Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.3out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 | 96 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
Sort by: 
1-20 of 94 reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Perfect for "Just the Two of Us"
9/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I received this bike from my husband for my 53rd birthday. What a blast to ride around on. As he tells me, I'll never get lost! Nice color combo on the bike (we have the red and black combo). My husband is 6'1", I'm 5'5", and we easily fit on the bike. Friends of ours bought the same bike in Lake Tahoe over the summer, so now we can double date! Took my husband 45 minutes to put together. Comes mostly assembled in box. Had to put on handle bars, seats and front tire (rear tire was already installed). Needed some minor adjustments to the chain (very tight upon delivery); otherwise, easy, breezy. I like that it come with a kick stand too, don't have to lay on the ground or hope it doesn't fall resting on a tree or something. We also purchased the option three year warranty. Why not, it's fully covered for that time and it only cost $1/per month. Should anything be defective or break - no sweat. Now, all I need is a bell on the back handle bars (oh, my husband will love that - not). :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The bike was a gift and she loves it so now we can ride at all the Cycle Armory Discover San Diego's Mission Bay bike rides together .... Bike On
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best value for the money!
5/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I worked in a bike shop as a teenage, so I've seen a few bad bikes ( Sears Free Spirit comes to mind) This bike has Shimano derailers /shifters - Vitesse three piece cranks and nice easy assembly ( not very good instruction ) Assembly is really just removing all the packing material and snipping the ties ( use scissors or side cutters ) and putting on a few things ie; handle bar assemblies/ seats / front tire and pedals. Must tell you that like a previous poster we also had a blow out after about 12 miles - spoiled an otherwise very nice ride ( my wife and I covered much more distance faster that if we where on separate units and we could actually talk to each other) . After the blow out we replaced both tires and tubes with better products, and kept the original tube in the carrier for a spare. Even after spending the 60.00 for all new rubber I'm way ahead of the next priced unit. So even though the manufacturer cheaped out on the tires - I'd still give it a five !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
economical fun! good bike
8/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Good value for the price. I was not ready to spend 1000's on a "brand" tandem, specially to "learn" to ride like that. My wife and I have individual bicycles, road & mountain, and we were wondering about tandem biking. well, I was expecting trouble, not with the bike, but with the synchronization between Her and I. If you are thinking in getting a tandem bike, research and read people's comments on the web. I did that and it make the riding experience very pleasant & fun! About the bike, well, not so easy to put together, the instructions are generic but it was not complicate. I do maintenance on all our bikes (we have 9 in our family of 5 people) so what is another bike to put together? nothing. People talk about flats, well, well & well; All happy after assembly, tires full of air (50PSI---recommended is 40-65psi) and just, by it self, the rear tire pop! the inner rim had sharp ends where the spokes are, cleaned, put some duct tape on each and then the jaket, and re-assemble. 8 trips to far & happy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Fun!!
6/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was a little concerned about transporting this, but I remove the back row and one seat from the middle row of my Pontiac Montana van and the box fit with a couple inches to spare. Assembly was fairly straight forward and we were up and riding in no time. We were also little concerned as we heard that riding a tandem bike could be difficult, but we had no problems other then the wife starts laughing so hard that she forgets to peddle. She is now learning where to put her feet such that she quits being the stoker (person on the back) and becomes a slacker, so I'll be adding a mirror to keep her in check. We are a 'larger' couple so the seats could be more comfortable but given the low price of the bike we have lots of budget left over to get better seats. This bike has proven to be great fun and I would recommend it to anyone, especially for the outstanding price. Time to go for another ride.....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor quality bike
10/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this bike because it seemed like fun for me and my boyfriend, but it ended up being more aggravating than fun. We didn't ride it often, and the wheel blew out around our 10th time riding it. We weren't over the 400lb weight limit. I weigh 110lbs and he weighs 150lbs, and we didn't ride it for long distances.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal, great quality and super fun to ride
11/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted to get a bike where I could put my blind father on the back and this was the perfect bike. I rated it "Good" instead of "Excellent" in the "Ease of Setup" rating because I have been raised with bikes and taking them apart and reassembling them and I thought that if someone were not raised with this, that they may not be able to put this together and may need to take it to a bike shop to finish the assembly. Even if that were the case, it would not cost much to do so, and the price of the bike and the quality is great. The seats are Super comfortable, and the tires are good for any road conditions. It is stable and fun to ride. The bike comes in a box and you need to: * put on the pedals - all four since there are two cranks * attach the two water bottle racks * put on the reflectors (optional) * put on the metal guard over the back gears * pump up the tires * attach the front tire to the bike * put in the front and rear handle bars - tightening them each properly) The front handle bar must be tightened properly as this also controls the front tire staying in line with the handlebars. * adjust the front brakes- I also adjusted the placement of the brake pads so that they hit directly onto the side of the rim. * put on the seats - put in the seat posts and tighten Then test it out and go for a ride. I added a back bike rack and attached a horn on the front handle bars - not included.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent tandem cruiser
8/24/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This tandem bicycle is an amazing value. It has quality components including a Shimano drive train including derailleurs and shifters. The brakes, wheels, and other parts (right down to the kickstand) are quite good. And it is a blast to ride! All cruiser-bike tandems will be on the heavy side, but the bike's weight is really quite reasonable. The low top tube at the stoker (rear) position allows kids as young as 6 or 7 to ride along. Even when my son is not really pedaling, I have no trouble getting the bike up to speed. The bike's gearing is basically that of a mountain bike (3 x 7) and the range of gears helps on inclines. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the bike's welds, paint, decals -- fit and finish. We receive friendly waves everywhere we go on this bike and have had great fun riding it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful bike for serious exercise and fun
7/14/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
At ages 68 & 70, my wife and I wanted more exercise than we were getting from our morning walk. We haven't done any bike riding in decades. It may not be a serious road bike, but we were up to 20 mile rides on the hills around Fredericksburg, Texas by our 7th ride. Our most common topic of conversation now is "When are we going on our next ride?" The store where we bought it did the assembly, and we have had no problems. We also have a trailer we tow behind the bike for shorter rides with our two dogs. The trailer was intended for kids, but the dogs love it! It's amazing how many friendly waves we get from serious bikers and passing motorists when they see two old people ride by on a bicycle built for two!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Bike for the price, fun to ride.
12/31/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this Bike for my Wife and I, She is blind and this is the only option to ride for her. Overall I'm pleased with the bike, It's a good value for the price (some Tandems go for $2500), seems sturdy enough for local Road and paved trails. It was easily assembled. If you are "Husky" riders inflate the tires to 65 lbs or it will feel "wobbly" and if haven't ridden tandem it will take a little practice, the long wheelbase takes some getting used to, ride it a few times solo to get accustomed to it, all that being said it's fun to ride with a little practice. The only negative thing I can say is, you will probably want to replace the seats, my butt got sore long before my legs got tired. I bought 2 big comfortable Schwinn seats for it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good bike, but check everything!
8/11/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Went together easily. For $279 just could not beat it, only competition were 30+ year old tandems on Craigslist that were rusted to heck. However we had one experience that almost made this a much lower rating. On the first real ride we had (a few miles) on the way back, the pedals just stopped turning and the rear cassette was just impossible to turn. Had to call someone to pick us up. Upon inspection, turns out the rear wheel was not tightened enough on the frame and shifted enough so the smallest gear was hitting the frame and getting caught on it. Had to take the wheel off, retighten the cassette and put the wheel back on. It is otherwise an amazing value for the money and rides smoothly. I am 6'3" and my wife is 5'8". I could probably use a little more extension for my legs but not a big deal at all.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun for 2 riders&only 1 if no passengers available
11/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We love the bike...it is lightweight and a breeze to ride whether there are two riders or if you just want to ride when no one else is available. Great fun....beautiful bike!! Wal-Mart assembled it so it was ready to go that night!! Takes a little practice for new riders to learn to synchronize the pedals as with all tandems and then you are on your way to tour your surroundings on the nearby bike paths.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An economical tandem bike
6/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After looking at local bike shops and seeing tandem bikes in the $1000.00 range, I was a little put off as we are not performance riders. Took a chance on the tandem bike and with the $70.00 shipping charge it still came in under $400.00. So far (about 20 miles) on the bike it has shown good construction. The shifting is great and the bike was relatively easy to assemble with the directions given. I'm not a bike enthusiast, but the brakes were easy to adjust, and everything else went together as expected. The finish seems good. It's a great recreation bike for an older couple (68 years), and my grandchildren love riding behind grandpa. The only criticism is the bike seats are uncomfortable, but that seem to be typical for economy bikes. Hopefully with new seats we will get a lot of usage for the buck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Broke on first ride
3/22/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read the reviews and felt this was a great bike for my wife and I to purchase and ride. The reviews indicated good price and good quality and I could tell the price was fine. It arrived on the predicted delivery date, a Friday afternoon. When I took it out of the box, it was missing the front brake pads. Not a big deal but irritating. I would call the company on Monday. The bike went together pretty easy. Since I wanted to ride the bike on the weekend, I went to a local bike shop to get some brake pads. They were less than $10. On our first ride, we were on a bike trail about 2 miles into the trip when it became extremely difficult to pedal. No matter what gear we were in, there was a point when the sprocket would be extremely hard to pedal. It seemed to me that the rear sprocket bearings seized up. It could not be rode at this point so we had to push it back 2 miles. I decided to return it that afternoon. The positive part of this was that I printed out the return paperwork from website and took it to my local Walmart. They took it without any problems. It was a very easy return. But I would not recommend this item for purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
missing parts
3/19/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
first. It took forever for Fed Ex to send this bike to me. Delays in shipment. When I got it. Bok looked good with factory staples but missing parts. This is a miss from the FActory. No quality assurance. These pieces di not fall out during shipment. missing pieces include instructions, all 4 pedals, water cups, and handle bar for back. The kent web site does not have this bike's manual or no instruction video. At this point I'm still waiting for the missing pieces to come in from factory. From what I see it look like a good construction.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Tandem for the Price
4/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Ordered it for home delivery. Arrived a day before expected. It was mostly assembled so it only took me about an hour to complete the assembly. There was no shipping damage. We've taken several rides on it with no issues. The 21 speeds provide a very wide range of pedaling torque which makes it very easy to take hills and fast on the flat lands. The brakes work fine, seats are comfortable, easy to ride and it's fun!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Tandem for the price
8/4/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice bike & all works as intended. Most folks might need assembly, so be careful. Also, the weight limit needs to be known as it would be easy to miss. The tires are not high quality as they only allow 40psi - which is not much for 2 adults.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price
5/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First off. I race bikes and own a Tarmac SWorks, The Northwoods Tandem is not a high end bike. It doesn't even cost as much as one wheel on a high quality bike. So to get a whole bike at $250.00 or so is quite amazing. I expected to have all sorts of problems but am quite happy with my purchase. I ride it with my daughter and I am easing her into the sport slowly. She loves to go riding with me. If you ride a high end bike now ($5000.00 plus) you will not like the seats (Too fat and heavy), the tires and wheels (too fat and heavy), or the frame (too fat and heavy) but would you rather spend the $5000.00? This bike is great for short rides with new riders who just want to peddle around and have a good time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This Amazing Bike Took Us Over 300 Miles!
6/14/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This bike just took us over 300 miles on the Great Allegheny Passage and C&O Canal route! We ordered it online. We flew to Pittsburgh. The bike was waiting for us fully assembled at the local Walmart. We did some adjustments and added our own racks and panniers. It was handy to pick up a lock and a couple other things while at Walmart. As others noted, the inner tubes both split the first day. After that we had only one other flat and no problems, even with all of our gear! Loved the bike and a big thanks to the West Mifflin, PA Walmart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Incredible value!
4/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
exceeded my expectations.assembled quickly..although front brake a bit triky if u r not schooled a bit in bike mechanics.Great family fun which enables quality time together.no phones no gadgets..jyst the headwind and great endorpgin induced conversation.buy a bell metal basket for the front and get milk eggs etc while you are out.Quality and engineering which i would expect in a more exoensive bike.fill the tires to at least 50 Psi for best ride.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642846, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-