Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 71 reviews
5 stars
48
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 69 reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Unbelievable price
9/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This gun would put my RWS model 45 to shame. It packs the power. Trigger is two stage, but nerds work. While most nitro piston guns break in faster than the metal coil spring guns, mine didn't. It has taken 500 pellets to finally settle down, and two scopes. The sharp two way recoil of this rifle will destroy most scopes. Including many made for air guns. Get a quality Magnum air gun scope, with good rings. The rifle comes with 11 mm rails and a hole for your ring's recoil stop. Hammers scopes come with the best rings. I am using heavy duty rings with a recoil stop pin built into the rear ring. Besides the Hammer scope, others in the economy range would be the Barksa Magnum air gun scope and the Mantis. Standard .22 scopes won't last 100 shots. I think a lot of the people that say theirs won't shoot accurately have already destroyed their scope. This is a spring powered air rifle. Even though the spring is a nitro piston, you still need to learn to shoot a springer. A tight hold will not be accurate. Try YouTube for the artillery hold. Your groups will tighten right up. Try different pellets. Some pellets are punching one hole groups at 20 yards, others are shooting 6" groups. The pellet used does make a difference. 14-16 grain pellets have worked best in my rifle (.22cal.) YouTube again comes to the rescue when it comes to the trigger. With adding the longer adjustment screw, the trigger is better now than on my $400 springer air guns. Out of the box, the triggers have an unpredictable long throw. But are still better than a Discovery rifle. Stock the trigger was better than the Benjamin Trail trigger, mods are identical. Do clean the bore. If you don't, break in will take even longer. When you first fire the gun, even after cleaning, I got a lot of dieseling. Evident by all the smoke in the barrel. Added some 100% silicone oil (one drop) to the chamber. It helped a little, but smoke was still visible 50 shots later. Clean this gun well. Do not use anything other than 100% silicone oil in the chamber. Barrel should be clean and dry. Dieseling can and will destroy you gun in short order. The wood is nice. The bluing is great. The trigger easily improved. Power is great. Accuracy quite good. You can't get better than the Crossman for anywhere near this price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is'nt your granpas pellet gun !!!!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just bought this gun....wow! My son(9 years old# was hitting cans at 30 yards with iron sights. Temperature was around -2F....yeah cold. This gun is very solid....the picture they show you makes it look very cheap....nothing could be farther from the truth. This gun is a hard hitter. Just shreds whatever it hits. I like the wadcutters with this gun but hollow point and defenders work just as well#this thing does not care what you shoot out of it...it's accurate). It is a heavy gun....like your average 22LR. It is a little hard to crack the barrel at first but gets easier...heck my wife did it....don't be a sissy. If you are looking for a nice pellet gun....get this one. I just can't believe the accuracy right out of the box. I can't wait to try the scope. It appears to be a very decent scope. I like the fact it has iron sights as well as a scope. That was my reason for buying it. This is a very fine pellet gun....buy it you won't regret you did !! It is very solid and not cheap. Nitro piston is the only way to go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't Beat It For the Price
6/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is an excellent price for a pretty good air rifle. I had very low expectations for the scope and the mounts that came with it are defective, so I haven't been able to use it yet. But it doesn't diminish my overall view of the gun as the open sights work fine for my primary reason for buying the gun – dispatching the overabundance of nuisance rabbits we have here in suburbia. I'm totally confident in this guns ability to make consistent, humane head shots up to 20 yards or so. It is accurate out of the box. The cocking mechanism is much harder than I expected. It takes me 2 hands to complete the motion and I'm a fairly strong person. Perhaps it will loosen up after I break it in a bit? The wood stock is of acceptable quality at this price range as is the noise level – I really don't want to alert the neighbors, their kids or my 5-yr old son to my backyard bunny control efforts. The Vantage is a nice step up from the Crosman pump master and Daisy variable pump BB/Pellet guns of my youth and it's powerful and accurate enough to humanely deal with backyard pests.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP break Barrel rifle
9/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Really great gun for the price. Shoots accurate with the cheap scope that it comes with, but I have a better scope I am going to be putting on It once the new scope rings arrive! Make sure you clean the barrel very good before you shoot, it reduces the break in time dramatically. I have put about 100 rounds through it so far and I can consistently hit nickels at 20 yards. Decided to see if I could hit cans at the end of my drive way which where I had the cans it was 118 yards! I hit the cans after a few shots of knowing where the pellets were hitting that was with the cheap scope. Very good product very pleased and this is the second break barrel rifle love this gun and its very quite with the Nitro Piston. This gun is very accurate with the crosman hollow points have yet to try any others I have always liked the hollow points. Overall great pellet gun for $100
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First nitro power break barrel rifle. Very nice product, much smoother then spring power rifles. This rifle is very powerful at 1200fps. It requires less cocking power then spring power rifles and is quite accurate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Accurate and good value.
9/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this for about 3 months now. Out of the box the box the rifle can take down 2 inch spinner targets at 20 yards or more bench rested and it was loud as a regular spring break barrel. I've shot Crosman Premiere hollow points the groupings got tighter but not consistent on paper. The bundled scope optics where not very good and the rings don't have scope stop screws. I've upgraded the scope rings with scope stop and change the scope to a Simmons 4x32 with adjustable objective. After 3 tin can of RWS Diabolo Classic the rifle is a lot quieter and is grouping 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch at 35 yards bench rested. This gun don't shoot well with cold barrel. You need to leave it outside to warm up, otherwise your shot will be all over the paper.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value for the money
3/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got the vantage np a few weeks ago and it is very accurate. I haven't mounted the scope yet but I am able to hit tin cans at 25 yards with the open sights. I purchased this model because of the ability to use either open sights or a scope and I don't regret the purchase. This is also the least expensive nitro piston airgun that I have found (124.99 on Walmart.com). It shipped quickly and was actually delivered a day early. Walmart also gives the option of free delivery to a local store but shipping to my house was only $1.97. The rifle is good quality for the price and Walmart.com was great, I will definantly buy from them again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice Rifle
2/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having shot .177 pellets for 30 years, and owned lots of Chinese made rifles, I am glad to tell you this is top of the line. Clean the bore, right out of the box with some Q TIP ends and rubbing alcohol, have a pushrod at least 3 foot long, maybe a coat hanger, but straight. Great gun for the price, but be prepared to spend a little more for a scope, the mounts are nice, but a brand name 4x32 scope or better, you need to get. The scope that comes with this rifle is cheap, the rifle is not. Well made, and the piston vs spring, is a no brainer. If you are a scope shooter only, remove, the iron sights, they are visible, and a distraction in the scope. BEST ammo for this rifle is Crosman and Benjamin, both available at Wal Mart which is nice. Shooting nice groups at 108 feet from a table with a sandbag. Nice Rifle, good price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value for the money.
4/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Accurate right out of the box. I was able to hit target at 50 ft with iron sights. No adjustments needed. Gun is also very quiet too!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Money well spent
6/29/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Before spending money on just about anything I do research; the results of my search provided me with a rifle that exceeded my expectations. The wooden stock while not fancy suits this rifle admirably; the barrel bluing is pleasing to the eye; the fiber optic sights are quite visible and if not preferred the 4X32 scope is easy to attach and was easier to sight in; the trigger travel is acceptable and adjustable making this rifle fun to shoot and quite accurate. After a break-in period of about 65 shots, the one stroke cocking became easier and the report(noise) decreased dramatically!! To say that I am pleased with this product is a gross understatement.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Air Rifle
4/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have owned this rifle for about a month and it is a very nice rifle. It is very accurate especially after the break in period. Most people don't realize that these air rifles require a break in period before they gets as quiet or as accurate as it will be after it is broken in. It shoulders well and feels nice. The scope is a good value for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As everyone else has said a good rifle for the money. However, break in for mine took a good 500 pellets to smooth out. If your having trouble with accuracy buy you some Lock Washers and Loctite. Add the washers to the 3 screws that hold your rifle to the stock,apply Loctite as well. This will help keep thoses screws from loosen as you use your rifle and thus destroying your accuracy. Apply a little to loctite to the scopes screws as well. As with most pellets rifles,a good pellet helps, Mine likes the crossman hollow points and the Premier, destroyer ex. Most importantly learn the "artillery hold".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great gun
8/24/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great gun very accurate. One thing with these guns you should use blue loctite on all the screws because they will come loose. Also the scopes are junk so you might want to put a better one on it. I like the gun and im shooting bullseye at 20+ yards everytime. This gun is better then my gamo and cost alot less money. So i would definitely recommend this gun.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great target shooter
6/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Took about 6 shots to zero in scope at 50 feet. Now shooting bullseye every time. I did a lot of research on gamo and other brands. Gamo now can be retrofitted with a nitro from crossman. Why not buy a crossman,alot cheaper. Very good for target shooting. Scope is very clear. Walmart has the best buy on this item. Buy good ammo like pointed pellets for best accuracy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice rifle
4/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Nice rifle, hard wood stock, good weight, good feel, powerful shot and pretty darn accurate even before using the included scope.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
8/18/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First shot was a squirrel on the bird feeder. Went straight through and now only 5 more to go!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Bang for the Buck.
12/30/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After the sale price and credit card offer I basically stole it. I have the spring version also and the np version is definitely worth the 10 bucks more. I hate when people complain about the scopes that come with the combos on the lower price guns, I think they are fine and what were they expecting? A 500 dollar hawke to bundle with a $100 rifle... anyways this gun is very nice,I would have given it 5 stars but the wood stock is, well I'm not sure it is even real wood.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well built rifle.
9/30/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It's a great rifle, a little on the heavy side but being a veteran It does not bother me. My only objection is too loud for my area. it sounds too much like a 22. I have only shot it a few times. Not too crazy about the scope.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Much better than the springers
3/3/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice air rifle! Quiet, more accurate than springers. I would recommend it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Rifle
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Rifle performed great right out of the box. Hard to pump but you would expect that in a high compression break barrel rifle. Scope was adequate (for an inexpensive scope) especially at 30 yards. Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641738, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-9.8.8, SHA-9492cd77a5d2416e0163e2734cee42951ef798e7, CID-