Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

156 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 stars
8
1-20 of 149 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews
HP Home Run
12/12/2012

Customer review by Jett2

5.0 stars 12/12/2012 by Jett2
by Jett2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The HP Pavilion P7 1423W Desktop PC is great. It is fast and does everything I need from a computer. My only (minor) complaint with the hardware is that it only has four USB ports. (The ad says it has two 3.0 ports, but it has four total ports.) The Windows 8 operating system is another story. The learning curve is...um... escarpment-like. Right now, with only two weeks of use under my belt, I really wish that I had purchased a machine with Windows 7. If you don't mind the challenge of learning the nuances of Windows 8, this is a terrific value on a great computer. I also love the convenience of online ordering and in-store pickup. I ordered in the AM and picked it up the same afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jett2
Tallahassee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Fast & Quiet. A Great Value.
3/5/2013

Customer review by lizardtoejoe

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by lizardtoejoe
by lizardtoejoe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As an IT Tech, I selected this computer for three main reasons. 1. It has an Intel processor. 2. It is built by HP. 3. Price. After having this one for a week, I went and bought another one! This is a great value for the money! The Intel i5 processor is plenty fast and the motherboard supports a processor upgrade if necessary in the future. The 8GB of RAM is probably enough, however I added 4GB more right away because up to 4GB can be allotted to video. Beats Audio is awesome. My wireless works perfectly and my printer drivers loaded automatically. The 1TB hard disk drive is all I'll ever need and this machine runs amazingly quiet. I even like the included keyboard. I'm picky, so here are the things I'm not as excited about. There are only 4 rear USB ports and they are all USB 2.0. I had to add a hub to accommodate all my devices. I would have also prefer a USB 3.0 port in the rear for my external hard drive. There are two USB 3.0 ports in the front. The motherboard only has two total DIMM slots, one of which comes occupied. I intended to add two additional 4GB sticks of RAM, but there is only one available DIMM for expansion. More DIMM slots would be nice. My biggest complaint is that at the time of my purchase, the specifications (on the Wal-Mart website under Additional Features) specify "...1 x VGA-out, 1 x DVI-out". This information is INCORRECT. If you check the specifications for the video i/o ports for the H-Joshua-H61-uATX motherboard on the Hewlett Packard website you'll notice the video i/o ports for this computer are actually: 1 x DVI-I out, 1 x DVI-D out. That is what this computer has. Not 1 x VGA and 1 x DVI. This was a problem for me since I want to run dual SVGA monitors. My last complaint is that the machine was assembled with torx security screws which makes service & upgrades awkward.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lizardtoejoe
Modesto, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very powerful computer for years to come...
11/27/2012

Customer review by manny114

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by manny114
by manny114

I'm not a big fan of HP after my 2 year old desktop tower died due to a defective SATA controller chip, but I purchased this one after reading many different forums and great reviews. My only complaint was the Norton garbage it came with, do yourself a favor and get rid of Norton and use a free antivirus like AVAST or AVG. Coming from Windows 7, Windows 8 takes a bit of getting used to, but it's been very stable so far. I'm just hoping there won't be any defects with the motherboard like my last HP!

Was this review helpful? (43) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manny114
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great pc
12/26/2012

Customer review by Hippie798

5.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Hippie798
by Hippie798
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First one I picked up would not connect to Wi fi . Second one was a challenge to get it connected but at least it connected . Windows 8 is a bit different to get used to but overall it really is pretty nice to see something different . Pc is lightning fast on start up no waiting 5 mins for it to boot up an finally get to use .Came with a corded mouse an keyboard Not realy happy with that but I did have a wireless setup I used . overall I would say this is one of HP's better Computers .

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hippie798
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not disappointed
2/17/2013

Customer review by MsLady17

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by MsLady17
by MsLady17

This is my third HP Pavillion, and I've always been able to replace them and give the old one away. I've never experienced a problem, and this computer is just as competent and powerful as my previous purchases. The i5 processor outperforms my brother's i3 Pavilion at a surprising rate. He also has 8gb RAM and a 1TB hard drive. This processor makes the difference. The only negative to me is my uncertainty about upgrading the RAM--I haven't yet opened the case and I haven't seen it listed in the specs. And Windows 8 does require adjustment. I'm not yet a fan. Overall I love the computer and will keep it for as many years as it remains functional and fast.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsLady17
Baltimore, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Desktop
6/28/2012

Customer review by John01

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by John01
by John01

I bought this desktop to upgrade from a very old Dell. I got the following. Windows 7 Home Premium [64-bit] • 2nd Generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2320 processor [3.0GHz, 6MB Shared Cache] • 6GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [2 DIMMs] from 4GB •1TB hard drive • Integrated Intel(R) HD Graphics [DVI-D & DVI-D, DX 10.1] - (the standard factory interface) • SuperMulti DVD Burner • Integrated Ethernet port• 15-in-1 memory card reader, 2 USB 3.0, audio • Beats Audio (tm) -- integrated studio quality sound • HP wireless keyboard and wireless optical mouse The speed is wonderful. I strongly recommend this PC for average normal user. I went with the factory/standard video card because I just do normal web/e-mail and it does wonderful. Per the Microsoft system performance check the video was the slowest however its perfect for me. Therefore per this test I would recommed upgrading the video card is your a gamer which I am not. Processor, memory and hard disk had extremely high scores. I love the two USB ports on the front for easy access.

John01
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very happy w/ this system
12/1/2011

Customer review by loneelk

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by loneelk
by loneelk

It's a long story, but suffice it to say that after being a Dell customer for over 10 yrs. (& 3 computers) I made the decision to give hp.com a chance. I'm very happy w/ the ease of online ordering from HP as well as with my computer as ordered and ease of setup. I received everything in my order except the headphones sooner than expected and only 6 days after placing my order, and the headphones arrived the following day, just as the order tracking said! I'm not a computer expert by any means, but even reading the directions over again and taking my time w/ the connections, I had it set up and working in right at an hour. Later today, I'll try hooking up my printer and camera. Printer is an older HP that I just love, so I hope the drivers will be right. Camera is almost as old, different brand, but I'm very happy w/ it also. So wish me luck on that! Very nice solid looking system. I can't afford top of the line, but I'm very happy w/ this one!

loneelk
southern NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Nice computer, Great price, Meets expectations
1/19/2013

Customer review by tigerlilies40

5.0 stars 1/19/2013 by tigerlilies40
by tigerlilies40

Our computer crashed and we needed to get a new computer. Our old HP was 10 years old. This new one is Windows 8 and Intel core i5. This is a real nice computer. In order to get to know your computer you need to sit down and go through the demo to really get to know your computer. This help. Easy set up. My husband did that. Came with all the cords and BEFORE YOU PURCHASE THIS COMPUTER DOES NOT COME WITH A MONITOR. You have to order that separately. Yes I would recommend this to friends.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigerlilies40
Salem, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Online order form was misleading about USB ports
1/4/2012

Customer review by rshpe

1.0 stars 1/4/2012 by rshpe
by rshpe

The online photograph for that selection was a picture of the front of the computer and the multimedia card slots, so I assumed that the choice between 2 or 4 USB ports was for the number of additional ports on the front of the computer, not the total number of USB ports. My last HP desktop which is over 2 years old had 4 ports on the front and 6 in the back, which were all used - and that computer had an LPT port as well as mouse and keyboard ports. This Pavilion p7qe only has 4 USB ports total, all in the back, and it does not have LPT or mouse or keyboard ports, so now I in addition to USB ports for my old devices, I now need three more USB ports to take their place. This means I have a newer computer that requires more USB devices but has fewer ports than the old one. I don't like having to use a USB hub. Besides more money for a good quality, there don't seem to be any available with more than 7 ports, and also it adds significant clutter to my desk, which I thought was one of the big selling points of having all these wireless devices.

rshpe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Nice setup
6/14/2013

Customer review by FatherTime1

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by FatherTime1
by FatherTime1

Formatted and installed Windows 7 before even booting into the preinstalled Windows 8, Drivers were not a problem for a resourceful person, you need to do some searching but it can be done. It does not void any warranties and make this system purr. Windows 8 is just a mistake period.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FatherTime1
02813
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
12/17/2012

Customer review by pupusas

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by pupusas
by pupusas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use, easy to set up. This computer is just what we wanted to replace our old aged Dell. Great value for the money. We needed something that had decent performance and would not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pupusas
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New computer saved my sanity
12/17/2011

Customer review by kimcal

5.0 stars 12/17/2011 by kimcal
by kimcal

When I purchased my previous computer I bought the "standard" offering. Six years later it was sub-standard to say the least and frustrating me to no end - incredibly slow, often had to restart programs, etc. I finally made the decision to buy a new computer. I had not purchased from HP before, but ultimately went with them due to price, brand, and most importantly, the ability to have greater customization of hardware than the maker of my previous computer. It arrived quickly; set up was simple; and I was up and running in no time. I have had it for about a month now and so far no problems. The speed is amazing and my productivity has greatly increased. My frustration has definitely decreased! Only real complaint is that the keyboard and mouse look and feel cheap. I opted to keep my existing mouse even though it doesn't always play nice with Windows 7. I may replace keyboard down the line.

kimcal
Springfield,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I bought this with the intent of making upgrades.
1/7/2013

Customer review by tdonard

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by tdonard
by tdonard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I looked into various ways to fill my requirements. This was the best base model that fit my needs. I performed major upgrades and now it just rocks. T

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tdonard
Long Beach, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
replacement for a bummed out a1540n
9/3/2011

Customer review by eehmay

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by eehmay
by eehmay

Computer is nice, Just don't care much for the acclaimed Win7. Machine came with Home Premium but I bought the upgrade to Win 7 Professional in the hope to use some of my Win XP printers and scanners. The recommended Win XP download possible with Win Prof. and Ultimate did not solve everything. Got one printer back with the other stuff still incompatible. Can't blame the machine for this lousy Win stuff. Computer could use a few more USB 2, has no USB 3, outlets. By the time the Battery back up is hooked and a couple of external back up drives and the camera is hooked for download there aren't any outlets left. Will install a USB card. Hopefully there is room for hook up to the mobo. Need my "My Pictures" file thumbnail view, not the dumb view with Win 7. Want my address book to be like Win XP's not that dumb "Contact" by Win 7. Stupid. Win XP makes computing so much easier. People say "oh you'll like Win 7 it's so much better." Ha, not in my book. Not to mention the unused printers and scanners sitting around. No Microsoft Picture Manager either with the slider enlargement adjustment.

eehmay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lots of power for a low price.
2/17/2013

Customer review by TruckerTom23

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by TruckerTom23
by TruckerTom23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent computer for running power hungry apps or games. The integrated graphics are simply amazing on games. Only issue I've had is that the combination of the integrated graphics and windows 8 causes Forsaken World to crash on occasion. But the fault there is mostly on the game since the graphics are very poorly scripted, and the game itself is outdated. Other than that, it will run WoW or LoL on max graphics at around 20-30 fps max. I'm very satisfied with the performance and capability. On par with systems costing 30% more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruckerTom23
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great computer for a great price.
2/10/2013

Customer review by Monica177645

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Monica177645
by Monica177645
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm not a computer genius or anything but I have nothing bad to say. I did a lot of shopping around and settled on this one because the price and reviews were the best. I was not disappointed. Also, I kept seeing bad reviews for Windows 8 and was a little nervous about it. However, it turns out that I love windows 8. It is a lot different than the previous versions of windows, but if you know how to use a smart phone you will be able to adapt pretty quickly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monica177645
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Computer!
3/10/2013

Customer review by Moshelly73

5.0 stars 3/10/2013 by Moshelly73
by Moshelly73
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this computer. Its my second HP computer. Gave the other to kids. I order it off walmart.com save me 40 bucks. Had it sent to store for pick. Didn't take long at all. Its very quiet computer. Getting use to windows 8. Little different then what I'm use to. But I will adjust soon. The only thing I didn't like was I had to purchase some speakers. It didn't come with them. Got them at walmart too. Not that expensive. Logitech speakers. I bought a monitor Acer 19" separate. Its is great too. Everything is perfect. I love HP computers. Hooked my webcam up. Everything is working great. Speed is wonderful, the picture is clear. It has a lot of great apps to download. Its is awesome computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Moshelly73
Terre Haute, IN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Jayhawk
3/11/2012

Customer review by Jayhawk

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Jayhawk
by Jayhawk

It was time to update my computer and this time decided to get one that is already assembled rather than replace components. This proved to be a good choice. The HP Pavilion p7qe customizable Desktop PC is proving to be a quiet-fast machine. I wish I could say the same for Windows 7 but Microsoft eliminated useful features from XP with features that are entertaining but not necessarily practical. Windows 7 64 bit is faster but XP was designed for those with office skills and made work much more straight forward. the The HP Pavilion p7qe came ready to work and easy to set up in very little time. One needs to read the instructions before beginning and it is simple for even the novice. I got the wireless keyboard and mouse which set up nicely but it is ergonomic. I came up with a manual typewriter ("a what?") so I prefer the old keyboard layout better but I am getting accustomed to the circuilar configuration. The new HP 2211x monitor is a nice wide screen. I just wish that I could have the XP display properties to clean up the Windows 7 desktop. I still have my HP notebook with XP on it so I can use programs that are not compatable with 64 bit.

Jayhawk
Northeast Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Nice Desktop Computer
11/14/2011

Customer review by john222

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by john222
by john222

This seems to be a good computer. I'v had it for over a month now and I use it frequently. I had absolutly no problem with this computer yet, and having had a few HP Computers before this one, I dont expect any problems, besause I have not had any problems with my previous HP Computers. One thing that I am a little bit concerned with is the hard drive. I'm use to Western Digital HD's, they run silently, and I have not had any problems with them in the past. In this Computer you can hear the bearings cracling when the HD is spining, which tells me that this is not a WDHD, some other brands are not so good. My previos two HP Desktop Computers had WDHD's. I could possably be wrong, I have not opened the Computer to see whats in there. Other than that this Computer is fast, graphics are cristal clear and its very stable.

john222
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Outstanding so far!
3/11/2013

Customer review by CMPG1

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by CMPG1
by CMPG1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just started using my HP desktop but so far I am impressed. The processing is quick and the functions work as expected or better than my previous HP. HP will included an adapter for your monitor if you would like to transfer this over. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to use the computer without any internet service provider wires. The Wi-Fi feature allows you to connect with other computers in your home. I am still learning how to use Windows 8 but eventually it will save time. Overall, I would highly recommend this computer. One tip: remember to purchase and plug in your surge protector.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CMPG1
Algonquin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 149 total reviews
1-20 of 149 reviews