Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 30 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Good not Excelent fairly priced safe.
9/24/2012

Customer review by jotojoe

3.0 stars 9/24/2012 by jotojoe
by jotojoe

I picked up My safe Yesterday. First concern was Can I Handle it? It is listed at 360 lbs. Assocciates loaded it on My truck, My Wife and I unloaded it and moved it through the house using a hand truck, it slid on the carpet fairly easily. I'm old and she's petite so most couples can do this job. What Did I Get? First important thing is Read The Great Cannon Warranty then the small print which specifically excludes the SAFARI Series. I am sattisfied not thrilled with the quality of the safe it is welded sheet metal a pro with the right tools could open it like a tin can in half hour or less. How would I get it open after a fire or amateur robber destroying the plastic combination case will require more research. When traveling I will be comfortable with the thought that My valuables will not be easy for the average burgular to get to. Considering the Price /Quality ratio I would have spent more money to get more security but it will do the job adequately. Call it fairly priced not the Great Deal it looks like at first look.

Was this review helpful? (88) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jotojoe
NE FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/25/2012

Customer review by Gun17

3.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Gun17
by Gun17

Nice safe for the price. But this safe has numerous cons. First the picture shows an AR-15 that can be stored on the door organizer. Good Luck with that, the door will not shut with it hanging there. Second the gun racks are not adjustable. So if you have any short rifles they have to be leaned against another gun or against the wall of the safe. My suggestion is to spend a little more money and get a better safe. This safe wil be returned within a few days.

Was this review helpful? (62) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gun17
Greensburg,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Thrilled
9/11/2012

Customer review by dexvlad

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by dexvlad
by dexvlad

I saw this safe in store yesterday, went online to look at the specifications, and returned today to buy. It's exactly what I was looking for, and aside from my son-in-law and I rupturing to get it in the house, it's great. I'm sure that there are better, but for price, fire protection and a 1st gun safe, I'm thrilled. Looked online 2hrs later and the store was sold out. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? (71) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dexvlad
The Bootheel, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cannon is really nice...
9/24/2012

Customer review by wingwelder

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by wingwelder
by wingwelder

For a first safe it works really well.. A bit heavy but not too heavy, any heavier then it'll be in competition at the $800-$1200 range. Low on graphics and glitz but thats just fine, its a real good meat and pototoes kinda safe. There's holes in the back or the base to lag into the floor and studs if you want a permanent fixture.. The only drawback, and the only one is, there's no inside power strip for using a humidor... but again for that feature, it would be around $800-1200...

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wingwelder
Shelton, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great safe for the price.
11/16/2012

Customer review by Derek21s

4.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Derek21s
by Derek21s

I like this safe so far. Nice door organizer it came with. You can also hang rifle on the door. So I hung my shotgun there. Nice easy to put up shelves. Delivery was faster than first scheduled so that was a plus. Only negative thing is safe is front heavy especially when door is open. So if you plan to place on carpet be careful.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Derek21s
Goodyear,AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good starter safe for the money
11/19/2012

Customer review by HarlemGuy

3.0 stars 11/19/2012 by HarlemGuy
by HarlemGuy

The only problem with the safe is the inside is poorly made using MDF. But its ok for the price. I used the .97 shipping but when I got my safe there was a very large ding in the lower door and the top shelf was broken in two piceses.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarlemGuy
Harlem, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value and function
3/23/2013

Customer review by HighTechHobbyist

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by HighTechHobbyist
by HighTechHobbyist

I recommend you do some research. I did, and I'm glad. This safe is perfect for MY needs. Not too big, not too small, not too heavy, not too light, good storage capacity, interior is fully lined, with adjustable shelving. Convenient electronic lock - many pro's and con's - combination .vs. electronic. If the electronics were to fail big-time, it's only a few hundred bucks for a locksmith to drill into a safe of this level to resolve the issue. Even in a, heaven forbid, worst case SHTF chaos scenario, unlike a higher-end safe, I can take this one out into the backyard and cut/beat my way into the safe with power tools. Not bad for seven hundred total bones. Freight shipping was scheduled and predictable, no problems. Mini bottle of black touch-up paint included. ONE MINOR PROBLEM - the preinstalled 9volt battery for the electronic lock was dead upon arrival - deducted one notch on the expectations review because of it. 1-800 Cannon support was EXCELLENT. Will be adding a dri-rod dehumidifier and lighting.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HighTechHobbyist
Sunny California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value, quality construction
11/23/2012

Customer review by Sandman6

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by Sandman6
by Sandman6

After spending significant time researching on-line had decided on a Canon safe. Walmart's price and shipping sealed the deal. The interior of the safe was easily adjustable to fit my storage needs. The door pouches and hangers handled the gear I wanted most readily accessible. Bolting to the floor was a little challenge because of the position of the rear of the door when opened but was easily worked around. Construction of the safe was solid and well done. Ability to change the lock battery from the outside is a definite plus.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sandman6
Northeast Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Price and Shipping cost made this a Great Purchase
10/30/2012

Customer review by WRINKLEDDOG

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by WRINKLEDDOG
by WRINKLEDDOG

Ample storage for my personal needs, it was a solution to a problem of containment for me.. Manufacturers Website had an MSRP much higher, and shipping costs would have broken my budget for my immediate need. I couldn't believe the shipping price for this product with a 350 lbs. shipping weight, and it came from California to My Home on Cape Cod for 97cents... You Know i didn't break my budget, and solved a problem.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WRINKLEDDOG
East Falmouth, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Entry level gun safe
3/28/2013

Customer review by TuscolaMatt

3.0 stars 3/28/2013 by TuscolaMatt
by TuscolaMatt

Pros: low price, good fire protection, just light enough for one person to dolly around, fast access with digital lock, quality paint Cons: does NOT have a key in case the electronics fail, only has locking bolts on one side, is on the low end of Cannon safes Overall, considering the cost (safe+shipping), I'd still buy it again. I assumed it would be more secure and have more locking bolts - it doesn't. I assumed there'd be a plan B if the electronics fail - there's not (other than calling Cannon). Higher end safes have a key backup. The interior is nicely done from a visual perspective - but the shelves are made of particle board and are only rated to hold 35 pounds (!) - odd for a gun/valuables safe. I'll have to build custom shelving - not that big of a deal though. I researched the lock - it's made by SecuRam and has a good reputation for reliability. The safe and lock have very good customer support (according to posts in gun forums). As long as you know what you're getting and if it fits your needs, I'd say get it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TuscolaMatt
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is one SOLID piece of security
3/27/2013

Customer review by MontanaRecluse

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by MontanaRecluse
by MontanaRecluse

The Freight company kept me in the loop and made arrangements to deliver a day early. When it showed up at my place up in the hills it was loaded in a semi truck (crazy truckers :), make sure you inspect it before you sign; mine had a scuff on the back, no biggie. Make sure you get some help to move it into the house, especially if you have stairs to climb, you do not want to drop it on your toe! This is a great investment to protect your goods, check out the cannon website for why this IS better than most other brands. Other places that have this same safe were asking $250-$500 more, this was an awesome deal and it does come with adjustable shelving and a door organizer (stores magazines, pistols, documents, etc). This may be a basic model but it will stand up to anything you can throw at it, including an angry grizzly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MontanaRecluse
N.W. Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Safe, Excellent Service, Good Price
12/17/2012

Customer review by Railroad1

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Railroad1
by Railroad1

Price plus free shipping made this purchase an excellent choice. Safe was delivered in accordance with delivery company, not damaged. I did have problems with moving the safe by myself to the perminate location in my home but completed the task on Saturday morning. I am pleased with my purchase and would recommend this safe to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Railroad1
Jonesboro, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/3/2012

Customer review by FLTRX

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by FLTRX
by FLTRX

Good safe for the money. I looked at better safes but the cost was 3x as much. Not sure if it would be hard to break into or not but will keep thieves busy and kids safe. I was miffed with the delivery company because the safe was laying on the door when delivered. It had damage on the top and the handle center but will not affect the operation of the safe. I painted the top and Cannon is sending a new handle to me.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLTRX
Marion, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Value
11/4/2012

Customer review by MohaveBob

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by MohaveBob
by MohaveBob

A quality safe at a great price. was everything it was advertised to be. Went crazy looking for the manual til I found it on top of the safe. After that all was fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MohaveBob
Fort Mohave, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was everything I expected at this price.
10/23/2012

Customer review by THErealKRASH

5.0 stars 10/23/2012 by THErealKRASH
by THErealKRASH

I am very pleased with this safe. For this price I have to say its an excellent buy. I had it shipped to my home. The hardest part was getting it unscrewed from the pallet. Screws were in at an angle, but I had them out in less than 15 minutes. Had help sons easing it off the pallet and sliding it to its permanent location in my house. That took about another 15 minutes getting it positioned exactly where I wanted. If you are placing yours in an upstairs location of down into a basement then you'll have your hands full. It is top heavy so be careful. Hanging an AR-15 on the door as in the sales photo, well I haven't tried yet. I read a review on here saying 'good luck with that' and I think his comment is probably very appropriate.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
THErealKRASH
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gun Safe
11/3/2012

Customer review by LuvMyHubbyAndHarley

4.0 stars 11/3/2012 by LuvMyHubbyAndHarley
by LuvMyHubbyAndHarley

So far, no compliants. We get in and out of the safe at least twice a day. It's easy and quick to open. The organizer on the inside of the door is an awesome feature! Only thing I would change is the price... $600 is a bit spendy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuvMyHubbyAndHarley
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Safe for the price. Free Shipping too.
11/18/2012

Customer review by astroblack

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by astroblack
by astroblack

Better than what I expected for the price. I was able to wheel it around on a hand-truck by myself. Any bigger and I would have been in trouble ;) Over all I'm pleased. And even happier my toys are safe and secure.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
astroblack
Western North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/25/2012

Customer review by saharanomad

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by saharanomad
by saharanomad

Great price and excellent delivery schedule. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saharanomad
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/7/2012

Customer review by shitzuluv1

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by shitzuluv1
by shitzuluv1

good gun safe for the price, my husband was pleased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shitzuluv1
Springerville, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great safe at a good value
3/24/2013

Customer review by Cowpoke96

5.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Cowpoke96
by Cowpoke96

After looking at several safes at this price point, I was impressed with the features of this safe. It is well constructed and a nice overall safe. The included door organizer is a nice touch.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cowpoke96
Evanston, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews