Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 221 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

221 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

221 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
164
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 193 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews
It's good, but...
2/4/2013

Customer review by WynBrks

3.0 stars 2/4/2013 by WynBrks
by WynBrks

It's a great picture, but I am still getting used to the "Soap Opera Effect". I set the picture type to "Vivid" and turned the "Color" down from 100 to 75. How ever, it is still like looking through a window at a movie set. The movie realism is gone and reality has set it. Have you ever seen a video of a movie being shot and it looks cheesy and you wonder how it ever looked so cool. Well, you never get back to the cool factor. It all looks like a movie set. This is not a new thing with large TVs and a high refresh rate. As time goes on, all TVs will have this issue and it won't be an issue any more. Also, The sound is not great. I was tempted to return the TV because it was so tinny. The speakers are in the back and they are small. I set the sound type to "Jazz" and it was a little better. It took down some of the mid-range frequencies. I tried a sound bar, but I don't like to have a specific remote just for the volume.

WynBrks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Problems with Apps
6/16/2014

Customer review by Customer61614

3.0 stars 6/16/2014 by Customer61614
by Customer61614

I bought this TV at my local Sam's Club, almost 3 months ago. The entire time I have owned this TV, the Amazon app doesn't work. I have called Vizio twice about it, and their response is always the same. That is not their problem, it is Amazon's, and there is not time frame for when it will be fixed. I don't understand how Vizio is off the hook, since the box has a HUGE amazon logo, and there is a dedicated Amazon button on the TV remote. They did also mention that the vizio website clearly states that the app is unavailable, and the terms and conditions state that apps may be modified and deleted without warning. Neither of those are particularly helpful when you can't check them until you get home. Also, I had the netflix app stop working last week, with an error code NW-4-8. The TV was still connected to the internet just fine, it was just the netflix app. So, I was left with a TV with no netflix and no amazon! It turns out that you have to factory reset the TV to get it working again. Other than that, the TV has worked great. It just seems pretty brittle for only being 2.5 months old!

Customer61614
Would recommend to a friend? No
Exceptional Value
2/15/2013

Customer review by CT12

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by CT12
by CT12

Video Quality: In regards to pic quality, it is very crisp. To the member that mentioned the "soap opera" effect, turn off "Smooth Motion" settings, this will remove the extra frames per second that gives that "soap opera" effect. From time to time, I get picture judder when watching tv, meaning during panning, it will have some sort of hesitation. Good news is, I have a suspicion that this an issue between my cable box and tv, cause I didn't see the issue the 3x I watched a Blu-Ray movie. Audio Quality: I have an older 720p Vizio, whose speakers were much better, but with the thinner profile, the speakers here are not the best... but you won't get any better audio from any other slim format TVs anyway. The other "con" is that because the tv is so large, my sound bar sounds like a center channel, and don't get too much a of a stereo effect.

CT12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ginormous 70" LED
2/10/2013

Customer review by WestTexan74

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by WestTexan74
by WestTexan74

I've been looking a tv's for the last couple of months now and I finally had my mind made up about the Vizio 65". After awhile (waiting for price to drop), I kept noticing people buying the 70" version and I would ask them why. The majority of the answers were because it's a bigger tv (obviously) and that the tv is the new E-Series. Everyone of the customers that I asked mentioned something about it being ultra slim and the fact that it had the slim border. Needless to say, I waited another month or so and ended seeing this one on sale for $1,548.00, so I bought it. Soon as I took it home, I set it up and watched a Blue Ray movie on it. I couldn't ask for a better picture. I promise you, the tv looks a lot bigger when you get it set up on the mount or entertainment console. Just for a size comparison, my girlfriend is 5'10 and was barely longer than the tv when it was laid down. I do suggest you turn of the true motion and mess around with the sound settings to get it perfect for your needs. If you're a gamer then you're really going to love this picture. Another thing that I do suggest is sitting a little farther than 10 feet away from the tv.

WestTexan74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
What could have been
7/23/2014

Customer review by JuanTV

1.0 stars 7/23/2014 by JuanTV
by JuanTV

I've owned this TV for 8 months and it was almost perfect. The picture quality is excellent, nice assortment of smart features, and at a very reasonable price. The big issue I have is with quality. I first noticed tiny white spots forming at the bottom of the screen at about 4 months. Then the set had a backlight go out at the 6 month mark. At this point I contacted Vizio and they exchanged it for a recertified TV. The TV they just gave me also has several white spots. A quick Google search uncovered that the white spot is a very common problem. I recently looked at the display model at Sam's and for sure, a huge amount of white spots. At this point I'm certain its a defect in this model and advise everyone to stay away. As for me, I think I'll be calling Vizio again and keep exchanging my TV until the warranty expires.

JuanTV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing value and picture
1/6/2014

Customer review by stoneisman

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by stoneisman
by stoneisman

I had my doubts about getting a Vizio of this size, but our other Vizio has never done us wrong and the price was too good to pass up. We haven't been disappointed. The picture is great, almost to the point of nausea if sit too close. If you give this TV a high quality source like a blu-ray player I don't see how you could be unhappy. My only complaint is a nit-pick which makes it hard to use the built-in apps on the TV and get sound to work if you use the TV in conjunction with a Surround Sound receiver and other sources through the HDMI ports. We wound up staying with the streaming capabilities of our blu-ray player instead of using the SmartTV features of the Vizio. While I can't say it's a better picture than my Sony XBR TV, at nearly twice the size and less than half the price it's an amazing value.

stoneisman
Greenville, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great product
1/9/2013

Customer review by JorgeS

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by JorgeS
by JorgeS

Excellent picture, sound is also very good (I'm not very demanding when it comes to sound), plugged to my gaming consoles and it looks awesome !!! Blu-ray discs look very sharp, lots of detail we used to miss on our old 39". We watch this tv from a range of 6' - 10', depending on where in the family room you are sitting, and it looks great. Glare is somewhat of a problem, but only because the light is simply too close. Turning this particular light off is what works best. Installation is tricky mainly due to the weight of the tv (mounting on a wall), so make sure you have help for that. Overall very satisfied with the device, definitely recommend it.

JorgeS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
What a great value!
12/28/2012

Customer review by MadameS

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by MadameS
by MadameS

The Vizio 70" is truly a Smart TV. Plugged it in & it found our WiFi straight away. The remote has an Amazon, Netflix & MGo button making streaming easy. There's an ABC/123 keypad on the back too. You can even surf the web, do email, watch YouTube, listen to Rhapsody with ease. It seems to big at first but you get used to it. Just have 9-10 feet between you & the screen for a great view. Warning: Vizio TVs have a habit of turning themselves off if left on a few hours once in awhile. To remedy this just reboot. Unplug EVERYTHING. Wait 1minute. Replug. Hold the ON button down & it reboots, ending the problem.

MadameS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
DO NOT BUY!!
4/1/2014

Customer review by JoshL

1.0 stars 4/1/2014 by JoshL
by JoshL

For all of you who get this tv home and out of the package, and write a review BEWARE. This TV is JUNK check the consumer reports they have recalled Thousands. My screen went black two months after the year warrenty expired and all they could say is, "we can send a technican to replace the chip for 500 dollars! This is a known problam and they have done nothing to correct this. The customer servoce people are trained to avoid questions about it. You can tell when you call that they know exactly what is wrong with the tv but will do nothing to help. SAMS Club should not even be carrying this product!

JoshL
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Common Spot problem after 6 months
6/4/2014

Customer review by Schreck425

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Schreck425
by Schreck425

After buying this in March, I noticed that a floor model where I bought it had spots that appear when the screen is bright. 6 months later my TV model started doing it also. Vizio replaced it saying it was a rare defective unit. 6 months later again I have the same problem. I've seen this model have this problem in many stores. The customer service rep admitted that he gets calls on this problem. Now because I'm past my warranty I'm stuck with their lemon of a TV and they're not willing to help me. It didn't even make it 6 months both times. I will never buy from Vizio again. DO NOT BUY!

Schreck425
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
best yet
12/10/2012

Customer review by redhot

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by redhot
by redhot

I bought this vizio 70 in. to replace a Insigna 55 in. I loved the Insigna but wanted a larger picture. I had always heard good things about Vizio & after doing some research I decided this was it. The quick start guide was easy to follow.I did have to re-boot my wifi so the vizio could connect. I have had to do this with other devices so not surprised. The picture is beautiful, I am very pleased. I did have to adjust the color, it was set to 100% and I adjusted it to about 75% which was perfect for me. This is one purchase I would make again, we love it.

redhot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Product is OK/Excellent
1/5/2013

Customer review by WPHilton

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by WPHilton
by WPHilton

The picture is absolutely beautiful. No complaints here at all. However. . . - The "smart TV" experience appears a little hokey. I tried calling to understand it better and I can use it some but it may have been overhyped. Appears to be just short cuts to things like netflix, etc. The keypad was used only to register the product (so far). - There are a limited number of inputs other than hdmi(s). I had many more input options on my previous tv. - The purchase experience at samsclub.com was a nightmare. It was a black monday purchase.

WPHilton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Picture sure looks good.
11/19/2013

Customer review by LostInWoods

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by LostInWoods
by LostInWoods

I bought this to go on the wall of my new media room. The price was good, but I was a bit unsure about Vizio. Also, the refresh rate is only 120 Hz while newer models (more expensive) are 240 Hz. But I am quite pleased with the video quality. Sports shows look great, and the fine details are almost overwhelming. The built-in speakers are not great, which I expected, but they are okay until I get my AVR and surround speakers set up. I haven't tried to use it with Netflix yet, but that was a plus for me.

LostInWoods
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Like sitting in the theater.
9/28/2013

Customer review by CowboyFan

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by CowboyFan
by CowboyFan

Love my new TV. Bought it to replace a 47" Philips. Good picture quality. Many inputs. One negative so far and it maybe that I just haven't figured out how to do it. I got a Vizio sound bar to go just below the TV. It is controlled by the TV volume control but to turn it on, it has a separate remote. So I have to turn on the TV with my DishNetwork remote & the sound bar with the little Sound Bar remote. When you turn off the TV the sound bar will turn itself off after a little while with no signal.

CowboyFan
Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Value
2/20/2013

Customer review by Lewisp

5.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Lewisp
by Lewisp

Bought this after months of searching for a new TV to replace my Samsung 63 inch DLP. It was time. One left the day before the super bowl and I was not disappointed. Great picture, easy setup fantastic value. I have a very good receiver and sound system so don't know much about the sound. You do have to fiddle with the settings especially the sharpness which was at 1/10th of where it needed to be but once done it was awesome. Love it and its worth every penny. Had it now 3 weeks and very happy.

Lewisp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked for 2 weeks
1/23/2013

Customer review by TimmyDaToolman

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by TimmyDaToolman
by TimmyDaToolman

Well after 2 weeks I can say its not the best picture on the market, but for the price it seemed like a good value. Now tonight I went to turn it on and the logo pops up and the it turns off! I know I didn't buy the most expensive tv, but for 2000.00 I woul hope it would work for more then 2 weeks. When it did work the smart portion is not that smart, tried streaming movies over 16 mb/sec internet, playback was choppy and pixilated. Over all the colors seem a bit smokey, but it is huge.

Comment from RG - 2/19/2013

A limited number of VIZIO’s E-Series 60” and 70” LED Smart TVs (model numbers E601i-A3 and E701i-A3) may experience a loss of video due to premature failure of a chip assembly sourced from a supplier. VIZIO is working with its suppliers, retailers and consumers to resolve the issue as quickly as possible for affected users. Please go to Vizio’s Support site for a reference to affected serial numbers and instructions for support: https://vizio.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/962/kw/special%20bulletin You may also contact VIZIO’s Customer Care team toll free at 855-209-4106 or email them at: special.bulletin@vizio.com.

TimmyDaToolman
Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
GreatTV
3/23/2013

Customer review by johnque

5.0 stars 3/23/2013 by johnque
by johnque

We just had a house built with a built in entertainment center. We had an opening of about 63&1/2 inches, we could not find another seventy inch tv that would fit in that space. Since the Visio tv has such a narrow frame around the screen it fit with about a quarter of an inch on both sides of the tv. That narrow frame also means more viewing area. The picture quality is great as well, I would highly recommend this tv to others. Oh and the price was very good for a 70 inch tv as well.

johnque
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
worst purchase
7/3/2014

Customer review by irritable

1.0 stars 7/3/2014 by irritable
by irritable

purchased on 6/17/04 volume doesn't work when changing channels. you have to turn tv off and on again and if you change channels, again volume turns off. changed cable line into house, tried 2 new convertor boxes from cable company and called vizio 5 times to troubleshoot. no resolution. Exchanged tv on 7/2/14 at club and same problem. I'm swearing off Vizio, they don't know or won't say what problem is. Only good thing is Sam's return policy. They were very helpful.

irritable
mountaintop, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1/1/2013

Customer review by namregit

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by namregit
by namregit

Had a 55" LED Vizio for almost 2 years so already knew what to expect in picture quality. I thought with a 70" LED screen it might not be quite as sharp. The picture quality was no difference. Bright and clear. The improvement is in the small edge around the picture and losing the white Vizio logo on the bottom of the screen. Had it for a month now with perfect performance. Everyone that sees it is impressed with the picture. Delivery was excellent.

namregit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
In this case size does count
1/7/2013

Customer review by Anxbobby

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Anxbobby
by Anxbobby

I purchased this TV for the family room to replace a 60 inch plasma bought 5 years ago. The technology has advanced so much that this tv only weighs 78lbs as opposed to 169lbs for the plasma. a big consideration when wall mounting above a fire place. It is smaller, thinner and has more features. Picture is very crisp and clear, colors are vibrant. Wireless for netflix was also another plus. 2 thumbs up for vizio and the same for Sam's Club pricing,

Anxbobby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
1-20 of 193 total reviews
1-20 of 193 reviews