Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 126 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

126 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

2.0 stars

126 reviews | 2.1 out of 5

26%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
12
2 stars
21
1 stars
66
1-20 of 125 total reviews
26%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
Terrible!!! Scanner stops working after 2nd use!
1/24/2016

Customer review by Jmarc

1.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Jmarc
by Jmarc

Purchased this for use as a printer/scanner but the scanner no longer works after the 2nd use. Needed to scan and send documents for medical reasons and am in a time crunch. This piece of junk fails when you need it most!!! DO NOT BUY!

Jmarc
Tempe, AZ, United States
One problem after another
2/2/2014

Customer review by Port of Agony

1.0 stars 2/2/2014 by Port of Agony
by Port of Agony

WI-FI operations on a home network, using this printer, have proven to be impossible to make the printer work on a sustainable basis. I was able to get it to enter the WI-FI network and to print once. Then everything went into a Que with statement the printer was offline. I called Canon and got a very knowledgeable rep who patiently walked me through uninstallation and installation with driver download from the Canon web site. Everything worked well AND THEN after a period of a day or so, I tried to print again. NOTHING, "printer offline." I went through the whole uninstall and reinstall routine and it worked. Then after a day, it went back to "printer offline." Obviously, I am too dumb to figure it out. YOU KNOW SOMETHING: I DO NOT WANT TO BE SMART ENOUGH TO FIGURE OUT WHY IT WILL NOT FUNCTION STEADILY. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS MACHINE TO PEOPLE LIKE ME, MAYBE "IT" EXPERTS, BUT NOT ME. My MP560 is online at another location and works well with little tweeking required.

Port of Agony
Port Angeles, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broken Wifi / Scanner / Ink Replacement / Duplex
12/2/2015

Customer review by Tiernan

1.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Tiernan
by Tiernan

Wifi: The wifi feature of this printer is lacking, not sure what the issue is exactly but it will only connect 5% of the time. Also the driver install cant find the printer on the network even if its been added as a device on the control panel. Therefore new drivers cant be installed without a USB connection. I dont use the printer often and almost every time I do I have to reset the wifi settings. Finally the scanning feature has never worked over wifi. Scanner: So far I have only managed to scan once from the printer to my laptop, it has never worked since. Ink replacement: Constantly throwing up various error numbers regarding the ink cartridges. Duplex: Works randomly and will only ever do a max of one page then jams. This is something I know a large majority of users suffer with also. Fixes I've done so far: Countless ink cartridge cleans (both cartridge and receiver) Countless driver re installs Countless wifi resets (sometimes giving up and digging out the usb cable again) Replaced the retaining clips that allow the duplex printing to take place Replaced several ink cartridges (after the third set tested in another printer to find them over half full) Summary: Awful printer that should have had a product recall.

Tiernan
Not what I expected
11/11/2015

Customer review by NikeJacket

1.0 stars 11/11/2015 by NikeJacket
by NikeJacket

I have a mac pro desktop and macbook air lopatop which connect to the printer wirelessly. Unfortunately, even though the printer is connected to my wireless network, I get error messages saying it is not connected. Any fix is temporary. Auto-on feature rarely works. Want to download the manual? Instead of a simple pdf, I am forced to install an entire program to my computer.

NikeJacket
Atlanta, GA, United States
Install process was TERRIBLE!!
10/20/2013

Customer review by Atclubb

1.0 stars 10/20/2013 by Atclubb
by Atclubb

I bought this printer to replace the MG3120 that my daughter has at college. I turned the printer on and plugged the USB cord to her Macbook. The Macbook could not automatically install the drivers for the printer. So, I popped in the CD that came with the printer. To my surprise, the CD did not contain the drivers for the printer or have the install software. Rather, it began a lengthy download of a 400 MB file. After finally downloading the file, I tried to install. It abruptly shut down after displaying an error message. Nothing else. Just quit. Pretty bad user interface. Finally went to the Canon website to download the drivers for this printer. I installed the driver and then nothing. Printer did not show up in the systems icon. Nothing. There was no message stating there is a need to restart. Nothing. I restarted the computer and there was the installed printer. Overall a very frustrating experience.

Atclubb
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product with good tech support
10/18/2015

Customer review by MyDark Chocolate

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by MyDark Chocolate
by MyDark Chocolate

I had my scanner, printer combo for a while, but did not know how to work my scanner. Customer Support helped me out. Good product, great tech support.

MyDark Chocolate
Atlanta, GA
Horrible
10/16/2015

Customer review by dmv1567

1.0 stars 10/16/2015 by dmv1567
by dmv1567

I thought this printer would be great for my needs...my needs were wireless! This printer never works unless I hook it directly to my computer. Absolutely horrible...do not waste your money!

dmv1567
Long Island, NY
A fair printer
3/16/2014

Customer review by austerus

3.0 stars 3/16/2014 by austerus
by austerus

I bought this as a cheap printer that connects via WiFi to my network and the WiFi part works great. Unlike what some people believe, the printer doesn't connect to a computer directly via WiFi, but you need a router in the middle of the network. The setup works like this: - connect one computer with drivers installed via cable to printer - setup the printer's WiFi and connect it to the router - disconnect computer from cable After this, all my computers with Windows 7 and 8 were able to detect the printer on the network without even installing drivers. WiFi was stable, in one year I only needed to reconnect it once after the printer spent two days disconnected from the power supply. My main problem with this printer is that printing is costly. Doesn't work with refilled cartridges and the color cartridge doesn't have individual sub-cartridges to replace individually.

austerus
Seattle, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT PURCHASE
9/19/2015

Customer review by DEE

1.0 stars 9/19/2015 by DEE
by DEE

I OWNED THIS PRINTER FOR LESS THAN A YEAR AND IT FAILED MISERABLY. REPLACED INK SEVERAL TIMES AFTER IT SAID INK WAS OUT AND IT STILL DID NOT WORK . OF COURSE IT CONSUMED ALL OF THE INK. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT NOR WOULD I PURCHASE IT AGAIN. SPENT WAY TO MUCH MONEY ON THIS PRINTER.

DEE
MISSISSIPPI
excellent printer
9/24/2015

Customer review by albano

5.0 stars 9/24/2015 by albano
by albano

very excellent printer, quick and convenient for our daily task and homeworks

albano
new york
Big Performance - User Friendly
8/15/2013

Customer review by NYSOFTWAREMAN

4.0 stars 8/15/2013 by NYSOFTWAREMAN
by NYSOFTWAREMAN

This is my first wireless printer. So I was hesitant about going Wi Fi. But I have to say the installation was simple. My PC and Ipad recognized the wireless device almost immediately. I did not have to touch the modem at anytime. The enclosed Canon CD Rom used for installation was very user friendly. It gave step by step detailed information during setup. The whole thing took about 10 minutes to install. As easy as the new ink cartridge setup is. That took me longer to figure out than the entire wireless installation. The print speed is much faster than my old Canon Pixma MP470. The print quality is also so much better as well. But the scanner speed seems slower than my old canon. Especially using custom settings. I am glad this is only a two ink cartridge printer. Since I am not a big fan of the six ink cartridges system. I also prefer the two ink Canons because the inks are easier to find at your local retailer. I had a question for tech support about the alternate drivers. It was answered quickly and intelligently. I have always used Canon Printers and recommend them. They offer fine quality and great customer service.

NYSOFTWAREMAN
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORST PRINTER EVER
7/29/2015

Customer review by grrrrr

1.0 stars 7/29/2015 by grrrrr
by grrrrr

I have NEVER had so many issues with a printer. It is always either OFFLINE or NOT RESPONDING. Then you go through hoops re-setting it up. AND IT HAPPENS AGAIN! I wish I never purchased it. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. I spent way too much on this for me to have to deal with all of these issues. I have to go to office supply stores to get a new printer and get things printed out because of this horrible printer. DON'T PURCHASE THIS! Further, apparently there isn't even software available for you to print off of more compact computers. WHAT IS THAT ABOUT?!

grrrrr
Okemos, Michigan
Never Got A Chance to Use It
10/29/2012

Customer review by JandAALLTHEWAY

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by JandAALLTHEWAY
by JandAALLTHEWAY

I sell on ebay and old pre owned HP finally gave out after much moving and miss use. Decided to switch to a WiFi printer for ease of use. Bought first canon printer. Was never able to use it. Was able to add it to our network and install software. But the driver would never install properly. After 10 hours of trying,a phone call to tech support, disabling firewalls,virus protection, and a WiFi password decided to carry it back and get a HP. Have used many printers and other hardware in the past, new and used, and never have had this much trouble with installing a driver. But it did not have trouble installing its many programs and folders that now need to be removed. Unless you are a Very Very tech savvy person STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JandAALLTHEWAY
White, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
disappointed
5/29/2015

Customer review by Pat

1.0 stars 5/29/2015 by Pat
by Pat

I have always had good luck with Canon but this purchase was really disappointing! I only purchased because I was in grad school and wanted duplex printing and to print from my Ipad, as well as not have another cord connected to my Mac. There was nothing wrong with my previous Canon, but I have learned the hard way! The wireless never stays connected and I have had to connect the USB cord to my Mac anyway in order to print. It worked twice printing from my Ipad, now it will not work at all!! Even getting it to print duplex is touch and go!! What happened?! I feel that I was fooled and will now buy a product that is not Canon...unfortunately.

Pat
Baltimore, MD
Worst Printer Error
2/23/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/23/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

have to say this is probably the worst printer i have ever dealt with coming from someone in the IT field. Every time i need to install this printer on a different computer i have to hook it up via usb in order to install it rather than the setting it up once and being able to connect over the network. This thing hardly sees the network when it is installed. Ever since back when i bought it back in July of 2013 i have hated this printer from the moment i got the first model and it was defective out of the box to the replacement one i currently have. I have never dreaded printing since i got this machine because i always have to ask myself if it is going to print this time. It is a frustrating piece of equipment i have dealt with in my professional career and in my personal life.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Printer - Paper Feed Fix
11/28/2014

Customer review by Sammy

5.0 stars 11/28/2014 by Sammy
by Sammy

This is a great product as long as you realize this is a budget printer. I wanted an extra printer close to my computer instead of my main printer in another room. I always had this connected as a USB so I can't complain about the WiFi since I never used it, but I will say I've had problems with the paper feeding. While I spent lengthy time manually trying to clean the printer in hopes that I could fix the paper feeding problem, I found the “utility” that comes with the printer (and downloaded separately online) completely fixes this problem. If you don't have the utility (Canon My Printer) to perform the “Roller Cleaning” you'll probably never be able to fix paper feeding problems. Each and every time, it fixed the problem for me.

Sammy
Solid inexpensive printer/scanner
10/30/2013

Customer review by Devin

4.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Devin
by Devin

I think a lot of the negative reviews on this site come from the fact that the installation procedure is, admittedly, challenging. I was surprised by how many things I needed to download in order to get the printer working (both wired and via wireless internet). I'm not sure if it is easier on PC or not (I'm running Mac OSX 10.7), but the setup might be a challenge for a non-tech-savvy user. HOWEVER, that being said, once it's installed, it is a fantastic product. It's very reliable, prints and scans quickly and effectively, and consumes less ink than a lot of other entry-level printers. Plus, its drivers do allow for configuration across a lot of different machines -- some low-cost printers have virtually no driver support and don't even run on Mac. I'm very pleased with this printer, other than the hassle involved with setting it up. Bottom line: if you're good at installing software (or know someone who is), this printer is terrific for a home or small office. I have a small office printer that cost a lot more than this printer, but this has better print quality, more features, and uses less ink. Printing via smartphone ('airprint' on iPhone), and the 3220's many other features, make this a high-end printer/scanner at a budget price.

Devin
Virgnia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrible printer
8/21/2013

Customer review by Got it wrong

1.0 stars 8/21/2013 by Got it wrong
by Got it wrong

I bought the printer for the economical price and the fact that I could use it for wi-fi printing. The wi-fi continuous stops recognizing my computer and I have to continually reset it. It is light weight weight and portable - so light-weight that it appears that it is of flimsy construction. I am REALLY worried that the paper feeder and the paper catcher are going to break whenever I need to interact with the machine, which I have to do a lot because of the constant paper jams. When it does work, it is fast. Colors are nice although I don't print photo's. Warns of low ink, but will continue to print for weeks after first warning. In fact, ink consumption is better than a lot of other printers that I have used.

Got it wrong
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does the Job Adequately
9/3/2014

Customer review by Holls

3.0 stars 9/3/2014 by Holls
by Holls

I've owned this printer for one year now. I'm happy with my purchase. It prints and scans documents well enough. My only qualms is the device is much slower than my previous all-in-one, especially when it comes to scanning. Other reviewers mention problems with the wireless function. I had this problem in the beginning. The solution that works for me when the computer appears to be "offline" is to make sure I'm selecting the correct printer from my available devices in the print dialog box. For some reason it is listed TWICE at those moments, as if I have two separate Pixma printers. There's definitely a learning curve with this one. It's not ready to go fresh out of the box.

Holls
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Software of the map
2/28/2015

Customer review by Kenni

2.0 stars 2/28/2015 by Kenni
by Kenni

You see the box says it has WIFI, that why you buy it. Convenient not to have it take space on my desk, I will not be using it every day. Canon however think that is why you buy a printer. The software is heavy and want to put itself on the desktop with "amazing" features i do not care about. I just want to print a picture or an email. But the hardest part is to set up the WIFI. Even if you get it to work, you some times have to repeat the process because it is to hard to the printer to store the information.

Kenni
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews