Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

35 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
17
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 24 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Great computer; quick, and very funcitonal
1/9/2013

Customer review by soccer30atl

4.0 stars 1/9/2013 by soccer30atl
by soccer30atl

This computer is fantastic. It is quick, light, and mobile. I've only had it for about 2 weeks now, but have not been let down. Processing speeds are very quick; boots up from both hibernation and completely shutoff state very quickly. I don't run too many memory intese programs, Microsoft Office Suite and Quickbooks online run very quickly for me. Don't play any games on the computer either. I do watch Netflix and Hulu; both stream in HD and I've never had any hangups or had to wait for a movie/show to reload. The cons I have encountered are below. The speaker quality while watching a movie leaves a little to be desired. Not bad for a mobile unit, but definitely could be better for movies. If using headphones, then it's a non-issue. I feel like the battery life seems to go pretty quickly. As I was searching for laptops in my price range, it seems this was listed on the lower end of battery life; that is definitely true. I haven't found myself in any situations where I've needed to plug in yet, but I suppose I could see how that may be an issue in the future as battery life shortens. Build quiality seems pretty good and is the reason I gave it a 4 overall rating. Everything seems very well put together and feels nice, strong, and tight; The exception to this would be the keyboard for me. It hasn't acted up or done anything out of the ordinary, it just doesn't feel as solid as I would have liked. However, I have not read any other reviews from others complaining about the keyboard, so maybe that's just me being picky. Overall, this has been a great computer and I got it on a fantastic deal from WalMart. (I believe this unit is usually msrp around $650, I got it for $450 from WalMart). The entire ordering process was fantastic from start to finish, and WalMart was great to buy from. COmputer arrived 3 days after I ordered it and has worked fantastically since then. I would buy from both Acer and WalMart again!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soccer30atl
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price.
1/4/2013

Customer review by jdl9

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by jdl9
by jdl9

So far so good with this ACER ultrabook. Pros, are the slim weight of the laptop, great screen display, excellent for portability. Very quiet when in use. Battery life is about 3.5-4 hours with lowest brightness setting which does meet my needs. Cons: wireless kept disconnecting, this is a common problem based on my online research. I've addressed the issue by completely uninstalling the Atheros wireless driver software and re-installing the latest version from ACER website. Updating it from the ACER live update software did not resolve the issue. A lot of bloatware comes pre-installed. The laptop does get pretty warm after extended use.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jdl9
Franklin, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Ultrabook for the price you pay.
12/29/2012

Customer review by Azoz1121

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by Azoz1121
by Azoz1121

Core i3 can run HD videos. Has USB 3.0 ports and full sized HDMI port. Viewing angle of LCD is not so great but that's OK for the price one pays for this ultrabook. Overall, a decent entry level ultrabook. What this laptop is not: A gaming computer. A office replacement laptop. Pros: Good Value for money. Light weight. Excellent keyboard. Decent processor, good build quality. Cons: Limited viewing angle LCD, No backlight for keyboard (But thats fine considering the cost of this product).

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Azoz1121
Austin, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This ultrabook is light and works OK
12/29/2012

Customer review by darienhy

4.0 stars 12/29/2012 by darienhy
by darienhy

I had this computer for almost two weeks. It's very light and works fine to me. But I always feel that the touch pad is loose and sometimes was not responsive for scroll up or down or zoom in or out.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darienhy
Darien, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Deal
3/9/2013

Customer review by dks87111

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by dks87111
by dks87111

The Walmart store was getting "rid" of last season's laptops, and I spotted this - marked down to $259 - it's the perfect size and more importantly, weight for home use - to replace my old netbook. It doesn't come with DVD drive (which I didn't want - adds bulk & weight) - I'll be buying an external drive for that. It also boots up faster since it has 8 gig of memory set aside for the operating system - so - it's on in a few seconds. It took a while to figure out how to make the mouse pad less "friendly" - it kept on switching to Win8 if the mouse pointer came close to the border or if you moved the mouse too fast - adjusting the controls took care of that issue. I do wish MS had left the start menu in the lower left corner - it's hard to find the control panel. Nice to have USB3 for higher speed connections. Summary - for the price - very sweeet deal!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dks87111
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good
3/29/2013

Customer review by CollegeStudent00001

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by CollegeStudent00001
by CollegeStudent00001

At first I was really confused about the windows 8 format, but once I got used to it I found it easier to use. I really like it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CollegeStudent00001
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/14/2013

Customer review by melis233

4.0 stars 3/14/2013 by melis233
by melis233

The computer itself was great! Small (but not too small), very light and sleek. I wanted to like it very much - but once I started it up and discovered that I do not like Windows 8 at all - I had to take it back. For the price I paid, this computer is definitely worth it. If you like Windows 8 - then it's a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
melis233
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Internet is very fast with this computer.
3/12/2013

Customer review by PinkLadyIsabelle

4.0 stars 3/12/2013 by PinkLadyIsabelle
by PinkLadyIsabelle

I love it works great for what I need it for. The only thing it's very touchy so I have to be extra careful while typing because it suddenly will star opening pages that I didn't even press. Now I got use to it and I'm keeping it because I love how fast I can get into the internet. I can get WIFI everywhere no problem still work as good outdoors better than my old heavy laptop. I like the fact this laptop is so light weight and it easy to place it into my backpack when I'm outdoors. I do recommend this product to people who needs a light weight laptop with high speed internet on. I would it give it a five stars but yeah it is very touchy so you will have to get use to the cursor because will open stuff you didn't press.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PinkLadyIsabelle
Parsippany, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent laptop for all ages
9/25/2013

Customer review by ChandraD

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by ChandraD
by ChandraD

I bought this for my 10 yr old daughter for school. Her previous I5 lap top was heavy and bulky to school. This is an excellent buy for $321 including taxes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChandraD
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FANTASTIC
10/3/2013

Customer review by damac

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by damac
by damac

I purchased this ultraportable laptop from a clearance table at WALMART, after reading the specs on the box i decided to give it a try. Well I'm not disappointed, it works great! plenty of ram for my needs and starts right up. The color is nice looking too. For $250 i think i made a good choice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
damac
fresno,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great machine for my studies...
3/28/2013

Customer review by Earful2013

4.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Earful2013
by Earful2013

Perfect blend of value, power, and portability! Recommended for any student!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Earful2013
Galt, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great deal for price
10/10/2013

Customer review by xstreet

4.0 stars 10/10/2013 by xstreet
by xstreet

I searched for a whole month before buying my laptop to use for school. I started at $1500 to $2000 dollar range.I had a month to wait before I got my money,and that was a good thing. I research all my purchases. this process for a new lap top was excessive and productive for my narrowing done to my needs. I am a little vain I guess so looks were a big factor.if the unit did not have a slim and modern look it was dismissed. so to make a long story short. at the end of all my searching I found I did not need to spend $2000 or $1000 dollars for prestige most of the time I would only be impressing myself with. I search and found the Acer s3 and on the net and on paper looked good. at the beginning any Acer products were eliminated because I was had it in my they were low quality. why I don't know I just did. it turns out having had the machine for a few weeks now, it is a great notebook for school. everything I do it handles just fine. A gamer it would lack power for them, but ultrabook on a whole are not up to playing high graphic games at this point. a $1000 would not get me a notebook with that power. I feel I got a great deal on this decision and made a good choice. I stands up to notebooks twice its price @ 400

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
xstreet
Portland,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT A COMPUTER GEEK
10/22/2013

Customer review by GEEKIMNOT

4.0 stars 10/22/2013 by GEEKIMNOT
by GEEKIMNOT

LIKE IT .. LIGHT WEIGHT, SLEEK, ALWAYS WANT FASTER, FASTER BUT IT IS ALOT FASTER THAN MY OLD DELL DESKTOP. LIKE THAT NOT EVERTHING IS INTERNET STORED BUT YOU HAVE THE OPTION OF CLOUD STORAGE. WAS REALLY HAPPY WHEN I FINALLY FIGURED HOW TO GET ON MY WORK SITES .. SO FAR VERY STABLE . I'M A BIT OLD SCHOOL SO LIKE THE OPTION OF THE NEW APP TOP OR DESK TOP MENU CHOICES .. MY FIRST LAPTOP AND I'M HAPPY WITH MY CHOICE FITS MY NEEDS AND BUDJET .. THE HD SCREEN AND DOLBY SOUND IS GREAT ALSO!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GEEKIMNOT
HUNTSVILLE, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not for a beginner
4/4/2013

Customer review by Cazy5

3.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Cazy5
by Cazy5

Opening screen very confused, difficult to navigate to the basics that you want to reach quickly and easily. Hard to reconfigure to acceptable opening format if you are a beginner. Difficult to find certain icons along right-hand side given lay-out of screen ... then screen jumps back to earlier screen before you can click on the icon you want. Dreadful that so much junk is on machine ... so many games, travel, news sites, etc. Only benefits the cookies and advertisers.

Was this review helpful? (8) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cazy5
Newark, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing desing
3/15/2013

Customer review by Jaespn

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by Jaespn
by Jaespn

I bought this computer two week ago, works very nice is fast, light , nice screen, very nice touch pad, amazing desing.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaespn
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Required Repair After 4-Months
10/29/2013

Customer review by KNCT

1.0 stars 10/29/2013 by KNCT
by KNCT

I purchased an Acer Aspire S3-6046 for my 12 year old son on June 26, 2013. What attracted me to this computer was the size/portability, i3 processor and the price. I spent $420 to purchase this machine which is not a fortune, but I certainly did not expect the firmware to crash within a 4-month period. My son used the computer normally during that time period. One day he turned the laptop back again and received the following blue screen error message: "Recovery Your PC needs to be repaired The Boot Configuration Data file is missing some required information. File: \BCD Error Code: 0xc000000c You'll need to use the recovery tools on your installation media. If you don't have any installation media (like a disc or USB device), contact your system administrator or PC manufacturer." We immediately called Acer Tech Support, which is an experience in itself, to try and correct the problem. The Technician ran through a couple of steps and determined that it could only be repaired by A. sending it to their one and only repair facility in Texas at my expense, or B. through the use of a recovery disk/thumb drive which I would have to purchase. The Technician confirmed that the laptop was still under warranty, but would not offer any solutions without a fee. Did I mention that this laptop is only 4-months old... Google Error Code: 0xc000000c and you will se that this is a common problem with Acer S-series laptops. How likely am I to purchase another Acer machine after this experience? The answer to that question is never.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KNCT
New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

A very solid and light weight laptop for about half the cost of many other ultra books out there. Battery life is as advertised, though I do run on battery with brightness turned down to 30% so that probably helps. My only complaint is that the keyboard takes some getting used to; it's normal size, but the buttons can be a little difficult sometimes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great deal @450+tax USD Acer S3-391-6046
12/26/2012

Customer review by ksprakash

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by ksprakash
by ksprakash

arrived ahead of schedule. Works perfect. met all expectations especially at this price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ksprakash
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
3/25/2013

Customer review by ronnirhymes

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by ronnirhymes
by ronnirhymes

I love this computer, it was a tad crazy getting used to Windows 8 but I conquered it after a couple weeks of playing around with it......I love the touch screen ..in fact I don't think I would like using W8 if I didn't have that option......Computer magazine rated it very high so I bought it ...not sorry Love It!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ronnirhymes
Port Austin, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Quick to boot ultra slim light weight laptop.
9/28/2013

Customer review by Gypsieman

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by Gypsieman
by Gypsieman

Perfect for learning Windows 8. I liked it so much I purchased a second one for my sister to learn on. Walmart site to store is a great way to purchase electronics. I will look to see if Walmart sells an item before looking at Amazon now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gypsieman
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews