to the chain (very tight upon delivery); otherwise, easy, breezy. I like that it come with a kick stand too, don't have to lay on the ground or hope it doesn't fall resting on a tree or something. We also purchased the option three year warranty. Why not, it's fully covered for that time and it only cost $1/per month. Should anything be defective or break - no sweat. Now, all I need is a bell on the back handle bars (oh, my husband will love that - not). :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dinee15
Woodland Hills, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Tandem for the price
8/23/2013

Customer review by BigSky1324

4.0 stars 8/23/2013 by BigSky1324
by BigSky1324

The box arrived fairly quickly via FedEx. Box was not damaged and contents were not damaged either. It took a couple hours to put bicycle together. It mainly involved attaching front tire, pedals, seats, water bottle holders and handlebars. I pumped up the tires and lubricated a few items. Have ridden a few times and seems stable. Shifting is fairly smooth. Probably need to adjust brakes a bit yet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigSky1324
Belgrade, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the price!
8/24/2013

Customer review by 2Rider

5.0 stars 8/24/2013 by 2Rider
by 2Rider

I was apprehensive to buy an inexpensive bike. This bike exceeded my expectations. This is not a light-weight road bike. Yet it performs well and provides lots of fun for casual riding. It is a great entry-level tandem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2Rider
Goshen, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love It!
9/24/2013

Customer review by NTHTX

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by NTHTX
by NTHTX

The bike is so cute and practical! It is so much fun. My husband and I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NTHTX
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Double Bike
6/2/2014

Customer review by PokeDoggg

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by PokeDoggg
by PokeDoggg

This double bike took me back to when I was a kid. Me and my son are having a lot of fun with this. It came 90% assembled and the rest was really easy. This is the way to go if you want to have some fun bike riding.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PokeDoggg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews