Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

500 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
280
4 stars
138
3 stars
32
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 324 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews
Plays Data BDR discs and USB HDD with video files
11/30/2012

Customer review by SystmMastr

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by SystmMastr
by SystmMastr

for the price, you can't beat the functionality of playing BD-R, BD-RE playback with either BD compliant structure or plain Data Discs with movie files. Played MKV, AVI, MP4, and M2TS streams. Also can read 500GB to 750GB USB HDD (portables, powered by the USB itself), but can't read my 1.5TB portable and 3TB external; just wishing. It played my HDTV recordings from Windows Media Center, converted from WTV to DVR-MS to MKV. I don't know the reliability of these players but if you need a cheap one with many playback features, then this is it. It's another story if you want Netflix streaming, 3D playback and other network features.

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SystmMastr
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
It goes above and beyond!
11/24/2012

Customer review by joshnjoni

5.0 stars 11/24/2012 by joshnjoni
by joshnjoni

This player is great! It supports bitstream, 7.1 dolby and dts audio. I would say the best thing about this player is that it supports hd movie playback from external drives, MKV, AVI, and MPG all work!

Was this review helpful? (88) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joshnjoni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Be Aware it doesn't include necessary cord
11/26/2012

Customer review by laharmon

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by laharmon
by laharmon

Great Blu-Ray player for the price. No problems playing discs and the picture quality is excellent. Just be aware that it doesn't come with the necessary HDMI cable to connect it to the TV. I got lucky I already had one. If you don't you will need to buy one!

Was this review helpful? (117) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laharmon
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the trouble, Doesn't play all Blu-ray's!
11/24/2012

Customer review by 88NATE

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by 88NATE
by 88NATE

I bought one at black friday for the price i thot it was a fair deal for a blu-ray player with No Apps or Internet access, took it home powered up fine and seemed to be doing it's job but when i tryed to play blu-ray's only about 1 out of 4 actually read and when it didn't it would say error and eject it out and i know it's Not my blu-ray disks because there is no scratches on any of them and they work great on my other player so i took it back paid $20 more and got the $58 LG BP225 instead and have not had a problem since!.

Was this review helpful? (147) (59)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
88NATE
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great beginner model
12/8/2012

Customer review by MFaur

3.0 stars 12/8/2012 by MFaur
by MFaur

It is a great entry level blue ray as far as cost goes. It is also small so you don't need much room. It only has an HDMI hook up so make sure you have one on your tv before buying.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MFaur
Easton,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can not go wrong for a $39 Blu-Ray Player
12/3/2012

Customer review by Glock10mm

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Glock10mm
by Glock10mm

OK, the last time I bought a Blu-ray player (two years ago) it was a $39 Magnavox. It has worked flawlessly, though is a little slow on ejecting disks and starting the disk. I bought this LG for $39 just to see how it compares. Amazingly, this DVD player is about 2/3 the size of a standard Blu-ray player. It's tiny and light weight. It's so small that the power supply is not in the unit - it is in the power cable. That seemed strange to me, but hey - it works fine. I am particularly impressed with the speed of the unit. It is at least twice as fast as my 2 year old Magnavox. It loads and plays and ejects Blu-ray discs much faster. It even has a button on the remote to go straight to the main movie and play it (thus skipping the previews). So far I am very satisfied with this $39 purchase. Upconversion to 1080p from regular DVDs looks great. Blu-rays look stunning, as always. It has a front USB jack for playing multimedia files - but I haven't messed with that yet (if I ever will). I am a little nervous about how small and lightweight this little device is. We'll see if it can take the test of time. For $39 - I don't know how you could go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glock10mm
Rapid City, SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great deal.
12/10/2012

Customer review by coralman

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by coralman
by coralman

I got this as a Black Friday deal and so far it has worked fine. I've played both blu-rays and dvds in it with no problems. It's a small unit and takes up very little space. I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coralman
Coralville, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/8/2012

Customer review by BigBen80

1.0 stars 12/8/2012 by BigBen80
by BigBen80

I just puchased this model as well as the bp325 3d blu-ray player. I took the 3d player back last week for no picture. today I hooked up this model and it wouldn't read any disc. I called the 1-800lg support number on the box and they told me "you don't want this model. It's a basic model mass produced for black friday" I couldn't believe they said that but I should've known. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBen80
Olympia Wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great Value
12/25/2012

Customer review by Shoppergirl624

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Shoppergirl624
by Shoppergirl624

We needed an inexpensive Blu-ray player since it will be in a location not used much. It is easy to set up and use, and for under $40 the price point was perfect! A good gift idea.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoppergirl624
McHenry, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/15/2012

Customer review by Monique37

4.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Monique37
by Monique37

This is a Christmas gift for my son, so I have not used it yet. One thing i would recommend is you will need a HDMI cord with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monique37
Shreveport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very inexpensive, works well
12/7/2012

Customer review by DigDug2501

4.0 stars 12/7/2012 by DigDug2501
by DigDug2501

I got this for about $40 which included a HDMI cable. It was a steal for that price. The player is no-frills (no WIFI, Netflix, apps, etc), it just plays DVDs and Bluray, and reasonably well for that matter. One little unexpected perk is its ability to play video or audio files off a USB port. One can put files on a USB drive and plug it in the port in the front of the player. No apparent lag when done that way, in contrast to the not always reliable video streaming over a wireless network (for example using Plex or some other media server).

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DigDug2501
DFW, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does not play newer Blu-Ray DVD's
1/23/2013

Customer review by momof2boys68

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by momof2boys68
by momof2boys68

I bought this on Thanksgiving day. I should have known it was too good to be true. It does play regular dvd's with no problem. We did not have any Blu-Ray dvd's until after Christmas when the boys opened their gifts.We were away from home for Christmas and when we got home we finally got to use it. It started playing the Blu-Ray dvd and then quit. I thought it was the disc, so I took it back to the store to exchange it. I brought it home and it did the same thing. Before taking the player back to the store I thought why not call customer service. BAD idea. They did nothing but give me the run around. The first time I called them was 1/2/13...after 4-5 phone calls and faxing my receipt in twice (with them saying it was missing some data or another) I asked to talk to a manager. He gets on the phone and tells me they called the local store to verify the receipt because they could not see the name of the store and the month of the date purchased on the receipt. Finally, after 3 weeks they say they will get it sent to the right department...we shall see. I have heard that every other time they spoke with me. Originally the person told me it would take 7 days from start to finish. She LIED. I am currently waiting for them to call me back within 4-5 business days for a call from the DR (defective returns) department. I have heard so many stories I doubt I will ever get my player replaced. We have a LG tv and they synced automatically bt this issue with customer service makes me not want to buy another LG product again. Just terrible service. They need to make a quicker and easier way to do a return. The guy I talked to today admitted that they know the firmware is bad and they are still telling folks to do it. What the heck? I know it is not life or death, but my kids have not yet been able to watch their movie and it has been down for 3 weeks...and who knows how much longer the process will take. Good luck, that is all I have to say!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momof2boys68
Pekin, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Played first BD but not 2nd BD disc that we tried
1/3/2013

Customer review by ModernDecor

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by ModernDecor
by ModernDecor

The first blu-ray disc played without any problems other than a slight glitch which resolved itself at one point in the movie. The 2nd blu-ray disc we tried wouldn't even register as a movie and wouldn't play. Checked online support and found a firmware update. Downloaded it to a usb per the instructions and then tried to update the BD player to see if it would resolve the issue. The update failed. The screen instructed us to try again and contact customer support if it continued to fail. Contacted customer support after several failed attempts at loading the update and they weren't much help. They did offer to send an upgrade disc but there isn't a guarantee the patch will even address the problem with this specific disc and what happens the next time there is an update. It is stuck on the failed update screen at this point even after powering off and also tried unplugging the unit. We have a LG DVD player that frequently freezes while watching movies which is part of the reason we decided to go ahead and upgrade to a BD player. I should have known better than to purchase this brand again. Will be returning the BD player a.s.a.p.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ModernDecor
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/11/2012

Customer review by AB8631

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by AB8631
by AB8631

Bought this blu ray player for cyber Monday thinking it was a fantastic deal being under $40. With a very large DVD collection, I liked the thought of still being able to play all of the movies that I've collected over the years in HD without having to buy them again in a different format. This blu ray player will play MAYBE 20 minutes of a DVD before freezing and continuously attempting to read the DVDs until you're forced to shut it off or unplug it. Some DVDs wouldn't even play at all because it couldn't read them. I thought maybe some had scratches or imperfections that were causing problems, but the player has this issue even with brand new DVDs right out of the packaging. Even for a cheap $40 this blu ray player isn't worth the trouble. I will definitely be returning this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AB8631
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Inexpensive Blu-ray/DVD/Cd Player
1/24/2013

Customer review by GramX

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by GramX
by GramX

This player installed easily and works beautifully. For anyone who has a "Smart TV with WiFi," this Blu-ray Player is all you need. To have it handy for reference, I also went on-line and printed the Owners Manual. This I recommend to all purchasers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GramX
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does a good job
12/25/2012

Customer review by Anordinaryguy

4.0 stars 12/25/2012 by Anordinaryguy
by Anordinaryguy

For a low cost, no frills DVP it does a really good job

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anordinaryguy
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Firmware can render your player useless --Have fix
1/9/2013

Customer review by niko1978

1.0 stars 1/9/2013 by niko1978
by niko1978

So I went to update the firmware on the device by downloading the file from LG's website. After applying it and rebooting it went into a blue screen with update failed try again. After trying to re-download the file and everything else I could not get past this. So I found on another forum someone had the same issue. They mentioned to download the firmware for the BP120 instead from the CA site (Google BP120 firmware to get the link). The file will be called LG_BD_7200M51.ROM. Rename this LG_BD_7300M51.ROM and apply it. It will fix the issue and you should get the home page. Next download the BP125 firmware, this time rename it from LG_BD_7300M51.ROM to LG_BD_7300M51.ROM. Apply the update and power the unit back on. This will fix the issue and you will have the updated firmware. LG needs to do a better job and offer next day air on a replacement if they keep messing the firmware up. There are lots of people that have this issue.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
niko1978
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Im Satisfied
1/29/2013

Customer review by rebel11

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by rebel11
by rebel11

I love the size very easy to install, Instructions are simple and fast delivery

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rebel11
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i was hesitant because of other reviews
1/31/2013

Customer review by kathy5512

5.0 stars 1/31/2013 by kathy5512
by kathy5512

but figured i"d give it a try. had to re-plug the hdmi cable (not included) but works great so far. love it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kathy5512
long island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome and easy to install.
1/30/2013

Customer review by KJKS

4.0 stars 1/30/2013 by KJKS
by KJKS

We love our blu ray player! It plays a great picture for both blu ray and DVD movies. It's nice and compact!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJKS
Richland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 324 total reviews
1-20 of 324 reviews