Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 196 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

196 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
101
4 stars
45
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 stars
22
1-20 of 184 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews
Better than a Keurig for a quarter of the price!
7/15/2014

Customer review by dmc871

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by dmc871
by dmc871

I use a Keurig at my job, and while I love the convenience, I don't like not being able to make a stronger mug of coffee. Having a basket, rather than a pod, allows you to adjust the brew exactly to your liking. It's easy to use and the coffee is the perfect temperature, (and hotter than my previous coffee maker.) As the coffee grounds absorb some of the water, I've found that if you measure out the water to about 1/2" of the top of the cup, which you then pour into the coffee maker, you'll have just the right amount of room for creamer. I'd have gladly given it 5 stars if it didn't drip for a little while after the brew is complete, which makes a little bit of a mess. I just end up putting in a ramekin or custard cup to catch the drips once I take the mug out. Also, the cup that comes with the coffee maker leaked at the lid. Like a lot. I've got a ton of travel mugs, so I just tossed the one that came with it. If you like the ability to make a strong cup of coffee this is the perfect choice.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dmc871
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Not bad for the price
2/22/2016

Customer review by Barbz1

5.0 stars 2/22/2016 by Barbz1
by Barbz1

I don't brew my coffee to go, I purchased this item so I would have more room on my kitchen counters. It came with a plastic cup and cover. I don't like drinking from plastic cups, but that was fine, as I had no intentions of using it. I have several high cups the same height as the one that comes with it. I only have the one cup of coffee a day and my cups hold 16 ounces. It takes about 5 to 6 minutes to fill the cup. Then it automatically shuts off. I often got coffee grounds in the bottom of the cup. (but not always?) I had some paper coffee liners so I cut them to snuggly fit the bottom of the basket, and I got less grounds. And not using the liners, sometimes I didn't get coffee grounds? I have never had a coffee maker that brews the coffee as hot as I like it ( as I like my coffee piping hot) So I put my coffee cup with water in the microwave to get it hot, then throw out the hot water. I have only had it about 2 weeks. It works fine for me, if it prematurely breaks down I will come back with a bad review.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbz1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Travel Mug Comes Broken
8/22/2013

Customer review by biostudent

2.0 stars 8/22/2013 by biostudent
by biostudent

I got this coffee maker last week to use at school, and was so excited about it. I drink a lot of coffee and as a Biology major coffee in the morning is a must. I was looking forward to the fact that it came with a travel mug for me to take my coffee on the go and drink it while I am in class. But I was very disappointed that the travel mug is faulty. Not only does it not have a closing feature where you drink from but as I drank the coffee from it once I got halfway done it started spilling from the outside of the mug underneath the silver band on the mug. THAT is NOT okay. Also, when I called the Customer Service Warranty people they told me that I would have to damage my coffee maker by cutting the cord off to send to them and PAY THEM to get the product replaced. That is ridiculous, all that needs to be replaced is the mug, and in general NO ONE should have to pay them to replace what they sold broken. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review helpful? (35) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
biostudent
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!
7/14/2016

Customer review by Robbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Robbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
by Robbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second on of these that I've had. The first one lasted YEARS and served up 1000's of cups of HOT fresh coffee for me. In the last fer months of the first one's life it sounded like Mt. St. Helen's at full eruption but it still worked! Also this is the very first mug that's come w/ a coffee-maker that I've bought that doesn't leak!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great coffee maker
8/14/2016

Customer review by Joseph Vu

5.0 stars 8/14/2016 by Joseph Vu
by Joseph Vu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought it a month ago and I'm so happy that I did!

Joseph Vu
Garden Grove, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TOO HOT!
8/21/2016

Customer review by CyborgKaren

5.0 stars 8/21/2016 by CyborgKaren
by CyborgKaren
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use. The coffee come out too hot for me, after I put 3 ice cube in the cup it's perfect. Clean up is simple and easy. My only complaint is the temperature, wish their was a way to turn it down.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CyborgKaren
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/9/2013

Customer review by Notacrazycatlady

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Notacrazycatlady
by Notacrazycatlady
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my husband for work. He likes that he can make a cup of coffee and not a whole pot. This uses coffee grounds or SOFT pods. You can not use the hard pods in it. It took me a while to locate the soft pods and there is only one manufacturer that makes them at this point. It will work for what he needs it for.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notacrazycatlady
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent single cup coffee maker
7/12/2016

Customer review by MOHotRod

5.0 stars 7/12/2016 by MOHotRod
by MOHotRod
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Single serving (16 ounces) of coffee made in a short time with excellent flavor if instructions have been followed, nice travel mug with lid (but be careful as lips can get burned), and easy cleanup.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOHotRod
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use and clean
1/23/2013

Customer review by qadlunaaq

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by qadlunaaq
by qadlunaaq
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There aren't many single cup coffee makers that can use ground coffee (or single coffee packets) instead of the prepackaged K-Cups. This is the only one I found that is tall enough that I can use my stainless steel insulated travel mug instead of the cheap plastic handle-less mug that comes with it, AND has an automatic shutoff. It's inexpensive, relatively quiet, easy to use and clean, and doesn't take up much space.

Was this review helpful? (170) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qadlunaaq
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it. Better than K-cups
12/24/2012

Customer review by moozandsqrl

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by moozandsqrl
by moozandsqrl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I both love this because we can make our coffee fresh one cup at a time without the excess packaging and expense of K-cups.

Was this review helpful? (80) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moozandsqrl
Harrison Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great coffee maker
5/23/2013

Customer review by 76FatRabbits

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by 76FatRabbits
by 76FatRabbits

I have had this coffee maker for about 4 or 5 months and it gets used every day. it only takes a few minutes to brew a cup and that in it's self is worth it. I like the mesh filter that it comes with, keeps me from having to buy replacements. The coffee is not scalding hot, but in all reality; who wants to burn thier mouth everyday? by the time I get to work (an hour after the coffee is brewed) it is still hot. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
76FatRabbits
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good coffee maker for my purpose
6/5/2013

Customer review by Senecashore

3.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Senecashore
by Senecashore
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like the coffee maker. The only problem I have is the cup that came with it. It is very HOT after the coffee has brewed. It looks insulated but apparently isn't. But I have been using a different insulated cup with handle. Doesn't take up much space on my counter.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Senecashore
Penn Yan, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bang for the buck!
4/5/2013

Customer review by LarryinManassas

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by LarryinManassas
by LarryinManassas
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought about spending big bucks on a Keurig and decided to try this cheapo. Darn; I'm frugle and smart. Great product. I just bought a 2nd for my office I like it so much!

Was this review helpful? (95) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryinManassas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Single Cup Coffee Maker
7/12/2014

Customer review by jdtoga

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by jdtoga
by jdtoga

I had a B&D personal brew and go coffee maker years ago and I loved it. It finally gave up after a few years of faithful use and I purchased a Keurig. I loved it but the k-cups were getting way to expensive so I started using a refillable filter. I moved into a small apartment and the maker was just to big for my small kitchen so I started my search for something smaller and came across this. I could no longer get my the previous model in any stores. I could only order it online so after searching I found this one which is just about the same thing just in a different form. It has performed to my expectations just as I hoped it would. I can add more or less grounds for whatever my taste may be in the morning. It brews hot and fast. After reading some of the negative reviews I just had to put my two cents in about some of them. 1. Yes the mug that comes with it is not the best, but you're purchasing a coffee maker not a mug. The mug is just an added bonus. I could tell the mug wasn't the best, the moment I took the lid off, that's a no brainer. I use my own mug as I always have a few floating around my kitchen. 2. Coffee pods are hard to find. Yes they are. Most pod makers have come, and gone just as quickly the last few years. So, just use your regular ground coffee. Why complain because you can't find pods. There's always a store that has at lease one brand of pods. You can always order them online if you really want them that bad. 3. The maker doesn't take K-cups. It is not advertised as having the option of using K-cups. 4. It leaves sludge in the bottom of my cup. That's because of the filter. Almost every permanent filter I have used does that. You have to use a courser grind on the coffee. The permanent filter is not a paper filter it doesn't get some of the finer particles out. 5. Don't know how much water to put in. Just fill the mug you are going to use and guess what. you now have the right amount of water. 6. You can't turn it off. It's auto shut off. You should not have to shut if off. If for some emergency you have to turn it off, pull the plug. 7. You can only brew 16 ounces instead of one cup. Easy fix. Use one 8 oz. cup and fill it with water and pour it in and guess what. You now have one cup. 8. 185 degrees is not hot enough for a proper brew. Well then I guess you need to spend a little more than 25.00 for coffee maker to get your proper brew. It's not a professional coffee maker. Most people are pretty darn satisfied with what they brew. 9. It seems cheap and flimsy. Hello!!!! It's only 25.00. Are you going to be tossing it around the kitchen? If it's just sitting on the counter how much abuse are you going to do to it. 10. Makes to much of a mess to clean. How? You remove the filter, tap it inside of the trash can and the grounds come out and then you wash it. Simple. My personal opinion it's a great product. It works just as good as my previous model that I had years ago. Use it in good faith and enjoy it. Some complaints are just because people refuse to read directions or use common sense. You can't blame B&D if you get home and open it and something is broken. The way things get thrown around in shipping it's a wonder more stuff isn't broken. Just take it back and exchange it for a new one. That's the great thing, We can do that. If it breaks and you call them and they tell you to cut off the plug and send it to them, then that's for their own record to prove that you are not trying to scam them and get a second product. I had to do that with a keurig when it acted up after a month. Not a problem. ENJOY IT.

Was this review helpful? (97) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdtoga
Saratoga Springs, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Coffee Maker
3/25/2013

Customer review by WallyMartGirl

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by WallyMartGirl
by WallyMartGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect size since I'm the only coffee drinker in the house. I thought it took k-cups from the description, but it also takes 'soft pods' and I wish it showed how much water was in it, there's not a way to measure.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyMartGirl
Lakeville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work, made a mess in my kitchen
7/28/2016

Customer review by walmartcustomer20000

1.0 stars 7/28/2016 by walmartcustomer20000
by walmartcustomer20000

I can't seem to get this to work. It either leaks water everywhere on my kitchen counters or it doesn't work properly, not pulling the water through and when I open it to see what is going on, water and coffee go everywhere. Way too messy and doesn't even make a cup of coffee. Returned!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartcustomer20000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the solo coffee drinker
11/14/2013

Customer review by imaginate

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by imaginate
by imaginate

Had this about a month now. Brews a 16oz. cup of coffee under 3 minutes. The durability of the hinged plastic cover on the brewer is, so far, my only concern. I can see it breaking under too much force. Other than that, one caution is advised. The metal band on the travel mug gets extremely hot in the brewing process.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imaginate
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Handy
7/8/2016

Customer review by Ghost42

4.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Ghost42
by Ghost42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've owned the single coffee maker for about a month. I am the only coffee drinker in the house unless we have company. Then I use a 12 cup machine but during the week I can make fresh coffee every morning and not reheat something. If I need more in the AM, just make another FRESH cup. Also got "points" for using less space on the counter-top!

Ghost42
Egg Harbor, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great single serve coffee maker
4/9/2014

Customer review by happyshopper852

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by happyshopper852
by happyshopper852
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had bought this for my boyfriend as he drinks coffee every morning. Since we have recently just moved into a new place I decided I wanted to buy him a coffee maker as for a year or so he had been just drinking instant coffee because our last place we lived we did not want to buy a coffee maker so that our roommate could pretty much abuse it. The design is very sleek however it was very light and the switch was weird to press (it did not make a click noise), so I was a little skeptical at first. However, the moment we plugged it in, that little coffee maker started steaming and was dripping coffee in less than a minute! My boyfriend was floored to how quickly this coffee maker was able to produce a fresh brew. He use to have to heat up his instant coffee for 5 minutes for it to get to the heat he wanted but this black and decker did it in 3 minutes. I am truly amazed and for the price? totally amazing! Yes it does not work with k-cups but it works with coffee pods as well as ground coffee. I did read the reviews and learnt some tips from other customers to help make our experience just as great! LOVE IT! get it, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyshopper852
Toluca Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker with Mug,
10/23/2014

Customer review by ezriderman

5.0 stars 10/23/2014 by ezriderman
by ezriderman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The good: Unit is physically small Comes with a 16 oz mug Makes good tasting coffee Easy to clean basket Has "on" switch and pilot light Turns off automatically after brewing Can use ground coffee from a can Does not require you to use a paper filter Is ascetically pleasing The draw backs: Forget the coffee pods thing,can't find them in store or on line Everything is K cup now,not a problem open the K cup and empty the continence into the brewing basket. Or just use your favorite brand of ground coffee straight from the can. You will need to experiment with the amount of coffee you put in the brewing basket. As a suggestion start with two level teaspoons for 16 oz. Them add or subtract as desired. Care is required when filling the coffee maker with water as not to spill it down the side, especially the "on" switch side. Problem solved with a 16 measuring cup. the provided mug is not spill proof with a "always open" sipping slot in the lid.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ezriderman
Murphy,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 184 total reviews
1-20 of 184 reviews