Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-20 of 28 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
basic set
12/29/2013

Customer review by MaudeAlice

3.0 stars 12/29/2013 by MaudeAlice
by MaudeAlice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

One thing this set has going for it is the variety of sizes of containers. The main container is large, and the smallest containers would hold maybe 1/2 cup. Which is good for those times when you want to send just a bit of something home w/someone, or maybe pack in a lunch. They weren't quite as sturdy as I thought they would be, but they work well for just basic containers. Would be useful for non-food storage too.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MaudeAlice
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's cheap and looks cheap..
11/24/2012

Customer review by GBMKAMM

1.0 stars 11/24/2012 by GBMKAMM
by GBMKAMM

I got this thinking that the rest of the containers packed inside would be as sturdy as the outer one. I should have known that considering the price it is unlikely. Everything inside is so flimsy and I was disappointed. They are likely to break when used everyday.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GBMKAMM
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product for the price
1/1/2014

Customer review by RyanMPLS

5.0 stars 1/1/2014 by RyanMPLS
by RyanMPLS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Like many others I was annoyed with the 50 different container/lid combos I had in my cupboard. For the price, this was a great improvement. I paid less than 7 per set and bought two. I still need a few of the ones that are 5x9" with the separate compartments that come with other sets for noodles or rice+sauce but I'll buy some of those later.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RyanMPLS
55418
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what you expected
12/11/2013

Customer review by HomeBuyer100

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by HomeBuyer100
by HomeBuyer100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this was a great deal initially as it was for 6 dollars on Black Friday. The biggest box was like what you expect from a Rubbermaid product but the disappointment comes as you open the box as rest of the storage boxes are flimsy and tiny at best. Outer most box had hard cover but rest of them looked liked it could break anytime. I am returning the product as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeBuyer100
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lids do not fit
8/24/2015

Customer review by Mimimarty

2.0 stars 8/24/2015 by Mimimarty
by Mimimarty

The take-a-longs I purchased (4 pack with red lids) do not even begin to seal. The lids are smaller than the container. No way do the lids fit !

Mimimarty
NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
cheap plastic wear
1/6/2014

Customer review by purple1313

1.0 stars 1/6/2014 by purple1313
by purple1313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have bought these Rubbermaid before, in this set all plastic inside the large piece were the cheap disposable containers. The only one worth saving was the large container.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purple1313
twinsburg, oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This set has a ton of sizes which work well for me
2/6/2013

Customer review by xxstephaniexx

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by xxstephaniexx
by xxstephaniexx

I received a larger set than the one displayed as a gift, as it also had a huge tub and a couple of other sizes. I really like the entire set, though I've only used 1/3 of it at this point. My favorite are the twist and seal cups, as I never feel like my salad dressing is going to spill in my bag. They've held up to microwaving and refrigeration, though I probably wouldn't put them in the freezer. And the ones I've used have been in the dishwasher a few times each, and I haven't found any issues. My only complaint is that one of the square containers stained from microwaving chili, but I feel like that happens with all of my other containers too.

xxstephaniexx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds my expectations
12/9/2012

Customer review by PFV1

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by PFV1
by PFV1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The same item at the same price was in the store, but it didn't have the large container, only a cardboard box. This was a pleasant surprise and my daughter will love it. Don't know about it's durablity since it's not yet been used. I love Rubbermaid products, so expect it should be great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PFV1
Holbrook, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I was pleasantly surprised..
2/6/2013

Customer review by Tiffyb9784

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by Tiffyb9784
by Tiffyb9784

I like how they com in a variety of sizes,so I can easily find something to store my leftovers in.The lid has a good seal once in place and I don't have to worry about leaking.I even dropped it and it remained closed.That was a shock! I too have had trouble with cracking,but it's to be expected and at the price they sell...it's pretty affordable to replace.No product is ever 100% perfect and there will be flaws,but in my opinion this is one of the best choices out there.I'm definitely a fan and will continue to buy them!

Tiffyb9784
Liberty,MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
TakeAlong Sets,Buyer beware!
12/22/2011

Customer review by LarryB

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by LarryB
by LarryB

I bought a TakeAlong Set at Sams Club, when I opened the box, I was extremely disappointed with the quality of the containers. They should be sold as disposable containers! The material is VERY THIN and I can't imagine them lasting more the 2 or 3 uses. They also look like they would crack very easily in a freezer. This isn't the Rubbermaid I used to know! I am returning them back to Sams Club today!

LarryB
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Not freezer proof, breaks if you look at it wrong
9/25/2013

Customer review by Jasini

1.0 stars 9/25/2013 by Jasini
by Jasini

We purchased this less than three weeks ago, and have already broken four of them, two when we tried freezing in them, and two when dropped from table-top level, getting mess all over the floor. We wanted to like this product, since we usually like Rubbermaid products, and they were a good size for my husband's lunch-box, but we won't be buying any more of the TakeAlong sets.

Jasini
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Stop fixing what ain't broke!
2/26/2013

Customer review by sh66

1.0 stars 2/26/2013 by sh66
by sh66

The new food containers with the red lids (Take Alongs) STINK! The lids are supposed to seal everything in, but they leak like a dish strainer. I've gotten to work more than once with spaghetti sauce leaking inside my rolling computer bag. The old containers that were semi-clear, off-white sealed perfectly. Take a hint from an old saying: If it ain't broke, DON'T FIX IT!!!

sh66
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
A simpler life.
2/6/2013

Customer review by RubbrQueen

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by RubbrQueen
by RubbrQueen

I Love to buy TakeAlongs Sets. RubberMaid makes all the sizes I need and use everyday, whether it is to carry in my lunch bag or store leftovers in at home. I also like that I have no problem getting the lids on and off and have even dropped them on the floor and still the lid did not come off, Thank goodness for Rubbermaid TakeAlongs. They sure make my life simpler.

RubbrQueen
Lorain, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
don't buy these
5/13/2011

Customer review by momoffive

1.0 stars 5/13/2011 by momoffive
by momoffive

I'm very disappointed with the new take a longs. I loved the old ones and used them all of the time without any problems. These new red lid ones don't stack with the old ones and I've only had them for 2 weeks and have already had two containers crack. They get too brittle in the refrigerator. I can't imagine what would happen if I put them in the freezer.

momoffive
Would recommend to a friend? No
Take A Longs, could be a little more durable
2/4/2013

Customer review by Leisa65

3.0 stars 2/4/2013 by Leisa65
by Leisa65

I am not sure if I can recommend the new take a longs. While I understand they are meant to be disposable, I had a couple of the smaller containers crack after just a couple of uses. I do like all the sizes, and they are good for kids lunches, just could be a little stronger in my opinion.

Leisa65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for picnics
2/6/2013

Customer review by LittlePye

4.0 stars 2/6/2013 by LittlePye
by LittlePye

I carry food to eat lunch with my husband every Sunday. I bought the set and there a size for everything I need. I have used it for fried chicken, potato salad, tossed salad, brownies, and condiments. Any leftovers go right in the refrigerator in the same containers.

LittlePye
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
tagalong with me
6/25/2011

Customer review by frischy

4.0 stars 6/25/2011 by frischy
by frischy

I love the sizes and stackability....found these containers are good at keeping your items inside, the tabs tend to break, but not in a place that causes issues with tight seals....I would buy more when I have used them or given them all away

frischy
green bay wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Great product!
3/1/2013

Customer review by DollfaceMiller

4.0 stars 3/1/2013 by DollfaceMiller
by DollfaceMiller

The variety of sizes are most helpful. Not only are they great for storing small or large amounts of left overs, they are the perfect size for a meal on the go. Thank you, Rubbermaid, for making such great products!

DollfaceMiller
San Antonio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
easy to see what's in them
2/9/2013

Customer review by bonnielee821

4.0 stars 2/9/2013 by bonnielee821
by bonnielee821

I use these all the time in my fridge. I can see what is in them, and they are just the right size for me.

bonnielee821
Baldwin, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Unsatisfactory
6/9/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/9/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Rubbermaid TakeAlongs do NOT hold up in the microwave oven.

An anonymous customer
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews