Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

38 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-20 of 36 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Great value for the money
3/1/2013

Customer review by Sh00terMcgavin

5.0 stars 3/1/2013 by Sh00terMcgavin
by Sh00terMcgavin

I got the vantage np a few weeks ago and it is very accurate. I haven't mounted the scope yet but I am able to hit tin cans at 25 yards with the open sights. I purchased this model because of the ability to use either open sights or a scope and I don't regret the purchase. This is also the least expensive nitro piston airgun that I have found (124.99 on Walmart.com). It shipped quickly and was actually delivered a day early. Walmart also gives the option of free delivery to a local store but shipping to my house was only $1.97. The rifle is good quality for the price and Walmart.com was great, I will definantly buy from them again.

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sh00terMcgavin
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the money.
4/5/2013

Customer review by mrtook68

5.0 stars 4/5/2013 by mrtook68
by mrtook68

Accurate right out of the box. I was able to hit target at 50 ft with iron sights. No adjustments needed. Gun is also very quiet too!

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrtook68
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/6/2013

Customer review by Sluggo137

5.0 stars 6/6/2013 by Sluggo137
by Sluggo137

First nitro power break barrel rifle. Very nice product, much smoother then spring power rifles. This rifle is very powerful at 1200fps. It requires less cocking power then spring power rifles and is quite accurate.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sluggo137
New Port Richey, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is'nt your granpas pellet gun !!!!
12/10/2013

Customer review by zoho

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by zoho
by zoho

I just bought this gun....wow! My son(9 years old# was hitting cans at 30 yards with iron sights. Temperature was around -2F....yeah cold. This gun is very solid....the picture they show you makes it look very cheap....nothing could be farther from the truth. This gun is a hard hitter. Just shreds whatever it hits. I like the wadcutters with this gun but hollow point and defenders work just as well#this thing does not care what you shoot out of it...it's accurate). It is a heavy gun....like your average 22LR. It is a little hard to crack the barrel at first but gets easier...heck my wife did it....don't be a sissy. If you are looking for a nice pellet gun....get this one. I just can't believe the accuracy right out of the box. I can't wait to try the scope. It appears to be a very decent scope. I like the fact it has iron sights as well as a scope. That was my reason for buying it. This is a very fine pellet gun....buy it you won't regret you did !! It is very solid and not cheap. Nitro piston is the only way to go.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zoho
wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't Beat It For the Price
6/11/2013

Customer review by dsb123

4.0 stars 6/11/2013 by dsb123
by dsb123

This is an excellent price for a pretty good air rifle. I had very low expectations for the scope and the mounts that came with it are defective, so I haven't been able to use it yet. But it doesn't diminish my overall view of the gun as the open sights work fine for my primary reason for buying the gun – dispatching the overabundance of nuisance rabbits we have here in suburbia. I'm totally confident in this guns ability to make consistent, humane head shots up to 20 yards or so. It is accurate out of the box. The cocking mechanism is much harder than I expected. It takes me 2 hands to complete the motion and I'm a fairly strong person. Perhaps it will loosen up after I break it in a bit? The wood stock is of acceptable quality at this price range as is the noise level – I really don't want to alert the neighbors, their kids or my 5-yr old son to my backyard bunny control efforts. The Vantage is a nice step up from the Crosman pump master and Daisy variable pump BB/Pellet guns of my youth and it's powerful and accurate enough to humanely deal with backyard pests.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dsb123
Mount Joy, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Air Rifle
4/19/2013

Customer review by theophyl

5.0 stars 4/19/2013 by theophyl
by theophyl

I have owned this rifle for about a month and it is a very nice rifle. It is very accurate especially after the break in period. Most people don't realize that these air rifles require a break in period before they gets as quiet or as accurate as it will be after it is broken in. It shoulders well and feels nice. The scope is a good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theophyl
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great target shooter
6/23/2013

Customer review by airgunner1947

5.0 stars 6/23/2013 by airgunner1947
by airgunner1947

Took about 6 shots to zero in scope at 50 feet. Now shooting bullseye every time. I did a lot of research on gamo and other brands. Gamo now can be retrofitted with a nitro from crossman. Why not buy a crossman,alot cheaper. Very good for target shooting. Scope is very clear. Walmart has the best buy on this item. Buy good ammo like pointed pellets for best accuracy.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
airgunner1947
paulden
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Accurate and good value.
9/11/2013

Customer review by BackyardPlinker

4.0 stars 9/11/2013 by BackyardPlinker
by BackyardPlinker

I had this for about 3 months now. Out of the box the box the rifle can take down 2 inch spinner targets at 20 yards or more bench rested and it was loud as a regular spring break barrel. I've shot Crosman Premiere hollow points the groupings got tighter but not consistent on paper. The bundled scope optics where not very good and the rings don't have scope stop screws. I've upgraded the scope rings with scope stop and change the scope to a Simmons 4x32 with adjustable objective. After 3 tin can of RWS Diabolo Classic the rifle is a lot quieter and is grouping 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch at 35 yards bench rested. This gun don't shoot well with cold barrel. You need to leave it outside to warm up, otherwise your shot will be all over the paper.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BackyardPlinker
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice rifle
4/15/2013

Customer review by Raskey

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Raskey
by Raskey

Nice rifle, hard wood stock, good weight, good feel, powerful shot and pretty darn accurate even before using the included scope.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raskey
Peyton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Crosman Vantage .177 cal NP break Barrel rifle
9/29/2013

Customer review by maclain

5.0 stars 9/29/2013 by maclain
by maclain

Really great gun for the price. Shoots accurate with the cheap scope that it comes with, but I have a better scope I am going to be putting on It once the new scope rings arrive! Make sure you clean the barrel very good before you shoot, it reduces the break in time dramatically. I have put about 100 rounds through it so far and I can consistently hit nickels at 20 yards. Decided to see if I could hit cans at the end of my drive way which where I had the cans it was 118 yards! I hit the cans after a few shots of knowing where the pellets were hitting that was with the cheap scope. Very good product very pleased and this is the second break barrel rifle love this gun and its very quite with the Nitro Piston. This gun is very accurate with the crosman hollow points have yet to try any others I have always liked the hollow points. Overall great pellet gun for $100

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maclain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Crack shot!!
6/29/2013

Customer review by rdkdan

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by rdkdan
by rdkdan

Very easy to use and sighted with open sights in moments out of the box and was able to produce a tight group at 30' and 50' without the scope. Very noisy at first, much like a .22 rim fire, but after 30 odd pellets it was very quiet and the kick almost non-existent compared to spring mechanism rifles in the same class. I will never buy Spring Action again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rdkdan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/16/2013

Customer review by Nitebot

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by Nitebot
by Nitebot

As everyone else has said a good rifle for the money. However, break in for mine took a good 500 pellets to smooth out. If your having trouble with accuracy buy you some Lock Washers and Loctite. Add the washers to the 3 screws that hold your rifle to the stock,apply Loctite as well. This will help keep thoses screws from loosen as you use your rifle and thus destroying your accuracy. Apply a little to loctite to the scopes screws as well. As with most pellets rifles,a good pellet helps, Mine likes the crossman hollow points and the Premier, destroyer ex. Most importantly learn the "artillery hold".

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nitebot
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Money well spent
6/29/2013

Customer review by shopcap

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by shopcap
by shopcap

Before spending money on just about anything I do research; the results of my search provided me with a rifle that exceeded my expectations. The wooden stock while not fancy suits this rifle admirably; the barrel bluing is pleasing to the eye; the fiber optic sights are quite visible and if not preferred the 4X32 scope is easy to attach and was easier to sight in; the trigger travel is acceptable and adjustable making this rifle fun to shoot and quite accurate. After a break-in period of about 65 shots, the one stroke cocking became easier and the report(noise) decreased dramatically!! To say that I am pleased with this product is a gross understatement.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopcap
Slippery Rock Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good pest gun.
7/1/2013

Customer review by katybeth921

4.0 stars 7/1/2013 by katybeth921
by katybeth921

We have a lot of varmints around and this gun will definitely take care of them. Very powerful for a pellet rifle. I did have to adjust the sites a little and after that it shoots perfect. I haven't put the scope on, so I can't rate it. It looks like it's a good scope though. The reason I deducted a star is because it is so hard to break open. If that was easier I would have absolutely no complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katybeth921
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rifle, poor sights and trigger
12/7/2013

Customer review by Yamato202

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Yamato202
by Yamato202

The Crossman Vantage NP .177 is a very good, powerful platform coming from the factory with poor adjustable sights (unusable), and a pretty good scope. Once the scope was mounted I found the rifle much more accurate, although not the "tack driver" it is supposed to be. So I spent another $33 for an aftermarket da Tuna GRTIII trigger which solved the problem of a very poor factory trigger. So I now have a very powerful, very accurate and fun-to-shoot air rifle for about $140 total. To buy a comparably-shooting air rifle that will perform as this Crosman Vantage does now, would be well over $250 to $300. If you buy one of these, be ready to use the scope and change the trigger ... in the long run, it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yamato202
Stillwater, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Looked nice but poor accuracy
11/29/2014

Customer review by NevadaJoe

1.0 stars 11/29/2014 by NevadaJoe
by NevadaJoe

I liked the look of the rifle as the stock and metal finish were above average given the sample I looked at in stores. I cleaned the bore thoroughly as recommended in various air gun forums and proceeded to set up a target at approx. 25 yards in my backyard. Note: I have been a hunter and target shooter all my life. Put the rifle on a sandbag rest and put 20+ rounds through it. Contrary to some accounts it shot pretty consistently about 10-12 inches to right and about 3 inches high using the fiber sights. I paid particular attention to apply a gentle trigger approach as to not pull the shots. While it had a long pull the break was not as terrible as anticipated per the forums. I continued shooting and adjusting the sights until I was spot on with respect to elevation but ran out of windage adjustment about 2 - 3 inches shy of point of aim. Thinking the sights might be at fault I installed the scope and continued shooting having put over 100 of 3 brands of pellets through the rifle by now. Unfortunately, the scope confirmed what the sights were telling me, the rifle was shooting way to the right. I cleaned the barrel again and fired another 20 pellets but gave up on the scope and the rifle. It went back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NevadaJoe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Crosman Vantage
2/6/2014

Customer review by LUFlames

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by LUFlames
by LUFlames

I bought this gun two years ago from Dicks Sporting Goods. At the time I payed $130 for it and it was money well spent. My scope was damaged in shipping, but the manufacturer quickly replaced it. The scope on this gun has a lifetime warranty which is awesome. If you're wondering how hard it shoots I can tell you it's nothing to shake a stick at. It easily punches through 1/4 inch fence boards and plywood from 12 yards. I have killed everything from small birds to groundhogs with this monster. Accuracy is astounding with this gun. After sighting in the scope I was hitting water bottles at 115 yards, believe it or not, and nail heads at 20. This is truly a tack driving, ground hog killing, accurate son of a gun. This gun, however, is very heavy weighing around 8.5 pounds which makes standing shots very difficult. Remember to use only Crosman branded pellets in this gun for best accuracy, oil the spring housing, and clean the barrel. Unfortunately for me this guns spring broke internally on 2/4/2014 and I now have it shipped back to Crosman for a high powered airsoft sniper rifle. Bit of a downgrade I know, but well worth it to me. Hope this helps to make your pellet gun search a little easier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUFlames
Fairfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Scope will not focus
4/15/2014

Customer review by TexasJoe123

3.0 stars 4/15/2014 by TexasJoe123
by TexasJoe123

The gun shoots OK. I found it hard to charge. The scope would never focus so it was especially hard to zero. Seemed accurate at 10 yards and pretty good at 20 for bigger targets. Decided to return this and think about a CO2 instead.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasJoe123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value.
1/2/2015

Customer review by Bleepnsheep

5.0 stars 1/2/2015 by Bleepnsheep
by Bleepnsheep

Bought this rifle for my grandson for Christmas. Has the NP piston and the features of the more expensive rifles with the exception of a polymer stock. The wood stock is high quality and it shoots over 1100 FPS with PBA high speed pellets. Accurate but the scope clarity leaves something to be desired as with all air rifles in this price range. Had to shoot it and zero it for my Grandson of course

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bleepnsheep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Far So Good
4/29/2014

Customer review by Stingsilver

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Stingsilver
by Stingsilver

I have not had a chance to sight the gun in as of yet. I will set up a target and adjust the open sights. Not going to mount the scope at this point. I have only run a dozen or so shots through the gun so far. So quiet compared to my 25 plus year old Crossman 2100. I expect it will more than do the job on the pests I am going to introduce it to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stingsilver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews