Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 2291 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

2291 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

2291 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1723
4 stars
495
3 stars
27
2 stars
20
1 stars
26
1-20 of 2183 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 2183 total reviews
1-20 of 2183 reviews
DC44 Animal Review
8/17/2016

Customer review by Roseyf

4.0 stars 8/17/2016 by Roseyf
by Roseyf

Overall I really like this vacume. It is a bit akward to use in comparison to other cordless hand helds, but it does a great job. I find the battery never lasts as long as I would like, but perhaps I ask too much from it.

Roseyf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
An extraordinary Vacuum!
2/15/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/15/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I use it for the whole house. I have two batteries which allows me to do everything in two operations with about 10 hours between to charge both batteries. I like how light it is and the ease in vacuuming. Also easy to get around furniture. Also no cords to drag around and plug in. Customer service has been excellent. Most recently the front wheels of the power head failed. I thought they would just send me the portion with the wheels to replace the failed wheels but they sent me a complete new power head. They must have done some redesign work on the brushes because I have noticed that they do not become fouled with hair as easily as the old one did. Since I have three dogs I do spend a lot of time emptying the dirt canister. If I only vacuum once a week I will have to empty it at least 4 times for each battery. If only the dirt canister could be a little bigger. I love this vacuum but I don't think a person that just wants to empty a bag of dirt once a month will be happy with it.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Surpassed expectations
2/13/2015

Customer review by jlitzenb1

5.0 stars 2/13/2015 by jlitzenb1
by jlitzenb1

The first thing I noticed was the exhaust wasn't pointing at the floor to blow the dust away before you even get a chance to vacuum it. A plus for since I have all hard floors. This vacuum is so easy to just grab and vacuum small or larger areas with ease. Even though the battery time is short, you are not spending a lot of time in one spot; and if you aren't vacuuming, you release the trigger to stop the vacuum. I have 2 cats and I have not had any problems with cleaning their "room". The litter picks up easily without having to use the boost. I'll grab the vacuum and do a quickie in the kitchen or dining room, or wherever. I can't imagine the reviews saying they have to empty the bin frequently. Either they have large homes or, well we're all thinking it. I am very happy with my Dyson. The price is on the high side and I'm hoping in the future they will bring these prices down, but I, for one, am very satisfied with my Dyson. Like the title says--it is has surpassed my expectations.

jlitzenb1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
A Step Up
3/28/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 3/28/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought the DC44 to replace an electric broom by another manufacturer that was slowly dying (would no longer hold a charge, motor was not as strong as when first purchased 2 years ago). We had heard/read good things and decided to pony up the extra bucks. We have not been disappointed. We have used the DC44 for a couple months now and can say with confidence: you can believe the hype! The motor is strong, if a little loud (high-pitched whine), and it picks up about 99% of the dirt that you drive it over (some larger amounts of dirt, like cat litter, take a second sweep to get it all). We use it all our wood and tile floors, and even on the stairs for quick cleaning. One charge keeps it running for a good 20-25 minutes with no power degradation. And cleaning out the waste bin is a breeze (although I would recommend a quick wipe with a damp cloth every now and then to get rid of residual dust). We are definitely happy with the purchase, and would recommend this model to anyone who asks.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Lost a repeat customer!
7/29/2014

Customer review by NoLongerDysonFan

1.0 stars 7/29/2014 by NoLongerDysonFan
by NoLongerDysonFan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was our second Dyson, we bought this because we like the bigger one so much. This vacuum did not work nearly as well as it should for the money it cost. It is a beautiful design, comfortable to use and battery life was fine but the quality was lacking and it did not pick up as well as my previous $49 small vac. To make matters worse when I opened up the box the little felt pad on the front of the power head was broken at the screw mounting locations. It looked as though the screws were over tightened at the factory causing the plastic to crack. This little plastic strip can't cost Dyson more than 2 cents. When I called Dyson to get a new piece sent to me the rep said that this was not a part that normally breaks and I must have drooped or abused it. I told him it just came out of the box and that it was clear that the screws were over tightened and that caused the cracking. He said he was not an engineer and could not diagnose what happened all he new was that that part "NEVER" breaks and they would not cover it under warranty and the best he could do was sell me a whole new power head. Obviously I said no thanks, boxed up the vac and returned it for a refund. If Dyson is willing to loose a repeat customer over a 2 cent plastic piece and this is an indication of their customer service than no thanks Dyson, you can keep it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 8/25/2014

Hi there, this is Joe with Dyson. I am very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service you have received. This is not the type of experience we would expect you to have and we would value an opportunity to discuss the matter further. <br /><br />Please feel free to send us an email with your contact details to askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch.<br /><br />Best wishes,<br /><br />Joe<br />Dyson Customer Service

NoLongerDysonFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this vacuum
9/25/2013

Customer review by RobR1125

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by RobR1125
by RobR1125

I never thought I would feel passionate about a vacuum cleaner, then my Dyson Animal arrived. From the moment I took it out of the box I could tell that it was a quality piece of machinery. I read several reviews prior to purchasing this vacuum. Some mentioned that they do not like the trigger, others mention the battery life. I have had no issues. The battery life is more than enough for me to thoroughly clean my 1200 sq ft condo. I love the trigger. It is in a natural position on the handle and it is easily pushed when you are ready to vacuum. The power of the suction in this small unit is very impressive. It leaves all my floors clean and clear of all debris. One of my favorite features is the ease of maneuvering the vacuum. It is lite weight and the design of the head on the pivoting ball makes it easy to angle around furniture and in corners. I love the setup of the wall hanging unit. It keeps the vacuum conveniently stored in a compact location. I will be a Dyson customer for life

RobR1125
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
AMAZING!!
9/7/2013

Customer review by Mybears

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by Mybears
by Mybears

In past bought "many" cordless and portable vacuums for Much less. I have a cat, dog, home salon.. And messy husband! Always looked at DYSON but could Not justify paying that amount for a vacuum... WELL, I wish I had done it sooner.. Would have saved me money!! And I wouldn't have a storage closet full of useless ones.. Was seeking Corless, POWERFUL, Convenient , lightweight.. Was beginning o think it didn't exist.. So I bit the bullet and gave DYSON ANIMAL DC44 a shot!!! Came charged out of box. With all attachment I need. ( I strongly dislike vacuuming). Did not even need instructions.. Very Easy! The easiest I've ever used to switch attachments as well! Suction was unbelievable.. Almost like a good upright!! I did furniture (full of cat hair). Under furniture ( where nothing else reaches) I did not want to stop.. It made vacuuming fun.. WISH I COULD AFFORD TO BUY ONE FOR MY WHOLE FAMILY!! EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE A DYSON DC44.. WORTH EVERY PENNY!!! And believe me I had my doubts....

Mybears
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Convenience and Performance
9/26/2013

Customer review by JC01

5.0 stars 9/26/2013 by JC01
by JC01

I'm a big fan. Two thumbs up. We have a 3-level, 1800 sqft townhouse with hardwood, tile and area rugs. Our 80-lb Golden Retriever keeps us well stocked in dog hair, with the potential for tumbleweeds after 2-3 days following a clean-up. The DC44 works great for our purposes. I kicked it into MAX mode for the rug in the front hall and it pulled an incredible amount of dirt out. Otherwise, the rest of the time I run in standard mode. I haven't experienced any hand fatigue with the trigger and appreciate that this design saves a tremendous amount of battery life. On first use, the battery lasted for 2.5 floors; after getting the gang of it, I've been able to vacuum the entire house on a single charge. Emptying the container is a cinch. Pulling the dog hair out of the floor roller (necessary after a full house cleaning) is less easy but still much better than my previous vacuum. LIght weight and cordless makes going between floors (and vacuuming the stairs themselves) a non-issue.

JC01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Really a nice tool
3/19/2015

Customer review by JoeyD33

4.0 stars 3/19/2015 by JoeyD33
by JoeyD33

I wanted a light, cordless vacuum for quick cleanups and cobweb duties, as well as the stairs for more convenience than my old Dyson upright Animal. This little gem does the trick nicely. I have a bad back and the light weight is appreciated. The attachments can address anything you throw at it (bonus it's much easier to clean out the car) I have a big house with a lot of hard flooring which this shines on. If I just keep on the task at hand I can easily vacuum all of those floors within one battery charge. A couple things I don't love: The exhaust of the fan sometimes blows in my face if I am working above my head with cobwebs ect. The dust cup is rather small and needs emptying several times cleaning my floors. Do bear in mind I have 3 dogs and a cat and live on a dirt road. Lastly the bar gets tangled with hair very quickly and needs to be cleaned every couple times I use it, but at least the process to pop it out is easy. Overall I do love this vacuum and wish I had gotten it years ago!

JoeyD33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Love an Animal
7/8/2013

Customer review by Maybird

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by Maybird
by Maybird

My hubby gave me an Animal for Christmas 2012. I loved it so much, it picked up more cat hair than I could believe my cats could shed.I fell in love with it at once. We have three homes and after the Christmas Animal arrived I had to have another one for each home. My Valentines present?? An Animal!!!! My Mother's day present?? An Animal!!! Wow!!! What a lucky girl am I!! Nobody could love an animal more than me. I live with one in my hand. My husband gets the biggest kick out of my addiction. His favorite picture of me is when I was 3 yrs old with a broom in my hands,now he just laughs when I use the vacum. I hate dirty floors and it is an understatement to say ,The best thing to clean up after animals is an Animal!!! With three cats who travel to all our homes with us what's another Animal,only now that I have three the Dyson Animal doesn't have to travel,they just hang around all three homes waiting for me to come back and love them some more. Thanks Dyson,I love my Animals!!

Maybird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Glad I bought it
4/5/2014

Customer review by SusieQ56

4.0 stars 4/5/2014 by SusieQ56
by SusieQ56

I have a dog so deal with pet hair as well as normal shmutz that ends up on my hard surfaces. This machines does a good job with all of those things. It is pretty easy to maneuver. The ball at the bottom that allows the head to move so well sometimes seems so "moveable" that it turns the head around in the wrong direction. But that isn't a big deal. I don't find it comfortable for holding upside down to clean things high up. It does work, but again, there is that problem with ball joint moving the head around too much. And it is a bit heavy to hold up there for long - at least for me. Still I got this mostly for hard surfaces. Works well on my carpet, too. And was great using the soft brush to get much of the dirt from the strings of my piano. Last comment - it comes with all of these accessories, but no place to put most of them - like other vacuums - have to figure out a place so I don't mix them up with the accessories from old appliances! Expensive but I would buy again.

SusieQ56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
12/2/2012

Customer review by Gintice

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Gintice
by Gintice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Of course it's great, it's a Dyson. This is my third purchace of Dyson Vacuums. I have the large, medium and now small. I have 3 dogs and 2 cats. Only one dog stays in all the time but Hair is everywhere. That is why I purchased this small one, to get the hair from furniture and floors on a twice daily basis. Easy to use, it is for small clean ups not big jobs. The battery has never run down while I have been using it, no more than 15 minutes at a time. Very powerful for my needs.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gintice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great concept; missing features
1/12/2014

Customer review by Freckles15

4.0 stars 1/12/2014 by Freckles15
by Freckles15

Overall, I enjoy using my DC44. I have a house full of laminate flooring and hated sweeping, so this was a welcome change. I love that it's cordless so I can take it up and down the stairs with ease. I love the different attachments, especially the dusting brush. I love that it can clean my entire home in one pass. However, there are some cons: 1. It's a bit on the heavy side. With the motor in your hand, you support most of its weight and, while it's not substantial, it gets heavy after a while. 2. I wish it had a larger vacuum head. I feel like I have to make a million passes to do the whole room. 3. It needs an option for continuous suction (on). Right now you have to squeeze and hold a trigger to make the vacuum go, and my hand gets tired after about half of my square footage. I haven't had it long enough to comment about cleaning filters, but the rotator brush cleans easily and the collection bowl empties easily as well. So, great idea that could be improved upon, but overall 4 stars.

Freckles15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Very versatile
4/25/2014

Customer review by LeMans

5.0 stars 4/25/2014 by LeMans
by LeMans

I love my DC44! It doesn't replace my larger Dyson vacuum but for those small jobs and hard to reach places it's wonderful. I really bought it to clean my stairs, bathrooms, craft room, and kitchen and its perfect at picking up clippings and food scraps, without the added complication of constantly rearranging the cord, as on my main appliance. This is particularly useful on the stairs as my electrical outlets are in such a position that I have to keep unplugging my big machine as I run out of cord. The DC44 is light and very maneuverable and is small enough to fit under furniture and get into corners. When I'm done, I just plug it back into its holder and it charges, ready to go again. I like the way you can just hook it off the wall and go - no looking for the nearest outlet! And the dual suction power option is nice. I've found the lighter option has been enough so far, for my hard floors, but it's nice to have the option of stronger power on heavier carpeting. Overall, it's been outstanding!

LeMans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Very good, but....
12/20/2013

Customer review by Windmaker

4.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Windmaker
by Windmaker

I have only had my Dyson DC44 for a couple weeks but I truly like it thus far and intend to keep it, but buyers should be aware of a couple significant issues that at least concerned me. In my opinion the suction, which may hold steady, nevertheless isn't as strong as I had hoped, so I wouldn't recommend this model for thorough carpet cleaning especially. Yes, it is a cordless vacuum, so the power is understandably limited. In essence, this model seems most suitable for light and touch up vacuuming, not heavier duty or full house cleaning. The question then becomes, "Do you wish to accept the rather high purchase price of this cordless vacuum for these limited purposes alone". The only other feature that this unit lacked which I wish it had was a locking mechanism for the power (trigger) button. Those of us with medical conditions would especially appreciate a power switch that you didn't have to hold down, irrespective of how light the pressure required is for operation.

Windmaker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best Vacuum Ever!!!
10/15/2012

Customer review by YvetteF

5.0 stars 10/15/2012 by YvetteF
by YvetteF

I usually don't care to give my opinion but in this case I have to. This is the best cordless vac ever!!! It's even better than all of the regular vacs I've had. My husband bought it for me hoping it would be easier than sweeping and easier for me than a regular size vacuum. I have a bad back, 2 small dogs and a child with asthma so I clean my floors almost every day. This vacuum is amazing. I can vac my whole house and it picks up the dogs hair from all my different types of floors. My floors look and feel clean. "They are Clean." Because it's cordless I can move quickly through the house, and because of it's slim design I can even get under furniture without having to bend so much. I Love It and I recommend it to anyone with pets, kids with asthma, or for someone with a bad back like me. The battery life is just long enough for me to finish my entire house. I hope a longer battery is offered some day. Until then I am 100% satisfied with this awesome vacuum. I Love It!!!!

YvetteF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
great stick vac
1/12/2013

Customer review by Jess080706

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Jess080706
by Jess080706
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great cordless stick vacuum. The run time for the battery is good, and it picks up lots of cat hair. The price was great, and we have been pleased with the preformance. It gets under the coffee table & other tight spaces very easily.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jess080706
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Convenience
1/16/2013

Customer review by Grammyked

4.0 stars 1/16/2013 by Grammyked
by Grammyked
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have four dogs. They aren't breeds that shed but we live on two acres of land and the dogs are tracking stuff in all day long. With my new Dyson throughout the day I can quickly pick up what they have tracked in, instead of just looking at it until I vacuum with the full size vacuum the next day. It works well on throw rugs too. Another feature is that it fits into small places like between the cabinet and the toilet. It would be great if the battery charge lasted longer than it does. I may buy a second battery. This is so handy to have around that it is one of those items that I will always want to have.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grammyked
Clovis, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
DC44 animal
12/20/2013

Customer review by Neatnick

5.0 stars 12/20/2013 by Neatnick
by Neatnick

I have used the DC44 animal for one month and so far it far exceeds my expectations. The suction is great. I have used several other cordless machines and this one surpasses all in the amount of dirt and dust it will pick up. I have all hardwood floors. The head is slightly smaller then most cordless which means you have to use more "pushes" to get every inch of the floor, but on the plus side, it fits under places that none of the other cordless machines could. Having the canister at the top with a button that has to be held down took getting used to, but it is worth the change. The attachments work wonderful are so easy to switch around. I LOVE the one that works on my furniture. It is simple and easy to empty the "dust" collector. It has to be emptied after every room, but so did all the other cordless machines I've used. So far, the battery life has been great. I like the "docking" station that attaches to a wall and can stay plugged in to charge at all times.

Neatnick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
as expected a good vacuum
1/9/2013

Customer review by reggier

5.0 stars 1/9/2013 by reggier
by reggier

This is everything they say it is. Lightweight, small, easy to use stick vacuum. The motorized brush does a good job on the carpet and the floor.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reggier
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 2183 total reviews
1-20 of 2183 reviews