Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
37
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
16
1-20 of 147 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews
Better than a Keurig for a quarter of the price!
7/15/2014

Customer review by dmc871

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by dmc871
by dmc871

I use a Keurig at my job, and while I love the convenience, I don't like not being able to make a stronger mug of coffee. Having a basket, rather than a pod, allows you to adjust the brew exactly to your liking. It's easy to use and the coffee is the perfect temperature, (and hotter than my previous coffee maker.) As the coffee grounds absorb some of the water, I've found that if you measure out the water to about 1/2" of the top of the cup, which you then pour into the coffee maker, you'll have just the right amount of room for creamer. I'd have gladly given it 5 stars if it didn't drip for a little while after the brew is complete, which makes a little bit of a mess. I just end up putting in a ramekin or custard cup to catch the drips once I take the mug out. Also, the cup that comes with the coffee maker leaked at the lid. Like a lot. I've got a ton of travel mugs, so I just tossed the one that came with it. If you like the ability to make a strong cup of coffee this is the perfect choice.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmc871
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
It works, but
1/29/2016

Customer review by leedad06

3.0 stars 1/29/2016 by leedad06
by leedad06
Top 500 contributor

I bought this because the flex brew I had went down and I had a lot of k cups that I didn't want to waste. Once I got it I realized, this only uses soft pods or grounds not k cups. No biggie I just cut them open and pour in the filter that comes with this unit, tried the travel mug that comes with it and it is cheap, no insulation factor to it, gets hot to hold. Actually the everything about it is cheap, but so far it works, takes several minutes to perk one cup. I have been using it to make a hot cup of tea, which is what I'll use it for after the k cups are gone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leedad06
Would recommend to a friend? No
Top 500 contributor
Travel Mug Comes Broken
8/22/2013

Customer review by biostudent

2.0 stars 8/22/2013 by biostudent
by biostudent

I got this coffee maker last week to use at school, and was so excited about it. I drink a lot of coffee and as a Biology major coffee in the morning is a must. I was looking forward to the fact that it came with a travel mug for me to take my coffee on the go and drink it while I am in class. But I was very disappointed that the travel mug is faulty. Not only does it not have a closing feature where you drink from but as I drank the coffee from it once I got halfway done it started spilling from the outside of the mug underneath the silver band on the mug. THAT is NOT okay. Also, when I called the Customer Service Warranty people they told me that I would have to damage my coffee maker by cutting the cord off to send to them and PAY THEM to get the product replaced. That is ridiculous, all that needs to be replaced is the mug, and in general NO ONE should have to pay them to replace what they sold broken. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review helpful? (29) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biostudent
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great inexpensive single serve coffee maker
12/5/2015

Customer review by 87SuperMagna

4.0 stars 12/5/2015 by 87SuperMagna
by 87SuperMagna

The coffee maker itself is simple to use and easy to clean. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is the cup. It doesn't keep the coffee hot as long as most other insulated mugs and because there's no handle, it's very hot to the touch when right after the coffee maker finishes. It's still a great item for the price though. If you do decide to get one of these, I highly recommend buying your own 16oz mug. Personally, I prefer the ones with stainless steel liners.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
87SuperMagna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/9/2013

Customer review by Notacrazycatlady

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Notacrazycatlady
by Notacrazycatlady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my husband for work. He likes that he can make a cup of coffee and not a whole pot. This uses coffee grounds or SOFT pods. You can not use the hard pods in it. It took me a while to locate the soft pods and there is only one manufacturer that makes them at this point. It will work for what he needs it for.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notacrazycatlady
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and clean
1/23/2013

Customer review by qadlunaaq

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by qadlunaaq
by qadlunaaq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There aren't many single cup coffee makers that can use ground coffee (or single coffee packets) instead of the prepackaged K-Cups. This is the only one I found that is tall enough that I can use my stainless steel insulated travel mug instead of the cheap plastic handle-less mug that comes with it, AND has an automatic shutoff. It's inexpensive, relatively quiet, easy to use and clean, and doesn't take up much space.

Was this review helpful? (162) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qadlunaaq
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it. Better than K-cups
12/24/2012

Customer review by moozandsqrl

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by moozandsqrl
by moozandsqrl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I both love this because we can make our coffee fresh one cup at a time without the excess packaging and expense of K-cups.

Was this review helpful? (76) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moozandsqrl
Harrison Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bang for the buck!
4/5/2013

Customer review by LarryinManassas

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by LarryinManassas
by LarryinManassas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought about spending big bucks on a Keurig and decided to try this cheapo. Darn; I'm frugle and smart. Great product. I just bought a 2nd for my office I like it so much!

Was this review helpful? (90) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryinManassas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good coffee maker for my purpose
6/5/2013

Customer review by Senecashore

3.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Senecashore
by Senecashore
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like the coffee maker. The only problem I have is the cup that came with it. It is very HOT after the coffee has brewed. It looks insulated but apparently isn't. But I have been using a different insulated cup with handle. Doesn't take up much space on my counter.

Was this review helpful? (57) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Senecashore
Penn Yan, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great coffee maker
5/23/2013

Customer review by 76FatRabbits

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by 76FatRabbits
by 76FatRabbits

I have had this coffee maker for about 4 or 5 months and it gets used every day. it only takes a few minutes to brew a cup and that in it's self is worth it. I like the mesh filter that it comes with, keeps me from having to buy replacements. The coffee is not scalding hot, but in all reality; who wants to burn thier mouth everyday? by the time I get to work (an hour after the coffee is brewed) it is still hot. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
76FatRabbits
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Auto shut off is great
12/29/2015

Customer review by Hyegirl

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Hyegirl
by Hyegirl

This is the second B&D coffeemaker I've bought. Mine you, the Brew N Go still works perfectly, but my cm618 is even more compact and travels every where with me. As I order Gevalia coffee, I prefer to make my own coffee each morning. When I make coffee, I usually make two cups. This coffeemaker makes 2 cups, therefore, you need to put in two scoops of coffee so it will brew the perfect cup. They are both very goof products.

Hyegirl
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great Single Cup Coffee Maker
7/12/2014

Customer review by jdtoga

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by jdtoga
by jdtoga

I had a B&D personal brew and go coffee maker years ago and I loved it. It finally gave up after a few years of faithful use and I purchased a Keurig. I loved it but the k-cups were getting way to expensive so I started using a refillable filter. I moved into a small apartment and the maker was just to big for my small kitchen so I started my search for something smaller and came across this. I could no longer get my the previous model in any stores. I could only order it online so after searching I found this one which is just about the same thing just in a different form. It has performed to my expectations just as I hoped it would. I can add more or less grounds for whatever my taste may be in the morning. It brews hot and fast. After reading some of the negative reviews I just had to put my two cents in about some of them. 1. Yes the mug that comes with it is not the best, but you're purchasing a coffee maker not a mug. The mug is just an added bonus. I could tell the mug wasn't the best, the moment I took the lid off, that's a no brainer. I use my own mug as I always have a few floating around my kitchen. 2. Coffee pods are hard to find. Yes they are. Most pod makers have come, and gone just as quickly the last few years. So, just use your regular ground coffee. Why complain because you can't find pods. There's always a store that has at lease one brand of pods. You can always order them online if you really want them that bad. 3. The maker doesn't take K-cups. It is not advertised as having the option of using K-cups. 4. It leaves sludge in the bottom of my cup. That's because of the filter. Almost every permanent filter I have used does that. You have to use a courser grind on the coffee. The permanent filter is not a paper filter it doesn't get some of the finer particles out. 5. Don't know how much water to put in. Just fill the mug you are going to use and guess what. you now have the right amount of water. 6. You can't turn it off. It's auto shut off. You should not have to shut if off. If for some emergency you have to turn it off, pull the plug. 7. You can only brew 16 ounces instead of one cup. Easy fix. Use one 8 oz. cup and fill it with water and pour it in and guess what. You now have one cup. 8. 185 degrees is not hot enough for a proper brew. Well then I guess you need to spend a little more than 25.00 for coffee maker to get your proper brew. It's not a professional coffee maker. Most people are pretty darn satisfied with what they brew. 9. It seems cheap and flimsy. Hello!!!! It's only 25.00. Are you going to be tossing it around the kitchen? If it's just sitting on the counter how much abuse are you going to do to it. 10. Makes to much of a mess to clean. How? You remove the filter, tap it inside of the trash can and the grounds come out and then you wash it. Simple. My personal opinion it's a great product. It works just as good as my previous model that I had years ago. Use it in good faith and enjoy it. Some complaints are just because people refuse to read directions or use common sense. You can't blame B&D if you get home and open it and something is broken. The way things get thrown around in shipping it's a wonder more stuff isn't broken. Just take it back and exchange it for a new one. That's the great thing, We can do that. If it breaks and you call them and they tell you to cut off the plug and send it to them, then that's for their own record to prove that you are not trying to scam them and get a second product. I had to do that with a keurig when it acted up after a month. Not a problem. ENJOY IT.

Was this review helpful? (88) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdtoga
Saratoga Springs, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Leaks Right Out Of The Box
12/22/2015

Customer review by Kelly

2.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Kelly
by Kelly

No sooner did I pull this item out of the box then it started to pour water from the bottom of it. You have to pour extra water into the reservoir if you want a full cup of coffee because the majority of it leaks out. This was very upsetting to discover because we can't use te timer option on it. We discovered this the first night when we put water in, went to bed, and woke up to discover water EVERYWHERE in our kitchen. All my excitment for a fresh brewed cup of coffee....ruined.

Kelly
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good Coffee Maker
3/25/2013

Customer review by WallyMartGirl

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by WallyMartGirl
by WallyMartGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect size since I'm the only coffee drinker in the house. I thought it took k-cups from the description, but it also takes 'soft pods' and I wish it showed how much water was in it, there's not a way to measure.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyMartGirl
Lakeville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the solo coffee drinker
11/14/2013

Customer review by imaginate

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by imaginate
by imaginate

Had this about a month now. Brews a 16oz. cup of coffee under 3 minutes. The durability of the hinged plastic cover on the brewer is, so far, my only concern. I can see it breaking under too much force. Other than that, one caution is advised. The metal band on the travel mug gets extremely hot in the brewing process.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imaginate
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great at first..
12/26/2015

Customer review by Anne marie

3.0 stars 12/26/2015 by Anne marie
by Anne marie

I bought this not even a whole year ago and at first it was great I loved it but now it seems it's not brewing right and alot of water is coming out making my coffee watery. I'm confused as to why this started happenning.

Anne marie
Gender:Female
Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Mug,
10/23/2014

Customer review by ezriderman

5.0 stars 10/23/2014 by ezriderman
by ezriderman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The good: Unit is physically small Comes with a 16 oz mug Makes good tasting coffee Easy to clean basket Has "on" switch and pilot light Turns off automatically after brewing Can use ground coffee from a can Does not require you to use a paper filter Is ascetically pleasing The draw backs: Forget the coffee pods thing,can't find them in store or on line Everything is K cup now,not a problem open the K cup and empty the continence into the brewing basket. Or just use your favorite brand of ground coffee straight from the can. You will need to experiment with the amount of coffee you put in the brewing basket. As a suggestion start with two level teaspoons for 16 oz. Them add or subtract as desired. Care is required when filling the coffee maker with water as not to spill it down the side, especially the "on" switch side. Problem solved with a 16 measuring cup. the provided mug is not spill proof with a "always open" sipping slot in the lid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ezriderman
Murphy,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful
12/11/2015

Customer review by Berry3

5.0 stars 12/11/2015 by Berry3
by Berry3

Excellent product and perfect amount for the ride to work

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Berry3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great single serve coffee maker
4/9/2014

Customer review by happyshopper852

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by happyshopper852
by happyshopper852
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had bought this for my boyfriend as he drinks coffee every morning. Since we have recently just moved into a new place I decided I wanted to buy him a coffee maker as for a year or so he had been just drinking instant coffee because our last place we lived we did not want to buy a coffee maker so that our roommate could pretty much abuse it. The design is very sleek however it was very light and the switch was weird to press (it did not make a click noise), so I was a little skeptical at first. However, the moment we plugged it in, that little coffee maker started steaming and was dripping coffee in less than a minute! My boyfriend was floored to how quickly this coffee maker was able to produce a fresh brew. He use to have to heat up his instant coffee for 5 minutes for it to get to the heat he wanted but this black and decker did it in 3 minutes. I am truly amazed and for the price? totally amazing! Yes it does not work with k-cups but it works with coffee pods as well as ground coffee. I did read the reviews and learnt some tips from other customers to help make our experience just as great! LOVE IT! get it, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyshopper852
Toluca Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
single cup coffee brewer
1/14/2016

Customer review by elizabeth

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by elizabeth
by elizabeth

perfect for a cup or two,. does not take up to much space and not a real pain to clean and wash coffee ground basket.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elizabeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1-20 of 147 reviews