Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 218 reviews
5 stars
167
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
0
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 212 reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
What Power!
6/24/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is such a powerful vacuum not only does it get all the hair but it sucks fine dirt particles out of the carpet that you don't even know are there!. We have 2 other vacuums that work ok but get clogged all the time & just don't lift the nap of the carpet. This one pulls the nap up & makes it look & feel like new. I have 2 big dogs & a cat that are shedding so bad, we vacuum at least once everyday. With this machine I am going to feel so much better about letting my grand children play on the floor, especially the baby!. Not only does it do an amazing job on the carpets but the bare floor cleaning is amazing, makes fast work of 2 dreaded jobs. Before I had to sweep & still dust mop to get all the dust & debris that sweeping didn't get. And I love the powerful pet brush attachment for cleaning my furniture. Great product, I highly recommend this vacuum. The dog hair didn't get clogged even when the canister was full. i would rate it higher but they only have 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (213)No (35)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I actually like to vacuum now!
1/15/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was so tired of our old Wind Tunnel that kept breaking belts (I'm guessing $45 worth over 10 years) and was a pain to carry up and down the stairs. When it bit the dust, a bit of me rejoiced. After much research and the advice of friends, I bought the Shark even though it wasn't a Consumer Reports best buy. The three other vacuums over our 27 years of marriage had been "best buys" but I was never thrilled with any of them. The Shark runs beautifully, corners around furniture so easily, can be carried up the stairs with one hand, and man, can it pick up the crud the other vacuum never found. It doesn't have a belt that can break! Instead, it automatically turns off so you can clean off the roller. I'm happy I got one with the longer cord (30 ft.) and the lift away feature. It truly does want to fall over every time I use the hose like others have said, but it works so well otherwise that I don't even mind having to steady it while using the attachments.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works wonders
9/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this vacuum after I had gone through 2 eureka vacuums in 4 years. I told myself I would not do that again. I had used 2 different styles of the Shark that my friends owned and I fell in LOVE with both of them. I have all different types of flooring in my house and this shark does the deed for all. The dust away attachment is a great asset of this vacuum. After I swept my hardwoods I went over my for again with the dust away and I was astonished by how much more it had picked up. Now the vacuum itself it wonderful as well. I vacuum my whole house the day before my new vacuumed arrived with my mothers vacuum but I had to try out my new vacuum as soon as it came. My shark picked up a large amount of dirt and dog hair after just being vacuumed the day before! The rest of the features are just nice to go along with all the pros to the vacuum. I have two sets of stairs so the detachable easy carrier canister makes it easier to get those stairs done. The swivel feature just makes it easier to maneuver. I could go on all day about how I love this new vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great vacuum for elderly user
12/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My old Hoover bagless quit working on my tile and other smooth floors. Thought it was working well on the carpet until I received my new Shark. Cannot believe the amount of dirt, lint, dust, etc. that came out the day after using my old vacuum for the last time. If I had one complaint, it would be that the Shark is a bit heavier than I expected. It was extremely easy to put together. Was sure I would have to have my son over to do it for me, but directions were a snap and everything clicked together perfectly. The dusting brush was not included but a phone call to the company took care of that problem and one was sent right to me. The vacuum is extremely easy to operate and cleaning the dust cup couldn't be more simple. Particularly like the way the head swivels to fit into corners and under kitchen and bath cabinets. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (132)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic
9/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have laminate flooring and this Shark vacume works great on them. We have two dogs and tons of dog hair to keep up with but this vacume makes it so easy. It has graat suction and leaves the floors almost 100% dirt free. With the swiffer attachment it could probably pass a white glove test. It's so smooth and easy to maneuver and use that it makes cleaning enjoyable. The air that comes out actually smells good and that's amazing because all of our other vacumes smelled like dog after only a few uses. The cord seems nice and long so I don't have to constantly move it to a new plug. It was easy to put together and it has some great features. I was skeprical about the shag rug we have after reading some reviews but it works great on the rug also. It has a ring around the handle that you turn that was kind if a hidden feature that some may not have found. This is by far the best vacume I have ever used and I have used Dysons and all kinds. I was going to get a Dyson but for the price I am glad I went with the Shark instead. It's everything I needed and more. I also love the white color. It reminds me of something from Starwars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love this vacuum
1/4/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this vacuum. I was hesitant about it being a "as seen on TV" type of item . I got a cyber Monday deal that included this and a steam mop for like 159$? I cant remember the exact amount. It shipped as instructed. Assembly was rather easy and quick. Pros Great suction Easy to empty dust bin washable filters Lift away canister function soft cloth for hard floor dust vacuuming long cord easily converts to hard floors wand detaches easily Cons Narrow head, it doesn't cover much area when vacuuming carpets no headlight, this seems to be standard now but I still like a light the handle is not adjustable when using it for carpets, I am 5ft tall and find the handle to be far too long for me the canister doesn't have wheels. When you convert it to a canister and you're walking around cleaning the hard floors you have to carry the heavy canister. If you leave it standing and pull too far it will fall on your toes or feet.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not recommend
9/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The vacuum is good when vacuuming carpets, however the hose is too short so you can't use the attachments to vacuum base boards, walls, cars etc... without the base falling over. It's so annoying. Regret purchasing this model.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Pet owners
10/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered this Vacuum with "hope" that this one would actually do what it claimed to do...get up the pet hair that other Vacuums leave behind. I hated paying twice what I have EVER paid for a Vacuum but I foster unwanted animals by the 100's every year and was in need of trying something above and beyond every other vacuum I've purchased over the years. Like most skeptics, I vacuumed my home with my current 3 month old "pet hardy vac" before I put the Shark to the test. (FYI...I use an air compressor to clean out my vacuum after each canister empting to make sure it does not lose suction) Then I put the Shark together (very easy) and went over the exact locations I had just vacuumed with my other vac and well? What the Shark picked up was not only disgusting but eye opening considering the fact that I vacuum daily. To give you and idea; I had to clean out the Shark Canister after each bedroom (the canister is competitive in size with my large vacuum) and when I got to the shared living areas, I had to empty the canister twice. Impossible with the small light model? I was stunned! I have vacuumed daily since the day I got the Shark and each time I was able to pick up more of what I thought could not possibly still be in the carpet. In fact I took out my other vacuum and did the test again with the same results! Last note is that my plan was to replace my carpet this winter (it is 3 years old and cleaned twice a year with a professional carpet cleaning agency...but it still looked warn out and in need of replacing). But with the shark my rugs actually look like they are ready to go another 3 years! NOW that should get your attention!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (338)No (40)
Report
Was this review helpful?
needs v/s expectations
2/17/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
What I was looking for was a bag less vacuum that didn't simply regurgitate dirt and dust back into the air, as we live in a rural area with dirt issues to begin with. The 356E seemed to get very good ratings from various reviews on it's ability to control dust. I liked that it also converted to a lift away. The one common knock on the unit is the smallish powerhead, which for me was actually a selling point, as we don't have a large amount of carpeted area, but we do have many obstacles and small places to clean, and it works very well for us. The dust cup empty's both bottom and top if necessary, and seals nicely, suction power is robust, and can be reduced with a twist of the air bleed collar. The 356E is also pleasantly "quiet", and "steers" well when using it on carpet. Things I would like to see improved are, more stability when using hose attachments, unit tends to fall over, stability could be accomplished by having the flex hose come off the base instead of the top, and having a separate, or longer hose, as reach is limited, user height handle adjustability, and a retractable cord reel would also be nice. All in all we are quite happy with this product, considering the myriad of vacuum cleaners on the market, for the price, you simply can't go wrong with this thing!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
If you have pets you need this vacuum.
11/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great suction. It picks up even the very fine dirt from pile carpet. I like that the beater bar shuts off when the handle is placed in the upright position and then resumes when you start using it again. It makes it easy to stop to move something without turning it off and back on repeatedly. When I first unpacked it I thought I wouldn't like it because it is narrower than my old vaccuum, but it is so manueverable it gets into much smaller places under chairs and tables. I got the proffessional model because of the larger dirt cup which means I have to stop and empty it less often. The only thing I don't care for is the longer wand and the attachment for furniture cleaning is not stored on the vacuum but in a large bag that came with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Breathing better now
12/31/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
You never know how much dirt and dust settles into high pile carpets until you get this vacuum. Absolutely powerful and incredible. Great Value for excellent vacuum cleaner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Business Vacuum
9/4/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My job is cleaning so I know vacuums. I have purchased two Shark Navigator vacuums...model #nv356 in the past two years. It is a light-weight vacuum that is easily carried up stairs. I like the swivel base that makes cleaning around corners easier. It has strong suction and works better than any vacuum I've owned, even the Hoovers, which I love. It does not lose suction. The problem is that I clean homes on a regular basis and my vacuums go through a lot of loading and unloading. The clasps that hold the canister on the vacuum broke on the first Shark I owned. This may have been due to loading and unloading often. The second Shark has a power button that will not turn off and the clasp inside the handle that holds the handle locked on to the vacuum broke. Each vacuum I have owned lasted approximately one year. Now, if the Shark were used only in your home, it is well-built. For constant use and moving from place to place, the quality is lacking. However, it does the job it is designed to do and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another for my own home. Also, the customer service from Shark is fantastic if you ever need to contact them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for Allergy sufferers! Great vacuum!
12/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have owned and used this vacuum for 6 months now, and its the best vacuum I have ever owned! I have alot of allergies...dust & my cat are the worst. Needless to say, when I previoulsy vacuumed, I would suffer for a few days afterwards with watery eyes & a runny nose (and I take allergy medication). I have 3 large indoor dogs (labs) and 1 cat, so I vacuum a few times a week because of all the shedding! This vacuum is the greatest. No more suffering with allergy symptoms after cleaning, the amount of dirt and hair this vacuum picks up is fantastic! When I first started using this shark, I was appalled on how much dirt/hair that my other vacumm was missing. I love the ease of bare floor to carpet with a flip of the switch since I have hardwood floors with area rugs in all rooms. The hardwood floor attachment works great too! The lift-away is great for stairs. The Shark is light weight and easy to use. The pet brush works great on furniture, picks up dog hair off the furniture in a snap! I bought the same vacuum for my son last August, he loves it also. Now I will purchase another for my daughter since now she decided if we both love it so much, she should have one too! The only thing that can be improved is the flexiblity of the hose when using attachments.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best vacuum I ever owned!
4/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought one of these a couple of years ago. I loved it so much that I decided to purchase another one for my downstairs. It picks up very well, even pet hair. I just take it apart and clean it every so often and use it again. I will purchase nothing but a Shark from now on!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great vacuuum for almost everything
2/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this for my wife, and she is VERY happy with it. She says " It's very light, and easy to maneuver. The suction is awesome, and works well on both carpet and hardwood floors. Works good on ceiling fans and getting little webs off the popcorn ceiling. The lift off feature is great, making it useful for everything from cleaning the ceiling, to vacuuming out cars, to drapery. Would highly recommend, especially for the price. The only drawback would be the cord, if it was retractable it would be a big plus, instead of having to be wound up by hand".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellant but....
1/8/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
....the accessories are too difficult to use because the hose is just too short. The suction is the best I've ever had. Love how clean my carpets get. For this reason I've decided to return this one and exchange it for the Shark Rotator which appears to have a much longer hose. As far as an upright vacuum, it's the best.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best vacuum I've ever had!
11/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Previously, I've had 2 other Shark products, and loved them both. This vacuum is amazing! Easy to use. Light weight. Other vacuums stated they cleaned bare floors. This one really does! The hardwood stairs are a breeze! My carpets look great! It maneuvers wonderfully. I cannot say enough positive things about it. Love love love it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (89)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The BEST under $200.
9/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is the best vacuum you can find for under $200. And I honestly don't see why you'd need a higher priced one than this, bc this had everything I needed and did an amazing job. Love the lift away canister for stairs. Everything unattaches and reattaches really easily. Swivels like the dyson, makes maneuvering very smooth and efficient. Very good suction- doesn't miss a thing! Cleaning it is as simple as removing the canister and emptying it out. Done. It also clicks back in very easily, no fumbling. Only thing I dislike abt it is that it won't fit under my dressers or chairs. But I don't think any other full size vacuums would either. Got to break the swiffer out for that. I actually look forward to using this vacuum every morning. Scary. But it has cut down my cleaning time drasticallyyyyy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great power
8/8/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I really like my new Shark. It has great power. It works really well at picking up dog hair. When I started vacuuming, it made me realize how badly the rest of the carpet looked! The only issue I have is once you separate the Lift-Away, it doesn't seem to have as much power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
deceptive packaging, no 24" crevice tool included.
6/15/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Vacuum works great but it would be nice if the 24" crevice tool that is on the box in both pictures and print were included with this vacuum cleaner. I contacted Shark customer service and was told the crevice tool does not come with this model. I was also told I could purchase one from Shark. This might have been mentioned in someone else's review but I guess I missed seeing it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640676, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-