Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

66 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 66 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
First Day Consumer Review
7/19/2012

Customer review by Akira2000

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Akira2000
by Akira2000

Only had the camera for one day and have shot about 75 pictures so far. Depth of field control and the speed of the glass live up to the hype and I already see the potential to get DSLR quality shots out of this point and shoot. The build quality and feel of the camera are impressive and made in Japan on the bottom still means something to me. It is jeans pocketable and the screen is bright. The kids like to watch the illustration feature work, but I wouldn't generally use the illustration and other features that modify the image. I've shot a few panaramas but have had trouble getting it to do 360 degrees around, so far the best I've been able to do is 180 or so. Maybe I'll be able to get the little intro screens to go away when I switch modes, but I haven't figured it out yet, not a big deal. Overall seems like a great camera if I'm only going to carry one on a big vacation and don't want to lug the DSLR. I'll update the review with more feedback down the road after I get more time with the camera.

Akira2000
East Coast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Small Camera Ever
11/13/2012

Customer review by Liberator

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Liberator
by Liberator

I have owned this camera for several months now. I got the camera for personal use and for work. Most of my initial shots were of work stuff so I was not immediately impressed. However, once I started using it for personal use the quality of the camera was stunning. Size Matters - this large sensor is capable of impressive image captures that the normal point & shoot can't compete with. Recently I was at a family gathering where the other family members had point & shoots and one DSLR. I compared my shots to others taken of the same subject with the other cameras including a Canon Rebel and couldn't believe the difference. This little Sony far out-shined the APS-C sensor of Canon and simply blew away the point & shoots. The detail was phenominal, the contrast and color saturation were incredible. Sony has hit a home run with this camera. I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for something more than just the ordinary point & shoot.

Liberator
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
unimpressed thus far
5/4/2015

Customer review by larmstrong

2.0 stars 5/4/2015 by larmstrong
by larmstrong

I honestly hope to be changing my review at some point, but for now I'm just not a happy camper with this camera. I purchased it after significant online research as well as recommendations from several employees at my local camera store as an alternative for a concert camera, as it is impossible to get my full frame in anywhere. Two concerts so far, one outdoors, one indoors, one up close, one nosebleed seats and nothing worth anything from either show. I used some posted settings specifically for taking concert images with this model, and even pushed it to Auto at some point hoping to capture something worthwhile. I do not disregard that this could all be operator error, because I have gotten quite attached to my nicely weighted DSLR and its viewfinder; but point-and-shoots are consumer cameras so this would seem unlikely. Just to try and convince myself further I have taken some inside and outside shots but am simply not as impressed as the hundred or so others that have rated this camera as one of the best point-and-shoot that produces RAW files.

larmstrong
Would recommend to a friend? No
Consider the Bar Raised!
7/25/2012

Customer review by Smytherines

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Smytherines
by Smytherines

I am literally rendered speechless by how amazing this camera is! It performs significantly better in many respects than my Canon 40D SLR from a couple of years ago and in a package that fits in my pocket. The image quality is outstanding, the video quality is stunning. I recently brought it to a friends wedding and the video it was taking was on par with the photographers 5D MK II ($4000 setup)...the portraits and low light images were breathtaking! I have been faithful to Canon my whole life and this is my first Sony camera purchase. Based on initial impressions and using it daily for nearly 3 weeks, I can comfortably say that this camera is the kind of thing that puts a company like Sony in the big leagues with companies like Canon and Nikon, and as is currently the case, surpasses comparable products from both companies by a significant margin! You simply can not get better pictures from anything else in a comparable size!

Smytherines
Vancouver, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent pocket camera.
3/19/2015

Customer review by Shirish

5.0 stars 3/19/2015 by Shirish
by Shirish

I am 60 yrs old and I have Nikon DSLR professional camera with heavy zoom lens,on outdoor photography.I have to carry this camera with heavy accessories.After a period of two or three hours my left hand were started paining. I was searching for this RX 100 type option since many days, and one day I had came across RX 100 in Better Photography magazine.I read the complete article and came to know this is it,immediately I purshased it .i.e.on 12 February 2012,I got excellent results and I am using it regularly for outdoor as well as indoor photography,very good invention by SONY,keeping aside my Nikon DSLR. On one fine day.i.e.on 20 February 2015, my RX 100,stops working properly i.e. LCD shops showing images.I rushed to SONY Service outlet and shown the camera.Keeping in mind that they will charge for repairs, being third year from purchase,and surprised to know that it was in warranty,And still the warranty is valid up to March 2016. Hats off to SONY!! And my camera has been serviced properly and again my RX 100 is giving excellent results.Thanks to SONY!!

Shirish
Dadar, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sony Cyber shot DSCRX100 Digital Camera
12/19/2012

Customer review by Papabeer

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Papabeer
by Papabeer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have an older Cyber shot from four years ago and wanted to upgrade to a heavier camera like the older SLR's. I read all the reviews before I decided to stick with Sony. I use it mainly for pictures and videos of the grand kids so this one was a perfect choice. The battery lasted longer than I expected and the 16GB flash card is more than I needed for a weekend of picture taking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Papabeer
Harpers Ferry, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best pocket rocket cam today?
10/1/2012

Customer review by deevee

5.0 stars 10/1/2012 by deevee
by deevee

IQ: perhaps the best of all p+s thanks to the large sensor (but dynamic range still a bit behind micro fourthirds and FF) better than the competition (except perhaps Nikon 1 series?) noise is quite good , image usable to ISO 800 Quality build, clean and sturdy a la Leica minimal design but Fcn button is quick and accessible to may features Control wheel is quite versatile (for ISO , zoom , aperture ..) LCD is bright , detailed and one of the best in industry AF is fast and AF points can be adjusted Great choices of filters, my favorite is Illustration low quite shutter great Zeiss lens Some negs: max speed is only 1/2000 thus can't sue max aperture under bright light no builtin ND (could have compensated for max speed) a bit slippery to hold (need a skin or a leather half case ; I use strap around wrist for security) would have preferred 24-85mm zoom to 28-100mm zoom a bit dim at longer end a bit pricey

deevee
Saratoga CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really, Sony? Are you kidding?
9/12/2013

Customer review by TheFunk

1.0 stars 9/12/2013 by TheFunk
by TheFunk

This camera takes great pictures and has many amazing features... but how could Sony not pay attention to detail? Seriously! You can't adjust the timer for more than 10 seconds! Sometimes I want to take a picture of myself someplace; I set the timer, and I can't make it into the frame in 10 seconds. Why isn't an adjustable timer up to 30 seconds a STANDARD FEATURE? This seems like a no-brainer that Sony completely missed. But meanwhile, you can use 100 different HDR settings... great... too bad you can't use the timer in HDR! WHAT THE HECK!? How hard is it to let the camera use the timer in HDR? Canon has had that ability for YEARS! Another problem: the so-called intelligent auto setting won't default to the "vivid/warm" color setting. Every time you turn off the camera, and turn it back on, you have to re-adjust to turn up or down the warmth/vividness settings. UGH! I'm so disappointed with these features... mostly because it means I have to carry two cameras now, my old Canon and my new Sony, because I sure as heck can't use the worthless timer on the Sony... What a pain in the butt. Thanks Sony.

TheFunk
Terrific hardware, so-so software
5/4/2015

Customer review by Alfa1

4.0 stars 5/4/2015 by Alfa1
by Alfa1

I love the image quality from this camera but still struggle with the software and usability. From the software perspective, Canon trumps Sony hands down. Nevertheless, the RX100's combination of pocketability and superior optics are worth the ongoing hassle of fighting with the disappointing software. One issue for me is all the cheesy consumer features that are more appropriate for a $100-200 point-and-shoot. Since the pricey RX100 appeals to many skilled amateurs and pros, it would be great if you could turn off the consumers features and operate the camera in a simplified "pro" mode. However, a small, lightweight form factor and high quality optics were paramount for me, so I don't regret the purchase. It's just that Sony did such a terrific job with hardware that the software fail is more painful than it might be in a more ordinary camera.

Alfa1
San Francisco, CA 94105, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poorly designed Filter Adaptor & Screen Protector
9/22/2014

Customer review by Poorlydesigned

1.0 stars 9/22/2014 by Poorlydesigned
by Poorlydesigned

The RX100-II camera is superb! So I was quite surprised at how poorly designed and inadequate the filter adaptor and Screen Protector sheet both are. The filter adaptor (that the Polarizer filter, etc., screws into) and screen protector are just made of sticky tape, that one needs to press against the camera lens/screen to stick on. The first day I used them, which happened to be in very high humidity, both fell off within a few hours, and the "stick" completely went away, and I could no longer use them to mount on the camera--thus had to hand-hold the filters to the lens every time I needed them. When I called SONY, they just said that there was no warranty on these two products--I would just have to order and pay for them again. With such a great camera, I just cannot believe that the filter adaptor does not screw on--and they are just using a sticky tape material which does not hold up, especially in "weather" and over the long term--and then when they quickly fall apart, SONY just expects you to keep buying new ones.... SONY you need a new design for the filter adaptor (VFA-49R1) and Screen Protector (PCK-LM15)!!!!

Poorlydesigned
90068
Five stars big time!!!!!!!
6/11/2013

Customer review by MonikaPhotoLife

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by MonikaPhotoLife
by MonikaPhotoLife

As semi-professional photographer I am a NIKON shooter. I own few lenses and shoot mostly concerts, events and high fashion. For a long time I was looking for a good small TO-GO camera that will be sharp in low light situations as I am guest on many events all over FL not only when working and covering it for local magainze but privet for my blog Miami Photo Life. From the moment I start shooting with RX100 I was ....wooooooowww what is this??? Amazing!!! Hands down! Fast, sharp, great colors, ISO on high settings looks still good, picture stabilization - outstanding!!! On my blog I post short photo review so you can have a look (http://monikaphotolife.zenfolio.com/blog/2013/5/hands-on-sony-dsc-rx100) :))) I am in love with that little Sony ! This camera is always ready to shoot in a speed of a second! :))) www.monikaphotolife.com www.miamiphotolife.com

MonikaPhotoLife
Miami Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RX 100 Camera- Wow!
9/19/2012

Customer review by Wcreativesandiego

4.0 stars 9/19/2012 by Wcreativesandiego
by Wcreativesandiego

Based on reviews I went for this camera right away. The 1" CMOS, 20 megapixels, Zeiss lens and F1.8 speed, video quality, still image quality, size, overall creative features and the capability of this camera is amazing. I work in broadcast TV and we use many Sony products, including video cameras. That said we are moving to CMOS sensors to shoot more and more and we shoot quite a bit of DSLR. While the RX 100 won't match a DSLR in all applications, what it can do given it's small size and ease of use is astounding. And as a still camera it really is terrific. It is the one camera to have on you at all times. That said, here is what it still needs- Interval shooting capability. I seriously hope a firmware update is in our future so we can shoot interval images. 24p video shooting is also a must have going forward. The micro HDMI location means no tripod mounting and external screen monitoring at the same time (more of an issues for pros). Lastly no external battery charger- really Sony?- come on and roll it out for us. For the size and the price this camera is great. A few updates and new features would be a market killer. Hope Sony delivers.

Wcreativesandiego
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best point and shoot, ever!
7/22/2012

Customer review by Linddy

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Linddy
by Linddy

My husband and i spent two months researching the perfect point and shoot to replace his much loved Canon G9 which unfortunately finally gave out. We have a business where we need to take professional looking pictures, but we also have a toddler and need a camera that is easy to throw in your pocket, take quickie photos and go. We also make very large prints from photos so megapixels, sensor size and great macro capabilities were very important as well. We also wanted to be able to choose to defocus the background, which we couldn't do with our old camera. Finally, we wanted a retractable lens so we didn't have to mess with a large lens and lens cap. We found out about this camera right as we were going to invest in a mirrorless one and we are so happy we went with the rx100! We love the Zeiss lens and that it's made in Japan, it's everything we wanted and more, dare I say revolutionary? I'm not going to go through all the specifics, you can go online and find out everything you need to know and more, but it truly is a groundbreaking camera and we highly recommend it. As far as i am concerned there is no need for a bulky DSLR camera ever again, thanks Sony, amazing job!

Linddy
nyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RX100, Contax TVS Digital is back or even better
7/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Perfect in its class. This is larger sensor point and shoot camera. No hot shoe, optical view finder, fixed lens blar blar blar My concern is below things. 1. fast operating. easy change setting even better than nex series 2. image quality is outstanding. Jpg, Arw both very good. illustration mode is much more fun. 3. very good inner flash on top. its head can be up for bounce. 4. original leather case is very nice and perfect fitted. 5. ring control is very useful. 6. image quality is very even with other mirrorless cameras. 7. body build quality is superb. there is no heavy stupid material grip. I don't care. only I know without bulky grip, it looks so sexy. 8. Minimum body design shows sony's philasophy of product design. It is not a retro It is not something else. It is just sonystyle.

An anonymous customer
SAN FRANCISCO, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Compact Camera with one flaw...
6/4/2013

Customer review by techluvr

4.0 stars 6/4/2013 by techluvr
by techluvr

While shopping for a compact camera, I considered buying a Canon until the salesperson showed me the RX100. I was suprised by the size and build of the camera. It just felt solid. All the specificiations are top notch. How could you go wrong? You throw in a pop up flash that gets in the way of holding the camera. If it was built in, there would be less of chance of your hand getting in the way. The other problem is that it is very flimsy and can be easily twisted or broken. It just doesn't match the excellent build quality of the rest of the camera. I usually tweak the setting in low light situations to avoid using the flash altogether. After having said all that. I definitely recommend this camera for its compact size, large image sensor and Carl Zeiss len with a very low aperature.

techluvr
Clifton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All that I could ask for
10/1/2012

Customer review by DetroitPics

5.0 stars 10/1/2012 by DetroitPics
by DetroitPics

I'm new to photography and chose this one over a DSLR because the fact is that I'll take 10X as many photos with this one. It's fast and small and I'll always have it with me. Walking along I stopped and took a closeup pic of an autumn leave (only 2 inches away) with no need of lens changing. Then, some distant pics of buildings. Then, an amazing shot of my beautiful daughter with background defocus. And finally, some low light shots in the night club. All point and shoot and you'd swear the pics were from a high end professional SLR. Even using it in automatic mode produces remarkable photo quality. I can't wait to learn and try all of the features. Friends are already asking me how I took such nice photos with a point and shoot. The video quality is amazing as well.

DetroitPics
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sharpness, dynamism, depth
8/4/2013

Customer review by hosmanathosman

5.0 stars 8/4/2013 by hosmanathosman
by hosmanathosman

I had it a few days ago and I took more than 300 shots...this is what I was searching...I had more experiences by widely shooting and can be said it is fantastic and easy to use. aparatus. I always use as manuel except the focus and I saw that the image qualities breaken rules even it's small 1^" sensor. The dynamic range is wide and the structural forms are just as origin. No doubt at the pictures colors particularly the wb adjaustement is correcty and you can adjust simply the better...Now I am planning to have a DSC-RX 1R maybe I can wait till it's new version with interchangeble lense capacity. I suggest and recommend frankly to all photo lovers to have one from RX-100 portable, easy to use and amazing pictures you can take.. Even with pe-programmed scenes...

hosmanathosman
ISTANBUL IST
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let me count the ways!
7/29/2012

Customer review by CalusaShooter

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by CalusaShooter
by CalusaShooter

Over the years we've owned many digital cameras including DSLR, Micro Four Thirds and Point & Shoot. I'd rate my abilities as an advanced armature. Simply put, the RX100 is the best P&S camera available today, period. Why? It has the best sensor available in a P&S camera and, in terms of image quality, can and does produce results equal to those form DSLR and MFT cameras, simply put the Sony 20MB sensor produces absolutely stunning photos. The RX100 can be used as s simple P&S camera, just set it to Superior Auto and go to work, you'll love the results. If you're an advanced shooter, the RX100 has a range of manual control that will accommodate any shooting approach you'd like to use, if you want it, it's there. The Zeiss lens is terrific and has a very useful zoom range. Tiered of LCD viewing screens that can't be used in bright sun, well forget it with the RX100, just turn up the brightness and keep shooting. There isn't much this little, truly pocketable, camera can't do it terms of producing excellent photographic results. In case you haven' guessed, I love this little wonder. And, yes, the menu system has a steep learning curve but that's true for any camera with loads of manual control and flexibility.

CalusaShooter
Nokomis, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WORTH THE INVESTMENT
6/10/2013

Customer review by twinkle15

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by twinkle15
by twinkle15

I am no professional. I just wanted a nice camera for great memories. I did not want to spend on a point and shoot that would be deemed useless in short time. I wanted to spend wisely and be satisfied for quite some time. I hesitated because of the price point but still took the chance after considerable research. This camera is AMAZING, the picture quality is SUPERB for such a point and shoot. DSLR quality for sure!! EXCELLENT for low light, it focuses really fast. I use it mostly in the automatic settings and it chooses the appropriate scenes at ease. It adjusts the light very well for a picture. Beautiful! Very happy!!! For the premium, I just wished Sony included an external battery charger. Get a good protector for your camera!!!

twinkle15
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no instruction manual needed!
9/6/2012

Customer review by hobopelican

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by hobopelican
by hobopelican

to everyone complaining about 'no instruction manual', this camera is NOT for you. the RX100 is billed as a professional photographer's 2nd camera, so basically, someone who will pick up the functionality super duper quick. the RX100 is an amazing machine, my only worry is that my a77, a33 and a65 will become obsolete. i kid, mostly. but that's exactly what the RX100 is capable of, abolishing any other camera you own! 20.2mp! quick charging times! tons and tons of picture effects! amazing 1080 video quality! all in the palm of my hand? shoot, i might buy another...because, you know what they say...the best camera you own, is the one that's ALWAYS in your hand! the RX100 is ALWAYS in my hand. go, right now and buy yours today!!!

hobopelican
outer space
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews