Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 79 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

79 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
23
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 70 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
I like my bike for my needs.
10/3/2014

Customer review by TrailDogNight

4.0 stars 10/3/2014 by TrailDogNight
by TrailDogNight
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Okay, so here's the lowdown: Yes, you get 29" wheels, 21 speeds, front and rear suspension and front disc brakes for $200! Of course, at that price, you can expect some corners to be cut (and then you shouldn't be disappointed). I do like my bike and those 29" wheels make for a nice ride, but I wouldn't have minded more shock absorption, front and rear. Still, it's just enough, especially after I loosened the adjustment as much as I could on the rear suspension. And it may have an aluminum frame, but this bike is heavy! I also didn't find a suitable place inside the frame to mount a bottle cage, but I managed to zip-tie one nicely on the goose neck. A friend and I got the exact same bike and delivered to his house so that we had to assemble them, but they had been assembled and then disassembled only enough to ship them, so that process wasn't too nutty. All in all, we've ridden a few times on trails and we are both happy with our bikes.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrailDogNight
Los Angeles County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WARNING not worth $200
7/4/2015

Customer review by JunkBike

1.0 stars 7/4/2015 by JunkBike
by JunkBike

I have owned this bike for a month and a hald I put about 20 miles a week on it riding back and forth to work on paved roads. The front innertube popped a week after I got it. I have had to replace the rear tire due to the rubber being ultra soft and wearing out prematurely. I also had to replace the crank bearings recently due to poor craftmanship. This is an awesome bike when you first get it, but it quickly degrades and the suspension wears out. My rear shock has a slight bend to it and all the linkages are creaky. The front shock is really soft and should be stiffer. I lose alot of pedaling power up hills becauyse of this. I really wish I hadn't bought this bike, or got the 2 year repair plan. Its a real bummer. This bike was stolen from me once and without the serial number I was able to prove to the police that it was my bike by describing all the issues to the officer after it was recovered. I could have bought a better bike with the money I have spent on repairs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JunkBike
Would recommend to a friend? No
High Performance Bike
5/1/2015

Customer review by America1972

5.0 stars 5/1/2015 by America1972
by America1972

I was looking for a good quality bike, and i found it ! When I first started looking I looked everywhere, bike shops, websites, etc. The problem was I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg for one. I started thinking, back to my old piece of junk bike, but seen this bike in Walmart and liked it a lot. Then about a week later went and picked it up. When I got it home it was a sharp looking bike. The next day I took it for a spin, and it did great. I've took it on roads through the yard, and the woods. The shocks are great, and the shifting is excellent. The back brakes work fine, but i'm still wearing in the front disk brake. One problem I do see about the bike is that you might want to oil the chain a little bit, and other moving parts when you get it, so that it doesn't rust on you. The factory oil wheres off when the bike sits in the store. I would definitely recommend this bike to any one that needs a good bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
America1972
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great neighborhood bike
9/11/2015

Customer review by Stan

3.0 stars 9/11/2015 by Stan
by Stan

I bought this bike because my mountain bike I've had for 15 years is pretty wrecked. I didn't want to spend thousands of dollars at a bike shop so I went with Walmart. This bike was assembled perfectly at Walmart. The 29er tires are great! The shimano gear system shifts flawlessly. The brakes are strong and work fluidly. Even the frame suspension is very solid and works well. If your gonna be biking around the neighborhood or down smooth trails you'll love this bike for the money. However, the fork shocks are my only major complaint. They have no dampening cushion they are just springs in a tube and they compress and slam on the rebound. I took it on one serious trail and cruising down the hill I could hardly control the bike the vibrations were so bad. Honestly the bike would handle better with no fork struts. Sadly I had to return it and i will pay a little more for something I can use on the trail

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Bike
6/1/2013

Customer review by Smarty631

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Smarty631
by Smarty631
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very good bike, feels very high quality, I opted to put it together myself and i think my brake might be a little tight, but besides that it is very nice and solid. As a 29" bike it feels quite different from the 26" i had for several years, and on my old bike the gear shifter broke so it was always on the highest setting, and the highest speed on a 21 speed 26" and the highest on a 21 speed 29" are very different. The 29" is harder in my opinion, but the fact that I can shift on this one makes up for it. :P When shifting gears it doesn't skip and it doesn't have "gaps" between gears like some other bikes, and it can also go very fast quite comfortably. Also handles off-road quite well, handles bumps like a champ. Handles quite differently from my previous 26", so it takes some getting used to at first but overall I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (44) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smarty631
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for a bigger guy
5/28/2013

Customer review by Firefather

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by Firefather
by Firefather
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is quality built. I am a large guy (6'4" 280lbs) and this bike suits me just fine. The shocks are impressive and the gearing worked well enough to ride straight out of the box. (Although I will be taking it to a shop to have the gearing tuned as it seems to take a while to catch the gear selected). The frame is sturdy, although the weight restriction is 275, I have no after-thought about stressing the bike.

Was this review helpful? (111) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firefather
North Vernon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great, but far from it
4/23/2014

Customer review by UCIBikeGuy

2.0 stars 4/23/2014 by UCIBikeGuy
by UCIBikeGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Upon first seeing this bike, it looks great, and at a sub-$200 price point, it looks like an incredible value. Full gears, and front and rear suspension. It looks like a really solid bike. Unfortunately, an economics will confirm this, since the price point is so low, that results in low quality parts, and assembly. I'm no bike specialist, and my initial use of this bike was only 2 miles a day on paved roads. However, after a few days I see that the front shocks are creaking and squeaking. I take it to a bike shop, and they instantly ask how much I paid for this bike. You can see the parts used on this bike are quite cheap. The creaking I was experiencing was an internal problem in the shock, and cannot really be fixed without replacing the bike. Not only that, it's just a safety concern. I will be spending a little more money, but getting a bike that will be more durable and will last.

Was this review helpful? (35) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UCIBikeGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
29" Hyper Explorer Mountain bike, Black
6/20/2014

Customer review by BudgetBillfold

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by BudgetBillfold
by BudgetBillfold

So if your reading this you are considering this bike to purchase and you are probably on a budget just like me. I didn't have crazy expectations for this bike or any bike from a corporate chain store but you search for the best for what you can afford. I found this bike for my 200.00 budget and I've had it for a couple of weeks now and have put maybe 10 miles on it and it has been great. Riding on trails, off trails and making my way through the woods I have really enjoyed this bike. Most reviews of the negative side I read and some positives seems like people have faith in someone else's ability to assemble a mechanical components. Well let me tell you if you get this bike or any bike from a place that throws them together day after day as fast as they can, take the time to look it over yourself and make sure it's assembled right like nuts, bolts and cables are tight and lubed. I did this and I haven't had one problem with this hyper. I've beat it up and really rode this bike and haven't found any issues other that the derailleurs need minor adjustment. Clean it after each ride and keep the basics clean and lubed. I would buy this bike again and it's been great so far. Yes the parts aren't top of the line but a couple of years ago they were. So with anything take care of it and it should last. I'd say the only upgrades needed it better tires but I'll ride until these go.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BudgetBillfold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Comfortable and fit for a paved bike trail
10/6/2013

Customer review by anipilot

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by anipilot
by anipilot

I am happy with the purchase of this bike and have had this for about 3 weeks. I began to ride again almost 18 years after my high school days. I looked up all the expensive options in bike stores at Performance bikes and Bike barn and eventually settled on this because the price was very competitive. At the end it was down to Walmart and Target which had a very similar choice so I would have probably bought from Target but by now I was only choosing between models and this one appealed to me. The bike comes almost built up, needing only the front wheel, pedals and handle bar fitted. The aluminium frame is sturdy but I won't say it will last decades, particularly since the suspension is the complex 4 link. The gears tend to slip a bit on the rear derailleur but this can be taken to a bike shop to have adjusted. If you plan to use this bike on the road than I would suggest replacing the knobby tyres to slick tyres, I plan to do this soon. The only sore point on this bike for me was that there are no bottle cage screw bosses on the tube so I had to buy bottle cage adapter from amazon. Other than that this is a perfect and good quality 29" bike for the price at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (59) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anipilot
Houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Super bike for EASY FLAT rides
9/21/2013

Customer review by lovetomtb

3.0 stars 9/21/2013 by lovetomtb
by lovetomtb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, i bought this bike in a Wal-mart store for $200 then found Wal-mart.com had it for $180! Had to return one to the store and then boght it again on line. Second, this bike looks good, and was nice to ride for the price. Great for riding around my town or on our local rail-trail. I decided to buy this bike after reading the reviews. I should have listened to the reviews that said DO NOT TAKE THIS ON TECHNICAL TRAILS. I will attest to those reviews. The first technical trail i took it on (which was rated as moderate), I litteraly beat the bike apart. The rear wheel bearings were trashed (not strong enough for trails) and I even damaged the crank bearings. I took it back the next day and went to my local bike shop and got a cheaper "better" bike. Again, this bike is great for roads and flat trails, not for technical, rocky, or trails with roots etc...

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetomtb
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replaced my good ol' Giant hybrid
1/7/2016

Customer review by WooHoo

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by WooHoo
by WooHoo

This bike is a great value. I spent a ton more on a well-known brand years ago and had the usual issues. I do a lot more off-roading than that hybrid (between a road bike and off-road bike) could stand. This bike feels good to ride. I never really felt that way about my other bike. This explorer has everything. Aluminum frame, front and rear suspension, smooth, quality gears, effective brakes including a disk up front. As the prior review indicated, it's like they disassembled the bike a little to get it in the box. You have to put the wheels on (and since you're getting an off roader, you're going to be doing this a few more times), the seat, pedals, and handle bar. My assembly took about 20 minutes. Couldn't wait to ride it. And what a ride it was! WOO HOO! One of the stickers was marred during shipping. But that's nothing compared to pounding this bike's gonna get. So I didn't care about any sticker. As a matter of fact, a few too many stickers for me anyway. I peeled a couple off. The weight is heavier than I expected, but I learned that is largely due to the 29" wheels with real off-road tires. The 26" is substantially lighter, but just seemed like a kids bike to me. Yes, the Explorer does not have taps for a bottle cage. But if you're riding this bike as intended, no bottle was going to stay in that rack for long anyway. The tire compound seems very soft. Once these wear out, I would be inclined to replace with the same. It is a real pleasure to not have flats between rides like on my pricey bike which is going to charity soon.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WooHoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best bang for the buck
6/5/2013

Customer review by Zrated08

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Zrated08
by Zrated08
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me start off by saying that this is a very solid bike for anyone interested in starting out mountain biking. I chose this for certain key features; front/rear suspension, 29" rims, front disc brakes and the Shimano parts. It's hard to find a mountian with all these features in this budget price range so this definitely get points for being a good value. First the good. Like I said, the bike performs as you would expect it too. I've taken it on paved roads, dirt roads and off-roads and the suspensions were firm and doing their jobs. The gear shifters are levers that feel comfortable to use with your thumb and index and for the most part, reliable--though I did unhook my chains once while switching on an especially bumby road. Now the bad (sort of). For $200 this is a budget bike no matter how you look at it. This is especially glaring when I put it next to my Northrock mountain bike. Unlike my Northrock bike, this bike does have a "cheapnest" feel to it; the gears are not as smooth, the tires are not as wide or thick, the peddles are plastic, even the kickstand doesn't feel smooth when retracting it. Other things I've noticed is that the fork squeaks a bit and there are not holes for water bottles. I know what you must be thinking, this guy doesn't like the bike but in fact I love this bike! It does everything you need (basically) and it's cheap. For what you paid for this is a good deal. Real mountain bikes cost $2k-$6k so don't expect performance quality when you buy it. Like a Corolla, it'll get you where you want to go but it's no Lambo.

Was this review helpful? (55) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zrated08
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the price. Walmart assembled great.
4/5/2013

Customer review by DiscInHand

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by DiscInHand
by DiscInHand

OK i read all the existing reviews and others from the 26 inch Hyper Mountain bike. This is a very well built bike. I ordered it on line and waited for it to arrive at the store. Then i called and asked them to assemble it for me. I also spoke to the bike tech that was going to be putting it together for me. I had mentioned that Walmart does not get very good reviews on bike assemblies. John the bike tech assured me that he would do his best an putting it together and also asked when i would be coming in to pick it up so he could make any adjustments for me. The bike was built when i picked it up with nothing needed to be adjusted. The pedals are kind of cheap, but the seat is better that expected. I also ordered this item when the price was $219.95. The price dropped to $199.95 while i was waiting for it to arrive. I called customer service and they made the price adjustment. The people at the store can not adjust walmart.com products. I did however purchase the extended 3 year warranty for an additional $19.00. That was because of all the negative reviews i read about this bike. So far i love the bike. It has a lot of great features for a bike priced below $200.00. Money well spent. Walmart did a great job putting it together as well. 5 stars and 2 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (96) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DiscInHand
Appleton Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We Will See How Long This Bike Holds Up
7/15/2013

Customer review by ATLPurchaser

3.0 stars 7/15/2013 by ATLPurchaser
by ATLPurchaser
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Let me prefix my choice of not choosing this bike because of only the shimano rear gears being a little difficult to operate. I don't know how long they will last. I they last then this will be a great bike for the long haul. Other than that I can't say yes till more time is put in. I have ridden this bike a few times for about 45 minutes at a time, and I have had issues with the rear gears switching. The front gears work with no issues. I like the suspension, it really works great and makes for a smooth ride. The rear gears are the only thing that seems to be an area of uncertainty. I have ridden on multiple terrain surfaces and really like the ride during these outings. I guess I will do a little more research on the shimano gears. At a 29" span, this is a true "ABs" workout machine. Get ripped using this MTB.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ATLPurchaser
Metro Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Deal and you won't be dissatisfied
9/10/2015

Customer review by MikeinNB

5.0 stars 9/10/2015 by MikeinNB
by MikeinNB

I did a lot of reviewing as I was researching the differences between 26" and 29" MTBs from Big Stores and whether or not they will stand up to any long-term use. The guys who poo-poo the idea of buying an economy bike probably don't live in a house like mine and all they own is their really rad bike and all they do is write about their really rad bike. I'm 6-foot and I hover around 200 lbs and I'm in pretty good shape as I enter the mid-50s. It's just that a 26" bike felt so small under me. The 26" Mongoose I had from Walmart; and after 10 years was still in near-mint condition. I was looking for a suspension bike that could ride pavement and tightly packed trails. The larger frame and wheels make a lot of difference in comfort and traction. A larger bike feels better and the few added pounds in weight just add to the workout IMO. I purchased the bike and picked it up same day. The box fit in the back of my Trailbazer with no problem. Save for the front wheel, the bike was fully assembled so I was riding that afternoon. I replaced the seat with a comfort seat, replaced tubes and tires, and I have beat the $%^&* out of the bike. My workout ride is over 14 miles, about 1/3 of it on trails, about 800 feet of climbing, top downhill speed over 30 MPH. For the most part the bike held together. Love the disc brakes up front. I have had some wear on a bracket (traction is that good) on the rear fork, it's made of aluminum, but the manufacturer (their 800 number is listed in the owner's manual) have replaced the parts under warranty free of any charge. This is *great* economy MTB-style grownup bike for those who might venture off the roadway for a short piece every once in a while. So unless you plan to compete or ride the worst trails in your area, and all you are looking for is a decent low-cost MTB-style bike, you won't be wasting your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeinNB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the price
8/12/2014

Customer review by OCred

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by OCred
by OCred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am 6 foot 1, 245 and this is a very solid and sturdy bike. It has everything a $500 plus bike has. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OCred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Rugged bike for good price, with few issues
5/9/2013

Customer review by Solarus

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by Solarus
by Solarus

I love this bike. Got this as a gift from my family, when our little one started using a "big boy" bike with no training wheels. And, so it started with trips to bike trails and brisk neighborhood rides. I outfitted this thing with a bunch of useful gadgets, specifically the rear rack, rear cargo bag, front/middle cargo bags, bottle cage, and installed an aftermarket Bell seat with a bit more cushioning and shorter overall length. This bike cuts through rock, dirt and mud with ease. I'm a tall guy, and this monster has no issues carrying my height/weight on the trails. It is light, as the construction is all-aluminum. I love the disc brake in the front, it's very responsive and a lot neater than clamp style brakes. Suspension is absolutely superb, this bike absorbs shock so well that it almost feels like a light motorcycle. Speed shifting has its issues however. It's sort of a hit or miss, and sometimes shifting up and down a few times, with fine thumb adjustment until it gets smooth, may be required. Once you are in the gear you want and it works smooth, everything is fine... But on the trails, it's constant up and down, so getting into the exact gear you want can get tricky. Although effortlessly operated, the overall construction of shift switches worries me a little bit, as they are made of somewhat thin plastic. Overall, this is a great bike. This was purchased very well pre-assembled, and kudos to Walmart for great product.

Was this review helpful? (46) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Solarus
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Looking Bike
5/12/2015

Customer review by Kaba

5.0 stars 5/12/2015 by Kaba
by Kaba

I picked up this bike for my birthday from my local wal-mart. It was already assembled to i was able to test it out in the store before purchasing it. I love the color theme the black, gold and white looks very rugged. Its a really good looking bike and very well built. I haven't riding in 15 years so i was really excited to get this. When i got home I went over all the nuts and bolts to make sure they where tight and I put some air in the tires and off I was in the wind. Brought back so much memories of my younger days. Overall this is a nice bike and if you are think of buying it get it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kaba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
29" Hyper Mountain Bike
12/12/2015

Customer review by Fiedg

3.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Fiedg
by Fiedg

A good bike for the money, but I did need to true up the front wheel, it had a bad wobble in it, and the full suspension could sure be a bit better, but still a good value

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fiedg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
12/28/2012

Customer review by Mom0519

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Mom0519
by Mom0519
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble, lightweight, great value. Gears change smoothly. Good suspension.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom0519
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews