Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

120 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 stars
8
1-20 of 94 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Excellent TV for its price point.
12/31/2012

Customer review by Techgeekjax

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Techgeekjax
by Techgeekjax
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am quite pleased with the overall performance of this TV. The picture is crisp, brilliant and completes the full HD experience in grand fashion. The only drawback I've discovered two weeks in is the sound. The speakers are easily distorted, so my home theater is always in use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techgeekjax
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Over All Great
11/12/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have only had this TV for a Few days and have been using it for those few days alot have not left from infront of it but fot sleep and work. The Piccture is great no complaints there at all. The Start up is the only thing that might bother someone it takes about 30 seconds to turn on which is not that big of a deal. The apps are simple and fast but when your in netflix or somethingt hat is streaming its kind of slow when looking at the different apps on the TV but thats expected they didnt put in a I5 Processor in it or anything. The sound is average for a TV i have a home theater system hooked to mine so there is notihng i can complain about. The value is great because couldnt find any other LED Smart TV for under 1000 and this one was with taxes. The coolest part that i think was a great idea was the remote its a normal remote on front and full keyboard on back with arrows. In my opinion so far the TV is great after a while of use i will post another review on how well it works or if i have an issues.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV
11/19/2012

Customer review by MysteryShopper7890

4.0 stars 11/19/2012 by MysteryShopper7890
by MysteryShopper7890

I purchased this TV on a whim, because I am all about being instantly gratified, and the TV that I have researched and really want was not available for another week. Yes, I'm very impatient. BUT, enough about me. For what this TV costs, this is a great deal, IMHO. There have been some issues with the power supply, but I think Vizio has corrected that with this particular model. The menus are, to me, slow and unresponsive. BUT, keep in mind, I am extremely picky. I have 5 different friends come look at this TV, and not a single one of them would have an issue with the "lag" switching from app to app in the menu. IT really isn't that slow, but it is noticeable to me, and became a thorn. I highly doubt that a normal person on the street would have an issue with this slow response, so therefore, I would recommend this product. IF you are as picky as I am, and you are probably self-aware at this point, then go to the store and look at this model before you buy it. Ask an associate to see the remote so you can fully evaluate it yourself.

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MysteryShopper7890
Amarillo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV, good ideas, bad implementation
10/21/2012

Customer review by Wildman73

2.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Wildman73
by Wildman73

This TV has lots of nice internet integration : YouTube, NetFlix, Amazon, Rhapsody, etc.. However, it can be a frustrating experience. The TV takes about 10 seconds to power on. Want to go to NetFlix? That'll take you another 15 seconds. The response time for navigation through the various menus is incredibly sluggish and painful. No doubt the software that runs this TV is unfinished and buggy. For example, just now, we watched an Amazon video and afterwards, the screen went blank... no keys on the remote would work and so finally had to REBOOT (i.e. power cycle) the TV. I can't say I've ever had a TV that required rebooting. Also,after having it setup for 2 days, it mysteriously lost network connectivity (WiFi) for no reason at all and so I had to set that up again. I really like the TV's picture, sound and capabilities, but usability and reliability fail miserably. At this point, I'm contemplating a return.

Was this review helpful? (102) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wildman73
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Could have been a great TV
12/31/2012

Customer review by AnonymousCustomer1

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by AnonymousCustomer1
by AnonymousCustomer1

We were specifically looking for a 55" LED smart TV. When we found this TV, we thought it would be perfect! We purchased this TV and the picture was great, features seemed great. But we soon begin to notice the "soap opera effect" after searching the settings and not finding anything to fix the problem, we downloaded the online user manual to find out how this could be turned off. We came across "smooth motion effect" and "real cinema mode" and those settings were not available on this model TV. We thought at first maybe it wasn't that noticeable and that we could deal with it and it actually looked nice on football games. But after watching a certain movie the next day we then decided that this TV must be returned it was so bad that it made us dizzy. We returned this TV and purchased the E601i-A3 and this TV has the option to turn the smooth motion effect on or off, thank goodness!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonymousCustomer1
AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Great Television
11/10/2012

Customer review by Houston2Mom

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Houston2Mom
by Houston2Mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tevelevision is awesome. You can watch Netflix, Youtube, Vudu, Hulu, etc. on it. The sound is great. The picture is so clear. I really have nothing negative to say about it. The price is REALLY reasonable than other stores with the same television. I think I am biased towards Vizio anyway. I recently had a Samsung that was exactly like this one. I had it for a year and a half and it wouldn't turn on anymore. We purchased it at another store and it was just a horrible experience. I will continue to get anything electronic from Walmart. The price is always right and I never have a problem with the product.

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houston2Mom
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
10/26/2012

Customer review by datastar

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by datastar
by datastar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this TV to replace an older Plasma that had a resolution of 480 which is Enhanced Definition or ED. The picture was really good and no one believed it was only ED. I've watched Blue Ray disk on this TV and football is like being on the sideline. The family really enjoy this TV. It's a little slow on startup but once it connect to your source it is beatiful. The speakers are OK for a small to medium room but I don't use them because I have the TV connected to an entainment system. I purchased an expensive HDMI cable but the information states I am only getting 60Hz. I have not noticed any ghosting yet.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
datastar
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/8/2012

Customer review by Renohd

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by Renohd
by Renohd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Excellent picture. Good sound. Like one persons review said it take a while to come on when you first power it on. But it's not that big of a deal. I wouldn't let hinder your purchase of this tv. It didn't me and I love this tv!

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Renohd
Boonville In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful TV Excellent Value
3/9/2013

Customer review by WorkindogFla

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by WorkindogFla
by WorkindogFla

I do not understand the negative reviews on here. This TV has an outstanding picture. Setup was a breeze all of the apps work great, the wireless was a no brainer. If you are using a cheap HDMI cable you may have picture issues. 120Hz refresh rate requires a high speed HDMI cable because of the bandwidth used. As far as the sound I have no comment. Why would anyone spend the money for a set like this and not pair it with a good surround sound system? As far as the so called "soap opera effect" turn the film mode in the advanced picture menu to "off". This is a common and annoying feature in virtually all of the newer HDTV sets.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WorkindogFla
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doesn't work with DirectTV, Software Buggy at Best
12/27/2012

Customer review by TechGuyMN

1.0 stars 12/27/2012 by TechGuyMN
by TechGuyMN

I own 2 Vizio internet enabled TV's and have had nothing but good luck with them. However, this M550VSE model is garbage. The software in the tv is extremely buggy. Sometimes the remote responds, sometimes it doesn't. While "apps" on the TV such as netflix or amazon instant video work reliably, the basic system controls such as selecting an input or adjusting the brightness do not - in fact, most often the system settings menu does not even load. The only way we've found to reset the TV is unplugging it and plugging it back in. Worse than all of this hassle, I did also see the question asked about this TV being incompatible with Direct TV. While the Vizio "expert" says yes that it is, the expert is dead wrong. It won't recognize a Direct TV signal consistently. Through our troubleshooting, we've tested both our HDTV via HDMI Direct TV boxes as well as standard def via coax boxes. Same result with each. We bought this TV on 11/30/12 and after 3 weeks of fighting it, tonight we exchanged it for another identical unit. My belief was that we just had a lemon - this was to my disbelief untrue. The new unit behaves exactly like the last - in some cases, such as when the set-up menus, even worse. I feel like I'm rambling... so here's the tldr: I own 2 other Vizio TV's, unlike those, this model is junk, don't buy it. Also, it doesn't work well with Direct TV.

Was this review helpful? (44) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechGuyMN
Twin Cities, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great LCD-LED HDTV
10/13/2012

Customer review by FromWisconsin

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by FromWisconsin
by FromWisconsin

I am using this TV mainly for DVD watching and Computer home Office work. It works great for both. I just watched Prometheus on it and it looked amazing. Sound quality is very good (I tested it by only using it for my sound), but I normally use my theater sound system. I just got this TV but since there were few reviews I wanted to get this out ASAP. I will update if any problems crop up.

Was this review helpful? (101) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FromWisconsin
From Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great picture for a great price
10/14/2012

Customer review by YoteHunter

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by YoteHunter
by YoteHunter

The picture and sound are excellent. The only drawback is it takes 33 seconds from the time I press the on button till you get a picture. Also the remote buttons are so small, you can't use it easily in dim light. My old remote had larger buttons and I did not have to turn a light on in order to use it.

Was this review helpful? (119) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YoteHunter
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply an Amazing TV
11/14/2012

Customer review by Jdr1271

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by Jdr1271
by Jdr1271

You will not be disappointed. Great sound and outstanding picture quality. WiFi is a plus. Easy set up . Vizio rocks!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jdr1271
Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio 'Vonderful!
1/29/2013

Customer review by Fryingpanz

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by Fryingpanz
by Fryingpanz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is our first big flat scren HD TV and we love it. The setup is all onscreen (No BORING manual to read). Although it does come with photo manual to plug in cables, dvd player etc. if you need it. The picture quality is so crisp and so lifelike, you feel as though you are in the tv. The best channels are the digital ones of course and they are fantastic. The colors are warm and vibrant and the stereo surround is fantastic. Music and ambient sounds are so well defined. You have never heard tv like this before. The remote control is a bit small BUT it has all the controls you need and even has a NETFLIX button for your convenience. This is handy because as we all know, Netflix is taking over the movie world. The size is perfect for our living room and fits well on a standard tv console stand. However it would look great on the wall as well (wall mount not included but sold everywhere). So happy we decided to get this one, especially at Walmart where shipping was free to store and the price was right. Planning to get a smaller Vizio for our bedroom!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fryingpanz
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Happy
12/3/2012

Customer review by JWoff

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by JWoff
by JWoff
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

E series is the economy line of Vizio M series is middle of the line XVT is top of the line We bought a M series. Could not be happier for the cost it is a superior TV

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JWoff
Hanford
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great TV with one problem
12/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This Vizio television is a great deal. Excellent picture (once the settings are calibrated) and blu rays and HD TV look amazing. I was going to throw the TV out the window because of the SOE (soap opera effect) when watching movies. I called support and they said there wasn't any way to turn off the smooth motion on this particular set. I don't know about you but I HATE watching movies that don't look like film, the way the director intended. I did a little research, and it's an easy fix. Just turn on Game Mode in advance picture settings and Voila! fixed. Apps are diverse and load quickly. All in all, great value for a great TV!

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Are you a gamer? This is your dream TV!
12/1/2012

Customer review by rw65775

5.0 stars 12/1/2012 by rw65775
by rw65775

First off I do not use this TV for just casual watching, I bought it solely for the purpose of heavy duty gaming (roughly 4-8 hours a day) and I could not be more pleased with the product. From top to bottom this TV is the true breadwinner of TVs. The picture clarity, the dynamic contrast ratio, and the brightness are all stunning. All that aside, it even comes with built-in apps like Netflix and Amazon Prime instant video. Pure genius, and it is so lightweight I put it on the wall myself. I strongly recommend this TV to anyone who does anything from casual watching TV to Hardcore gaming, this is your best bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rw65775
West Plains, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/18/2012

Customer review by vsch

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by vsch
by vsch

Have had this TV for over a month now and it is great. Noticed that some people have complained about the wait for it to light up the screen, but the wait is only 25 seconds. Hardly enough to complain about. The picture quality is great. The control you have over all the features is great. In comparing the TVs before purchasing, I noticed that the VIZIO uses about half the electricity that some other TVs use, some of smaller screen size. What finally convinced me to purchase a VIZIO is that it is made right here in our good old USA.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vsch
Ware, NA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio is our fav brand!
11/1/2012

Customer review by QBApple23

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by QBApple23
by QBApple23
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Once again, Vizio has made us happy. The quality of the TV itself, the picture, sound and options, along with the easy setup/hook-up, continues to make this our favorite brand. Vizio is great for giving us quality at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QBApple23
East Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/25/2013

Customer review by hogslayer

1.0 stars 1/25/2013 by hogslayer
by hogslayer

this tv is not at all what it is supposed to be. all the color presets are not close to what they are supposed to be, you set the color to where you can watch it change inputs and it will reset itself to whatever it wants. if you like to play with the remote control and forever set the color well this is the tv for you. this is the second one in three weeks and this one is going to be boxed back up and returned also. so to make a long story short no more vizio tv for this family. i think they overthink all the bells and whistles and just try to get this tv to do the simple things. like having the picture it is advertised to be. it would be a good tv if it had all the settings correct and stay put.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hogslayer
penelope,texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews