Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

154 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
39
3 stars
14
2 stars
13
1 stars
27
1-20 of 152 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
Works OK after support assistance (paper jams)
3/8/2013

Customer review by GeoBob

3.0 stars 3/8/2013 by GeoBob
by GeoBob

This was not as sturdy as the PhotoSmart I replaced but seems to be OK. Lots of paper jams and called tech support who were wonderful. It turns out that plugging into a power strip causes issues and once I plugged directly into the wall and re-set it, it has been good since then (a week). The setup info was poor and there were packing materials inside the printer which I did not know were not part of it. Tech support was patient and professional and made sure it was OK before leaving me, even having a supervisor come on the line to double check my satisfaction and further explain why the power strip causes issues. This should be emphasized in the guide which comes with the printer - I have seen lots of reviews from people who have paper jams. I do hope that has solved it for me. I like the 4 cartridges which seem to indicate you can print even if one goes out. Also the copy and scan worked perfectly (the Photosmart would only scan using PAINT to capture the image). Overall for my purposes (light home printing needs) this seems fine, but I doubt it would be really good for heavy duty use. For the money a great deal and hopefully trouble free from now on.

GeoBob
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Easy WLAN setup and excellent performance
2/24/2013

Customer review by Gallifrey

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by Gallifrey
by Gallifrey

I got this printer/scanner with a new HP dv6 running Windows 8, and used that computer and Windows 8 to set the printer/scanner up. It installed seamlessly on my WLAN, and has worked perfectly printing and scanning over my WLAN in the week that I’ve had it. (I have not yet used ‘ePrint’ so I can’t comment on it.) I have only printed and scanned documents on standard paper so far. I haven't tried to print photographs, so I can't comment on that, either. Once the printer/scanner was running on the machine I used to set it up, I then installed the drivers (from the online installation site) on an older HP dv7 (Windows 7) computer, and that installation went perfectly as well. I didn’t have to involve the printer at all with the dv7 setup. It would be nice if the scanner offered the option of adjusting the PDF (and perhaps other format) scan resolution on the printer/scanner itself rather than having to do that from the software on the computer, but that is a minor inconvenience. There have been reviews of this printer/scanner that indicated that it was difficult to set up, was flimsily-constructed, and jams. I have had none of those problems, and it seems sturdy enough to me.

Gallifrey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slightly Disappointed
3/17/2016

Customer review by Beebopp1

4.0 stars 3/17/2016 by Beebopp1
by Beebopp1

Great features. It looks good, prints and scans well, and it's a space saver. It takes too long to start printing and scanning though. I understand that it takes time for the bulb to warm up for a scan but why do I have to push the button so many times through the scan dialog to start a scan and then push through the scan dialog on my HP laptop too. It would be nice to have some quick options. I haven't got the wireless to work yet. It doesn't scan documents as pdfs on my HP laptop. Then the printer part is so loud when it warms up. I can't print anything at night. Most of the time, I use it as a scanner but I print with my old Deskjet D1420 because it takes less ink cartridges that come in a combo-pack.

Beebopp1
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
worthless
7/15/2013

Customer review by kashman123

1.0 stars 7/15/2013 by kashman123
by kashman123

This... "printer" makes a ridiculous amount of noise before even attempting to retrieve paper from the tray. I mean, I thought this was 2013... By the noise this thing makes I was magically wisped away to 1990. Once it does finally start the printing process you can be sure to get at least three paper jams before successfully printing anything. The parts move around where they aren't supposed to. I bought this because it wasn't very expensive and I'm on a tight budget, it is not even worth half of the asking price. In fact, I wouldn't take this printer for free because it only adds to my frustration. It is basically useless junk. If you are reading this review and thinking about buying this product do yourself a favor, DON'T!

kashman123
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Needs a better handbook
10/31/2012

Customer review by 54321bang

3.0 stars 10/31/2012 by 54321bang
by 54321bang

I had nothing but problems with this printer out of the box. My computer didn't like the auto upgrades for the driver which caused the printer to stop working. I can print from my ipod which is great as long as you don't have a paper jam. I got everything straightened out once I had to remove a really tough piece of paper from the printer. I found out that the bottom paper tray pulls out and off for access. This is what was causing all the paper feed problems from the start. THE BOTTOM was not properly in place. Once I put it in place correctly it has not jammed since. I only lost about 25 pieces of paper before I figured it out and was ready to send it back. All's well that ends well! Pops...

54321bang
St. Peter MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Product is excellent
11/28/2012

Customer review by Jack497

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Jack497
by Jack497

I'm very pleased with this printer. Although some have complained about the noisiness of it, I found it similar to other printers I have used. The initial set-up instructions could have been better, but all in all I got it set up fairly quickly. Any frustration with that was immediately alleviated when I saw the excellent results with my first print. I especially liked the ease of connecting it with my iPad which required no extra steps at all. The double-sided printing is a nice feature as is having separate Y,M,C inks. When printing in black, you don't need to use any colored ink, something that other printers often don't allow you to do.

Jack497
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Horrible Performance
5/20/2013

Customer review by ChrisK64

1.0 stars 5/20/2013 by ChrisK64
by ChrisK64

I bought this printer because of the scanning & duplexing capabilities so I could do quick things at my desk without using the office machine. It ate both my labels and my envelopes and is so loud when printing (or getting ready to print, which takes a full minute) that I can't use it when I or anyone around me is on the phone. To be fair, I haven't tried the duplexing or printing photos yet but what I have printed in color was very different from the other printers I use. For the price, this seems to be a good buy but you definitely get what you pay for in this case. I am still a loyal hp consumer and always will be.

ChrisK64
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good basic unit.
3/3/2013

Customer review by FredK

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by FredK
by FredK

The only problem that I had was being surprised with having to purchase special software in order to fully use the scanning feature. I was a little caught off guard by the fact of scanned items only appear on the computer as PDF files and in order to edit the document or import it to another format(like Word) special software(like PDF Complete) needs to be already installed or seperatly purchased after the fact. I may have chosen to upgrade my software choice or a different system entirely when I ordered through HP.com. Some clue or suggestion when offering the printer/scanner as an option would have been welcomed

FredK
Bloomington, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
simple, no fuss printer
3/13/2013

Customer review by TeiBear11

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by TeiBear11
by TeiBear11

I got this printer only because my previous HP printer was taken over by ants. Other than that my other HP was great! So when I needed another printer, with no hesitation, I searched for another HP printer. I ended up with this one because it was similar to the other one i had. What I really was looking for 1. wireless connection, 2. scan, copy & print, 3. compatible ink cartridges to my old one because I bought alot of ink for it. Even though I was looking at other sites to compare pricing, I still ended up at HP.com. They still had the better deal and the shipping was fast.

TeiBear11
Molokai, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Fantastic scanner and all-around reliable printer
4/25/2013

Customer review by Avyncentia

5.0 stars 4/25/2013 by Avyncentia
by Avyncentia

If you scan and copy more than you print, then this is a fantastic choice. The scanning software is easy to use and customize. The machine prints a bit slowly, but the automatic duplex-printing more than makes up for it. This is a compact printer and will fit just about anyway. Having a true flatbed scanner is a real plus--much better than my previous printer. Basically, this is a great purchase. My only quibble is environmental: there was a lot of waste associated with setting the printer up, especially the ink cartridges. Thankfully, most of it was recyclable.

Avyncentia
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skip it, unless you like shredded paper
5/1/2013

Customer review by GoodWitchPA

2.0 stars 5/1/2013 by GoodWitchPA
by GoodWitchPA

I have tried every tip, trick and troubleshoot that there is (HP's step by step, chat groups, etc.; and yes I have it plugged directly into the wall not a power strip). The machine just likes to eat paper. My rating gives it two stars because when it does actually print, the quality is fantastic. Unfortunately in the week I've had this machine I've only gotten three or four pages to print without first sacrificing 3-5 pages of paper to its unseemly appetite. Do yourself a favor, unless you own a paper company: buy a different model.

GoodWitchPA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great disappointment!!! zero starts if I could
2/1/2013

Customer review by mykidsmom

1.0 stars 2/1/2013 by mykidsmom
by mykidsmom

I have had HP printers for several years. Always happy with them....until now. This model is terrible! I hate it! I can't print more than one document at a time without going into the printer queue and having to restart the print. Often I have to turn off the printer entirely and turn it back on only hoping it will work this time! SO FRUSTRATING! As I type, I have five documents in line hoping to be printed. I really don't have time for this. I'm not receiving a paycheck for sitting here trying to accomplish something.

mykidsmom
Rochesster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Good Printer For Price
9/25/2012

Customer review by Citymountie

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Citymountie
by Citymountie

I bought this printer when I purchased my new computer. I was looking for a wireless print/copy/scan printer at a reasonable price. This one fits the bill. It prints very clear and is pretty fast. It is fairly noisy when it does come on and when it prints. This is not a problem for me but if you don't like a loud printer choose a different model. It can be hooked up to your internet. I don't need that feature and have not connected it up so cannot give you a review on that feature. Overall this printer does a good job.

Citymountie
Kingsville,MD.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Exactly what I needed
1/17/2013

Customer review by Jayson333

4.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Jayson333
by Jayson333

Although I've only had it a week, I am pleased so far. I needed something decent without spending too much and this seems to be a good choice. Set up was easy. I thought I would need to download a driver to run this printer through Windows 8 (on my new HP computer), but it installed and works without having to do so. Honestly, it's probably too early too review, but I have two other HP Printers (2410 and 3310-wife's) that work fine after a few years of use. I expect this one to give me good service as well.

Jayson333
Newark, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Uses to much ink
9/9/2012

Customer review by Duggy

2.0 stars 9/9/2012 by Duggy
by Duggy

I bought the printer before any reviews were posted. It was working very good except halfway printing more than one copy it would tell me it was out of paper when it was not. The color setup ink cartridges ran out and I repaced them with new HP cartridges and they started using to much ink and completely ran out of ink in 4 pages of printing and the back ground was green. Also it will only scan to the computer. All the other HP scanner printers I have used would scan without being connected to a computer..

Duggy
Jacksonville FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This printer is a huge disappointment-JUNK!
1/12/2014

Customer review by jmeann

1.0 stars 1/12/2014 by jmeann
by jmeann

Very cheaply made. Almost seems flimsy! VERY loud when scanning. The first time I did a scan, I thought that I had forgotten to remove something from inside the printer, it was sooooo noisy. Sounded awful. Still sounds awful. Scanning is very noisy. Priniting is noisy, Printer tells me I am out of paper all the time, and the tray is full. This printer is just a piece of JUNK!! I love HP... I have owned HP for years. This is the worst product I have every purchased! I am very disappointed. VERY!

jmeann
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
great and easy to use
4/1/2013

Customer review by AGLIII

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by AGLIII
by AGLIII

I was looking for a new wireless printer. I had been getting by with a printer server attached to my old PSC model. As this printer was an "addon" to my computer order, I was not expecting much. However, it was easy to setup and has worked very well. I have printed successfully from both my laptops, and both Ipads. I have also used the email print feature and it worked. I have successfully scanned and copied and am pleased with the results. I am very happy with the initial setup and usage.

AGLIII
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Do Not Purchase!
9/28/2013

Customer review by loubelle

1.0 stars 9/28/2013 by loubelle
by loubelle

This printer is terrible...both in print quality and reliability. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't...without any changes to print methods/setting. Also, it goes through ink faster than any printer I have ever had and that is even after setting all printing to "Draft" mode. The only positive feature is the wireless printing. I have not had any issues with that and it has been reliable. I was wary because the price seemed to good to be true with all the features...and it was!

loubelle
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love this printer!
7/12/2012

Customer review by HPJake

5.0 stars 7/12/2012 by HPJake
by HPJake

It's only been a week since I purchased this printer, but I really appreciate the quality of this All-In One Printer. Initially, I was going to purchase another HP model but the 3520 e caught my attention because of its small footprint and its many features. Setup was non-challenging and user friendly. I am using the printer to handle my printing, copying and scanning and it is mastering all of the above with precision and quality output. Buy it, you wouldn't be disappointed.

HPJake
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent home printer at reasonable cost
6/8/2013

Customer review by Richard189

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by Richard189
by Richard189

This printer is fantastic for home use. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a sophisticated high-volume office printer, but then it doesn't have the high price tag of an office printer either. It is simple to set up - all the software is easy to install using the provided CD. I did have to telephone tech support to be sure I got the ink cartridges inserted properly, but they handled that very expeditiously. I am very happy with my economical but efficient printer.

Richard189
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews