Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

85 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
62
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 53 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
Excellent 47" TV Value
11/26/2012

Customer review by ABQJoe

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by ABQJoe
by ABQJoe

The Vizio 47" LED TV is feature-packed. I've had it for nearly about 18 months, and I find that it still has a feature set that beats most new TVs. The interactive apps are great, and the NETFLIX interface is the best I've seen. The user with the TV turning off every three days isn't very observant; the TV is updating its firmware and interactive features. Resetting his TV over and over may have led to the video problems as well. Yes, it can be irritating for it to turn off in the middle of a program, but most updates take about 2-3 minutes. If you've got a DVR, it's a non-issue (just rewind!) It's way worth it for all the features that are continually added and updated. The picture is excellent, the controls are superior and the sound is pretty decent for a TV as thin as this one, but who relies on just the TV for sound anyhow? It's a very attractive TV too. If this is your price range, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better TV for the money.

Was this review helpful? (59) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABQJoe
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent value
10/24/2012

Customer review by accura

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by accura
by accura

we bought this TV about six or seven months ago, we live in a third floor and do not need cable, with a small antena from Wallmart we get many channels and with Nextflix we can watch as many movies as we want instantly. The kids use it mostly for playing games. This TV so far so good, in fact we are getting a second one this week. :-)

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
accura
Tifton GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Be Careful If your buying for streaming Netflix
2/27/2013

Customer review by BigBob79

2.0 stars 2/27/2013 by BigBob79
by BigBob79

Bought this TV in January and for a while worked great. Began having problems streaming Netflix recently with a wired or wireless connection. All other Vizio Internet Apps work as usual and i am able to stream netflix to other devices in my home without issue. Followed troubleshooting tips at both Netflix and Vizio websites with no success. Contacted Vizio product support and after 30 mins told that Vizio and Netflix are both aware that there is an issue. Told me to just keep trying to log on that I should just wait. I asked how long this had been a known issue and was told they are not allowed to tell me that. I asked if there was a timetable for an update or a fix and the reply was no. Explained to the service rep that Netflix streaming was the main reason I purchased the television. They told me to hook up another device to my "Smart TV" and use that to watch Netflix. Just thought other consumers should know that there are known issues with Vizio televisions and Netflix.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBob79
Red Lion, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best smart tv for the price
11/5/2012

Customer review by Rvman1963

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by Rvman1963
by Rvman1963

This is my secound Vizio product. I also have a 42" LCD that I've had for 6 or 7 yrs. never had a problem with it. I wanted to get an LED TV and after looking at many brands I came back to what I knew would last and nothing else could compare in price for the same features.

Was this review helpful? (45) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rvman1963
Rolling Meadows, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic TV
1/3/2013

Customer review by ElTeniente

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by ElTeniente
by ElTeniente

The picture on this TV is excellent. The documentation, not so much. One issue in particular was the so called "Soap Opera Effect". This makes everything you watch look like it's a soap opera. There was absolutely no information about how to correct this. Watching a film was horrible. I tried watching Lord of the Rings and it made the entire film look awful...completely un-watchable. I spent considerable time going through the options on the TV and at one point even contacting Vizio support for help. They had me change some settings but this did not fix the issue. Finally, I found the "Game Mode" setting on the TV and turned it on. This fixed the issue. I wanted to post this here just in case anyone else has the same problem as it was so bad, I was considering returning the TV. After finding the Game Mode setting though, all is well and I couldn't be happier! I believe that the TV uses built-in image processing to enhance picture quality and that is what causes the Soap Opera Effect. Turning on game mode shuts off all of this "post-processing" and eliminates the problem. This is our first HD TV and if you do not already own an HDTV, be advised that once you have a TV like this, you won't be able to watch normal (480i) broadcasts. Given the size of this unit, even 720p broadcasts are a bit noisy, but turn on something in 1080p and holy smokes will you be impressed. The built in wifi works great and if you have a home network setup in your house, you can access music, pics, and videos from your network PC's right on the TV! Overall, and excellent unit.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElTeniente
Chagrin Falls, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
junk
10/21/2012

Customer review by JaynET025

1.0 stars 10/21/2012 by JaynET025
by JaynET025

My family was in love with this televison, but that only lasted for two weeks. First the televsion kept turning off on its own. It was not on any type of timer. The only way to keep this from happening was to reset to factory settings every two or three days. Second the right side of the screen developed a green hue that would not go away. I took it back and exchanged it for a new television but had the same problems.

Was this review helpful? (58) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaynET025
detroit, mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Replacement for Dim Plasma
12/18/2012

Customer review by AVnutz

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by AVnutz
by AVnutz

This unit has replaced a 42" Plasma. Plasma sets tend to be dim in lighted rooms, degrades the image a bit. This Vizio with the auto adjustment for ambient light levels works really well in any lighted or darker room. Picture is very sharp and clear after a little tweaking. 47" is perfect size for seating 10 to 15' away from set. The 6.5 ms / 120 Hz refresh is a big improvement, minimizing motion blur too. Very satisfied so far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVnutz
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV
11/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 11/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The family loves the telivision and it looks and sounds great The Wifi is a nice bonus for watching netflix but it has gliched on us a few times while using the online features. when it does happen, we turn the power off and, then turn it back on, that seems to fix the glitch problem some what.. this only happens when we are watching something online. over all we are satisfied with this product and I would recommend this telivision over some of the competitiors for overall picture and sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
We ordered this TV for Christmas and we love it!
1/1/2013

Customer review by pattityping101

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by pattityping101
by pattityping101

We ordered this TV online for Christmas and got free shipping. We were impressed to receive it within 48 hours! When we first set it up we found the lipsync was not matching up with picture. We selected Game mode and it cleared the problem right up. I am so impressed with the remote control. The remote is two sided with a keyboard on the back. I also am pleased with how easy it is to go on the internet for local weather, you tube videos, Pandora. this TV exceeded my expectations,

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pattityping101
Magalia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great First HD Experience
12/25/2012

Customer review by finalcut

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by finalcut
by finalcut

This is our first HDTV and we couldn't be happier. The picture quality is better than expected and the list of features on this TV is remarkable at this price point. I'm even pleased with the sound, which I expected to be sub-par on a TV that's so thin.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
finalcut
Plainfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great TV at a good price!
1/9/2013

Customer review by mycents

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by mycents
by mycents

This was a Christmas gift to myself ordered on 12/13 arrived 12/17/2012. As a single middle-aged lady, having this 47" HDTV delivered directly to my door certainly made everything much easy for me! I was able to have it set up on the stand and operational in less than an hour! And that delay was strictly due to my having to wait for a friend to arrive to help me lift it onto the table! I had no difficulty with the set-up even though this was the first HDTV I have ever owned or operated! Although I have only owned my Vizio for about a month, it has been on and operating for the better part of every day and night since its arrival and I have not experienced a single problem whatsoever!The only thing I could possibly improve upon would be the sound-which is good but not great. With the TV being so very thin I don't know where or how they could put better speakers in it. Perhaps including a sound bar as part of the deal could be the answer?! I have recommended this Smart HDTV to several friends who have taken my advice and purchased their own. I have yet to hear any complaints from them either! Given the great price, picture and easy set-up and operation of this Vizio 'smart' HDTV, I will not hesitate to buy an additional set for use in another part of my home. Thanks Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mycents
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Felt price could have been slightly lower.
1/15/2013

Customer review by ahunk2

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by ahunk2
by ahunk2

The item has excellent picture qusality and the sound is above average for the space asvailable. I felt the item could have been slightly cheaper considering it is last year's model. Vizio is no longer offering this size in their new line up. With that being said, set up went extremely well and the TV was in operation in a short period of time. I would recommend the Vizio line to any consumer looking for a quality product. I now own a 19, 47 and 60 inch Vizio TV.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ahunk2
Hayes, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't be fooled! Avoid!
3/19/2013

Customer review by Serum7

1.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Serum7
by Serum7

I was looking for another television for my upstairs and this Vizio caught my eye. It's one of the more sleek looking Vizio models and had the smart tv options I was looking for. I bought the tv at my local WalMart and took it home. Set up was quick & easy and within minutes I was checking out Netflix. At the same time I noticed the dreaded "soap opera effect." You know, where everything looks like a terrible soap opera no matter what you're watching. I thought nothing of it, surely there would be a setting to disable this "smooth motion" feature. I looked and looked and there was no such setting. Checked the manual, which clearly states you can turn the feature off. After some research it appears the feature can only be disabled on the 60" model. More digging on the internet revealed you can sidestep the look by turning "game mode" on. Only problem is you can only turn this feature on while using certain inputs. So using Netflix or Amazon instant this was unavoidable. I didn't want to have to settle on a tv so this had to go back. I don't know why Vizio would put together such a nice looking tv and completely cripple it with this ugly feature. The smart apps move ok, but are still slow for the most part. Oh sound is terrible on it too. For the cost of this unit I was able to get a much nicer Samsung LED of the same size and a Sony blu-ray with smart apps that run way better than the ones on this tv. Don't be fooled by the reviews here, do your research and get a better tv for the money. Unless you like making movies and TV look terrible. If you like that, then you should get it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Serum7
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hurt to look at
2/17/2013

Customer review by photophreek

2.0 stars 2/17/2013 by photophreek
by photophreek

Maybe it's just my eye sight , but I could not look at the screen longer than a couple of minutes without my eyes hurting. I adjusted all the setting and still no better. It felt like when I am on my laptop too long and my eyes need to rest. Also, while playing my PS3 the the picture wasn't in sync with my controller. There was a delay in movement. I took the TV back and got the Vizio 50" Eseries. Much better picture and gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
photophreek
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV, good price
1/3/2013

Customer review by HD6920

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by HD6920
by HD6920

Nice TV. Relatively good picture. The built-in apps are a nice feature, but I tend to use the XBox for streaming Netflix, etc, rather than using the Vizio apps. I was disappointed to learn that you have to buy their own proprietary camera in order to use their Skype app. Overall, I'm very happy with it, especially for the price. In all honesty though, for picture quality, I still think the Panasonic plasmas can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HD6920
WA State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/24/2013

Customer review by larryak2

5.0 stars 2/24/2013 by larryak2
by larryak2

I think it is the best I've seen.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
larryak2
Freeport, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Vizio hits the mark again!
2/1/2013

Customer review by Dandoc

5.0 stars 2/1/2013 by Dandoc
by Dandoc

Fourth Vizio in my house, very happy with these TV's. Third one purchased from Walmart, again very happy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dandoc
Westfield nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/22/2013

Customer review by Supra21

5.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Supra21
by Supra21

i got LG 47LM4700 47 and return and got this visio and it way better on the picture and sound.....this is a good tv to buy..............for $621.....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Supra21
sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Over all a good TV.
12/21/2012

Customer review by 1time

4.0 stars 12/21/2012 by 1time
by 1time

Good Smart TV with a lot of potential. Had a heck of a time trying to wire it up to the digital cable box to a VHS/DVD recorder to a surround sound CD/DVD player. Had to spend another $45 bucks for extra cables though. Wished Viso would include a hard copy of the manual. Was finally able to get stores sales price rather than on-line price. Thanks to the stores Manager. So far so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1time
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/9/2012

Customer review by Recherd

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by Recherd
by Recherd

Every show or movie is so clear it looks like watching old soap operas done live.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Recherd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews