Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 67 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
decent idea whose time has come.
12/25/2012

Customer review by dont1

5.0 stars 12/25/2012 by dont1
by dont1

I bought the Bug Out primarily for the pump up stocked pistol. it comes with a small in adequate first aid kit that could easily be expanded with store brand triple antibiotic and a bottle of aspirin. to the backpack included with, i added a large tarp in a ziplock bag some aluminum foil and a couple of ace bandages, a multi tool knife plier dealie, a crank operated radio/ flashlight a crank charger for a cell phone a large roll of nylon cord, a lighter, a couple of cans of chili and corned beef hash. the accuracy of the 22 pistol pump gun from crossman is phenomenal, i can light strike anywhere matches at twenty feet. pumped to the maximum it hits within four inches at four hundred feet. it will take rabbits, crows,and other small game, but is tons of fun to make rats into rat bait for larger predators. for about twenty bucks more than the pistol itself you get a stock that snaps on and off easily and packs inside the kit. with added sleeping bag, my survival knife and it’s kit, plus my tent- it really can keep me alive in Oklahomas fire storms, tornadoes, snow and ice. it serves as what its name suggests- as a bug out kit- grab and gone it could give me a few days shelter till another place can be found. the ability to take game with the kit could keep me going for a long time. Its priced at about what other stores charge just for the pump pistol with shipping added on . You can get it delivered to your front door for less than it costs to start your car five times. Shipping is extremely fast, packaging is superb, and the unit arrives ready for action with a few pellets.

Was this review helpful? (94) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dont1
ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Gun & Very Accurate
12/23/2012

Customer review by LFS1

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by LFS1
by LFS1

Walmart had the best price on this gun. I was amazed at the accuracy straight out of the box with the open sights. I was shooting dime sized groups from a rest at about 10 yards with the included pellets. Very good for me with the open sights. It is a neat little kit you get here. Not really a bug-out kit really but all of the items are nice and worth something to me. It is really cool how the gun breaks down and reassembles so quickly with just a click. As I stated below, remember you get the 12 inch barrel on this gun, not the 14 inch barrel which is pictured here. No big deal, just wanted to make sure folks knew this. This gun appears to be well made, quiet and very accurate. About the only thing I find negative about the gun is that it is a little difficult to pump to 10 pumps. Not too bad but you have to get the technique down. I actually just settled in shooting mine in my garage at 10 yards on 5 pumps and it worked just fine. I don't think you can go wrong with this little carbine. Very fun gun that should give kids and adults alike many years of fun target shooting and plinking.

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LFS1
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well made, exceptional value
12/23/2012

Customer review by seanap

5.0 stars 12/23/2012 by seanap
by seanap

Great to see the Backpacker in production again. Easy to pump and hard hitting at full power (10 pumps). Three pumps for indoor shooting. Excellent value even with the extra stuff you really don't need. Walmart best price hands down!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
seanap
San Leandro
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Deal
1/14/2013

Customer review by KenInVa

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by KenInVa
by KenInVa

The Crosman Doomsday Kit is an excellent value. For $70, you get a .22 pellet pistol, which is based on the excellent Crosman 13xx series, and a detachable shoulder stock. Buying this kit is much cheaper than buying the Crosman 1322 pistol and shoulder stock separately. The shoulder stock for this pistol is not the same shoulder stock for the 13xx series, as it mounts differently. The one thing I wish Crosman had included with this is a set of pistol grips. However, the grips from a Crosman 13xx series pistol will fit, and you can find them online. Along with the pistol and stock, the kit includes a backpack, targets, pellets, a water bottle and a first aid kit. The backpack is smaller than I thought it would be, but it's okay. The first aid kit is very basic, basically some band aids, gauze pads and antiseptic wipes. The price at Walmart for this kit is a lot lower than other places online, and the free site to store shipping is a plus.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KenInVa
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the gun alone is worth the $69 I paid
1/7/2013

Customer review by DangrousDan

5.0 stars 1/7/2013 by DangrousDan
by DangrousDan

The gun can be bought for $58 on sale without the shoulder stock, at $69 for the kit I bought one for each grand kid that was old enough. If I see that I can buy it for $69 again I will buy one for myself too. The gun comes with a 12 inch barrel and shoots hard and straight.

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DangrousDan
Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great minimalist small game weapon
1/2/2013

Customer review by Tracker63

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Tracker63
by Tracker63

With a pouch full of pellets you could take small game for months ... Great value on line ($69 vs $100+). Crosman gave this gun (model 1389) a "modular" build so that parts could be swapped out with more expensive, improved (after market) pieces, thus creating a custom gun with better performance. Utube shows dozens of modifications for these crosman pellet guns. You could have a good gun for cheap and later have a great "tweeked" gun for a moderate investment. The other included packaged stuff: pack, first aid kit (add meds) and water bottle are geared toward kids. Switching to a steel breech ($50) and adding a small scope makes a big difference. I'm now looking at the CO2 version (model 2400KT), that doesn't require 10 hard pumps, for target shooting. The trade off is that the required CO2 cartridges ($0.55 each in bulk) only give you about 35-40 good shots.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tracker63
Arlington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great gun Great fun!
12/28/2013

Customer review by uhealers

5.0 stars 12/28/2013 by uhealers
by uhealers

I bought this gun about six months ago to weed out the squirrels on our property. Since then I have used this rifle three or more times a week. I have been able to thin out the squirrel population. The gun is very inexpensive to buy and shoot and it is accurate. I took the advice of a reviewer and swapped in the peep sight. I have large hands and haven't had them pinched or cut at all. It has been a joy and fantastic to shoot. The only complaint I may have is that it is so powerful that the pellets are through and through the squirrels. They jump into the air and die within feet of where the are shot. That is important to me. I want to be rid of the pests, but I want do it humanely! I would recommend this rifle to anyone wanting to teach young teens to shoot.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uhealers
Fallbrook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product except...
2/26/2014

Customer review by rb9201

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by rb9201
by rb9201

Overall, I must say it is a great product! It could help you survive in a bug out scenario! I owned previously the .22 pistol itself and was quite happy with it. This model has unfortunately, plastic front and rear sights with the rear sight adjustment that could easily be stripped if overtightened. I'm not so sure how solid it would be used in an outdoor situation if being carried in the pack with other things as well. It could change the zero in between uses if not careful. As an afterthought once I received it, it would be nice to have included a slide on pistol grip for use as a pistol instead of a rifle or at least available as an add on accessory. In closing, I like the item and I'm pretty particular! I just wish Crosman would reconsider using metal for the sights as this it pretty important if you ask me... Now that I have this model, I will be trying it out to the fullest to see how it responds to heavy use. I would recommend this item to my friends.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rb9201
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than break-barrels
10/25/2013

Customer review by outdoorsguyreviews

5.0 stars 10/25/2013 by outdoorsguyreviews
by outdoorsguyreviews

I went through tons of sighting issues with 3 different break barrel air rifles before getting this one. I've got the crosman dovetail intermounts and a centerpoint 3-9x32 dovetail scope on it. The accuracy is a lot better than the previous guns I had. Using CPHP pellets I'm getting dime size holes at 10 yards ignoring flyers. Good enough for me and good enough for squirrels. I also sighted in the iron sights before putting the scope on. The sights were nearly zeroed out of the box, but without any kind of fiber optics, they are hard to see in the forest so that's why I have the scope. The scope required two business card paper shims to account for the look-down. For hunting, I wouldn't shoot this gun past 30 yards, but that's pretty much the limit for tree squirrel hunting anyway.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoorsguyreviews
Winchester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not what is shown in the online picture
1/18/2013

Customer review by deadonthemark

2.0 stars 1/18/2013 by deadonthemark
by deadonthemark

Do not get me wrong, Crosman air pistols are great. I own 3 already. However I specifically bought this one because the picture made it look like the barrel was significantly longer than the barrel on the 1322 pistol I already own. Well it is not - maybe an inch and half. I wanted a longer barrel for more power and accuracy (not that the 1322 pistol is inaccurate). The picture makes it look 3" or more longer. Bottomline, when I opened it up and saw the minor difference, it was not worth keeping. Had I know this was the case, I would not have purchased it. I may be at partial fault as I did not look closely at the specs and compare to the 1322 barrel length - I went by the picture - which anyone case see is substantially longer than the 1322 pistol version. Otherwise, I am sure it would have been fine. So if you don't have a 1322 pistol, this would be a good buy - as long as you understand you do not get pistol grips. This can only be used with the stock, unless you want to hold the gun by the bare frame. The rest of the items are ok, but the real value is the pistol.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deadonthemark
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun .22 air gun!
2/16/2013

Customer review by ScarletMannequin

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by ScarletMannequin
by ScarletMannequin

I bought this just for the Crosman 2288. I love multi-pumps because you can shoot them indoors and adjust power to needs. This gun is very accurate, even just using iron sights; and it isn't hold sensitive. You won't be disappointed if you get one! Things to note: -Plastic grips, forearm, sights, and breech (steel breech is available as aftermarket upgrade) -Backpack is kinda small (about 14in x 9in x 8in), so really not useful as a "bugout" bag. -Included tin of pellets is .22 pointed, 175ct. -Aftermarket scope intermount is M459. The Benjiman intermount will NOT work with this... the barrel on this is a little wider than the Benjiman's.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScarletMannequin
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I really only wanted the airgun
4/29/2014

Customer review by Airgunbloger

4.0 stars 4/29/2014 by Airgunbloger
by Airgunbloger

I am very satisfied with the Crosman 2289 backpacker air rifle. My only complaint is I had to purchase the whole package. I could not find the airgun for sale anywhere by itself. As it turns out the first aid kit is pretty good. The kit is now in my JanSport mountain biking backpack. Also I can always use the pellets. A quick sniff of the fumes coming out of the plastic water bottle, and in the trash it went. Also the included backpack is cheaply made, but I am sure I will find some good use for it. The Crosmazn 2289 Backpacker is awesome, it made the whole deal worth while. I have already installed a machined steel breech with the dovetail rail. Then topped it off with a B.S.A. RD30 Red Dot Scope. This air gun looks like a custom build with very little work! My advise BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Airgunbloger
Oakland County Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Deadly accurate.
2/17/2013

Customer review by benreceptus

5.0 stars 2/17/2013 by benreceptus
by benreceptus

An excellent survival rifle, and deadly accurate. This gun will drop a rabbit like a bad habit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
benreceptus
planet earth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive Varmint Control
3/28/2014

Customer review by Doozer001

4.0 stars 3/28/2014 by Doozer001
by Doozer001

I've used the .177 pistol version in the past with moderate success. This .22 version delivers a good deal more energy to the target resulting in a more humane kill. I set up a a paper target indoors @ 15 yds on a 1/4" sheet of plywood to sight it in and noticed this difference after the first shot - which went clean through the plywood and embedded itself in the drywall. (A 1000 FPS Gamo break barrel .177 rifle does not pass through 1/4" ply.) The fixed barrel gives much better accuracy than a break-barrel design. It's a bit loud, but can be made quieter with fewer pumps for 'plinking' practice. (Should do well for teaching basic firearm safety to my kids.) The removable stock 'clicks' into place nicely... no tools required. The stock also gives added leverage for easier pumping. The bag, first aid kit and paper targets were a nice touch. (My wife already claimed the first aid kit for her minivan.)

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doozer001
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A great gun! BUT I need more for DOOMSDAY
5/25/2013

Customer review by RikT

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by RikT
by RikT

This kit is everything advertised. The gun is the highlight. A wonderful well balanced weapon with a little humane kill power for small game at close range (10-15 yards). It definitely beats throwing a club. Very accurate. I shot dime size patterns at 10 yards with a rest (sitting at a table with the barrel on top of my other arm) and a quarter size pattern standing up right. I took other reviewer’s advice and used the peep sight. The rest of the kit is okay in general, but if you don’t have survival skills there’s not a lot of help in the kit unless you need a Band-Aid. In my opinion there is way too many of them for a bug out bag. I would need water purification tabs to accompany the water bottle, tweezers to remove ticks, and a pack of aspirin for the med kit. The ammo is of good quality and the targets are nice and to scale for practicing your kill shot, but I'm saving the rats ( which is one of the animal targets) for food as a last measure...lol. The backpack is small but well made. I would also include a space blanket, poncho, small roll of duct tape, 25 – 50 feet of cordage, some TP, a knife and a small fishing kit to round out is collection of survival bits. All in all I rated this a 5 because it is what they say it is and you can’t ask for more than that.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RikT
Middletown, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I recived it quickly
2/27/2013

Customer review by shotter2

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by shotter2
by shotter2

I only wish it also came with hand grips or where they can be ordered.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shotter2
Onalaska, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for the price
12/10/2013

Customer review by Blue99Paul

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Blue99Paul
by Blue99Paul

A good product with great potential. The bag on the small side but good enough. Great ammo and first aid kit. I like the targets and water bottle. I think the could be better if it included ammo pouch. Overall I like it and recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blue99Paul
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doomsday Kit
3/7/2013

Customer review by turbojack

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by turbojack
by turbojack

This is a very good kit. I like all the things that come with it, You don't have to get anything it comes ready to shoot. The pistol is really accurate at 50 feet. I am hitting a 3/4" shot group with it easily.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turbojack
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great addition to your B.O.B.
5/5/2013

Customer review by Rtcman

5.0 stars 5/5/2013 by Rtcman
by Rtcman

This kit makes a great addition to any Bug Out Bag.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rtcman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I only wanted the gun.
6/11/2014

Customer review by chinablue30

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by chinablue30
by chinablue30

Well , I was only after the gun and stock so the other stuff that came with it was just some items that I got as a bonus, the medical pouch got put in my glove compartment of my car after I added a couple items to it but the water bottle and tote bag are going to be dropped off at the local good will store on my way to work tomorrow as they are both flimsy and cheap. The only drawback I had with the gun is that it feels cheap and shoddily built but the gun is light and fun to use and it is aesthetically pleasing to me , I had a nice time plinking cans in my back yard . For the price I believe it is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chinablue30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews