Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

63 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
7
1-20 of 61 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Good Value & Meets Expectatiions
11/21/2012

Customer review by valuseekr

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by valuseekr
by valuseekr

If connecting a satellite receiver to the unit, a digital optical cable is a must. There is a port for this optical cable on this unit and it connects to a DirecTV HD DVR satellite receiver. I am not sure if Dish Network or cable boxes have this port. Great sound quality. Plays blu ray movies. Has an HDMI port as well. Quality of the unit was excellent even though it states it is refurbished. "Refurbished" can mean that a product may have just been returned to the store with absolutely nothing wrong with it except that it was returned. There is no problem existing with this unit. I would buy another refurbished item such as a TV with few reservations. They're the same quality or better than the original.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
valuseekr
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best bang for your buck.
11/28/2013

Customer review by tjwelch1981

4.0 stars 11/28/2013 by tjwelch1981
by tjwelch1981

I needed to replace my existing home entertainment system. I got a number of different systems, before I ended up with this one. I really didn't want to spend over $200 and I wanted one that would give me the option for netflix built in. I first went with the same manufacturer I had before, Philips (wifi built in). I wasn't really pleased. The netflix system froze a number of times. I replaced it with RCA. This didn't have the wifi in but could connect to a wireless system for wifi still. That system was sluggish between the remote and the system. It seemed that when I pushed a button on the remote it wasn't as responsive as I liked plus the buttons seemed to stiff. I replaced it with this model and I have been very pleased with one exception. The center speaker in this system gives off a buzz; I'm working that out with walmart now. That aside I'm sticking with this one and for the price I paid, I've very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjwelch1981
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Home Theater!
4/23/2013

Customer review by TheWalmartExperience

4.0 stars 4/23/2013 by TheWalmartExperience
by TheWalmartExperience

I purchased a Philips Home Theater at first; I was NOT happy so I returned and purchased the Refurbished Samsung Home Theater system. So HAPPY that I did. The setup was easy. The SOUND is INCREDIBLE while watching dvd(s). Its like being in an actual 'movie theater'. When not watching dvd(s), the system is also used to provide the sound when watching TV. I would definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheWalmartExperience
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty nice system for the money!
12/26/2013

Customer review by UpsetSamsungbuyer

2.0 stars 12/26/2013 by UpsetSamsungbuyer
by UpsetSamsungbuyer

Sounds good, great picture on the BluRay. Would be a 5 star rating except I received my unit and the wire for the sub-woofer was missing. This normally would not be an issue, except that is takes a plug to connect to the head unit and you can't just run a speaker wire. After calling Samsung, they told me that since it is refurbished, I would have to purchase the wire. This really upset me and after going up the ladder at Samsung, they agreed to send me the wire. Beware of refurbished product from Samsung, if there are pieces missing, they will try to make you buy the piece.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UpsetSamsungbuyer
Lebanon, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic sound for a 200 watt system.
11/2/2013

Customer review by Music343

5.0 stars 11/2/2013 by Music343
by Music343

I almost returned this product had I read the owner's manual before installing this product. I asked the question on how many watts. Someone replied 500 watts. I thought this was a heck of a deal. Once I installed the product, I started reading the specs and was dismayed that it only had 200 watts. I was going to return it with a scathing letter referring to deception. However, I turned the system on and was impressed with the sound and picture. I had a good buy in spite of what I felt initially of a deceptive "bait and switch." Kuddos to this system.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Music343
Byron, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sounds is Really Good
11/25/2013

Customer review by EXCELSHOPPER

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by EXCELSHOPPER
by EXCELSHOPPER

My husband & I purchased this refurbished Samsung Home Theatre because we wanted a Blue Ray player. So far, we like this system. The sound is really awesome and we like the fact that we can get to Netflicks and Pandora through the blue ray system! So far so good!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EXCELSHOPPER
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great system!
12/29/2013

Customer review by jannie48

5.0 stars 12/29/2013 by jannie48
by jannie48

I purchased this unit as a Christmas present for my husband. It took no time to get it up and running. The main reason we wanted a home theatre system was the music from the shows we were watching was over powering the speech. We were constantly asking, "what did he say"? It was driving us nuts. Now we can enjoy our big screen tv and hear everything clearly. Oh, and a bonus is our Direct Tv remote now controls everything. We bought a Bose speaker that was supposed to take care of the problem we were having but it didn't work. We spent $400.00, what a waste! Plus there was this tiny little remote that was getting lost between the seat cushions. This is a great system and I would highly recommend this to friends.

Was this review helpful? (25) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jannie48
southwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hit or Miss, Refurbished
7/7/2014

Customer review by 7onlineshopper100

1.0 stars 7/7/2014 by 7onlineshopper100
by 7onlineshopper100

Not sure how a refurbished Home Theater can be checked out without first seeing if it is working right, follow me here, Home Theater, Blu-ray player, 5.1 channel, HD 1080 LED flat screen TV (me) now you plug in, and you would think that some one would have checked to see if the HDMI plug in is working so you can see your movies in 1080 HD, the only working plug is the RCA video out 480I picture, so now it has to be replaced, had to take it to a local Walmart, and now wait 2 weeks for a replacement to be shipped to me, I'm very unhappy, not at Walmart, as they were very nice about the way they handled this, its Samsung, you have to wonder why they have so many of this model refurbished Home Theaters that they can have then on sale.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7onlineshopper100
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system, a little bit of a hassle to set up.
5/17/2014

Customer review by DecorGal8

4.0 stars 5/17/2014 by DecorGal8
by DecorGal8

The system itself is great: The sound, the picture, the look of the system. However, I ended up going a whole week without having the whole system set up like I wanted. It was a chore trying to find the proper wires to extend the speakers because it is so thin. I have a very small living room too and I still had to extend the wires. Now that it is all set up and I don't have wires all over the floor, I am pleased. But be forewarned, expect to have to extend the wires.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DecorGal8
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worth The Money
11/29/2012

Customer review by Jay361

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by Jay361
by Jay361

You won't go wrong with this investment. It's worth every dime. The sound is exceptionally profound, and you can feel every ounce of dramatic effect.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jay361
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome product, Refurbished= Defect.
4/11/2014

Customer review by gerobeth

4.0 stars 4/11/2014 by gerobeth
by gerobeth

Very good quality product completion , awesome sound , and has more than I expected , as I can see files directly from my computer , accepts almost all formats of video , USB, netflix , pandora . It is a great product , of course I do not give you all the stars because as it is a Refurbished product, which had expected a defect . The rear optical audio input has problems connecting my computer and the audio goes back and forth , as if was disconnected , call technical assistance and hath attended I had no idea how to solve the problem, recommended me to take my pc repair , when that's my job , repair computers lol . Try to put the latest firmware , but since I had it installed, and I could not reinstall it again , reset the computer to factory settings letting down the stop button for 8 sec, and nothing followed with the same problem . Search google some solution for this and nothing . Looks like I'm the first who really wants to get right to the problem. I hope the next firmware upgrade , if not .. I do not care. Anyway I can watch my videos directly from my computer and impressive audio quality .

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gerobeth
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for everyday sound
5/10/2013

Customer review by craftykt

5.0 stars 5/10/2013 by craftykt
by craftykt

We were not so sure about buying refurbished, but were pleasantly surprised. Ordered it online. Love the new texting feature, they send you a text when it gets to the store. Came in on time. Got it home, it really is a nice system. Sounds great for movies or just normal TV. Good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
craftykt
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of junk
12/23/2013

Customer review by Jenjen446

1.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Jenjen446
by Jenjen446

Since when does a surround system only have two speakers work on TV, radio and CD 's. The only time all speakers work are when you play a DVD or Bluray, speaking of DVD, it has never worked! From the very 1st DVD I tried to play, it froze up in the 1st frame and wouldn't go any further. It was a horrible mess to set up and then to have it not work was at the least to say, extremely disappointing!! The sound (what sound?) is terrible, sounds like it's coming out of a tin can. It's definitely going back, or trash, whichever comes first. Word of advice - don't waste your money or time with this piece of junk!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jenjen446
Arvada, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
9/1/2013

Customer review by Bubba0666

4.0 stars 9/1/2013 by Bubba0666
by Bubba0666

Like the sound just wish i could get more bass out of it. The worst part was the fact i paid for expidited shipping and didnt get it when promised.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bubba0666
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great features for the price
7/26/2014

Customer review by Hirat420

4.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Hirat420
by Hirat420

Great product, just like new if you buy it refurbished, Great sound, nice design. I would recommend you by a digital audio cable if you want to hook up your Xbox/Ps3 or cable box to it. The Aux cables don't support 5.1 surround sound

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hirat420
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Could have been good, but wasn't - AVOID!!!
1/5/2014

Customer review by DBush

1.0 stars 1/5/2014 by DBush
by DBush

For years my dad bought refurbished under the philosophy it's better than new because the bugs have already been figured out and fixed. And, you're saving money and there's a warranty. Maybe in the old days. This past year I have been so burned with refurbished, "scratch and dent", etc, that I'm done with it. More time, effort, and money than it's worth. I bought this system and took it home. Eventually got around to yanking the old system out and setting this one up. Initially, sounded great with Pandora. Then, hooked up youtube and synchronized it to my phone where I could control it. Awesome feature and video was full screen and sounded great. Turned on TV and the sound over HDMI connection was perfect. Then I decided to show my wife why I bought a BluRay with the surround sound. Put a brand new DVD in we had watched a couple days earlier and it just stuttered and sounded horrible. Tried two more good quality DVDs I knew worked and the same thing. Obviously I figured out what was wrong with it initially and why it should have been "refurbished." After having to then unhook everything and pack it up, I wasn't about to do that again. Went to Best Buy and bought a better Samsung unit with wireless rear speakers. Moral of the story: Save yourself the trouble and just buy new.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DBush
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/21/2012

Customer review by Mstorr

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Mstorr
by Mstorr

This is an amazing machine. In the right place you can also watch Netflix apart from other things

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mstorr
Nassau, Bahamas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far so good
8/30/2013

Customer review by lexyaus

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by lexyaus
by lexyaus

It's very good . The sound quality is perfect. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lexyaus
Boston,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5 stars & excellent quality for price
4/6/2014

Customer review by babymakesmore

5.0 stars 4/6/2014 by babymakesmore
by babymakesmore

We are thrilled with this home theater system, if it was refurbished, the repairs were impeccable. Everything works, we have every port filled (and could actually use a port switch, but that's another review) The Blu-Ray/DVD player is silent & smooth, plays discs that skipped on our old player flawlessly. The sound is awesome & the color-coded plugs are fantastic. As other reviewers have stated, we did have to extend the rear surround speakers, but this was very easy to accomplish with heat shrink and a box knife.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
babymakesmore
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deal on a refurbished unit.
5/23/2014

Customer review by CustomersinColo

4.0 stars 5/23/2014 by CustomersinColo
by CustomersinColo

We were not able to purchase a service plan with this purchase. When we opened the box, we discovered that every speaker wire had been cut. Apparently the "refurbishing" missed this. LOL It's a great product, and a good price. Works fine now....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CustomersinColo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews