Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 4 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Tap it to unblock it...
3/5/2014

Customer review by Maximous

5.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Maximous
by Maximous

This is one great piece of equipment. I had a choice hire a heavy motorized aerator at $80 for four hours. By the time I would have hauled the thing home set it up, figure out how to use it, do my yard, packed it away and taken it back I would have taken a lot more than four hours. Or buy a manual tool, which I could use at my leisure for a fraction of the cost and have it to keep forever. I read the reviews and purchased the Yard Butler. I give it 5 stars if there were more I would give it more. This is not a tool for the faint hearted as it takes real manual labor. Step it into the ground and it pushes out earth plugs and leaves a hole, brilliant! My first two steps produced four wonderful holes then one of the prongs jammed up with dirt. I spent 6 minutes jabbing at it with a screwdriver. I had read the reviews and expected this, so carried on undaunted. Another 8 holes and it jammed up again. 7 more minutes unplugging with a longer screwdriver! A further 12 holes and a further 5 minutes worth of unplugging one of the prongs. This was plain ridiculous. I was unplugging it more than aerating the soil. $80 was looking like a quicker and better deal. Then it came to me. Don’t jam the screwdriver into the prong chamber to unblock it, a couple of good taps with the handle of the screwdriver against the prongs vibrated the blockage out. Even better, the sturdier wooden handle of my hammer would tap the blockage right out. That was it, hammer handle in hand there was no stopping me. While still a pain blockages took seconds not minutes to clear. They really should sell this tool with a prong mallet. Second thing I learned: work side to side to cover a wider area and work backwards so as not to flatten the wonderful holes you are creating. This is a wonderful must have work out tool which does exactly as it is intended to do if you use the tap out technique I suggested. I did my yard in 3 hours over two days. Saved money and got fit.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maximous
Clermont, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
2/23/2013

Customer review by CoachBill

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by CoachBill
by CoachBill

Works fine - just still a LOT of work. If you have a space less than 800 square feet it is a good investment vs renting a machine from Home Depot or a "ren-a-center". It still took me (900 sq ft) about 2 hours to do an equivelent job to a rental. BUT - I OWN IT> So - figuring two - three sessions per yaer - it will pay for itself.....as long as I can still walk...

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachBill
Phoenix, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
does exactly what it is supposed to do
3/6/2013

Customer review by itried4timesandcantgetone

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by itried4timesandcantgetone
by itried4timesandcantgetone

worked very well on small lawn. easy to use. got clogged up only one time due to small rock getting stuck in it, but was easy to get out with screwwdriver.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
itried4timesandcantgetone
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect...unless you have 1000+ s/f of lawn
7/7/2013

Customer review by DayvdaRayv

5.0 stars 7/7/2013 by DayvdaRayv
by DayvdaRayv

After using this thing, the difference in my 500 square foot lawn is miraculous. Core or "plug" aeration is way better than using a "standard" aerator, which just pokes holes in the ground and can actually compact the soil further since nothing comes out of the ground. The Yard Butler coring aerator extracts uniform 3" x 1/2" plugs from the ground and deposits them on the lawn (where they should stay, according to the manufacturer's instructions, so they can release micronutrients back into the soil). It took me around 2 hours to thoroughly aerate, and was a bit of a workout, though nothing anyone under 80 with 2 decent legs couldn't handle. When finished, the lawn looked as if 1000 miniature Schnauzers had simultaneously taken a dump on it, but results were apparent almost instantly. The lawn is now uniformly green, water no longer puddles, and the texture of the grass is vastly improved. Moreover, the heavy-gauge steel construction and strong welds on the tines make this thing virtually indestructable. The cost was less than renting a traditional aerator and the results were visibly superior. This thing will be used every 6 months or so for years to come. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DayvdaRayv
Rocklin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I was hoping for
10/24/2013

Customer review by keyman711

2.0 stars 10/24/2013 by keyman711
by keyman711

I've used this product a couple of times with very limited success. I always push the devise down fully to the ground with very little presure needed. If the ground is fairly dry, it seems to "pull out" thatch & dirt plugs most of the time and they are ejected out the top of the tubes and fall on the ground. Sometimes I have to push down in two or three spots before a plug will be ejected from the tubes. It apears that each ejected plug, consists of 3 mini 1" sections (thatch & dirt, thatch & dirt, thatch & dirt), instead of one 3" plug of mostly dirt and a bit of thatch top ! However, it appears leave 3" deep holes each time. But, if the ground is fairly damp, this devise is almost useless. It does make 3 inch deep "holes" in the ground. However, absolutely NO dirt plugs get ejected (even after 5 or 10 push downs), but the tubes are filled with dirt. I assume that (after the tubes get initially filled) all of the dirt is just pushed strait down (below the 3 inch depth of the metal tubes). I was not expecting this, and wonder if this situation is really that healthy for the grass roots, since that ground below the "plug holes" becomes even more compacted.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keyman711
Cleveland Ohio suburb
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product
7/23/2013

Customer review by DavidQ

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by DavidQ
by DavidQ

I used this aerator once and it took me around one hour to aerate 5000 Sqft lawn. Works easier than you might expect. The advantage of this tool is that you can aerate just the trouble spots. Water your lawn the day before aerating but not too much! If your soil is clay and it is too wet every single core will stick. If soil is too soft it won't push the core out but you don't need to aerate that area. One tube was clogging more than the other one and I used a sander to smooth the inside. It did the trick and both tubes are fine now. Clean, wash, and make inside the tubes SHINY after each use. Dry well and use WD-40 or any grease to protect from rusting.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DavidQ
Bellevue, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little tool
12/3/2012

Customer review by MaranaAZ

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by MaranaAZ
by MaranaAZ

I found this was sturdy, and worked as advertised. It took me about half an hour to aerate our 900 sqft lawn. I watered the grass prior to starting, and as I stepped along, new plugs kept pushing the old ones out. It never jammed on me. I would recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaranaAZ
Marana, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Takes work, hard soil bends spikes
7/14/2014

Customer review by YardKing

3.0 stars 7/14/2014 by YardKing
by YardKing

I laughed at my neighbor when I saw him manually aerating his lawn, but found his lawn was beautiful later, so I bought one. It makes a difference. The plugging of the spikes is an issue and I tried the screwdriver, but a mallet is better. This is a design flaw. Also, dry soil will bend the spikes. I did this tonight and this was after using the tool for a week (3x for an hour each). Plugging plus bending of the spikes makes this a three versus five star. Great concept, but needs some refining.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YardKing
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for what it is.
9/5/2013

Customer review by TBSSguy

5.0 stars 9/5/2013 by TBSSguy
by TBSSguy

You must understand this is a tool used for manual labor. I think it is wonderful at what it is supposed to do, blisters, sweat and all. I have apparently hard soil which routinely caused one of the spikes to clog. This is not a problem of the equipment and I feel it performs as advertised. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBSSguy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does exactly what it's supposed to!
8/18/2014

Customer review by LawnKiller

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by LawnKiller
by LawnKiller

No need for a lot of words. If you follow the directions, it works very easily and effectively. I have different types of soil on my property, ranging from clay to sandy, but all of it compacted. I treated the aerator with cooking spray before use, and it cleans up easily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LawnKiller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good tool
10/16/2013

Customer review by njgardengirl

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by njgardengirl
by njgardengirl

This is a great tool for a smaller yard. It's labor intensive (hence good for smaller yards) but did a great job. I had no problems with bending prongs or dirt getting stuck.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
njgardengirl
new
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
as advertised. need well soaked soil.
5/16/2014

Customer review by winnabow

4.0 stars 5/16/2014 by winnabow
by winnabow

as advertised. need well soaked soil.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
winnabow
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Butler not included
11/28/2014

Customer review by horsefacehipsterdoofus

4.0 stars 11/28/2014 by horsefacehipsterdoofus
by horsefacehipsterdoofus

Not as efficient as a tow-behind aerator costing over ten times as much, but perfect for working in tight areas (eg. around recently transplanted/staked trees). I've used it over a fairly large area with aerator spikes (see Walmart #: 001695156 ) on the opposing foot for max benefit. Neighbors find it amusing, but you can't beat the exercise.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
horsefacehipsterdoofus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
i need one.
4/13/2013

Customer review by w8888

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by w8888
by w8888

when will be available.thanks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
w8888
55060
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
St. Augustine lawn w/heavy clay...Huntsville, Tx
9/13/2013

Customer review by TexasKayakFisherman

3.0 stars 9/13/2013 by TexasKayakFisherman
by TexasKayakFisherman

Works as described with the exception of heavy clay. Areas of my lawn was suffering due to compacted soil. Cored those areas and the Saint Augustine is thriving. The only downfall is some parts of my lawn are composed of heavy clay. You must irrigate the heavy clay soil to the right moisture content. Too much water and the core aerator will not pull plugs of soil (the tines will clog up with heavy clay and will just act like spikes instead of pulling plugs). If the area is dry to the bone, then it's difficult to even drive it an inch in the ground. With the right amount of moisture, it will drive all the way and pull plugs and the tines may get clogged from time to time. I just clear the plugs with a screwdriver. The rest of the lawn that doesn't have heavy clay was easy to do with no clogging.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasKayakFisherman
Huntsville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get Ready for some work
10/10/2012

Customer review by BigDaddyDiesel

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by BigDaddyDiesel
by BigDaddyDiesel

This product works great. If you have a big lawn though, be ready for a work out. Must have moist soil and a stick ready to get any rocks out. Lawn looks great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDaddyDiesel
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
So far.. So good!!
8/10/2013

Customer review by nashvilleguy37

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by nashvilleguy37
by nashvilleguy37

I purchased this item to help with some problems areas in my lawn. The device works very well and is easy to use. I don't think it replaces a professional job... but it does seem to help.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nashvilleguy37
Nashville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy with this core aerator!
3/23/2014

Customer review by Idawillivee

5.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Idawillivee
by Idawillivee

I read a lot of reviews before I bought the item but still was not sure what I was getting into with it. The space I was going to do is 25' x 40' and it's taking a lot of hours...I might have rented a power aerator had I known how long it would take but I would want the manual one to use on 'trouble spots' later, anyway. I'm glad to say the tool has exceeded my expectations. Someone had said to be sure to clean it out and oil it after each use and that is good advice...I let it sit overnight and the mud had hardened in it so I had to clean it out with a screwdriver. But it is easy to use and really pops those plugs of earth right out. After many years without aerating this area, I thought it would be very hard to push into the ground but it isn't at all. It's good exercise, too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Idawillivee
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Useful for small lawns
4/3/2015

Customer review by Eedi

4.0 stars 4/3/2015 by Eedi
by Eedi

The effectiveness of this aerator depends heavily on the conditions of the soil. If the soil is too dry, it can be difficult to push it into the ground. If the soil is too wet, the plugs tend to stick inside the tins. When the plugs are not coming out, you end up compressing the soil instead of removing plugs. However, if you have the right conditions, this aerator functions well. The construction is solid and sturdy. I have not experienced any bent tins even after hitting small rocks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eedi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/26/2013

Customer review by Mom2strapper

4.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Mom2strapper
by Mom2strapper

Never used this before but my lawn was crying for some attention. It was easy to use & worked well. Would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2strapper
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews