Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 66 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Excellent Value
12/19/2012

Customer review by gajewa

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by gajewa
by gajewa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Replaced a Nikon Coolpix L11, which we used for about four years. It was an easy camera to use, light and reliable. This newer L610 has given us the same type of service with greater flexibility, more detail and enhanced features. We expecially like the telephoto and low light performance and the video capabilities. One of the best features is that it still uses AA batteries. The new high performance AA batteries work very well and have good duration. More importantly, they're easy to replace in a pinch, especially when outside the US. The L610 is a little heavier and larger , but well worth it when considering the performance. The camera package includes updated editing software for a computer. Because the lens is larger and more susceptible to damage than the L11, we purchased a small carrying case. While it doesn't have all the GPS and wireless features of some of the more expensive cameras, it does what cameras are supposed to do - take great pictures with ease.

Was this review helpful? (68) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gajewa
Windber, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect little camera to take hiking
6/22/2014

Customer review by howzitboy

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by howzitboy
by howzitboy

I bought this camera after my daughter broke the door on my older Coolpix. I picked this camera same reason I picked my older one, I wanted a camera that uses AA batteries so I don't have to worry about running out of power during my hikes. My job is a wedding photographer so I know my way around cameras. I use a D700 and a D800 with an old D300 as backup. I used to try go hiking carrying my cameras in a backpack but that gets way to heavy after a while and I found I was too tired to take any pictures once I got anywhere! I go hiking for about 5 hours and always make videos of my journeys. I use a Gopro and my Coolpix to record the hike. I use the Gopro as the main and my Nikon as the second camera BUT, I use the Nikon to capture the most important shots! This camera takes way sharper videos then the Gopro by far. The colors are richer, the contrast is awesome and they are 100x better. Then only reason I don't use it as the main camera is the screw mount is off center and shooting with the screen on drains my batteries too fast. I carry about 12 batteries with me on a hike and I usually use about 4 during my shooting time. I used to get horrible battery life using alcaline batteries. I would drain a battery in 5 minutes doing video. I would have to buy a jumbo pack of batteries and drain them all on a hike.. then I gave up and just used NI-MH batteries and OMG, the battery life is just godly!! The batteries now just last and last! I think they only get "drained" because I use the video too much and the battery overheats lol Photo wise i usually don't take many photos with my camera since I'm doing video. But I noticed when my battery died from shooting video, I can still blast off a ton of photos with the dead batteries! and the pictures come out awesome! I rarely have to do any photo touch ups at all. Just take out memory card and post the pictures online. The zoom is great at 14x optical to really reach out and grab that shot. I love taking bird shots with this camera since i can just carry it in my pocket. Overall I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking for a great little point and shoot camera. Fact that is uses AA batteries is a bonus! Now I can't only give positives on my review. the negatives I found using this are: alcaline batteries die too fast with this camera I'm scared about the battery door. Its the same door that was on my other coolpix and I'm afraid it will break like the last camera if i bang it. The zoom during video is digital zoom, not optical so as you zoom, the quality of the pictures goes down. To take video, you press a small button on the back to start and stop video. Wish they made it that the big shutter button could start the video since I'm used to pressing that. The audio is either great or horrible. If your far away from a waterfall, its sounds great but if you're close and the noise levels are higher, the video sound is blah.. Same goes for windy days. If the wind is blowing hard, you can't hear anything but the wind so I have to mute that video clip. hope this helps anyone thinking of getting this camera. I love mine!!

howzitboy
Honolulu, HI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great little camera for the price
5/4/2013

Customer review by CVAHAWK

5.0 stars 5/4/2013 by CVAHAWK
by CVAHAWK

I love the compact size and the way it fits my hand. Pictures are sharp. The primary drawback is the relatively short ALKALINE battery life, which is a problem with most AA powered cameras. Be sure to use quality lithium batteries or good rechargeables and you won't have any battery problems. Good zoom range. I purchased a hard leather Nikon case which protects the camera and lets me just stick it in my pocket, so it's always ready. I like the zoom range for photographing birds, butterflies and flowers. Very good macro mode for close-ups. I have not tried all the features available and I am not a professional. I have not tried nighttime shots as yet. I was looking for a handy little camera to replace a different brand digital camera that I owned and this fits the bill, but again be sure to use lithium batteries or good rechargeable ones. I stick a couple of spare batteries in my pocket when I go bird-watching just in case I need them. I bought this from my local Wal-Mart store and the price is very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CVAHAWK
Newton, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST FOR THE MONEY
1/5/2013

Customer review by KAPAAMALAKA

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by KAPAAMALAKA
by KAPAAMALAKA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

EVEN EASIER TO USE THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. GREAT CLEAR PHOTOS AND VIDEO. YOU MUST USE LITHUM BATTERIES OR THE CAMERA DIES QUICKLY.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KAPAAMALAKA
KAPAA, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good camera, so far
12/29/2012

Customer review by ItzASecret

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by ItzASecret
by ItzASecret
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a lot of learning to do with this camera. But the one gripe I have right now is that battery life is super short.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItzASecret
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good camera for the price.
11/27/2012

Customer review by satchmo12

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by satchmo12
by satchmo12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice camera with good feel to controls onboard. It is also right size for portability and my size hands...

Was this review helpful? (33) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
satchmo12
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/26/2013

Customer review by FriendlyVisitor

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by FriendlyVisitor
by FriendlyVisitor
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great camera. Take the time to get to know all the settings and it will take great pictures. Use lithium batteries.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FriendlyVisitor
Old Bridge, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Teriffic camera
7/16/2013

Customer review by Gbrow

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Gbrow
by Gbrow

I needed to replace an older camera, a SLR, with all of the bells and whistles, and wanted a camera easy to use, and didn't have to lug around lens and another piece of luggage for my camera equipment. This camera is very easy to use, and creates sharp, clear, outstanding pictures. The viewfinder works perfectly, it just the right size, and the camera fits easily into my pocket, readily available for a picture. I am still exploring all of the features of this camera, and noticed when I was in Mexico, that I went through the few batteries that I brought from home, and wasn't sure as to the life remaining in either of them. Went out and bought the lithium batteries, this was a month ago, and they are still working fine. If you want a very good camera for personal use, that will product crisp, clear, wonderful photos, very easily, I recommend this camera. Learn about all of the features and settings and this Nikon L610 won't disappoint.

Gbrow
Cherry Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good pictures but the L610 eats batteries
6/14/2013

Customer review by Dana1

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Dana1
by Dana1

I purchased the L610 and a (4) 3100mah MiMH AA batteries with charger set. These 3100 MiMH rechargeable batteries are the strongest rechargeable batteries you can buy. The Nikon L610 web site says these batteries last over 400 pictures. The most I got after a full recharge is 12 pictures or 2 minutes of video. Carefully changing the battery mode setting, I then tried new alkaline then new lithium batteries. The lithium batteries did not even power the camera up and the alkaline performed similar to the MiMH. I used my digital volt meter to check the voltage and the camera was in fact killing the battery after minutes of standby use. Thinking it was the camera, I returned it and got another. The second camera has the exact same problem with all these new batteries I purchased. After 2 cameras and 12 batteries of 3 styles, the testing conclusively shows this model has a serious power consumption issue.

Dana1
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice camera
2/21/2013

Customer review by Iisdave

4.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Iisdave
by Iisdave
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Took this camera to Vegas. It took great pictures and was easy to use. I hardly had to use the flash, that was great for taking pictures inside. I only gave it for stars because it has so many slections to choose for taking pictures it was hard to use, but with use it should become easer. And sometimes it was hard to get it to focus. I really think this is a great camera and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iisdave
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/27/2013

Customer review by rockstacker

4.0 stars 1/27/2013 by rockstacker
by rockstacker

works well in low light. video very good. photo quality good. better than most small cameras, i am hard on cameras so end up buy one every year. easy to use. battery life ok, i have had cameras with better life. my only problem is the wrist string is on the left side not good for one hand shots with right hand. will see if the camera wears out or i break it first.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockstacker
denver. co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
an amateur camera with professional results
11/30/2012

Customer review by Kenny G

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Kenny G
by Kenny G

I considered the big brother, P510 with its huge zoom capability, but max aperature was f9 at full extension. That's good for noontime, but blurriness could be a problem. I settled at 14x. That's settling? With a 4x digital zoom. Plus zoom in on your finished photos up to 10x more. This is serious magnification WITHOUT, repeat, WITHOUT losing quality. The Nikon ED glass, extra low dispersion has been a coveted element in only select Nikon lenses. While I wish it had more manual overrides, like PSAM, the many Nikon scene modes in the camera take care of that. Exposure is displayed so you can see your action mode up the shutter speed, macro down to .4 inches. My 105 micro was the only lens that could do that. To have this sharpness, and I'd compare it against any other manufacturers glass, power and versatility that can fit in a shirt pocket is priceless. Easy enough for someone starting out, all the way to a pro who wants pro pictures without the setup and luggage, you will all benefit from this. This can't be touched by anything out there. And check out the 3D mode. THAT'S interesting.

Kenny G
Belgrade, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for the price.
1/15/2013

Customer review by Ninky

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by Ninky
by Ninky

Love the camera, especially the zoom on it. Great camera for everyday use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ninky
Means KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
if the subject is moving forget it
5/26/2013

Customer review by SeaShelley82

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by SeaShelley82
by SeaShelley82

in store I was really impressed with the pictures this camera took so I bought it my first time actually using it was yesterday at a wedding and I only got 1 good picture, every other picture was blurry the shutter speed is soo slow I even tried the sport setting and pictures were still blurry. its a great camera if u only wanna take still photos which isn't what I want so im taking it back today

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeaShelley82
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
great for beginners and the experienced
1/8/2013

Customer review by Jin

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Jin
by Jin

I got this camera on a black friday sale, and I absolutely love it! It's super easy to learn the ins and outs. Perfect for someone who wants to take good quality pictures but doesn't want to pay the steep price for a DSLR. It captures the smallest of details. Focuses easily when used correctly. Easy to handle and change options if need be. For me it lasts about 150-200 pics before dying on the double AA batteries. I would definitely recommend investing in rechargeable batteries. Pictures come out a little pixely on full zoom, but nothing a proper re-sizing can't fix! I took it out during a light sprinkle and it worked just fine. I would also definitely invest in a neck lanyard or wrist strap, mine has kept me from dropping it so many times. All-in-all it's a great camera for all uses and compact enough to take anywhere. Great buy! I'm totally happy with my camera

Jin
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nikon Camera
12/19/2013

Customer review by geeboys9202

3.0 stars 12/19/2013 by geeboys9202
by geeboys9202
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The camera was Regular priced at $179.99 and Sale priced at $99, but don't know the actual" Retail price", so I expected it to be a whole lot better that my Canon 12.1 mega pixels but the truth is mines takes clearer pictures and is more stable. But my son is a photographer at his school so this will come in handy for him.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
geeboys9202
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD CAMERA
12/17/2013

Customer review by driller409

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by driller409
by driller409
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Iv had 3 point and shoot camera and this is the best one so far. Its not a $500.00 camera .But will do the job. No good for fast moving like sports. But like I said its not a $500.00 camera. Takes great pics outside and inside in low light Great zoom on this. Eats up battery but all do.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
driller409
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst Nikon Camera I have ever purchased!
1/11/2013

Customer review by timber167

1.0 stars 1/11/2013 by timber167
by timber167

I purchased this camera back in NY during thanksgiving week and it has spent most of the time in the box while I try to figure it out what to do with it. First, and probably the most annoying problem is battery use, which started right out of the box, this annoying low battery message pops up constantly. I have recharged, replaced with new ones and again the same results. Overall is well designed, like the features it has, which is why I bought the camera in the first place, but everything is quickly useless because of the extreme thirst for batteries. I own a Nikon D3100 and very happy with it, and I'm currently in the market for the Nikon D600 but have to probably reconsider buying any more Nikon products again. Hopefully someone at Nikon can fixed the issues with this camera. No, I would not recommend this product to anyone, just not worth it.

timber167
Clayton, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
very good zoom power
1/22/2014

Customer review by COZAMELTRAVELER2

2.0 stars 1/22/2014 by COZAMELTRAVELER2
by COZAMELTRAVELER2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

camera zooms really good. it would be better if it didn't go through batterys so fast. I took 200 pictures and I went throught 7 sets of batteries. So if you buy this camera, be sure to purchase them in large quantities and carry them with you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
COZAMELTRAVELER2
Lodi, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love it and it takes amazingly great pictures
12/27/2013

Customer review by Amycassiesmommy

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Amycassiesmommy
by Amycassiesmommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would recommend it to any one. Its so easy to use and to set up

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Amycassiesmommy
Hudson NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews