Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 21 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

21 reviews | 4 out of 5

5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Nice vacuum
12/18/2013

Customer review by HatesShopping2

4.0 stars by HatesShopping2

There are many features this vacuum has that I just love - being bagged is the best of them. I hate cleaning the canister vacuums - I'd always end up dirty and my allergies would flare. Now I don't have that problem at all - the bag is easy to remove and throw away. While some say the bag is small - it is the same size as the one my mother had back in the day. I love the way it doesn't hurt my back to vacuum now - the uprights were killing me. I would have to say the only two things that bother me about this vacuum is there is no power head attachment which would be great for my carpet, and it would have been nice if it was a little higher amp. But overall, I love this vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HatesShopping2
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product.
10/27/2013

Customer review by DCgal765

5.0 stars by DCgal765

I like the portability, the variable suction, the cord retraction, and the bag mount. I prefer bagged vacuums as they are much cleaner, but they are hard to find these days. The only thing that seems awkward is the knob to telescope the rod. It seems like it should go the other way. Happy customer.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DCgal765
Washington DC area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful vacuum for non-carpet floors
9/13/2014

Customer review by ISITPAJAMATIME

5.0 stars by ISITPAJAMATIME

As an independent housecleaner, I have been looking for a vacuum just for the sole purpose of cleaning non-carpeted flooring. I use an Oreck for the carpets. While no product is perfect, I did weigh the pros and cons of the reviews and decided to purchase it. I knew that the hose way too short, which I do hope Bissell will pay attention to customer feedback and improve. I have a sturdy, long hose from another vacuum which fits perfect at the end of the curvy black wand. Pros: Excellent suction! 10 stars (if there were!) The quietest vacuum I've ever owned or have heard. Amazing!! 10 stars Price was the cheapest anywhere. 10 stars Happy to see that it came with 5 bags. 10 stars Cons: Please Bissell, this is a great vacuum except for that short hose. Weighing 21 pounds for a bagged canister, I was a little skeptical. It does weigh more than I would like, but then I'm not planning on carrying it a lot. In summary, while no product is perfect, I am very pleased with my purchase as I believe the pros far out weigh the cons.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ISITPAJAMATIME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not optimal for plush carpets
2/18/2013

Customer review by CTowner

2.0 stars by CTowner

The vacuum does a fine job on flooring and low carpeting, but if you have plush carpets, keep in mind that their is no power roller in the head of the vacuum, so it will not do the same job as a vacuum that has that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CTowner
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/3/2013

Customer review by dgb53

5.0 stars by dgb53

I like every thing about it

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dgb53
Ankeny,IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great canister vac
11/4/2014

Customer review by Kungfusifu

5.0 stars by Kungfusifu

These days its not easy to find a small canister "bagged"vacuum that doesn't have an extra motorized carpet attachment that you don't need. This is a well made, solid product with a long cord, long extending hose and easy to find replacement bags along with a double filtration system. I am completely satisfied with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kungfusifu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Vacuum
10/30/2012

Customer review by Jonie

5.0 stars by Jonie

This is my third Bissell product. I ordered this on line, feeling quite confident, because of my previous experience with Bissell that I would like it. In my opinion, & I have many years of experience with vacuums since I am 81 is that it is an excellent value, & will give great service. That it has the variable speed ability, making it more versatile to clean different areas was an unexpected surprise. The design was well thought out & executed for ease of use & storage feature. The curved rod mentioned as a drawback in the previous review is very important, for without that you would have a rod sticking straight out like a stick & forcing you to use your hand in a very unnatural way to be able to vacuum . All in all, while it is a new product, I have tested the various features, comparing them to previous canister type products I have owned, & it far excedes the others. I was truly surprised to be able to have so much for such a relatively small amount. Blue ribbon to the Bissell designers.

Jonie
Placentia, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Loving it !!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Lizzie

5.0 stars by Lizzie

Have an old house with hardwood floors and area rugs. This vacuum has surpassed all prior canister I have ever owned. The volume of dirt it holds is amazing. Am worried about being able to find replacement bags locally, but with the capacity that these bags hold looks like it could be awhile before I have to worry about that. Thanks for a great product.

Lizzie
Scotland, CT, USA
Gender:Female
Very Good
6/15/2013

Customer review by Clamp

5.0 stars by Clamp

We replaced the wall to wall carpeting with tile in part of our condo, about 650 square ft. We needed a canister vacuum for cleaning the tile. This unit does a nice job, is quiet, light weight, and very easy to use. The set up was easy and quick. The replacement bags and filters are easy to get from Bissell's web site. Have use it for about 30 days and love it.

Clamp
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Gender:Male
I love this machine
9/29/2013

Customer review by Gma

5.0 stars by Gma

This is the best vacuum cleaner I have ever had. The storage compartment for the tools is so convenient. It is easy to maneuver around and the swivel action of the floor attachment makes cleaning a snap. The telescoping wand is a life saver for someone on the shorter side. I can reach higher objects with ease. Changing attachements is very easy. I dont mind vacuuming now. My house is so clean. It is fantactic for cleaning up pet hair (2 dogs an 1 cat). I highly recommend this machine.

Gma
Weston, Fl.
Gender:Female
Great Features
6/14/2013

Customer review by Ann 48

5.0 stars by Ann 48

I love that with one push button you can go from carpet to bare floors. Also lightweight and easy to move around. But the best feature is the extra long electrical cord, I don't have to unplug to do all my cleaning. Thank you for a great product.

Ann 48
Ellenton, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Great for the money
7/6/2012

Customer review by Vacman

4.0 stars by Vacman

For the money, this is a very nice little vacuum for bare floors but not carpeting. I've only had it for a week, but I've used it enough to know that I like everything about it except for three minor issues. The hose is too short, the crevice tool is way too short, and the curved handle is awkward when trying to use the narrow, triangular dusting/upholstery brush. But these are all common complaints with most inexpensive vacuums. And it is quieter than most vacs, but not as quiet as one of those expensive German vacs.

Vacman
Red Oak, Tx
Gender:Male
very pleased with this product
7/26/2013

Customer review by Howard 12

4.0 stars by Howard 12

This is my first tank vacuum and it is taking some time to get used to how to best pull it around. It is very quiet and the suction is very good. I like the ease of getting to the attachments and all the filters. My only complain is that I have a cat and the vacuum only balls the hair up, I have to remove the head and use the bare tube.

Comment from Consumer Care - 7/30/2013

Thanks for your feedback. I have a cat also, and there maybe hair clogged up in the power head. We recommend checking this area for a clog for better suction.

Howard 12
Hayesville, NC 28904, USA
Gender:Male
Decent machine but pricey bags
9/4/2013

Customer review by fran

4.0 stars by fran

Vacuum bag looks small and costs $4 each no matter how or where you buy them.

fran
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Glad I have a bagged vacuum
11/4/2013

Customer review by Clarry

3.0 stars by Clarry

I'd looked for a bagged vacuum -- not easy to locate. Opticlean is a good looking vacuum with relatively good suction. However, because of black on black print in the user's guide, I had to phone for assistance as I couldn't discern the location of the parts as shown. After four times of use, the power cord doesn't completely retract. Not a good track record! Also, separating the wand from the handle can be trying.

Comment from Consumer Care - 11/6/2013

Thank you for your feedback; we're sorry for the trouble. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes. For repair with the power cord, please click at the link to find a local BISSELL center. You have a one year warranty with us. http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50

Clarry
Parkville, MD, USA
Gender:Female
OK vacuum
12/27/2013

Customer review by nitwit

3.0 stars by nitwit

Pros: good suction, Style, quiet, metal base on hard floor carpet tools adds to duality, multi suction levels to suit your cleaning needs. Cons: dust bags are not hepa. Handle is cheap and uses friction to hold attachment. Does not offer a power nozzle-air or motor driven.

Comment from Consumer Care - 1/13/2014

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be forwarded for possible future changes.

nitwit
Virginia,VA
Gender:Male
Unable to find replacement bags at retail locations.
8/31/2014

Customer review by Baglessintn

3.0 stars by Baglessintn

I use the 42Q8 canister on wood floors for a small room. Can not find just replacement bags for this Opticlean at any retail locations. I don't use it that often to order online. This product is useless with out a bag.

Baglessintn
Shady Valley, TN 37688, USA
Gender:Male
Electrical Cord Retraction
7/21/2013

Customer review by sally14

2.0 stars by sally14

The electrical cord will not retract back into the canister. The handle and cleaning part of the vacuum are very heavy and difficult to maneuver around the house.

Comment from Consumer Care - 7/23/2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the trouble. Your machine has a warranty; for repair please click at the link to find a BISSELL location. http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50

sally14
amsterdam, NY 12010
Gender:Female
Bissell are on the ball
12/31/2012

Customer review by Diane

1.0 stars by Diane

I ordered a Bissell OptiClean and spare vacuum bags some time ago. Since then I have received 2 emails from Bissell recommending accessories and asking me to review this product. I certainly will once it arrives!!

Comment from Consumer Care - 1/2/2013

If your order is taking too long, please contact us at this link, so we can assist you. http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Diane
Georgia, USA
Gender:Female