Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 607 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

607 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

607 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

40%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
94
4 stars
100
3 stars
53
2 stars
53
1 stars
307
1-20 of 481 total reviews
40%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 481 total reviews
1-20 of 481 reviews
10/31/2012

Customer review by PalmSpringsGV

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by PalmSpringsGV
by PalmSpringsGV

Okay, this item arrived today and I must say I am quite pleased with it! Previous reviews mentioned the touchpad, specifically, so I want to tell you that I have had no problems whatsoever. I did not even have to calibrate it at all, which if need be, CAN be done. It was totally accurate on such sites as my on-line banking, YouTube, and FaceBook--even selecting the smallest of gui's. Possibly, other users did not take off the protective sheet. If you read the product's description fully and understand that it's purpose is for casual web browsing and the like, I think you will be as excited about this as I am. Clearly, its a great deal for the money and while I am sure that the $200 tablets will be more cutting edge in a variety of ways, this one looks, feels, and performs great. I attached to my home WiFi in less than 30 seconds and the same goes for my e-mail accounts. Folks, this is a value-priced, entry level, but slick little gadget.

Was this review helpful? (349) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PalmSpringsGV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent tablet at a great price.
11/1/2012

Customer review by momof2bargainshopper

4.0 stars 11/1/2012 by momof2bargainshopper
by momof2bargainshopper

After reading reviews I was hesitant on buying but due to my previous dealings with Walmart's replacement plan I opted to buy this, knowing either way I would either return it, or if it did indeed screw up, I would be compensated. The tablet unfortunately was already turned on right out of the package when I plugged it in, so unfortunately I'm assuming I will be having battery problems early on since it didn't get a full 6 hour charge. Other than that, for the price, the tablet is great; however, my purpose was to please my 8-year-old since her mp3 had previously broken, this was only $20 more. I've only had it a couple days and I've been on it more than her. For music and photo purposes its great, everything transferred very easily. Angry birds plays very well as well as the other few games loaded. I'm a little disappointed on the app store but I'm sure if I search around on it more I'll find some apps that appeal to me.

Was this review helpful? (173) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof2bargainshopper
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Previous reviewers may have been uninformed
11/8/2012

Customer review by PhilThePhoenix

4.0 stars 11/8/2012 by PhilThePhoenix
by PhilThePhoenix

The reviews that complain about the touch screen, seem to be unaware that this item has a RESISTIVE touch screen rather than a CAPACATIVE touch screen. The fact that the price is so low SHOULD clue people in, that something is different. With that said, the device performs EXACTLY as I would expect a resistive touch screen to perform. There is a decent camera, there is NO HDMI output. Internal memory is limited to 2GB (expandable by up to 32GB with Micro SD card). Netflix will NOT work on this device. It is NOT rooted, so the GooglePlay store will NOT work. The AmazonAndroid store WILL however install. The Ematic store does indeed show that there are ZERO items available. All in all, it is what one would expect for this low price. If you want more, then expect to pay more.

Was this review helpful? (111) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PhilThePhoenix
Midland, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tablet seriously lacking basic needs.
11/8/2012

Customer review by techjunkie82

1.0 stars 11/8/2012 by techjunkie82
by techjunkie82

Got mine in yesterday. Charged the battery up and did some exploring. Took a picture or two and they were VERY blurry. Connecting to Wi-fi was easy. Used three different types of stylus pens and all of them scratched the screen. Getting on the www was somewhat difficult. There is NOTHING in my app store. It says no apps today come back tomorrow..........is that something they thought would be funny to do to people who buy this product? I'm sure someone out there is tickled at that but I am not that person. Completely frustrating tablet and the company cannot legally claim their tablet has these options included when it doesn't. It does have the games apps included however. The capacitive touch screen is somewhat un-sensitive but usable. Either you'll get lucky and the one you receive works or you'll be like most of us and it doesn't. As for me, I'm returning it because I refuse to pay 64 dollars for my kids to play a game of Angry Birds.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
techjunkie82
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
~Not What I thought~
11/19/2012

Customer review by ItsJustMe73

2.0 stars 11/19/2012 by ItsJustMe73
by ItsJustMe73
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I first saw it I was so excited. When I got home and charged it up, I was disappointed because I realized that it does not "move" or "respond" as fast as most touch tablets. I have has a Nook Color before and LOVED IT! This "Ematic Genesis Series with WiFi 7" Touchscreen Tablet PC Featuring Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) Operating System" is far from a Nook. I just hate that it moves slower and has a slower response time. What I mean by response time is; when I try to click on something, I have to hold my finger there at the clickable link for a couple of seconds before it will "click" and respond. It is very irritating. I wish I had saved my money and bought another Nook but I needed something now; so that I could download my college textbooks. One last thing. It has its own app shop and there are not very many apps to chose from. NOTHING at all like Google Play. As a matter of fact, the apps are not the same apps you will find on Google Play either. When I went to the Google Play site to try to download apps, it would not let me. :(

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsJustMe73
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not so great of a tablet
11/14/2012

Customer review by BEC2002

2.0 stars 11/14/2012 by BEC2002
by BEC2002

I received this tablet and couldnt wait to try it out. Well, it wasnt charged but that was okay. I gave it a few minutes and then it powered on. What I was displeased about was that the response to the touch screen is delayed. I had to push the screen a few times to get it to respond. The picture resolution isnt very clear. I understand that this tablet does not compete against Ipad or Kindle but offers just a basic service for beginners or for people not quite ready to invest much in a better brand. I would save additional money and go for a tablet that will offer better resolutions and speed when touched. It is a very slow moving tablet but if you have a lot of time on your hands, then this tablet is for you. I purchased for my neice and based upon how I described it, she would not be happy and for $59 you should be disappointed too. Money isnt easy to come by nor easy to give up. I hope you enjoy if you decide to purchase or keep it but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BEC2002
Saint Louis, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Very good tablet for the price!
11/11/2012

Customer review by CrazyForPugs

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by CrazyForPugs
by CrazyForPugs

I purchased 4 of these for each of the grandkids (ages 3-12) and they are perfect for them for the price. I am unsure why the negative comments about the touch screen being non-responsive....because all 4 of the ones we got work perfectly! There is plastic on the tablet screen when it first comes out of the box, so perhaps they are not removing it?! Great purchase! Ignore the negative comments! Well worth the money!!

Was this review helpful? (72) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyForPugs
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this tablet!! Amazing buy
11/11/2012

Customer review by Jojotx

5.0 stars 11/11/2012 by Jojotx
by Jojotx

I really love this tablet!! after enjoying this product for personal use, I decided to share it with my patients in my dental practice to keep them occupied while in the dental chair or even while waiting in the lobby. What i didnt realize was that patients would keep asking me where i got it from and how much i paid for it-- it was a hit! Everyone loved watching movies and browsing the internet. It features great quality and great battery life which makes life easy! And you just cant beat the price... Its a great buy for all.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jojotx
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stick with your smartphone
11/19/2012

Customer review by lisatravels

2.0 stars 11/19/2012 by lisatravels
by lisatravels
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

Yes, you get what you pay for. And at this price, this tablet provides a really clear, crisp picture and works well with wi-fi. The first time I turned it on though, I saw a little lock icon and wasn't sure what to do (since it didn't have an arrow to indicate I needed to swipe it like my phone does) so I just tapped it. Nothing. After a few seconds it powered off. I did this a few more times with no change. The short instruction manual said nothing about how to unlock it so then I turned to a coworker for advice. He pushed really hard and got the "unlock" screen for me. From there we both tried to start apps and play a couple of games, and we both found that we had to press pretty hard on the screen. If you want to use this as an e-reader, with minimal interaction, then it could be fine. If you want to surf the Internet, play games or do much typing, you'll get annoyed pretty fast. I do like having a bigger screen to work with than my phone provides, but I'm returning this and sticking with my laptop.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lisatravels
Dublin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
A functional tablet and a good value
11/8/2012

Customer review by EmaticUser

4.0 stars 11/8/2012 by EmaticUser
by EmaticUser

At $59.95 which is what I bought this tablet for, it's a great buy. Just wanted to take the time to agree with the other viewer about the screen sensitivity. If you can accept that if you want to select an icon you have to tap it with your fingernail, and if you want to fly through the pages then you have to do it with the pad of your finger, you will be very happy with this device. It also helps when you want to scroll the page to give the screen time to feel your finger pad before you fling. It took me awhile to get this and I wanted to make sure that nobody else got as frustrated as I did. As far as the Soc.io Mall app store, you have to sign up for it and then you will get a confirming Email before you can use the store. I haven't tried any other stores yet. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EmaticUser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for a beginner
11/27/2012

Customer review by Karma2012

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by Karma2012
by Karma2012
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought these for three Grandchildren for Christmas, ages 5 - 7 - 9. I think they will love them. I have been downloading games on them, but could not use the app store on the tablet. It wouldn't show any apps. Went to blogs and was able to download many free games on the amazon app store. For the price you can't beat it. Of course, it's not like the bigger tablets (I have a 3rd generation 64gb ipad), but it works great for what we wanted for the Grandkids. If your older and looking for a tablet to do many things, this may not be for you. You can browse the internet and the tablet is a nice size. The screen is resistive vs. capacitive. ( Resistive responds to pressure on its surface; it can be used with fingertip or stylus pressure. Capacitive is more responsive than resistive touch screen). My ipad is capacitive...which is nice. The resistive screen on the Ematic Genesis worked just fine. It didn't take me long to get use to it. Now I'm contemplating cutting a protective screen to put on the tablet. The kids will probably use a stylus and I wouldn't want the screen to get scratched. Also, I would like to find a silicone gel case for them. The only problem is these two accessories could cost more than the tablet itself!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karma2012
Northern Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
How I got my to work better
11/28/2012

Customer review by smackmesilly

3.0 stars 11/28/2012 by smackmesilly
by smackmesilly

I bought two of these for Christmas presents. Since they will be going to six year old children,I didn't want to spend a lot of money on them.When I first opened them I was surprised how nice they looked. But I have had the same problems as everyone else!! I contacted the Ematic company which was a huge mistake! They are not helpful at all. was going to send them back, but I would have to pay for the shipping. I also was going to take them back to Walmart, but I'm afraid I won't get a replacement in time for Christmas. Here are a few things I have learned about this tablet that has been helpful. 1. I performed a reset on them which has helped 2. you can not use the touch screen while it is charging. 3. I downloaded another app store, and with a little configuring installed the apps I wanted. It seems to be working fine now, but I have been in contact with Ematic 3 times overall. The next step will be holding someone responsible if these tablets fail again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smackmesilly
Il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good For pre-teen son!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Kymama78

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Kymama78
by Kymama78

As my 3 year old had already smashed my expensive kindle fire.. I wanted a decent tablet that would not be too expensive, that both my children could use and play angry birds and have books that my three year old could play and read, and let my 12 year old watch Youtube videos and listen to music on. This tablet certainly does that and for my destructive children 60 dollars is an excellent price for a tablet that does all that. Yes it can be frustrating working the touch screen, but with a little patience you can get the hang of it and for the most part, I had no problem playing angry birds, watching a video, or listening to music which is what I wanted in a tablet for my son, so he would leave my kindle and his grandmas kindle alone lol. My son loves it.. good present for kids to watch videos on and not too expensive to give them the experience of a first tablet. Just make sure to give it the proper 6 hour charging the first time because it still does have battery issues.. but don't most electronics?? It meets my expectations for games and amazon apps and videos and music, which is all my son needs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kymama78
Hopkinsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ematic Genesis Tablet PC
11/15/2012

Customer review by RSPone

3.0 stars 11/15/2012 by RSPone
by RSPone
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 3 of these, 2 were in excellent shape, from the battery to the viewing pleasure. The 3rd one's battery needed charging every 2- 3 hours of use. I am returning this for another. Does not have Netflix or the google play app to download and install Netflix app. Has problems loading PDF files that are somewhat large and it gets locked up or freezes. It says it has 4 gig internal storage. After removing all but the most important apps, office and a few games, there is a little over 1 gig, 1.14 gig to be exact. I know that the OS and Office and the 2 games are not 3 gig in size. I think I just got a bad one. Probably a poor quality control issue. One more issue, It displays the wrong time on avi files. For a 1:56:04 time, it displays over 4hrs on the screen, this one I will return. THE OTHER 2 ARE EXCELLENT.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RSPone
Hinesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great starter tablet
10/27/2012

Customer review by alohamomma

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by alohamomma
by alohamomma
Top 1000 contributor

Considering this cost only 10 dollars more than my mp3 (which was also ematic) I am estactic. I wish the battery lasted longer with downloading and updating. but otherwise I have no complaints. I broke the volume button on my mp3 and also wanted a PDA that I could carry in my purse. This fit the bill with wifi access to boot. DO you know they still sell the palm pilot and it is over $200 still. outrageous! Is this worth it? yes. But if you can wait (which I didn't want to) I imagine black friday will have great sales.

Was this review helpful? (97) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alohamomma
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great For Kids
11/5/2012

Customer review by Junekitz

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Junekitz
by Junekitz

I bought two of these products for a starter for my kids age 10 and 8 and at the price of $60 its good for them. It connected to my Wifi within seconds, it have preloaded games good for kids, The app store wasn't any good, but figured I play around with it to find out more. We have no problems with the screen and pressing hard. It feels sturdy and lightweight, perfect for a kid, for the price I paid I am very happy with the product, they can easliy surf the web, play music, take pictures and send them to friends.

Was this review helpful? (57) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junekitz
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
From how I see it...
11/5/2012

Customer review by Bubbatechjunkie

4.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Bubbatechjunkie
by Bubbatechjunkie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tablet serves every purpose and need for me that an Ipad ever could. But at a fraction of the price. This is beyond a good find, this is a hidden gem.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubbatechjunkie
Springdale, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of junk.
11/6/2012

Customer review by cannbeau

1.0 stars 11/6/2012 by cannbeau
by cannbeau

I recieved this tablet via mail today. It was supposed to be a Christmas present for my 10 year old granddaughter. I charged it, and then I tried it out. The touch screen is almost unresponsive, it is difficult to find things, and the start up manual that comes with it is just about useless. There is a manual in PDF in the Manager Apps, but that too is almost useless. For example, there was nothing explaining how to delete photos from the gallery. This tablet, with it's almost unresponsive touch screen, was so frustrating to me, I can only imagine how frustrating it would be to a 10 year old. It's being returned immediately!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cannbeau
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not worth it.
11/18/2012

Customer review by BaconWrappedInBacon

1.0 stars 11/18/2012 by BaconWrappedInBacon
by BaconWrappedInBacon

The price point on this is great, especially if you're purchasing this for a child/teenager. We bought two for out kids and here's what we found: 1. The resistive touchpad is horrible. Not bad, horrible. This was the case even after calibrating the screen and increasing the speed of the mouse. Whether your surfing or playing on online game it is the most frustrating thing about this item. 2. It seems to need more memory. At times it seems confused and locks up. Again, this was the experience with two of these items. 3. The camera is grainy, poor quality. Not what you would expect when the typical cell phone these days takes a decent picture. At the price point we didn't expect an Ipad, but this device needs a better interface. Calling the touchscreen cumbersome would be a compliment. We've returned these items (with no problem at the local Walmart store) and are trying a slightly more expensive tablet with a capacitive touchscreen, better processer, and more memory - for about another $20/each. Will post a review on it next week when it arrives.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaconWrappedInBacon
Corinth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
11/21/2012

Customer review by gordysee150

1.0 stars 11/21/2012 by gordysee150
by gordysee150
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had bought 2 for my kids and after opening and trying.to use them too many issues for time so I returned them a week later. First thing is the touch screen is horrible I had to keep pressing the screen like 3 times to get the app I wanted to open then I tried going into the app store it has and it kept saying not working at the time or never could get what the kids wanted. And when it did download something it took forever so we boxed them and returned them I will never get anything by this company Ematic horrible device..

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gordysee150
Allentown, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 481 total reviews
1-20 of 481 reviews