Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

761 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
503
4 stars
193
3 stars
26
2 stars
17
1 stars
22
1-20 of 596 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews
Great product
8/22/2013

Customer review by Lilacs1212

5.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Lilacs1212
by Lilacs1212

I bought this product to take with me on a vacation to Cape Cod. It worked great, got me where I needed to go, found local restaurants for me, and took me there. Will never go anywhere again without it. The dash mount did not work well with my car. I have a Hyundai Tucson and it wouldn't stay where I placed it. It also left what looks like a grease mark on my dash which wont wipe off. I would not recommend using it unless you have a light colored dashboard (mine is black). The windshield mount it came with worked much better. I bought the car cable separate because it didn't say that it was included, it was included with the package so I returned that. The screen is a good size for those with bad eyes and it has 2 voice options to select from (I chose the one that sounded more like a human than a computer). It was very easy to set up and register online. I would recommend buying a case to keep it in because put put mine in my purse and it got scratched from something in there.

Was this review helpful? (277) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lilacs1212
Pembroke, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
to me it's best
11/28/2012

Customer review by Crots

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Crots
by Crots

I have owned two garmins I would not settle for anything els. the big 5" screen is realy nice as a person gets older we need to be able to see what we are lookin at.

Was this review helpful? (281) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crots
Berlin NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Great GPS for GA with a Friction mount
11/28/2012

Customer review by cheesecakelady24

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by cheesecakelady24
by cheesecakelady24

Bought this elsewhere before seeing the Bundle advertized at Walmart. This has the friction mount which is needed especially if you live in Ga, Al, Miss because the windshield mounts are illegal inmany states, including above. Easy GPS to understand & operate. I am 60 yrs old & found it easy to do. Directions are clear and screen is easy to see. Never have to pay for updates

Was this review helpful? (201) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cheesecakelady24
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best Gps EVER
7/2/2013

Customer review by CD46

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by CD46
by CD46

IF YOU HAVE NEVER NEVER NEVER OWNED A GARMIN GPS, BELIEVE ME IT'S WORTH BUYING, PLUS THE PRICE IS GREAT, IT'S EASY TO READ, SET UP IS EASY AND YOU GET LIFETIME MAPS. THE VOICE DRIVING INSTRUCTIONS ARE FANTASTIC (DON'T WORRY IT WON'T SEND YOU OFF A CLIFF). I HAD ANOTHER BRAND WHICH PROVED TO BE HORRIBLE AND OUT IT WENT AFTER 1 FRUSTRATING YEAR. YOU HAVE TONS OF CHOICES LIKE TYPE OF CAR YOU WANT, VOICES. ETC ETC (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THE SQUIRRLY VOICE THO) LOL - TOO HARD TO UNDERSTAND. (I PERSONALLY DON'T SPEAK 'SQUIRREL") LOL FINAL THOUGHTS: DO NOT (!) LEAVE IT IN A HOT CAR EXPOSED (I PUT MINE UNDER MY FRONT SEAT OUT OF SIGHT WHEN NOT USING (DONT FORGET TO UNPLUG IT)! TAKE CARE YOU DO NOT SCRATCH THE SCREEN (I HAVE A SOFT SMALL TOWEL TO WRAP IT IN WHEN NOT IN USE). HOPE THIS REVIEW WAS HELPFUL... ;-)

Was this review helpful? (131) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CD46
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Product
11/25/2012

Customer review by Sassy222

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Sassy222
by Sassy222

Bought the GPS because I always seem to get lost. This product is one I would recommend. I used it on Thanksgiving to get to a destination I was unfamiliar with. I placed it on the passenger seat because I didn't have time to connect the dash mount. This product doesn't come with directions on how to use it. I would suggest taking a few minutes to familiarize yourself with this GPS. If you go to Garmin.com you can print the manual. I may just do that to see what else it can do.

Was this review helpful? (139) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sassy222
Stevens Point, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal
1/1/2013

Customer review by CAT140M

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by CAT140M
by CAT140M

My old Garmi nuvi was in need of a map update, with a one time update costing $50 or lifetime updates for $90...decided to check out what a new Gramin would cost and found for a little more than the price for the lifetime update, I could get the Garmin nuvi 50LM with lifetime updates and a larger screen to boot...too good of a deal to pass up..

Was this review helpful? (66) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CAT140M
Washington, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
voice function problem
10/23/2013

Customer review by CandleSand

4.0 stars 10/23/2013 by CandleSand
by CandleSand

Like most modern GPS's this one is easy to use. The problem I have with this one is that it loses it's voice. Twice now, in the month I've owned it, it's lost it's speaking function. I've been able to get it back again both times, by resetting the unit. But to do that I first have to save my Favorite addresses, then reset it, then re-load my Favorite addresses to it again.(done by connecting it to a computer) That procedure is going to be a hassle if I'm on a trip and it quits speaking again. Otherwise I am looking forward to using it on a trip I expect to be taking soon. There is a one year warranty on it so if it continues to lose it's voice function I will likely send it back to Garmin for repair, or replacement.

Was this review helpful? (62) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CandleSand
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/16/2012

Customer review by Jacek

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Jacek
by Jacek

I'm a novice comparing value in GPS units and I probably paid a little more than bargain hunters could have gotten it for but I didn't want to compromise and went bells and whistles. Besides it was a gift for my wife and you just don't want to mess with bargins there. Any way it works great, the friction mount works well with a flat dash board. I'd buy a second at that price if I was gifting. Delivery was very speedy and arrived a couple of days sooner than forecast.

Was this review helpful? (161) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacek
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use, large 5" screen.
10/26/2013

Customer review by IncaRose

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by IncaRose
by IncaRose

The features of the Garmin nuvi 50LM are what sold me on it. Online order (free shipping) was delivered only two days after it was placed. Ordered a home wall charger, specifically for the Garmin nuvi 50LM, on eBay for under $6 (free shipping), so unit can be charged both in the vehicle and at home. Text-to-speech (turn-by-turn directions that speak street names) 480 x 272 pixels WQVGA color TFT with white backlight Large 5" intuitive touchscreen interface greets you with 2 choices: "Where to?" and "View Map" Over 5 million POIs plus custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest) Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls, etc.) Lane assist with junction view "Where am I?" emergency locator Built-in speed limit indicator helps you keep out of trouble Photo navigation (navigate to Geotagged photos) Choose QWERTY or ABC keyboard layout The 5" GPS features a rechargeable lithium-ion battery (included) Portable friction mount is an alternative to windshield mounts Non-skid silicone bottom and pliable base keeps mount secure on dashboard Garmin bundle GPS with friction mount is easily transferable from car to car

Was this review helpful? (77) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IncaRose
West Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
better than "follow my nose!"
11/25/2013

Customer review by ignitor

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by ignitor
by ignitor

This is the 1st GPS we've ever gotten. (Very late senior bloomers). I ordered usb cable to download info via the pc. The map, info was very easy to do & went smoothly. Online comparison shopping, I found the Walmart price excellent, to get lifetime maps, mounts, talk, etc. We have found it easy to use, loading destinations, touch screen. For us geezers, ease of use & clear understanding of directions was most important, & it has fulfilled that.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ignitor
Clayton, GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/29/2012

Customer review by NanaGolfs

5.0 stars 12/29/2012 by NanaGolfs
by NanaGolfs

My original GPS was a Garmin. At the time it cost twice what this did. I replaced it 2 years ago with a larger TomTom that had Lifetime Map updates. Well, what a mistake!! On a trip to RI I missed a turn & the TomTom took me an hour to get back. Another time I was traveling North & it said South. (there are many other examples) Two weeks ago it could not get my husband & I where we were going. Fortunately I had mapped the directions on the computer. I ordered the new Garmin that day. I love that you can put in the ZIP code instead of the city. It recalculates quickly if you miss a turn. It turns on & is ready to go quickly. I've been testing it out. Really haven't gone anywhere I was unsure of, but it showed me a quicker route (with no lights), to my golf course. I'm quite pleased....I know this is more a review saying DON'T buy a TomTom. BTW our oringinal Garmin still works fine too. It's in my husband's car

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaGolfs
Vineland NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love the size & love the lifetime Map updates
11/13/2013

Customer review by PeanutsDiaz

4.0 stars 11/13/2013 by PeanutsDiaz
by PeanutsDiaz

I had another smaller Garmin but it was old and stopped working, I only use this one a few times, but I really like it, the only thing is that when it's giving directions it say stay to the right, when it should say turn right....but I am starting to understand when it says to stay to right, it really means turn to right...colors are great, voice is very clear and directions are good, I like the feature it also shows the speed limit in the area you are currently driving,....as sometimes there aren't enough street signs showing the speed limit....for me it's a great feature...still have to learn a lot more about it, but so far it's good, I hope it last me longer then the other one...I did buy the extended warranty...the case is really nice, the soft one, easy to put in and pull out...I haven't gotten my Insurance as of yet....I hope to get that soon...

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeanutsDiaz
Seffner, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great GPS
12/31/2012

Customer review by kingmeyer

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by kingmeyer
by kingmeyer

it came 2 days after i placed order online, great navigator the best part is it tells u which lane to need to be specially on the hi-way, its really help if u drive to area u don't know, worth every penny

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kingmeyer
Enfield CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the 5 inch screen really helps
10/27/2013

Customer review by jpa4suns

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by jpa4suns
by jpa4suns

the 5 in. screen really helps at our age, it is much better also with the graphics

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpa4suns
st louis, mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!
5/22/2013

Customer review by TravelAddict1

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by TravelAddict1
by TravelAddict1

Really nice purchase. Love the larger screen and that it has a picture on the right of the actual exit signs, etc... very helpful at confusing interchanges. Included dash mount is great too. This was a birthday gift for my husband and he loves it! Very satisfied with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TravelAddict1
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value,Directions Spot On
2/26/2014

Customer review by chaoslady

4.0 stars 2/26/2014 by chaoslady
by chaoslady

This is a good GPS as far as getting you to where you need to go.I am still learning the split screen.I like the fact the junction shows you where you need to be in the lane.my problem is with the voice.you have two choices,one with the street names being called and one without.The problem is the one giving the street names says them wrong,and only if you know the street or even close to what she is saying are you going to be okay finding it.it is funny in a sic kind of way as you find yourself laughing trying to guess what she means.On the other hand the other english voice just lets you know the route but not the street name your turning onto.I am going to connect up to the garmin site and see if there are more voices to download with voice to street talk.Other than this glitch,this is a all around good garmin.I have no sense of direction and this has helped me on the interstate when the lane changes go crazy like in nashville,all within a mile and you have four lane exit changes,Garmin junction came through or I would have been in Memphis.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chaoslady
crossville,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time and money
3/14/2013

Customer review by CPFan

1.0 stars 3/14/2013 by CPFan
by CPFan

I bought a Garmin 50LM GPS, first time I've had a GPS, based on having heard that Garmin has a reputation for quality and noting that another well-known site lists this model as their best seller. That many customers couldn't be wrong, I thought. Um, yes, they could. I opened the box, read the extremely brief instructions, and plugged it in to my computer, using the supplied cord. I duly set up the required software and registered it. Then it said it needed to update the maps. NINE HOURS (!) of solid computer time later, it finally said it was all updated and ready to go. Fine. I unplug it from the computer and turn it on. Only to be met with a message, something about maps not unlocked. I clicked 'OK', that being the only option offered. "No detailed maps detected on this device." !! And, "Detailed maps are required for navigation." DUH! Having tried calling customer support and learned that it would be at least a half hour wait before I could even say hello to someone, I poked around on the Garmin web site instead. After typing in a search term 'unlock maps', I finally found a page that said it would provide needed codes. All I had to do was enter my serial number and product code. Serial number, no problem. Product code? What's that? Another search (their web site is not remotely intuitive or helpful) brought up the information that what I needed was the 8 digit code found on the back of the disc. WHAT DISC?? There was no disc anywhere in this picture. I finally found my way to a page that listed my GPS and what had been loaded onto it. One was the maps listing I had been looking at for 9 hours the previous day. And beside it was an 8 digit code! So I carefully copied that onto the 'unlock maps' page--and got the message "invalid product code". It was at this point that I decided, "Life's too short! This thing is going back!!" And so it has. Fortunately my local Walmart accepted the return with no problem at all. If just trying to reach functional status was going to involve this much frustration, I could only imagine what trying to actually use it would be like. Anybody know another brand they can recommend?

Was this review helpful? (94) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CPFan
Chicago area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value
12/3/2013

Customer review by thenyougivemeanickname

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by thenyougivemeanickname
by thenyougivemeanickname

My first gps was a garmin and I led it but when ittopped working I tried a tomtom and I guess because I was use to the garmin I did not find the tomtom as user friendly. So when it stopped working I bought this and found this to be easier to go back to than going from garmin to tomtom. But I just made a trip to Huntsville and before I left home I uploaded the lastest maps and the tomtom would tell you all names of a highway and the garmin does not. So on a couple of roads here the posted name and the garmin name are different. I found out the roads have two names and garmin is correct but because the signs said something different it caused me to miss my turn. So I kind of miss the tomtom naming all the names of a street. But both seem to last about as long before something going wrong with them and both sem to cost about the same. But this one was less than one with same number nuvi 50LM that did not have the bundle so it was the best buy even though I do not use the dash mount.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thenyougivemeanickname
Tallapoosa, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great GPS system
11/13/2013

Customer review by Lasvegasbob

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by Lasvegasbob
by Lasvegasbob

I switched to Garmin from another GPS system and I am more than happy. The system I had was charging for updates and with the new Garmin I don't have to pay for that, so I would recommend that if you are looking to purchase a GPS system, go with the free updates. I am also very happy with how rapid the online order was processed. I ordered in the morning and the order was shipped that evening and I received it a few days later.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lasvegasbob
Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product for the money
12/9/2012

Customer review by countrydriver

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by countrydriver
by countrydriver

I wanted an update from a five year old Garmin and this one has fit the bill well. It even located addresses far out in the rural community.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
countrydriver
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 596 total reviews
1-20 of 596 reviews