Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 236 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

236 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

236 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
56
3 stars
20
2 stars
10
1 stars
24
1-20 of 224 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews
Perfect size.
2/10/2017

Customer review by Ronnie

4.0 stars 2/10/2017 by Ronnie
by Ronnie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love the coffee maker. Coffee gets very hot... PERFECT... The only problem I have and it is npt really a problem is that the insulated cup is not so insulated. It gets too hot to hold. I just switched and got another insulated cup. Problem solved.

Ronnie
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Use it every day
1/22/2017

Customer review by Peggyt1243

5.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Peggyt1243
by Peggyt1243

I bought my coffee maker 3 years ago. I use it every day at least 4 times a day. It is reliable and consistent. I use regular coffee grounds so it is economical and I get fresh brewed coffee instead of coffee that has been sitting. I would never pay for those little pod things. I am going to buy another B&D just as backup.

Peggyt1243
Oakville, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Very reliable. It is always in my suit case...
1/6/2017

Customer review by Jerome Loftus

5.0 stars 1/6/2017 by Jerome Loftus
by Jerome Loftus

...until I have to travel to the 220/240V environment. Please create a dual voltage coffee maker. Then then the B&D SSCM will never leave my suit case. Until then, I must suffer inferior substitutes. Your Loyal Customer, Jerome Loftus

Jerome Loftus
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Very good product until lately
12/27/2016

Customer review by Robert A

4.0 stars 12/27/2016 by Robert A
by Robert A

Hadthe product for about seven months and it worked well until lately. The water does not empty completely and I have to restart a couple of times to get a complete cup. Thought it was a case of it's dirty, but seems to be a product defect. Not a heavy coffee drinker, so I don't know why its not working so early.

Robert A
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little coffee maker except for the mug.
11/14/2016

Customer review by Toni

4.0 stars 11/14/2016 by Toni
by Toni

I bought several of these for myself and family members. They work fine except the mugs leak and if you put them in the dishwasher on the top shelf they get water in between the outer and inner liners. They get the water inside even if you put them in the sink in water and try to wash them. They also drip when you try to drink from them. Had to purchase other mugs to use because of this. Would be a great idea if they would fix this issue and provide all stainless mugs that didn't have plastic inside

Toni
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Q Trooper
11/21/2016

Customer review by Rita

5.0 stars 11/21/2016 by Rita
by Rita

The old ones must have been made better. We have used this daily for at least 5 or 6 years with no problems.

Rita
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
10/13/2016

Customer review by Criss

5.0 stars 10/13/2016 by Criss
by Criss

I've had mine for about a year now...I use it every day and no problems I LOVE that it makes a strong hot LARGE cup of coffee. It's better than the flexbrew or keurig that I tried plus less expensive PLEASE PLEASE KEEP MAKING THESE!!!!

Criss
Nebraska, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great to take on vacation
9/4/2016

Customer review by coffeenut

4.0 stars 9/4/2016 by coffeenut
by coffeenut

I bought this model for taking on vacations where there is no coffee pot. But even if I had a pot in the room, I still use this. So many times I just wanted hot water and used the hotel coffee pot and it came out brown. Also it is small size and it travels well.

coffeenut
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great coffee maker
8/14/2016

Customer review by Joseph Vu

5.0 stars 8/14/2016 by Joseph Vu
by Joseph Vu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought it a month ago and I'm so happy that I did!

Joseph Vu
Garden Grove, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Handy
7/8/2016

Customer review by Ghost42

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Ghost42
by Ghost42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've owned the single coffee maker for about a month. I am the only coffee drinker in the house unless we have company. Then I use a 12 cup machine but during the week I can make fresh coffee every morning and not reheat something. If I need more in the AM, just make another FRESH cup. Also got "points" for using less space on the counter-top!

Ghost42
Egg Harbor, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grounds coming through filter
6/26/2016

Customer review by JenniferE

3.0 stars 6/26/2016 by JenniferE
by JenniferE

I just bought the CM618 today, trying to stop using k-cups. I put loose coffee into the filter and brew it into my own ceramic mug and TONS of grounds come through the filter into the coffee? Can this machine be used ONLY with the travel mug that came with it? Or with a special kind of coffee? Help!

JenniferE
Dartmouth, NS, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
7 days old
7/4/2016

Customer review by Bob T

1.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Bob T
by Bob T

poor quality will be taking this coffee maker back for a refund

Bob T
Cache Bay Ont Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good not great
12/21/2014

Customer review by QuinnsMom

3.0 stars 12/21/2014 by QuinnsMom
by QuinnsMom

I purchased this unit a few months ago. I had a very old one cup in the past. This unit is good, coffee is hot but I have a few issues that I didn't have with my original one cup unit. 1) the coffee doesn't completely drain from the filter basket and drips after removing the mug. So I always pour what's left into my mug and then put both the filter and basket into the sink. My old unit dripped a little but nothing like this one. 2) I need to use more coffee for the same amount of water. It seems that the filter design doesn't allow the water to sit long enough in the grinds to brew a strong enough cup of coffee. If I don't add enough grinds and the coffee is weak, I pour my cup of coffee back through the filter/coffe grinds which helps a lot but dirties another mug. My old maker has a cone shaped filter which I think forced the water to sit in the grinds longer AND to drain better. This unit's filter and basket is flat, which is clearly the cause of both my issues. I'd rather wait another 30 seconds for my cup of coffee if I knew it was going to be strong enough and without coffee dripping everywhere. I would love it if Black & Decker replaced this flat filter with a cone shaped one. Finally, my filter is stained with coffee despite washing daily with soap and water. I know it's clean but doesn't look clean.

QuinnsMom
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Coffeemaker works fine, cup leaks badly
2/9/2016

Customer review by jlcarey1

3.0 stars 2/9/2016 by jlcarey1
by jlcarey1

I purchased this from Kohl's. Straight from the box, it brewed perfectly fine. Is a little messy and kind of a pain to clean up, but I don't mind. I do, however, mind that the cup comes with NO SEAL for the lid! There is literally nothing to stop it from leaking right out and all down your front! I can put my mouth up to the side and blow air into the cup between the cup and lid. Really disappointed. I generally like Black & Decker products. I can use the cup...without a lid...which sort of defeats the purpose.

jlcarey1
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Works great for both coffee and tea
10/2/2015

Customer review by Retzo

5.0 stars 10/2/2015 by Retzo
by Retzo

I bought this for making coffee but also use it with loose tea leaves in the same filter basket as the ground coffee. It works great for both as long as you use enough tea leaves or coffee grounds. I put my Sweet & Low in the mug before I brew either, and then after brewing I add milk to the coffee. I use a measuring cup to put 16 OZ of water in the maker's water chamber so that I have space for that milk, rather than fill to the line. Then press the button and go away until I hear the click when it shuts off, and then wait another minute for the brew to finish draining into the mug. Works every time...

Retzo
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Decent
3/1/2016

Customer review by delrayxo

3.0 stars 3/1/2016 by delrayxo
by delrayxo

I bought this in September. I am only one person and do not need to make a whole pot of coffee so I thought this would be great. And at first it was. Now brewing is unreliable. Sometimes it is very strong and other weak. I have tried with exact measurements and it comes out different every time. This makes me not even want to use it. Sometimes it also leaks water out of the bottom creating a very big mess. If brewing didn't get bad it would be perfect.

delrayxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Got rid of my disc brewer after buying this.
2/11/2016

Customer review by Joe34

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Joe34
by Joe34

Use this item daily for over a year now and have never had any types of leaks that the other posters have complained about. Honestly I threw away the travel mug that came with it because I only use the Contigo auto seal travel mugs and the regular size of the Contigo fits perfect. The coffee maker has enough water capacity to easily fill my mug with little extra to spare. The coffee basket is also large enough to handle the 3 or 4 scoops of coffee I NEED early in am.

Joe34
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Very Good Coffee
8/15/2015

Customer review by Vale

5.0 stars 8/15/2015 by Vale
by Vale

Purchased a week ago---previously had--the BD Brew n Go---which I liked enough to purchase 3 times---but units just wouldn't last. I was a little leary because of the style of basket--but have been proved wrong---this unit makes an even better cup of good ole' Maxwell House. coffee. I'm a senior and as a rule make only 1/2 cup--8oz. at a time but like being able to make the 16oz. size when friend drops in. I prefer a wonderful plain cup of coffee and this unit delivers. PS many friends are throwing out those awful Keurig monstrosities---and have advised them to purchase this.

Vale
Sudbury, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Leaks Right Out Of The Box
12/22/2015

Customer review by Kelly

2.0 stars 12/22/2015 by Kelly
by Kelly

No sooner did I pull this item out of the box then it started to pour water from the bottom of it. You have to pour extra water into the reservoir if you want a full cup of coffee because the majority of it leaks out. This was very upsetting to discover because we can't use te timer option on it. We discovered this the first night when we put water in, went to bed, and woke up to discover water EVERYWHERE in our kitchen. All my excitment for a fresh brewed cup of coffee....ruined.

Kelly
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Love Love Love the one cup.
3/14/2016

Customer review by Tash

3.0 stars 3/14/2016 by Tash
by Tash

BEWARE ALL. I have been buying one cup machines for about 10 years now. One craps out but a new one. Well I leave mine plugged in. That won't happen anymore. They TURN ON by themselves. Getting a wake up call at 2am from my coffee pot being on is not cool. & the machine is ridiculously hot.

Tash
Moose Jaw, SK, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 224 total reviews
1-20 of 224 reviews