Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
503
4 stars
193
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 stars
22
1-20 of 596 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews
Great product
8/22/2013

Customer review by Lilacs1212

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Lilacs1212
by Lilacs1212
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this product to take with me on a vacation to Cape Cod. It worked great, got me where I needed to go, found local restaurants for me, and took me there. Will never go anywhere again without it. The dash mount did not work well with my car. I have a Hyundai Tucson and it wouldn't stay where I placed it. It also left what looks like a grease mark on my dash which wont wipe off. I would not recommend using it unless you have a light colored dashboard (mine is black). The windshield mount it came with worked much better. I bought the car cable separate because it didn't say that it was included, it was included with the package so I returned that. The screen is a good size for those with bad eyes and it has 2 voice options to select from (I chose the one that sounded more like a human than a computer). It was very easy to set up and register online. I would recommend buying a case to keep it in because put put mine in my purse and it got scratched from something in there.

Was this review helpful? (279) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lilacs1212
Pembroke, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value
12/3/2013

Customer review by thenyougivemeanickname

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by thenyougivemeanickname
by thenyougivemeanickname
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My first gps was a garmin and I led it but when ittopped working I tried a tomtom and I guess because I was use to the garmin I did not find the tomtom as user friendly. So when it stopped working I bought this and found this to be easier to go back to than going from garmin to tomtom. But I just made a trip to Huntsville and before I left home I uploaded the lastest maps and the tomtom would tell you all names of a highway and the garmin does not. So on a couple of roads here the posted name and the garmin name are different. I found out the roads have two names and garmin is correct but because the signs said something different it caused me to miss my turn. So I kind of miss the tomtom naming all the names of a street. But both seem to last about as long before something going wrong with them and both sem to cost about the same. But this one was less than one with same number nuvi 50LM that did not have the bundle so it was the best buy even though I do not use the dash mount.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thenyougivemeanickname
Tallapoosa, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2012

Customer review by NanaGolfs

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by NanaGolfs
by NanaGolfs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My original GPS was a Garmin. At the time it cost twice what this did. I replaced it 2 years ago with a larger TomTom that had Lifetime Map updates. Well, what a mistake!! On a trip to RI I missed a turn & the TomTom took me an hour to get back. Another time I was traveling North & it said South. (there are many other examples) Two weeks ago it could not get my husband & I where we were going. Fortunately I had mapped the directions on the computer. I ordered the new Garmin that day. I love that you can put in the ZIP code instead of the city. It recalculates quickly if you miss a turn. It turns on & is ready to go quickly. I've been testing it out. Really haven't gone anywhere I was unsure of, but it showed me a quicker route (with no lights), to my golf course. I'm quite pleased....I know this is more a review saying DON'T buy a TomTom. BTW our oringinal Garmin still works fine too. It's in my husband's car

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaGolfs
Vineland NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value,Directions Spot On
2/26/2014

Customer review by chaoslady

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by chaoslady
by chaoslady

This is a good GPS as far as getting you to where you need to go.I am still learning the split screen.I like the fact the junction shows you where you need to be in the lane.my problem is with the voice.you have two choices,one with the street names being called and one without.The problem is the one giving the street names says them wrong,and only if you know the street or even close to what she is saying are you going to be okay finding it.it is funny in a sic kind of way as you find yourself laughing trying to guess what she means.On the other hand the other english voice just lets you know the route but not the street name your turning onto.I am going to connect up to the garmin site and see if there are more voices to download with voice to street talk.Other than this glitch,this is a all around good garmin.I have no sense of direction and this has helped me on the interstate when the lane changes go crazy like in nashville,all within a mile and you have four lane exit changes,Garmin junction came through or I would have been in Memphis.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chaoslady
crossville,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Gps EVER
7/2/2013

Customer review by CD46

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by CD46
by CD46
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

IF YOU HAVE NEVER NEVER NEVER OWNED A GARMIN GPS, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH BUYING, PLUS THE PRICE IS GREAT, IT'S EASY TO READ, SET UP IS EASY AND YOU GET LIFETIME MAPS. THE VOICE DRIVING INSTRUCTIONS ARE FANTASTIC (DON'T WORRY IT WON'T SEND YOU OFF A CLIFF). I HAD ANOTHER BRAND WHICH PROVED TO BE HORRIBLE AND OUT IT WENT AFTER 1 FRUSTRATING YEAR. YOU HAVE TONS OF CHOICES LIKE TYPE OF CAR YOU WANT, VOICES. ETC ETC (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE SQUIRRLY VOICE THO) LOL - TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND. (I PERSONALLY DON'T SPEAK 'SQUIRREL") LOL FINAL THOUGHTS: DO NOT (!) LEAVE IT IN A HOT CAR EXPOSED (I PUT MINE UNDER MY FRONT SEAT OUT OF SIGHT WHEN NOT USING (DONT FORGET TO UNPLUG IT)! TAKE CARE YOU DO NOT SCRATCH THE SCREEN (I HAVE A SOFT SMALL TOWEL TO WRAP IT IN WHEN NOT IN USE). HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL... ;-)

Was this review helpful? (134) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CD46
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love the size & love the lifetime Map updates
11/13/2013

Customer review by PeanutsDiaz

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by PeanutsDiaz
by PeanutsDiaz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had another smaller Garmin but it was old and stopped working, I only use this one a few times, but I really like it, the only thing is that when it's giving directions it say stay to the right, when it should say turn right....but I am starting to understand when it says to stay to right, it really means turn to right...colors are great, voice is very clear and directions are good, I like the feature it also shows the speed limit in the area you are currently driving,....as sometimes there aren't enough street signs showing the speed limit....for me it's a great feature...still have to learn a lot more about it, but so far it's good, I hope it last me longer then the other one...I did buy the extended warranty...the case is really nice, the soft one, easy to put in and pull out...I haven't gotten my Insurance as of yet....I hope to get that soon...

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeanutsDiaz
Seffner, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use, large 5" screen.
10/26/2013

Customer review by IncaRose

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by IncaRose
by IncaRose
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The features of the Garmin nuvi 50LM are what sold me on it. Online order (free shipping) was delivered only two days after it was placed. Ordered a home wall charger, specifically for the Garmin nuvi 50LM, on eBay for under $6 (free shipping), so unit can be charged both in the vehicle and at home. Text-to-speech (turn-by-turn directions that speak street names) 480 x 272 pixels WQVGA color TFT with white backlight Large 5" intuitive touchscreen interface greets you with 2 choices: "Where to?" and "View Map" Over 5 million POIs plus custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest) Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls, etc.) Lane assist with junction view "Where am I?" emergency locator Built-in speed limit indicator helps you keep out of trouble Photo navigation (navigate to Geotagged photos) Choose QWERTY or ABC keyboard layout The 5" GPS features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included) Portable friction mount is an alternative to windshield mounts Non-skid silicone bottom and pliable base keeps mount secure on dashboard Garmin bundle GPS with friction mount is easily transferable from car to car

Was this review helpful? (78) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IncaRose
West Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
voice function problem
10/23/2013

Customer review by CandleSand

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by CandleSand
by CandleSand
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like most modern GPS's this one is easy to use. The problem I have with this one is that it loses it's voice. Twice now, in the month I've owned it, it's lost it's speaking function. I've been able to get it back again both times, by resetting the unit. But to do that I first have to save my Favorite addresses, then reset it, then re-load my Favorite addresses to it again.(done by connecting it to a computer) That procedure is going to be a hassle if I'm on a trip and it quits speaking again. Otherwise I am looking forward to using it on a trip I expect to be taking soon. There is a one year warranty on it so if it continues to lose it's voice function I will likely send it back to Garmin for repair, or replacement.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CandleSand
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better than "follow my nose!"
11/25/2013

Customer review by ignitor

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ignitor
by ignitor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the 1st GPS we've ever gotten. (Very late senior bloomers). I ordered usb cable to download info via the pc. The map, info was very easy to do & went smoothly. Online comparison shopping, I found the Walmart price excellent, to get lifetime maps, mounts, talk, etc. We have found it easy to use, loading destinations, touch screen. For us geezers, ease of use & clear understanding of directions was most important, & it has fulfilled that.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ignitor
Clayton, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
some good. some not so good.
8/16/2014

Customer review by cowboyskip

4.0 stars 8/16/2014 by cowboyskip
by cowboyskip
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Display is brilliantly clear and easy to read. the non-skid dashboard mount is excellent, and lane view is a must have. Takes the guesswork out of exit lanes. However.....my 5 year old Garmin displayed miles to go, arrival time, and elevation at the same time. This one makes me chose just one of the above choices. Speed limit appears to read only on interstates, with no reading on surface roads. Doesn't make sense. my old one gave constant readings that were correct within mere feet of speed limit changes. Plan on trying to work out the bugs, but the speed limit display problem could be a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cowboyskip
Macomb, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This Thing is GOOFY
9/14/2014

Customer review by Hauskapoika

3.0 stars 9/14/2014 by Hauskapoika
by Hauskapoika
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I tried out the NUVI 50LM for the first time today, and it routed me all over the place, and mostly in the completely opposite direction of where I wanted to go. I had been to this destination before which is 26 miles southwest of my home. The NUVI kept trying to send me east to Pasadena, but I wanted to go southwest to Encino, CA. Because it was steering me in the wrong direction, the nagging from the GPS got more than a little bit irritating. The voice I was using did not announce street names, so I changed to a voice that did. I used the GPS a second time today, with the new voice, and tested it to see if it could route me home correctly, and it worked fine. I used it a third time today, and it almost worked right. I used the feature for finding a gas station I had been to before, and it routed me to the station, but wanted me to go another quarter mile beyond it. ???? Your guess is as good as mine. On the other hand, this GPS is very easy to set up and save your favorites. The points of interest feature is very good too. I'll try it again tomorrow for a 40 mile trip to Beverly Hills. If I get the goofiness again, this GPS is going back to Wal Mart.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hauskapoika
Santa Clarita, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Product
11/25/2012

Customer review by Sassy222

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Sassy222
by Sassy222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought the GPS because I always seem to get lost. This product is one I would recommend. I used it on Thanksgiving to get to a destination I was unfamiliar with. I placed it on the passenger seat because I didn't have time to connect the dash mount. This product doesn't come with directions on how to use it. I would suggest taking a few minutes to familiarize yourself with this GPS. If you go to Garmin.com you can print the manual. I may just do that to see what else it can do.

Was this review helpful? (139) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sassy222
Stevens Point, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal
1/1/2013

Customer review by CAT140M

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by CAT140M
by CAT140M
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Garmi nuvi was in need of a map update, with a one time update costing $50 or lifetime updates for $90...decided to check out what a new Gramin would cost and found for a little more than the price for the lifetime update, I could get the Garmin nuvi 50LM with lifetime updates and a larger screen to boot...too good of a deal to pass up..

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAT140M
Washington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS for GA with a Friction mount
11/28/2012

Customer review by cheesecakelady24

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by cheesecakelady24
by cheesecakelady24

Bought this elsewhere before seeing the Bundle advertized at Walmart. This has the friction mount which is needed especially if you live in Ga, Al, Miss because the windshield mounts are illegal inmany states, including above. Easy GPS to understand & operate. I am 60 yrs old & found it easy to do. Directions are clear and screen is easy to see. Never have to pay for updates

Was this review helpful? (203) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheesecakelady24
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Thank God for Journey Mercies - from South - East
7/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Before I bought this product (Garmin nuvi 50LM Bundle 5" GPS w/Lifetime Map Updates and Friction Mount), I read all the reviews and comments from previous users. I had to go back to school in Chicago this summer. The only way for me to cut down on expenses and budget is to drive from Texas to Chi-town. Considering the fact that it was the longest trip I have ever made alone, I was scared. This product was SUPER AMAZING! Locating my hotel room in Memphis was difficult. Due to the road constructions, I had to re-route in different location. I got to Chicago safely. I'm still touring the cities of Illinois with my Garmin. I would super recommend it to anyone. It's not complicated to use. The only thing I did not like about this product is the price. I think it's a bit pricey for a student like me.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the 5 inch screen really helps
10/27/2013

Customer review by jpa4suns

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by jpa4suns
by jpa4suns
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the 5 in. screen really helps at our age, it is much better also with the graphics

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jpa4suns
st louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not recommended for RV use
9/2/2014

Customer review by RGV1938

2.0 stars 9/2/2014 by RGV1938
by RGV1938
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned a Tom-Tom GPS which has worked admirably with my RV. I drive a 40" Class A Winnebago Motor Home with a 2010 Saturn in Tow. I got tired of paying for updates of maps, so I decided to purchase a new device with lifetime updates. Based on a poor review of the Tom-Tom, I decided I would try the Garmin. I took delivery in Columbia, SC. I tested the unit WITHOUT the Motor Home, and it selected a route that took me through downtown Columbia. My Tom-Tom took me on the bypasses AROUND Columbia. I definitely do not need a GPS device that routes me through downtown while I am driving such a large vehicle. I looked for settings that would correct the issue, but found none, so I returned the Garmin to the store. Additionally, the graphic perspective of the Garmin was very unrealistic, nowhere close to that I had experienced with my Tom-Tom. Tom Tom also offered many useful options under settings which were not available with the Garmin. I have since ordered a Tom-Tom device with lifetime updates. I should have known better! I liked the Garmin Friction Mount, however.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RGV1938
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
5/22/2013

Customer review by TravelAddict1

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by TravelAddict1
by TravelAddict1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Really nice purchase. Love the larger screen and that it has a picture on the right of the actual exit signs, etc... very helpful at confusing interchanges. Included dash mount is great too. This was a birthday gift for my husband and he loves it! Very satisfied with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TravelAddict1
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I needed
10/5/2013

Customer review by Trekkker

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by Trekkker
by Trekkker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had Navigation service with my Sprint phone but it was no longer included in the bundle. I had come to rely on this service so I needed a replacement. I could have kept the service at a additional cost but I am so glad I went with Garmin. It does all and more than what I had and the response time to update is so much quicker. The size of screen is great and the Lifetime Updates along with the two different types of mounting make this a great bundle.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trekkker
Kansas City, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great GPS
12/31/2012

Customer review by kingmeyer

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by kingmeyer
by kingmeyer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

it came 2 days after i placed order online, great navigator the best part is it tells u which lane to need to be specially on the hi-way, its really help if u drive to area u don't know, worth every penny

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingmeyer
Enfield CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews