Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 35 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Excellent product at a very reasonable price.
12/31/2012

Customer review by SNL19067

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by SNL19067
by SNL19067

This system was a breeze to set up and install with clear and consice instructions. The image quality in daylight is awesome and the night vision is very good. The software makes it very easy to set up and the options for camera setup and recording are perfect for the homeowner.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SNL19067
Bucks County, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/17/2012

Customer review by Egza

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Egza
by Egza

My husband was asaulted by my front neighbor on black Friday since that day we were taking turns sleep at night because him and his brother threaten to destroy our home with handgranaides. We decided to buy this product to be able to sleep a little better at night,, "boy!," did it helped us big time . We were able to record the different vehicles and men who were being sent by the neighbors to intimidate us so we would not prss charges. We find our selves broke but at ease in our home now. I strongly recomend this product it could save ur life..... Thank you, Elvia

Was this review helpful? (40) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Egza
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Security camera
12/17/2012

Customer review by Talamantesi

4.0 stars 12/17/2012 by Talamantesi
by Talamantesi

Great for price. Setup instructions need work. Can't setup wifi and smart phone unless you call tech support. Called them 3 times and finally have the system operating the way I want. Overall it's great for the price. Lets see how long it last.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Talamantesi
San Antonio, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Garbage
12/15/2012

Customer review by RALPH4

1.0 stars 12/15/2012 by RALPH4
by RALPH4

Total waste of money. 1 cable was defective, missing a connector. One 60 foot cable was 45 feet long. DVR did not work when I tried to start it up. The final insult was when I called Swann and I was told that to get longer cables I had to go to Radio Shack online to order them. I had it 4 hours and returned it for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (23) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RALPH4
COLUMBIA CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Affordable, effective.
2/1/2013

Customer review by tnmr

4.0 stars 2/1/2013 by tnmr
by tnmr

So far, so good. I've had it for 2 weeks now. I haven't used the on-line or motion detection features but the hard copy manual that comes with this seems straight forward. I have it running four cameras. It replaced a Clover system which cost more and had problems from the start. The night vision is only good for a few feet in total darkness but these are all that way. They work fine at night on a lighted area. This powers a monitor all day with a four split screen. It works on a TV and also a computer monitor. The best way to operate it is with a mouse (included) and on screen menus. These are intuitive. You can copy recordings to a thumb drive should the need arise.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnmr
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system, complete & no monthly bills!
2/20/2013

Customer review by love2garden22

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by love2garden22
by love2garden22

The front of our house and street has kicked up a lot lately. It makes me nervous to hear all of the commotion going on (doors slamming, cars idle forever, tires squealing). So even though I cringed at shelling out the bucks, I bought this system for the front of our house to keep an eye on things. I have no knowledge of how to set up a home security system so I went with a kit type of set up. This 'kit' comes with everything you need and I thought it was very easy to install and set up. We happened to have an older computer sitting around, so we used that monitor. It says you can also use one or two t.v.s . It comes with two cameras and they are pretty good. I can definitely see where you could get hooked and want more from these cameras as they only have night vision to 32 feet and no sound. For what we wanted they are fine. I did have to move them from being attached to our house to up in the trees closer to the street for a better picture. The internal options give you the ability to set the motion detector to certain parts of the frame and certain sensitivity if you like. This worked out great because I was able to block out the areas where the bushes blow in the wind, but keep the sidewalk and street. I ended up bringing the sensitivity setting down so it wouldn't record every bird that flew by. This system gives me peace of mind and of course that's priceless. I can't see incurring a monthly bill for security, especially when there are great systems like this one. Even if I upgraded the cameras, it wouldn't mean a monthly pay out. Also this system is capable of connecting to your internet modem and providing updates/alarms to your phone or tablet. I have not yet tried this option so I can't speak to that. The DVR has a great capacity and of course if you do catch anything illegal you have it in digital form and can email to TPTB. I would recommend this to the novice homeowner who wants to know what's going on outside. I can tell you I slept like a baby knowing this system was recording all night long for us.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
love2garden22
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Decent system for the money.
1/2/2013

Customer review by JDB1212

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by JDB1212
by JDB1212

You will need to call tech support to set up viewing on your smart phone or computer via the internet. It is a little complicated, but tech support will walk you through it easy enough. The cameras are just "ok" for night viewing.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDB1212
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
it is a great product but the price in the store
1/11/2013

Customer review by tmanager

5.0 stars 1/11/2013 by tmanager
by tmanager

it is a great product but the price in the store was not the same as online and was a pain to return the store bought one and order online version

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tmanager
61111
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
More than I expected
2/24/2013

Customer review by lechner

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by lechner
by lechner

Set up was supper easy the picture quality is great in the day the night vison is limited to about 20 feet with good picture quality

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lechner
columbus, oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
2/3/2013

Customer review by pandabare

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by pandabare
by pandabare

First off, the cords are not hidden, as it shows in the picture and there is not detail about this in the information about the system. Second, the "night vision" does not go anywhere near 32 feet, without having some kind of light. Third, the customer service at Swann is ridiculous. They do not know what they are talking about and cannot help you set up anything. And fourth and final problem I found with this system (which in turn has made me never want to buy anything Swann again), is that it says you can set up the system so you can view your cameras from your smartphone or another computer outside of the home but, it won't do it and the CSR at Swann don't know how to do it. I would not recommend this to a friend or family member. I wouldn't want them to get jipped.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pandabare
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Was everything I hoped it would be
2/5/2013

Customer review by CoedNaked

5.0 stars 2/5/2013 by CoedNaked
by CoedNaked

It was simple to hook up, moderately difficult to setup (for most people), I have not contacted technical support, so I cannot comment on that. As far as the difficulty in setting up, that is to be expected with networking, and if you don't know anything about networking, I am sure you may have to call technical support. I have setup everything except the "web" interface, and I am very satisfied. I have motion detection setup, and I can use my phone to view the cameras in real time, which is all I needed at this time. The motion detection area setup per camera is a great feature. Overall, with the price paid for what this system can do, this system gets an excellent rating from me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoedNaked
Charleston, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/4/2013

Customer review by FlicFan

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by FlicFan
by FlicFan

For the price it is a good system. I only use the recorder to monitor so I have no comment on the phone or email options.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlicFan
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
4/7/2013

Customer review by dellmonte

4.0 stars 4/7/2013 by dellmonte
by dellmonte

The product performs as stated. Be prepared to go to Radio Shack for needed cables to meet your needs. Cables are provided with good measure with the cameras but from DVR to Video they are lacking. A call to tech service for a final check on your installation will be needed and recommended. Tech service is average and usually out of the country. A modem connection is needed in the long run. I used VGA cable (like monitor connections) and it worked well. My monitor is for customers to see that the place is being recorded, it works well. All and all, once you give yourself time to set everything up and understand how things work, which takes time, you will find it a good purchase for a two cameras, capable to handle 4 cameras, and work well. So far so good for me.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dellmonte
Crossville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome
3/14/2013

Customer review by jmhk

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by jmhk
by jmhk

really love this,security camera, all what they say and more. very good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmhk
covington, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camera for keeping an eye on things.
2/5/2013

Customer review by Fudgester

4.0 stars 2/5/2013 by Fudgester
by Fudgester

I have only had the cameras for a few weeks they are great for keeping an eye on things they cover a big area and the picture is clear. I would recommend to anyone that wants to keep an eye on things. It is a great price for what is in the bundle you have everything you need.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fudgester
Port Allegany PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exactly as described.
2/10/2013

Customer review by beartrackerof1

4.0 stars 2/10/2013 by beartrackerof1
by beartrackerof1

Great item for the money. Replay alittle slow but does work. Record and all features work as expected. Connections alittle touchy but will connect if pressed tight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beartrackerof1
omaha,ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great unit for the price!
1/28/2013

Customer review by Jacksprat4u

4.0 stars 1/28/2013 by Jacksprat4u
by Jacksprat4u

Product came quickly and well boxed. The assembly is extremely easy unless you run it through the attic as I did. Still wasn't too bad except for having to crawl around in confined and dusty spaces. Did the drop down in a closet so that was pretty simple, Probably had it up and running in 2 hours. Picture quality is pretty good for entry level cameras, falls off a little at night. The cameras are probably more useful for the entry points into the house than for wider angles. I like that I can watch on my laptop via wifi connection! I'm recording in alert mode with motion detectors. I am very happy with the purchase and I'm going to get a couple more cameras.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jacksprat4u
South Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what was pictured/blogged about
5/8/2013

Customer review by swanncamera

2.0 stars 5/8/2013 by swanncamera
by swanncamera

After reading the reviews from other people and seeing the images the camera captured, I was surpirsed to see it was not what I expected. I did some other research after purchasing this product that was so well rated and discovered the cameras are best used in small rooms or hallways....The camera angle is so narrow you would need numerous cameras to capture a large area outside....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
swanncamera
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Camera System
4/1/2013

Customer review by dennisstough50

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by dennisstough50
by dennisstough50

It serves the purpose for watching your house and property. Can watch on monitor to see what is going on outside and to see if it is safe to go out. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dennisstough50
Quinton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great system and video quality.
2/3/2013

Customer review by RRBY

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by RRBY
by RRBY

Comes with 2 cameras; really needs 4. Had extra cameras that fit and completed system. Best value and can be installed easily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RRBY
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews