Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 485 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

485 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

5 stars
348
4 stars
77
3 stars
19
2 stars
7
1 stars
34
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 319 total reviews
Best thing I ever did!!!
9/2/2012

Customer review by HKeaveny

5.0 stars by HKeaveny

I decided to try the Straight Talk Sim Card with my iPhone. Mostly because I was sick and tired of over priced Cellphone service. I installed the Sim Card and and had my phone activated within minutes. At first I just had voice and text. The directions tell you you have to change the APN settings for internet functions , but with the AT&T iPhone 3G there is no option in the settings to do that. But if you connect your iPhone thru a Wi-Fi connection go to www.unlockit.co.nz and click on "Mobile Settings" , click on the drop down menu of carriers and select Straight Talk (it's near the bottom of the list). Then click on "Select Carrier". There will be several cellphone brands there including iPhone. Click on your phone brand and it will download the APN Settings directly to the phone. Once the download is complete, power your phone off then turn your phone on. You should be able to enjoy all of your Data Features at this point. And since Straight Talk uses the AT&T towers it works just as good as it did when I had AT&T, I just pay $45 for unlimited Talk, Text & Data instead of hundreds a month because I actually use my iPhone the way it was designed to be used.

Was this review helpful? (687) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HKeaveny
Spotsylvania, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Straight Talk AT&T Compatible SIM Card
9/9/2012

Customer review by MaryLouinStitches

5.0 stars by MaryLouinStitches

Been with ATT for 17+- years, and after my last bill - I opted out! - the card worked perfictly with my Samsung Infuse - and recommend straight talk to anyone that asks. Took about 15 mins i was set up and running - Plus if you buy the refills - 3 months or more you get a discount from walmart... which is less than what I'd been paying per month for my phone, I'm very happy with it..

Was this review helpful? (177) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MaryLouinStitches
Harvest, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WOW!!!
9/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I just got a new Iphone 4s unlocked popped in this sim card and my phone works great!!! and my service is on att and running 4g with a price tag of 45$ and they send you a text to welcome you aboard what more can I say.....

Was this review helpful? (143) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
straight talk sim
9/5/2012

Customer review by karmalooped

5.0 stars by karmalooped

you get the same excellent coverage as AT&T for the low price of straight talk, what more can I ask for? On top of that straight talk lets you use their sim card with another carrier's GSM phone or with an unlocked phone (I opted for an unlocked phone that works with both AT&T and T-mobile).

Was this review helpful? (88) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
karmalooped
Washington D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So Far, So Good!
8/18/2013

Customer review by SthrnTransplant

5.0 stars by SthrnTransplant

My contract recently ended with cSpire and like a lot of people, I'm sick of over-priced, inflexible contracts with most of the major carriers. I had an old iPhone 3g laying around so I thought I'd try to get it up and running. If I could, my monthly cell bill would go from nearly $90 to only $45. I emailed AT&T, from whom I got my 3g, and they unlocked it in only a couple of days. Straighttalk was true to their word and I got my SIM and 30 Day Unlimited Plan card the day after I ordered it. I followed the easy instructions to insert the new SIM, to activate the phone and to update the APN settings. It was super easy and the phone has been working great so far. I don't have hardly any apps on this old phone, and I've discovered you can't get many anymore for IOS 4.2.1. But that's ok because I only use my phone to call, text and check emails. The Safari browser seems to work great both with wifi and with the cell signal, so everything seems to being working fine. Hope it stays that way!

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SthrnTransplant
MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good So Far
10/22/2012

Customer review by HappyJoi96

4.0 stars by HappyJoi96

I purchased the Straight Talk SIM card a few weeks ago, and so far, everything has been good. After receiving the SIM card and the unlimited plan card, I followed the instructions. I expected that it would only take a few hours to make the switch, but it didn't quite work out that way but by no fault on Straight Talk. Anyway, the instructions could be a tad bit more clear. What the instructions do not specify is when to change out the SIM card. You have to wait until your SIM card stops working, otherwise, you will not be able to use your phone. Also, the MMS settings listed in the instructions were incorrect. After the switch, I noticed that I was not able to received or send MMS messages, and had to call customer service. This is when I was given a completely different setting from the package instructions. Customer service is nice (if you can understand them). Since we have worked out all of the kinks, everything has worked well.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HappyJoi96
Manning, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i love it
9/17/2013

Customer review by 5589l

5.0 stars by 5589l

theres no comparison to att ad stright talk, for one you caint even get unlimited data with att, all u can get is two gigs of daa, by the time yuo get a descent plan your paying well over 100 dolls a month without data, its ridiculous, i had a pay as u go iphone 3gs, i called att and told them i needed them to unlock my phone so i couls buy an unlimited stright talk sim, so they sent m,e to itunes and did a few things and said it was ready, so when i got my new stright talk sim in my data still didnt work, the problem was the phone really wasnt unlocked, so i called att and they didnt know much about changing my apn or unlocking the phone,so they gave me the tech support number for apple, this guy was great!! he walked me through step be step n got my phone unlocked and helped me change my apn numbers so my data wouod work, that was threee days ago and i love it , EVERYTHING FREE and its 45 dolls a month with no contract, i mean theres no better way to go, perfect service, 3g speed it works, great, if you have anything besides stright talk unlmited, ur paying to much with less options,

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
5589l
jeffersonville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
glad I got the sim card
9/21/2012

Customer review by ordinarythinker

5.0 stars by ordinarythinker

The Straight Talk sim card works great with my unlocked iPhone 3gs. I love being able to get on the internet and look things up on my phone. It works in the most unlikely places, and doesn't get a signal sometimes in urban areas when you think it would be sure to have one. It uses AT&T towers in my local area. I am glad I got the iPhone, but my old Straight Talk phone got a signal ANYWHERE.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ordinarythinker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price but customer service isn't great
2/25/2013

Customer review by mslpatt

4.0 stars by mslpatt

I moved my iPhone 4 from AT&T to straight talk. Walmart was out of the micro sim cards, so I purchased a regular card and took it to a store that sells wireless service to have it cut. The great thing about this service is the price. I will really see the savings next month when I don't have to pay AT&T that extremely high bill. The downfall was that my MMS (picture messaging) would not work. Straight Talk can't give you any information on how to make this work. After researching online, I found that my phone would either need to be unlocked or Jail broken in order for my MMS to work. I opted to have it jail broken and now my MMS works perfectly. The very cool thing about it being Jail Broken is that I was able to download Siri. I now have Siri on my iPhone 4! I also have a personal hotspot that was free. Now, as for customer service, they can help but it takes at least 30 minutes to get someone on the phone. They should really hire some more customer service reps because the hold time is totally ridiculous

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mslpatt
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/1/2013

Customer review by MrsBlair

4.0 stars by MrsBlair

The straight talk unlimited plan for $45 a month is an unbeatable deal. Having the option to keep my current iphone and use the sim is such a great program. The only downside to using the straight talk sim is that I can no longer send/receive mms photo messages via text. There may be a way to correct this but according to straight talk they do not guarantee this option when using the sim. So far I have no other complaints. I have the att service and it has great coverage in my area. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to save money on their cellphone bill!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrsBlair
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent way to save some $$$
12/8/2013

Customer review by 12thManGigem

5.0 stars by 12thManGigem

I have been a Straight Talk user for the last 18 months. I had been using the All You Need Plan in which I pay for unlimited talk, text, and data for $45/month. However, I was using a simple flip phone, so I was not getting the data portion of the All You Need Plan. I purchased a used iPhone 3GS on eBay for $59. The phone was locked to AT&T. I purchased this SIM car from Wal-Mart.com. After picking it up, I transferred service from my old flip phone to the "new" iPhone. The transfer process was simple. After changing my APN settings I had data on my phone. The only down side is that I do not have MMS. However, for $50/month (the total cost after taxes are added to the All You Need plan) I am not complaining. I would recommend Straight Talk to anyone looking to save money. It is much better than paying out the nose for service from one of the big carriers (AT&T, Verizon, etc.) The coverage is the same. The only downside is that if you ever have to call a customer service person, you will have to deal with someone in a foreign call center. It can test your patience, but it is bearable. I've only had to call customer service twice in the last 18 months. The service is reliable enough that I am willing to deal with that aspect.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
12thManGigem
Denton, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AT&T Avail Z990 Go Phone
12/23/2012

Customer review by Shystice

5.0 stars by Shystice

I have the Android AT&T Avail Z990 Go-Phone. After reading through all the postings about the good and bad of getting this AT&T Compatible Sim Card, I was extremely hesitant to try it. But I took the chance and bought it. It took about 15 minutes to activate my phone. Once that was done, I started making and receiving calls within about 10 minutes. Using the data (web, facebook, email, etc), took longer to fully activate. Within 2 hours I was able to use the data service. I setup my email account and some of my favorite websites like Google and YouTube. I had a little problem getting Facebook setup but that was because I didn't really understand that I had to first setup my cellphone number on my Facebook account (on my computer). Once I got the Facebook Mobile setup properly on my account, then I followed the instructions to send a text message from my cellphone to activate my Facebook account on my mobile phone. I know this is only my first day using it but I'm just very relieved that it worked and that I didn't have to delete the AT&T software (like some posts suggested). Setting the APN was pretty simple. However, I did run into a small problem with these settings. The Sim card comes with a brochure that gives instructions for updating the APN settings on your phone. The MMS Proxy setting listed in the brochure will not work if you have an Android version 1.6 or higher. I found this out when I called Straight Talk and spoke with one of their reps. He gave me the correct setting for the MMS Proxy and all works great now! I hope this review helps those that are wary about whether to purchase this AT&T Compatible Sim card.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shystice
Abilene, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I HIGHLY recommend this item
9/15/2012

Customer review by BIGBOSSHOGG

5.0 stars by BIGBOSSHOGG

This was the best thing ive ever did att was over charging me really bad my termination bill was $1700.00 paying over $1000 a month no joke. i recomend this to everyone thats having trouble with att to switch to att compatible sim card. walmart rocks ive been a straight talk user for years oonly reason i went to contract is i sisnt have service. then i found this so glad i did

Was this review helpful? (28) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BIGBOSSHOGG
Saxon,WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The card Fits And the Service Is OK
11/30/2012

Customer review by Xchknfrmr

3.0 stars by Xchknfrmr

This Straight Talk Plan uses AT&T as it's provider. That works pretty well but Straight Talk doesn't have any roaming agreements so if you get to a spot w/no AT&T service your phone will drop the call. My wife is on AT&T and her calls don't drop at the same places because AT&T has roaming agreements. I still use it though because the cost is about 1/2 the cost under a AT&T contract.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Xchknfrmr
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SIM card works great
10/7/2012

Customer review by picturedog

5.0 stars by picturedog

This Straight Talk SIM card cut my phone bill by $60 a month on 2 cellphones. That's $720 savings annually. Their technical assistance is great. They can walk you through anything. If you still can't get your phone going be sure and check on YOUTUBE for instructional videos. Watch several videos to be sure you get the hang of what's going on. You don't have to "Jail-Break" your phone. This is a procedure recommended on some of the YouTube videos. If you "Jail-Break" your phone you VOID your phones warranty. "Jail-Break" is NOT needed and I found it of no use on my phone. I'm using an Apple iphone 3G. "Jail-break" is often recommended because it's needed in foreign countries.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
picturedog
Auburn, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
works - am now using galazy note on straight talk
10/16/2012

Customer review by EGadd

5.0 stars by EGadd

You will need a simm card from another carrier - I used t-mobil - to get the unlock message on your phone. After phone is unlocked replace the simm card with this one then call 611 and get tech support to walk you through the setup for the data OR google "straight talk + bring your own phone" and get the settings right from the web :)

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EGadd
Terrible Hole, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
easy to install and activate
10/4/2012

Customer review by mmtowns

5.0 stars by mmtowns

Installed this SIM card in an AT&T iPhone 3GS I bought used via Craigslist. Took out the AT&T sim card and replaced it with this one. Changed the APN settings with some help from Google. Activated online and after several hours of waiting for the phone number to be ported over, everything worked!

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mmtowns
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good alternative with NO contract and save $$$$
10/16/2013

Customer review by llibs

4.0 stars by llibs

Was with AT&T for years. was out of contract, looked into geting a new phone. The monthly costs for two phones (my wife & I) was nuts. Bought my wife a iphone 5c unlocked and used my old 4s unlocked. Bought the sim cards, called streight talk direct, within hours they had my cell numbers ported and I was in business. Total cost $96/mo including taxes..... will pay for the new 5c in 8 months. then be saving $$$$$$$$. I pick up AT&T towers up & down the eastern US with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
llibs
Eastern Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
SIM csrd does not fit
10/28/2013

Customer review by Straightnotalk

1.0 stars by Straightnotalk

after I purchased a SIM card I try to insert it into my galaxy s3 phone and it did not fit I managed to wiggle it I am after a while but after 3 days my phone stopped working and I no longer have service now I have to wait another week for another SIM card that may not fit my phone and if it does not I have nowhere that I can go to get it fixed because Straight Talk does not sell the SIM card anywhere but online and Walmart does not have anyone there who can help this is a nightmare I have service for phone but I cannot use because the SIM card doesn't fit and I won't know it unless I wait until it comes to the mail and that takes a week. and straight talk has informed me that they cannot credit me anytime for the service that I am no longer able to use the month is ticking down and I will only use the phone for 3 weeks that is if the new card works. I am very unsatisfied by the service that I am receiving.

Was this review helpful? (20) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Straightnotalk
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
confusing
9/10/2012

Customer review by jkkbro

1.0 stars by jkkbro

I have an un locked AT&T phone, adds say bring your phone, get a sim card buy minutes sounded like a good deal . Went to Walmart.com bought a sim card . thought you got a few minutes with it for set up ,but no so ran to the store bought $45 dollar plan ,came home tried to activate online and found out won't work in my zip code called Straight talk and found this to be true. Was never asked on line about zip code for sim card would have saved me $15 for card and $45 on minutes. not happy whats with no towers to power it ???? aren't there people with gsm phones in rural areas??

Was this review helpful? (36) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jkkbro
nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
1-20 of 319 total reviews