Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
69
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 116 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
Easy to use and clean
1/23/2013

Customer review by qadlunaaq

5.0 stars 1/23/2013 by qadlunaaq
by qadlunaaq

There aren't many single cup coffee makers that can use ground coffee (or single coffee packets) instead of the prepackaged K-Cups. This is the only one I found that is tall enough that I can use my stainless steel insulated travel mug instead of the cheap plastic handle-less mug that comes with it, AND has an automatic shutoff. It's inexpensive, relatively quiet, easy to use and clean, and doesn't take up much space.

Was this review helpful? (137) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qadlunaaq
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it. Better than K-cups
12/24/2012

Customer review by moozandsqrl

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by moozandsqrl
by moozandsqrl

My husband and I both love this because we can make our coffee fresh one cup at a time without the excess packaging and expense of K-cups.

Was this review helpful? (61) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moozandsqrl
Harrison Valley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bang for the buck!
4/5/2013

Customer review by LarryinManassas

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by LarryinManassas
by LarryinManassas

I thought about spending big bucks on a Keurig and decided to try this cheapo. Darn; I'm frugle and smart. Great product. I just bought a 2nd for my office I like it so much!

Was this review helpful? (77) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LarryinManassas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Single Cup Coffee Maker
7/12/2014

Customer review by jdtoga

5.0 stars 7/12/2014 by jdtoga
by jdtoga

I had a B&D personal brew and go coffee maker years ago and I loved it. It finally gave up after a few years of faithful use and I purchased a Keurig. I loved it but the k-cups were getting way to expensive so I started using a refillable filter. I moved into a small apartment and the maker was just to big for my small kitchen so I started my search for something smaller and came across this. I could no longer get my the previous model in any stores. I could only order it online so after searching I found this one which is just about the same thing just in a different form. It has performed to my expectations just as I hoped it would. I can add more or less grounds for whatever my taste may be in the morning. It brews hot and fast. After reading some of the negative reviews I just had to put my two cents in about some of them. 1. Yes the mug that comes with it is not the best, but you're purchasing a coffee maker not a mug. The mug is just an added bonus. I could tell the mug wasn't the best, the moment I took the lid off, that's a no brainer. I use my own mug as I always have a few floating around my kitchen. 2. Coffee pods are hard to find. Yes they are. Most pod makers have come, and gone just as quickly the last few years. So, just use your regular ground coffee. Why complain because you can't find pods. There's always a store that has at lease one brand of pods. You can always order them online if you really want them that bad. 3. The maker doesn't take K-cups. It is not advertised as having the option of using K-cups. 4. It leaves sludge in the bottom of my cup. That's because of the filter. Almost every permanent filter I have used does that. You have to use a courser grind on the coffee. The permanent filter is not a paper filter it doesn't get some of the finer particles out. 5. Don't know how much water to put in. Just fill the mug you are going to use and guess what. you now have the right amount of water. 6. You can't turn it off. It's auto shut off. You should not have to shut if off. If for some emergency you have to turn it off, pull the plug. 7. You can only brew 16 ounces instead of one cup. Easy fix. Use one 8 oz. cup and fill it with water and pour it in and guess what. You now have one cup. 8. 185 degrees is not hot enough for a proper brew. Well then I guess you need to spend a little more than 25.00 for coffee maker to get your proper brew. It's not a professional coffee maker. Most people are pretty darn satisfied with what they brew. 9. It seems cheap and flimsy. Hello!!!! It's only 25.00. Are you going to be tossing it around the kitchen? If it's just sitting on the counter how much abuse are you going to do to it. 10. Makes to much of a mess to clean. How? You remove the filter, tap it inside of the trash can and the grounds come out and then you wash it. Simple. My personal opinion it's a great product. It works just as good as my previous model that I had years ago. Use it in good faith and enjoy it. Some complaints are just because people refuse to read directions or use common sense. You can't blame B&D if you get home and open it and something is broken. The way things get thrown around in shipping it's a wonder more stuff isn't broken. Just take it back and exchange it for a new one. That's the great thing, We can do that. If it breaks and you call them and they tell you to cut off the plug and send it to them, then that's for their own record to prove that you are not trying to scam them and get a second product. I had to do that with a keurig when it acted up after a month. Not a problem. ENJOY IT.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdtoga
Saratoga Springs, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good coffee maker for my purpose
6/5/2013

Customer review by Senecashore

3.0 stars 6/5/2013 by Senecashore
by Senecashore

I really like the coffee maker. The only problem I have is the cup that came with it. It is very HOT after the coffee has brewed. It looks insulated but apparently isn't. But I have been using a different insulated cup with handle. Doesn't take up much space on my counter.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Senecashore
Penn Yan, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/9/2013

Customer review by Notacrazycatlady

4.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Notacrazycatlady
by Notacrazycatlady

I bought this for my husband for work. He likes that he can make a cup of coffee and not a whole pot. This uses coffee grounds or SOFT pods. You can not use the hard pods in it. It took me a while to locate the soft pods and there is only one manufacturer that makes them at this point. It will work for what he needs it for.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notacrazycatlady
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for a fresh cup whenever you want
11/21/2012

Customer review by Pebbles8136

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Pebbles8136
by Pebbles8136

No more coffee sitting in the pot and getting overdone. This is the perfect answer.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pebbles8136
Canyon Lake, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coffee, Tea or just Hot Water
10/6/2013

Customer review by JMS52

5.0 stars 10/6/2013 by JMS52
by JMS52

I really like this little coffee maker. I enjoy hot tea and my husband like coffee. We have two travel mugs that works fine with this, just leave the lid off while it is brewing. If you just need a cup of hot water, it hot in just a few minutes. No more having to use a tea pot on the stove or running the microwave for several minutes. Just what I was looking for. The Auto off is a bonus on this little machine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMS52
Green Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great single cup coffee maker
3/23/2013

Customer review by Shoppingmomma23456

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by Shoppingmomma23456
by Shoppingmomma23456

So happy with this purchase! I wanted a single cup coffee maker that used ground coffee and this is perfect. I like that I can use the cup that comes with it or many of my other insulated coffee cups. Makes a nice cup of coffee in less than 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shoppingmomma23456
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Coffee Maker
3/25/2013

Customer review by WallyMartGirl

3.0 stars 3/25/2013 by WallyMartGirl
by WallyMartGirl

Perfect size since I'm the only coffee drinker in the house. I thought it took k-cups from the description, but it also takes 'soft pods' and I wish it showed how much water was in it, there's not a way to measure.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyMartGirl
Lakeville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The coffee maker is great. The cup stinks.
5/16/2013

Customer review by Tomatoman30

4.0 stars 5/16/2013 by Tomatoman30
by Tomatoman30

The coffee maker is great. The cup stinks. The top does not seal and leaks when you drink from it. I had to go back to Walmart and spend $8.00 on a good cup. They should have given me a good cup.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tomatoman30
Rolla, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great coffee maker
5/23/2013

Customer review by 76FatRabbits

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by 76FatRabbits
by 76FatRabbits

I have had this coffee maker for about 4 or 5 months and it gets used every day. it only takes a few minutes to brew a cup and that in it's self is worth it. I like the mesh filter that it comes with, keeps me from having to buy replacements. The coffee is not scalding hot, but in all reality; who wants to burn thier mouth everyday? by the time I get to work (an hour after the coffee is brewed) it is still hot. Well worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
76FatRabbits
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the solo coffee drinker
11/14/2013

Customer review by imaginate

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by imaginate
by imaginate

Had this about a month now. Brews a 16oz. cup of coffee under 3 minutes. The durability of the hinged plastic cover on the brewer is, so far, my only concern. I can see it breaking under too much force. Other than that, one caution is advised. The metal band on the travel mug gets extremely hot in the brewing process.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
imaginate
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great buy
7/22/2013

Customer review by grandmamean

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by grandmamean
by grandmamean

Simple to use, makes great coffee. Only need 2 tablespoons of coffee grounds to make a slightly strong container of coffee or use less if you don't like strong. Great value for the price. The two year warranty is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmamean
La Salle, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Travel Mug Comes Broken
8/22/2013

Customer review by biostudent

2.0 stars 8/22/2013 by biostudent
by biostudent

I got this coffee maker last week to use at school, and was so excited about it. I drink a lot of coffee and as a Biology major coffee in the morning is a must. I was looking forward to the fact that it came with a travel mug for me to take my coffee on the go and drink it while I am in class. But I was very disappointed that the travel mug is faulty. Not only does it not have a closing feature where you drink from but as I drank the coffee from it once I got halfway done it started spilling from the outside of the mug underneath the silver band on the mug. THAT is NOT okay. Also, when I called the Customer Service Warranty people they told me that I would have to damage my coffee maker by cutting the cord off to send to them and PAY THEM to get the product replaced. That is ridiculous, all that needs to be replaced is the mug, and in general NO ONE should have to pay them to replace what they sold broken. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biostudent
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great single serve coffee maker
4/9/2014

Customer review by happyshopper852

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by happyshopper852
by happyshopper852

I had bought this for my boyfriend as he drinks coffee every morning. Since we have recently just moved into a new place I decided I wanted to buy him a coffee maker as for a year or so he had been just drinking instant coffee because our last place we lived we did not want to buy a coffee maker so that our roommate could pretty much abuse it. The design is very sleek however it was very light and the switch was weird to press (it did not make a click noise), so I was a little skeptical at first. However, the moment we plugged it in, that little coffee maker started steaming and was dripping coffee in less than a minute! My boyfriend was floored to how quickly this coffee maker was able to produce a fresh brew. He use to have to heat up his instant coffee for 5 minutes for it to get to the heat he wanted but this black and decker did it in 3 minutes. I am truly amazed and for the price? totally amazing! Yes it does not work with k-cups but it works with coffee pods as well as ground coffee. I did read the reviews and learnt some tips from other customers to help make our experience just as great! LOVE IT! get it, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyshopper852
Toluca Lake, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for 1 or 2 cups of coffee.
1/3/2014

Customer review by outerspaced

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by outerspaced
by outerspaced

My sister had one and liked it so well I now bought one. Great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outerspaced
Stuart, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing little one hitter coffee machine!
10/22/2013

Customer review by wowwow1

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by wowwow1
by wowwow1

Get it because it's inexpensive and works with pods. Very efficiently! Please buy this coffee maker if you want to keep saving money- less water and coffe grounds!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wowwow1
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/6/2013

Customer review by Bootsie88

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Bootsie88
by Bootsie88

I am very happy with the Black & Decker Single Serve Coffee Maker. I especially like the travel mug as I make one cup and take the mug along with me to do my morning errands. It also shuts off automatically so no worry if the coffee maker was turned off.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bootsie88
Marshall, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than a Keurig for a quarter of the price!
7/15/2014

Customer review by dmc871

4.0 stars 7/15/2014 by dmc871
by dmc871

I use a Keurig at my job, and while I love the convenience, I don't like not being able to make a stronger mug of coffee. Having a basket, rather than a pod, allows you to adjust the brew exactly to your liking. It's easy to use and the coffee is the perfect temperature, (and hotter than my previous coffee maker.) As the coffee grounds absorb some of the water, I've found that if you measure out the water to about 1/2" of the top of the cup, which you then pour into the coffee maker, you'll have just the right amount of room for creamer. I'd have gladly given it 5 stars if it didn't drip for a little while after the brew is complete, which makes a little bit of a mess. I just end up putting in a ramekin or custard cup to catch the drips once I take the mug out. Also, the cup that comes with the coffee maker leaked at the lid. Like a lot. I've got a ton of travel mugs, so I just tossed the one that came with it. If you like the ability to make a strong cup of coffee this is the perfect choice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmc871
Niskayuna, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews