Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 66 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Perfect little camera to take hiking
6/22/2014

Customer review by howzitboy

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by howzitboy
by howzitboy

I bought this camera after my daughter broke the door on my older Coolpix. I picked this camera same reason I picked my older one, I wanted a camera that uses AA batteries so I don't have to worry about running out of power during my hikes. My job is a wedding photographer so I know my way around cameras. I use a D700 and a D800 with an old D300 as backup. I used to try go hiking carrying my cameras in a backpack but that gets way to heavy after a while and I found I was too tired to take any pictures once I got anywhere! I go hiking for about 5 hours and always make videos of my journeys. I use a Gopro and my Coolpix to record the hike. I use the Gopro as the main and my Nikon as the second camera BUT, I use the Nikon to capture the most important shots! This camera takes way sharper videos then the Gopro by far. The colors are richer, the contrast is awesome and they are 100x better. Then only reason I don't use it as the main camera is the screw mount is off center and shooting with the screen on drains my batteries too fast. I carry about 12 batteries with me on a hike and I usually use about 4 during my shooting time. I used to get horrible battery life using alcaline batteries. I would drain a battery in 5 minutes doing video. I would have to buy a jumbo pack of batteries and drain them all on a hike.. then I gave up and just used NI-MH batteries and OMG, the battery life is just godly!! The batteries now just last and last! I think they only get "drained" because I use the video too much and the battery overheats lol Photo wise i usually don't take many photos with my camera since I'm doing video. But I noticed when my battery died from shooting video, I can still blast off a ton of photos with the dead batteries! and the pictures come out awesome! I rarely have to do any photo touch ups at all. Just take out memory card and post the pictures online. The zoom is great at 14x optical to really reach out and grab that shot. I love taking bird shots with this camera since i can just carry it in my pocket. Overall I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking for a great little point and shoot camera. Fact that is uses AA batteries is a bonus! Now I can't only give positives on my review. the negatives I found using this are: alcaline batteries die too fast with this camera I'm scared about the battery door. Its the same door that was on my other coolpix and I'm afraid it will break like the last camera if i bang it. The zoom during video is digital zoom, not optical so as you zoom, the quality of the pictures goes down. To take video, you press a small button on the back to start and stop video. Wish they made it that the big shutter button could start the video since I'm used to pressing that. The audio is either great or horrible. If your far away from a waterfall, its sounds great but if you're close and the noise levels are higher, the video sound is blah.. Same goes for windy days. If the wind is blowing hard, you can't hear anything but the wind so I have to mute that video clip. hope this helps anyone thinking of getting this camera. I love mine!!

howzitboy
Honolulu, HI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Teriffic camera
7/16/2013

Customer review by Gbrow

5.0 stars 7/16/2013 by Gbrow
by Gbrow

I needed to replace an older camera, a SLR, with all of the bells and whistles, and wanted a camera easy to use, and didn't have to lug around lens and another piece of luggage for my camera equipment. This camera is very easy to use, and creates sharp, clear, outstanding pictures. The viewfinder works perfectly, it just the right size, and the camera fits easily into my pocket, readily available for a picture. I am still exploring all of the features of this camera, and noticed when I was in Mexico, that I went through the few batteries that I brought from home, and wasn't sure as to the life remaining in either of them. Went out and bought the lithium batteries, this was a month ago, and they are still working fine. If you want a very good camera for personal use, that will product crisp, clear, wonderful photos, very easily, I recommend this camera. Learn about all of the features and settings and this Nikon L610 won't disappoint.

Gbrow
Cherry Valley, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good pictures but the L610 eats batteries
6/14/2013

Customer review by Dana1

1.0 stars 6/14/2013 by Dana1
by Dana1

I purchased the L610 and a (4) 3100mah MiMH AA batteries with charger set. These 3100 MiMH rechargeable batteries are the strongest rechargeable batteries you can buy. The Nikon L610 web site says these batteries last over 400 pictures. The most I got after a full recharge is 12 pictures or 2 minutes of video. Carefully changing the battery mode setting, I then tried new alkaline then new lithium batteries. The lithium batteries did not even power the camera up and the alkaline performed similar to the MiMH. I used my digital volt meter to check the voltage and the camera was in fact killing the battery after minutes of standby use. Thinking it was the camera, I returned it and got another. The second camera has the exact same problem with all these new batteries I purchased. After 2 cameras and 12 batteries of 3 styles, the testing conclusively shows this model has a serious power consumption issue.

Dana1
Would recommend to a friend? No
an amateur camera with professional results
11/30/2012

Customer review by Kenny G

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by Kenny G
by Kenny G

I considered the big brother, P510 with its huge zoom capability, but max aperature was f9 at full extension. That's good for noontime, but blurriness could be a problem. I settled at 14x. That's settling? With a 4x digital zoom. Plus zoom in on your finished photos up to 10x more. This is serious magnification WITHOUT, repeat, WITHOUT losing quality. The Nikon ED glass, extra low dispersion has been a coveted element in only select Nikon lenses. While I wish it had more manual overrides, like PSAM, the many Nikon scene modes in the camera take care of that. Exposure is displayed so you can see your action mode up the shutter speed, macro down to .4 inches. My 105 micro was the only lens that could do that. To have this sharpness, and I'd compare it against any other manufacturers glass, power and versatility that can fit in a shirt pocket is priceless. Easy enough for someone starting out, all the way to a pro who wants pro pictures without the setup and luggage, you will all benefit from this. This can't be touched by anything out there. And check out the 3D mode. THAT'S interesting.

Kenny G
Belgrade, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for beginners and the experienced
1/8/2013

Customer review by Jin

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by Jin
by Jin

I got this camera on a black friday sale, and I absolutely love it! It's super easy to learn the ins and outs. Perfect for someone who wants to take good quality pictures but doesn't want to pay the steep price for a DSLR. It captures the smallest of details. Focuses easily when used correctly. Easy to handle and change options if need be. For me it lasts about 150-200 pics before dying on the double AA batteries. I would definitely recommend investing in rechargeable batteries. Pictures come out a little pixely on full zoom, but nothing a proper re-sizing can't fix! I took it out during a light sprinkle and it worked just fine. I would also definitely invest in a neck lanyard or wrist strap, mine has kept me from dropping it so many times. All-in-all it's a great camera for all uses and compact enough to take anywhere. Great buy! I'm totally happy with my camera

Jin
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worst Nikon Camera I have ever purchased!
1/11/2013

Customer review by timber167

1.0 stars 1/11/2013 by timber167
by timber167

I purchased this camera back in NY during thanksgiving week and it has spent most of the time in the box while I try to figure it out what to do with it. First, and probably the most annoying problem is battery use, which started right out of the box, this annoying low battery message pops up constantly. I have recharged, replaced with new ones and again the same results. Overall is well designed, like the features it has, which is why I bought the camera in the first place, but everything is quickly useless because of the extreme thirst for batteries. I own a Nikon D3100 and very happy with it, and I'm currently in the market for the Nikon D600 but have to probably reconsider buying any more Nikon products again. Hopefully someone at Nikon can fixed the issues with this camera. No, I would not recommend this product to anyone, just not worth it.

timber167
Clayton, NC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Fantastic Upgrade
10/10/2012

Customer review by cp50

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by cp50
by cp50

I got the L610 to replace a faulty S6100. Needless, to say the L610 is way better than the 6100. I also had my my choice of the 620 or an S6300. Even though I saw the 6300 as a reasonably improved upgrade, the L610 is even better for my needs. Most importantly, the 610 still uses AA type batteries. This makes the camera somewhat bulkier, but still easy to transport , store and use. I had significant troubles with the S6100 batteries and system. Give me the convenience of being able to throw in a pair of AA's and keep shooting. I'm still learning about the camera, but the pictures are super-clear. The menu is simple and easy to access, as are main features such as record, shoot mode, picture viewing and deleting. I also like the pop-up flash and the large 3 inch lcd screen. I'm looking forward to enjoying this camera for some time.

cp50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coolpix L610
10/14/2012

Customer review by Switcheroo

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by Switcheroo
by Switcheroo

Can't rate my first Nikon L610 as excellent. Received as a gift to replace my 7 year old Kodak digital. Nikon functions very similar. Fairly easy to switch from previous brand I was used to. Quality of prints, on-line photos good as expected since I went from 8 megapixel to this new 16 megapixel. In less than 30 days the battery signal showed @ 1/4 percent left. I'd only shot less than a 2 minute video & less than 40 pictures that were viewed more than once. Panasonic batteries that came w/ it expire 05/2017. Replaced with Sony AA batteries for digital equip. which expire 07/2019. Same thing happened with low battery signal after shooting only 35 more pictures. Returned camera to Best Buy for an even exchange. No hassles there. Let's hope this other one has better battery signal. Anxious to get fall colors on prints.

Switcheroo
Mid Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disenchanted
10/21/2013

Customer review by Bandmom

2.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Bandmom
by Bandmom

I really like the zoom feature on this camera, but have had issues with the clarity of the photos. Even with the image stabilization feature I have problems getting crisp images. The even bigger issue I have is with the battery life. I have tried to record my son's marching band performance on two different occasions and neither time have had success. The camera says the batteries are exhausted before 5 minutes have passed. (The show is less than 8 minutes - so I find this very frustrating.) I do however, really like the low light feature of this camera. I rarely use the flash wich helps extend the battery life. I will consider investing in the rechargable lithium, but if that doesn't reslove my issues the camera will have been a great waste of money, time and effort.

Bandmom
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
couldn't be happier!
11/13/2012

Customer review by ejluvsnola

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by ejluvsnola
by ejluvsnola

I bought my L610 two days before leaving for vacation in Maine for some fall color and quaint harbor towns. Wow, am I ever glad I did not put off the purchase! This is my first digital camera and without even reading the instruction booklet I was able to do everything I wanted to do....and more!! The ease of use is fantastic, photo quality great and the neat little "tricks" I have found it capable of are amazing. I have yet to read the instructions and just imagine what other surprises my little camera has in store for me. One other major plus is the size of the screen...I could never make it with the tiny screens other models have to offer! What more can I say...I'm in love!

ejluvsnola
Lafayette, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
very poor quality of pictures
12/11/2012

Customer review by peter

1.0 stars 12/11/2012 by peter
by peter

I have purchased this camera hoping it would allow me to take nice pictures when they need to be taken fast. Not at all. None of the automatic functions takes good quality pictures. They come very blurry and with bed quality of colors. Either you don't use flash indoor and then picture is blurry or you use flashlight and picture colors look very plain. Changing ISO like the website recommends doesn't help. You may try to choose from many picture modes but that means sometimes you will miss the things that happen. I do not want to sound like an angry customer, but if company makes such a bad quality product I may hesitate to purchase any of other products ever again.

peter
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
A few pictures, no video
8/9/2013

Customer review by deolucent

2.0 stars 8/9/2013 by deolucent
by deolucent

You can make very good pictures with this camera. You cannot make them for long, however. A fresh set of rechargeable batteries will only get 80 pictures, no video. If you have made any pictures, when you try to make a video you get a " battery exhausted " message. I got 16 pictures from the last set of batteries. Now I have a new battery charger and six pairs of AA batteries which I don't need because I am returning the camera. If you can get focus in the macro mode, which is almost impossible, you can get a very good picture. Overall, this camera is not worth the money. I had considered an L820, but I will never again buy a camera using AA batteries.

deolucent
NW FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best point and shoot out there.
7/5/2013

Customer review by Carolina Tar Heel

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Carolina Tar Heel
by Carolina Tar Heel

As a semi pro who used to run a darkroom, the L 610 is the best point and shoot out there. Most of the whining reviews concern "battery life." This camera is made for, and excels with Energizer 9x Lithium batteries. A pair will last for ~ 200 shots with flash. With these, the "battery issue" just disappears. You know where to find them. It has an excellent 460,000 pixel 3" display and has the best high ISO, (low light) CMOS in class- Both of these attributes rank it much better, than the "other AA camera from the other company" whose name I can't mention. Buy it, you'll love it.

Carolina Tar Heel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor
8/16/2013

Customer review by Tommy

1.0 stars 8/16/2013 by Tommy
by Tommy

From day one it used batteries, daily. I have sent it for repairs the second time already. It takes great pictures and video if it is not in the shop. The company that I work for uses older Nikon that use AA batteries we love the convenience and do not have any problems with them. I do not have any idea what happen to this model. I brought this model for vacation, the price and I it would fit in my pocket, I did not need to carry my large SLR and case around. I am not having a problem with Nikon standing behind the camera, which is great. Thanks

Tommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product!
2/13/2013

Customer review by Bethany

5.0 stars 2/13/2013 by Bethany
by Bethany

This camera is amazing. The zoom is incredible & the clarity is amazing! I was able to try it out in the store, and I bought it not only for it's zoom capabilities, but also because of the difference Scene setting options. The clarity is just beautiful and it really captures the colors of what I'm taking. The camera's ability to capture the detail is wonderful as well. I had a bit of a problem with the battery life, but after I switched to Advanced Lithium, I have not had a problem. Best camera I could have purchased.

Bethany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very unhappy with this
3/24/2014

Customer review by Rockinmomma

3.0 stars 3/24/2014 by Rockinmomma
by Rockinmomma

I do not like this camera for a couple reasons: 1. The battery life is ridiculously short. I get about 10-20 pictures before i have to change the batteries- and I don't use the cheap no name batteries either so that gets very expensive. 2. I can't seem to get a clear picture no matter what settings I use, UNLESS I have the flash on. But then, the image is clear, but the coloring is too bright. I have missed so many picture perfect moments with my newborn because this camera can't take a good picture.

Rockinmomma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Every photo was blurry
1/3/2013

Customer review by Takes lots of photos

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by Takes lots of photos
by Takes lots of photos

I bought the camera at the end of November 2012. The first thing I saw on the screen was "Lens Error". I turned it off and on again and it worked, or so I thought: I took many photos and tried out every setting. I was so disappointed that no matter what I did, all the photos were blurry and the flash blew out the colour. For example: I tried to take macro photos of an angel Christmas ornament. It took a very long time for it to focus. It kept zooming in and out until I tilted the camera to make it stop. It then focused on the face (in the green square), but when I took the shot and looked at it on the screen, the face was blurry and the branch in the background was in focus. I tried this shot several times but the result was the same each time. I took several photos of the family cat on my mom's lap and no matter what setting I had it on - including the "pet" setting, the cat was out of focus but my mom's shirt was clear. Indoor photos, outdoor photos, good light, low light, all photos were blurry. (I had a few that were just OK). I did not get any good photos of our Christmas celebration and I am upset by that. Maybe I just got a dud out of a good lot, but now I'm leery on exchanging it for another of the same camera. I will call the 1-800 help number to see if there is a setting that needs adjusting, but now I have a bad taste in my mouth regarding this particular camera and I don't think I want it anymore. I am also disappointed in how fast it goes through a set of batteries.

Takes lots of photos
British Columbia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just what I've been looking for!
11/16/2012

Customer review by Nonna

5.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Nonna
by Nonna

I'm happy to report that this camera suits my needs perfectly! It's very easy to operate, the image quality is fantastic (low-light shots are superb!), the video button is very responsive and the LCD screen is super sharp. The camera's "voice memo" is a terrific bonus feature that allows you to record a voice memo and attach it to your images. The many other extras on the Nikon L610 truly make it a smart choice for anyone who enjoys taking great photos without a lot of hassle.

Nonna
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for the price
3/30/2013

Customer review by Auto Doc

5.0 stars 3/30/2013 by Auto Doc
by Auto Doc

I bought this with the understanding that for $200.00 I could not expect great things. Was I wrong. I used this in Alaska this month where the temps for me were from -17 degrees to about 20 degrees. the only problem that I had was pushing the button with my heavy gloves on. Yes the battery life was short due to the cold weather not the camera. I kept changing the batteries and warming the up and reused them. I LOVE THIS CAMERA. Great job Nikon .

Auto Doc
Port Orange
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointing...
8/25/2014

Customer review by Dick

1.0 stars 8/25/2014 by Dick
by Dick

I have had problems with the lens retracting and/or NOT retracting. Several times I have gotten "lens error" when lens was fully extended but would not retract. Quality of pictures is excellent, ease of use is great. I had to replace it after my second problem with lens errors - lens went all the way out and locked. Had to extract batteries, reinstall and finally got it to retract. Cannot use it any more. NOT up to normal Nikon standards.

Dick
Fresno, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews