Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 149 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
Very powerful computer for years to come...
11/27/2012

Customer review by manny114

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by manny114
by manny114

I'm not a big fan of HP after my 2 year old desktop tower died due to a defective SATA controller chip, but I purchased this one after reading many different forums and great reviews. My only complaint was the Norton garbage it came with, do yourself a favor and get rid of Norton and use a free antivirus like AVAST or AVG. Coming from Windows 7, Windows 8 takes a bit of getting used to, but it's been very stable so far. I'm just hoping there won't be any defects with the motherboard like my last HP!

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
manny114
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Fast & Quiet. A Great Value.
3/5/2013

Customer review by lizardtoejoe

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by lizardtoejoe
by lizardtoejoe

As an IT Tech, I selected this computer for three main reasons. 1. It has an Intel processor. 2. It is built by HP. 3. Price. After having this one for a week, I went and bought another one! This is a great value for the money! The Intel i5 processor is plenty fast and the motherboard supports a processor upgrade if necessary in the future. The 8GB of RAM is probably enough, however I added 4GB more right away because up to 4GB can be allotted to video. Beats Audio is awesome. My wireless works perfectly and my printer drivers loaded automatically. The 1TB hard disk drive is all I'll ever need and this machine runs amazingly quiet. I even like the included keyboard. I'm picky, so here are the things I'm not as excited about. There are only 4 rear USB ports and they are all USB 2.0. I had to add a hub to accommodate all my devices. I would have also prefer a USB 3.0 port in the rear for my external hard drive. There are two USB 3.0 ports in the front. The motherboard only has two total DIMM slots, one of which comes occupied. I intended to add two additional 4GB sticks of RAM, but there is only one available DIMM for expansion. More DIMM slots would be nice. My biggest complaint is that at the time of my purchase, the specifications (on the Wal-Mart website under Additional Features) specify "...1 x VGA-out, 1 x DVI-out". This information is INCORRECT. If you check the specifications for the video i/o ports for the H-Joshua-H61-uATX motherboard on the Hewlett Packard website you'll notice the video i/o ports for this computer are actually: 1 x DVI-I out, 1 x DVI-D out. That is what this computer has. Not 1 x VGA and 1 x DVI. This was a problem for me since I want to run dual SVGA monitors. My last complaint is that the machine was assembled with torx security screws which makes service & upgrades awkward.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lizardtoejoe
Modesto, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
HP Home Run
12/12/2012

Customer review by Jett2

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Jett2
by Jett2

The HP Pavilion P7 1423W Desktop PC is great. It is fast and does everything I need from a computer. My only (minor) complaint with the hardware is that it only has four USB ports. (The ad says it has two 3.0 ports, but it has four total ports.) The Windows 8 operating system is another story. The learning curve is...um... escarpment-like. Right now, with only two weeks of use under my belt, I really wish that I had purchased a machine with Windows 7. If you don't mind the challenge of learning the nuances of Windows 8, this is a terrific value on a great computer. I also love the convenience of online ordering and in-store pickup. I ordered in the AM and picked it up the same afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jett2
Tallahassee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pc
12/26/2012

Customer review by Hippie798

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Hippie798
by Hippie798

First one I picked up would not connect to Wi fi . Second one was a challenge to get it connected but at least it connected . Windows 8 is a bit different to get used to but overall it really is pretty nice to see something different . Pc is lightning fast on start up no waiting 5 mins for it to boot up an finally get to use .Came with a corded mouse an keyboard Not realy happy with that but I did have a wireless setup I used . overall I would say this is one of HP's better Computers .

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hippie798
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice computer, Great price, Meets expectations
1/19/2013

Customer review by tigerlilies40

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by tigerlilies40
by tigerlilies40

Our computer crashed and we needed to get a new computer. Our old HP was 10 years old. This new one is Windows 8 and Intel core i5. This is a real nice computer. In order to get to know your computer you need to sit down and go through the demo to really get to know your computer. This help. Easy set up. My husband did that. Came with all the cords and BEFORE YOU PURCHASE THIS COMPUTER DOES NOT COME WITH A MONITOR. You have to order that separately. Yes I would recommend this to friends.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigerlilies40
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not disappointed
2/17/2013

Customer review by MsLady17

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by MsLady17
by MsLady17

This is my third HP Pavillion, and I've always been able to replace them and give the old one away. I've never experienced a problem, and this computer is just as competent and powerful as my previous purchases. The i5 processor outperforms my brother's i3 Pavilion at a surprising rate. He also has 8gb RAM and a 1TB hard drive. This processor makes the difference. The only negative to me is my uncertainty about upgrading the RAM--I haven't yet opened the case and I haven't seen it listed in the specs. And Windows 8 does require adjustment. I'm not yet a fan. Overall I love the computer and will keep it for as many years as it remains functional and fast.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsLady17
Baltimore, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I bought this with the intent of making upgrades.
1/7/2013

Customer review by tdonard

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by tdonard
by tdonard

I looked into various ways to fill my requirements. This was the best base model that fit my needs. I performed major upgrades and now it just rocks. T

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdonard
Long Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice setup
6/14/2013

Customer review by FatherTime1

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by FatherTime1
by FatherTime1

Formatted and installed Windows 7 before even booting into the preinstalled Windows 8, Drivers were not a problem for a resourceful person, you need to do some searching but it can be done. It does not void any warranties and make this system purr. Windows 8 is just a mistake period.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FatherTime1
02813
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
12/17/2012

Customer review by pupusas

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by pupusas
by pupusas

Easy to use, easy to set up. This computer is just what we wanted to replace our old aged Dell. Great value for the money. We needed something that had decent performance and would not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pupusas
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOUSY
1/13/2013

Customer review by hobbygirl98

1.0 stars 1/13/2013 by hobbygirl98
by hobbygirl98

WILL HAve to return this pc. keeps lookping , freezes up can't back out of programs. AND WINDOWS 8 IS STUPID. wHO EVER DESIGNED WIN8 SHOULD BE FIRED.

Was this review helpful? (9) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobbygirl98
WA state
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for a great price.
2/10/2013

Customer review by Monica177645

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Monica177645
by Monica177645

I'm not a computer genius or anything but I have nothing bad to say. I did a lot of shopping around and settled on this one because the price and reviews were the best. I was not disappointed. Also, I kept seeing bad reviews for Windows 8 and was a little nervous about it. However, it turns out that I love windows 8. It is a lot different than the previous versions of windows, but if you know how to use a smart phone you will be able to adapt pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monica177645
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of power for a low price.
2/17/2013

Customer review by TruckerTom23

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by TruckerTom23
by TruckerTom23

Excellent computer for running power hungry apps or games. The integrated graphics are simply amazing on games. Only issue I've had is that the combination of the integrated graphics and windows 8 causes Forsaken World to crash on occasion. But the fault there is mostly on the game since the graphics are very poorly scripted, and the game itself is outdated. Other than that, it will run WoW or LoL on max graphics at around 20-30 fps max. I'm very satisfied with the performance and capability. On par with systems costing 30% more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TruckerTom23
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/24/2013

Customer review by Hotrod1947

2.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Hotrod1947
by Hotrod1947

I did not realize that none of my software will run on Windows 8. It was going to cost more than the computer to upgrade the software so I returned it. The price was OK but it didn't have nearly all of the features I like on the newer computers. For $100 more you can get a Dell that is awesome.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hotrod1947
Goodyear, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding so far!
3/11/2013

Customer review by CMPG1

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by CMPG1
by CMPG1

I just started using my HP desktop but so far I am impressed. The processing is quick and the functions work as expected or better than my previous HP. HP will included an adapter for your monitor if you would like to transfer this over. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to use the computer without any internet service provider wires. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to connect with other computers in your home. I am still learning how to use Windows 8 but eventually it will save time. Overall, I would highly recommend this computer. One tip: remember to purchase and plug in your surge protector.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMPG1
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/6/2013

Customer review by BossLadyTeeatMS

5.0 stars 4/6/2013 by BossLadyTeeatMS
by BossLadyTeeatMS

I am very happy with this desktop. It was very easy to set up. The computer is lightning fast and it exceeds my expectations. I highly recommend this computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BossLadyTeeatMS
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy..
4/17/2013

Customer review by MRY1

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by MRY1
by MRY1

Love it!!! Fun to use and fast.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRY1
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/19/2013

Customer review by scroogte

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by scroogte
by scroogte

super upgrade at a good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scroogte
mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer!
3/10/2013

Customer review by Moshelly73

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Moshelly73
by Moshelly73

I love this computer. Its my second HP computer. Gave the other to kids. I order it off walmart.com save me 40 bucks. Had it sent to store for pick. Didn't take long at all. Its very quiet computer. Getting use to windows 8. Little different then what I'm use to. But I will adjust soon. The only thing I didn't like was I had to purchase some speakers. It didn't come with them. Got them at walmart too. Not that expensive. Logitech speakers. I bought a monitor Acer 19" separate. Its is great too. Everything is perfect. I love HP computers. Hooked my webcam up. Everything is working great. Speed is wonderful, the picture is clear. It has a lot of great apps to download. Its is awesome computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moshelly73
Terre Haute, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer!
4/21/2013

Customer review by MountainWoman22

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by MountainWoman22
by MountainWoman22

It was time for me to get a new computer since my old one was about 10 years old. This computer does everything that I want it to and I haven't had any problems with it at all. Love it! Still learning how to get around on Windows 8 but I can do pretty much what I want to. This computer is very fast and has lots of memory. Treat yourself, I did.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainWoman22
Blue Ridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
hp p7-1423
6/9/2013

Customer review by myladyfly

4.0 stars 6/9/2013 by myladyfly
by myladyfly

This is a really good pc. Good deal for the money. Easy setup and ok instructions to switch to windows 8. Few learning issues with windows but ok. Major problem I had was a couple of old programs needed to upgrade and I had to purchase software I wasn't ready to upgrade. All in all though glad I did buy the new pc.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
myladyfly
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews