Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4out of 5 stars
4 out of 5 | 99 reviews
5 stars
42
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 97 reviews
1-20 of 97 reviews
The price was right
1/29/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far, my husband and I are loving this treadmill. A lot of complaints about the fan, but we have no issue with it. I think it is a wonderful feature. The speakers leave a bit to be desired, but not a huge deal as far as I am concerned. This is HEAVY! My husband and I were able to manage it, but it wasn't easy. He put it together by himself and it took a little over an hour. He only had issues screwing the display to the arms. The only issue we have is that we were led to believe the console lit up...it does not. Pro-Form was contacted and they sent a new display, but that one didn't light either. They looked into it more and told me it does not light, but that shining a light on it increases the contrast between the background and the numbers. Again, not a big deal I guess, but a little deceiving. Pro-form customer service was amazing. I am most likely going to purchase their extended warranty as my husband and I are training for a half, so this machine will take a beating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Treadmill for our home gym
3/25/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The Pro-Form 520 ZN is very well-made. The base is sturdy and the belt is wide enough to run on with plenty of room to move. The speed and incline adjust at the push of a button. The programs are easy to use and add variety to the workouts. I really like plugging in my I-pod and having all my favorite music right there. We have only had the treadmill for one week, but I am confident we made a wise choice and purchased a well-made product that will last many years. We did get very frustrated with the Home Delivery and Assembly service. The main issue with this service is their lack of communication. The trucking/delivery service needs to improve on this and communicate with the customer from the date of pickup from Walmart to the home delivery date. We were beginning to wonder if we were ever going to get our product. However, the assembly team was very professional and did a great job. This is a great feature as my husband does not like putting things together, and the product is really heavy. Well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (24)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Light duty -Warranty marginal.
11/25/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this treadmill from Walmart in early November. I could not sync the electronics to my iPhone. This seems to be a general defect based on other reviewers comments After 3 weeks the drive belt broke. Contacted customer service and they have promised to send out a new belt in 7-10 business days. They could not identify a local parts distributor. Note that the warranty service on the unit requires that you ship the treadmill to their service center and pay shipping both ways. Given the weight of these units you would probably pay more in shipping then the unit is worth. This is my fourth treadmill in about 20 years. Usually I can count on at least five years defect free service. I doubt that this unit will make it that long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value overall.
2/18/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Good value overall. 1. Very heavy, about a 1.5 hr assembly time, 2 people. Do not pull the black wire tie thing out of the left leg!!! It serves a purpose, I found out after I pulled it through but it all worked out anyway. It is used to pull the connector through for the display module. 2. Lots of features, fan, speakers, etc. 3. The treadmill operation itself is very quiet, however, when you start running on it the shocks are hard plastic and they slam over and over onto the bottom deck. This is way noisier than the treadmill itself. You think they could have come up with something a little more quiet with all the technology these days. For the money not bad, but I have only had it a week so we will see in the long run.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Ok treadmill
7/22/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This treadmill is just ok. I hate that the display is so small and not back lit. For this much money it should a least be back lit. The treadmill is not gym quality, but I didn't expect it to be. I am a fit 190 lb man and I feel like it's not really sturdy enough for me to run on it on a regular basis. It's great for fast walking at a steap incline, so that's what I use it for on days I can't go outside and run. I have had to adjust and tighten the belt several times because of the belt slipping and moving when I tried to run. I have only been able to do very light jogging on it, over 5.2 mph and things get scary. Maybe a smaller person, like less than 150 lbs, would be more suited to run on this. Not too hard to assemble, took a few hours by myself. The built in programs are stupid, there is no real way to know in advance what each program does as far as speed, distance, time, incline until you are doing it, they should include descriptions in the book. The ifit software is a joke, way too expensive with no free trial, no thank you. I just put on my headphones and listen to music or watch something on my iPad. Overall, if I could do over, I'd spend extra money and get one that had a more powerful motor, supported more weight, and had a larger and back lit screen. Too much hassle to disassemble box up and return. I'll use it til it breaks and buy a better one, hopefully I'll get a couple years out of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Treadmill for the most part.
5/30/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this treadmill about 5 months ago and have used it 10-15 times. The last 5 times or so it has started squeaking whenever you adjust the incline. So far, that is my ONLY dislike. I love that you can customize it by your personal weight, workout length and # of calories that you would like to burn. I don't like have to change the speed and incline myself every few minutes. I'm hoping to purchase the iFit live module soon so that I can create a workout exactly the way I want! That will be awesome. Good: Not too noisy, compared to treadmills I've used in the past Very large and clear display Automatic workouts change every minute (keeps me from getting bored) Wide track Folds up very easily Nice speakers Not so good: Squeaks when adjusting incline Fan only blows on you if you are right up next to the front Heart rate monitor isn't very accurate
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Treadmill for a beginner
7/15/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Recently purchased this treadmill in June. Treadmill was in stock so I was able to take it home the same day I purchased it. My husband & son brought box in house for me. I basically put it together myself without any problems & took me a little over an hour to do. This is my first time buying a treadmill for at home use. I love how it automatically changes the speed & incline in the pre workouts & it also gives a warning sound when speed is about to change. I love that its ifit compatible but wished it came with an ifit module. I will be buying the ifit module soon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Jaks Mom
1/12/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To be honest after the reviews I saw about this treadmill I was ready to tell my husband to take it back. All I wanted was a treadmill that was QUIET! I had purchased a Pro Form many years ago, with the warranty from Wal Mart/Sam's Club. The first Pro Form I purchased kept calibrating and I called the warranty company and they asked me how much I use the treadmill, l said everyday and asked me how much I weigh...yikes! I am not over weight.. LOL. They honestly said we cannot send someone to fix it so they sent me my $500.00 back. Really this is true...this treadmill has been running for probably 15 years plus after they sent my money back. So, within the last six moths the treadmill was still so loud. OK for awhile but the smell was there everyday. I said, I think I deserve a new treadmill. So...I could not believe how quit this treadmill is and I am extremely happy. The fan is not that good, but oh well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (25)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect
1/24/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was searching for a treadmill and decided to buy one at the store rather than taking a chance on shipping. I'm glad I did because this treadmill was $100 less at my local Walmart than the online listed price of $660. I like the trays that it has, that it has a place for my tablet, and that it has pre-programmed settings in it. For the price I wish it had a light up display panel, but I'll deal with it. I liked the fact that it has a heart rate monitor, until I realized that due to an injury to my hand I won't be able to use it as it will be bandaged or gloved for quite awhile.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good but could be better
2/1/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First the good: built solid. I am 200 lbs and it is solid and does not rattle when i run on it. It is quieter than average. Easy to put together with good instructions. The bad : The display is small and dimly lit. It is black letters on a grey background. For a buck or two more they could have larger brighter colored letters that are easy to read. As it is it is difficult to read while running. The place where you adjust or center the belt is very difficult to access . The whole in the plastic housing is tiny and you can not see the allan screw you are suppose to get the wrench into to tighten it.This access needs to be better. The price at walmart was the best anywhere . The site to store service was excellent. If the display numbers were easier to read I would give it five stars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HELP
11/25/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the pro form 520 on 11/16 . Got it home assembled it and I have no back light on my display. Called the company waited till today when the sent me another display piece and much to my dissapointment still no back light . I have went throught the book and online over and over and it says there is a lcd display. So my question is does everyone else have back lighting and i just got a junk one , or is everyones display not light up. So taking it back if i have no answers soon.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Working Great!
2/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this treadmill at our local Walmart store about a month ago. My husband did most of the unloading because this was REALLY HEAVY and we took it upstairs too! Assembly took about an hour and a half and I helped hold parts in place. It has been working perfectly ever since. I walk 4-5 times a week and use the incline and sometimes a program. My husband does the same. We have both been very happy with it. The fan is not great, but not a big deal. We turn it off and unplug it after every use, a treadmill technician said to do this bc it protects it from power surges/outages (which we have many in East Tenn). I recommend this treadmill. We did buy the extra warranty since I had read these reviews that were all over the map from great to terrible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better options out there
11/21/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
You can get similar treadmills for this price range with a better motor. If you notice, the motor is advertised as 2.8 hp, but it's really a 1.8 CHP motor. (you can contact Proform, they will verify this) For the same price, you can get a 2.25 CHP motor from their other models. If oyu plan on walking only, this may be for your but you should just get the better model for the same price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (140)No (33)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Early Review of the Product
10/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I spend a decent amount of time researching treadmills before purchasing this one. After getting it home I opened the box in my van and brought all the small parts in first. I was able to bring the motor/base in on my own (5' 10" 190lbs, 43 years old). I had my 10 year old son "assist" me putting this together and it took somewhere in the range of 1-1/2 to 1-3/4 hours. I have worked as a mechanic and have worked on computer equipment so I know how to use a wrench and screw driver. Everything assembled well but I had some concerns. 1. The Wire harness barely made it to the top of the left arm, When I finally plugged it into the console, the console wire was long enough so it all worked out. 2. I seemed to have some issues with bolts on the right side. I felt I had to give it a bit more elbow grease. (and yes, everything was lined up) The screws used could have been better quality or machine screws. The advertising stated it had a "2.8 HP Mach Z Motor" but the box states it is a "2.25 CHP motor", when I brought this to the attention of Icon (the manufacturer) customer service, they explained it is the same motor. So compare prices with other 2.25 CHP motors. Walmart offers the older model (Golds Gym, also made by Icon) for $79 less! Also check the equivalent NordicTrac model at Sears. Also go to the Icon website to see they manufacture many different brands, comparison shop! So far I really have no complaints about the treadmill except maybe for the fan. It sounds like it is rubbing against something. Plugging your ipod into it required a Stereo audio cable, it is not like a dock/ipod cable end. I understood that when I purchased it but it's probably something you should know if you don't have one. Personally, earphones are probably better. I haven't tried out Ifit so I cannot comment on that but it sounds like an interesting feature. Aside from that, the treadmill has several programs and I find the Speed/Incline buttons on the console to be convenient. Overall I am happy with the product, I hope to return after using it for a while to complete the picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (161)No (27)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My thoughts on the proform 520zn treadmill
6/10/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this treadmill! I was so nervous about buying a treadmill from Walmart because I kept reading mixed reviews about it. It was very affordable, it's not loud, it is sturdy and well put together. In fact, it is exactly like the treadmills that are at the gym I go to. Same size and everything. The only difference is that the fan on this one can't be repositioned. I have had mine for over 2 years now. I have never had any problems with it. I am very happy with my purchase. I kept reading that people were saying it was hard to put together. I had one of my friends come over and he put it together with no trouble.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not for average man
11/6/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a 115 lb woman. It's perfect for me to just run on with no accommodations. The display is junk (doesn't light up). The speaker adapter doesn't fit the newer phones and speakers are not very loud. I'm 5'3 and I can't feel the fan. My husband is a very fit 205 lb man. After about 5 runs the treadmill lost it's stability. The top shakes like crazy. The belt started to crinkle then started to go to one side. The base cracked down the center. So if you're small and just want a sturdy treadmill it will be fine. If your larger and really plan to use it I would recommend a better one. This one is definitely not worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A winner!
10/3/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this treadmill! It is my everyday routine to workout on it for 30 minutes and am already seeing results. The best part about it is that it has the ability to automatically incline when needed. I also love the fact that it has a built-in-fan when sweating and built-in-speakers for when playing my ipod. The music makes the time go by! As of now, I have nothing negative to say; no issues with putting it together or anything. But one thing I do notice, is that it squeaks when the belt goes on a faster sped level. Overall, I am happy that I chose this product and am even happier that I got it on clearance for $299.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Overall great product
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Doesn't seem like music can be listened to via Bluetooth (or I just can't figure it out) and screen doesn't light up. Other than those minor inconveniences, works great and fairly simple to put together with 2 people (~30 minutes).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great treadmill for price.
12/28/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After looking around at BrandSmart and Sears, I noticed the the price of this treadmill at Wal-Mart was very good compared to equivalents at the other stores. Moreover, you could actually buy this treadmill on the spot and take it home the same day, as apposed to the 1-2 weeks delivery times/plus $charges. Building the treadmill wasn't very difficult and took about 90 minutes. It is quiet and comfortable to run on with plenty of cushion. The LCD screen is bright and easy to read. Over all I am very satisfied. Hopefully, it will last longer then my Gold's Gym 480.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good treadmill
3/14/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Treadmill is very sturdy. My husband weighs 220 and was able to run on a incline with no problems. Just as previous reviews, it really takes two people to build it. It is a little time consuming ( took us a little over an hour ) to put it together. I would recommend to put a rug or mat underneath it because it will scratch your floors. I would recommend this to other people. This treadmill compares to a professional one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-