Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 231 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

231 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

231 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
105
4 stars
61
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 stars
35
1-20 of 217 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews
I love this exercise bike - except for the seat.
5/1/2013

Customer review by ryarr

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by ryarr
by ryarr

I read a lot of reviews, and decided to purchase this machine at my local store. I've been using it every day for two weeks and so far love it - but the seat is seriously uncomfortable. It's the same size as a comfort seat on an actual bicycle, which I have never liked. I have to sit on the edge to keep from getting bruises. But... I really like the pre-programmed workouts. The bike is also really sturdy, which I wasn't expecting for the price. It definitely requires two people to put together (to avoid serious injury). I thought I could handle it myself but my husband had to jump in to help put the feet on the base. I also didn't bother getting batteries and went straight for a power adapter. They had a multi-adapter at my local store for under $20. I'm giving it five stars, despite the ridiculously uncomfortable seat because it really is an awesome bike for the price. However, if you're not overweight - beware. The seat is really wide and will push into your glutes, causing bruising and soreness.

Was this review helpful? (91) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryarr
Joplin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hard to beat for the money
3/31/2013

Customer review by Gooberwiper

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Gooberwiper
by Gooberwiper

I saw this in the store and it looked like a good deal, but checking the reviews I was concerned about whether all the parts would be in the box. I'm happy to report that everything was there, it fit together well, and it was really a cinch to set up. Operation is very smooth and nearly silent, which suits my needs. I'm planning to ride while watching TV and this will do beautifully. I mark it down only for the discomfort of the seat! I'm still searching for a comfortable position, but have not found it. The recumbent was what I was after, but the footprint is so large and the machine is awkward. I can move this one up and down the steps if I need to, and the handy rollers are great for positioning across the floor. Fix the seat and this would earn 5 stars (unless I breaks prematurely). It works just like the lifecycles I used to use, and the magnetic resistance is very well done. I'm hoping to burn some fat finally - I have waited far too long!

Was this review helpful? (31) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gooberwiper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice upright bike for the price!
12/30/2013

Customer review by LovinLife00

5.0 stars 12/30/2013 by LovinLife00
by LovinLife00

I have never owned a stationary bike, but recently had knee surgery and my physical therapist recommended I use one to build strength. Did a lot of reading online and was surprised at how quiet the 290 C was. While my husband and I easily put this together, the customer service representative at Walmart shared with us that they we could have requested that they put the bike together free of charge - something to consider for those of you who don't want to hassle with that part of it! Have only used it two days and off to a great start. I'm curious to see how long the batteries last, and am hopeful that I don't have to purchase a power supply. While the description points out you can move the bike by tilting back and rolling to another location, the wheels do not work on hardwood. They do work slightly better on carpeting and one person can slide within a room, but I would suggest having two people carry it if you are concerned about your flooring.

Was this review helpful? (33) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinLife00
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It is great for the money, but....
12/24/2013

Customer review by LilysGarden

4.0 stars 12/24/2013 by LilysGarden
by LilysGarden
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Assembling was not an issue. Bike looked great and it worked fine first 2 days. On the third day it developed an annoying knock inside on the left side. It was not loud but silent bike is very important for us since we have wooden floors and people living downstairs. We plan to continue using this bike mostly early morning or late night and we don't want to disturb our neighbors. It would be irritating to us as well, after all it was annoying... and cmon, we just bought this thing! I decided to take action and take a look inside since I hated the idea of returning fully assembled bike to the store. Cover came off easily. I moved the left pedal up and down and noticed a little play developed at the base. I took a screwdriver and hammer and tight it up clockwise. It turned easily so I figured this was the problem... and it was. Bike is silent again. Love it! If it wouldn't be for this described above issue I would give it a 5 star over all. I also see that I will have to re-tight some screws after a while since material and parts get adjusted to each other. I think it is normal.

Was this review helpful? (32) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LilysGarden
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best For The Money
2/23/2014

Customer review by StrayGoose70

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by StrayGoose70
by StrayGoose70

Finished my first workout with the 290C bike, and I was very impressed. Assembly took about an hour (I was going slow), with very little difficulty. It helps to have a second person around for assembly and attachment of the display screen. I really like the 14 workout programs, 7 for aerobic and 7 for performance. Additionally, my favorite feature, is the 8-week weight loss program, you just select your workout week and day, and the computer does the rest. I looked all over the Internet and locally, and I assure you there isn't a better good quality, low-cost bike than this one. It feels very sturdy, but I'll keep an eye open for any wear issues. Very quiet at this point. Previously, I had a recumbent bike that I used for several years. We bought a new house, and the room I use for my office isn't big enough to handle my office equipment and furniture, plus the recumbent. The 290C only has a 32 inch footprint, as opposed to the 72 inch footprint of the recumbent. Walmart had the best price of any retailer, including Amazon (I'm a Prime member). You can't go wrong with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StrayGoose70
Searcy, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
$$$$$$ for what you pay!
2/24/2013

Customer review by grwelz

4.0 stars 2/24/2013 by grwelz
by grwelz

I am 54 years old. This machine can be set up by one person if they are careful. As earlier reviewers have said, an ac outlet should be supplied. as an earlier reviewer submitted: resistance #1 is tuff enough. with the "spin & grin" philosophy of a bicycle rider/racer maybe # 1 should be #3. Old fat guys need encouragement, not demorilization. set up: about 2 hours watching ink master on spike tv. no one gives props to the awesome sound system. give me an ac adapter and i wont worry about sound effects. also no one mentions that you can just start pedaling and your time will go from there. and it stops if you stop, unlike the programs. for 200.00$$ American, you can not go wrong. only ridden 16 miles but happy. I would like to see an adjustable handle bar, too upright for true cyclists, but hey i only paid 200.00.!! very happy so far!

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grwelz
my apartment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/25/2012

Customer review by Amarande

4.0 stars 10/25/2012 by Amarande
by Amarande
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really like my bike! I was unsure about getting it due to lack of good reviews, but Im glad I did. The instructions to put it together were simple and I was able to do it by myself. The only problem I've had with it is one of the pedals kept coming off during use. I remedied this by getting some metal epoxy and using that to permanently bond the pedals to the machine. Havent had another issue. Also, you will need to go to Radio Shack and buy an A/C adapter for the machine for about fifty bucks. Get the 6 watt, 2 amp a/c adapter with a K tip.

Was this review helpful? (73) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amarande
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love our bike!
11/17/2012

Customer review by vincent90210

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by vincent90210
by vincent90210
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great bike for the price. Recommend buying the the adapter plug(walmart 6 volts) so you won't have to keep buying batteries. Very easy to assemble. Very quiet. My wife loves it!

Was this review helpful? (99) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vincent90210
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike - but make sure it works correctly!
10/28/2013

Customer review by rpenn57

4.0 stars 10/28/2013 by rpenn57
by rpenn57

I bought this bike based on features vs price. It seems to be built very sturdy and was easy for me to assemble. While trying it out though, it was very hard to pedal, even on setting 1. I read some other reviews and thought this might just be the was it was supposed to be. IT IS NOT! The resistance never got easier or harder when changing the settings. I exchanged it at a local store and the one I have now works perfectly. Anyone who gets this bike and it is too hard to pedal, or the resistance never changes, exchange it quick! Other than that, we love this bike.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rpenn57
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent bike for the price we paid
12/6/2013

Customer review by Sapphirelane

4.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Sapphirelane
by Sapphirelane
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike is perfect for doing a basic workout and doesn't take up a lot of space. Connects to iPod or iPhone for music during the workout. Speakers aren't great but meets the basic need. Fan helps on high or low setting during use. Adjustable seat works for me at 5 feet 1 inch and my husband who is 6 feet 1 inch. Overall good purchase for the price. Free shipping made the decision for us!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sapphirelane
Franklin park, nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DON'T WAST TIME OR MONEY
2/24/2014

Customer review by MartialArtist2

1.0 stars 2/24/2014 by MartialArtist2
by MartialArtist2

I'm usually not one to have buyers remorse, but Gold's Gym got me this time. Had an older model that was well made and lasted 6 yrs. replaced it with this one. Very cheap plastic, and the ergonomics leave a lot to be desired. I'm short 5' 2" tall. I have to push the seat all the way back. Can't imagine a tall person on this bike. The seat is also the WORST! It's oversized, way too big and very uncomfortable. Checked with a bike shop and there's NO WAY TO CHANGE IT! Last but not least, the bike doesn't come with a power supply, you have to buy an essential they deem "optional." The bike uses 4 "D" size batteries that last about a week, so the power supply is NOT optional. Will be giving this mistake away...if anyone will take it. DONT BUY THIS BIKE OR YOU WILL BE SORRY!

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MartialArtist2
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Same problem as most other people - a gamble
5/19/2013

Customer review by Sourkrause

1.0 stars 5/19/2013 by Sourkrause
by Sourkrause
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The unit worked - albeit with very hard resistance on the very first setting. This seems to be a problem with the resistance motor (or whatever it is technically referred to) that determines just how much resistance is needed. After using it despite this issue (I viewed it as a challenge to get stronger) the control panel stopped responding to the movement of the wheel - it does not sense that the wheel is rotating anymore and times out after a minute or so. This means that you no longer can use any functions of the timer, clock, distance, etc. The resistance still works, but the initial setting is hard enough. THIS WAS ONLY AFTER 4 DAYS - about 2 HOURS ACTUAL USE. I purchased a 3 year plan, but I am going to return it to the store (and I'm probably going to be stupid and exchange it for - hopefully - a functioning one).

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sourkrause
Euless, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally, no more excuses for him
12/12/2014

Customer review by JellisamGirl

5.0 stars 12/12/2014 by JellisamGirl
by JellisamGirl

Due to a chronic illness my husband isn't able to be on his feet a lot. A treadmill is not an option for him to get his daily exercise. An elliptical unit tears him up. So, this stationary bike has turned out to be the ticket for the 'ole boy. He can ride in almost total quiet with it or put on some loud punk rock and boogie down. His favorite thing is watching boring documentaries. Well, let's put it this way, he's got a way to stay relatively active and at the same time not nag about not being unable to walk a lot outside. I put the bike in front of a window, but in full view of the TV, and off he goes! Now that's a good boy. I know I'm a great spouse now. He's losing weight, not complaining (as much), seems happier, doesn't mess up my living room, and best of all, he's riding a sharp looking stationary bike that answered my prayers. Walmart had the best price and the delivery system is amazing. Three days to deliver! I have since this purchase ordered two other products with the same dependable service. Walmart rocks! As does Gold's Gym.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JellisamGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs Batteries
10/23/2012

Customer review by amb1231

4.0 stars 10/23/2012 by amb1231
by amb1231

This is a good smooth bike, it gives a great workout..... within 2 minutes my legs are on fire and within 5 my heart rate is where it needs to be. Only drawback for me is that you have to have 4 (I think C) batteries. You can buy a plug seperately which I have not done yet. Also the fan doesnt really make a difference. But the bike is good.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amb1231
Conroe Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/5/2012

Customer review by ldebloom

1.0 stars 11/5/2012 by ldebloom
by ldebloom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This looked like a great exercise bike. We purchased one and after cycling for about 5 minutes the second time on, it made a clucky noise and froze up. Once we did get the pedals to move it made an awlful grinding noise. We returned it for a refund, but decided to try this same bike again. Unfortunately, about 2 minutes in to the first cycle the same thing happened again.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ldebloom
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor Customer Service and Bad Product
1/23/2013

Customer review by Jadebug

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by Jadebug
by Jadebug

I got the bike home and all put together and the resistance will not work, which is run off the monitor screen on the bike and from what I read on here that is a common problem. I tried to call customer service and was on hold for 45 mins and never even got to speak to anyone. I would say save yourself the hassle and do not buy this product, I will be taking mine back to store for refund.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jadebug
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Horrible Product/Horrible Customer Service
1/15/2013

Customer review by Losso3

1.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Losso3
by Losso3

I recently purchased this bike, reading all the positive and great reviews I decided to give it a shot. The bike is very easy to assemble, i was really looking forward to using it instantly and instantly the resistance messed up, apparently the bike has some issue with the magnets that calculate the resistance. The resistance is super stiff on level 1. I called customer service over and over, spent over 20 to 30mins at a time on hold and never got through. I finally got through and got redirected to another company who does their repairs, they were suppose to call me in 3-5 business days, never heard from them. The bike is just taking space in my house, i can't even find a stationary bike repair anywhere in my neighborhood. HIGHLY disappointed with this product.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Losso3
New York, NY 11211
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great bike for the money....
12/20/2013

Customer review by trdennis

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by trdennis
by trdennis

Been using for a couple of weeks now and I have not had any of the issues other reviewers have had. Magnetic resistance is smooth and quiet. Assembly was simple even with just one person. Seat is a bit hard but I do not find hardness much different than my moutain bike seat. Display console and programs works perfectly. I am just fine using batteries for the console. I did not like the idea of running a cord from the wall and up to the console. Much cleaner without adapter and easier to move if needed without having to unplug. Overall I was surprised at the features and quality of the bike for just under $200.00.

Was this review helpful? (46) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trdennis
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Missing the power supply
11/20/2015

Customer review by WatchReturned

1.0 stars 11/20/2015 by WatchReturned
by WatchReturned

This unit doesn't come with a power supply, which initially isn't a big deal, until you try to find one. I used the 4 D batteries and they lasted for a week, like most other reviews, while I waited for the power supply that I purchased online. I didn't like the cycle at all. I put it together myself but it lacks stabilization, but not the biggest issue for me. The resistance maxed out at level 10, 16mph. So if you are any time of recreational user, you'll be out of the workout range of this unit very quickly. Then I the power supply arrived and didn't work. Bought more batteries and my cycle still works fine. 4(D) batteries are 6 volts, about 1amp current draw. Purchased the powerline multiuse power adapter from Walmart, put it on 6v, tip positive, and it still didn't work. Ramped it all the way to 12volts and still couldn't get it to work. Very frustrating. Finally found an old adapter, 12volts, plugged it in and the bike powered up and is working fine. Needless to say this fiasco has warned me about buying items online without their verified power supplies.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WatchReturned
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your time
11/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought first bike 2 years ago and display went bad in September of this year. Bought new version of Gold Gym's bike and the resistance equated to a 7 or 8 of the old bike (could barely pedal). Took back and will not be buying again.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews