Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 613 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

613 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

613 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
403
4 stars
113
3 stars
29
2 stars
24
1 stars
44
1-20 of 610 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 610 total reviews
1-20 of 610 reviews
Much lighter...
11/17/2013

Customer review by BoatOn

4.0 stars 11/17/2013 by BoatOn
by BoatOn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Warmth without bulky weight. This replaced a (much heavier) Sunbeam electric BLANKET that dated way back to the 1980's(AD)! That blanket, perhaps from years of laundering, reached a point where it was down to just two settings. OFF and BROIL. This new Plush model warms very quickly. I prefer to pre-heat the (flannel sheets) bed then switch it off when crashing. Most often the better half throttles her side down to L (low) for sleeping. The higher settings, on the controls, I suspect are for toasted/grilled cheese or maybe chips and cheese or nachos. Very pleased with product/purchase thus far. *every day use during the ice-age months here in Michigan. Go BLUE!

Was this review helpful? (317) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoatOn
Kentwood, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fabric Pulls Causing Rips
7/8/2016

Customer review by cmd412

1.0 stars 7/8/2016 by cmd412
by cmd412

Defective Fabric --- The Sunbeam Electric Heated Plush Blanket is made out of extremely thin, flimsy fabric that pulls VERY easily which causes rips in the fabric that will show the electrical cords inside. The threads pulled which looked terrible but it didn't actually rip until it was several days after the three month warranty expired. I contacted Sunbeam because they advertise a three YEAR warranty but they wanted me to ship THEIR defective blanket back at MY expense so it could be REPAIRED which is impossible. My photos PROVE the blanket is defective. I also submitted a copy of my Walmart.com receipt and the Fed Ex shipping label that PROVED I purchased this blanket.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cmd412
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sunbeam Elctrc Blnkt Twin size $53.96="too much $"
1/15/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 1/15/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only reason why I don't recommend this product to anyone any longer as I did before, is because I get the same answer from everyone ~>"Too Expensive". The fact is that the cost of the electric blanket is a bit high; but I needed it for this (winter) time of the year. I also knew I was going to have NO HEAT for a while. I am glad I live in California because the cold season does not last that long but this blanket overall did serve it's purpose.

Was this review helpful? (41) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely Fantastic!
12/9/2014

Customer review by MozelTov

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by MozelTov
by MozelTov

I had a 10-year-old Sunbeam electric blanket that finally gave out. It had thick wires and it felt like your toes were scraping against one of those old washboards. I hated that feeling and was reluctant to buy another Sunbeam. However, this one is quantum leap forward (it's also a different model---a better one. They make, I think, four kinds with different fabric). You can't feel the wires through the top sheet and this one can get much hotter than the one I had---in fact, so hot on High that I only use that setting to pre-warm the bed. Tip: Put your pillow on the blanket when it's pre-warming and it will heat up so you don't have to sink into a cold pillow. The blanket, itself, is of a very lightweight, inherently warm fabric and is not at all heavy on your feet or body. If you need extra warmth on your feet, you can throw a very lightweight material over the bottom of the bed and it will increase the heat just under it. If this holds up, I think I've finally found my dream blanket.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MozelTov
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good and even heat distribution.
12/24/2013

Customer review by TuscGuy

3.0 stars 12/24/2013 by TuscGuy
by TuscGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a king size bed and always have a problem with cold spots. This electric blanket works well and has an even heat distribution. No more cold spots! The size is good, but it barely covers my extra deep mattress, so I can't imagine buying a size down, as some reviewers suggested. The blanket works well! I previously slept with three quilts and a comforter on my bed. Now, I have a quilt, the electric blanket, and then a second quilt on top. (I like the weight of the quilts.) I set the blanket on two and it is extremely comfortable. The blanket is soft and stretchy, but that means you can feel and see the wires. For me, this is no problem, but I can understand it may bother some folks. There is a fair bit of "shedding" with this blanket, but that is normal with this type of material. Controls are easy to use, but the electrical cords are heavy and it does not take much for the control to fall off the side table. I had to secure the cords to the side tables to prevent them falling off.

Was this review helpful? (72) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TuscGuy
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heated Blankets keep you warm!
10/17/2015

Customer review by ocsandy

3.0 stars 10/17/2015 by ocsandy
by ocsandy

They provide a soothing warmth on cold nights, while allowing for the room temp to be kept lower, saving utility costs. This blanket, though labeled as plush, is not plush, but actually a very thin blanket. Not a great concern as you want another blanket or two over top of this one anyway. This model offers 10 heat settings, while the less expensive model offers only 5. Having tried that one, I found that 5 settings do not give enough variance of temps, as one setting will be to hot and another not warm enough. The 10 setting unit allows for better temp control. I would advise spending the few extra dollars for that feature. The only negative I have found is that they do not last very long. Sunbeam boasts a 5 year warranty, but I have not found that to be of value when the blanket starts to lose it's heating ability. I seem to get 2-3 years out of a blanket, before it loses it's ability to heat. During that length of time, they work well and provide great comfort.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 10/19/2015

Thank you for sharing your review. Your feedback is very important to us, and I'm sorry to hear that you've had problems with your blanket not heating. Our blankets do carry a 5 year warranty from the date of purchase, and we will be more than happy to help you with this. Please give us a call at 1-800-892-7684. We're here Monday-Friday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

ocsandy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent blanket - NO PREHEAT ON THIS
1/2/2014

Customer review by DFWAndy

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by DFWAndy
by DFWAndy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Despite the clear advertisement of having a preheat feature this blanket DOES NOT have that feature. In all honesty the preheat was the number 1 reason I purchased it. Our old Sunbeam would not get warm unless you were under the covers and that was quite frustrating so when I saw preheat I was all about that! I was quite disappointed when I got this and it didn't have said feature. HOWEVER! I give this the 5-star rating because it absolutely does NOT need preheat. This baby gets warm and it gets there QUICK. Turn it on 20 min before climbing in to bed and - wow, sheets are toasty warm. One big learning-curve is how warm "plush" is. While this blanket is extremely thin it is VERRRY warm, even w/o the juice turned on. We used to have a light, woven blanket on top of the electric - had to take that off (we have another sheet above that). Anyway, great blanket - love how incredibly soft and warm it is.

Was this review helpful? (139) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DFWAndy
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Soft blanket, a bit thin, too short of life span--
11/5/2013

Customer review by Jamison241

3.0 stars 11/5/2013 by Jamison241
by Jamison241

I like the electric blankets. I always have one. ALWAYS! The issues with this one is the blanket is a bit thin, so you feel the wires. That I can deal with--no big deal for me! My real issue with this blanket is that I am always having to buy another one, because it simply STOPS working. I am VERY LUCKY if I get a Season out of this Blanket--meaning 3-4 months. I have never bothered or even checked Warranty info, but I will look into that tomorrow, as I am headed to get another from somewhere and will make sure it has a full year Warranty and is a simple process to be replaced. The longevity of this product could seriously use some looking into. I am never without an Electric Blanket and love that the softer ones are made now, but to thicken them a bit and have them last longer would make this a GREAT PRODUCT and I would then give it a perfect Review!

Was this review helpful? (118) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamison241
Powder Springs, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Warranty for what?
10/28/2013

Customer review by kansasgirll

3.0 stars 10/28/2013 by kansasgirll
by kansasgirll

I bought this product a year ago and it worked for a couple of months and did a very good job. I soon got a short in the wire and tried to go online with sunbeam to replace the cord/controller. I was told that the inital cord/controller would cost more than the blanket it self. I couldn't believe it. I was also told that I could not just order another cord, but that I would have to send in the whole blanket. I'm sitting there like really, that is too much, what is the warranty for. So then the rep from sunbeam proceeds to tell me that she would have to give me a completely different address to send in the blanket to, not the one I see on the internet. This is too much for repairs, I told her it's best just to go buy another electric blanket, basically another brand. Too disappointed with this, but it makes a nice throw!

Was this review helpful? (169) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kansasgirll
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Sunbeam Electric Blanket
10/21/2013

Customer review by Jaymil007

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Jaymil007
by Jaymil007
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This model is very thin. It warms the bed nicely. Even at lower settings. But, do not expect it to keep you warm if you shut it off. It is too thin for that. You can see where the wires are. My old one was much thicker and we did not need to keep it on all night to keep us warm. We got what we paid for. Something to warm up the bed. The down comforter does the rest. If you want an electric blanket to warm the bed and then keep you warm after you shut it off, go for the better model that is much thicker. It has a 5 year warranty but, you have to ship it out of state somewhere and they will repair or replace it and then send it back. No time specified as to how long this would be. We used the old one, still under warranty, as a bed for our cat. We could not be bothered to pay for the shipping and then wait for an unspecified length of time to get it back.

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaymil007
Brockton, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heat control dial is hard to turn
1/1/2014

Customer review by comets

1.0 stars 1/1/2014 by comets
by comets

We have used Sunbeam electric blankets/throws for years. This one makes 4 currently being used in our home. Worst design ever. Temperature control dial is flush with base and very hard to turn. Heavy pressure needed. To change while in the bed you must pick up with one hand and turn with other hand. Electric cord is very heavy, stiff and bulky. Control is very light. Cord is so heavy that it pulls the control off the night stand. Only positive features are it is a lightweight blanket and will really get hot. With setting on 4, woke up in middle of night sweating. Not the quality we have come to expect from Sunbeam electric blankets over the years.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
comets
Clayton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Item. Cozy fabric but very thin
10/27/2013

Customer review by greenvalley22

4.0 stars 10/27/2013 by greenvalley22
by greenvalley22
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quality: This blanket warms the bed nicely even in lower settings, but is very thin, you can feel the wires on you.. If you shut it off through the night it will not keep you warm. The previous one I had was thicker and would keep you warm even if it was off, also you could not feel the wires. The Plush Fabric is lovely, very soft but should be thicker. Price: The price could be lower because of the thickness (you can feel the wires on you) The packing and delivery: The packing was good, the box containing the blanket was had no signs of bad handling. The delivery was as expected, it arrived on time.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greenvalley22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful blanket!
10/5/2014

Customer review by CozyMozy

4.0 stars 10/5/2014 by CozyMozy
by CozyMozy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read the reviews and compared different ones before I bought this one. I'll admit that the price/being on sale was my main reason for this purchase. With that being said, I think it is wonderful. I'm sure there are better ones out there, but it gets the job done. Its thin, so you can feel the wires, but it isn't a big deal since won't feel them if its on you; however, even with it turned off, it is pretty warm. I found that using it has a base, with another blanket is very toasty! I will say that it claims to have a pre-heat setting, but this blanket does NOT! Although, I believe it would be nice to have the pre-heat setting, if you turn it on under another blanket, it will get warm! Also, it doesn't have any time device, just a simple dial and a on/off button (but it does cut off after 10 hours!) If you're looking for a simple heated blanket that isn't very expensive, I would recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CozyMozy
Gainesville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after one week
1/7/2016

Customer review by CBaker

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by CBaker
by CBaker

Received as a gift and loved it; however, after just one week it broke! the controller just blinks and the blanket doesn't get hot. looked up sunbeam troubleshooting and it's a common occurrence that has no answer on how to correct. Will not buy another, buyer be ware - don't buy these blankets

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/12/2016

I'm glad you brought this to our attention, and I do have some information which may help you. The control will flash if the blanket is not receiving enough power. This can occur if the bedding product is plugged into an extension cord, surge protector or power strip and not plugged into a direct wall outlet; or if the bedding product isn't plugged in properly or has a loose connection. <br /><br />To fix this problem, do the following to reset your blanket. If the 3 steps below are not followed in order, the blanket will not properly reset: 1. Turn the control to the "Off" position and unplug the power cord from the electrical connection. 2. Check the plug connection that directly plugs into the blanket. Make sure the connection is secure and complete. 3. Re-insert the power cord directly into a wall outlet. <br /><br />After resetting your blanket, if you're still experiencing this trouble, please call us at 1-800-892-7684 for additional assistance. We're happy to help you Monday-Friday, 9am-6pm Eastern.

CBaker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very soft, warm and comfortable.
12/13/2015

Customer review by Liptak

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Liptak
by Liptak

Walmart shipped my order by a specific carrier. The carrier lost the pkg but Walmart kind enough to send a replacement at no extra charge. We love the electric blanket and we had a very pleasant transaction with customer service. Once the blanket did arrive I also received the replacement blanket. I called Walmart customer service and they arranged for labels and pickup the following day. This is my first time dealing with the customer service and they go beyond all means to help in any situation. I will sleep warm this winter with the king size electric blanket. It is so soft and comfortable. I just love it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Liptak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It sure is purty.
12/12/2013

Customer review by dlindsey22

2.0 stars 12/12/2013 by dlindsey22
by dlindsey22

Yes, it's nice and soft and pretty, but even the lowest setting is a little too warm for me, even with nothing on top of it. The mid-range settings will thoroughly cook an 18 pound turkey in 3 hours. The higher level settings are often mistaken for solar flares. Oh, and the automatic 10 hour shutoff is more of a rough estimate. Sometimes it's 10, sometimes it's 8, sometimes it's 4. I'm sure there's much better ones out there.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlindsey22
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Toasty warm and easy to use
11/18/2013

Customer review by LurkerLeeAgain

5.0 stars 11/18/2013 by LurkerLeeAgain
by LurkerLeeAgain

I go through electric blankets about every two years (presumably because my dogs lie on the bed), so I've had experience with lots of different blankets. And I also look for a good value, knowing this isn't a lifetime investment. My last blanket was a different brand and it finally quit getting warm. I didn't expect to find a good deal on a blanket in November (I usually try to pick up a spare in the spring when they are on sale). After researching, this and the lower priced Sunbeam seemed to be my best bet. I went for this one because it had more heat settings, so I figured I could get closer to the best temperature. I've only used it a few nights, but it is warm! On my old blanket I had to crank it up to around 7 to be warm enough, and when I set this one to 4 I woke up during the night too warm. I'll try a lower setting now at least until the house temp drops. I do have a puffy comforter over the blanket which helps to trap the warmth. My old blanket claimed to have an automatic turnoff and it never ever turned itself off. So that was the 1st thing I checked on this one and yes, that feature works. I agree with the reviews about feeling the wires, however they were most noticeable when I was setting the blanket up - they felt like flexible wire hanger sized wires. However I haven't noticed them when I'm using the blanket. Overall, I am happy with this blanket for now.

Was this review helpful? (87) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LurkerLeeAgain
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Aweful blanket!!!
12/25/2013

Customer review by katnlizy

1.0 stars 12/25/2013 by katnlizy
by katnlizy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This blanket's control blinks constantly. The blanket cannot be turned off at the control and has to be unplugged to be turned off. The auto turnoff does not work at all. I have always had sunbeam electric blankets and the quality has taken a nosedive.

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katnlizy
Baton Rouge, LA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like it.
10/10/2013

Customer review by n2gc53

4.0 stars 10/10/2013 by n2gc53
by n2gc53
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Umm, it's VERY soft. A little thin, but not too much. Heats up pretty quick so far. We'll see how long it lasts, but for the few times I've used it..Good to go !

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
n2gc53
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
nice
6/21/2016

Customer review by vghyt

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by vghyt
by vghyt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

very light weight compared to some others that are very heavy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vghyt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 610 total reviews
1-20 of 610 reviews