Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 305 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

305 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

2%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
147
4 stars
134
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 305 total reviews
2%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews
Sturdy and Creative Outlet for the Kiddos!
8/10/2015

Customer review by Rachel

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by Rachel
by Rachel

First I want to say - Thank you to Step2 for letting me test this item as part of the Step2 Ambassadorship Program. I received the item at no cost to facilitate a review. This kitchen set is durable with a simple, cute design! The realistic sound effects of the microwave, stove burner and phone add a great amount of detail to the playtime experience. My 3yr old loves to cook dinner on his stove that boils and make phone calls to friends and family while doing so! The stability of the kitchen set lets me know that we will have many breakfasts, lunches and dinners to look forward to. I also really like the size of this model. It's compact size is great for a smaller play space. At my house we're cramped for room and this kitchen set settled in nicely. One note about the assembly process I will mention is to make sure you have help! It's a little tricky to line up the pieces so the screws go in right. Also having an electric drill is key. I would recommend this kitchen set! It met all of my expectations, plus some!

Rachel
Ventura, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
excelente
1/27/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

good

An anonymous customer
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good, except . . .
1/8/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My granddaughter was delighted at her first glance, and the kitchen is nicely designed. She loves playing with it. However, two issues: in putting it together, we had to bust through the plastic to insert the screws, there was no hole and no mention of the need for a drill. Also, the refrigerator door won't close properly, though all seems to be square, and that makes her two-year-old frustration pop out.

An anonymous customer
Front Royal, VA
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great play kitchen
1/12/2016

Customer review by Julie in MN

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Julie in MN
by Julie in MN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I loved that this play kitchen was smaller and space conscious yet it had many features such as real push bottons for the microwave and phone and a cool sound effect stove.

Julie in MN
Clearwater, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect gender neutral kitchen
12/28/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/28/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this as a gift for my nephew, after buying a different Step2 kitchen for my sons. He lived theirs so much, but his father wasn't too keen on his son having a kitchen. I went with this one because I thought it was more gender neutral with all the different colors. He absolutely loves it. He's 4, and he's especially rough on toys and he has a short attention span with most toys, but this has really held up and he plays with it for hours. Best toy I could have possibly bought for him.

An anonymous customer
Plant City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Granddaughter fell in love...
1/6/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product. I love the storage/cabinets. It was and still is the most played with toy my granddaughter has. Only quark was the screws. It was difficult to screw them through the plastic and I had to ask my son.

An anonymous customer
Weslaco, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super Cute
1/2/2016

Customer review by SAR

4.0 stars 1/2/2016 by SAR
by SAR
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product for you toddlers.

SAR
Lancaster, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome kitchen for the kids
9/23/2015

Customer review by Tyler Sandell

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by Tyler Sandell
by Tyler Sandell

Thank you to Step2 for letting me test this item as part of the Step2 toy tester program. First i want to say that when i set this up my girls freaked out! Not only is it super easy to set up ( only needed a screwdriver and about ten minutes) but there was not allot of small pieces for me to lose. The interactive microwave, phone and stove are by far my favorite and i can not tell you how many times i have had my girls ask if i want spaghetti or bacon cooked with the burner that lights up and makes noise for the pan and pot. The extra storage is great for extra food for them while they are not playing with it. All in all this is a great product and i loved it as much as my kids do. Seeing their imagination grow with this product is definitely worth purchasing the Lifestyle Custom Kitchen.

Tyler Sandell
Republic, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just as pictured!
11/24/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/24/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was a gift for my 2 year old granddaughter and she loves it! It is something she plays with her same age cousins. So cut to watch them.

An anonymous customer
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Well Worth My Money
1/7/2009

Customer review by Mom in Maryland

5.0 stars 1/7/2009 by Mom in Maryland
by Mom in Maryland
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Santa Claus brought this for my daugther and I can't keep her out of the kitchen. Money well spent. Before I can take her coat off, she is in the kitchen playing. I have to make her stop playing so she can go to bed and I have to distract her in the morning before she heads to the kitchen. She and I love this piece. I was intimidated at first to put it together because I only had a screw driver. It was very easy but not all the holes for the screws are pre-fabricated. Something to check before you start. I had a tool that allowed me to make holes but I did mess up with one screw while assembling the piece but you can't tell and the section (counter top) is still secure. This piece is very nice and fits the area perfectly. The perfect piece for my toddler who thinks she is a chef. She wants to cook for everyone. A must have for all children. Even the older kids who visit enjoys the kitchen. I can't keep them away.

Mom in Maryland
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lots of Fun
9/24/2015

Customer review by kymom4

5.0 stars 9/24/2015 by kymom4
by kymom4

Thank you Step2 for letting us test the Lifestyle Custom Kitchen as part of the Step2 toy tester program. We love the super cute design of the kitchen it has so many fun features. This kitchen is for my three year old son and he loves to cook and pretend to take our orders and cook our food, this kitchen is just what he needed. He also loves to answer the phone and pretend to take orders. The playset has many fun and realistic sounds, we love how it has so much storage. We love playing with him, this kitchen is a nice looking set and very sturdy. We would highly recommend the Lifestyle Custom Kitchen to everyone.

kymom4
Sandy Hook, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
We love it.
7/11/2014

Customer review by Smiths13

5.0 stars 7/11/2014 by Smiths13
by Smiths13

I really like Step2 products. We own many Step2 toys and i love them as much as my kids. Very colorful, easy to clean and pretty durable. I have chosen this kitchen ONLY because of its bright colors. I knew from the very beginning that it is small (i see people complaining that it is smaller than they expected). If you have two kids...get a different/bigger kitchen. This kitchen looks great in my kids bedroom. We have it for more then 3 months now and everything works great. I was choosing between KidKraft Deluxe Big & Bright Kitchen (large, wooden, very pretty) and LifeStyle Custom Kitchen - Brights by Step2 ...Step2 won! I like that it is easier to clean and has lights & sounds. Yes, it is on a smaller size, but i prefer to have a small kitchen that is used every single day, than a big one that is standing in the corner covered in dust. For kids 4 years old and under Step2 would be my #1 choice.

Smiths13
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
My 2 year old is fascinated with his Kitchen Playset
9/27/2015

Customer review by Sasha aka JJ's mother

5.0 stars 9/27/2015 by Sasha aka JJ's mother
by Sasha aka JJ's mother

Thank you to Step2 for letting me test this item as part of the Step2 toy tester program. My son loves his Kitchen Playset. It's almost like a real kitchen which is so convenient for me because my son loves "trying" to help me in the kitchen. So now, he has his own little kitchen to play with that is SAFE. The instructions and installment was very easy to comprehend and it took my husband about 10-20 minutes to put it together. I swear this is really a cute toy that all toddlers should have. It comes with miniature pots, pans, bowls, cups a little container and etc. The smaller items are much bigger just in case you have those children that like to stick things in their mouth, such as my son. You don't have to worry about them choking on any of those items because they are large enough for the children to play with. I love that is has a microwave and a little refrigerator, an oven, a pantry, pretty much everything that makes up your own kitchen. My son loves playing with the stove because you can turn the knobs and it makes the clicking sounds which he is so fascinated with. Overall this is really a nice product that is very fun and safe for you child(ren) to play with for the recommended ages. I am very please with this item by Step2 because it keeps my son engaged for hours (sometimes I have to stop him from having fun to eat his snacks!) and I love that it's unisex, so that any gender can play with it and lastly because it's so life-like! Definitely a wonderful item to get for your child(ren) for a birthday, or Christmas present! :)

Sasha aka JJ's mother
Cottonport, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Worth it despite a few things
3/4/2008

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 3/4/2008 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My daughter (15 months) loves this kitchen. I like that you can pick green or red to go with your home decor. She plays with the phone and stove a lot. I wish there were more sounds, but I didn't want to get the larger one. Only two things I wish were different. The refrigerator door doesn't stay shut very well and the oven door stays closed too well, it takes some elbow grease to get it open. That could just be the case with mine. I assembled it during her nap (in 1 hour). Definitly use an electric screw driver. I bought more accessories to go with it because it has the capacity to hold more. It stands up well on tile and carpet and is very sturdy. I will be keeping this for a long time. I feel comfotable with the plastic curved edges opposed to wood ones with sharp edges and it's light enough to move from room to room. This kitchen is worth it, I would recommend this to a friend.

An anonymous customer
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great kitchen
3/17/2014

Customer review by littleman07

5.0 stars 3/17/2014 by littleman07
by littleman07
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my granddaughters 2nd birthday. She loves it. She really likes the sounds it makes. Good product for the price and well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
littleman07
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Santa Scored big with this Kitchen
1/4/2008

Customer review by Austin & Andrew's mom

4.0 stars 1/4/2008 by Austin & Andrew's mom
by Austin & Andrew's mom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Santa delivered this Kitchen to my son on Christmas morning. He LOVES it!!! His Papa is always cooking and he always enjoys helping him so he is thrilled to now have a kitchen of his own. My son is 3 1/2 and has been playing with this everyday for at least some part of the day. He enjoys the sounds and all the features. He likes "Cooking" meals for everyone in the family. I love the fact that it fosters creativity and imaginative play. My husband said it was fairly easy to put together, taking maybe an hour to complete. Size of the kitchen is great, not too big but 2 children can play side by side comfortably. Would be perfect if it came with at least a couple of things to cook. Not a problem though, Santa also supplied him with some basic kitchen food. My one year old even tries to play too but only when big brother lets him.

Austin & Andrew's mom
Hooksett, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't Think It Will Hold Up
12/31/2008

Customer review by busy daycare provider

3.0 stars 12/31/2008 by busy daycare provider
by busy daycare provider

I purchased this kitchen recently for my family daycare to replace a very old Step 2 kitchen that I had. I have infants and toddlers up to age 3 and thought they would love this kitchen. Today is the third day of use. I don't think the oven door will last, since the 2 yr. olds tend to kneel on it once they open it. The 10 mo. old opens the cupboard and refrigerator doors and pushes on them so hard that I'm afraid they won't last long either. The railing in front of the dish rack is flimsy and a few good tugs will probably break it. The kids do love the sounds the burner and phone makes. I had a lot of play food and accessories already, so that makes it more fun for the kids. This kitchen is not nearly as sturdy as the old one I had, but it is more interesting to the kids. I found the storage to be adequate.

busy daycare provider
San Bruno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Mommy: "I LIKE this present!"
8/4/2008

Customer review by bebereed

4.0 stars 8/4/2008 by bebereed
by bebereed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this kitchen for my son as a birthday gift. He just turned 3 and LOVES to help in the kitchen. He is fascinated by the toy and wants to play with it every day. He tells me every day "I like this present" and can't wait to get home from daycare to make dinner in his kitchen. His younger sister (who is 11 months)also likes to play with it. Assembly was time-consuming - I took us about 1 hour to put it together - but the instructions were clear and easy to follow. I wish the kitchen came with more accessories - like food or more plates- but it is a good start. I think we will have this toy around for a long time. I also like it that it is not huge and it fits nicely in the play area we have for our kids. I would definitively recommend to buy this toy if you are looking for a toy-kitchen.

bebereed
Nyack, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Frustrating to Assemble
8/5/2015

Customer review by David Keddie

1.0 stars 8/5/2015 by David Keddie
by David Keddie

We regret purchasing this product. It proved unnecessarily difficult to assemble. The screws on the burner are deeply recessed and impossible to move.

David Keddie
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this and all Step2 products
7/29/2009

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/29/2009 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this for our 2yr old daughter for her birthday because she "cooks" while I cook. She LOVES this kitchen. It's a great size for smaller ones too - at 2 she's only 30" tall and she can reach everything. She plays with it all the time. She cooks and feeds us and her dolls. The burner makes sounds based on whether you put a pot (boiling water) or skillet (sizzeling) on it. She calls her friends too. What we didn't like about it is that we needed a drill to drill holes in some places. You can see where the screw is supposed to go in but you have to work pretty hard if you don't drill a hole. It took us about an hour to put it together which isn't bad but I expected it to be a little easier. The little door on the left is warped but not enough of a problem to return it/exchange it.

An anonymous customer
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 305 total reviews
1-20 of 305 reviews