Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 243 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

243 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
145
4 stars
62
3 stars
13
2 stars
14
1 stars
9
1-20 of 239 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews
Dead on Arrival
6/10/2012

Customer review by Ping

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Ping
by Ping

I originally ordered the prior model laptop with the I7, and Radeon GPU; and I ended up having to return it once the GPU chip starting malfunctioning. I woul get blue screens 3 out of 5 times using the laptop. The build quality was great as were the specs, but you do not expect to have problems with a new unit. The HP customer was great they offered to send me one of the new Dv6t-7000 with the Ivy Bridge, and I was really surprised at their efforts to take care of my situation. The new replacement got here on Monday, and was dead on arrival. It showed the dreaded no readable disk or hard drive error. I was a bit surprised as well with the build quality as the prior version, seemed to be a bit better thought out an put together. The Blue-Ray drive doo in particular was loose, and just seemed to not seat properly. At this point, I have returned the laptop, and am waiting on a full refund from HP. I have to give them kudo for great CSR's but the product itself was a bit underwhelming.

Ping
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Good
8/2/2012

Customer review by shoemoos

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by shoemoos
by shoemoos

I've always had Dell computers, which run great but I wanted to try something different. I looked into many computers and decided to try for an HP. I received my computer a few days ago and so far I'm not disappointed. It runs great and does what I need it for. I'm not dissing Dell but I do enjoy this computer more so, then again my Dell is about 6 or 7 years old. I do like how it handles gaming better, and with the "full" keyboard it makes that alot easier. My only problems with it were: -The autorun would not work even with going into controls but I was able to fix that with some research online and the great help from the people from HP - The body it self looks cheaply made. I wish it was made with something that seemed a little sturdier, in fact the top part chipped slightly. Compared to my Dell, my Dell is defiantly a tank. - The right mouse button is lower than the left button which worries me that either the left is to loose, or the right is going to get stuck

shoemoos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love my new laptop
9/5/2012

Customer review by Mia047

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Mia047
by Mia047

In 1994 I bought my first computer from HP and have never strayed until 3 months ago...tried another brand......big mistake. I called HP, applogized then spent close to two hours with a delightful customer rep. The HP Pavillion dv6t 7000 was the result. It arrived on time, and hooked up to my wifi modem instantly. I had a lighted key board added and did not bother with a software bundle. In my opinion the fewer pre-installed programs the better. They tend to cause confusion during the set up process. They also are available for download from the internet. I feel that HP delivers the entire package. This includes excellent products, a reasonable return policy and superb technical support. Pricing is quite competitive. Bottom line, in this electronic era HP extends itself with many personal touches which I find to be exceedingly reassuring. There is nothing more frustrating to me then arguing for several seconds/ minutes with an automated recording while thinking there is a person on the other end. Thank you HP :))

Mia047
New York/Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Performance for Great Price!
9/16/2012

Customer review by Duncan

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Duncan
by Duncan

Very easy to custom design my own laptop, and shipping was very quick from hp. Performance is amazing, everything (programs, games) are so fast. Games run smoother than an xbox or ps3. I would recommend getting the 9 cell battery along with it, especially if you can get it for 50% off when buying it with the laptop. It lasts for 9+ hours on the power saving setting, and lasts for 5-6 hours on full performance settings. Quad core i7 processor whips through any program, even high power consuming programs, with ease. I got the 12 GB of ram, and i never even go above 1/4 Memory usage (even when running multiple adobe programs, web browser with many tabs, media player, and windows explorer). This computer is overall amazing and I'm glad I bought it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a very high performance laptop. Everyone is jealous of this thing(especially because I have a better laptop in every way, and I got it for less $). THANKS HP!!

Duncan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Portable Super-Computer
9/25/2012

Customer review by PlasmaNugget

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by PlasmaNugget
by PlasmaNugget

I just recieved my laptop yesterday, shipped 4 days early and shipping only took 3 days; so kudos to hp for building it quickly and fedex for moving it around the freakin world in less than 72 hours. Now to the fun stuff: I ordered mine with the core i7 3720qm, a very fast mobile i7. It is very quick and a very good decision I think. The nvidia 2gb graphics card is probably a little overkill for what I'm doing but the price difference wasn't that great, so I have it if I want to do some crazy stuff. 12gb of ram (8 is fine, but the more the merrier), and my greatest favorite is the 1080p display. The screen is just beautiful. I will never use a 720p screen in a laptop display again. My laptop in particular boots in about 10 seconds. HP does put a good bit of useless add-ons but they are quite easy to pick out and uninstall. Overall, one of the best purchases I have ever made and if your considering a new laptop you can't go wrong with the dv6qe. Triple Apple's performance for less than half the cost. Easy decision in my opinion.

PlasmaNugget
New Orleans, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Pavilion dv6 - a great midrange laptop
8/10/2012

Customer review by JaySee57

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by JaySee57
by JaySee57

My new Pavilion dv6 has enough features to make it a pleasure to use and comes at a reasonable price because it is not overloaded. The CPU boots fast. The display is large enough for me to use on my desktop yet the laptop is nice and light when I need to carry it. The battery life is quite good. All in all I am a satisfied customer. There is always room for improvement. The most critical thing I have to say about the package that I received is that the charger is a behemoth, both in terms of size and weight. It is a shame that such a nice, light laptop comes with a charger that is like a boat anchor. I'd trade a slower charge rate for a smaller and lighter charger. The fingerprint scanner seems like a cool way to go if you forget your pins but I found it a bit creepy to think about the consequences of a hacker swiping data about my fingerprints. Besides, in order for it to work, one needs to create a file of pins anyway, which is hackable too.

JaySee57
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Walmart website is misleading
11/22/2012

Customer review by Teacher61

3.0 stars 11/22/2012 by Teacher61
by Teacher61

Overall, I am pleased with this laptop, with two important exceptions. First, this laptop does not have a backlit keyboard, as was indicated in the reviews. This was one of the major drawing points for me purchasing this computer. Secondly, the laptop does not have a 3.2 GHZ processor, as was advertised. Instead, it has a 2.3 GHZ processor. Had I known this, I probably would have gone with another laptop that had these two features that I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (28) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teacher61
New Haven, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really bad laptop
5/27/2012

Customer review by designguy

1.0 stars 5/27/2012 by designguy
by designguy

Very disappointed with this laptop. I got a cheaper version for my mom and worked really nice when I installed programs for her, so decided to get something more expensive, with more ram, etc. The finger scan is the only thing that's cool about this laptop. The boot up process is long, comes loaded with lots of unnecessary software, the Beats audio system sounds horrible. I had to spend days on the system and software settings making everything simpler, sounding and looking better, and I'm still not satisfied. My major disappointment is the track pad. I had a tech-rep helping me out via remote connect (VNC) which is nice, but for some reason my track pad drivers were not installed on my new laptop....wait what??...yes you heard it, HP sends out laptops with uninstalled drivers so you can waste half your day troubleshooting it. This laptop is for people that maybe never owned a laptop before, but anyone else will be disappointed with it.

designguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love my first laptop
8/11/2012

Customer review by blake1079

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by blake1079
by blake1079

I've always had desktops but have wanted to get a laptop for awhile but never had any particular reason to. I started shopping over a month ago and quickly found this one with all the features I wanted, plus the free Blu-ray upgrade. I did go ahead and add on extra memory, chose the better HD screen and the backlit keyboard and have loved it for almost a month! There are lots of reviews about the amount of extraneous programs on the computer, but all i noticed were mostly internet shortcuts that were easliy deleted to clean up the desktop. Was easliy able to connect on initial setup to my home network and have not had any troubles yet. Also tried the Blu-ray recently and didn't notice any wobble problems that others have described. So far computer does not get too hot when on my lap in use for extended periods of time. Only minor complaint is that the battery life isn't as long as i would wish - only about 5 hours, which is still good, just not great. Highly recommend; this was my first laptop purchase and I have no regrets so far.

blake1079
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Laptop
6/13/2012

Customer review by EZPo

4.0 stars 6/13/2012 by EZPo
by EZPo

This has been a great laptop thus far minus two issues. The first issue was that I ordered both the standard 6-cell and also ordered an additional 9-cell battery. The laptop did not ship with the 9-cell. I called customer service and was redirected a few times and finally was told that the issue had to be submitted to a case manager. This person called me the very next day and overnighted the 9-cell battery to me. The battery was at my door the next day. I was pleasantly suprised by their customer service. Two thumbs up. The only reason I am not giving this 5-stars is because they forgot the battery in the first place when it was right on the shipping ticket. The second issue is the left mouse button on the touchpad has quit functioning twice now. I have not had this happen to me yet, but I was able to get it functioning for her again both times by turning the touchpad off and on again. Otherwise the performance and value of the laptop are exceptional and I am very satisfied. The fingerprint scanner is my favorite unexpected feature.

EZPo
Indy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great laptop
12/6/2012

Customer review by SkiiDoggie

5.0 stars 12/6/2012 by SkiiDoggie
by SkiiDoggie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great laptop. It comes with a trial version of Norton internet security/antivirus which will slow down everything. I always use Eset Nod32, but anything except Norton is OK. If you get this with windows 8, there is an update issue but it is easily fixed. It is a conflict with the sound driver and the Microsoft updates and both MS and HP know of this problem and are working on it but like I said, it can easily be fixed in a few minutes. If you are getting Windows 8, it is a lot different navigating than windows 7. Windows 8 is great for touchscreen systems but a little annoying at times for a mousepad. If you like, you can install the free software 'Classic Shell' and it will be just like windows 7 but still have the newer features running underneath. If you do buy this, here are the simple steps for the update... Go to control panel, updates, select download but let ME install. Stay in control panel and go to device manager. Look under sound/game controllers. There will be two drivers. For each, select properties, and the uninstall driver. DO NOT SELECT checkbox to delete when it asks, just uninstall. after two drivers uninstalled, go to updates and let it online to check. When it finds them all, expand to see all of them in the list. UNCHECK this one...KD2756872. After unchecking, right click on it and select "Hide This Update". then you are free to install all the updates and it will ignore this one from now on. After reboot, your laptop will re-install the drivers for you and you are good to go. Now, if you like, you can choose to allow automatic updates. Don't let this little Microsoft goof up scare you, this is a great laptop as are all HP's. : )

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkiiDoggie
Cincinnati, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not sure if just my laptop or the model
8/2/2012

Customer review by thisismynickname

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by thisismynickname
by thisismynickname

I thought this is going to work when I first get the laptop but I was kinda disappointed. It's the fact that my laptop failed to connect to the wireless network at first. I restarted my modem and router to check to see if this could solve the problem. The result is yes but only after I tried to continuously doing this for 2 days in a row. Another problem is I can't detect other networks at first but this only works after that. I called HP but all they asked me to do is to call the router manufacturer which I didn't do because I figured this is too much of a problem for me. I mean this is a new laptop but it can't even connect to the internet wirelessly? Even my old Acer laptop and my friends' laptops work like a charm. In the end, I'm still not sure if this only happens to my laptop or it's something that hp has to fix on this model. Other than that, I happy with the features and performance so far. In general, it's a good buy.

thisismynickname
Stony Brook, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great little machine!!
6/23/2012

Customer review by AndyQ

5.0 stars 6/23/2012 by AndyQ
by AndyQ

I love this little laptop and all of it's features. I customized mine with the anti-glare screen, 9-cell battery, hybrid HDD, LED lit keyboard and Bluetooth. What I don't like is that it is ALL plastic and it's small but that comes with what I wanted out of this purchase in the first place and that was better mobility and less weight. I went from a 17.3" sized desktop replacement laptop to this one (15.6") so it will take me a little while to get use to the smaller screen and keyboard. I know... I should have gone with the ENVY line of laptops but they didn't have the third Gen Processors in those like they put on this one at the time. I love the speed of the processor and the LONG lasting battery life, 9+ hours of heavy use, I timed it. Oh and an insignificant feature but is neat when working in the dark is the LED lit keyboard, a definite plus for the night owls like myself that use special characters all the time.

AndyQ
Altoona, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
A Keeper
7/6/2012

Customer review by HowardE

4.0 stars 7/6/2012 by HowardE
by HowardE

I ordered this laptop only because of the 21-day return policy, having tried (and returned) similar laptops from Dell and Lenovo. I am surprised at how much I like it: the 1080p upgraded screen is beautiful and the processor very fast. I purchased an ssd drive to replace the hybrid drive that came with the unit, but the boot time is so good that I will stay with the drive as is (a second generation Seagate Momentus XT). The computer is heavy but most 15.6 laptops are about the same weight (even the thinner ones), and the keyboard is very nice. The mouse pad is no better than average though I like the separate left and right buttons. The standard battery gives a litlle less time than I had hoped, just over 4 hours playing dvds. I own a Toshiba ultraportable as well as an iPad yet find myself using the new HP because the screen is so nice and the computer so fast. It was an impulse purchase and I'm keeping it.

HowardE
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Superb!
8/17/2012

Customer review by LarryQW

5.0 stars 8/17/2012 by LarryQW
by LarryQW

Works fast. Boots in 30 seconds. They Hybrid Drive really works to speed things up. The system is quiet and cool even when working hard. I really like the SimplePass fingerprint reader - greatly eases and speeds up login for boot up and for navigation between web sites. The HD 1920x108 screen is wonderful - bright, clear, sharp. With the power management, the normal battery lasts me all day. Don't even need to swap to the 9 cell battery or use the charger. The graphics is confusing. It appears to be using the Intel HD graphics most of the time to save power, even though I bought an advanced graphics card. After reading, I find that it uses a Dynamic Mode Graphics which only uses the advanced chip when really needed. Things I didn't like: Keyboard has flat keys that are hard to feel. Otherwise OK. Glad to have the keyboard light. Power connector on the side. Would like rear plugs for power and USB.

LarryQW
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect for me!
7/31/2012

Customer review by Nurd

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Nurd
by Nurd

I got this laptop to support my interest in astronomy. I have a 5 megapixel video camera to go with the my telescope, so I needed a high resolution display to permit optimal focusing of the image. The battery must last me many hours in the dark with the backlit keyboard on. The image processing software works with thousands of frames, each presumably identical to the others, but in fact each differs due to atmospheric turbulance. To defeat the image distortions caused by the atmosphere, each image is stretched, twisted, and re-registered. Then they are stacked to defeat the electronic noise generated in the camera. It then provides access to wavelet transformes to process this single combined image. So I need processing speed and power. The computer with SSD and this processor is perfect for me. You gamers will enjoy this computer too, but you won't have as much fun as I am having!

Nurd
Davenport, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Likely the best laptop I have ever bought
7/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This laptop replaced my Dell Studio 1749 when it died after only 2 years of having it. I got the 1080p anti glare screen and backlit keyboard, both of which make this laptop extremely nice to work on at night or outside. The Core i7 processor can power through almost any task and I can run Skyrim at HIgh settings with about 35 fps. Sound quality is great with the beats audio for a laptop. The laptop is very portable for a 15.6". It is very comfortable for long hours on my lap and does not get that hot even under full load. The battery life is amazing, I get about 5 hours web browsing as well as running a bunch of other programs. The keyboard is very comfortable and the track pad has a great feel to it for web browsing. The only thing I can complain about which is not a big deal, the screen has a little bit of flex to it so make sure not to put anything heavy on top of the screen.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Perfect Laptop
10/13/2012

Customer review by RandyD5446

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by RandyD5446
by RandyD5446

Well, its the perfect laptop for me anyway and I'm sure this will be perfect for many others too. I opted for the 15.6 inch screen instead of the 17 inch and I am glad I did. This screen is the perfect combination of size and portability. The 17 would have been just too big. This PC is feature packed with so many new things. Amazing speed. Crystal clear display. Love the back lit keyboard. There are thinner models, but this one is very thin too, especially for all that is packed inside. I opted for the 7200 RPM 750G hard drive even though I could have had a 1 T hard drive for the same price. The 1 T drive was slower. The fingerprint reader is very convenient and I use it a lot but not a must-have. Itf you have multiple user accounts on the machine, the fingerprint reader makes it very easy and fast to switch users just with a swipe. Keyboard is full size and good for a touch typist. There are so many different ways to configure this laptop that you should be able to create the perfect configuration for yourself. The price versus performance ratio is excellent, so all in all I am quite happy with this computer.

RandyD5446
Omaha, Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Mostly pleased
5/26/2012

Customer review by R2010

4.0 stars 5/26/2012 by R2010
by R2010

My new laptop works pretty well. It runs games and multiple Firefox tabs just fine. The audio is more than satisfactory, and the display is crisp. I do have two complaints, however. The battery release switch is too easy to accidentally press. Twice in three weeks I have went to pick up the laptop by putting my hand under the bottom and had the battery land on the floor. This may be something that's just about the way I grab it, but I can't imagine I'm the only one this will happen to. The other issue is that it doesn't always come out of sleep mode properly. About half of the time when I run my finger over the mouse pad, nothing happens and I have to press the power button, wait a minute, and then press it again to wake it up. Overall, I'm not sorry that I chose this laptop, but for the price I would have hoped that the sleep mode would work properly.

R2010
Saginaw, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent Speed
8/22/2012

Customer review by speedster72

5.0 stars 8/22/2012 by speedster72
by speedster72

Specs: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit, Intel Core i7-3610QM @ 2.3 Ghz, 8 GB RAM, 750 GB 7200 RPM Hybrid Hard Drive, Nvidia GeForce GT 630M with 1 GB memory, Blu-ray player, Backlit Keyboard, FULL HD Anti-Glare LED Display (1920 x 1080), Beats Audio, Fingerprint reader. PRO'S SPEED, it takes 10 seconds from complete shut off to turn on and logged in. Backlit keyboard and FULL HD Display with Blu-ray is a MUST. Beats audio sounds great! Everything works as inteneded and far exceded my expectations. USB 3.0 with Lexar JumpDrive Triton 32 GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive is also a speed machine! Transfer files at a speed of 110 MB/s and greater! CON'S Minor gap between Blu-ray drive and edge of side of computer. Drive is not completely flush but it is no big deal. No other problems that I have encountered yet. OVERALL Great laptop, best one I have used so far!

speedster72
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 239 total reviews
1-20 of 239 reviews