Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-14 of 14 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Machine!
1/7/2013

Customer review by Sewingloft

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Sewingloft
by Sewingloft

I am a professional seamstress of 32+ years. I teach sewing classes to adults as well as children. I purchased this machine for students to learn to sew and it has proven to be an excellent beginner machine as well as advanced. The girls love to embellish their projects with the decorative stitches. Operating the machine is VERY easy! It also comes with an instructional video that I show in my introductory classes that is extremely helpful not only to operate the machine but touches on basic sewing. I would not hesitate to use this machine for professional services if my regular machine was out for repair.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sewingloft
Lock Haven, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
very good performance and value
9/14/2013

Customer review by Elewpier5

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Elewpier5
by Elewpier5

My first impression of the Singer 5500 was its sleek, handsome look, logically arranged controls that are easy to figure out, and things placed where they should be. The stitch selector works well and is intuitive and easy to operate. I checked the quick start guide first, which I thought was well done, then read the operating manual, which was another story. As others have commented, I found the manual a bit confusing and lacking informative detail in some areas. Also too many languages, too much going on and not sure where to look next. A major competing model in price and function (I have one of these too and like it a lot) comes with a separate English manual that's very well done. What makes up for it though is the included DVD instructional which I think is VERY well produced. Although it features the functions of several models, it packs a lot of information that can apply to any machine. It's easy to watch and doubles as a basic sewing tutorial. The competition does not offer this, so score one big one for Singer here. Turning the machine on, I notice that the LED light is ok but not as bright as it might be. I prefer the competing model I have which has two LEDs and a more pleasing daylight color. But no big deal, it's fine. The auto-threader is a major advance, but read the manual (even better, watch the DVD) and expect to goof a couple times until you understand how it actually works. You'll wonder how you ever did without it. The needle MUST be in 00 position which is the default when you turn on the power, and needle completely up or it won't work as designed. As far as sewing it's great, quiet, feels sturdy, stitches are tight, no problems at all. The decorative stitches all worked well, and even better when I adjusted the tension (watch your DVD!) and added a bit of home-made stabilizer. It went through several layers of heavy materiel easily, but I was using the right needle, tension, and thread. Don't use old or cheap (hairy) thread, it won't like it but that's true of any machine. The feed dogs have a good bite and work well. They don't drop like they do on my similarly-priced competing brand, but a darning plate is included. The extension table is sturdy and very useful, and the hard dust cover is a nice touch. The included accessories are basic, but then so was the price I paid so I'm thrilled overall with my deal. I had one minor issue: one of the tabs that snap the accessory bin to the body was broken. Although it stayed in place fairly well anyway, Singer offered to replace it via email immediately so I'm very happy with the way things turned out. I did try to phone and yes, there was quite a wait. I didn't. So far, I'm lovin' this strong sturdy, good-looking machine with lots of functions and labor savers like the built in thread cutter. I think it's a really fine deal and a great value.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Elewpier5
Rehoboth Beach DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grand Daughter Present
3/9/2013

Customer review by Ulatalb

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Ulatalb
by Ulatalb

This machine was a gift to our Grand Daughter because she was making clothing by hand. She says she loves it and has been learning all the functions over the last two weeks. We will see.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ulatalb
Vernal Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Sewing Machine
4/23/2013

Customer review by MommaGS

5.0 stars 4/23/2013 by MommaGS
by MommaGS

The first time I used it, it broke and I had to have it fixed but since it was fixed it has been working wonderful. I LOVE my machine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommaGS
Franklinton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what Singer used to be!
6/4/2013

Customer review by ahrejjbrh

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by ahrejjbrh
by ahrejjbrh

Got this for my daughter 1 1/2 yrs ago as a gift. I have an older (mid 60's) singer that will out perform this machine any day. It works 'ok', but you have to pamper it to get it to work. Not like the older one's you can just thread and go. She started getting an error message and I called Singer. I was on hold for 45 minutes. The woman was very rude, and told me "It's your problem. You're not using it right! You can't just expect the new machines to run like the old ones." I will not buy another Singer new. Very disappointed in this maching and Singer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahrejjbrh
Savannah, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/3/2013

Customer review by FloridaChristineT

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by FloridaChristineT
by FloridaChristineT

I got this machine a few months ago to start my moms quilt for her Christmas present and it has met every expectation I could have had and the different stitches are just to cool!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaChristineT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sewing maching.
6/18/2013

Customer review by ReturningSewist

5.0 stars 6/18/2013 by ReturningSewist
by ReturningSewist

It's been a long time since I sat down with a sewing machine and this one made getting back into the swing of things extrememly easy. The instructional video is very helpful and a great refresher. Would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReturningSewist
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's a efficient machine. I would have
6/5/2013

Customer review by gogoy

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by gogoy
by gogoy

I would have liked a light on the machine for better sight of what you are sewing. Also the cover is a little funky, it still allows dust to get in.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gogoy
Corning, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great sewing machine
10/22/2013

Customer review by mrjlfuller

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by mrjlfuller
by mrjlfuller

I recently purchased this machine for my wife, and I consider her an advanced sewer. She has made a lot of woman's, men's and children's over the years. Over our mariage of 16 year she has worn out several sewing machines. Recently her old machine stopped working while making children's clothes so we decided to look for a new machine and chose the Singer 5500. Then I purchased this machine. She loves it and can't believe how easy it is to use! After all the issues with her old machine, this one works like a dream. This is definately the machine to buy, easy for beginners and good for more advanced users, too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrjlfuller
White Hall, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good
10/30/2013

Customer review by Zoewin

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by Zoewin
by Zoewin

At first had some problems with the stiches,or not stiches but what i didnt know its depens of the fabric is the needle,so i read the manual and watched the dvd,and i changed the needle because i wanted to sew denin,and now no problem at all,its a great machine for a great price $108.00

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zoewin
High point nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
To hard to operate
11/7/2013

Customer review by Jayjay126

3.0 stars 11/7/2013 by Jayjay126
by Jayjay126

Plastic broken right out of box

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jayjay126
Arlington tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Merchandise was damaged in shipping
11/19/2013

Customer review by TiaMommie

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by TiaMommie
by TiaMommie

The sewing machine was fine in itself, however during shipping it was handled improperly resulting in a damaged item. Walmart should ensure quality handling is considered for items.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TiaMommie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/20/2013

Customer review by PK67

4.0 stars 10/20/2013 by PK67
by PK67

Very nice sewing machine and easy to set up and thread. The instruction manual is well written. This machine sews like a dream! I have been sewing for 20 years and this one is my favorite so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PK67
Duluth, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst machine EVER!
10/19/2013

Customer review by iMega

1.0 stars 10/19/2013 by iMega
by iMega

Worst machine EVER! Does not run smoothly - sounds like an old chevy - kept jamming up on simple stitching and fabric. Returned!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iMega
Livingston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day