Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

33 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 32 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Easy and perfect size!
1/2/2013

Customer review by Bling2281

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Bling2281
by Bling2281
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my 65 year old great uncle. He loves it! It's not overly complicated and he can take it anywhere he goes. It's not too bulky in size. It fits right in your pocket.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bling2281
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Camera quit working. Red exclamation point on display with no explanation.
2/23/2013

Customer review by Red exclamation

1.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Red exclamation
by Red exclamation

We purchased this camera for my daughter on 12/24/2012 to take with her on an extended trip to South America. Of all places, it quit working in the Galapagos. A couple days ago, when she turned it on, a red exclamation point was displayed with no explanation as to why and the camera would not function. She tried the reset button and the battery is charged. The camera has not been damaged (water, sand, impact, etc.) I researched the issue and found numerous other occurrences with some suggestions but no solutions. I could find no reference to the red exclamation point even on the Nikon site, despite a troublesome number of cameras with this same problem. I called Nikon and the rep was unable to offer any solution other than repair. Now I'm having problems finding authorized repair sites in South America and have emailed Nikon for assistance. Needless to say, our daughter is distressed at not having a camera in what may be a once in a lifetime trip and experience.

Red exclamation
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good camera for its size
1/1/2013

Customer review by gp63

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by gp63
by gp63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the smallest real camera available and fits iin your pocket along with other stuff like keys or wallet. The pictures quality is good. At a New Year's party, people were amazed at its size. You will take it with you more often than other cameras and capture lifes important moments.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gp63
Woodbury, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bad and blurry pictures
11/27/2012

Customer review by MCSAT

1.0 stars 11/27/2012 by MCSAT
by MCSAT

I bought this camera thinking the quality would be great but after taking about 20 pictures the quality of the pictures were horrible. The pictures were dark and blurry half of the time. Didn't allow you to change the setting from automatic. Loved the size of the camera but unfortunately the quality of the pictures is what made me return this item back. This is the second Nikon camera I have purchased that had the same horrible picture quality. I will stick to my old camera.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCSAT
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor insight by developers
11/8/2012

Customer review by dave

2.0 stars 11/8/2012 by dave
by dave

Not a bad little camera. I have bought DOZENS of Nikon cameras of all styles . My reason for a poor review is this: I am trying to limit what I have to have with me when I travel. I recently got an iPAD. This camera HAS to be connected via USB to charge or transfer photos. When I attached the S01 to the iPAD, I get a message the device requires too much power. That's it! I cannot transfer photos to iPAD. I wrote a letter to tech support and the answer was "it is not designed to connect to a tablet". To ME; this is a HUGE oversight. You can pack around a nice little camera but you also need a laptop or tower to transfer? In this day and age? Absolutely ridiculous. Could do Bluetooth and I would be happy. Or something with WiFi??? I could always charge the camera via USB plug in, but to require too much power that you cannot transfer photos!! = Oversight by Nikon designers IMO

dave
Peace River Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? No
the best tiny camera
1/12/2015

Customer review by pal369

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by pal369
by pal369

It's small, takes good pictures, easy to operate, easy to hide, just great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pal369
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Most Deliciously Simple, Fun, Cool Camera in the world
6/19/2014

Customer review by Photog27

5.0 stars 6/19/2014 by Photog27
by Photog27

This is a WOW camera in the red. You will have to decide if you want to take a picture or eat the camera. Luscious. GREAT pictures. I have a D200 for planned photos, a Rollei 6008-AF for people and animals, and then there is this super little camera that fits in my pocket, is easy to use, intimidates no one, and does a great job for spontaneous in-the-moment pictures. I ADORE this camera. I bought 8-9 of them for best buds at Xmas time. Everyone was thrilled and now uses it in place of bigger cameras or their cell phone. For people who use their cell phones for photos, this baby will seduce you. It does NOT take an internal batteries . Do NOT be conned into thinking it needs one. Charge at your computer or wall charger. If I was wealthy I would buy 100's of these and give them to kids as an intro to photo creativity and just plain fun.

Photog27
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bought it for a friend and he's happy. And I too.
4/10/2014

Customer review by Jlizard

5.0 stars 4/10/2014 by Jlizard
by Jlizard
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Friend got it as a gift and appreciated the size and power of it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jlizard
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cutest Little Camera
1/9/2015

Customer review by Shae1253

5.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Shae1253
by Shae1253

You wouldn't think this little camera would do such a great job. I'm LOVING IT!! I am so glad that I purchased it. The camera is very easy to work & the pictures are clear, colorful & no pink eye. I pondered over several different brands & models til I finally choose this little Nikon Coolpix. gain, "I'M LOVING IT".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shae1253
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
had to return camera. Wasn't product I was lookin
9/23/2013

Customer review by rosyhank

3.0 stars 9/23/2013 by rosyhank
by rosyhank
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Had to return product. Wasn't what I was looking for. Wanted digital camera not having to use computer to develop pictures, needed camera approximately $50.00 using sd card.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rosyhank
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy, Fun, Cute to Boot!
4/3/2013

Customer review by SammyKat7

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by SammyKat7
by SammyKat7

I wanted this camera in the first place because it was cute. Really cute. The picture on the web does not do it justice. Plus, mine came with a leather case and strap. I got the tomato red one. So, for its looks alone I wanted it. After I got it, I fell in love with its ease of use. You don't even need instructions to get started although it helps for some of the features and I recommend you download the manual; it's easy reading and the instructions are clear. I am not an accomplished photographer but the pictures I've taken so far have been more than satisfactory, in fact, they're really good. And it fits in that little slot inside my purse perfectly. I take it with me every day now and get pictures I never would have gotten before owning it. I love it!

SammyKat7
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Put the cell phone cameras away!!!
11/3/2012

Customer review by EDZ 85mm

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by EDZ 85mm
by EDZ 85mm

Smaller than all cell phones I have seen...This Nikon Coolpix S01 is potent point and shoot camera. The Nikon Coolpix S01 is so small there is no room for a tripod hole for secure mounting. I am sure Nikon will figure out some kind of after market slide-mounting accessory to remedy it? It is kinda hard to use the self-timer feature without a way to mount it. A touch screen feature is the perfect thing to have because how else would you hold the camera and take pictures. The touch screen is responsive enough, and not too sensitive. It has video recording too. It works pretty good. Sound pick up was impressive. The 3x optical zoom is funny to me. I guess it is better than nothing. I did have trouble with auto focus on CLOSE UP shots but when you zoom out (W) the auto focus works better. And the Flash, Memory Card, and Battery are all built-in. So you don't have to attach anything. Not having all these compartment covers really keeps the camera SMALL yet SOLID feel. Stabilizers or Steady sensors are small if there is any... so have steady hands ready. Overall... Buy it if you want to take photos and videos better than a cell phone and don't want to carry you computer tablet with built in camera. This is my second Nikon and sixth camera I currently use.

EDZ 85mm
West Coast, Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Idiot proof
2/12/2015

Customer review by HappyVacationer

5.0 stars 2/12/2015 by HappyVacationer
by HappyVacationer

I am not a professional when it comes to photography. With that said, this camera is so simple to operate that anyone is able to take great shots with the 10 mega pixels and even videos come out great. The size makes it easy to place in your pocket to go anywhere (I even didn't bother to purchase a case since it is quite rugged) and alone with the fact that the battery and memory chip are built in, no more worrying about carrying extras. I have had this camera for weeks now and have taken over 200 shots and a few videos without charging the battery. Nothing lasts forever, but this little bitty camera has really made carrying a camera a breeze and I am very happy I made the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyVacationer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for kids too!
8/17/2014

Customer review by NicoleNM

5.0 stars 8/17/2014 by NicoleNM
by NicoleNM

My Mom recently bought one of these (refurbished) for my 3 year old and I immediately thought it would be way too advanced for her. To my pleasant surprise it is not! It is very user friendly and just the right size for her hands. It even survived a couple drops on the floor. She manages to take some great pics with this little camera and I keep finding impressive features on this little thing. If you're looking for a camera for a young user, I highly suggest considering this one. You'll get some great features and probably better pictures at a price that is close to the cost of the "children's" cameras currently on the market. I think I want a second one for myself!

NicoleNM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for quick travel records
12/27/2012

Customer review by RecordsPerson

5.0 stars 12/27/2012 by RecordsPerson
by RecordsPerson

I mostly take pictures to keep records of things (license plates, items in a store I may want to buy, quick snapshots of events for general memories, etc.), so this camera is perfect for my pusposes because it has good enough quality to catch details in nice lighting and the sall size allows it to fit in my pocket well. For those looking for exceptional performance though, this is not a camera for professional photography. This is obvious, but I am just clarifying in case people have too high expectations. The photos may be cloudy sometimes, but that can be expected with any camera; it is no worse than the regular-sized Canon I owned so far as picture quality.

RecordsPerson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
small size and compact but poor image stability
11/2/2012

Customer review by Paul

3.0 stars 11/2/2012 by Paul
by Paul

The size, shape and form is great except image quality. It is lacking because you can't control the image modes, and low light images appear grainy. (it is difficult to keep switching exposure). I wish there was an an image stabilization focus because you have to be very very still with the camera. Also, ISO should be higher to help with low light image stability. I can't tweak these settings mentioned above but I wish I could. Otherwise, it is a good camera (especially the size). For the price of this camera, I wish a Wi-Fi feature would be built in, and/or a way to email or wirelessly send pics to computer or smartphone.

Paul
Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Can't transfer photos to computer
1/8/2014

Customer review by StevK

1.0 stars 1/8/2014 by StevK
by StevK

Loved everything about it but I could not transfer photos to my Mac! The software would not download to my Mac because my OS 10.5.11 does not reach the minimum requirements, so I tried to download to my wife's Windows 7 computer and this would not work because my AOL browser would quit every time I tried and displayed an error message! Before purchasing, I read all the specs and nowhere did it give minimum OS System requirements. It said compatible with Mac and Windows Systems. Nikon should have made a simple USB connector to transfer the photos to any computer. I reluctantly sent it back for a refund!

StevK
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cute but impractical
2/3/2013

Customer review by Fiona

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Fiona
by Fiona

When I got this camera for Christmas, I loved it because it was pink and tiny - easy to carry. But this camera is very difficult to focus. It usually takes me 5 tries to get a somewhat decent (although still blurry) picture, and WITH flash. When not using flash in a place without a lot of light, other cameras would take somewhat blurry pictures, but this camera can barely even take the picture! Out of 20, only 3 pictures turn out right. This camera has the ability to capture macro details, but it rarely does so when you're out and about trying to take quick snapshots with other people.

Fiona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Small yet powerful
3/20/2013

Customer review by Matt

5.0 stars 3/20/2013 by Matt
by Matt

I wanted a small on-the-go camera that would take decent pictures and the s01 fits the bill! Easy to use point-and-click, with really great pictures. Are all of them perfect? NO But this is probably the best small camera I have had in terms of consistency. If you read the instructions and know how to use a flash or turn it of when not needed, your pics can be great.

Matt
Royal Oak, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sturdy and easy to use
12/30/2012

Customer review by MG&TMom

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by MG&TMom
by MG&TMom

Bought three; one each for my 3, 4 and 5 year old girls. Simple enough for them to figure out and use on their own and small enough for them to handle. Fits in pockets easily. My 4 and 3 year olds have dropped theirs a few times and the cameras still function perfectly. Excellent video quality and audio. Fantastic camera for the price.

MG&TMom
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews