Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

143 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 143 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews
Sony Cyber shot DSCRX100 Digital Camera

Customer review by Papabeer

5.0 stars 12/19/2012 by Papabeer
by Papabeer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have an older Cyber shot from four years ago and wanted to upgrade to a heavier camera like the older SLR's. I read all the reviews before I decided to stick with Sony. I use it mainly for pictures and videos of the grand kids so this one was a perfect choice. The battery lasted longer than I expected and the 16GB flash card is more than I needed for a weekend of picture taking.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harpers Ferry, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!

Customer review by Boobara77

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Boobara77
by Boobara77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this product. I have owned other Sony cameras and have always thought its quality of picture outdid any other camera. I am still learning all of its features, but so far I am happy with the camera. I feel it was a little pricey, but i wanted a small camera that was full of fun features. The only downside is its low zoom ability, but most of my pictures are of something nearby so it works great for me!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
expensive - exellent resolution and detail

Customer review by WalmartDealz

3.0 stars 11/22/2012 by WalmartDealz
by WalmartDealz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Expensive for a pont and shoot camera.. I like the camera but felt uneasy that i would bump it or drop it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cudahy, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best in Catagory

Customer review by PlayStation4k

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by PlayStation4k
by PlayStation4k

I can't wait to see what more this line will offer in the future. This will more then do for now.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Almost perfect

Customer review by styx

5.0 stars 8/19/2012 by styx
by styx

The best camera is the one you have with you all of the time and this one exceeds in that department. I never have my DSLR with me when I need it and my camera bag has gotten so heavy with lenses and accessories that I've even started leaving it home on trips. This corrects both of those problems. It has replaced and far exceeded my prior Cannon S90. Picture quality and color are exceptional. Moves are likewise excellent. The ability to shoot stills while filming is a plus. Once you figure out the speed shooting modes it is quite usefull. (The fastest mode @10 fps does not refocus or re-meter after the first shot so follow up shots are often blurred. The 2.5 fps mode does both and quality is excellent.) Place the camera in normal speed shutter mode (2.5 fps), shutter priority @ 1000, and aim at fast moving children or pets and prepare to be astounded. A few areas that could be better. If you are an advanced shooter and wish to turn off the mode guide you also lose the ability to quickly use the mode dial to select scenes while in that mode. Should not have to go into menus for that. Manual is poor.... have to play with the camera a bit to figure it out. Should have external charger for a second battery. Software is poor for burning movies. Works better transferring files onto a media server and playing over home TV that way. Would I recommend this.... YES. Is it a DSLR replacement..... it's the closest in pocket size that I have found. Good work Sony!

NW, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best point and shoot, ever!

Customer review by Linddy

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Linddy
by Linddy

My husband and i spent two months researching the perfect point and shoot to replace his much loved Canon G9 which unfortunately finally gave out. We have a business where we need to take professional looking pictures, but we also have a toddler and need a camera that is easy to throw in your pocket, take quickie photos and go. We also make very large prints from photos so megapixels, sensor size and great macro capabilities were very important as well. We also wanted to be able to choose to defocus the background, which we couldn't do with our old camera. Finally, we wanted a retractable lens so we didn't have to mess with a large lens and lens cap. We found out about this camera right as we were going to invest in a mirrorless one and we are so happy we went with the rx100! We love the Zeiss lens and that it's made in Japan, it's everything we wanted and more, dare I say revolutionary? I'm not going to go through all the specifics, you can go online and find out everything you need to know and more, but it truly is a groundbreaking camera and we highly recommend it. As far as i am concerned there is no need for a bulky DSLR camera ever again, thanks Sony, amazing job!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best compact camera available

Customer review by Z2000

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by Z2000
by Z2000

It's the little camera that could. The larger image censor really shines. Excellent detail in images allowing you to zoom in when viewing picture on computer screen to see all the details that the camera captured. Accurate/fast focus, having shot about 2000 outdoors pictures only a couple were blurry/out of focus. It's so fun to use you would want to buy a backup battery pack so you can shoot the whole day. Nice menu system and controls although video record button can be activated by accident. Popup flash can pop up annoyingly over your finger but can easily be disabled from the controls/menu if you don't plan on using flash (I seldom do). Image quality is superb right out of the camera. I haven't been able to make much use of RAW but found camera jpeg just perfect. Continuous shooting is superb at regular speed and shines at 10fps. Having used 10fps shooting on the camera I will not buy any future camera that does not have that feature. Great for capturing 1 sec of fast action such as diving, etc at 10fps. I have never been a fan of Sony digital cameras before, good electronics not so good image quality? This camera shows that Sony has changed that and image quality and electronics both deliver. It's nice to see Sony changing the rules and is making the best camera it can make rather than hamstring the camera to protect a higher margin DSLR. It's not perfect but very close to it. LCD can be difficult to see in bright sunshine and if there was one thing I would add to the camera it would be a view finder, but still the camera is very good without one.

Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Let me count the ways!

Customer review by CalusaShooter

5.0 stars 7/29/2012 by CalusaShooter
by CalusaShooter

Over the years we've owned many digital cameras including DSLR, Micro Four Thirds and Point & Shoot. I'd rate my abilities as an advanced armature. Simply put, the RX100 is the best P&S camera available today, period. Why? It has the best sensor available in a P&S camera and, in terms of image quality, can and does produce results equal to those form DSLR and MFT cameras, simply put the Sony 20MB sensor produces absolutely stunning photos. The RX100 can be used as s simple P&S camera, just set it to Superior Auto and go to work, you'll love the results. If you're an advanced shooter, the RX100 has a range of manual control that will accommodate any shooting approach you'd like to use, if you want it, it's there. The Zeiss lens is terrific and has a very useful zoom range. Tiered of LCD viewing screens that can't be used in bright sun, well forget it with the RX100, just turn up the brightness and keep shooting. There isn't much this little, truly pocketable, camera can't do it terms of producing excellent photographic results. In case you haven' guessed, I love this little wonder. And, yes, the menu system has a steep learning curve but that's true for any camera with loads of manual control and flexibility.

Nokomis, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RX100, Contax TVS Digital is back or even better

Customer review by NEXUSER

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by NEXUSER

Perfect in its class. This is larger sensor point and shoot camera. No hot shoe, optical view finder, fixed lens blar blar blar My concern is below things. 1. fast operating. easy change setting even better than nex series 2. image quality is outstanding. Jpg, Arw both very good. illustration mode is much more fun. 3. very good inner flash on top. its head can be up for bounce. 4. original leather case is very nice and perfect fitted. 5. ring control is very useful. 6. image quality is very even with other mirrorless cameras. 7. body build quality is superb. there is no heavy stupid material grip. I don't care. only I know without bulky grip, it looks so sexy. 8. Minimum body design shows sony's philasophy of product design. It is not a retro It is not something else. It is just sonystyle.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This camera has raised the bar

Customer review by HammerYWG

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by HammerYWG
by HammerYWG

Have had the camera for 3 days, well, there are many reviews on the web about this camera that will give you a lot more in depth and detailed information, but in general they all conclude that SONY has raised the standard in compact cameras, THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!. This marvel of modern technology rivals the IQ I get from my GF3 with the kit lens, in fact many times I get better images with the RX100 than with the GF3. I am a regular user, not a photographer by any means and was looking for the best IQ in a pocket size camera, with enough flexibility to get creative when I want, a camera that could produce beatiful portraits with nice bokeh, than can shoot on a variety of situations including very low light and all the way to sunny weather and high speed action. This camera takes outstanding high ISO low light shots (handheld!). If you can afford it, there is no need to get another camera but this.

Winnipeg, MB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Powerful Camera -- Perfect for Baby-Boomers

Customer review by BeJay

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by BeJay
by BeJay

This review comes after my having read all of the pre-release and early on-line reviews, then buying an RX100 in a local Sony Store -- it totally exceeds my expectations. This product review is probably different from most others. I am a Senior Citizen with very specific needs, needs which the RX100 is satisfying brilliantly, for instance: (1) I have been experiencing vision issues which challenge my use of a DSLR's eyepiece. The huge and hugely bright LCD display on the RX100 aides my composition and focusing comfort (as does the quick and accurate autofocus). (2) The combination of several features in one compact camera body precludes my needing other equipment. In particular, the 28mm-100mm optical zoom together with the digital zoom extension to 200mm; the ultra-wide angle panorama mode; and, its breath-taking 1080 HD video with full active camera functions and still frame capture ability. I'm using its MP4 format and Mac computers. (3) Also, besides adding years to its "Obsolescence Window" by jumping to 20Mpixel resolution [my last Nikon digital camera works but has only 5Mpixel, hence obsolete], having such large images allows me to crop down to smaller sections of the image and still have plenty of pixels to print -- effectively increasing the RX100's "magnification" even more than it's stated optical and digital zoom ranges. (4) The combination of a very large sensor and the F1.8 lens, together with the camera's uncanny ability to adjust for strong backlight, has allowed me to minimize the need for any flash at all. I'm taking pictures that my previous equipment simply couldn't handle w/o fill flash. (5) And, finally, the fast internal processor and support for large, fast memory cards, encourages me to use the RX100's 10 image per second burst capture, which is a major aide in getting just the right expression when I am photographing blinking adults and/or typically hyperactive Newborn to 4-year-old granchildren. The price of having to kill all of the "extra" stills in the burst is small compared to getting the perfect shot, or not getting it. I'm using a 16Gb Class 10 but intend to try a 95Mbps Extreme Pro memory to see whether the Rx100 is even faster! So, although there are a few "shortcomings" as mentioned in the on-line and other customers' reviews (i.e., weak on-camera flash, no hot shoe, HDMI port next to the tripod mount, weak user manual so far), this camera truly is top of its class and an excellent investment for people like me who do a lot of grandchild photos and vacation/travel photos -- I started photographing my latest grandson's birth the same afternoon that I bought the RX100; and I can hardly wait for next February to take this little beauty along to New Zealand and Australia (for this active vacation I am buying a trekking pole with a camera mount to use as a monopod).

New York City suburb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Day Consumer Review

Customer review by Akira2000

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by Akira2000
by Akira2000

Only had the camera for one day and have shot about 75 pictures so far. Depth of field control and the speed of the glass live up to the hype and I already see the potential to get DSLR quality shots out of this point and shoot. The build quality and feel of the camera are impressive and made in Japan on the bottom still means something to me. It is jeans pocketable and the screen is bright. The kids like to watch the illustration feature work, but I wouldn't generally use the illustration and other features that modify the image. I've shot a few panaramas but have had trouble getting it to do 360 degrees around, so far the best I've been able to do is 180 or so. Maybe I'll be able to get the little intro screens to go away when I switch modes, but I haven't figured it out yet, not a big deal. Overall seems like a great camera if I'm only going to carry one on a big vacation and don't want to lug the DSLR. I'll update the review with more feedback down the road after I get more time with the camera.

East Coast U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Consider the Bar Raised!

Customer review by Smytherines

5.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Smytherines
by Smytherines

I am literally rendered speechless by how amazing this camera is! It performs significantly better in many respects than my Canon 40D SLR from a couple of years ago and in a package that fits in my pocket. The image quality is outstanding, the video quality is stunning. I recently brought it to a friends wedding and the video it was taking was on par with the photographers 5D MK II ($4000 setup)...the portraits and low light images were breathtaking! I have been faithful to Canon my whole life and this is my first Sony camera purchase. Based on initial impressions and using it daily for nearly 3 weeks, I can comfortably say that this camera is the kind of thing that puts a company like Sony in the big leagues with companies like Canon and Nikon, and as is currently the case, surpasses comparable products from both companies by a significant margin! You simply can not get better pictures from anything else in a comparable size!

Vancouver, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The absolute best portable camera in the market

Customer review by TheGMan

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by TheGMan
by TheGMan

Up to now, most of us had to make a tradeoff between portability and quality. No more. This camera can take shots as good –and sometimes better- as my trusted DSLR. Take a look at my sample shots at PORTABILITY This camera fits in my hand, in my pocket and in my laptop bag. In fact, I am using the case for my wife’s Lumix TZ8. I can bring this camera with me anywhere. One big advantage is safety: if you travel to places that are not 100% safe, any potential robber would mistake it with a cheap $200 camera. More importantly, you will nevr have to leave this camera in a hotel room, on the trunk of your car, or will have to carry a big backpack with camera and accessories. Why this is size so important? You miss 100% of the shots you can’t take because you cannot bring your camera. Because this is a camera you will carry anywhere. There have been many business trips, weekend opportunities and just in the moment photo opportunities where it was not practical or safe to bring my big DSLR. That is no longer a problem with a portable camera like this that gives me all the quality and control I need as an experienced photographer. The only downside to size it that it looks pretty ridiculous to have this camera mounted on a tripd (as I did last night taking skyline shots at dusk) and that you don’t have the ‘professional’ look of sdomeone carrying a large camera with a big lens, which sometimes is useful getting access to normally unavailable areas for tourists. QUALITY Sony has been improving the quality of its digital cameras steadily for the last few years. In February of 2011 I got a HX5V which was quite impressive, and delivered quality images even when compared with a DSLR except for low-light and other tricky situations. I traded it for a Canon PowerShot S95 which was a step ahead but still suffered from high noise levels in low light settings. What makes this camera unique is a 1” CMOS sensor. It is the only camera in this class or in similar size with a sensor this big. The law of physics is very simple: larger sensor, higher quality and lower noise. Sure you could get a NEX-5 with an even bigger sensor for slightly better quality but you would be stuck with a much, much larger camera, especially because of the size of the lens, and a much higher price. Combined with a minimum aperture of f/1.8, Carl Zeiss optics and a lot of cool features from Sony such as the Auto HDR and very cool camera effects, it is an amazing camera. After a week of playing with it I am wondering why would the average person need anything more than this camera. Last, I really love the on-screen information (and the quality of the display), especially the level indicator that helps you shoot straight pictures. EASE OF USE Don’t let the power scare you away from this camera. As most point and shoot cameras, this one has an ‘auto’ mode that is usually quite good at getting the right settings for each shot. If you ar enot an expert, you will feel at home with the Sony RX100 camera having used any pocket digital camera, and you will enjoy the high quality it delivers. I found the menus to be intuitive, the camera feels solid and built with high quality materials. AREAS OF IMPROVEMENT Processing speed takes a few seconds, but given the quality of the effects I would be surprised if they took significantly less time. Still, often you have to wait a second or two after a shot if you use advanced in-camera processing such as HDR. The 3.6 Zoom goes to 105mm I think, which is fine for most situations but could be nice to have a 200mm 9equivalent) zoom. I know adding such a zoom would require a larger lens so I rather keep the portability as is. Further, with 20 megapixels, you can zoom in to your photos easily in post production. Overall, if you are an experienced hobbyist or a semi-professional photographer looking for a camera to

Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best camera is the one you have with you

Customer review by BobLoblah

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by BobLoblah
by BobLoblah

I've owned various dslr's for years and this little point-and-shoot can't match the flexibility of swapping lenses to meet the needs of the shot. It will, however, probably get more great images simply because I'll have it with me at all those times I've regretted not having my camera along (dog walk at sunrise, bike ride, etc). Even in the protective case I bought for it, it fits easily in most of my pockets and so I take it everywhere and in a few short weeks have taken some beautiful still images and videos. Highly recommended.

St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
RX100 Gem

Customer review by red5champ

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by red5champ
by red5champ

Can't wait to give the RX100 a full work out and take many images. Initial comments are very favourable. I am very excited to add this to my stable of Sony Cameras. If you wqant quality and not a large zoom range then this is the camera.

St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quite simply the best camera I have owned

Customer review by TetonWolf

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by TetonWolf
by TetonWolf

The Sony RX-100 is quite simply the best camera I have ever owned. Note I did not say it has the best image quality since my original 12 Mp Canon 5D still wins (but seriously only by a small margin). To be fair the RX-100 can only bring what amounts to a Bowie knife to a gun fight against the 5D's full frame sensor with L glass. But the combination of the RX-100's bring it anytime/anywhere portability plus it's jaw dropping image quality and low light performance gives it the edge over my 5D for plain old best photographic tool for the enthusiast. I simply love this thing. It is a game changer folks.

Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Always Wanting More Features

Customer review by Marootn

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by Marootn
by Marootn

The RX100 is no doubt currently the Best In Class for a compact size camera with professional level performance. However the two things that affect the photo the most is the lens and lighting. The RX100 has a fast and excellent f1.8 Zeiss T* lens but the on board flash limits its full photography potential. I wish the RX 100 had Wireless Flash Control abilities to control something like the HVL-F43AM Flash for creative off camera lighting.

Redmond, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A landmark camera

Customer review by Sail

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by Sail
by Sail

As an owner of the a900 and a77 (and long-time Minolta user), I am also a pretty demanding photographer, needing professional results for some of my work. I hadn't previously considered a compact camera, as the NEX series doesn't really fit in that category, particularly when longer/interchangeable lenses are added. This compact changes all that, as it offers very good image quality, and a user interface that is very familiar to me, in an amazingly small package. No need for me to review these features in depth (I just got the camera this week), just google RX100 and you'll find a wealth of reviews from highly qualified sources, with very positive comments. Highly recommended for the price, especially for users of more advanced Sony DSLRs.

Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Really Fantastic Pocket Camera

Customer review by CamRaw

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by CamRaw
by CamRaw

I am very impressed with thtis camera. When I saw the NY Times state it was the best pocket camera ever made, I wanted to see for myself... and yes it is. I have never seen any pocket camera take pictures this sharp, clear, colorful, beautiful. It is very fast. 10fps. Lots of features. I love the HDR, the Panaramic, the selective color and black and white. The video mode is excellent. I love the speed of being able to turn the camera on and press the dedicated record video button all in a short couple seconds. The only thing that bugs me, is not having a viewfinder at all. Some will say the LCD is good even in bright sunlight... but while it is pretty good, when I was using it during the mid-day sun, I could barely see the image on the LCD. I don't think LCDs will ever be good enough to see in direct sunlight. That's where an optical or even electronic viewfinder would have made this camera a 10 out of 10. But as it is... I still rate it a 10 out of 10 or, 5 out of 5 because it is what it is, and it does not have a viewfinder and I knew this before I bought it. So it gets a perfect score from me.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1-20 of 143 reviews