Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 300 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

300 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

300 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
68
3 stars
44
2 stars
24
1 stars
85
1-20 of 218 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 218 total reviews
1-20 of 218 reviews
1/18/2013

Customer review by Unbele

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by Unbele
by Unbele
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have found my Straight Talk Refurbished Motorola 418 GSM Phone Plus All You Need Plan to be an amazingly, reliable phone in that , I charged the battery for only five hours, that charge lasted at least five days. I don't know if that is good for the battery to wait until it's fully discharged. Next time I will charge it when it shows that the battery looks empty, just because. Anyways I think it's a GREAT ! Value . for my needs. I mainly want and use my phone when I am away from home. I haven't yet taken advantage of the Text Messaging, but plan too, Text messaging will be new for me, I love that I can take photos, I'm find it really fun. I'm still learning about my phone I even tried to play a few free games ,and there's more I could do with it , it's web enabled , I'm not quite ready for that. Thank You !!! for a great phone. My friends will be happy to find this phone plan exists. I'm happy to pass this great news on to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unbele
Burlington, VT.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks like a real phone
5/9/2013

Customer review by iGuy2

4.0 stars 5/9/2013 by iGuy2
by iGuy2

I puchased this cell-phone after I got bilked by Sprint for almost $800 after roaming charges kicked in when I moved out of state. This wasn't the first time I was bilked by them, there was the time I went over my minutes $300, the time I made an international call $250 etc etc. Fed up I got this phone with a $30 unlimited payment plan(no Contact) and I'm very happy. I know I raise a lot of eye-brows when people see me using this phone becuase it's not a smart phone or iPhone, or tablet whatever but at least it looks like a phone ! I don't really like the idea of raising a brick to my ear, it just does not feel comfortable or natural. Also I work with computers all day, so playing around with an APP like a 9 year old is not my idea of fun. This phone does what it's supposed to do, which is to communicate with family, friends and business contacts. ** The only thing I don't like about it is the low sounding ring, but I think I might be able to change that, by downloading another ring from the web.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iGuy2
Washington DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doubt You Could Beat This Deal Anywhere
1/17/2013

Customer review by Smoothluver

5.0 stars 1/17/2013 by Smoothluver
by Smoothluver
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor

It sounded like a good deal when I read it, but until I could see the phone and how well it performed I was skeptical. After receiving the phone and thoroughly checking it out I'm very amazed at what a dynamite deal this is. For one thing, the Refurbished phone looks like totally brand new and performs that way also. I can remember before the androids came out a phone like this would run you around $150 to $200 or more. This isn't just your basic flip phone. This phone's got Internet, an MP3 player, an FM radio, a 2mp camera, and a multitude of other nice little features. It's amazing that you get this feature packed phone PLUS a thousand minutes of talk-time, a thousand text messages, and 50 mb of Internet all for only thirty bucks! The ony thing I want to mention to anyone who might be wondering about it: The internet works pretty good for basic web browsing. One thing it won't do though is play live-stream videos such as YouTube. The barebones processor this phones got in it just can't handle high-end tasks like that. I seriously wouldn't expect it to. The way the phone flips open has a nicer feel to it than any other flip-phone I've seen. You have to try it yourself to see what I mean. If you're looking for a cheap basic alternative to costly and over-featured android phones look no further, you've found it.

Was this review helpful? (87) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smoothluver
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
An awesome deal
10/30/2012

Customer review by crackalacka

3.0 stars 10/30/2012 by crackalacka
by crackalacka
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a decent phone with a lot of features, I never thought I would own a cellphone with an FM radio in it. Adding people to "contacts" is not as straightforward as it could be, and sending a text message to someone is also a little wacky. I mean, the phone was basically free so I'm willing to put up with it, but if I had paid $50 or $100 for this phone it would be pretty frustrating. One more thing, the ringtones are pretty cheesy and if you just want a standard telephone ringing sound it costs $2.99, every other cellphone I've ever had comes with a standard ring of some kind at no extra charge. And you might as well throw the 30 MB of data out the window, if you want to use the internet once in a while this is not your phone.

Was this review helpful? (77) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crackalacka
El Dorado, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A phone & 30 days unlimited calls for $30 - Wow!
10/26/2012

Customer review by UnderTheTrees

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by UnderTheTrees
by UnderTheTrees
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this phone as a low cost way to test out the Straight Talk network before buying a pair of iphone 5 's for my wife and I to use on Straight Talk. I've had no dropped calls and the coverage has been just as good as with Verizon. Even after paying $1,400 for two unlocked iphone 5 's instead of staying with Verizon and paying only $300 for the two iphones, we will save about $800 over the span of the required two year Verizon contract. We will have the added flexibility of not being locked into a two year contract.

Was this review helpful? (171) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UnderTheTrees
Schnecksville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The ph is the Motorola 418 refurbished
10/26/2012

Customer review by boaterc

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by boaterc
by boaterc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got the phone free with 30 days of service whats not to like. I live in a area that has sketchy service for Verizon and ATT but this phone has been working good on the att towers. The battery life is very good I have had the phone for 11 days and have not had to recharge the battery yet. The internet does not work very good but for the price what do you expect. Overall it works as good as my att phone.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boaterc
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/31/2012

Customer review by avijman

4.0 stars 10/31/2012 by avijman
by avijman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great phone for the price it is a older model phone,but if all you want to do is talk or text this is the phone for you and the battery life is wonderful

Was this review helpful? (249) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avijman
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
overall great phone and great buy
11/1/2012

Customer review by jeffy19able

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by jeffy19able
by jeffy19able

I dont know why so many people are downing this product. this phone has been a wonderful phone since ive had it. the battery life i awsome and the texting and mp3 player is not very hard to figure out at all. the service where i live is awsome as well. i get nothing but 4 and 5 bars no matter where i go. all in all this is a great buy for a refurbished phone.

Was this review helpful? (109) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jeffy19able
pulaski, tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap, efficient with an amazing battery life!
2/4/2013

Customer review by PascagoulaBiker

5.0 stars 2/4/2013 by PascagoulaBiker
by PascagoulaBiker

We opted to purchase an inexpensive phone to use due to a severe budget crunch--our over $200 per month cell bill needed to disappear. Like a lot of other people, I was suspicious of the quality of service available at this price, and opted for a cheap basic phone to sort of test these unknown waters. Having tried Tracfone years ago, I found that at that point, it turned out to be more expensive to use a no-contract phone than to use a contract phone, and wasn't sure things had improved in the past decade or so. Activating this phone was ultra simple--I did it online without any problems. We've used it for a week, and have been pleased. The $30 card provides 1000 minutes and 1000 text messages, which works well enough to get by with. There are some downsides, especially when going to a basic phone like this from a smart phone. *Text messages are difficult to compose. I hate this phone for that. *We immediately began receiving spam phone calls on our home phone after activating this phone. *Ringer--it just doesn't seem to get all that loud. Outside of those few cons, we are extremely happy with a $30 bill each month versus the $200 one. I would recommend upgrading to a better phone if you are using more than 1000 minutes per month, if you use a lot of text messages, or if you like accessing the web via your cell phone or if you prefer unlimited service. This phone is very basic, and while we have 32 mb of data each month with this package, it has extremely limited web capability. This is a basic phone, and within those parameters, it's a fantastic bargain that can really reduce your cell phone bill.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PascagoulaBiker
Laurel, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/13/2013

Customer review by tmcat27

1.0 stars 8/13/2013 by tmcat27
by tmcat27
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the only good thing about this phone is the free $30 airtime card. Bought this phone for my husband, he could hardly use his Bluetooth headset with this phone, he couldn't hear the conversations (when he had service), the volume WAS turned all the way up. The Bluetooth also did not work for importing contacts, pics, ect. The phone (Motorola) itself was VERY cheap construction, trying to text was terrible. We went back to our $14 Verizon LG prepaid phone. Thankfully we didn't transfer the number to the new phone. I have no problems with other straight talk phones, I have the Straight Talk 'home phone', we didn't think we would have reception here at home but we did! It was so nice to go from $97 AT&T land-line to $15/month Straight talk home phone...THIS, I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND. As for this refurbished Straight Talk Motorola phone, it is NOT worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmcat27
Northeast OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont buy online
11/22/2012

Customer review by kmmt

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by kmmt
by kmmt
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered this phone off of Walmarts website, it said this phone would work in my area, it doesnt. I highly suggest that when you buy a Straight Talk Phone, buy it from Straight Talk's website or go to your closest Walmart Store and buy it there.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kmmt
billings,mt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
everything I need and works great.... adios Vrigin
11/20/2012

Customer review by brackneykid

5.0 stars 11/20/2012 by brackneykid
by brackneykid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been struggling with Virginmobile and its limited coverage for a while... My daughter has the Straighttalk and loves it.... now so do I. It has coverage in places that I had no hope for before. Works great and battery lasts well. Love it so far.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brackneykid
pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/24/2012

Customer review by enter01

4.0 stars 10/24/2012 by enter01
by enter01

Sim card is included in GSM phone, so you do not need to buy one. This bundle highly satisfied my needs as a student...

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
enter01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Free is Free
1/10/2013

Customer review by Notaneedyperson

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Notaneedyperson
by Notaneedyperson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this phone because I was with Virgin Mobile and after a year the service in my area changed. I'm a minimalist I don't NEED the fancy gadgets. I got this for cost effectiveness and it performs just fine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notaneedyperson
garner,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Make a great first phone
12/19/2012

Customer review by skunkwhisper

3.0 stars 12/19/2012 by skunkwhisper
by skunkwhisper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For us it was a backwards move in phone technology. If it was your first phone and you learned it you would be happy with it. Great HD pictures and videos,It does the emails and the browser,bluetooth works great with everything else in the room. The negative is after having a smart phone the software in this is a little like windows 95, you can get there with a few steps, I am sure there is a lot of 2 years contracts signed for a free phone that is no better then this one.It works in every way. Had no signal issues at all.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skunkwhisper
Fowler In.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Need a working phone?
9/4/2013

Customer review by Tormaline

2.0 stars 9/4/2013 by Tormaline
by Tormaline
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I buy cell phones for my son who is homeless. I have bought 12 refurbished straight talk phones over the last few years. Only about 50% have been working a month after he starts using them. Either they don't ring, garbled connection, can't call out or something else malfunctions. One did not work at all. I find it hard to believe they are actually tested after they are "refurbished". But, because my son loses his phone so often, I refuse to spend a lot for his phones. He spends a lot of time making do with half functioning phones. Since I buy them in bulk to have them on hand when needed, it is impossible to return before their warranty expires. So, you see I recommend these phones because they are practically free with the card included. This makes them a good value--for our needs. But as far as being dependable--well, not so much. They are still the cheapest way I can keep in contact wiith my son--so for that reason I will keep buying them. But if you want a 100% functioning phone every time, buy a new one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tormaline
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great, AT&T coverage is excellent.
1/8/2013

Customer review by TurboK

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by TurboK
by TurboK
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can use this phone inside my industrial facility, with no problem. My Verizon phones got poor service in the same areas. Appearently, only AT&T service will work in here. The only con so far is a poor choice of ring tones. I'll probably end up purchasing a decent ring tone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TurboK
Montgomery, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
MAY NOT WORK IN YOUR AREA!!!
10/31/2012

Customer review by MONTANABOB4X4

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by MONTANABOB4X4
by MONTANABOB4X4
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

AWESOME DEAL!!!! TILL YOU CALL STRAIGHT TALK TO SET IT UP AND THEY TELL YOU IT IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH YOUR LOCAL SERVICE PROVIDER!!!! WALMART SHOULD BE AWARE OF THIS SINCE THEY ARE THE ONLY STRAIGHT TALK PROVIDERS!!! HAD TO SEND IT BACK AND PAY MORE FOR ONE AT WALMART STORE TO WORK ON OUR SYSTEM [VERIZON] HERE IN KALISPELL MT. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER,,,,,BOB

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MONTANABOB4X4
KALISPELL MONT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simple Phone
12/2/2012

Customer review by ralfyb

4.0 stars 12/2/2012 by ralfyb
by ralfyb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been with ST for over a year now the CS seems to be getting better and issues seem to be resolved on my first call I am lucky that I live in an area that that I can use both C & G phones C seems to have a slight edge but not by much I need a basic phone for talking and an occasional text this just that phone The text is a bit confusing the way the letters a shown but I can live with that. If you are a ST user getting this phone is a brainer You would have to pay $30 for the month of service so why not try it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ralfyb
Staten Island NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dont buy this phone..JUNK!
10/16/2012

Customer review by 123bullfrog

1.0 stars 10/16/2012 by 123bullfrog
by 123bullfrog

I just purchased this phone a few weeks ago because my phone wouldnt hold a charge. So i went to activate it and the phone wasnt able to work off of our Verizon tower. So i called them when I was able to get into town near an AT&T tower and they still were unable to help me get my phone working. You have to add your airtime before you activate the phone and I wasnt able to use it at all. After calling them 5 times to fix my phone my wife tried to switch all the airtime back to my old phone and they tried to say we had 0 Min and 0 Text. I had to call again and stay on the phone for an hour and almost wasnt able to get my airtime back but they fixed it. The phone is JUNK!! So now I have to walk around with a phone charger all the time but atleast my old phone is working.

Was this review helpful? (36) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
123bullfrog
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
1-20 of 218 total reviews
1-20 of 218 reviews