Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 1830 reviews
5 stars
1152
4 stars
343
3 stars
105
2 stars
64
1 stars
166
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1664 reviews
1-20 of 1664 reviews
Hot, hot, hot!
1/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased the king sized, with dual controls, in "seashell", which is light tannish grey color #dog colored#. There are 5 settings, which is fine for us, and 5 is very hot and pre-warms the bed like you wouldn't believe. To sleep, I have to turn it to 2, and my husband shuts it off; with its double layer of fleece, it insulates and holds body temperature well, especially under another light blanket. I wish the electrical cord running between the two controls was longer; it barely fits around the head board and the controls won't reach to the front of our own bedside tables. The controllers have one-button control. You hit the button both to turn on and to increase the heat setting. Unfortunately, you can't decrease the setting; you can only turn off and start from level 1 again #also restarting the 10-hour auto-off#. I can't speak to durability yet, but the quilting should keep the wires in place during laundering. The king size covers the entire bed with a few inches of drape on both sides.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (82)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dirty and Poor Quality, Died after One Month
12/23/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two of these Sunbeam Electric Heated Fleece Blankets. One of them was filthy with black grease marks on it. It looked like it had been on the floor of a garage and then stuffed back in the box, not even sealed up. I ordered these online and picked them up in the Walmart store. So I did not take them off a shelf or I would never have touched the dirty one. So I returned that one instantly. The other one just quick working a month later. I'm putting the name of the product inside my review because I have read a lot of "electric blanket" reviews and they do not always refer to the exact product that they are with. I think this review process is flawed because you don't get the straight story on the product you are looking at, it is a collection of all the reviews for that "brand" name. And isn't it weird that a whole lot of Sunbeam electric blankets have one 5-star review? Who writes all these? Amazon needs to tighten up their quality and review processes. I can't rely on reviews anymore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (108)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Read the reviews- you are forewarned
1/27/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Since I'm stubborn, I chose to not go with the many bad experience reviews I read and try this blanket anyway (and mostly because it's the only one available for immediate pickup). It stayed on maybe 2 hours, shut off.... turned it back on, maybe 1 hour, shut off... back on, maybe 30 minutes... well you get the idea. Yes- I have reset as advised by Sunbeam customer service... and, being under warranty, they will be happy to replace it--- and the shipping to them is on ME!! I know I'm crazy for buying it with all the warnings, but I'm not completely stupid. I bet it cost $10 to mail it to them, wait for a blanket, and then probably get another faulty one. So.... I'm stuck with a blanket that says on the box "10 hour auto off" (which by the way they tell you when you call means "8-10" hours.... ok, 2 hours isn't much difference?!! Anyway, to make a long story short, you have been warned---- if nothing else, let my bad judgment work for you and do NOT buy this blanket.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (98)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value but too few heat settings
11/22/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For the price, I don't think you can beat this. It's a good value at $29.99, and has a very nice appearance and frabric. I would like to comment on a reviewer who said that it fits nicely on full (double) bed. It fits, but the coils only cover a twin size. There is enough fabric to cover a full size mattress without any draping over the mattress, but this is definately for 1 person. The heat settings only allow for 5 and each setting glows red whether or not it's on that setting. The light is just a stronger glow on a particular setting - not a real bother for me but good to know. There does not seem to be a low enough setting for "slightly warm" for lack of a better word. I have not used the highest settinig (2 out of 5 is as high as I have used), but based on the second setting, it's probably VERY warm, so suggest that you "test" the heat on high before setting to high and crawling into bed. I'd buy another one if I needed to, but I don't. Stay warm!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (119)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pleasant surprise
12/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was apprehensive about buying this because it seemed lightweight compared to our king sized older heavy electric blanket. Bought it a week ago and am delighted with it. Can turn it on to warm the bed at level two, get in bed and have to turn it off after about 15 minutes. This is with the house kept at 68 degrees. The light weight is one of its best features.For people that have leg muscle problems at night from the weight of an older heavy electric blanket topped with a thin cotton blanket to hold in the heat and then a comforter/bedspread this new version is an improvement. For older people that thought thicker was better this blanket disproves that theory. It is super efficient. I asked at Customer Service about the time limit on returns if there was a problem after 30 days. They said to keep the receipt. Chose to buy from Walmart because of their reasonable return policies; other stores require you to go through the manufacturer if there is a problem after 30 days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I wish I chose a different one
11/11/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been a Sunbeam electric blanket user for 54 years and this is the very first one to disappoint me big time. I hate the control system as you have to keeping pushing the buttons to reach the temp. you desire and the same goes for shut off. That was my first problem, next is the fact that all my blankets adjusted to my body temp. where this one DOES NOT. I had it at number 1 to preheat the bed then after getting in I left the setting at that number assuming that like all the other blankets it would adjust to my body temp. NOT~ I kept waiting for it to adjust but no luck and finally turned it off then woke up in the middle of the night needing a little more heat so had to go turn it on again. Then woke up about 2 hours later way too warm. I can't return it as I don't have the sales slip since I was so confident since it was a Sunbeam and I can't afford to go buy another one with a different control and just wish I had my old one of 6 years back on the bed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Warm as toast
11/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had mine for two years and it has been used probably 600 of those days - yes even in the summertime with the air conditioning on. I fold it in half and use it to keep my feet warm. If my feet are warm my whole body is comfortable so I sleep a lot better. Sometimes it takes an hour to warm up and others it's good and hot after only 15 minutes so I usually click it on about an hour before going to bed. I don't turn it any higher than the '3' setting - with '1' being the lowest and '10' #I think# being the highest# Even at the lower settings it's plenty warm enough to do the job# The cord is long enough to reach and it automatically turns off after approximately ten hours# That's a nice feature in case you forget to turn it off after waking up# Most other blankets have a 3 hour auto shut off so you wake up cold# 10 hours is better# The cost is reasonable and benefits great# I only needed the twin size to keep my feet warm so at a $30 purchase price divided by 600 nights use #so far# = five cents per day. A small price to pay for a good nights sleep.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (214)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value
12/1/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my daughter who is ALWAYS freezing! She seems happy with it. At least she hasn't complained about freezing since we got it, and we even had the heater go out over the weekend! When I bought the item, it was $30. I don't think I would have paid $60 for a twin blanket: I would have gotten a different one. We have not had electric blankets in decades, and the prices were a little shocking. But at $30, we were happy. I read the reviews before buying, and one reviewer said the blanket fuzzed really badly - even if you rubbed your hand across the surface. Ours doesn't do that. I think that person just got an inferior product. The blanket we have is VERY soft, warm, and has not caused any problems like that so far. Nor has it gotten into our daughter's eyes so that she had to get up in the night to wipe them out as that reviewer also complained. So I think the fuzzing problem was just a fluke. Ours is fine. We are happy with our blanket, and I would recommend it to a friend if they could find it at a good price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pros and Cons of purchasing this blanket.
1/5/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased two of these blankets to keep extra warm for winter. Pros: -Heats quickly -5 Temperature Settings -Keeps me warm at night (but I must put another blanket over it to trap the heat in) Cons -Hard to push Connector cord into the Blanket. I was afraid I was going to break it! -It's very lint filled. Lint comes off of the blanket so easily and just swiping your hand over the blanket produces lint. The Lint is small and light so it easily gets into your eyes at night. I have awaken a couple of times rubbing this stuff out my eyes and because the lint is so thin and very light, it's hard to see once it gets into your eyes. I really hate that. It's strings of this stuff and they should have made it where this doesn't come off the blanket so easily. If your eyes are sensitive (even though mine are not), I would suggest purchasing another blanket due to the amount of lint it easily releases. I do like the blanket and it works as expected, but the amount of lint is the only reason why if I need another blanket, I would have to make a different purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (261)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor quality control
1/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this twin sized fleece sunbeam blanket for a camping trip to help building a log cabin in the woods (we had temporary power set up already). I pulled it out of the box brand new and it didn't heat up. After an hour it barely warmed up at all. All night long I froze the temp. outside was just below freezing and my tent offered little protection. Anyway before I returned it to Walmart I plugged it in to a watt meter and sure enough instead of the rated 180watts it was running around 67watts on high. After returning it I bought another brand elsewhere and tested it and it was rated 180watts and on high it was running up to 170 watts on my meter (this type of heater cycles constantly 170 to 50 to 10 to 170 watts etc. and the thermostat just adjusts the length of the cycle). The moral is try it before you need it and you should expect it to get warm to just slightly warm but not quite as warm as a heating pad. If it barely heats up take it back. Sunbeam should be testing every blanket with a watt meter before they ship them out of China.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sunbeam Heated Fleece Electric Blanket
10/25/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this Electric Blanket a week ago. I would not recommend it because Sunbeam Electric Blanket don't last. I have to actually replace one every winter. I keep buying them because I have tried others brands and they are about the same, it hasn't mattered how much I pay, I have pad as little as $29 and as high as $149 dollars for election blankets and the one that did last the longest was the one from JC Penny's. They do heat up, some heat up and work really good, but when I go to use it the next year, it start out working, then just stop. I continue to buy them because I have Lupus and Fybromyalgia, witch results in joint pain, and the warmth of the Electric Blankets help with the pain. Maybe it's me, but I appear to have problems with electric blankets if they are the Sunbeam and one other really popular brand, can't remember it , memory loss is a part of having Lupus. But this is my opinion. Why I continue to buy them, well since I know I will be replacing them anyway, I don't waste my money paying a lot of money for them. lol
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Save yourself a lot of aggravation...
11/22/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the last 4 years I have gone out and bought a queen sized Sunbeam Electric Blanket. It works beautifully for 2-3 months and then one side of the blanket stops working like clockwork! One control goes dark and the other starts blinking. The reset process (unplugging and replugging) does not work. It does not matter if it is the base style or plush, which is more expensive, they all end up malfunctioning in the same way. Do not bother sending it back to the manufacturer and just return it to the store it was bought from. Just be sure to save your receipt or you will have to settle for an exchange. I have finally given up and will not be buying one this year. I always hoped that Sunbeam would have solved the problem with the rate of returns they receive, as per, Walmart's comments when returning them. I remember years ago the quality was so much better and I had the blankets for at least 2 or 3 years. It's unfortunate but it seems that these days, the quality goes down and price goes up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected
2/24/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was tired of freezing this winter and thought to buy an electric blanket to sole the problem. After a good 3 to 5 months of looking around and research this seemed like the perfect blanket...I was wrong. The blanket is very thin which isn't bad, it's the perfect weight for what I bought it for...watching tv on the sofa. This blanket has great potential however I find it barely gets warm. I turn it on and it does start to warm up then it's as if it just stops getting warm and I am left cold. I have to shut off the blanket, turn it back on and put it up to 5 to get it to warm up again...I have to do this repeatedly every 10 minutes to get the blanket warm and keep it warm. Not all areas of the blanket get warm either...it seems the wires near the top of the blanket that would be normally pulled up to your chest get warm the rest does not. If I had a Walmart close by I would return this in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (102)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Must buy for the winter.
12/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I decided to try out a heating blanket this winter for the first time. The price was very reasonable. I tried it the first night, and was a bit disappointed in the lack of heat. I almost took it back, because I couldn't feel much of anything. I plugged the blanket into another outlet, and it worked 100x better! (Maybe it was the outlet, or the blanket needed to be "broken in" a bit....I have no clue.) I was pleasantly surprised. I am in love with this blanket. I was worried about how the material was going to feel on my skin when I first felt it through the box, but it is not irritating at all. It heats up quickly, and gives off an uniform heat throughout the blanket. I have never felt so warm in my home. Going to bed comfortably is great. Plus, with the 10 hour shut off, I don't have to worry about waking up cold. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice and warm blanket
10/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought 2 of these twin size blankets. Instead of using them on a bed, we use them in the family room, on a chair, and couch. We got tired of heating the whole house to keep us warm. These blankets do the job. They heat up quickly, and stay warm. No more heating the house, or using a portable heater that uses a lot of electricity. My mom who is 80 years old is nice and warm under her blanket, and usually "cat" naps in the chair. She no longer has to dress like she lives in the artic to stay warm. If you want to save money, try thinking outside of the box, and buy these blankets to stay warm while watching T.V or reading in your favorite chair. We also each have an electric blanket on each of our beds. WARM AND TOASTY!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (124)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
10/18/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When this blanket works, it is nice. This is the third or fourth of these blankets I have had over the last few years. For some reason, after a certain amount of time they all seem to heat up to slightly warm and then quit. They need to be turned on a couple of hours before needed. Will be going to a different brand. The throws seem to do better, but the shutoff time is too short for nighttime. Would certainly expect them to last much longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
electric blanket
2/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Not sure of duribility as i have only used it about 8 times.Compared to blankets 25 years ago, these may not get as warm. I see the larger better ones have a pre heat on high for an hour and then goes to yur selected lower temp. Dont really need it. I have a queen bed, but it is just me sleeping so I bought the smaller twin. I think the blanket is thick enough, you want heat right? The wires are about 2 inches apart. I place it on the bed, then a sheet to keep it clean. I then place a standard blanket on top of me. High seems warm enough, could be just a little warmer maybe like the old ones I think I remember. I often set it to mid setting. I am happy with it. Right now it is a nice warm unit. Seems my knees are less stiff in the morning. They are not warm as a heating pad and the instrructions will say that. If it last 2 years, I will be happy. It does not get very cold much in Houston Tx, and I keep the room temp about 64 at night.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Expect this to be an annual purchase
12/13/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The blanket felt pretty good once it was on the bed, it provides a decent amount of heat for me at setting 2 or 3. However it didn't even last a year. I got it last winter and it worked great, used it daily. Now that winter is here again I wanted to use it, it worked for two nights and now it doesn't work any longer. I just get a flashing red light when I try and turn it on, checked all the connections and everything is fine it just doesn't work. Quality is fairly poor on sunbeam blankets it would seem, but they also seem to have an monopoly on the market unfortunately. So my advice to you is keep your receipts , possibly even buy the in-store exchange warranty because you will be buying one annually otherwise.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (103)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
works well but not as described
11/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought 5 blankets- all the same brand and style. 1 king, 1 full, and 3 twin. They do work well and the controller looks just like the one in the photo, however after reading the description of the "Thermofine warming system senses and adjusts temperature to deliver consistent warmth all night", it led me to believe it has a thermostat of some sort. It doesn't. You set it at whatever level you want for the night and it stays there all night. No change up and down to automatically adjust the temp. as it says. Also, it says there is a "preheat mode". Not true. The book says some models have this, but these do not. Neither of these issues really make it a bad electric blanket though. I just thought I was getting a fancier blanket than they turned out to be. So far it has gotten down into the 30's where we live and we set the thermostat in our house 68 at night. I turn the blanket on the lowest setting to warm up before bed and usually have to turn the blanket off completely a short time after we get in bed or its too warm. The added weight of the blanket alone makes our bed so much warmer we really don't need the higher settings at all. maybe later in winter that will change. We do like the blanket and I would buy it again. The auto shut off is really nice since I don't have to make rounds every day turning them off in our kids' rooms. Great blanket, just not quite what I expected by reading the product description.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (268)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't Waste Your Money...Look Elsewhere
12/30/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am very disappointed in the the 2 blankets I purchased. Sunbeam use to make QUALITY blankets. I recently had to throw away a Sunbeam blanket I had for 8 yrs because it stopped working. So I bought a Sunbeam again thinking I would get another great blanket. WRONG!!!! These new blankets were so thin you can see and feel the wiring in them. I haven't had the blankets a good month with out BOTH of them barely getting warm even on the highest setting and only in spots. I exchanged one at Walmart thinking i got a bad one, NOPE same issue with the new blanket. I have to say the blankets I bought and the one I exchanged are the exact same style and size so there is no defect just plain POOR QUALITY. 3 blankets same issue I don't think so. Sunbeam, don't even think about replying to this review by saying to call customer service I am DONE!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-