Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
138
3 stars
32
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 324 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews
great product lousy shipping
11/30/2012

Customer review by mrsmmd

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by mrsmmd
by mrsmmd

Ive ordered from walmart numerous times and never had a problem, but this time i ordered this player and its great..my problem is how it was shipped, it was shipped without a shipping box..it came to my home in its original blu ray box with my address label slapped on the blu ray box and receipt paper tucked inside the lid of the blu ray box..even the fed ex guy said hed never had a shipment like that before..after this I doubt i will chance doing another order online again..i will get it directly from the store..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrsmmd
Ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Can not go wrong for a $39 Blu-Ray Player
12/3/2012

Customer review by Glock10mm

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Glock10mm
by Glock10mm

OK, the last time I bought a Blu-ray player (two years ago) it was a $39 Magnavox. It has worked flawlessly, though is a little slow on ejecting disks and starting the disk. I bought this LG for $39 just to see how it compares. Amazingly, this DVD player is about 2/3 the size of a standard Blu-ray player. It's tiny and light weight. It's so small that the power supply is not in the unit - it is in the power cable. That seemed strange to me, but hey - it works fine. I am particularly impressed with the speed of the unit. It is at least twice as fast as my 2 year old Magnavox. It loads and plays and ejects Blu-ray discs much faster. It even has a button on the remote to go straight to the main movie and play it (thus skipping the previews). So far I am very satisfied with this $39 purchase. Upconversion to 1080p from regular DVDs looks great. Blu-rays look stunning, as always. It has a front USB jack for playing multimedia files - but I haven't messed with that yet (if I ever will). I am a little nervous about how small and lightweight this little device is. We'll see if it can take the test of time. For $39 - I don't know how you could go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Glock10mm
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Firmware can render your player useless --Have fix
1/9/2013

Customer review by niko1978

1.0 stars 1/9/2013 by niko1978
by niko1978

So I went to update the firmware on the device by downloading the file from LG's website. After applying it and rebooting it went into a blue screen with update failed try again. After trying to re-download the file and everything else I could not get past this. So I found on another forum someone had the same issue. They mentioned to download the firmware for the BP120 instead from the CA site (Google BP120 firmware to get the link). The file will be called LG_BD_7200M51.ROM. Rename this LG_BD_7300M51.ROM and apply it. It will fix the issue and you should get the home page. Next download the BP125 firmware, this time rename it from LG_BD_7300M51.ROM to LG_BD_7300M51.ROM. Apply the update and power the unit back on. This will fix the issue and you will have the updated firmware. LG needs to do a better job and offer next day air on a replacement if they keep messing the firmware up. There are lots of people that have this issue.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
niko1978
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Plays Data BDR discs and USB HDD with video files
11/30/2012

Customer review by SystmMastr

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by SystmMastr
by SystmMastr

for the price, you can't beat the functionality of playing BD-R, BD-RE playback with either BD compliant structure or plain Data Discs with movie files. Played MKV, AVI, MP4, and M2TS streams. Also can read 500GB to 750GB USB HDD (portables, powered by the USB itself), but can't read my 1.5TB portable and 3TB external; just wishing. It played my HDTV recordings from Windows Media Center, converted from WTV to DVR-MS to MKV. I don't know the reliability of these players but if you need a cheap one with many playback features, then this is it. It's another story if you want Netflix streaming, 3D playback and other network features.

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SystmMastr
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Played first BD but not 2nd BD disc that we tried
1/3/2013

Customer review by ModernDecor

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by ModernDecor
by ModernDecor

The first blu-ray disc played without any problems other than a slight glitch which resolved itself at one point in the movie. The 2nd blu-ray disc we tried wouldn't even register as a movie and wouldn't play. Checked online support and found a firmware update. Downloaded it to a usb per the instructions and then tried to update the BD player to see if it would resolve the issue. The update failed. The screen instructed us to try again and contact customer support if it continued to fail. Contacted customer support after several failed attempts at loading the update and they weren't much help. They did offer to send an upgrade disc but there isn't a guarantee the patch will even address the problem with this specific disc and what happens the next time there is an update. It is stuck on the failed update screen at this point even after powering off and also tried unplugging the unit. We have a LG DVD player that frequently freezes while watching movies which is part of the reason we decided to go ahead and upgrade to a BD player. I should have known better than to purchase this brand again. Will be returning the BD player a.s.a.p.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ModernDecor
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great beginner model
12/8/2012

Customer review by MFaur

3.0 stars 12/8/2012 by MFaur
by MFaur
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is a great entry level blue ray as far as cost goes. It is also small so you don't need much room. It only has an HDMI hook up so make sure you have one on your tv before buying.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MFaur
Easton,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS!!!!!
12/25/2012

Customer review by MrsJech

1.0 stars 12/25/2012 by MrsJech
by MrsJech

It all started from the day that it arrived at my house... I ordered it for my husband for christmas and every single time that I have ordered ANYTHING online it has always came in a regular brown card board box with the product box inside of that one. Well, because of that I wasnt worried that my husband answered the door when the fed ex person knocked on the door. Everyone in this house had ordered stuff off the internet so I didnt think twice anyways The blu ray player was for my husbands xmas gift and when he opened the door the fed ex guy handed him the blu ray player box as if he had just gotten it off the shelf at walmart anyways when he hooked the stupid thing up it wouldnt play the blu ray disc's it would play the dvd's just fine but not the blu ray's. My hiusband spent almost 2 hours on xmas eve on the phone with LG and they didnt know a thing they just kept going around and around in circles. So no I wouldnt recommend this product what so ever I am taking the stupid thing back to walmart as soon as the store opens!

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsJech
Spokane WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It goes above and beyond!
11/24/2012

Customer review by joshnjoni

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by joshnjoni
by joshnjoni

This player is great! It supports bitstream, 7.1 dolby and dts audio. I would say the best thing about this player is that it supports hd movie playback from external drives, MKV, AVI, and MPG all work!

Was this review helpful? (88) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joshnjoni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Disappointed
11/26/2012

Customer review by BirdDog4

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by BirdDog4
by BirdDog4

After having menu problems with a Toshiba HDMI dvd player, I was hoping to pair this with my new LG HD tv which I love, but I'm very disappointed with it's performance. I mostly play finalized recorded dvd media on a 2nd unit, to extend the life of my DVD recorder. I know the formatting is different from dvd and I'm a novice at blu-ray but I was unable to get anything but a picture with black bars or letter boxes or a very fuzzy full screen picture. The LG tv aspect settings seem to be over driven by the the player so I wasn't able to make any adjustments there. I called the India based script driven customer service and they weren't able to solve the problem. It seems to play commercial dvd's ok but the picture is no better than my dvd player. I'm returning this ASAP. Also note unlike most players, for better or worse this 12v DC with a corded transformer. This unit would be good for anyone who uses it as a blu-ray player only.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BirdDog4
Calif
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great deal.
12/10/2012

Customer review by coralman

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by coralman
by coralman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this as a Black Friday deal and so far it has worked fine. I've played both blu-rays and dvds in it with no problems. It's a small unit and takes up very little space. I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coralman
Coralville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the trouble, Doesn't play all Blu-ray's!
11/24/2012

Customer review by 88NATE

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by 88NATE
by 88NATE

I bought one at black friday for the price i thot it was a fair deal for a blu-ray player with No Apps or Internet access, took it home powered up fine and seemed to be doing it's job but when i tryed to play blu-ray's only about 1 out of 4 actually read and when it didn't it would say error and eject it out and i know it's Not my blu-ray disks because there is no scratches on any of them and they work great on my other player so i took it back paid $20 more and got the $58 LG BP225 instead and have not had a problem since!.

Was this review helpful? (147) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
88NATE
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The thing is NOT for everyone.
3/11/2013

Customer review by JPCusick

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by JPCusick
by JPCusick

It runs on a DC converter (as like that on a cell phone charger) so I unplug it when it gets turned off (but it does not say to unplug it), because I know the DC converter keeps running with the player is turned off. It will get stuck some times for simple reasons, like put in a USB device while a DVD is not finished playing and the player can not adjust to such confusion, so I have to eject the DVD and then the USB worked fine. Plus an old DVD will not play as HD as the up-convert does not perform miracles. But I am still happy with it as it is low cost and it does play blu-ray HD very nicely, and it plays an old DVD fine, and the USB option is quite cool, also I am a single man who can deal with the silly complications like pulling the plug after each use. So if you have a family member who has trouble changing batteries or if you have a family member who panics because the electronics needs tinkering sometimes - then they might need a more perfect player than this one. Otherwise I like the player and I use it often and works okay - FOR ME.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPCusick
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Be Aware it doesn't include necessary cord
11/26/2012

Customer review by laharmon

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by laharmon
by laharmon

Great Blu-Ray player for the price. No problems playing discs and the picture quality is excellent. Just be aware that it doesn't come with the necessary HDMI cable to connect it to the TV. I got lucky I already had one. If you don't you will need to buy one!

Was this review helpful? (117) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laharmon
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Meets and Exceeds what I was expecting
2/18/2013

Customer review by Seredetia

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by Seredetia
by Seredetia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Usually, with electronics, you truly get what you pay for. Fortunately for me, this was not the case at all. I bought this Blu Ray player for my children who are the most abusive little things in the world. Not wanting to shell out a king's ransom for a children's "movie viewer," I selected this little gem from LG. What a great decision! It plays movies as expected and has taken a fair amount of abuse already (my three-year-old decided she wanted to put a movie in by herself and ripped off the protective panel where the discs are placed - I fixed it with no problem). I'm sure it wouldn't take a throw across the playroom, but I'm not sure I know of many electronics that would. I don't expect it to last long, but not because of what it is. My kids are just destructive! The picture quality output is nice and the picture doesn't look any different than an expensive player. I would highly recommend this product as it does exactly what it should with none of the bells and whistles. If you want wifi, hook a PC to your TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Seredetia
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
12/25/2012

Customer review by Shoppergirl624

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Shoppergirl624
by Shoppergirl624
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We needed an inexpensive Blu-ray player since it will be in a location not used much. It is easy to set up and use, and for under $40 the price point was perfect! A good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shoppergirl624
McHenry, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very inexpensive, works well
12/7/2012

Customer review by DigDug2501

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DigDug2501
by DigDug2501
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this for about $40 which included a HDMI cable. It was a steal for that price. The player is no-frills (no WIFI, Netflix, apps, etc), it just plays DVDs and Bluray, and reasonably well for that matter. One little unexpected perk is its ability to play video or audio files off a USB port. One can put files on a USB drive and plug it in the port in the front of the player. No apparent lag when done that way, in contrast to the not always reliable video streaming over a wireless network (for example using Plex or some other media server).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DigDug2501
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/11/2012

Customer review by AB8631

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by AB8631
by AB8631

Bought this blu ray player for cyber Monday thinking it was a fantastic deal being under $40. With a very large DVD collection, I liked the thought of still being able to play all of the movies that I've collected over the years in HD without having to buy them again in a different format. This blu ray player will play MAYBE 20 minutes of a DVD before freezing and continuously attempting to read the DVDs until you're forced to shut it off or unplug it. Some DVDs wouldn't even play at all because it couldn't read them. I thought maybe some had scratches or imperfections that were causing problems, but the player has this issue even with brand new DVDs right out of the packaging. Even for a cheap $40 this blu ray player isn't worth the trouble. I will definitely be returning this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AB8631
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Piece of garbage - won't play anything.
1/14/2013

Customer review by Granadina

1.0 stars 1/14/2013 by Granadina
by Granadina

I got this on Black Friday and used it that night. Worked fine. Hadn't used it since then until last night. Now it won't even register on my TV (says "not support"), won't play DVD or Blu-Ray and home screen won't even show up on my TV. I've tried both of my HDMI cables on my streaming device, and both work fine, plus I've tried all four HDMI ports on the back of my TV and all work fine with the streaming device. Therefore, it is for sure something with the player. My recommendation: stay far, far away from this hunk of junk. Not worth the hassle. Spend the extra money on one that actually lasts longer than ONE use. SMH. Apparently many, many people have had issues with this model (not just those who got it from Wal-Mart). I'm waiting for a response from LG technical support right now. We'll see what happens.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granadina
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great Inexpensive Blu-ray/DVD/Cd Player
1/24/2013

Customer review by GramX

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by GramX
by GramX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This player installed easily and works beautifully. For anyone who has a "Smart TV with WiFi," this Blu-ray Player is all you need. To have it handy for reference, I also went on-line and printed the Owners Manual. This I recommend to all purchasers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GramX
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by BigBen80

1.0 stars 12/8/2012 by BigBen80
by BigBen80

I just puchased this model as well as the bp325 3d blu-ray player. I took the 3d player back last week for no picture. today I hooked up this model and it wouldn't read any disc. I called the 1-800lg support number on the box and they told me "you don't want this model. It's a basic model mass produced for black friday" I couldn't believe they said that but I should've known. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigBen80
Olympia Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews