Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

59 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 38 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Great product.
11/3/2012

Customer review by OzwaldQuackenbush

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by OzwaldQuackenbush
by OzwaldQuackenbush

After being a desk top user for more than a decade. This is my first lap top. I am amazed at its performance, the processor is really fast. The WI FI works perfectly. When considering this product, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. 1, Patience.....Windows 8 is unlike anything in my windows experience. Its exactly like, instead of your usual Wal-Mart, you go to a different Wal-mart Store. You know what you want but you have some difficulty finding it. 2. Maybe its just me, but I sometimes hit the touch pad with my thumb when typing an email which changes the page, but I think that's just something to work around. I bought a wireless mouse so I didn't have to learn the touch pad thing. I also bought a case for it. Again Great product.

Was this review helpful? (119) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OzwaldQuackenbush
Missouri Lake of the Ozarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great P/C but windows 8 is really new!!!
11/16/2012

Customer review by DCalif

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by DCalif
by DCalif

I wanted more memory and speed with quad core processor, but this windows 8 is like an all new operating system. It is different from Win 7 and the old familiar veiws/screens. Just finding the shut down button was hard and setting up the desk top. There is a steep learning curve here for sure. I found a place on line to get a little tutoring, and you can down load a couple of apps that will make your P/C look/work some what like Win 7. The apps are Classic Shell (free) and Start8 is I think $5 for down load after 1 month free use. I really like this computer as it is a lot lighter than my old smaller laptop and the battery last twice as long before charging, also like 3.0 usb-s.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DCalif
Sacto CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4.5 for laptop only not Windows8
11/24/2012

Customer review by neilee75

4.0 stars 11/24/2012 by neilee75
by neilee75

I was hesitant to buy another laptop as I have disliked them in the past with the touch pad always causing problems by accidently touching it with my hand and they didn't run the games my family likes. This isn't in the case with this laptop. The touchpad seems to be in a good spot and I have yet to hit it with part of my hand. We can play the games we want, it runs well, and it is pretty fast for a laptop. We do have a few issues with it 1# The battery life isn't very long two hours max for what we use it for gaming and internet surfing 2) Two days after having it an update was installed by windows and it caused all kinds of problems. We called tech support and ended up restoring the computer over to a prior date, they tried to save what we had but we were told it is a common problem and we lost everything. 3) Read the other posts regarding Windows 8 it is a huge learning curve and it isn't anything like people are used to, it takes a while to figure it out and #this is my biggest problem, not with the computer but with Windows 8) they force you to sign up for a Microsoft account before you can even access the computer itself, and if you have a private e-mail through your cable company like I do they don't support it so you have to create another account with them or you can't get email which didn't help us since we couldn't use our private email. We went online and found Outlook express for Windows 2007 so we could actually receive email on this computer. We all agreed in our household we could do without Windows 8, it isn't user friendly and it seems like all it wants you to do is take up memory with useless stuff like apps that come preinstalled and we can't get ride of and apps we don't need or want. We are happy with the computer itself and would recommend it, a little bit of time on the internet looking for programs that we could download made it easier to work with Windows 8 as it turned it into Windows 7 in a sense, however I must say we are not a fan of Windows 8.

Was this review helpful? (60) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neilee75
SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2012

Customer review by Caryan8786

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Caryan8786
by Caryan8786

I am a full time student and needed a new laptop. Mine crashed mid-semester so I had to make a purchase quickly. The computer is fast and I have never owned an HP before, but am very happy with it. The only issue I have is with windows 8. It takes some getting use to and is made more for a touch screen computer or tablet. There are also a couple bugs that they are working out. I have had to contact HP 2 times for technical support, but it was not due to the computer itself, it was due to the minor bugs in windows 8. When I purchased this, windows 8 had only been out 3 days!! Great laptop though! very satisfied!

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Caryan8786
Frankford, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This laptop has exceeded my expectations.
3/11/2013

Customer review by Wolfdeus

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Wolfdeus
by Wolfdeus

Originally, I purchased this laptop in Orlando for my college work, However, I now use it on graphic intensive MMO's both FPS and RPGs as well as using a certain search engine's 3D design appilcation and a HIGHLY graphically challenging 3D Instant Messaging Virtual Universe. It will not slow down, except when I turn it off. Then it's really slow. It doesn't do anything until I turn it back on again, then WHAM! The world at my fingertips and the words "Boom! Headshot!" fall from my lips. I Recommend this product for EVERYONE.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wolfdeus
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I'm HAPPY with it!!
2/20/2013

Customer review by klt84

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by klt84
by klt84

I bought this laptop 4 days ago. It took some getting used to with the Windows 8 but most of it is common sense. There were a few thing I had to Google to figure it out the more I use it the more I love it!! It is very fast and now that I have gotten used to Windows 8, I don't like using any of the other computers in the house. There are still a few things I have to figure out on the start screen. The only thing I don't like about this laptop is not actually a laptop problem its a Windows 8 problem. I use Yahoo for mail and instant messaging. With windows 8 you have to sign up for a Microsoft account and the icon for mail on the start screen can not be set to any other email server. I have gotten over that and just bookmarked what I need that the starts screen menu doesn't have so it is still at my finger tips... Good Luck to all considering this Laptop and I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klt84
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for a portable computer.
12/30/2012

Customer review by TheUltimateGamerDude

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by TheUltimateGamerDude
by TheUltimateGamerDude

For the kind of computer it is, I think it's a good deal. To be honest I could have gotten a desktop cheaper than this and had more power but since this is meant to be portable I will give it props for what it can do. The screen is huge the computer can play any game (may lag at big games# Garry's Mod #300 fps# BF3 #25 fps# medium settings Payday the heist #full 300 fps) Overall, powerfull, big screen, fast, amazing. AMD RULES!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheUltimateGamerDude
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Computer!! BUY IT!
4/25/2013

Customer review by njt1996

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by njt1996
by njt1996

I have had this laptop for a little over a week now and it is great! Many people complain about Windows 8 and because of that I was a little scared of it but after a day I loved it! Youtube has many videos that shows you all the cool stuff it does and how to get around. Windows 8 is very nice in my opinion. It is quite simple once you play with it for a bit. I never really used to play games on the computer but since I have a new laptop I play more often. It plays all my games great with extremely little to no lag. I have played minecraft, portal 2, empire: total war, Sniper: Global Warrior 2, Age of empires 3, The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion, and am currently installing The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim which I am positive it will play great just as it has all my other games. Haven't had any major problems with this laptop what so ever. The 17'' high def display is very nice. Makes gameplay and viewing hd video much better. I also run photoshop off my laptop and it works great! I am very pleased with the computer especially for the price! Very fast! Very reliable machine to do what I need it to. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a nice reliable computer. Most definitely worth what I paid.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
njt1996
Goodyear, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Pc
4/7/2013

Customer review by hippie66

5.0 stars 4/7/2013 by hippie66
by hippie66

I had a Dell Studio 1558 & I will never buy a Dell again. It didn't function well, processor was slower than it was supposed to, speakers messed up, memory card was messed up, and always overheated & shut itself down, and it was only a couple years old. So I went looking online & saw this HP Pavilion g7 which has more speed & ram than the Dell which I paid quite a bit more for. I have an HP printer and have never had an HP laptop before. So I rolled the dice & took a gamble & it paid off. It's solid, easy to use, super fast processor, great quality screen, and I'm very satisfied with it. I have absolutely no complaints about this at all. It has Windows 8 on it which is a lot different the Windows 7. I'm getting used to it but I really don't like Win8, I see no improvements over WIN7 with it. That's the only knock on this but it's not the pc's fault. This pc is excellent especially for the price!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hippie66
Jackson, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Got a Lemon!
4/2/2013

Customer review by ChrisN

1.0 stars 4/2/2013 by ChrisN
by ChrisN

I'm not sure if I'm qualified to write a review. I may have just gotten a Lemon!! It was easy to set up, it ran great for 12 hours then it stopped. I researched alot before buying this computer, I loved how big the screen was, great for watching movies or videos, which is what my son loves to do. However, within 12 hours of it being up and running it froze up and the hard drive was making a loud noise and blowing alot of heavy air out the side of the computer. Nothing on the computer would work, not even the Power button, so I couldn't even shut it down to restart. After about 5 minutes, it was back to normal for about 3 minutes and then it did it again, at this point, we packed it up and returned it. I've always been a toshiba user, so I just returned HP and bought a Toshiba. Again, it's probably a good computer, We just got a Lemon. One positive note: Since I bought it at Walmart, it was an easy, no effort return. And I had purchased the product insurance through walmart, I called them and they refunded me right away.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisN
Seaford, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
GREAT COMPUTER!!!!
5/1/2013

Customer review by HappyCustomer2

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by HappyCustomer2
by HappyCustomer2

This is a great laptop it has the latest and greatest software....It comes with Windows 8 which is a big difference from Windows 7 and Vista....But if you play around with it you'll like it, I did and I wish someone would of told me that the email icon is an app so that is why when you go click on it and get into your email it looks different and it does not allow you to create folders to store emails you can only use the ones they have listed. But you need to go into Microsoft Outlook 2013 for your email. And for the internet I typed in MSN and saved it to my desktop I rather use that then the app with the E for exployer but it's really a personal preference. It has everything nothing I can complain about. Great price and nice clear large monitor. I am very pleased with the laptop and Wal-Mart shipped it very quickly ordered on a Tues and received it on a Fri the same week. I didn't have any problems setting it up and if you do just call your internet provider they can walk you through it or remote access your computer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCustomer2
Fort Wayne, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop
3/26/2013

Customer review by littlegti84

5.0 stars 3/26/2013 by littlegti84
by littlegti84

Huge screen, crystal clear graphics. quick boot-up. Seems to run very well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
littlegti84
New Haven, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Graet computer for entertainment purposes
1/25/2013

Customer review by DPAUL8737

5.0 stars 1/25/2013 by DPAUL8737
by DPAUL8737

It is great computer and very simple to use

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DPAUL8737
Griffin, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/8/2013

Customer review by WMMX71A

5.0 stars 3/8/2013 by WMMX71A
by WMMX71A

I have always had a desktop. This is my first laptop ever. Needless to say I should have done this years ago. The price is just right. And works like a dream. You'll also want to pick up a Logitech wireless mouse as well along with HP Wireless Deskjet #3520e All in one series printer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WMMX71A
Deptford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
this is a very good computer for its price
3/14/2013

Customer review by JRandonJ

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by JRandonJ
by JRandonJ

after having a Dell inspiron 1521 for over 5 years and then having it go out on me and it really not doing all that great for what I was wanting. I went and bought this after getting my tax return. This computer is meeting more then just my expectations on it. this computer is doing really well on some of the more simpler games that are out there. from from Minecraft to StarCraft 2 even Diablo 3 is holding up awesomely well. All and all I'm liking this computer. cons. the touch pad is a little to big and while typing I tend to touch it with my palm. the keyboard is really nice, but with it moved over to the left some it just something I am going to have to get used too. the disc drive is something else that they should have really looked at. it quite and everything but the problem I have with it is that it seems really cheap. I have to press really hard on the button to open it and also its feels like I am going to brake it. kinda wish that they didn't add it in. with the way everything is downloaded from online now a days . but they are just miner things that will just be after thoughts. I highly recommend this computer. for a little over 500 bucks after taxes this computer is the best.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRandonJ
Amarillo, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop Graphics are Superb
5/27/2013

Customer review by Onthedge

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by Onthedge
by Onthedge

Bought this for my son's college graduation present And he couldn't be happier He's a heavy gamer on his desktop system so I was concerned that the AMD APU could play all the games he is used to. No problem man. And the screen is a beautiful ebony HD 17 incher

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Onthedge
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/16/2013

Customer review by barneyboy452

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by barneyboy452
by barneyboy452

Excellent lap top! Meets all my expectations. Very fast. Windows 8 is a snap..no problem here ...just common sense! Best computer I have ever owned since 1997! This would be the 6th! Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barneyboy452
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/13/2013

Customer review by FPSS

5.0 stars 6/13/2013 by FPSS
by FPSS

I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS LAPTOP TO ANYONE,, SO EASY TO USE,, NO TROUBLE AT ALL,, ALSO WINDOWS 8 IS NOTHING TO IT, AND I AM 64 YEARS OLD,, ME BEING A LITTLE OLDER I DO USE A CORDLESS MOUSE,, GREAT LAPTOP

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FPSS
CARRIERE MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/19/2013

Customer review by ezgo1950

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by ezgo1950
by ezgo1950

great ,easy to use , win. 8 has a learning curve ,but great after that

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ezgo1950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent...but some problems
6/15/2013

Customer review by Everlong

4.0 stars 6/15/2013 by Everlong
by Everlong

I bought this laptop in March(it's June now), and I am satisfied overall with it. It is my first laptop after being a desktop user since I basically got into computers years ago. It was meant to be for some mmo games( it runs very good) and schoolwork. My desktop has been getting very slow and is now unmanageable on gaming...or anything for that matter. This laptop is pretty decent, for example: PROS: Nice webcam. Decent microphone. Speakers are on the top and sound really good. Runs fast. Windows 8(At first confusing but overall a nice add-on.) CONS: Heats up fast.(may just be mine) Loud fan(May just be mine) Doesn't come with Microsoft Office. Had trouble with Windows Live Movie Maker(conversion of webcam videos-sound wise for a school project) --- May Just be mine. And once I couldn't get past the "Welcome" Loading screen for days, until I decided to mess around with it and fixed it myself. Troubleshoot is going to become your best friend. :] That was a very stressful time, I was going to return it, but glad I didn't. It's a decent laptop for its price, well worth it. I solved this problem by wiping out my hard drive. So... a tip- make sure you save everything somewhere else and not just on your laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Everlong
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews