Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

74 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
22
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 65 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews
Great bike for a bigger guy
5/28/2013

Customer review by Firefather

4.0 stars 5/28/2013 by Firefather
by Firefather

This bike is quality built. I am a large guy (6'4" 280lbs) and this bike suits me just fine. The shocks are impressive and the gearing worked well enough to ride straight out of the box. (Although I will be taking it to a shop to have the gearing tuned as it seems to take a while to catch the gear selected). The frame is sturdy, although the weight restriction is 275, I have no after-thought about stressing the bike.

Was this review helpful? (93) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Firefather
North Vernon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bike for the price. Walmart assembled great.
4/5/2013

Customer review by DiscInHand

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by DiscInHand
by DiscInHand

OK i read all the existing reviews and others from the 26 inch Hyper Mountain bike. This is a very well built bike. I ordered it on line and waited for it to arrive at the store. Then i called and asked them to assemble it for me. I also spoke to the bike tech that was going to be putting it together for me. I had mentioned that Walmart does not get very good reviews on bike assemblies. John the bike tech assured me that he would do his best an putting it together and also asked when i would be coming in to pick it up so he could make any adjustments for me. The bike was built when i picked it up with nothing needed to be adjusted. The pedals are kind of cheap, but the seat is better that expected. I also ordered this item when the price was $219.95. The price dropped to $199.95 while i was waiting for it to arrive. I called customer service and they made the price adjustment. The people at the store can not adjust walmart.com products. I did however purchase the extended 3 year warranty for an additional $19.00. That was because of all the negative reviews i read about this bike. So far i love the bike. It has a lot of great features for a bike priced below $200.00. Money well spent. Walmart did a great job putting it together as well. 5 stars and 2 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? (81) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DiscInHand
Appleton Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best bang for the buck
6/5/2013

Customer review by Zrated08

4.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Zrated08
by Zrated08

Let me start off by saying that this is a very solid bike for anyone interested in starting out mountain biking. I chose this for certain key features; front/rear suspension, 29" rims, front disc brakes and the Shimano parts. It's hard to find a mountian with all these features in this budget price range so this definitely get points for being a good value. First the good. Like I said, the bike performs as you would expect it too. I've taken it on paved roads, dirt roads and off-roads and the suspensions were firm and doing their jobs. The gear shifters are levers that feel comfortable to use with your thumb and index and for the most part, reliable--though I did unhook my chains once while switching on an especially bumby road. Now the bad (sort of). For $200 this is a budget bike no matter how you look at it. This is especially glaring when I put it next to my Northrock mountain bike. Unlike my Northrock bike, this bike does have a "cheapnest" feel to it; the gears are not as smooth, the tires are not as wide or thick, the peddles are plastic, even the kickstand doesn't feel smooth when retracting it. Other things I've noticed is that the fork squeaks a bit and there are not holes for water bottles. I know what you must be thinking, this guy doesn't like the bike but in fact I love this bike! It does everything you need (basically) and it's cheap. For what you paid for this is a good deal. Real mountain bikes cost $2k-$6k so don't expect performance quality when you buy it. Like a Corolla, it'll get you where you want to go but it's no Lambo.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zrated08
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
29" Hyper Explorer Mountain bike, Black
6/20/2014

Customer review by BudgetBillfold

4.0 stars 6/20/2014 by BudgetBillfold
by BudgetBillfold

So if your reading this you are considering this bike to purchase and you are probably on a budget just like me. I didn't have crazy expectations for this bike or any bike from a corporate chain store but you search for the best for what you can afford. I found this bike for my 200.00 budget and I've had it for a couple of weeks now and have put maybe 10 miles on it and it has been great. Riding on trails, off trails and making my way through the woods I have really enjoyed this bike. Most reviews of the negative side I read and some positives seems like people have faith in someone else's ability to assemble a mechanical components. Well let me tell you if you get this bike or any bike from a place that throws them together day after day as fast as they can, take the time to look it over yourself and make sure it's assembled right like nuts, bolts and cables are tight and lubed. I did this and I haven't had one problem with this hyper. I've beat it up and really rode this bike and haven't found any issues other that the derailleurs need minor adjustment. Clean it after each ride and keep the basics clean and lubed. I would buy this bike again and it's been great so far. Yes the parts aren't top of the line but a couple of years ago they were. So with anything take care of it and it should last. I'd say the only upgrades needed it better tires but I'll ride until these go.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BudgetBillfold
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rugged bike for good price, with few issues
5/9/2013

Customer review by Solarus

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by Solarus
by Solarus

I love this bike. Got this as a gift from my family, when our little one started using a "big boy" bike with no training wheels. And, so it started with trips to bike trails and brisk neighborhood rides. I outfitted this thing with a bunch of useful gadgets, specifically the rear rack, rear cargo bag, front/middle cargo bags, bottle cage, and installed an aftermarket Bell seat with a bit more cushioning and shorter overall length. This bike cuts through rock, dirt and mud with ease. I'm a tall guy, and this monster has no issues carrying my height/weight on the trails. It is light, as the construction is all-aluminum. I love the disc brake in the front, it's very responsive and a lot neater than clamp style brakes. Suspension is absolutely superb, this bike absorbs shock so well that it almost feels like a light motorcycle. Speed shifting has its issues however. It's sort of a hit or miss, and sometimes shifting up and down a few times, with fine thumb adjustment until it gets smooth, may be required. Once you are in the gear you want and it works smooth, everything is fine... But on the trails, it's constant up and down, so getting into the exact gear you want can get tricky. Although effortlessly operated, the overall construction of shift switches worries me a little bit, as they are made of somewhat thin plastic. Overall, this is a great bike. This was purchased very well pre-assembled, and kudos to Walmart for great product.

Was this review helpful? (37) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Solarus
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Comfortable and fit for a paved bike trail
10/6/2013

Customer review by anipilot

4.0 stars 10/6/2013 by anipilot
by anipilot

I am happy with the purchase of this bike and have had this for about 3 weeks. I began to ride again almost 18 years after my high school days. I looked up all the expensive options in bike stores at Performance bikes and Bike barn and eventually settled on this because the price was very competitive. At the end it was down to Walmart and Target which had a very similar choice so I would have probably bought from Target but by now I was only choosing between models and this one appealed to me. The bike comes almost built up, needing only the front wheel, pedals and handle bar fitted. The aluminium frame is sturdy but I won't say it will last decades, particularly since the suspension is the complex 4 link. The gears tend to slip a bit on the rear derailleur but this can be taken to a bike shop to have adjusted. If you plan to use this bike on the road than I would suggest replacing the knobby tyres to slick tyres, I plan to do this soon. The only sore point on this bike for me was that there are no bottle cage screw bosses on the tube so I had to buy bottle cage adapter from amazon. Other than that this is a perfect and good quality 29" bike for the price at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (48) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anipilot
Houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
6/1/2013

Customer review by Smarty631

5.0 stars 6/1/2013 by Smarty631
by Smarty631

Very good bike, feels very high quality, I opted to put it together myself and i think my brake might be a little tight, but besides that it is very nice and solid. As a 29" bike it feels quite different from the 26" i had for several years, and on my old bike the gear shifter broke so it was always on the highest setting, and the highest speed on a 21 speed 26" and the highest on a 21 speed 29" are very different. The 29" is harder in my opinion, but the fact that I can shift on this one makes up for it. :P When shifting gears it doesn't skip and it doesn't have "gaps" between gears like some other bikes, and it can also go very fast quite comfortably. Also handles off-road quite well, handles bumps like a champ. Handles quite differently from my previous 26", so it takes some getting used to at first but overall I am very happy with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (39) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smarty631
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
12/28/2012

Customer review by Mom0519

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by Mom0519
by Mom0519

Easy to assemble, lightweight, great value. Gears change smoothly. Good suspension.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom0519
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks great, but far from it
4/23/2014

Customer review by UCIBikeGuy

2.0 stars 4/23/2014 by UCIBikeGuy
by UCIBikeGuy

Upon first seeing this bike, it looks great, and at a sub-$200 price point, it looks like an incredible value. Full gears, and front and rear suspension. It looks like a really solid bike. Unfortunately, an economics will confirm this, since the price point is so low, that results in low quality parts, and assembly. I'm no bike specialist, and my initial use of this bike was only 2 miles a day on paved roads. However, after a few days I see that the front shocks are creaking and squeaking. I take it to a bike shop, and they instantly ask how much I paid for this bike. You can see the parts used on this bike are quite cheap. The creaking I was experiencing was an internal problem in the shock, and cannot really be fixed without replacing the bike. Not only that, it's just a safety concern. I will be spending a little more money, but getting a bike that will be more durable and will last.

Was this review helpful? (30) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UCIBikeGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing bike for the price!
7/7/2014

Customer review by dpat3

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by dpat3
by dpat3

I purchased this bike when I was just getting into mountain biking because I wanted something new that didn't need to be fixed. I didn't want to spend thousands on a bike like those crazy people do and I found this one at Walmart. I did my research and eventually bought this one. I am very very happy with my purchase. I have ridden it hard and ridden it a lot. I have had it for 1.5 years and a couple months ago I took it on the Slick Rock trail in Moab, UT. The only things I have replaced on it was one tube and a chain. Other than that it has needed no maintenance. The value of this bike is amazing!

Was this review helpful? (51) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dpat3
Highland, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Super bike for EASY FLAT rides
9/21/2013

Customer review by lovetomtb

3.0 stars 9/21/2013 by lovetomtb
by lovetomtb

First, i bought this bike in a Wal-mart store for $200 then found Wal-mart.com had it for $180! Had to return one to the store and then boght it again on line. Second, this bike looks good, and was nice to ride for the price. Great for riding around my town or on our local rail-trail. I decided to buy this bike after reading the reviews. I should have listened to the reviews that said DO NOT TAKE THIS ON TECHNICAL TRAILS. I will attest to those reviews. The first technical trail i took it on (which was rated as moderate), I litteraly beat the bike apart. The rear wheel bearings were trashed (not strong enough for trails) and I even damaged the crank bearings. I took it back the next day and went to my local bike shop and got a cheaper "better" bike. Again, this bike is great for roads and flat trails, not for technical, rocky, or trails with roots etc...

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetomtb
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Bike for the price
7/9/2014

Customer review by fjgfjfdk

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by fjgfjfdk
by fjgfjfdk

This is a great bike. The gearing shirts very smoothly and the brakes work excellent. My only problem is that the person who assembled it before I got it shipped to my house made the rear suspension too tight which resulted in a really stiff shock, so I have to get it adjusted but its rlly not that big a deal. I've had it about a week now and it rides so smooth and amazing. I do recommend getting aluminum pedals as it comes with standard plastic ones.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fjgfjfdk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bycicle for the money
4/25/2014

Customer review by Hughen

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by Hughen
by Hughen

I would rate this bycicle a perfect 10 for the pricing. I would recommend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hughen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hyper Explorer /Rear Trailing Gear Bracket
3/22/2013

Customer review by Roostah

3.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Roostah
by Roostah

I would like to give it a great rating. The construction seems good, and a nice design, but the rear trailing gear bracket snapped off at the wheel hub, an hour after I put it together. The metal that holds it at the hub is barely a quarter inch thick, so I guess it could be a manufaturers defect, but being as I hit it with my own leg, I guess its my problem. It seems to be aluminum, so it will be harder to repair for me. If it was steel, I could weld it myself,,, but then again, if it was steel, it wouldn't have snapped so easy. When I repair it, I hope to ride it, and give it a better rating. It just seems a little flimsy, for a bike of this price range.

Was this review helpful? (15) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roostah
Plano, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super decent bike..
5/29/2013

Customer review by Just2sly

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by Just2sly
by Just2sly

Took a hole 25 minutes to put together this great looking bike. The bike was well packed by Hyper. Being a man, I seldom read instructions so I didn't need the book that came with it. Even the disc brake was simple and went together easily. Test ride was flawless, every gear was perfect. I highly recommend both Hyper bikes and Walmart. The only thing I can think of that might make it better would be a water bottle holder which obviously can be added. Enjoy..

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Just2sly
Brownsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We Will See How Long This Bike Holds Up
7/15/2013

Customer review by ATLPurchaser

3.0 stars 7/15/2013 by ATLPurchaser
by ATLPurchaser

Let me prefix my choice of not choosing this bike because of only the shimano rear gears being a little difficult to operate. I don't know how long they will last. I they last then this will be a great bike for the long haul. Other than that I can't say yes till more time is put in. I have ridden this bike a few times for about 45 minutes at a time, and I have had issues with the rear gears switching. The front gears work with no issues. I like the suspension, it really works great and makes for a smooth ride. The rear gears are the only thing that seems to be an area of uncertainty. I have ridden on multiple terrain surfaces and really like the ride during these outings. I guess I will do a little more research on the shimano gears. At a 29" span, this is a true "ABs" workout machine. Get ripped using this MTB.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATLPurchaser
Metro Atlanta, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fits my 14 year old 6'4 son!
12/28/2013

Customer review by Skandelon

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by Skandelon
by Skandelon

I was looking for a large bike for my tall son (6'4) and this fit the bill. It wasn't too difficult to put together, it took my son and I maybe 30-40 minutes or so (good bonding time). He loves it. I can't really speak to durability as we just go it, but so far so good. He never had a bike with gears so he was convinced his chain was falling off and I had to teach him about gear shifting on bikes and how that was normal. This was a good buy! And the great thing about Walmart is that it is just around the corner, so if it doesn't work we can just run it up there and get a refund! You gotta love Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skandelon
Garland, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good looking; unstable parts
6/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 6/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have only been on three (3) to two-mile rides (to and from my local post office) on this bike on the smooth streets of Irvine, CA. Today, as I began to head up to take my first mountain ride, I discovered that the bearings in the rear wheel were already loose. I imagine this is the reason the bike would not complete shifts into certain gears. I know I did not pay much for this bike, but I must admit I am disappointed that it has not traveled 10 miles, yet I must return or replace it or its parts already.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Irvine, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good For The Price
9/5/2013

Customer review by Engineerz

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by Engineerz
by Engineerz

A lot of people (I'm assuming teenagers) knock this bike because it doesn't use the current design of parts they like to change out to "upgrade". I didn't buy it to upgrade, I bought it to ride. Others downgrade it because someone didn't assemble the bike properly or they broke a part - that's not a knock on the bike! Mine came with the rear bearings improperly adjusted causing the rear wheel to wobble. 5 min with a couple of wrenches fixed that. I'm a large guy @ 6'1" 260# and this bike carries me fine. No, I'm not bmx'n on it - streets and gravel roads. I actually had to back off the shock preload to almost zero to get the shock to soak up bumps. The fork is not as good as my son's Trek, but it works ok. The Shimano shifters/derailuers work very well, and the brakes are good. The front disc brake semi-metallic pads are kind of noisy, and I'm trying to find some organic pad replacements. I replaced the seat, and got a longer seatpost and stem riser so the bike fits me, but I would have spent that $ on any bike in this price range. The kickstand is pretty wimpy so the bike will fall over leaned downhill at all, but not a big deal. My 30+ yr old Schwinn would have required new tires, cables, chain, seat, brake pads, etc., probably well over $100 to fix up, and I would have had a way out of date 10 speed w/o suspension. Overall I'm very pleased with the bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Engineerz
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike for the price
8/12/2014

Customer review by OCred

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by OCred
by OCred

I am 6 foot 1, 245 and this is a very solid and sturdy bike. It has everything a $500 plus bike has. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OCred
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1-20 of 65 reviews