Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

119 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
33
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 stars
28
1-20 of 74 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Great for just an ebook reader.
11/23/2012

Customer review by deedee1954

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by deedee1954
by deedee1954

What do you people expect for $30? This is not an Ipad. It is a great little ebook reader and it will play movies and play music. You have to put all that stuff on from your computer, but that is simple to do. It does not connect to the internet. But is is build well and is tuff. I had one for over a year and dropped it several times. It just kept on working. I finally upgraded to an android tablet so I could check my email whenever I wanted to. But, if you just want a good ebook reader, this is it.

Was this review helpful? (228) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deedee1954
Liberty, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beware of version. 105B is better
12/3/2012

Customer review by InMyOpinionForYourEyes

3.0 stars 12/3/2012 by InMyOpinionForYourEyes
by InMyOpinionForYourEyes

I was never looking for a ebook reader but the price attracted me to give it a try. Here are my 1 week's findings. It has a very big flaw which is as important for a device like this. Since many have already reviewed EB105, i'll give my reviews for EB106. I have explored both recently. Good about or functionality clarifications : 1. EB106 is light weight and have very nice buttons compared to EB105. 2. You can play Music and read ebooks parallely. 3. It plays most basic video types (don't rely on file extension, it is the codec that you need to check). 4. FM works good when audio jacks are plugged which acts as antenna and can do auto search. It saved 24 channels for me. 5. Colors and manual rotate features are wonderful. 6. Volume is acceptable for videos and music you play. But mostly you'd plug in your headphones while reading/watching videos in noisy public areas. 7. It charges through both USB and AC adapter point. 8. The AC plug is universal voltage 110/240 volts. 9. There are 5 brightness levels which is very good. 10. You can choose between 10 different background colors for reading ebooks. 11. Connect to PC and copy any non-copyrighted ebooks you want to. 12. It reads epub, txt, and pdf. Not CHM. Now to the only Cons (the main one which I had to return or choose EB105 over this) You can zoom 5 different levels of an pdf page, but once you are in zoom, you cannot scroll down to see the rest of the page. You can only scroll across. This defeats the purpose of the ebook reader. PDF files are not reflown (text won't auto wrap according to zoom) so it is necessary for you to set zoom of an page at reading level and then scroll down as you read. No this doesn't allow you to do that. I would have bought even 5+ quantity of it had this functionality worked. It is an awesome little media player which can read epub files. Look for EB105 that doesn't do all that of EB106, but does its basic job of reading ebooks better. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? (85) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InMyOpinionForYourEyes
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/20/2012

Customer review by tinywings

1.0 stars 11/20/2012 by tinywings
by tinywings

It's not easy to use nor is it intuitive especially given all the other much better designed products on the market. The screen at the highest brightness for a preloaded eBook was very poor. When I loaded a pdf article, the brightness was very high, too high almost. At first I thought the zoom feature was nice, but it only allowed me to scroll across and not down. There is a radio which I thought was cool, but you can only manually move stations one by one. There is a number pad which you would think would allow you to key in the station, but no. In short, great opening price but nothing to show for it.

Was this review helpful? (101) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinywings
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Invest more to get more
11/22/2012

Customer review by WMdotcommer

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by WMdotcommer
by WMdotcommer

The price is great, but for what I was expecting, I was let down. The instructions were not very helpful when setting this product up and trying to do it on my own proved frustrating. There is no wi-fi and books have to be downloaded via your computer, which for me, defeats the purpose of a portable eBook Reader. It is cool that you can play videos and music though and the screen quality was color and decent. I would invest more to get more.

Was this review helpful? (78) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMdotcommer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Staff sparks
Top 1000 contributor
great ebook
11/27/2012

Customer review by pochi125

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by pochi125
by pochi125

i have this ebook for 2 years and i'm very happy with it. this ebook is just for reading and it's true you have to load books from the computer but the ematic ereader is very strong and i'm still using it. to me is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pochi125
Clewiston, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't depend on this e reader
11/28/2012

Customer review by Noiseynana

1.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Noiseynana
by Noiseynana

I expected this to be wonderful. I finally got it charged but had to use the wall plug. The usb connection would not work at all. I thought ok thats fine. Then the charge would only last about 2 hours and that was with NO one using it. It was turned off. Then there was no way to download books or anything else. I was totally disapointed so I took it back . Also the main reason I wanted it was because I live in the country and don't have access to the internet. So if you buy or have already bought this I suggest you try it out as it may have only been the one I got. It was an online order but I took it back to the local Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Noiseynana
Mansfield, Ar
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little ebook
12/2/2012

Customer review by Country152

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Country152
by Country152

for the money this is the best little ebook reader around, just as good as the kindle but way less than 1/2 the price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Country152
Chouteau,Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/4/2012

Customer review by ursosmart

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by ursosmart
by ursosmart

Bought this for a gift for my mother. She is loving it. Having never used a reader before, she really can't compare it with others. Holds lots of books, easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ursosmart
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Meets, exceeds, and fails expectations
12/7/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am a student and purchased this to read PDF textbooks. Here are my thoughts... The user’s manual is itty-bitty and doesn't include Quickstart guide for valuable information regarding microSD card size allowed, battery life, etc. The eReader's screen protector was stuck to the screen. And as I peeled it off, I noticed it had smeared ink on it. But there seemed to be no damage to the screen. When attempting to power the eReader on, the battery was completely drained. So I plugged it in using the wall plug to charge it. (It can be charged with the provided mini USB adapter also.# A blue light turned on indicating that it was charging. However there doesn't seem to be a way for me to tell when it's fully charged. The on-screen battery meter stopped moving after a little more than three hours. The menu options are logical and you can use both arrow and number keys to make your selections. The first thing I did was set the time. The buttons are easy to push. But when setting the time the number keys are not allowed; you must use the arrow keys. I plugged it into my PC, with Windows 7 installed, while the eReader was on. The "Generic volume" was not properly installed. I had not inserted a microSD card into the eReader. From my PC's "My Computer" window, I was unable to explore the files and folders on the device, called "USB-MSC". And I was unable to eject or safely remove the device. When I unplugged it and plug it back in, the eReader’s “USB” display appeared and my computer recognized the external storage. The device comes preloaded with one e-book, one video, one song, and two pictures. And all that is stored in the device’s main memory in the index folder. The eReader didn't come with any software. So I loaded several PDF document and textbooks to the device using the drag-and-drop method. These files ranged from 106K #1-page# to 149 MB #1406-pages#. A one-page periodic table file took four seconds to load. The orientation of the periodic table was landscape on a portrait screen. One touch of the refresh button changed the orientation to landscape. Upon attempting to load the largest textbook, the eReader gave me a blank screen with a loading bar at the bottom for over a minute before it warned me that the file was too large and couldn't be opened. An 80 page e-book only took three seconds to load. The reader optimizes space by stretching the document to fit the screen. Zooming options seem to go to 1/2, 1/3, 1/4, then 2/3 of the screen. But just as the other reviewer said, you cannot scroll down while zoomed in, which is unfortunate since most of my books have a dual-column layout. The display is clear and much better quality than I expected for such an affordable device. It will serve as an adequate replacement for my broken Literati by Sharper Image. It also provides a convenient way for me to watch Kahn Academy, Coursera, and other open courseware lectures, which are small, 8MB video files. Overall, it meets most of my expectations, exceeds others, and fails expectations I didn't know I had #cover, PDF scrolling, using number buttons to enter the time, etc.# because their absence was unimaginable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most Ebooks Can't Be Read On This - Important Info
12/11/2012

Customer review by POB17

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by POB17
by POB17

This could be a really great ebook reader. The price is amazing, the features, while basic, are perfect for an e-reader used strictly for reading, watching movies, and listening to music. There's only one problem: you can't read on this thing. If you skip the rest of this review, at least remember that last sentence. For those of you who are new to e-readers or don't know the technical details, ebooks come in two forms: DRM-protected and non-DRM-protected. DRM is basically a copyright protection for a digital book. Any mainstream book has copyright protection. And this e-reader can't open protected books. Any bestseller - Stephen King, Twilight, Harry Potter, James Patterson, Nicholas Sparks - CANNOT be read with this device. The only books that can be read are unprotected, which basically means one of two things: it comes from an unknown author and a small publisher, or it is an illegal copy of a popular book. To give you an idea, I tried to find non-DRM (unprotected) copies of books from my bookshelf on legitimate websites. I own over a hundred books. I found 1 of them that can be read on this e-reader. Only 1 out of over 100 books. I could not even find a downloadable version of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol, and that book's copyright has expired! The features on this are actually great. The one book I can read shows up very well, the backlight allows me to read in darkness, and the overall setup is simple to learn. I transferred a picture over and the picture viewer seems to have good quality to it. I moved copyrighted music files onto it and they played without a problem. The volume was more than enough with headphones on and it lets you listen to music while you read. I didn't try a copyright-protected movie because I don't have any in the proper format, so I can't offer any advice there. One more warning: there is virtually no customer support for this product from the manufacturer. Poor user manual, no phone number, and the e-mail help wanted me to provide far too much personal information for a one paragraph response. I didn't try Wal-mart because I felt it was not a question that they would be able to answer. Bottom line: you should really avoid this product. The previous model of this e-reader allowed you to read protected books, but for some reason, they removed that feature from this model. And unfortunately, they discontinued the previous model. If you are still undecided, go to a top DRM-free ebook publisher like Baen, Smashwords, Tor Books, or O'Reilly Media and check for your favorite books in their selection. If one of them does not have it, I seriously doubt you'll find it legally anywhere. My guess is Ematic gets a big backlash from this product and their next model will restore the protected book feature. Just wait for that one! Hope this helped!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
POB17
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value
12/9/2012

Customer review by brikeney

4.0 stars 12/9/2012 by brikeney
by brikeney

Okay... So I have to be honest.. I had hoped it was a bit more user friendly... I can't complain though.. I bought this for my 11 year old as her first ereader and it is way better than I could have hoped for.. She had the hang of it in less than 2 hours and even managed to set the date on her own.. This is a wonderful start for someone who wants to listen to music and read at the same time.. Not overly thrilled with the video aspect, but that was just a bonus feature that we were not after in the first place... It is affordable and easy. The file transfers are easy as well... If you are looking for a simple ereader this is definitely the way to go.. Affordable even for younger recipients...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brikeney
Sparta, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ematic EB106
12/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this for my teenage daughter - she loves it, she loads her books 2 or 3 at a time although the instructions were a bit hard for me to set it up sadly enough my 10 yr old was able to do it with no complications, its great for long car rides, she has had no problems with it what so ever. I just purchased 2 more with the value they make great gifts.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for not so tech savvy people
12/17/2012

Customer review by blindian

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by blindian
by blindian

I recently purchased this for my mother. She is 73 years old. If she can understand it then that says a lot. You drag your ebooks, music, and movies onto the folder and it does the rest. I put 2 movies, 200 songs of the 50's & 60's, and 600 best selling books. That is all without adding additional memory and there is still 500mb left. Very good for is low price. One bad thing the AC adapter no longer works. I do not know if it is the cord. My mother now charges it through USB. Still works so no problem. Totally reccommend this thing to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blindian
Bismarck, ND
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this supposed ebook reader is anything but!
12/9/2012

Customer review by shootr51

1.0 stars 12/9/2012 by shootr51
by shootr51

i purchased this ebook reader with the expectation that i would be able to read ebooks from it. i found the only book that works on it is the short Alice in Wonderland book that is included and on the reader. it is in epub format. i downloaded and transfered other epub books, and used authorization for the device from Adobe Digital Editions. and behold none of the books can be opened. all you get is an error saying filed cannot be opened. This is a total piece of junk, and customer support is non-existent They say they are a Better Business Bureau accredited company? i think NOT. This is the worst company i have ever seen for customer service, and their products are garbage. i will be making a complaint with the BBB for both the lack of customer service, and to question how they could accredit such a company.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shootr51
Lansford, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I love it
12/20/2012

Customer review by Janelco

4.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Janelco
by Janelco

Easy to use. The only thing you need to do i s to convert your files for an easier reading on the eBook.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Janelco
Fernley, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great value for a starter unit...
12/17/2012

Customer review by JReboy

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by JReboy
by JReboy

I bought a first-gen tablet from Coby that served as an eReader, but it was way too heavy. So when I saw the eMatic EB106 for such a low price I figured I would try it out. I had grown cold to tablets, having recently tried an Android 4.0 unit and found it unimpressive, and realized that I really only wanted such a device for two things... ereading and video. Fortunately, this baby does both pretty nicely. Since it doesn't use wifi connectivity it's very fast, and extremely lightweight. The button menu at the bottom (in portrait position...) is fairly easy to adapt to, and more than compensates for not having a touch screen. To be honest, it's actually refreshing to NOT have a touch screen. The eReader is straightforward and works, although occasionally, the text might jumble together a couple of times on a page, but the screen is easily readable, brightness-adjustable, and comfortable to use. The video player feature alone justifies the cost of this puppy. It's a solid 7" relatively fluid video player that is VERY lightweight, comfortable to use, and with a player formatted to be easy and useful, but not too busy. The onboard speaker's a bit of a disappointment, with some of the videos I've tested coming in poor compared to playing on the tablet, but that'seasily corrected with either a pair of headphones or an external speaker that is easily achievable at Walmart in the $10.00 to $15.00 range... the little tiny one that uses the Lithium Ion battery... that more than makes up for any sound issues this guy has. Comfortable, lightweight, easy eReader and pretty decent video player.... a solid investment for either travel or starting kids out without going the full-out tablet route.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JReboy
Tonawanda, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ereader let down
12/28/2012

Customer review by linenward

1.0 stars 12/28/2012 by linenward
by linenward

I bought it for my husband for Christmas. He is a technical person that does AV for a living and can't get it properly loaded, isn't able to make it work. When he went to the company website to get assisance none was available. I am returning it. It has great color and the price was great, but I am very disappointed in the performance.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linenward
new york
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It was a gift
1/2/2013

Customer review by cofy

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by cofy
by cofy

I'm sure the little boy who received this gift is extremely happy

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cofy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/14/2012

Customer review by MoDix

3.0 stars 12/14/2012 by MoDix
by MoDix

I purchased 2 of these e-readers as Christmas gifts for children - I have no opinion at the moment

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoDix
Windsor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FANTASTIC
12/21/2012

Customer review by BOOKKWORMM

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by BOOKKWORMM
by BOOKKWORMM

I got this for my friend who loves to read. If I new this, the time I bought mine ,I would have gotten this instead. It is truely light, easy, and great. All this for $24.00. WOW Want something for reading and movies this is for you. BOOKWORM

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BOOKKWORMM
MISSOURI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews