Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-12 of 12 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great little plinker.
8/11/2012

Customer review by ScubaKen

5.0 stars 8/11/2012 by ScubaKen
by ScubaKen

Saw this in store one day and, for the price, just had to get one. It was lighter than I expected it to be for starters. I was told it is just the "Mossberg Plinkster" just wrapped in "Tactical" clothing. Plastic, plastic and more plastic, but it sure looks cool. Took it out to my friends home range and proceeded to try and warm it up. The 10 round magazine that it comes with just won't get it warmed up and I have seen a lot of bad reviews on the 25 round mag. Either way, I put about 500 rounds through the thing and never had a jam, misfire or any trouble at all, even without putting any oil on it out of the box. It will fire as fast as you can pull the trigger but ten rounds goes pretty fast. The sights that are on the rifle are kind of big and basically gives you a general area of impact, even though I was able to bust a clay in mid flight. With a scope on it I think it is going to be my favorite squirrel gun.

Was this review helpful? (360) (71)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScubaKen
Janesville WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Pretty good gun.
11/20/2012

Customer review by RPMitchum

3.0 stars 11/20/2012 by RPMitchum
by RPMitchum

The gun is a great value and it looks cool. The issue is the sights. I looked down the sights and fired my first shot and missed the target completely. I tried to sight it in for an hour and I realized the iron sights are garbage. So long story short buy a cheap scope at least 2x optics and you should be fine. I also never had a jam or misfire. Awesome gun except for the sights.

Was this review helpful? (105) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RPMitchum
Goose Creek, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good gun
12/15/2012

Customer review by thorpefamily

4.0 stars 12/15/2012 by thorpefamily
by thorpefamily

gun kept jamming when we first took it out, and was overly oiled! (dripping) BUT- once it was broke in, guns works great! love it what a great mother's day for me!

Was this review helpful? (70) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thorpefamily
Riverton, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great value for the price
1/26/2013

Customer review by topphantom

5.0 stars 1/26/2013 by topphantom
by topphantom

I finally got ahold of one of these and am glad I did, when I first fired it I had a few minor jams, I noticed I was useing 36grain ammo so I swiched to 40grain untill it was " broken in " around 80 rounds or so, then cleaned and re oiled it, and not a jam scence # went back to 36grain #. Great gun, looks cool and there are TONS of cool attachments!!! Only down side is the " iron " sights, they work but you cannot see anything cept for what your aming at, what I mean is you can't see anything on any side of what your looking at, the hole for the sights are mabe 3-4 mm, not much to look at highly recommend a holo red-dot # I chose a 50mm for large viewing area # or light magnifying scope mabe even a acog scope heck with the quad rail mabye all of them! so far I use a holo red dot on the handle, a forward grip on the bottom, and have ordered a red laser and a flash light for either side can't wait till I get them! Im just a target shooter, but Im sure it would be great for hunting aswell.

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
topphantom
wabash,in
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Gun for the Price
2/6/2013

Customer review by tamklo

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by tamklo
by tamklo

Gift for my son - he loves it. So far no miss fires or jams. Added a nice scope, a 25 Round Mag & a hand hold. Sharp looking gun for the price!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tamklo
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fun gun!
7/16/2013

Customer review by caddiewillie

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by caddiewillie
by caddiewillie

Some folks seem to think that this gun is a $200 version of an M15. You don't get a Cadillac for the price of a Chevy, so don't expect that. I own and have owned a lot of guns in my lifetime and this is really a good one. Many semi-autos will jam, it's sort of an expected thing with autoloaders but I've had no problem with this one with several different brands of ammo, some of it was 30 years old. Of course you must clean and service it as the manual says (my M15 manual says the same thing). Follow instructions and it works great even rapid firing it. I have never had a jam or FTF. Yes, the magazine is hard to remove, just take care and it will get easier with use. I did not use the 10 rd. mag that came with the gun, so I can't speak to that one. I bought a 25 rd mag and it works just great though it is hard to load. That will work out with time and use. I have .40 cal mags and .223 mags that are the same way when new. Buy the gun if you like its style. You won't be sorry if you follow the instructions. Go to Mossberg's website and you can download and print your own full-sized, up to date manual.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
caddiewillie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
i love it more than m&P. m&p15 vs. 715t
11/8/2013

Customer review by JessiePA

5.0 stars 11/8/2013 by JessiePA
by JessiePA

i have both the 715 and m&p15. my favorite features are, tiny magazines to carry lots in a small pouch, easy to strip down to individual components, never jams with any ammo i've used so far. the only cons i found was you can't field strip it w/o removing 16 screws, and the sight rails split, so you kinda lose zero when stripping it. so i always put the sights on as exact as i can.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JessiePA
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Like putting a skirt on a pig.
12/30/2012

Customer review by FLETCHWE

1.0 stars 12/30/2012 by FLETCHWE
by FLETCHWE

A $200 rifle by any other name is still a $200 rifle. Mossberg does not provide a Manual specific to this product. Instead in the box you receive very basic documentation for their 702 Plinkster. Don't even attempt to use it without a complete disassembly and cleaning with a good Solvent, then lubricating with a quality Gun Oil. When disassembling, remove the screws carefully and replace them just as cautiously when reassembling. Keep in mind you are tightening steel screws into molded plastic. Over-tightening will strip the threads easily leaving no alternative other than installing Thread Inserts and non-stock screws. A complete cleaning should include removal of the Bolt and Recoil Spring. Note the location of loose pieces when disassembling to avoid confusion at reassembly. Reinstall Recoil Spring carefully as it will bend with very little force. Firearm will require break-in and probably several episodes of cleaning/lubricating before it functions properly.

Was this review helpful? (72) (99)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLETCHWE
Sebring, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Gun Jams A LOT
5/21/2013

Customer review by ctgherron

2.0 stars 5/21/2013 by ctgherron
by ctgherron

I bought this as a birthday gift for my son at the last gun show. seemed like good looking AR style gun at a good price and being its a Mossberg you would think its a good gun. I am not here just to bash this gun with out reason... I have put about 800-1000 rounds on the weapon and yet to empty a clip (25 rounds) with out it jamming or stove piping. its rather embarassing when we go to the range with friends and spend half out time digging out shells... Yes I mean digging, you have to drop the clip and get the tools out to clear the weapon. I have contacted Mossberg to get it repaired and they are useless. They told me to mail it back and they would look at it but I would have to pay for shipping. I asked did they not stand behind the gun and reply was send it back and we'll look at it. at no time did they say they would repair or replace it. My next weapon will be something other than a Mossberg. I will chalk this up as a live and learn but next time I'll spend the extra $50 and get a Ruger.

Was this review helpful? (7) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ctgherron
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
junk
5/2/2013

Customer review by scooterscum

1.0 stars 5/2/2013 by scooterscum
by scooterscum

got my yesterday and I am sorry I wasted the money. Cheap Looks and fells like a toy

Was this review helpful? (5) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scooterscum
Edgewater Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Gun! Great Price!
1/7/2014

Customer review by 438luke

5.0 stars 1/7/2014 by 438luke
by 438luke

I have put about 1,000 rounds through this gun and have had only 1 jam. I am now gonna clean and oil it for the first time since i bought it 6 months ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
438luke
tupelo, ms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellant weapon
5/3/2014

Customer review by GMAN123123

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by GMAN123123
by GMAN123123

Went to the range today fired over 500 rounds without any problems. We cleaned before we went ,that is what it says to do in the manual. Had a great time at range,got a lot of compliments on the weapon. We didn't sight it in,hitting targets at 100 yards no problem,range officer said man that shoots great.Three of us were taking turns with it .Very fun to shoot,easy to use,great quality weapon for the money. Very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GMAN123123
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male